Opinion

Rose v. County of San Benito

Court
California Court of Appeal
Filed
Apr 19, 2022
Status
Published
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 8.2%

The opinion

Filed 4/19/22

CERTIFIED FOR PUBLICATION

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

SIXTH APPELLATE DISTRICT

NORMANDY ROSE et al., H048681

(San Benito County

Plaintiffs and Respondents, Super. Ct. No. CU1700151)

v.

COUNTY OF SAN BENITO,

Defendant and Appellant.

For more than two decades, defendant San Benito County (county or San Benito)

provided health insurance benefits for its employees under the Public Employees’

Medical Hospital Care Act (PEMHCA or the Act), which requires a participating county

to pay retiree health insurance benefits at the same contribution rate it pays to active

employees. Starting in January 2017, the county ceased providing benefits under

PEMHCA and at the same time reduced the health insurance benefit contribution for

Medicare-eligible retirees. Plaintiffs, who are retired county employees, filed this action

asserting that the county’s actions violated an implied promise made by the county that,

upon their retirement, plaintiffs would receive “fully paid” lifetime retiree health

insurance benefits, with premium contributions equal to those paid for active employees.

The trial court found after a bench trial that the county’s adoption and continued

renewal of healthcare benefits under PEMHCA’s equal contribution framework evinced a

legislative intent to confer a vested right to lifetime, nonmodifiable, retiree health

insurance premiums equal to those paid to active employees. The court at the same time

rejected plaintiffs’ claim of an implied vested right to “fully paid” lifetime health

insurance premiums. In making its decision, the trial court admitted and considered

evidence beyond the legislative record. The evidence the trial court relied on included

testimony of former members of the county’s board of supervisors and other former

county employees regarding their knowledge and understanding of the county’s provision

of retiree health insurance benefits.

On appeal, the county contends that the finding of an implied vested right in

lifetime retiree health insurance benefits at an equal contribution rate as that of active

employees is unsupported by the legislative and factual record and contrary to California

Supreme Court and other case authority. The county argues that plaintiffs failed to

overcome the presumption articulated in Retired Employees Assn. of Orange County, Inc.

v. County of Orange (2011) 52 Cal.4th 1171 (Retired Employees) against inferring a

private contractual or vested right to public employee benefits, absent a clear basis in the

contract or convincing extrinsic evidence. The county also challenges the court’s

consideration of evidence outside the legislative record as reversible error.

For the reasons explained below, we conclude that the trial court erred in relying

upon inadmissible evidence to ascertain legislative intent and in failing to apply the

presumption against finding an implied vested right in the absence of a clear

manifestation of legislative intent to contractually bind the county. Moreover, we decide

that plaintiffs’ admissible evidence does not support a finding of an implied vested right.

Accordingly, we reverse the judgment.

I. FACTS AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

A. Factual Overview

1. County Funding of Health Insurance Benefits Under PEMHCA

As the elected governing body of the county, its board of supervisors (board) is

vested with plenary authority to provide for the compensation of county employees.

2

(Cal. Const. art. XI, § 1(b).) In 1993, the board enacted a resolution to provide health

insurance benefits to county employees and retirees by contracting with the California

Public Employees’ Retirement System (CalPERS). The resolution, titled Resolution No.

93-96,1 invoked PEMHCA (Government Code § 22750 et seq.)2 to enable the county to

contract with CalPERS.

PEMHCA governs the CalPERS health benefit system. (Vallejo Police Officers

Assn. v. City of Vallejo (2017) 15 Cal.App.5th 601, 606 (Vallejo Police).) It authorizes

state agencies and local governments to contract with CalPERS to provide health care

benefits for eligible public employees and annuitants (i.e., retirees). (§§ 20022, 22768,

22850, subd. (f)(2), & 22922; see Legis. Counsel’s Dig., Sen. Bill No. 626 (2003–2004

Reg. Sess.) Stats. 2004, ch. 69.) As set forth in Resolution 93-96, the Act “provides the

benefits of [PEMHCA] to employees of local agencies contracting with [CalPERS] on

proper application by a local agency.” (Citing § 22850.)

PEMHCA also establishes a minimum level of employer contribution toward

health insurance premiums and generally requires the employer to contribute the same

amount to employees and retirees. (Vallejo Police, supra, 15 Cal.App.5th at p. 606; see

§ 22892, subds. (b), (c).) As expressed in Resolution 93-96, the Act allows the

contracting agency to “fix the amount of the employer’s contribution for employees and

. . . annuitants at different amounts provided that the monthly contribution for annuitants

shall be annually increased by an amount not less than 5 percent of the monthly

contribution for employees, until such time as the amounts are equal.” (Citing former

§ 22857, repealed by Stats. 2004, ch. 69 (S.B. 626), § 22, eff. June 24, 2004; see § 22892,

discussed post.) Noting the board’s desire for county employees and retirees to obtain

1

The descriptive title of Resolution No. 93-96 is “Resolution electing to be subject

to Public Employees’ Medical and Hospital Care Act fixing the employer’s contribution

for employees and the employer’s contribution for annuitants at different amounts” (some

capitalization omitted) (hereafter, Resolution 93-96).

2

Unspecified statutory references are to the Government Code.

3

“the benefit of the Act and to accept the liabilities and obligations of an employer under

the Act,” the board resolved in Resolution 93-96 for San Benito to become subject to the

provisions of PEMHCA and committed to contributing a specified amount toward the

cost of enrolling employees, including family members, in a health benefits plan. That

year, by way of example, Resolution 93-96 fixed the county’s contribution for

unrepresented employees on an individual plan at $137.81 per month; for retirees, the

board fixed the county’s contribution at “up to a maximum of $1.00 per month” and

further provided that its “contribution for each annuitant shall be increased annually by

5.0 percent of the monthly contribution for employees, until such time as the

contributions are equal.” (Underlining omitted.)

The provision for the county to annually increase the health benefit contribution

for retirees until it equalized the contribution made to employees and retirees reflected

what is commonly referred to as PEMHCA’s “equal contribution” requirement. (See

§ 22892, subd. (b)(1).) That section required (and still requires) the employer to pay

retiree health insurance benefits at the same contribution rate as active employees, though

the employer may elect to gradually reach parity under what is often known as

PEMHCA’s “catchup” provision. (See id., subd. (c).)3 Thus, in 1993 the county

contributed one dollar per month to retirees’ medical health benefits. That amount

increased annually on a graduated basis, ultimately achieving “catchup” in 2012, when

the county’s health benefit contribution for retirees equaled that of active employees.

3

We examine the provisions of Resolution 93-96 and their respective statutory

reference points in PEMHCA in more detail, post. We note that PEMHCA’s “equal

contribution” and “catchup” provisions, set forth in section 22892, were initially codified

at sections 22825 and 22857, respectively, but were renumbered in 2004. The catchup

provision was further amended in 2006. (See Bernard v. City of Oakland (2012) 202

Cal.App.4th 1553, 1563–1564, 1572.)

4

Consistent with the terms of PEMHCA and the county’s personnel rules,4 the

county annually adopted resolutions fixing the contribution amounts for health insurance

available to employees and retirees. The county effectuated this for employees

represented by a union or other collective bargaining unit by reaching an agreement,

memorialized as a memorandum of understanding (MOU), which it then presented to the

board through the agenda process as a resolution to be adopted in open session by

majority vote.

Each year, the county’s human resources division prepared a rate sheet reflecting

the contributions agreed on in the MOU and any changes in the CalPERS premiums, to

show the county’s and employee’s respective contributions under various plans. Annual

“open enrollment” periods allowed employees and retirees the option of selecting or

changing their elected health insurance plan. Unrepresented employees typically

received the same contribution toward their health insurance premiums as did employees

in the “general bargaining” collective bargaining unit. The MOUs were of fixed duration

and subject to renegotiation as of the expiration date.

In November 2012, the board adopted Resolution No. 2012-67, which recognized

that parity or “catchup” under section 22892, subdivision (c) had occurred and set equal

contributions for employees and retirees beginning in 2013. Prior to 2013, the county’s

health insurance contributions for active employees, as agreed upon and set forth in the

collectively bargained MOUs, covered the full premium cost of certain CalPERS’ plans

for “employee only” (individual) coverage. For example, from 1999 through 2014,

county contributions equaled the full premium for employee only coverage under a plan

4

At all times relevant here, the county has maintained a set of personnel rules

which required the county’s contribution towards employee health insurance premiums to

be determined by collective bargaining between the county and labor unions. Rule 21

(titled “Insurance & Retirement Benefits”) (some capitalization omitted) provided as of

1991 that “[t]he amounts contributed by the County toward health insurance premiums

shall be as set forth in the current Memorandum of Understanding or management

compensation plan as appropriate.”

5

called “PERS Choice.” Starting in 2013, county contributions thus paid the full premium

for retirees who selected the “PERS Choice” plan and “employee only” coverage. Those

employees and retirees who selected that plan consequently paid nothing for health

insurance that year.

2. Modifications to the County’s Premium Contributions and Exit From

PEMHCA

Starting in 2007, the board faced challenges brought about by the economic

recession, increasing healthcare costs, and the need to address the county’s unfunded

liabilities. The board implemented changes to address these concerns, including by

contributing to a retirement benefit trust starting in 2008 and adopting a “vesting”

schedule in 2009 for employees hired on or after January 1, 2010.5

Furthermore, beginning in 2013, the county negotiated MOUs with the various

labor units and ultimately established a flat dollar contribution for represented

employees’ health insurance premiums and capped the county’s contributions for retirees

eligible for Medicare. The flat contribution did not cover the full cost to employees of

the PERS Choice plan. The board adopted these changes in 2014 with the passage of

Resolution No. 2014-106 and other resolutions,6 which together had the effect of setting

5

In the employee benefit context, the term “vesting” has mutliple meanings. As

the California Supreme Court has explained in the context of pension rights, a public

employee may become eligible to receive a stated benefit “only after some minimum

period of public employment, typically five years” (Cal Fire Local 2881 v. California

Public Employees’ Retirement System (2019) 6 Cal.5th 965, 972, fn. 3 (Cal Fire)), after

which point the employee “is said to be ‘vested’ with respect to the receipt of” that

benefit (ibid.). Critically, “[t]hat is not the same as having a ‘vested right.’ That term has

come to refer to a benefit of public employment whose repeal or other divestment is

constrained by the constitutional contract clause.” (Ibid.) Thus, here the board’s

adoption of a “vesting schedule” refers to the point at which an employee becomes

qualified to receive a benefit; it does not, without more, indicate a legislative intent to

confer a nonmodifiable “vested right” to that benefit, such as that which plaintiffs seek to

establish in this action.

