Opinion

Newsom v. Reliance Stnrd Life Ins

Court
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
Filed
Feb 18, 2022
Status
Published
Nature of suit
Private Civil Federal
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 7.6%

The opinion

Case: 20-10994 Document: 00516209171 Page: 1 Date Filed: 02/18/2022

United States Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit United States Court of Appeals

Fifth Circuit

FILED

February 18, 2022

No. 20-10994

Lyle W. Cayce

Clerk

James W. Newsom,

Plaintiff—Appellee,

versus

Reliance Standard Life Insurance Company,

Defendant—Appellant.

consolidated with

_____________

No. 21-10519

_____________

James W. Newsom,

Plaintiff—Appellee,

versus

Reliance Standard Life Insurance Company,

Defendant—Appellant.

Appeals from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Texas

USDC No. 3:19-CV-1446

Case: 20-10994 Document: 00516209171 Page: 2 Date Filed: 02/18/2022

No. 20-10994

c/w No. 21-10519

Before Higginbotham, Stewart, and Wilson, Circuit Judges.

Cory T. Wilson, Circuit Judge:

This is an Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA) case.

Lereta, LLC maintained an ERISA-governed benefits plan that provided

short-term disability (STD) and long-term disability (LTD) to its employees,

including James W. Newsom. Reliance Standard Life Insurance Company

issued the policies that funded these benefits and served as the benefits

claims administrator. Newsom filed this suit following Reliance’s

determination that he was ineligible for LTD benefits. The parties agreed to

a trial upon submission of documentary evidence but disagreed upon the

issues properly before the district court. The district judge entered an order

in favor of Newsom, both finding that he was eligible for LTD benefits and

awarding them. Reliance appealed.

We affirm the judgment of the district court as to Newsom’s eligibility

for LTD benefits and alleged date of disability. But we vacate the judgment

as to Newsom’s entitlement to LTD benefits and remand with instructions

for the district court to remand Newsom’s claim to the administrator for

further proceedings consistent with this opinion.

I.

In 2017, Newsom worked as a software architect for Lereta, where he

had been employed for 23 years. He had health problems dating back to 1999,

including chronic fatigue syndrome, fibromyalgia, depression, and attention

deficit hyperactivity disorder. By September 2017, his health deteriorated to

the point that he could no longer work a 40-hour week. Lereta reduced

Newsom’s scheduled work week to 32 hours (eight hours per day, Monday

through Thursday), which was still considered full time. But Newsom was

unable consistently to work even a full 32-hour week. He was last scheduled

2

Case: 20-10994 Document: 00516209171 Page: 3 Date Filed: 02/18/2022

No. 20-10994

c/w No. 21-10519

to work 32 hours the week of October 16–20, 2017. Thereafter, Lereta placed

Newsom on part-time status, scheduling him for less than 30 hours per week.

Newsom continued to work part time until January 30, 2018, when he became

unable to work at all.

On February 22, 2018, Newsom submitted an Initial Statement of

Claim for STD benefits to Reliance. Reliance did not receive that paperwork,

so he resubmitted it on March 23, 2018. On the claim form, Newsom listed

his last day of work as January 30, 2018, and noted that he was “first unable

to work because of [his] disability” on January 29, 2018. Newsom’s treating

physician likewise indicated that Newsom became “continuously unable to

work” on January 29, 2018. However, Newsom’s physician also estimated

that he would be able to return to work by August 1, 2018. Lereta indicated

on the claim form that Newsom had worked four days per week for seven

hours per day (28 hours/week) before he stopped working altogether.

Based on this information, Reliance initially denied Newsom’s STD

claim, referencing January 31, 2018, as the date of loss and noting that Lereta

indicated Newsom had been working only 28 hours per week prior to that

date, meaning he did not qualify as a full-time active employee and thus did

not qualify for benefit coverage. Citing the termination language in the STD

policy, Reliance explained that Newsom was no longer “eligible” for

coverage because he was not working “full time” prior to becoming disabled.

