Opinion

Nationwide Mutual Insurance v. Lake Caroline, Inc.

  • 515 F.3d 414
  • 2008 U.S. App. LEXIS 1326
  • 2008 WL 186488
Court
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
Filed
Jan 23, 2008
Status
Published
Author
Dennis
On the bench
King, Barksdale, Dennis
Cited by
19 cases
Authority
More cited than 75.9%

holding that “purely economic losses” were not covered under a similar commercial general liability policy

How later courts described this case

  • holding that “purely economic losses” were not covered under a similar commercial general liability policy

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT United States Court of Appeals

Fifth Circuit

FILED

January 23, 2008

No. 06-61084 Charles R. Fulbruge III

Clerk

NATIONWIDE MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANY

Plaintiff-Appellee

v.

LAKE CAROLINE, INC.

Defendant-Appellant

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Southern District of Mississippi

Before KING, BARKSDALE, and DENNIS, Circuit Judges.

DENNIS, Circuit Judge:

This insurance case primarily involves the issue of whether the instant

insurance policy provides coverage for a slander of title claim. The district court

concluded that the policy did not provide such coverage and that the insurer had

no duty to defend the insured against any such claim. For the reasons stated

herein, we affirm.

I. BACKGROUND FACTS

During the 1980's, Lake Caroline, Inc. (“LCI”) constructed the Lake

Caroline subdivision located in Madison County, Mississippi (the subdivision is

hereinafter referred to as “Lake Caroline”). On August 7, 1989, the Madison

County Board of Supervisors (the “Board”) re-zoned Lake Carolina from “A-1

No. 06-61084

Agricultural” to “P-1 Planned Unit Development.” Accordingly, on December 4,

1989, LCI executed a “Declaration of Covenants, Conditions, and Restrictions for

Lake Caroline.” LCI also created the Lake Caroline Planned Unit Development

(“LCI PUD”).

A&F Properties, LLC (“AFP”) was interested in constructing and operating

a golf course in Lake Caroline. On September 27, 1995, LCI and AFP entered

into a “Contract for the Sale and Purchase of Real Properly” (the “Contract”)

under which LCI agreed to give AFP 154 acres of Lake Caroline (hereinafter

referred to as the “Golf Course Lands”) in consideration for AFP building and

maintaining a golf course for a period of not less than ten years, i.e., until

December 31, 2006. The Contract and warranty deed provided that the Golf

Course Lands would be subject to zoning ordinances and other governmental

regulations. AFP constructed and began operating the golf course in 1996.

On February 25, 1998, the Board adopted the 1998 Master Plan for the

LCI PUD. The 1998 Master Plan was, according to LCI, the first plan adopted

for the LCI PUD and reflected the then-existing conditions of Lake Caroline,

including the existence of the golf course.

In 2003, AFP became disillusioned with running the golf course and

instead wanted to residentially develop the Golf Course Lands. AFP twice

petitioned the Board -- in November 2003 and April 2004 -- to re-zone the Golf

Course Lands to allow for residential development. Both attempts were opposed

by LCI, the Lake Caroline Owners’ Association, and hundreds of individual

homeowners. The Board tabled the November 2003 petition as premature

because AFP was contractually obligated to operate the golf course until

December 31, 2006. The Board’s denial of the April 2004 petition on the same

grounds was affirmed on appeal by the Circuit Court of Madison County and

then the Mississippi Supreme Court. See A&F Props., LLC v. Madison County

Bd. of Supervisors, 933 So. 2d 296 (Miss. 2006).

2

No. 06-61084

On December 9, 2004, AFP filed suit in state court against LCI alleging

breach of contract, breach of warranty deed, and slander of title claims.

According to the AFP complaint, the Board had initially approved a master plan

for Lake Caroline in 1989. However, the Board lost the only physical copy of the

1989 Master Plan, prompting it to adopt a new master plan in 1998. AFP

alleges that it knew nothing of the 1998 Master Plan because LCI withheld the

fact that it was presenting a new plan to the Board. AFP further alleges that

LCI withheld from the Board that AFP was free to make other use of its property

after the Contract term expired. AFP also claims that LCI repeatedly

misrepresented to the Board that LCI was the only developer within the LCI

PUD, implying that AFP was not a developer and did not have rights to develop

the subject property. AFP characterizes LCI’s conduct as intentional and/or

malicious.

LCI owns an insurance policy (the “Policy”) issued by Nationwide Mutual

Insurance Company (“Nationwide”). On November 17, 2005, Nationwide filed

suit in federal court seeking a declaratory judgment that the allegations in the

AFP complaint do not trigger its duty to defend under the Policy. The relevant

provisions policy are as follows:

Coverage A governs “property damage” and provides, in pertinent part:

We will pay those sums that the insured becomes legally obligated

to pay as damages because of “bodily injury” or “property damage”

to which this insurance applies. We will have the right and duty to

defend the insured against any “suit” seeking those damages.