6

Resolution Nos. 2014-22, 2014-53, 2014-97, and 2014-106 were passed between

March 2014 and December 2014.

6

the county’s contributions on behalf of active employees and retirees in amounts less than

the lowest cost plan offered by CalPERS. As a result, beginning January 1, 2015,

employees and non-Medicare retirees had to pay something for health insurance and no

longer had the option of selecting a no-cost individual plan.

Even so, the county’s revenues were not keeping pace with CalPERS’ rate

increases. In December 2016, the board voted to opt out of PEMHCA pursuant to section

22938.7 To effectuate this change, the board adopted Resolution No. 2016-67, ceasing to

be subject to the Act and terminating its contracted coverage as of December 31, 2016.

The county instead began providing benefits as of January 1, 2017, under contract with

the California State Association of Counties Excess Insurance Authority (CSAC-EIA).

The county’s contributions in 2017 did not cover 100 percent of any of the health

benefit options provided by CSAC-EIA (i.e., all employees and non-Medicare retirees

continued to have to pay something for health insurance) but continued to tie

contributions for non-Medicare retirees to those for active employees. For Medicare-

eligible retirees, the county capped its contribution toward health insurance premiums at

70 percent of the contribution rate for active employees. The county provided coverage

at similar rates in 2018, 2019, and 2020.

3. Plaintiffs’ Medical Benefits in Employment and Retirement

Plaintiffs Normandy Rose (Rose) and Margaret Riopel (Riopel) (together,

plaintiffs) are retired employees of the county. From the start of their tenure with the

county, until the county’s exit from PEMHCA in January 2017, Riopel and Rose each

7

Section 22938 authorizes “[a] contracting agency that has elected to be subject to

[the PEMHCA] . . . to cease to be so subject by resolution adopted by a majority vote of

its governing body and filed with the board on or before the deadline provided in board

regulations, to be effective at the end of the current contract year. Coverage of

employees and annuitants of the contracting agency shall also terminate at the end of the

current contract year.” (§ 22938.)

7

participated in a plan for health insurance benefits sponsored by the county under

PEMHCA. Plaintiffs thereafter selected plans through CSAC-EIA.

a. Rose

Rose began working for the county in 1999 as the director of integrated waste

management. Rose served in this position, which was “unrepresented” (i.e., not part of

any bargaining unit or union), until her retirement in January 2015. During her tenure

with the county, Rose elected employee-only coverage under the PERS Choice plan,

which the county’s contribution covered at 100 percent. Rose maintained her individual

PERS Choice coverage through her retirement in January 2015 and until the county opted

out of PEMHCA.

The first time Rose had to contribute to her medical insurance was in 2015, after

the board passed Resolution No. 2014-106, which fixed the county’s PEMHCA

contributions for unrepresented employees at less than the full cost of the employee-only

coverage under the PERS Choice plan. Rose was unaware of the changes and testified

that the county did not inform unrepresented department heads, such as herself, of the

change before she retired in January 2015. Therefore, in 2015, after the county’s

contribution, Rose paid approximately $106 per month toward her selected PERS Choice

plan.

When the county began providing health benefits through CSAC-EIA in 2017,

Rose selected individual coverage under an EIA Anthem plan, which required her to

contribute an increased balance (approximately $184 per month in 2017) to her monthly

premiums. After Rose became Medicare eligible in 2019, her monthly premium dropped

to $54, then increased from $54 to $99 in 2020. Rose testified that the county

administrative officer at the time she was hired in 1999 told her that the county paid “100

percent of the individual health plan,” including in retirement and it was part of the

compensation package because the county knew it could not offer high wages

8

comparable to the surrounding counties. She believed the county had a continuing

obligation to cover the full amount of her individual medical premium.

b. Riopel

Riopel was hired as a typist clerk in 1986. After several promotions, including to

two different, unrepresented department head positions, Riopel retired from the

unrepresented position of management analyst III (in the administration department) in

December 2012.

During her tenure with the county, Riopel typically elected two-party coverage

under various CalPERS health plans. Because her elected coverage was not employee-

only but included a dependent, Riopel had to pay some amount toward her monthly

premiums, which the county’s contribution did not fully cover. At the time of her

retirement in 2012, Riopel had elected two-party coverage under the PERS Choice plan

and was contributing approximately $212 toward her monthly health insurance premium.

Later, when Riopel became eligible for Medicare in March 2014 and until the county

opted out of PEMHCA in December 2016, the county’s contribution under PEMHCA

covered Riopel’s two-party plan premium in full.

In 2017, Riopel elected two-party coverage under an EIA Anthem health plan

available through CSAC-EIA. Based on the cost of her elected plan’s premium and the

county’s contribution, Riopel again began to pay an amount ($34 per month) for health

insurance for her and her husband. Riopel believes the promise the county made to her

was for 100 percent coverage of her medical premium in retirement and at the same rate

as active employees.

B. Procedural History

1. Operative Complaint and Summary Judgment

In 2017, after the above-described changes to the county’s retiree health insurance

benefits resulted in increased premium payments for Rose and Riopel, plaintiffs filed

their original complaint and petition in the superior court. There followed a first

9

amended complaint and petition in December 2017 and the operative, second amended

complaint and petition (operative complaint) in March 2018.

The operative complaint alleged that the county had “intended and promised” to

provide Rose and Riopel “with fully paid retiree health care benefit premiums” as

expressed in the board’s 1993 decision to contract with CalPERS under PEMHCA, and in

statements made by the board at board meetings and by county management personnel to

plaintiffs. It averred that the county breached its promise through resolutions in 2014 and

2016 which reduced the amount paid on behalf of active employees and retirees to less

than 100 percent of the healthcare premium costs and, as of January 2017, terminated the

provision of retiree healthcare benefits through PEMHCA. According to the operative

complaint, the benefits provided through CSAC-EIA failed to cover 100 percent of the

healthcare premium costs and implemented a two-tier system for active employees and

retirees that reduced the county’s contribution toward premiums for those 65 years of age

and older (i.e., Medicare eligible).

Plaintiffs sought to enforce their “rights to 100% paid retiree medical premiums

and benefits, no less than those received at their time of retirement from the County of

San Benito” by asserting causes of action for (1) declaratory relief, (2) impairment of

contract in violation of article I, section 9 of the California Constitution, and (3) writ of

mandate, prohibition or other appropriate relief. Plaintiffs sought a judicial declaration

that Resolution No. 2016-67 was unconstitutional, invalid, and unenforceable. They

alleged that Resolution No. 2016-67 impaired the vested, contractual right to fully paid

retiree health benefits in the amount provided to active employees, which the county had

promised to plaintiffs as inducement for accepting the county’s less competitive wages.

Among other writ relief in the third cause of action, petition for writ of mandate or

prohibition, plaintiffs sought to enjoin any application of Resolution No. 2016-67 to them

and instead to require continued payment of monthly contributions toward their retiree

healthcare benefits as they had enjoyed at the time of their retirement.

10

The county answered the operative complaint and later moved for summary

judgment. The county asserted that plaintiffs could not as a matter of law overcome the

presumption against creation of a vested contractual right to lifetime retiree healthcare

benefits as articulated by the California Supreme Court in Retired Employees. In support

of its motion, the county primarily relied on the resolutions and MOUs adopted by the

board between 1993 and 2016 related to its provision of healthcare benefits through

PEMHCA and, later, CSAC-EIA.

Plaintiffs responded that there was a triable issue of material fact—based on the

resolutions providing fully paid retiree healthcare benefits, the declarations of former

county supervisors, and plaintiffs’ own recollections—regarding the legislative intent to

confer a vested, contractual right to fully paid retiree healthcare benefits for life. The

county objected to plaintiffs’ evidentiary submissions, including to the declarations of

three former members of the board of supervisors. The county argued the supervisors’

declarations established no more than the subjective beliefs of the declarants and could

not serve as competent evidence of the board’s collective intent, which the county argued

was “the only intent that matters” under Retired Employees.

The trial court denied the motion for summary judgment. The court found that in

relying on the presumption outlined in Retired Employees, the county failed to address

whether the county’s resolutions, provision of benefits, or any promises to employees

could have conferred a vested contractual right to lifetime retiree benefits. The court

declined to rule on the county’s evidentiary objections as immaterial to the disposition of

the motion. It rejected the other grounds cited in support of summary judgment.

2. Trial

The bench trial on plaintiffs’ claims took place over three days in February 2020.

A central issue at trial was the admissibility of extrinsic evidence concerning the board’s

legislative intent behind the resolutions providing retiree healthcare insurance benefits.

After considering the county’s motion in limine to exclude evidence outside the

11

legislative record, the trial court heard testimony from former county supervisors and

employees and admitted joint trial exhibits of the legislative record, starting in 1993,

related to the resolutions fixing healthcare benefits for employees and retirees.

a. Motion in Limine to Exclude Extrinsic Evidence of Legislative Intent

In a motion in limine and throughout trial, the county sought to restrict evidence of

legislative intent to “the resolutions themselves and the legislative record accompanying

their adoption.” The county argued that “ ‘extra-record’ ” evidence such as “the post hoc

testimony” (italics omitted) of former supervisors regarding their subjective intent,

understanding, and beliefs in voting on resolutions, as well as evidence related to the

subjective beliefs and understandings of plaintiffs and individual county personnel

“communicated outside the legislative process” in which the benefits were conferred, was

irrelevant and inadmissible to prove plaintiffs’ vested rights claim.

Plaintiffs opposed the motion in limine as an improper attempt to exclude relevant

evidence and contrary to the California Supreme Court’s direction in Retired Employees.

Plaintiffs asserted under Retired Employees, courts may examine the facts and

circumstances surrounding legislative acts for a manifestation of intent to create vested

rights when the legislative record contains no explicit acknowledgement of contractual

intent. Plaintiffs argued that the legislative record in this case, which showed the

resolutions were passed via consent calendar without comment, provided no guidance

regarding the board’s intent to create a vested right in fully paid retiree healthcare

insurance benefits and therefore warranted testimony by former supervisors and county

employees about the circumstances surrounding the county’s enactments. Plaintiffs

maintained they would not seek to introduce evidence regarding these individuals’

subjective intent but rather would establish “the circumstances and information presented

to the Board at the time of the enactment of various Resolutions.”

After considering the arguments of the parties, the trial court declined to grant the

county’s motion in its entirety. The court clarified that it would grant the motion “as it

12

applies to the subjective intent of the decision makers” (which both sides agreed was

inadmissible) but would partially deny the motion and allow testimony related to the

circumstances surrounding passage of the resolutions, subject to further consideration

during trial.