Certain provisions of the applicable Reliance policies 1 are particularly

pertinent to Newsom’s claim and Reliance’s evaluation of it, as they set forth

who was eligible for benefits and defined covered disabilities:

1

The provisions are excerpted from Reliance’s LTD policy. Reliance’s STD

policy is substantially similar; however, its definition of “Partially Disabled” is distinct

from that in the LTD policy, in that the STD policy defines the term as “the Insured is

3

Case: 20-10994 Document: 00516209171 Page: 4 Date Filed: 02/18/2022

No. 20-10994

c/w No. 21-10519

ELIGIBLE CLASSES: Each active, Full-time employee of

LERETA, . . . effective November 1, 2015, as amended through

January 1, 2018, except any person employed on a temporary

or seasonal basis . . . .

...

“Full-time” means working for you for a minimum of 30 hours

during a person’s regular work week.

...

“Totally Disabled” and “Total Disability” mean, that as a

result of an Injury or Sickness:

(1) during the Elimination Period and for the first 24

months for which a Monthly Benefit is payable, an

Insured cannot perform the material duties of his/her

Regular Occupation;

(a) “Partially Disabled” and “Partial Disability”

mean that as a result of an Injury or Sickness an

Insured is capable of performing the material

duties of his/her Regular Occupation on a part-

time basis or some of the material duties on a full-

time basis. An Insured who is Partially Disabled

will be considered Totally Disabled, except

during the Elimination Period;

(b) “Residual Disability” means being Partially

Disabled during the Elimination Period. Residual

Disability will be considered Total Disability;

and

(2) after a Monthly Benefit has been paid for 24 months,

an Insured cannot perform the material duties of Any

Occupation. We consider the Insured Totally Disabled

if due to an Injury or Sickness he or she is capable of only

unable to perform the material duties of his/her own job and is under the regular care of a

Physician.”

4

Case: 20-10994 Document: 00516209171 Page: 5 Date Filed: 02/18/2022

No. 20-10994

c/w No. 21-10519

performing the material duties on a part-time basis or

part of the material duties on a full-time basis.

...

TERMINATION OF INDIVIDUAL INSURANCE: The

insurance of an Insured will terminate on . . . the date the

Insured ceases to meet the Eligibility Requirements . . . .

(Emphasis added). Critically for this case, the policies did not define

“regular work week.”

Relying on these policy provisions, Newsom appealed Reliance’s

initial denial of his STD claim, contending that Reliance had incorrectly

determined his date of “disability,” i.e., when Newsom could no longer

“perform the material duties of his/her regular [o]ccupation.” He asserted

the true date of disability occurred the week of October 16, 2017—his last

scheduled 32-hour work week—because his disability required him to work a

reduced schedule (28 hours/week) after that week. Newsom further

contended that the number of hours that he actually worked per week was

irrelevant because his “regular” work week, i.e., his schedule set by Lereta,

was full time (30+ hours/week) through the week of October 16, 2017. Upon

further review, Reliance’s STD claim examiner agreed, determining that

Newsom’s date of disability was October 23, 2017. Reliance thus paid

Newsom STD benefits for the 26-week maximum STD benefit period

(October 30, 2017 (Newsom’s eighth day of disability, per the terms of the

policy) to April 30, 2018). 2

Newsom also applied for LTD benefits. But Reliance’s LTD

examiner denied Newsom’s claim. As with Newsom’s initial STD denial,

the LTD examiner determined that Newsom’s date of disability was January

2

Newsom received partial disability benefits from October 30, 2017 to January 29,

2018, when he became unable to work at all. He received full STD benefits thereafter.

5

Case: 20-10994 Document: 00516209171 Page: 6 Date Filed: 02/18/2022

No. 20-10994

c/w No. 21-10519

31, 2018, and that because Newsom did not work at least a 30-hour week (i.e.,

full time) in the weeks prior to that date, he was ineligible for LTD benefits.

Newsom appealed the denial, but unlike his STD appeal, Reliance affirmed

its decision to deny Newsom LTD benefits.

Newsom then filed this action, challenging Reliance’s denial of LTD

benefits under 29 U.S.C. § 1132(a)(1)(B) of ERISA. He also sought to

recover attorneys’ fees and costs pursuant to § 1132(g). In his complaint,

Newsom contended that Reliance’s interpretation of the “full-time”

provision in its LTD policy was unreasonable because an employee would fall

in and out of coverage based on the number of hours that employee actually

worked each week. The parties agreed to a trial upon submission of

documentary evidence, 3 and the district court ruled for Newsom, concluding

that Reliance erroneously denied Newsom LTD benefits.