However, we will have no duty to defend the insured against any

“suit” seeking damages for “bodily injury” or “property damage” to

which this insurance does not apply. We may, at our discretion,

investigate any “occurrence” and settle any claim or “suit” that may

result.

“Property damage” is defined to include:

3

No. 06-61084

a. Physical injury to tangible property, including all resulting loss

of use of that property. All such loss of use shall be deemed to occur

at the time of the physical injury that caused it; or

b. Loss of use of tangible property that is not physically injured. All

such loss of use shall be deemed to occur at the time of the

“occurrence” that caused it.

However, coverage is limited to property damage “caused by an ‘occurrence’ that

takes place in the ‘coverage territory.’” An “occurrence” is defined in the Policy

to mean “an accident, including continuous or repeated exposure to substantially

the same general harmful conditions.” Finally, the Policy contains an “expected

or intentional conduct” exclusion. Thus, coverage does not apply to property

damage that is “expected or intended from the standpoint of the insured.”

Coverage B governs “personal and advertising injury” and provides, in

pertinent part:

We will pay those sums that the insured becomes legally obligated

to pay as damages because of “personal and advertising injury” to

which this insurance applies. We will have the right and duty to

defend the insured against any “suit” seeking those damages.

However, we will have no duty to defend the insured against any

“suit” seeking damages for “personal and advertising injury” to

which this insurance does not apply. We may, at our discretion,

investigate any offense and settle any claim or “suit” that may

result.

“Personal and advertising injury” is defined in the Policy to include “[o]ral or

written publication, in any manner, of material that slanders or libels a person

or organization or disparages a person’s or organization’s goods, products or

services.” However, the Policy also contains a “knowledge of falsity” exclusion.

Thus, coverage does not apply to any “‘[p]ersonal and advertising injury’ arising

out of oral or written publication of material, if done by or at the direction of the

insured with knowledge of its falsity.”

4

No. 06-61084

On September 28, 2006, the district court entered judgment in favor of

Nationwide on the ground that the AFP complaint alleges only intentional

conduct thereby triggering the “expected or intentional conduct” exclusion under

Coverage A and the “knowledge of falsity” exclusion under Coverage B. Thus,

according to the district court, Nationwide has no duty to defend LCI against the

AFP complaint because the allegations in that complaint do not arguably fall

within the scope of coverage. LCI filed this timely notice of appeal.

II. STANDARD OF REVIEW

We review a district court’s summary judgment ruling de novo, applying

the same standard as the district court. Wyatt v. Hunt Plywood Co., Inc., 297

F.3d 405, 408 (5th Cir. 2002). A party is entitled to summary judgment only if

“the pleadings, the discovery and disclosure materials on file, and any affidavits

show that there is no genuine issue as to any material fact and that the movant

is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c). On a motion

for summary judgment, we must view the facts in the light most favorable to the

non-moving party and draw all reasonable inferences in its favor. See Hockman

v. Westward Commc’ns, L.L.C., 407 F.3d 317, 325 (5th Cir. 2004). In reviewing

the evidence, we must therefore “refrain from making credibility determinations

or weighing the evidence.” Turner v. Baylor Richardson Med. Ctr., 476 F.3d 337,

343 (5th Cir. 2007).

Because this is a diversity case, this court applies the substantive law of

Mississippi. Mulberry Square Prods. v. State Farm Fire & Cas. Co., 101 F.3d

414, 420 (5th Cir. 1996) (citing Sentry Ins. v. R.J. Weber Co., 2 F.3d 554, 556 (5th

Cir. 1993)). “The reach of an insurance contract . . . is a matter of law that we

review de novo.” Id. (quoting Sentry, 2 F.3d at 556).

III. ANALYSIS

“Under Mississippi law, an insurer’s duty to defend an action against its

insured is measured, in the first instance, by the allegations in the plaintiff’s

5

No. 06-61084

pleadings, and only if the pleadings state facts which bring the injury within the

coverage of the policy is the insured required to defend.” Mulberry, 101 F.3d at

421 (quoting EEOC. v. South. Publ’g Co., 705 F. Supp. 1213, 1215 (S.D. Miss.

1988)); see also J.C. Meng v. Bituminous Cas. Corp., 626 F. Supp. 1237, 1240-41

(S.D. Miss. 1986). An exception to this rule exists when the insurer is “presented

with extrinsic facts, of which the insurer has knowledge or could obtain

knowledge by means of a reasonable investigation, that trigger coverage under

the policy.” Id. at 422 (citing Merchants Co. v. Amer. Motorists Ins. Co., 794 F.