Throughout trial, the county’s counsel objected to questions posed to former

supervisors about what they “knew” or “understood” about resolutions concerning

retirement benefits; the trial court allowed the testimony but indicated it should address

“what information was provided” to the supervisors as opposed to what they knew or

understood. The county emphasized that such testimony was admissible only to the

extent that information brought to the attention of the legislators went to the collective

body, or the board as a whole, and that communications outside of the conferral process

were inadmissible. Plaintiffs responded that the evidence necessary to clarify the nature

of the implied vested right included “knowledge available to the individuals who made

the decision and what was communicated to them” and the knowledge of those who

typically advised and communicated with the board.

The trial court later clarified that while case authority prevented individual

legislators from testifying as to what they privately believed a measure would do, there

was nothing in the law that precluded “evidence of what legislators said about a proposal

before them in the presence of the body, even if their statements can be received as

reflecting a mental state.” The court reiterated that it was allowing the supervisors’

testimony not as to their “knowledge” but “[a]s to what they were informed of.” The

county responded that in light of the fact that former supervisor testimony was being

admitted over its objection, it would introduce several supervisors as witnesses.

b. Testimony of Former Supervisors and County Employees

Several former supervisors and county employees testified for plaintiffs about the

county’s commitment to confer lifetime, vested healthcare benefits to employees and

retirees. The former supervisors included Michael Graves, who served on the board from

13

1982 to 1995, Richard Place, who served from 1997 to 2000, Patricia Loe, who served

from 2003 to 2010, Reb Monaco, who served from January 2003 until December 2010,

and Donald Marcus, who served from 2005 through 2008. The former supervisors’

testimony generally addressed such subjects as the board’s purpose in providing

retirement healthcare benefits, its understanding of the resolutions enacted, each

supervisors’ process for reviewing resolutions and agenda item transmittals, and to whom

the supervisor would direct inquiries about retirement or healthcare benefits.

For example, Graves, who was a supervisor in 1993 when the board elected to

become subject to PEMHCA, testified that when the board “approved a contract that

contained retirement health benefits” it intended “to create a mechanism to retain trained

employees in the County for an extended period of time.” Graves described the

retirement health insurance benefit as “an inherent lifetime benefit to retain employees in

San Benito County.” Graves believed that somewhere in the legislation or memoranda of

understanding there must have been language obligating the county to pay 100 percent of

retirees’ employee-only coverage for life but was unable to identify a document or

enactment containing such language. Graves indicated that he would be “very surprised”

if language committing the county to paying 100 percent of the healthcare premium upon

retirement did not exist in any resolution or MOU and suggested “the fact that it took

place for as long as it did until it was changed, is evidence -- self evident.” When cross-

examined about his understanding of the feature that enabled the county, when it first

became subject to PEMHCA, to contribute less toward retiree health benefits than to

active employees, Graves testified that he believed “at the time it was the same amount”

and provided “fully paid” retiree medical benefits.

Former supervisor Place noted that he obtained information about benefits offered

from the county administrative officer at the time, David Edge, who told him that after

five years of service to the county, he would receive a vested, lifetime benefit paying 100

percent of employee-only healthcare coverage. Place believed the vested benefit was the

14

county’s “standard practice” which could not be taken away from a retired employee

without renegotiating.

Former supervisor Patricia Loe similarly testified that she learned about retirement

benefits from David Edge as well as human resources technician Jacqueline Credico.

Loe understood that lifetime health insurance benefits covering the individual employee

were “guaranteed” after five years of service to the county. Loe was certain the board

discussed the commitment to provide fully paid retiree healthcare “several times” in

connection with resolutions fixing the county’s contribution toward the employee health

insurance benefits but could not recall particular public sessions where it was discussed.

Loe believed that at all times during her tenure, the county provided retirees with fully

paid benefits; she was not familiar with the difference between contribution rates for

retirees and employees under PEMHCA’s catchup provision.

Former supervisor Monaco also testified that he would approach Credico in

human resources for information about retiree health insurance benefits. Credico

informed him, as to his personal benefits which he began to receive while employed as a

board member, that his retiree health insurance benefits would be provided for life. He

recalled that retirees’ benefits were “fully paid” (except for what Medicare covered) and

extended to whichever plan the retiree chose. Monaco, like Loe and Graves, did not

recall resolutions setting different contribution amounts for employees and retirees.

Monaco believed, based on information from Credico, conversations with other

supervisors, and on his own receipt of benefits, that a resolution prior to his tenure

committed the county to provide fully paid retiree health insurance benefits for life.

Former supervisor Donald Marcus testified that in voting on resolutions related to

retiree health insurance benefits in 2005 and 2007, he understood that “vested”

employees who retired with the county would continue to receive health insurance

benefits. Marcus had no understanding at the time about whether, when an individual

retired, the benefit was theirs “in perpetuity after their retirement.” Like other

15

supervisors, Marcus obtained information about the resolutions regarding health

insurance from Credico.

Plaintiffs also presented several former county employees and managers as

witnesses, including David Edge and Jacqueline Credico. Edge served as the county

administrative officer from 1989 to 1998, where he oversaw the board’s administrative

duties, including budgeting, board meeting agenda, labor relations, and human resources.

Edge understood in his administrative officer role that the county’s provision of

healthcare benefits entitled retirees to the same benefit the employees received and that

the county could modify its policy going forward but not retroactively. He conveyed his

understanding to the board that once an employee retired, the benefit was vested or could

not be modified. The retirement benefits allowed San Benito to stay competitive with the

higher wages offered by other counties. Edge acknowledged on cross-examination that

he did not recall specific resolutions or records that would reflect his understanding that

retirees’ benefit contributions were equal to those of active employees.

Jacqueline Credico worked for the county from 2002 to 2018, including in the role

of human resources manager and risk manager from 2006 to 2014, since there was no

human resources director at the time. During her tenure in human resources, she enrolled

eligible employees for benefits, participated in recruitment and applicant screening, and

attended conferences and information sessions on behalf of the county. Credico

confirmed that for individual employee plans during her tenure, the county contributed to

healthcare benefits at “[t]he highest level” which covered 100 percent of the premium for

the “CalPERS Choice” plan. The printed materials provided to new hires stated that

employees who retired under CalPERS would be eligible to retain their CalPERS

sponsored health benefit, “as long as the County was a participant.”

Credico understood, from trainings she attended, the growing concern among

public agencies related to unfunded liabilities around “Other Post-Employment Benefits”

(OPEB). She learned that it was “not so easy” for the county to exit CalPERS and

16

understood that participants had a “contractual obligation” to provide retirees with a

comparable health plan and contribution. She communicated to prospective retirees that

the county’s “equal contribution” commitment—once attained—would be their benefit

for life. Credico communicated the same information to the board, explaining that once

the county reached “catch-up” in 2012, retirees would receive the same contribution that

active employees received. In a colloquy documented in board meeting minutes

discussing the 2012 resolutions fixing the county’s health insurance premium

contributions, Credico responded to questions posed by Supervisor Anthony Botelho

about the “equal contribution” provision and indicated the “commitment had been made

in 1993 in regards to health benefits for retirees” and that the county would have the

opportunity to renegotiate its contributions “when contracts opened up with the

bargaining units.”

Plaintiffs also called former county employees Denise Thome and Elsie Marshall.

Thome, who worked for the county from 1978 to 1995, then returned in 2010 to serve as

county clerk of the board, testified that when she was considering returning to work for

the county in 2010, she ran into former supervisor Patricia Loe, who reminded her that

although the county was not able to pay competitive wages, “they always offered the

benefit of paying the medical insurance for the retiree.” When Thome later inquired

about the status of her retirement benefits, the interim director of human resources at the

time, Georgia Cochran, provided her a letter stating that employees with a hire date on or

before December 31, 2009, “receive the same contribution as active employees []

currently receive.”

Elsie Marshall was a human resources technician for the county from 2005 to

2013 and reported to Jacqueline Credico. In that role, she explained healthcare benefits

to employees and retirees, including regarding their eligibility for lifetime health

insurance benefits. Marshall described the retiree health benefits as an “extremely rare

and popular benefit.” Marshall testified that the county was committed to pay the

17

premium cost for retiree-only coverage for the plan with the greatest enrollment, typically

“PERS Choice.” She confirmed on cross-examination that she was not aware of any

board meeting, staff reports, or agenda items that referenced a commitment to provide

fully paid retiree benefits at a certain level.

Several of plaintiffs’ witnesses, including Reb Monaco, Jacqueline Credico, and

Elsie Marshall, acknowledged that because they received retiree healthcare benefits

through the county, they had a personal interest in the outcome of the lawsuit.

Witnesses for the county included Georgia Cochran, who was the interim human

resources director in San Benito County for four years starting in April 2013, deputy

county administrative officer Edgar Nolasco, and former supervisors Margie Barrios and

Anthony Botelho.

Cochran testified about the county’s decision to lower health insurance

contributions under PEMHCA in 2014, when the county partnered with labor unions and

negotiated the shift to a “flat rate contribution towards medical” of $550 for the

individual plan. Cochran was present for the legislation’s enactment and was not aware

of any information suggesting the county was obligated to confer “fully paid” healthcare

benefits for retirees. Cochran also was involved in the board’s decision in August 2016

to withdraw from PEMHCA, in response to rapidly escalating increases in health

insurance rates under CalPERS. After issuing a request for proposals, the county

convened the insurance committee with representation from labor unions but did not

reach consensus. On August 9, 2016, the board elected to exit PEMHCA, and CSAC-

EIA became available as of January 1, 2017. Cochran never received information

suggesting that employees who retired under the equal contribution requirement had a

lifetime entitlement to receive equal contribution.

Former supervisor Margie Barrios served on the board from 2009 to 2016. Barrios

did not recall any information in the resolutions or accompanying staff reports and

agenda item transmittals, or in the board’s discussions, indicating that the board had

18

committed to pay the full cost or a set amount toward retirees’ healthcare benefits for life.

Barrios recalled language in the resolutions related to the equal contribution requirement

but denied receiving information that once an individual retired, they had a vested right to

the same health insurance contribution as active employees for their lifetime. Barrios

also testified that an individual employee of the county, including human resources

management, did not have the authority to bind the county with regard to matters of

employee compensation, which required a majority vote of the board.

Anthony Botelho, who served on the board starting in 2005, described the board’s

annual process in fixing the county’s contributions toward employee and retiree health

insurance benefits under PEMHCA. Botelho testified that in 2012, he had requested that

Resolution No. 2012-67 be “pulled for discussion” and taken off the consent agenda.