The district court’s holding rested on its interpretation of the term

“regular work week” as used in the definition of “full-time” in the LTD

policy. The district court agreed with Newsom that “regular work week”

essentially meant “normal, ordinary, standard work week” or “scheduled

work week” and disagreed with Reliance’s view that “actual hours worked”

were determinative. To arrive at this conclusion, the district court

conducted a textual analysis of the word “regular” using the Oxford English

Dictionary definition (“Having the usual, typical, or expected attributes,

qualities, parts, etc.; normal, ordinary, standard.”) as well as the Merriam-

Webster dictionary definition (“normal, standard”).

The court noted several advantages to its “scheduled work week”

definition, including that “it removes minor variations in actual hours

worked from the eligibility determination and makes eligibility more

3

This included the administrative record as well as trial briefing by the parties.

6

Case: 20-10994 Document: 00516209171 Page: 7 Date Filed: 02/18/2022

No. 20-10994

c/w No. 21-10519

predictable and ascertainable.” Along these same lines, the court concluded

that it “leaves the employer in control over which employees are full time

and which are part time.” Applying its definition, the district court

determined that because Newsom was scheduled to work 32-hour weeks

through the week of October 16, 2017, 4 he was a full-time employee for the

purposes of the LTD policy regardless of whether he actually worked more

than 30 hours each of those weeks.

The district court next resolved Newsom’s date of disability.

Newsom, consistent with the STD claim examiner, asserted that his date of

disability was October 23, 2017. Reliance and the LTD claim examiner

disagreed, asserting that Newsom’s date of disability was January 31, 2018—

the day after Newsom became unable to work at all. The district court again

agreed with Newsom, finding that as of October 23, 2017, “Newsom was

unable to perform the material duties of his job on a full time basis,” and

concluded Newsom was therefore partially disabled as of that date. 5 Based

on these findings, the court without further analysis concluded “that the

undisputed record show[ed] that Newsom is disabled and entitled to [LTD]

benefits in the amount of $194,290.72.”

Reliance timely appealed, contending (1) the district court erred in its

interpretation of “regular work week” under the LTD policy, rendering its

determination that Newsom was eligible for LTD benefits erroneous; (2) the

district court erred in finding October 23, 2017, as Newsom’s date of

4

The district court explained that although “the exact date is unclear[,]” “Lereta

placed Newsom on part-time status (scheduled <30 hours per week) on or around October

23, 2017.”

5

The court was also persuaded by Reliance’s own determination that, for his STD

claim, October 23, 2017 was Newsom’s date of disability. The court concluded that based

on the record, “it [wa]s undisputed that Newsom was partially disabled beginning October

23, 2017, and totally disabled beginning January 31, 2018.”

7

Case: 20-10994 Document: 00516209171 Page: 8 Date Filed: 02/18/2022

No. 20-10994

c/w No. 21-10519

disability; and (3) even if the district court was correct in finding that

Newsom was eligible for benefits, it should have remanded the claim back to

Reliance for an analysis of whether Newsom was disabled. We address these

issues in turn.

II.

We “review de novo a nondiscretionary denial of benefits challenged

under ERISA, regardless of whether the denial is based on factual

determinations or interpretation of the plan’s language.” Miller v. Reliance

Standard Life Ins. Co., 999 F.3d 280, 283 (5th Cir. 2021). Notwithstanding,

the parties disagree as to how we should review the district court’s factual

findings made after trial of Newsom’s claim on the documentary record.

Newsom asserts that under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 52(a), the district

court’s findings “must not be set aside unless clearly erroneous.” Reliance,

on the other hand, asserts that there are no Fifth Circuit decisions that

discuss the standard of this court’s factual review since Ariana M., which

overturned prior precedent and held that the district court should apply de

novo review even “when [a plan administrator’s] denial is based on a factual

determination.” Ariana M. v. Humana Health Plan of Texas, Inc., 884 F.3d

246, 256 (5th Cir. 2018) (en banc). Reliance also refers us to Pike v. Hartford

Life and Accident Insurance Co., 368 F. Supp. 3d 1018 (E.D. Tex. 2019), a case

that surveyed other circuits and applied de novo review of the ERISA claim in

its entirety, including a factual review. But as Reliance’s own brief concedes,

Ariana M. refers to a district court’s review of an administrator’s factual

findings, not to our review of the district court’s factual findings.