Supp. 611, 617 (S.D. Miss. 1992)).1 In such situations, the duty to defend is

triggered. Id. In evaluating whether a potential for coverage exists, “we look not

to the particular legal theories . . . but to the allegedly tortious conduct

underlying the suit.” Ingalls Shipbuilding v. FIC, 410 F.3d 214, 225 (5th Cir.

2005) (citation omitted). The rules of construction of insurance contracts under

Mississippi law are as follows:

First, where an insurance policy is plain and unambiguous, a court

must construe that instrument, like other contracts, exactly as

written. Second, it reads the policy as a whole, thereby giving effect

to all provisions. Third, it must read an insurance policy more

strongly against the party drafting the policy and most favorably to

the policy holder. Fourth, where it deems the terms of an insurance

policy ambiguous or doubtful, it must interpret them most favorably

to the insured and against the insurer. Fifth, when an insurance

1

We recognize that this statement of Mississippi law is incorrect to the extent that it

implies that an insurer has an absolute duty to conduct a reasonable investigation to

determine the true facts before declining to defend or extend coverage. The Mississippi Court

of Appeals has since clarified that no such duty exists under Mississippi law and that federal

courts interpreting otherwise are wrong. See Terracina Motor Co. v. Universal Underwriters

Ins. Co., Case No. 97-CA-00052, 1998 Miss. App. LEXIS 602, **9-12 (Miss. Ct. App. Jul. 21,

1998). However, that decision was unpublished. In Mississippi, “[o]pinions in cases which

have not been designated for publication shall not be cited, quoted or referred to by any court.”

Miss. R. App. P. 35-B. Thus, it is unclear whether we are free to disregard this court’s

precedent in Mulberry on the basis of an unpublished opinion by the Mississippi Court of

Appeals. Nonetheless, we need not address this issue because even if Nationwide had such a

duty, LCI is unable to articulate any additional facts that would arguably trigger coverage

under the Policy.

6

No. 06-61084

policy is subject to two equally reasonable interpretations, a court

must adopt the one giving the greater indemnity to the insured.

Sixth, where it discerns no practical difficulty in making the

language of an insurance policy free from doubt, it must read any

doubtful provision against the insurer. Seventh, it must interpret

terms of insurance policies, particularly exclusion clauses, favorably

to the insured wherever reasonably possible. Finally, although

ambiguities of an insurance policy are construed against the

insurer, a court must refrain from altering or changing a policy

where terms are unambiguous, despite resulting hardship on the

insured.

Centennial Ins. Co. v. Ryder Truck Rental, Inc., 149 F.3d 378, 382-83 (5th Cir.

1998). With these principles in mind, the first question is whether the

allegations in the AFP complaint trigger coverage under the Policy. If not, the

next question is whether Nationwide knew of facts or could have reasonably

ascertained facts that would have triggered coverage under the Policy. Because

the parties focus almost exclusively on Coverage B, we begin our analysis there.

A. Personal and Advertising Injury - Coverage B

The parties agree that the only possibility for coverage under Coverage B

arises out of subsection d of the definition “personal and advertising injury,”

which includes coverage for injuries arising out of “[o]ral or written publication,

in any manner, of material that slanders or libels a person or organization or

disparages a person’s or organization’s goods, products or services.” Coverage

is excluded, however, if the publication was “done by or at the direction of the

insured with knowledge of its falsity.”

The district court held that because the AFP complaint alleges that LCI’s

conduct was intentional, the “knowledge of falsity” exclusion applies to preclude

coverage. In doing so, the district court erred. The AFP complaint alleges that

LCI’s conduct was intentional and/or malicious. “Malice” in this context does not

require knowledge of falsity. Instead, a party can be deemed to have acted with

malice under Mississippi law upon a showing of a reckless disregard for the

7

No. 06-61084

truth. See Eckman v. Cooper Tire & Rubber Co., 893 So. 2d 1049, 1053 (Miss.

2005); Bullock v. City of Pascagoula, 574 So. 2d 637, 642 (Miss. 1990). A reckless

disregard for the truth requires only that “the defendant in fact entertained

serious doubts as to the truth of his publication.” Journal Publ’g Co. v.

McCullough, 743 So. 2d 352, 361 (Miss. 1999) (quoting Harte-Hanks Commc’ns,

Inc. v. Connaughton, 491 U.S. 657, 688 (1989)).