There ensued a public discussion of the catch-up provision under PEMHCA, which

Botelho understood required that the county complete the step-up to equalize retirees’

contributions even as employees were being laid off. Credico, in response, referenced the

county’s obligation under PEMHCA to provide comparable health benefits for retirees as

for active employees. Botelho did not recall any information in resolutions, staff reports

and agenda item transmittals, or board discussions, indicating that the board’s resolutions

committed the county to pay the full cost or a set amount toward retirees’ healthcare

benefits for life.

c. Parties’ Contentions

In closing arguments, plaintiffs identified two theories of implied contract. First,

they argued the benefit “was a 100 percent paid individual plan,” specifically a

“contribution rate equal to 100 percent of the medium range plan for an individual

employee,” and the county violated its contractual promise “when [it] failed to provide a

contribution rate equal to an individual plan.” Second, they argued the benefit required

any cap on the contribution rate for active employees to “be equal for the retirees who

19

retired before the County exited PEMHCA,” and the county violated its promise “when

[it] failed to provide a contribution rate equal to what is given to active employees.”

Plaintiffs emphasized that, as stipulated by the county, the resolutions from 1993

to 2012 did not contain language stating that the county could opt out of its obligation to

provide retiree health insurance benefits as required by PEMHCA. Furthermore,

plaintiffs argued that the board looked to county personnel like David Edge and

Jacqueline Credico for information about the retiree healthcare benefits, and Edge and

Credico uniformly agreed that the healthcare benefit vested upon retirement and could

not be retroactively diminished.

In response, the county emphasized that in the absence of an express contractual

obligation—which both sides agreed did not exist in this case—proof of an implied

contract under Retired Employees required a clear and unmistakable intent by the board

to grant a vested right in the “fully paid” retirement benefit. The county argued that

plaintiffs’ own ambiguity about the nature of the promise and the need to rely on

extrinsic, largely inadmissible evidence demonstrated that plaintiffs could not overcome

the legal presumption against a finding of implied contract.

d. Tentative Ruling and Statement of Decision

Following the receipt of posttrial briefing, the trial court issued a tentative ruling.

The tentative ruling, later designated as the court’s proposed statement of decision and

made final in the judgment, found substantial evidence to support plaintiffs’ implied

contract claim.

In its ruling, the trial court concluded that “the circumstances shown by the

evidence clearly establish[] that the County did enter into an implied contract with its

employees promising, in exchange for working during their active years at lower wages,

upon retirement they would be compensated by having their health benefits paid at the

same rate as active employees.” The trial court found “[t]his was clearly intended as an

integral component of the employment agreement.”

20

It further reasoned, based on the information provided to prospective and active

employees by the county’s authorized personnel, that if the board did not intend to create

such an implied right, “it would be expected that definitive action would have been taken

early on to correct the situation. But, having full knowledge as to what the retiree

benefits were known to be, [the board] took no action to modify them prior to 2014.”

The trial court thus concluded that while the recent changes to retiree healthcare benefits

may operate prospectively, they “cannot negate the vested retirement rights guaranteed to

Plaintiffs.”

The trial court rejected plaintiffs’ claim, however, of an implied contract under

which the county would pay 100 percent of their health insurance premiums. The court

found that the claim to 100 percent paid coverage “was based upon a misunderstanding”

stemming from the fact that at the time Resolution 93-96 was adopted, the county

covered 100 percent of employee contributions.8

The trial court also clarified its evidentiary ruling based on the county’s in limine

motion to exclude testimony of members of the board as to their individual expressions of

intent in adopting Resolution 93-96. The court noted it had declined to exclude the

evidence “entirely, so as not to preclude its potential admissibility and relevance for some

non-prohibited purpose.” It found the testimony of both David Edge and Jacqueline

Credico especially “relevant and admissible to circumstantially show the Board had

knowledge about the retiree benefits and how that information had continuously for years

been disseminated to the employees.”

The trial court observed, “Expressions of intent stated by Board members during

these discussions further affirmed the County management’s reasonable reliance, and the

8

Although not at issue on appeal, we note the trial court’s finding that “at the time

Resolution 93-96 was adopted the County was covering 100% of employee

contributions” is accurate only with respect to individual coverage for select plans (i.e.,

PERS Choice) from 1993 to 2013.

21

testimony of those members at trial confirmed that those dis[cus]sions took place as

reported. The Board, thereafter taking no action to attempt modification of these

benefits, provides strong evidence that these were the health benefits as promised to the

employees by the adoption of Resolution 93-96.”

The court concluded from this evidence “that in order to be able to attract and

retain qualified employees while offering lower salaries than otherwise available, the

county entered into an implied in fact contract that promised eligible retirees paid health

insurance premiums equal to those paid for active County employees. The County’s

withdrawal from PEMHCA years later did not release it from this implied promise. The

actual amount the County is obligated to pay is subject to change in accordance with

those agreements resulting from terms of the periodic MOUs entered into between the

County and active employees.”

The court concluded with respect to the implied contract, “[t]he terms of the

contract are non-modifiable. To be otherwise would render the County’s promise

ephemeral and meaningless since the promised coverage could be unilaterally changed at

any time.”

3. Judgment

The trial court entered judgment in favor of plaintiffs on September 9, 2020. The

court amended the judgment on December 3, 2020, to reflect the amount owed to each

plaintiff in damages and interest, calculated as “the previously paid difference between

active and retiree health insurance premiums, from [each plaintiff’s] retirement to date.”

The amended judgment also provided that plaintiffs could apply for “statutorily allowable

attorney fees.” The county timely filed its notice of appeal from the judgment and

amended judgment on December 15, 2020. On March 3, 2021, after further proceedings,

the trial court awarded plaintiffs attorney fees pursuant to Code of Civil Procedure

section 1021.5.

22

II. DISCUSSION

The principal issue on appeal is whether the trial court erred in its conclusion that

plaintiffs’ evidence satisfied the legal standard set out in Retired Employees to prove that

the county intended to provide retired county employees with a vested right to lifetime

healthcare benefits equal to that provided for active employees and entered into an

implied contract to do so.9

A. Standard of Review

Where, as here, the appeal presents questions of both law and fact, our Supreme

Court has explained the principles governing the standards of appellate review.

“ ‘Questions of fact concern the establishment of historical or physical facts; their

resolution is reviewed under the substantial-evidence test. Questions of law relate to the

selection of a rule; their resolution is reviewed independently. Mixed questions of law

and fact concern the application of the rule to the facts and the consequent determination

whether the rule is satisfied. . . . If, . . . the inquiry requires a critical consideration, in a

factual context, of legal principles and their underlying values, the question is

predominantly legal and its determination is reviewed independently.’ ” (Haworth v.

Superior Court (2010) 50 Cal.4th 372, 384 (Haworth).)

In this matter, the county seeks to demonstrate that the trial court’s determination

regarding the existence of an implied vested contractual right contravenes the legal

presumption articulated in Retired Employees “ ‘against the creation of a vested

contractual right.’ ” (Cal Fire, supra, 6 Cal.5th at p. 983.) Our examination thus requires

“ ‘ “the consideration of legal concepts and involve[s] the exercise of judgment about the

values underlying legal principles” ’ ” (Haworth, supra, 50 Cal.4th at p. 385), thus

triggering independent review. (See Cal Fire at p. 976 [applying independent review to

9

The county also raises arguments on appeal as to equitable estoppel and the

defenses of statute of limitations and laches. The county has elected not to separately

appeal the fee award, which it submits “will rise or fall with the judgment.”

23

whether a claimed public employee benefit was a vested right protected by the

constitutional contract clause].)

Further, the contested issue surrounding the admission of extrinsic evidence

outside the legislative process to prove the board’s intent requires this court to evaluate

the trial court’s evidentiary rulings. In particular, we examine the trial court’s

determination that the evidence was sufficient to prove the county’s intent to establish an

implied contractual right to the specified, vested retirement benefits. Several additional

precepts guide our review of this question.

“As a general matter, evidence may be admitted if relevant (Evid. Code, § 350),

and ‘ “[r]elevant evidence” means evidence . . . having any tendency in reason to prove

or disprove any disputed fact that is of consequence to the determination of the action’

(id., § 210).” (Coffey v. Shiomoto (2015) 60 Cal.4th 1198, 1213 (Coffey).) However,

even as a trial court has broad discretion in determining the relevance of evidence (ibid.),

it lacks discretion to admit irrelevant evidence (People v. Riggs (2008) 44 Cal.4th 248,

289). We generally review a trial court’s rulings concerning the admissibility of evidence

for abuse of discretion. (Shaw v. County of Santa Cruz (2008) 170 Cal.App.4th 229,

281.) To the extent the relevancy determination in this case turns primarily on the

application of the legal standard enunciated in Retired Employees, the issue is a question

of law, which we review de novo. (See Zhou v. Unisource Worldwide (2007) 157

Cal.App.4th 1471, 1476.)

B. Implied Contractual Right to Vested Retiree Healthcare Benefits Equal to

Those Provided to Active Employees

1. Analytical Framework

Plaintiffs’ claim is founded on the concept of vested rights. The vested rights

doctrine “is grounded in the constitutional contract clause” in the United States and

24

California Constitutions.10 (Cal Fire, supra, 6 Cal.5th at pp. 976–977.) The contract

clause “prohibit[s] the enactment of laws effecting a ‘substantial impairment’ of

contracts, including contracts of employment.” (Id. at p. 977.) Understood in this

context, the term “ ‘vested right’ ” refers to a “benefit of public employment whose

repeal or other divestment is constrained by the constitutional contract clause.” (Id. at

p. 972, fn. 3.)

The terms and conditions of public employment are generally established by

statute rather than by contract. (Cal Fire, supra, 6 Cal.5th at p. 977.) Consequently,

most terms of public employment are not protected by the contract clause and may

therefore be changed by the relevant legislative body. As emphasized by the California

Supreme Court, “[c]ontract clause protection of the terms and conditions of public

employment historically has been the exception, rather than the rule.” (Ibid.)

In Retired Employees, in response to a question certified by the United States

Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, the California Supreme Court considered whether

a California county can form an implied contract with county employees that would, by

virtue of the operation of the contract clause, confer a vested contractual right to lifetime

retiree health benefits. (Retired Employees, supra, 52 Cal.4th at p. 1176.)

The California Supreme Court recognized that the principles governing intent to

form implied contractual terms in the context of public employment benefits are the same

as those that govern interpretation of private contracts. (Retired Employees, supra, 52

Cal.4th at p. 1179; see Civ. Code, § 1635.) These rules provide that a contract may be

either express or implied. (Retired Employees, at p. 1178, citing Civ. Code, § 1619.)

While express contract terms are stated in words (Civ. Code, § 1620), “[t]he existence

10

Article I, section 10, clause 1 of the United States Constitution states that “No

state shall . . . pass any . . . law impairing the obligation of contracts . . . .” (U.S. Const.,

art. I, § 10, cl. 1.) The California Constitution similarly provides, “A . . . law impairing

the obligation of contracts may not be passed.” (Cal. Const., article I, § 9.)