Accordingly, we will not set aside the district court’s factual findings unless

they are clearly erroneous. Fed. R. Civ. P. 52(a)(6).

8

Case: 20-10994 Document: 00516209171 Page: 9 Date Filed: 02/18/2022

No. 20-10994

c/w No. 21-10519

III.

A.

Reliance first contends that the district court erred in its interpretation

of “regular work week” under the LTD policy. We disagree. In fact, we

need not tarry long on this question because this court effectively answered

it in Miller, see 999 F.3d at 285.

“When construing ERISA plan provisions, courts are to give the

language of an insurance contract its ordinary and generally accepted

meaning if such a meaning exists.” Id. at 283 (quoting Green v. Life Ins. Co.

of North America, 754 F.3d 324, 331 (5th Cir. 2014)). “We apply the rule

of contra proferentem to ambiguous terms—construing them strictly in favor

of the insured—but ‘[o]nly if the plan terms remain ambiguous after applying

ordinary principles of contract interpretation.’” Id. (quoting Ramirez v.

United of Omaha Life Ins. Co., 872 F.3d 721, 725 (5th Cir. 2017)).

In Miller, we reviewed the same Reliance policy language at issue here

and agreed with the Sixth Circuit that the term “full time” and its reference

to a “regular work week,” as set forth in the policy’s “eligible class”

provision, is ambiguous and should thus be interpreted in favor of the insured

pursuant to the rule of contra proferentem. Id. at 285; see also Wallace v.

Oakwood Healthcare, Inc., 954 F.3d 879, 894 (6th Cir. 2020) (construing

Reliance’s policy language). Following Miller, we again reject Reliance’s

assertion that “regular work week” has an unambiguous, narrow meaning:

namely, the “hours actually worked.” And, mindful of the rule that

ambiguous language must be construed in favor of the insured, we conclude

that the district court did not err by interpreting the term “full time” and its

reference to a “regular work week” to mean the “scheduled work week” set

by Lereta for Newsom.

9

Case: 20-10994 Document: 00516209171 Page: 10 Date Filed: 02/18/2022

No. 20-10994

c/w No. 21-10519

B.

Likewise, the district court did not err in finding October 23, 2017, as

Newsom’s date of alleged disability. 6 As discussed above, we review the

district court’s factual findings for clear error. Fed. R. Civ. P. 52(a)(6).

This is a high standard, meaning “[w]e will not conclude that a district

court’s finding of fact was clearly erroneous based only on our belief that, had

[we] been sitting as the trier of fact, [we] would have weighed the evidence

differently and made a different finding.” United States v. Rodriguez, 630

F.3d 377, 380 (5th Cir. 2011) (internal quotation marks and citation omitted).

We will only reverse “if a review of all the evidence leaves us with the definite

and firm conviction that a mistake has been committed.” Id. (internal

quotation marks and citation omitted). Reviewing the record here, we are

not left with such a conviction.

Based on the relevant policy definitions, quoted supra in Part I, the

district court concluded that Newsom was Partially Disabled as of October

23, 2017, the date Lereta cut Newsom’s hours to 28 hours per week, because

he was unable to perform the “material duties” of his job on a “full-time

basis.” The court also concluded that the Elimination Period started on

October 23, 2017, and that Newsom was thus Partially Disabled during the

Elimination Period. 7 Finally, the court concluded that Newsom had a

6

By reaching this conclusion, we are not agreeing or disagreeing with the district

court that Newsom was disabled, as defined by the LTD policy; as discussed infra, we

conclude that issue was not yet ripe for the court to decide. Nonetheless, determining the

date of Newsom’s alleged disability is necessary because it is intertwined with Newsom’s

eligibility determination.

7

The policy defines “Elimination Period” as “a period of consecutive days of

Total Disability, as shown on the Schedule of Benefits page, for which no benefit is payable.

It begins on the first day of Total Disability.” The Schedule of Benefits page provides that

the Elimination Period for employees working outside of the State of California, such as

Newsom, is “180 consecutive days of Total Disability.”