25

and terms of an implied contract are manifested by conduct.” (Retired Employees, at

p. 1178; see Civ. Code, § 1621.) Conduct to form an implied contract, or implied

contractual terms, must reflect “ ‘a mutual agreement and intent to promise where the

agreement and promise have not been expressed in words.’ ” (Retired Employees, at

p. 1178.)

In the employment benefit context, where the benefit in question has been

conferred by board resolution, the court looks to the resolution to ascertain the parties’

contractual rights and obligations. (Retired Employees, supra, 52 Cal.4th at p. 1185.)

There are, according to Retired Employees, “limited circumstances” under California law

in which contractual rights may be implied from such legislative enactments. (Ibid.)

These limits stem from the fact that “[a] resolution by a county board does not only—or

even primarily—establish contract rights” but rather is a means “by which a board of

supervisors exercises its authority to effect policy.” (Ibid.) “ ‘Policies, unlike contracts,

are inherently subject to revision and repeal, and to construe laws as contracts when the

obligation is not clearly and unequivocally expressed would be to limit drastically the

essential powers of a legislative body.’ ” (Ibid.) Accordingly, the court held that there is

a legal presumption against creation of a vested contractual right from a resolution or

statutory scheme. (Id. at pp. 1185–1186.) “ ‘[I]t is presumed that a statutory scheme is

not intended to create private contractual or vested rights and a person who asserts the

creation of a contract with the state has the burden of overcoming that presumption.’ ”

(Id. at p. 1186, italics added.)

The court in Retired Employees instructed that to overcome the presumption

against a finding of implied contractual rights, “the statutory language or circumstances

accompanying its passage” must “ ‘clearly “ . . . evince a legislative intent to create

private rights of a contractual nature enforceable against the [governmental body].” ’ ”

(Retired Employees, supra, 52 Cal.4th at p. 1187.) The intent to make a contract need not

be express but it must be “clear.” (Ibid.)

26

Recognizing that an implied a contractual right to a lifetime retirement benefit

“raise[s] legitimate” economic concerns for public agencies (Retired Employees, supra,

52 Cal.4th at p. 1188), the California Supreme Court directed courts to “ ‘proceed

cautiously both in identifying a contract within the language of a . . . statute and in

defining the contours of any contractual obligation.’ ” (Ibid.) The court reiterated, “as

with any contractual obligation that would bind one party for a period extending far

beyond the term of the contract of employment, implied rights to vested benefits should

not be inferred without a clear basis in the contract or convincing extrinsic evidence.”

(Id. at p. 1191.)

The California Supreme Court highlighted that requiring a clear showing of

legislative intent to create contractual rights in order to overcome the default presumption

against them, “should ensure that neither the governing body nor the public will be

blindsided by unexpected obligations.” (Retired Employees, supra, 52 Cal.4th at

pp. 1188–1189.)

The California Supreme Court in Cal Fire reaffirmed the principles articulated in

Retired Employees, including the presumption against legislative creation of a vested

contractual right. In reviewing the conclusion of the court in Retired Employees, the high

court noted that “the existence of the MOUs” between the county and employees in

Retired Employees was “critical to its conclusion that an implied contractual right could

have been created.” (Cal Fire, supra, 6 Cal.5th at p. 980.)

In Cal Fire itself, the court rejected the plaintiffs’ claim that a statute enacted in

2003, which gave state employees the opportunity to purchase additional retirement

service credit (and boost their eventual pension benefits), created a vested right to

purchase such credit. (Cal Fire, supra, 6 Cal.5th at pp. 969–971.) In examining the

issue, the court reiterated that the principal function of a legislature is not to make

contracts but to make laws that establish governmental policies, which “ ‘ “are inherently

subject to revision and repeal.” ’ ” (Id. at p. 978.) After reviewing the terms of the

27

statute, the court concluded it did not “ ‘clearly evince a legislative intent to create private

rights of a contractual nature,’ which is required before such rights will be found.” (Id. at

p. 982.)

Nor had plaintiffs shown intent through any “text, legislative history, or other

evidence suggesting that the Legislature intended to make [additional retirement service]

credit an irrevocable feature of the employment of then-existing public employees.” (Cal

Fire, supra, 6 Cal.5th at p. 983.) The court also rejected the plaintiffs’ theory that the

opportunity to purchase service credit was a form of deferred compensation akin to

pension benefits. (Id. at pp. 986–987.) Notably, the court compared the service credit to

“other optional benefits offered to public employees in connection with their work”—

including the opportunity to purchase health insurance benefits through a provider—and

noted it had “never suggested that this type of benefit is entitled to protection under the

contract clause.” (Id. at p. 987.)

It is unmistakable from this precedent that California law contains a strong

presumption against a finding of implied contractual rights for public employees. To

overcome that presumption here, plaintiffs must establish that the board acted with the

“requisite clear manifestation of intent” (Cal Fire, supra, 6 Cal.5th at p. 981) to create an

implied, vested, contractual right to nonmodifiable retiree health benefits. Under Retired

Employees, such intent may be proven by “the statutory language or circumstances

accompanying its passage.” (Retired Employees, supra, 52 Cal.4th at p. 1187.)

2. Parties’ Contentions

The county asserts that plaintiffs failed to make this showing, and the trial court’s

conclusion to the contrary was error. First, the county maintains the trial court erred by

considering inadmissible extrinsic evidence outside the legislative record to ascertain

legislative intent. Second, the county contends the trial court erred by misconstruing the

28

law and failing to apply Retired Employees’s presumption against an implied vested

contractual right to the evidence at trial.11

Plaintiffs respond that because the legislative record did not provide substantive

guidance as to the board’s intent to create a vested right, the trial court properly admitted

testimony of former members of the board and administrative staff from which to

ascertain the legislative intent. Plaintiffs argue that the county’s legal arguments misread

and misapply the Retired Employees standard, which plaintiffs assert the evidence at trial

readily satisfied. A brief filed by amici curiae League of California Cities and California

State Association of Counties in support of the county’s appeal emphasizes the

importance, from the standpoint of cities and counties throughout California, that courts

adhere strictly to the standard set forth in Retired Employees.

3. Analysis

Both parties agree that there was no express contract between the county and

plaintiffs to pay retirees’ healthcare benefits at the same rate as active employees in

perpetuity. Plaintiffs rely instead on a theory of implied contract. As the California

Supreme Court has observed, a contract implied in fact “ ‘consists of obligations arising

from a mutual agreement and intent to promise where the agreement and promise have

not been expressed in words.’ ” (Retired Employees, supra, 52 Cal.4th at p. 1178.)

We begin by clarifying the implied promise at issue on appeal. As the county

points out, plaintiffs identified various expressions of the promise they sought to enforce

11

In its briefing on appeal, the county asserts numerous grounds for reversing the

trial court’s ruling. It contends, inter alia, that plaintiffs failed to prove a vested

contractual right to lifetime retiree healthcare premiums equal to those paid for active

employees, that the trial court erred in admitting extrinsic evidence of legislative intent,

that plaintiffs failed to identify the purported promise much less prove the board intended

to bind the county to it, and that the legislative record does not support an implied

contractual vested right. The county further contends, in an argument raised for the first

time in its reply brief, that an implied contractual obligation is void and unenforceable

here. For ease of exposition, we have distilled the county’s principal contentions on

appeal into two key challenges identified ante.

29

through this litigation. The operative complaint alleged that Resolution 93-96, together

with subsequent resolutions and communications by the board and county officials,

manifested a promise to provide “fully paid” or “100% paid” retiree healthcare benefit

premiums, “no less than those received at their time of retirement from the County of San

Benito.” Plaintiffs offered testimony at trial to this effect, including the recollections of

former supervisors Patricia Loe, Reb Monaco, Richard Place, and Michael Graves, and

argued this version of the promise in their posttrial brief.

Plaintiffs at trial also asserted a different implied contractual term—namely that

the county promised to provide lifetime retiree healthcare benefits (for those employees

who retired before the county exited from PEMHCA) in parity with those provided for

active employees. In support of this articulation of the implied contractual term,

plaintiffs offered the testimony of former human resources technician Elsie Marshall,

former clerk of the board Denise Thome, and former county administrative officer David

Edge. Lastly, plaintiffs additionally offered testimony to the effect that the promised,

vested healthcare benefit entitled them to 100 percent of the “medium range plan”

offered.

As noted, ante, the trial court found that the alleged promise of “fully paid” or

“100% paid” retiree health insurance premiums “was based upon a misunderstanding”

related to the coverage provided at the time Resolution 93-96 was adopted. The court

instead ruled that the county “enter[ed] into an implied contract with its employees

promising, in exchange for working during their active years at lower wages, upon

retirement they would be compensated by having their health benefits paid at the same

rate as active employees” and that the promise “was clearly intended as an integral

component of the employment agreement.”12

The county contends that plaintiffs’ shifting identification of the purported

12

promise underscores their inability to prove that the board manifested clear intent to bind

30

Both sides agree that the resolutions passed by the board and the related legislative

record do not contain language indicating an intent to create a vested right to

nonmodifiable retiree healthcare benefits. The parties disagree on whether the trial court

erred in considering evidence beyond the resolutions passed by the board.

The county contends that Retired Employees and its progeny require courts to limit

review to the text of the legislation alleged to confer the right and the record on which

that legislation was adopted. The county argues that the rationale for limiting evidence of

intent to the legislative record is to ensure that the court considers only the intent of the

whole governing body, not the recollections or belief of individual legislators, because

only a majority of the county board may legislate employee compensation. The county

asserts that notwithstanding the trial court’s in limine ruling to bar testimony “as it

applies to the subjective intent of the decision makers,” the trial court ultimately allowed

plaintiffs to circumvent the ruling by permitting former supervisors to testify as to their

knowledge or understanding of the county’s provision of retiree healthcare benefits.

Plaintiffs maintain, however, that the general prohibition against inquiring into the

subjective intent of individual legislators does not support a categorical bar against

looking beyond the legislative record to ascertain the intended legal effect of a legislative

enactment. They argue the trial court properly admitted evidence of information that was

known to the board at the time it enacted the relevant resolutions.

It is axiomatic that a county acts only through its board of supervisors, which as its

governing body “exercises the powers of the county.” (County of Sonoma v. Superior

Court (2009) 173 Cal.App.4th 322, 344, fn. 9; see County of Riverside v. Superior Court

the county, since an implied promise, like an express promise, requires a “ ‘meeting of

minds’ ” (Pacific Bay Recovery, Inc. v. California Physicians’ Services, Inc. (2017) 12

Cal.App.5th 200, 215) or “ascertained agreement of the parties” (Unilab Corp. v.

Angeles-IPA (2016) 244 Cal.App.4th 622, 636). Because our task at this juncture is to

review the judgment rendered, we do not focus on any alternate formulations of the

promise offered at trial but on the implied contractual term found by the trial court.

31

(2003) 30 Cal.4th 278, 285.) Further, the difficult judgments required by the legislative

function “ ‘ “cannot be left to individual officers acting in isolation; rather, it is, and

indeed must be, the responsibility of the legislative body to weigh those needs and set

priorities for the utilization of the limited revenues available.” ’ ” (Carmel Valley Fire

Protection Dist. v. State of California (2001) 25 Cal.4th 287, 302.)

For this reason, testimony regarding the understanding or intent of individual

lawmakers or staff is generally irrelevant (and therefore inadmissible) to prove legislative

intent. As expressed by the California Supreme Court, “we have repeatedly declined to

discern legislative intent from comments by a bill’s author because they reflect only the

views of a single legislator instead of those of the Legislature as a whole.” (Myers v.

Philip Morris Companies, Inc. (2002) 28 Cal.4th 828, 845; see Quintano v. Mercury

Casualty Co. (1995) 11 Cal.4th 1049, 1062; People v. Farell (2002) 28 Cal.4th 381, 394

[“the expressions of individual legislators generally are an improper basis upon which to

discern the intent of the entire Legislature”].) Instead, to determine intent, “the court

relies on the expression of the intent of the entire legislative body rather than statements

made by individual members of the Legislature.” (City of Berkeley v. Cukierman (1993)

14 Cal.App.4th 1331, 1341.) “The subjective understandings of individuals, as well as

understandings communicated outside the approval process, are not admissible as

evidence of the City’s intent.” (Vallejo Police, supra, 15 Cal.App.5th at p. 617.)

Thus, as one appellate decision noted in a case involving a city’s living wage

ordinance, the testimony of a former city councilmember who served when the council

passed the ordinance was “not admissible to show the intended meaning of the statute,”

though the court could properly consider contemporaneous memoranda from the city

attorney to the city council concerning the draft ordinance. (Aguiar v. Superior Court

(2009) 170 Cal.App.4th 313, 326, fn. 7.) So, too, reviewing courts have typically

declined to credit non-contemporaneous or after-the-fact statements regarding legislative

intent. (See Graham County Soil and Water Conservation Dist. v. U.S. ex rel. Wilson

32

(2010) 559 U.S. 280, 298 [deeming letter written by the bill’s sponsors 13 years after its

enactment “of scant or no value” for purposes of deciding statutory intent]; Maples v.

Kern County Assessment Appeals Bd. (2002) 103 Cal.App.4th 172, 195, fn. 9 [rejecting

as unpersuasive after-the-fact statements by the individual responsible for drafting the

agency rule at issue, where that testimony was contrary to the “administrative record

contemporaneous to the adoption and amendment” of the rule].)

Likewise, courts have rejected evidence of longstanding policies and practices—

standing alone—as an adequate basis to establish clear legislative intent to create an

implied vested benefit. “A practice or policy extended over a period of time does not

translate into an implied contract right without clear legislative intent to create that

right . . . .” (Retired Employees Assn. of Orange County, Inc. v. County of Orange (9th

Cir. 2014) 742 F.3d 1137, 1142 (Retired Employees II), citing Retired Employees, supra,

52 Cal.4th at p. 1187.) Indeed, a consistent course of conduct does not imply contractual

entitlement absent evidence of the requisite intent. (See Sappington v. Orange Unified

School Dist. (2004) 119 Cal.App.4th 949, 954–955, [school district’s 20-year course of

conduct in which it provided retirees free health coverage under various plans did not

support retirees’ assertion that the longstanding benefit created an implied contractual

mandate]; Sacramento County Retired Employees Assn. v. County of Sacramento (E.D.

Cal. 2013) 975 F.Supp.2d 1150, 1166 [explaining that the course of conduct must give

rise to the specific contractual understanding sought to be enforced as an implied

contract].)

As these cases demonstrate, the relevance of extrinsic evidence to prove legislative

intent to confer an implied contractual right is closely related to the function of the

legislative process and is defined according to the commonly recognized indicia of

legislative intent. (See, e.g., Kaufman & Broad Communities, Inc. v. Performance

Plastering, Inc. (2005) 133 Cal.App.4th 26, 30 (Kaufman & Broad) [“As a general rule in

order to be cognizable, legislative history must shed light on the collegial view of the

33

Legislature as a whole.”].)13 In comparing these standards to the scope of testimony

admitted at trial, it appears that the trial court failed to adhere to its own articulated limit.

That is, while on the one hand the court recognized that it could not consider “the

subjective intent of the decision makers” and instead indicated it would allow testimony

related to the circumstances surrounding passage of the resolutions and what the board

members “were informed of” (presumably at the time they voted on the relevant

resolutions), the court admitted and considered testimony beyond these parameters.

Former supervisors Michael Graves, Richard Place, Patricia Loe, Reb Monaco,

and Donald Marcus each testified on behalf of plaintiffs regarding their knowledge or

understanding of the county’s retirement health insurance promise for county employees.

But at no point were these former supervisors able to identify a communication from staff

that conveyed their understanding to the board as a whole, or even a specific resolution or

board meeting at which the county’s commitment to lifetime retirement benefits at a

specified level was discussed in open session. Far from demonstrating a clear intent to

promise lifetime retiree health insurance benefits based upon “the statutory language or

circumstances accompanying [the] passage” (Retired Employees, supra, 52 Cal.4th at

p. 1187) of Resolution 93-96, or any of the subsequent resolutions, the testimony of the

former supervisors reflected their generic knowledge or understanding of the benefits that

13

The Kaufman & Broad decision provides a lengthy illustrative list of materials

that generally constitute “cognizable legislative history.” (Kaufman & Broad, supra, 133

Cal.App.4th at pp. 31–38.) Though directed at requests for judicial notice of documents

pertaining to legislative history, the list is instructive. Examples of “cognizable

legislative history” include conference committee reports, assembly staff analyses, and

statements by sponsors, proponents and opponents communicated to the legislature as a

whole (id. at pp. 31–36), whereas documents not constituting legislative history include

legislator statements, letters, and press releases not communicated to the legislature as a

whole, and views of individual legislators, staffers, and other interested persons. (Id. at

pp. 37–38.)

34

the county offered, and by which it sought to attract and retain employees.14 In other

words, plaintiffs adduced from the former supervisors the very information that case

authority deems irrelevant to the determining legislative intent—each of their “subjective

understandings . . . , as well as understandings communicated outside the approval

process.” (Vallejo Police, supra, 15 Cal.App.5th at p. 617.)

Furthermore, the former board members who testified on plaintiffs’ behalf each

referenced a formulation of the purported promise that the trial court ultimately rejected

(i.e., that of a lifetime commitment or guarantee to pay retiree healthcare benefits in full

or at 100 percent); none recalled or described a promise in the terms ultimately selected

by the trial court—one based on equal contributions for retirees and active employees.

The sole witnesses who articulated that expression of the county’s implied promise were

plaintiffs themselves, who testified both regarding 100 percent coverage of the medical

premium for life (rejected by the trial court) and regarding lifetime coverage at the same

rate paid for active employees as well as former county administrative officer David

Edge and former human resources technician and management analyst III Jacqueline

14

For example, as summarized in more detail ante (part I.B.2.b.), Michael Graves,

who served on the board from 1982 to 1995, testified that his “knowledge” of the

“retirement health insurance promise” for county employees was that it was “an inherent

lifetime benefit to retain employees in San Benito County.” Richard Place, who served

on the board from 1997 to 2000, testified that he understood from the then-county

administrative officer that retirement benefits vested after five years of service, at which

point the county was committed to paying 100 percent of employees’ coverage for a

selected premium. Patricia Loe, who served on the board from 2003 to 2010, testified

that her knowledge of the county’s “guaranteed” lifetime health insurance benefit for

individual coverage at the “middle tier” CalPERS plan came from former county

administrative officers and human resources staff. Reb Monaco, who served on the board

from 2003 until 2010, believed, based on information from Jaqueline Credico in human

resources, informal conversations with other supervisors, and his own receipt of benefits

from the county, that a resolution adopted before his tenure committed the county to

provide fully paid retiree healthcare benefits for life.

35

Credico.15 But as set forth ante, the testimony of former government staff or employees

cannot substitute for admissible documentation or testimony of legislative intent based on

the understanding expressed by the board as a whole in connection with the legislative

approval process. (See, e.g., Kaufman & Broad, supra, 133 Cal.App.4th at p. 38 [listing

“views of individual legislators, staffers, and other interested persons” as outside the

scope of judicially noticeable evidence to prove legislative intent] (boldface &

capitalization omitted).)

Plaintiffs maintain, however, that the trial court’s inclusion of testimony pertaining

to the facts and circumstances known to individual supervisors at the time they enacted

resolutions “was proper because it was needed to clarify a legislative record that was

paltry on intent.” Plaintiffs rely on language in a decision by a panel of this court which

sought to clarify the limits on discovery and admissibility of legislative intent evidence.

(See City of King City v. Community Bank of Central California (2005) 131 Cal.App.4th

913, 942–948 (King City).)

The decision in King City addressed a city council’s deposit of funds as collateral

for a redevelopment loan and reviewed, in relevant part, the trial court’s exclusion of

what the reviewing court ultimately held to be “proper objective indicia of legislative

intent, including the circumstances of the enactments in question and what actually took

place at public meetings where those enactments, or matters related to them, were

publicly discussed and adopted.” (King City, supra, 131 Cal.App.4th at p. 919.) The

15

Edge, who served as the county administrative officer from 1989 to 1998,

understood that the county’s benefits entitled retirees to the same healthcare benefit that

active employees received and that the county could modify its policy prospectively but

not retroactively. Edge did not recall any resolution or record that would reflect his

understanding that retirees’ medical contributions were equivalent to active employees.

Jacqueline Credico worked for the county in several roles, including human resources,

from 2002 to 2018. In her meetings with prospective retirees, Credico would explain that

once the county’s contributions for retirees equaled contributions for active employees

(as occurred in 2012), that benefit would continue for life. She communicated the same

information to the supervisors.