10

Case: 20-10994 Document: 00516209171 Page: 11 Date Filed: 02/18/2022

No. 20-10994

c/w No. 21-10519

Residual Disability, and therefore a Total Disability, as of October 23, 2017,

making that date Newsom’s date of alleged disability. The court noted that

this finding was “consistent with Reliance’s own determination in

connection with Newsom’s STD claim,” which it found “very probative.”

In other words, the court viewed Newsom’s alleged disability as progressive,

not as two independent losses.

Reliance counters that its STD decision should have no bearing on the

separate LTD decision. And in a somewhat circular argument, Reliance

contends that Newsom’s disability date could not be October 23, 2017,

because his time records reflect that he worked 30 or more hours, i.e., full

time, during a few subsequent weeks. But this contention again presumes

that “regular work week” as used in Reliance’s LTD policy means “hours

actually worked.” We rejected that contention above, and Reliance’s

argument fails in this instance for the same reasons. Regardless, accepting

arguendo Reliance’s position that the district court should not have

considered the STD decision, the district court reached the same conclusion

by applying the LTD policy language to the facts before it. We find no clear

error in the district court’s analysis.

C.

Reliance last contends that even if the district court was correct in

finding that Newsom was eligible for benefits, it should have remanded the

claim for Reliance to develop a full factual record and make the initial

decision on whether to award benefits, and in what amount. Newsom, on the

other hand, contends that “[r]emand would amount to an impermissible

‘second bite at the denial apple’” and was, and is, unnecessary due to the

district court’s de novo standard of review. We ultimately agree with Reliance

that remand is necessary in this case.

11

Case: 20-10994 Document: 00516209171 Page: 12 Date Filed: 02/18/2022

No. 20-10994

c/w No. 21-10519

Newsom primarily cites Vega v. National Life Insurance Services, Inc.,

188 F.3d 287 (5th Cir. 1999) (en banc), overruled on other grounds by Metro.

Life Ins. Co. v. Glenn, 554 U.S. 105 (2008), in support of his position that we

should decline to order a remand to Reliance for further record development.

In Vega, the court encouraged parties to make their record prior to coming to

federal court and stated that “allow[ing] the administrator another

opportunity to make a record discourages this effort.” Vega, 188 F.3d at 302

n.13. However, Vega’s applicability to this case is more limited than

Newsom’s reading, as Vega itself suggests:

In some special circumstances a remand to the administrator

for further consideration may be justified. [In Vega], however,

the only issue in dispute was whether a material

misrepresentation was made. [The Vega court] decline[d] to

remand to the administrator to allow him to make a more complete

record on this point.

Id. (emphasis added). Here, unlike in Vega, a remand to the administrator

would not be to make “a more complete record” on whether Newsom was

eligible for LTD benefits. Rather, a remand would be for a merits

determination about Newsom’s entitlement to LTD benefits—a separate

issue, and one on which Reliance did not develop a record after finding

Newsom ineligible for LTD benefits. 8

8

Newsom cites other cases for the general proposition that piecemeal litigation is

discouraged. However, these cases are also distinguishable because, unlike the case at

hand, they concern matters in which the plan administrators had previously addressed the

grant or denial of benefits on the merits. That said, we are sympathetic to Newsom’s

concern that remand will prolong his wait for benefits, and we accordingly emphasize that

the purpose of remanding his claim is not to relitigate Newsom’s eligibility for LTD

benefits. Instead, on remand Reliance should expeditiously evaluate the record as to the

merits of Newsom’s LTD benefits claim—i.e., as discussed infra above the line, Reliance

should determine whether his inability to work resulted from “Injury or Sickness” as

defined in the policy and award benefits as warranted. And consistent with our precedent,

12

Case: 20-10994 Document: 00516209171 Page: 13 Date Filed: 02/18/2022

No. 20-10994

c/w No. 21-10519

Schadler v. Anthem Life Insurance Co., 147 F.3d 388 (5th Cir. 1998),

cited by Reliance, is more analogous to this case. In Schadler, the plan

administrator initially denied the insured’s claim based on coverage

eligibility. 147 F.3d at 395. After the administrator retreated from its initial

position that the insured lacked coverage, we instructed the district court to

remand the case to the plan administrator “for the development of a full

factual record and for the making of the decision on whether to grant or deny

benefits . . . .” Id. at 398.