36

court explained that while “[c]ourts will not permit testimony from current or former

public officials concerning their intentions or understandings of legislative actions” (id. at

p. 942), those limits “do not support a categorical rule against looking beyond the

minutes of local agency action to ascertain the meaning and intent of a patently

ambiguous enactment.” (Id. at p. 944.) Plaintiffs thus contend that where meeting

minutes and language contained in resolutions are silent on key points relating to their

legal effect, King City confirms that a party may adduce evidence bearing on the

ambiguous legislative intent, “including statements made or information otherwise

conveyed to the Council about the reason and need for the measures, the circumstances

giving rise to them, and their probable or desired effects.” (Id. at p. 948.)

We agree that King City provides a useful elucidation of the boundaries of

admissible evidence and testimony concerning the meaning of municipal legislation

where the measure itself is unclear. But plaintiffs overlook critical points in King City’s

analysis which undercut the trial court’s broad admission of generic “knowledge” and

“understanding” evidence in this case. The court in King City recognized that admissible

extrinsic evidence must be circumscribed by its relationship to the public record and

collective knowledge or intent of the governing body. As stated in King City, where the

issue before the court is “the collective intent of the legislature, as objectively manifested

in the adoption of particular measures, courts may and must consult extrinsic evidence

including circumstances and information known to the Legislature at the time of the

enactment, public records of their collective deliberations, and expressions of intent

collectively adopted by them.” (King City, supra, 131 Cal.App.4th at p. 944.) The court

further explained “that California law may prevent individual legislators from saying

what they privately believed a measure would do, even if a majority of them are prepared

to so testify. But nothing in California law prevents discovery and evidence of what

legislators said about a proposal before them in the presence of the body, even if their

37

statements can be conceived as reflecting a mental state or process, provided the evidence

is offered to show what the body was voting on when it adopted the measure.” (Ibid.)

Examples given by the court in King City demonstrate that the types of evidence to

which it referred included authenticated reports of committees and officers, where the

record shows the report was adopted by members or acted upon by them, and

authenticated recordings of the relevant proceedings. (King City, supra, 131 Cal.App.4th

at p. 947.) Upon careful review, these examples bear little resemblance to the testimony

that predominated at trial here. Plaintiffs’ evidence mainly consisted of former

supervisors’ recollections of their personal knowledge or understanding of the county’s

retirement benefits offering, none of which articulated the implied promise ultimately

selected by the trial court and all of which were unmoored from any proceeding,

resolution, or staff report to which such intent or knowledge could be imputed.

Critically, none of this testimony involved supervisors’ statements or staff presentations

made in the presence of the board to show “what the body was voting on when it adopted

the measure.” (Id. at p. 944.)

In the absence of these factors, we conclude that plaintiffs’ evidence from former

supervisors did not relate to the legislative body’s collective sense “as inferred from the

public record of, and the circumstances surrounding, the adoption of the measure.” (King

City, supra, 131 Cal.App.4th at pp. 947–948.) This evidence therefore fell outside the

bounds of admissible evidence set forth in King City. This conclusion accords with the

California Supreme Court’s application of Retired Employees’s principles in Cal Fire,

where the court reiterated its holding that “the resolutions of a board of supervisors

governing the terms and conditions of county employment could create implied

contractual rights ‘when the language or circumstances accompanying [enactment of the

resolutions] clearly evince a legislative intent to create private rights of a contractual

nature.’ ” (Cal Fire, supra, 6 Cal.5th at p. 979.)

38

We therefore decide that the trial court erred in considering legally inadmissible

evidence to construe the board’s intent. (Coffey, supra, 60 Cal.4th at p. 1213; see Evid.

Code, § 350 [“No evidence is admissible except relevant evidence.”].) As this evidence

was not relevant to whether the board as a whole intended to promise that retired

employees should receive guaranteed health insurance payments, in perpetuity, at an

equal contribution rate as active employees, we will not consider it in determining

whether plaintiffs met their burden of establishing the board’s intent. (Coffey, at

p. 1213.)

Our conclusion that the testimony of the former board members in this case

largely exceeded the standards of admissibility requires us to consider whether the

remaining evidence nevertheless supports the trial court’s finding of an implied

contractual vested right to equal contribution toward retiree healthcare premiums. The

admissible evidence includes the relevant resolutions and related legislative record,

including staff reports, meeting minutes, and that testimony which did relate to or

describe circumstances informing specific board decisions and the county’s course of

conduct in providing the benefits in question,16 all of which were entered into evidence at

trial.

The parties have already agreed—and plaintiffs in fact concede—that Resolution

93-96, subsequent resolutions, and the accompanying legislative record do not provide

16

We refer, for example, to the testimony by Jacqueline Credico and supervisor

Anthony Botelho concerning a discussion recorded in the minutes of the November 6,

2012 board meeting regarding the county’s equal contribution obligation under

PEMHCA. Botelho requested that Resolution No. 2012-67 be “pulled for discussion”

and taken off the consent agenda. He asked about the cost of raising retirees to the same

contribution rate as active employees, and Credico responded that the “commitment had

been made in 1993 in regards to health benefits for retirees” and that the county would

have the opportunity to renegotiate its contributions “when contracts opened up with the

bargaining units.”

Credico testified that she explained at that time that the county had “ ‘an

obligation to retirees to provide considerable health benefits.” ”

39

the requisite support for a finding of an implied vested right in specified retiree healthcare

benefits. Our independent examination of the resolutions and accompanying legislative

record confirms that the parties are correct in their acknowledgment of this point. The

statutory language contains no indication, express or implied, that the commitment

articulated in Resolution 93-96 to increase the county’s contribution for retirees’ benefits

“until such time as the amounts are equal” to active employees’ benefits created a vested

right to such equal contributions extending even beyond the county’s election to be

subject to PEMHCA. Subsequent resolutions fixed the county’s commitment to pay

employee and retirement healthcare premiums for that period. Resolution No. 2012-67,

which reflected that the county’s contribution for employees and retirees had reached

parity consistent with the “equal contribution” rule under PEMHCA, expressly stated that

the “employer’s contribution for each employee” and “for each annuitant” set forth in the

resolution were “for the calendar year 2013.” It therefore cannot support an implied

promise to make such payments in perpetuity.

In addition to the evidence of subjective intent we have already determined was

legally irrelevant, the trial court cited the board’s apparent acquiescence to or adoption of

the information about retirement benefits being disseminated by David Edge and

Jacqueline Credico. The trial court reasoned that the board “relied on this information”

and “signaled its agreement by taking no steps over a 21 year period to otherwise instruct

its managers or attempt a modification relating to the promised benefits.”

We recognize that this evidence may be construed as presenting a pattern, practice,

or course of conduct in which the board regularly reconfirmed (through the passage of

resolutions) the county’s intent to provide healthcare benefits to retirees in a manner

consistent with the equal contribution provision of PEMHCA. However, as stated ante, a

continued practice or course of conduct is not in and of itself evidence of legislative

intent sufficient to create an implied vested benefit. (Vallejo Police, supra, 15

Cal.App.5th at p. 619 [rejecting argument that “the City’s ‘uninterrupted history’ of

40

paying the full cost of retiree medical premiums constitute[d] extrinsic evidence of the

existence of a vested right to that level of benefit”]), citing Retired Employees II, supra,

742 F.3d at p. 1142; see also Sappington, supra, 119 Cal.App.4th at p. 954 [noting the

fact that retirees “ ‘accepted’ ” the benefit of alternative health plans provided by the

school district for 20 years]; id. at p. 955 [“does not mean they understood they

were contractually entitled to such alternatives”].) This is especially true where the

board’s renewal of its commitment to paying retirees’ healthcare benefits at an “equal

contribution” rate as active employees was mandated by the statutory scheme under

which the county had elected to provide healthcare benefits for its employees and

retirees. (See § 22892, subd. (b)(1).)

What is more, drawing an inference of legislative intent to confer an implied

contractual, vested right to a specified level of benefit from the board’s conduct here

would appear to invert the standard articulated in Retired Employees. The California

Supreme Court directed that “[a] court charged with deciding whether private contractual

rights should be implied from legislation . . . should ‘proceed cautiously both in

identifying a contract within the language of a . . . statute and in defining the contours of

any contractual obligation.’ ” (Retired Employees, supra, 52 Cal.4th at p. 1188.) To that

end, Retired Employees requires us to presume “ ‘that a statutory scheme is not intended

to create private contractual or vested rights’ ” (id. at p. 1186) and to impose “ ‘the

burden of overcoming that presumption’ ” on the party asserting the creation of an

implied contractual right. (Ibid.) Instead, here, the trial court determined that because

the board had “full knowledge as to what the retiree benefits were known to be” and

“took no action to modify [those benefits] prior to 2014,” it was the board’s intent to

contractually guarantee those benefits. The court reasoned that “[h]ad the county’s intent

been otherwise, it would be expected that definitive action would have been taken early

on to correct the situation.”

41

We conclude that the trial court’s use of inference under these circumstances was

error because it effectively reversed the presumption established by Retired Employees.

The derivation of “vested retirement rights guaranteed to [p]laintiffs” from the board’s

imputed failure to modify the county’s benefits sooner contravenes the rule that such

rights may be implied only “when the statutory language or circumstances accompanying

its passage ‘clearly “ . . . evince a legislative intent to create private rights of a contractual

nature enforceable against the [governmental body].” ’ ” (Retired Employees, supra, 52

Cal.4th at p. 1187.) Notably, because providing retiree healthcare benefits at an “equal

contribution” rate as active employees was statutorily required for the county’s

participation in the CalPERS health benefits program (§ 22892, subd. (b)(1)),

“modifying” the county’s provision of retiree healthcare benefits to remove or alter the

promise to provide an equal contribution was not as simple as amending the language of

one of the annual resolutions but would have required the county to exit entirely out of

PEMHCA, as it ultimately did in 2016. Under these circumstances, we decide plaintiffs

have not satisfied their burden at trial to prove the board acted with the “requisite clear

manifestation of intent” to create an implied, vested, contractual right to nonmodifiable

retiree health benefits. (Cal Fire, supra, 6 Cal.5th at p. 981; Retired Employees, at

p. 1187.)

4. Summary

In Retired Employees, the California Supreme Court considered the question

posed to it by the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit and concluded that

“under California law, a vested right to health benefits for retired county employees can

be implied under certain circumstances from a county ordinance or resolution.” (Retired

Employees, supra, 52 Cal.4th at p. 1194.) The high court recognized that the

circumstances in which an implied vested right to retiree health benefits might properly

be construed were “limited” (id. at p. 1183) and held that “implied rights to vested

benefits should not be inferred without a clear basis in the contract or convincing

42

extrinsic evidence.” (Id. at p. 1191.) The court directed courts presented with an implied

contractual rights claim to exercise “sensitivity” to the policy-making function of the

governmental body (id. at p. 1185) by employing a presumption against the creation of

private contractual or vested rights. (Id. at p. 1186.)

Although the court in Retired Employees did not expressly delineate the scope of

“extrinsic evidence” (Retired Employees, supra, 52 Cal.4th at p. 1191) admissible to

prove an implied vested right, the decision’s examination of implied contractual rights

and of the principle, policy making function of a county board suggests that to be

relevant, such evidence must pertain to “the statutory language or circumstances

accompanying its passage.” (Id. at p. 1187.) This understanding is moreover consistent

with well-established case authority more generally on the scope of admissible evidence

to ascertain legislative intent. (See, e.g., King City, supra, 131 Cal.App.4th at p. 944;

Vallejo Police, supra, 15 Cal.App.5th at pp. 619–620.) In addition, the California

Supreme Court in its subsequent decision in Cal Fire emphasized the importance of

written evidence of legislative intent (in the form of MOUs) to the Retired Employees

analysis. (Cal Fire, supra, 6 Cal.5th at p. 980.)

While the trial court in this case recognized the standards set forth in Retired

Employees, it failed to follow the high court’s guidance that legislative acts are not

presumed to create private contractual or vested rights in the absence of a clear and

unequivocal manifestation of intent by the legislative body itself. (Retired Employees,

supra, 52 Cal.4th at p. 1186.)

After finding that the board had “full knowledge as to what the retiree benefits

were known to be” based on the testimony of former county managers and administrative

personnel, the trial court inferred from the board’s failure to alter its continued provision

of healthcare benefits under the “equal contribution” rule imposed by PEMHCA that it

intended to create an implied, vested right to benefits at the equal contribution rate. This

determination effectively imputed to the board a legislative intent to create a vested right

43

to “equal contribution” retiree healthcare benefits despite (1) PEMHCA’s statutory

requirement that the county make an “equal contribution” toward retirees’ and

employees’ healthcare premiums, which would have required the county to exit CalPERS

to “modify” that feature of the benefit, and (2) the absence of any otherwise admissible

evidence based on “the statutory language or circumstances accompanying its passage”

such as would “ ‘clearly “ . . . evince a legislative intent to create private rights of a

contractual nature enforceable against the [governmental body].” ’ ” (Retired Employees,

supra, 52 Cal.4th at p. 1187.)

We therefore conclude, based on our independent review of the record in this case

and the application of binding precedent set forth in Retired Employees and Cal Fire, that

plaintiffs here have not met their burden to demonstrate a clear manifestation of intent by

the board to create an implied, vested, contractual right to retiree healthcare benefits for

county retirees at an “equal contribution” rate as that paid for active employees.

Consequently, the judgment must be reversed.17

In reaching this conclusion, we recognize the significance of the judgment, and the

painful impact of its reversal, on those county retirees who have experienced increased

health insurance premiums in retirement and reduced benefit contributions paid by the

county. There is no dispute that Rose and Riopel understood, through the course of their

employment and derived from communications with human resources or other county

administrative staff, that the county would cover their medical premiums in retirement as

during employment. While we are sympathetic to the unfairness of the result here, our

Supreme Court has articulated a rigorous presumption against inferring implied, vested

contractual rights, except where manifest in the language of the relevant government

resolutions and related, admissible extrinsic evidence. The absence of any clear

manifestation of intent by the board to create an implied, vested, contractual right to

17

In light of this conclusion, we need not reach the subsidiary issues raised by the

county of equitable estoppel and the defenses of statute of limitations and laches.

44

retiree healthcare benefits for county retirees at an “equal contribution” rate as that paid

for active employees is decisive under the governing standard.

C. Remedy

Having concluded that plaintiffs failed to overcome the presumption against the

creation of an implied vested right to retiree health benefits for life at an equal

contribution rate as active employees, and therefore that the trial court’s judgment must

be reversed, we address the appropriate remedy.

The county and amici suggest that plaintiffs’ failure to rebut the presumption

assigned by Retired Employees and satisfy their burden to establish an implied

contractual obligation or vested right as claimed warrants a reversal of the judgment and

remand to the trial court with instructions to enter judgment for the county on all claims.

In support of this outcome, the county contends that the evidence in the legislative record

on which the relevant resolutions were adopted disproves any intent of the board to be

bound for longer than the duration of each resolution enacted while the county was

subject to PEMHCA. Alternatively, in its reply brief the county states that this court

could “reverse and remand for a trial limited to the legislative record.” Plaintiffs do not

comment on the county’s proposed remedy.

A remand for further proceedings, such as a trial limited to the admissible

evidence as described more fully in this opinion, would be appropriate if we were to

discern any remaining disputed factual issues for resolution by the fact finder, or any

further issues to be litigated. (See Manderson-Saleh v. Regents of University of

California (2021) 60 Cal.App.5th 674, 706; accord Continental Cas. Co. v. Phoenix

Constr. Co. (1956) 46 Cal.2d 423, 440 [reversing with directions where “there will be no

factual issues to be determined after a reversal of the judgment, since the errors of the

trial court were of law only”].)

By contrast, where our independent review of the record reveals only one proper

judgment on undisputed facts, we may direct the trial court to enter that judgment. (Code

45

Civ. Proc., § 43; see Conley v. Matthes (1997) 56 Cal.App.4th 1453, 1459, fn. 7; Burtis v.

Universal Pictures Co. (1953) 40 Cal.2d 823, 835 [reversing judgment with directions to

superior court to enter “proper judgment” in copyright infringement case where “the

implied finding of copying . . . has no support in the record”].) Indeed, “[a]n appellate

court may reverse a judgment with directions to enter a different judgment if it appears

from the record that no new evidence of significance would be presented in a new trial

and there is only one proper judgment.” (Singh v. Southland Stone, U.S.A., Inc. (2010)

186 Cal.App.4th 338, 357 (Singh); cf. Paterno v. State of California (1999) 74

Cal.App.4th 68, 76 [declining to direct entry of a defense judgment despite the “paucity

of relevant evidence in the record and the likelihood [the plaintiff] will not prevail” since

“it is possible there are facts which would support a judgment” in the plaintiff’s favor and

so it “would not be appropriate to end the lawsuit at this time”].)

In Singh, the appellate court observed that where the issue at trial had been fully

litigated, and there was no substantial evidence to support the verdict and “no indication

that any different evidence would be presented in a new trial,” the defendants were

entitled to judgment in their favor as to that cause of action. (Singh, supra, 186

Cal.App.4th at p. 357.) The appellate court reached a similar conclusion in Mid-Century

Ins. Co. v. Gardner (1992) 9 Cal.App.4th 1205 (Mid-Century). In considering resolution

of the appeal, the court decided that where “[t]he plaintiff was not suffering under any

improper court-imposed limitations on its ability to introduce evidence, nor was its

litigation theory erroneously based,” the court could “consequently assume it marshalled

the best case it could at trial.” (Id. at p. 1220.) The appellate court decided under those

circumstances that it was proper “to direct that judgment be entered in favor of the

defendants to avoid any additional expense.” (Ibid.)

So, too, here, after a trial in which the issues were fully litigated and no relevant

evidence excluded, neither the record nor the parties provide any indication that different

evidence would be presented in a new trial. Plaintiffs were “not suffering under any

46

improper court-imposed limitations on [their] ability to introduce evidence” and

apparently “marshalled the best case [they] could at trial.” (Mid-Century, supra, 9

Cal.App.4th at p. 1220.) Plaintiffs expressly recognize that the legislative record in this

case does not provide substantive guidance as to the board’s intent to create a vested right

to paid retiree healthcare benefits. Because any implied vested right must be derived

from “the statutory language or circumstances accompanying its passage” (Retired

Employees, supra, 52 Cal.4th at p. 1187), a remand under these circumstances would

require the trial court to render its decision based primarily upon a record that plaintiffs

have conceded does not prove their claim. Even if we account for the limited body of

evidence extrinsic to the legislative record but which, as described ante in this opinion,

meets the standards of admissibility (such as testimony firmly grounded in the legislative

record or that reflects information conveyed to the board as a whole during the

deliberative process), we are constrained to conclude that the evidence is inadequate as a

matter of law to carry plaintiffs’ “ ‘heavy burden’ to demonstrate [the requisite] intent.”

(Id. at p. 1190.) For these reasons, we will reverse the judgment with directions to the

trial court to enter judgment for the county on all claims.

It necessarily follows that upon reversal of the judgment in their favor, plaintiffs

are no longer entitled to any award of attorney fees. (Shirvanyan v. Los Angeles

Community College District (2020) 59 Cal.App.5th 82, 107.) The county’s decision not

to separately appeal the postjudgment attorney fees award does not alter this outcome.

The trial court awarded attorney fees pursuant to Code of Civil Procedure section 1021.5.

That section authorizes attorney fee awards “to a successful party against one or more

opposing parties in any action which has resulted in the enforcement of an important right

affecting the public interest.” (Merced County Taxpayers’ Assn. v. Cardella (1990) 218

Cal.App.3d 396, 402.) The costs to which a prevailing party are entitled include attorney

fees authorized by statute. (Ibid.; see Code Civ. Proc., §§ 1032, 1033.5, subd.

(a)(10)(B).) Because “[a]n order awarding costs falls with a reversal of the judgment on

47

which it is based” (Cardella, at p. 402), the order granting attorney fees here must be

reversed.

III. DISPOSITION

The judgment is reversed. The matter is remanded to the trial court with

directions to enter a new judgment in favor of the county. The new judgment shall

(1) declare that plaintiffs (referred to as petitioners in the amended judgment filed on

December 3, 2020) do not have a vested right to receive the same health insurance

premium contributions as the county provides its active, unrepresented employees, (2)

deny the requested preemptory writ of mandate, and (3) order that plaintiffs recover

nothing on their claims.

The order awarding plaintiffs’ attorney fees is reversed.

In the interests of justice, the parties shall bear their own costs on appeal.

48

______________________________________

Danner, J.

WE CONCUR:

____________________________________

Greenwood, P.J.

____________________________________

Lie, J.

H048681

Rose, et al. v. County of San Benito

Trial Court: San Benito County Superior Court

Superior Court No. CU1700151

Trial Judge: Hon. Robert A. O’Farrell

Counsel for Defendant/Appellant: Colantuono, Highsmith & Whatley, PC

County of San Benito Michael Colantuono

John L. Jones II

Renne Public Law Group

Arthur A. Hartinger

Steve J. Cikes

Counsel for Amicus Curiae: Burke, Williams & Sorenson, LLP

League of California Cities and Daphne M. Anneet

California State Association of

Counties

Counsel for Plaintiffs/Respondents: Wylie, McBride, Platten & Renner

Normandy Rose and Margaret Riopel Christopher E. Platten

Kevin S. Landis

H048681

Rose, et al. v. County of San Benito

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.