The distinction that keeps Schadler from simply settling this issue for

Reliance, however, is that the plan in Schadler “vest[ed] the administrator

with the discretion to interpret its terms[,]” such that the district court was

required to review the administrator’s decision for abuse of discretion. Id. at

394–95. Here, by contrast, we address a nondiscretionary plan, and the

district court was required to review the administrator’s decision de novo. See

Ariana M., 884 F.3d at 256. This is a notable distinction because the standard

of review played at least some role in the Schadler court’s decision to remand

to the administrator. See Schadler, 147 F.3d at 398 (“Because Defendants

denied that coverage ever existed until the matter was before the district

court, the administrator never had occasion to exercise any discretion to

interpret the terms of the Plan.”).

According to Reliance, remand is nonetheless proper here because

“the disability issue did not ripen into an apple ready to be bitten until after

an initial finding of eligibility.” Reliance offers Pakovich v. Broadspire, 535

F.3d 601 (7th Cir. 2008), as persuasive authority for its contention that

Reliance will only have one opportunity to make a disability determination on the merits.

Vega, 188 F.3d at 302 n.13.

13

Case: 20-10994 Document: 00516209171 Page: 14 Date Filed: 02/18/2022

No. 20-10994

c/w No. 21-10519

remand is warranted “when the plan has not made a decision on an element

of the claim.” In Pakovich, the Seventh Circuit reasoned that

it is unnecessary for plans to hedge their bets on a possible

reversal on appeal by requiring that, after a plan has already

found that an employee does not qualify for disability benefits

under the “own occupation” standard, it also must determine

whether the employee is disabled from “any occupation.”

Id. at 605. We find this reasoning persuasive.

The district court declined to follow Pakovich, reasoning that “[h]ere,

the question before the Court—own occupation benefits—is the precise

question Reliance decided at the administrative level, and this Court’s review

of that decision is de novo, not deferential.” But the record indicates that

Reliance only made an eligibility determination, namely that Newsom was not

eligible for LTD benefits because he was not a full-time employee. Reliance

did not further evaluate the record to reach the merits of Newsom’s claim or

otherwise make an alternative decision beyond its eligibility determination. 9

This is a distinction that makes all the difference: Where the question for

eligibility is whether Newsom was an “active, full time employee of

LERETA, LLC,” the question for determining Total Disability is whether

Newsom “as a result of an Injury or Sickness . . . cannot perform the material

duties of his . . . Regular Occupation.” (Emphasis added.) Indeed, the

9

Although the parties agreed to a trial upon submission of documentary evidence,

the record is clear that Reliance’s agreement was limited to trying Newsom’s challenge to

its decision regarding Newsom’s eligibility for LTD benefits. In the district court,

beginning with its answer to Newsom’s complaint, Reliance framed its view of the scope of

the trial: “no decision was made on whether Plaintiff was Totally Disabled because he was

not eligible for coverage under the policy”; “Plaintiff’s claim was denied due to lack of

coverage and Reliance Standard was therefore not required to consider whether he was

Totally Disabled under the [LTD] plan . . . . [O]nly in the event that coverage is

established—which is denied, remand to Reliance Standard to consider the question of

disability is necessary.”

14

Case: 20-10994 Document: 00516209171 Page: 15 Date Filed: 02/18/2022

No. 20-10994

c/w No. 21-10519

district court did not connect Newsom’s inability to work after October 23,

2017—which we agree gave rise to his eligibility for benefits—with his

“injury” or “sickness” as required to support a conclusion that Newsom was

disabled under the policy. Instead, the district court appears to have

conflated the issues of eligibility and disability, which are in fact distinct.

This perhaps also explains why the district court summarily

concluded “the undisputed record shows that Newsom is disabled and

entitled to benefits in the amount of $194,290.72.” The court provided no

explanation for how it reached the amount of disability that Newsom should

be awarded beyond notating that “there is no evidence of any offset or

reduction to which Reliance is entitled.” In ERISA cases judicial review is

limited to the administrative record, Katherine P. v. Humana Health Plan,

Inc., 959 F.3d 206, 207–08 (5th Cir. 2020), and the record tried by the district

court in this case was limited to Reliance’s eligibility determination.

Although that factual record contains medical records Newsom submitted

during Reliance’s evaluation of his claim, the merits evidence is at best

incomplete and thus undermines the district court’s benefits determination.

But even if that were not the case, the court’s benefits determination

does not fully square with the record. For example, the record reflects that

Newsom’s own treating physician indicated that Newsom was unable to

work by the end of January 2018, but estimated that Newsom could return to

work by August 1, 2018. This is not addressed in the district court’s order. 10

Further, although the district court did not state as much, the $194,290.72

10

Along these same lines, the policy provides that other income benefits were to be

subtracted from the “benefit amount payable” to the policy holder. But as noted in

Reliance’s briefing, “[t]wenty-four months of benefits would have ended on April 20,

2020, using the onset date selected by the district court.” Because the administrative

record closed on May 17, 2019, the district court could not have considered any potential

offset or reduction in benefits occurring thereafter.

15

Case: 20-10994 Document: 00516209171 Page: 16 Date Filed: 02/18/2022

No. 20-10994

c/w No. 21-10519

awarded appears to equate to $6,699.68 per month for 29 months (May 2018

to September 2020), presumably based on Newsom’s calculation set forth in

his trial briefing. 11 Assuming this is true, it conflicts with the policy provision

that after a monthly benefit has been paid for 24 months, there must be a

finding that “an Insured cannot perform the material duties of Any

Occupation”; the district court expressly stated that it did “not address ‘any

occupation’ disability and express[ed] no opinion regarding future benefits.”

At the end of the day, however, squaring these circles is secondary to

the question of whether Newsom was disabled “as a result of an Injury or

Sickness” as defined by the LTD policy, and therefore entitled to LTD

benefits. An administrative record answering these questions was simply not

before the district court, irrespective of its de novo review. Once it

determined that Newsom was not eligible for LTD benefits, Reliance

stopped. Once the district court determined that Newsom was in fact eligible

for LTD benefits, and the date on which his eligibility began, it should have

stopped as well and remanded the case for Reliance to make the separate

disability determination.

IV.

As a final matter, Reliance separately appealed the district court’s

order entered April 26, 2021, granting Newsom’s motion for attorney’s fees,

which was filed after this appeal was noticed. See Notice of Appeal, at 1,

Newsom v. Reliance Standard Life Ins., No. 21-10519, (May 20, 2021). The

second appeal was dismissed by the Clerk on July 15, 2021, for failure to file

a brief and record excerpts. Reliance filed a motion to reinstate its appeal of

11

Newsom alleged that he was owed a monthly LTD benefit of $6,699.68 per

month—60% of his $11,166.13 monthly earnings. Newsom further alleged that the

administrative record contained no evidence of income that would create an offset under

the terms of the policy.

16

Case: 20-10994 Document: 00516209171 Page: 17 Date Filed: 02/18/2022

No. 20-10994

c/w No. 21-10519

the attorney’s fees award, consolidate that appeal with this one, and adopt

the briefs and argument submitted in this case for both appeals. In the light

of our conclusion that this case should be remanded for a determination by

Reliance of LTD benefits to which Newsom is entitled, we conclude that the

district court’s order awarding Newsom attorney’s fees must likewise be

revisited on remand. By separate order entered in appeal No. 21-10519, we

accordingly grant Reliance’s motion to reinstate that appeal and consolidate

the cases for the purpose of remanding Newsom’s claim, including his

entitlement to attorney’s fees, for further proceedings. We express no

opinion on the merits of Newsom’s motion for attorney’s fees pending

resolution of his LTD benefits claim.

* * *

For the foregoing reasons, we AFFIRM the judgment of the district

court as to Newsom’s eligibility for LTD benefits and Newsom’s date of

disability; we VACATE the judgment of the district court as to Newsom’s

entitlement to LTD benefits; we likewise VACATE the district court’s

order granting Newsom’s motion or attorney’s fees; and we REMAND to

the district court with instructions to remand Newsom’s claim to the

administrator for further proceedings consistent with this opinion.

AFFIRMED in part; VACATED in part; REMANDED.

17

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.