This court has held under Mississippi law that “knowledge of falsity”

exclusions do not apply to conduct constituting a “gross and reckless disregard

of the truth.” EEOC v. South. Publ’g Co., Inc., 894 F.2d 785, 790 (5th Cir. 1990);

see also Am. Home Assur. Co. v. United Space Alliance, LLC, 378 F.3d 482, 488

(5th Cir. 2004) (“[I]f liability can be imposed without proving that the false

statements were made with the knowledge that they were false, the ‘knowledge

of falsity’ exclusion will not apply to preclude coverage.”). Indeed, limiting the

reach of the “knowledge of falsity” exclusion in this regard is consistent with the

principle under Mississippi law that exclusions are to be construed in favor of

the insured whenever reasonable. Centennial, 149 F.3d at 382-83. Thus,

because the AFP complaint alleges that LCI acted with malice, which is defined

to include a reckless disregard for the truth, we conclude that the “knowledge of

falsity” exclusion does not apply to preclude coverage in this case.

However, we affirm the judgment of the district court on other grounds.

See Holtzclaw v. DSC Commc’ns Corp., 255 F.3d 254, 258 (5th Cir. 2001) (“We

may affirm a summary judgment on any ground supported by the record, even

if it is different from that relied on by the district court.”). The parties agree

that the only claim that even arguably creates the possibility for coverage is the

slander of title claim. According to the Mississippi Supreme Court:

“Slander of title” is a phrase commonly employed to describe words

or conduct which bring or tend to bring in question the right or title

of another to particular property, as distinguished from the

disparagement of the property itself. The slander may consist of a

8

No. 06-61084

statement in writing, printing, or by word of mouth, and may relate

to personal as well as real property. . . . [T]he general rule of

liability for slander of title is stated as follows: “One who falsely

and maliciously publishes matter which brings in question or

disparages the title to property, thereby causing special damage to

the owner, may be held liable in a civil action for damages.”

...

Words spoken of property are not in themselves actionable. But the

publication of false and malicious statements, disparaging of

plaintiff’s property or the title thereto, when followed, as a natural,

reasonable and proximate result, by special damage to the owner,

are actionable. The false statement may consist of an assertion that

plaintiff has no title to the property of which he is the ostensible

owner, or that his title is defective, or that defendant has an interest

in or lien upon the property. Whatever be the statement, however,

in order for it to form the basis of a right of action it must have been

made, not only falsely, but maliciously.

Walley v. Hunt, 54 So. 2d 393, 396 (Miss. 1951) (internal quotations and citations

omitted). However, the Policy itself expressly limits coverage to the slander of

a person or organization or disparagement of a good, product, or service.

Although Mississippi courts have not yet addressed this issue, other courts are

unanimous in holding that slander of title claims pertain only to real property,

which is not a person, organization, good, product, or service. See, e.g, ABM

Indus., Inc. v. Zurich Am. Ins. Co., No. C05-3480, 2006 WL 2595944, **26-27

(N.D. Cal. Sept. 11, 2006); U.S. Fid. & Guar. Co. v. Saddle Ridge, L.L.C., No.

98CV2565, 1999 WL 1072905, *5 (D. Kan. Sept. 27, 1999); Kickham Group, Inc.

v. Am. Nat’l Fire Ins. Co., No. 3:96CV1823, 1997 WL 600710, **2-3 (N.D. Tex.

Sept. 24, 1997); Etchison v. Westfield Ins. Co., No. 5:05CV99, 2006 U.S. Dist.

LEXIS 71467, **22-29 (N.D.W.V. Sept. 29, 2006); Thompson v. Md. Cas. Co., 84

P.3d 496, 506-07 (Colo. 2004); Wylin v. Auto Owners Ins. Co., No. 255669, 2005

Mich. App. LEXIS 2568, **13-14 (Mich. Ct. App. Oct. 18, 2005); Acme Constr.

9

No. 06-61084

Co., Inc. v. Cont’l Nat’l Indem. Co., No. 81402, 2003 WL 194879, **6-7 (Ohio Ct.

App. Jan. 30, 2003); Bank One, N.A. v. Breakers Dev., 559 N.W.2d 911, 912-13

(Wis. Ct. App. 1997). We see no reason why Mississippi courts would rule

differently. Thus, we conclude that Mississippi courts would follow this

unanimous trend and conclude that slander of title claims do not trigger

coverage under policies that limit coverage to the slander of a person or

organization or disparagement of a good, product, or service.

None of the cases cited by LCI compels a different result. Indeed, the

polices at issue in each of those cases provided coverage for slander generally and

did not limit coverage to the slander of a person or organization or

disparagement of a good, product, or service. See, e.g., Valley Improvement Ass’n

v. USF&G, 129 F.3d 1108, 1118 (10th Cir. 1997) (policy covered damages arising

out of “the publication or utterance of a libel or slander or of other defamatory

or disparaging material”); Classic Corp. v. Charter Oak Fire Ins. Co., No.

93CV5655, 1995 WL 295824, *1 (C.D. Cal. Feb. 22, 1995) (same); Royce v.

Citizens Ins. Co., 557 N.W.2d 144, 147 (Mich. App. Ct. 1996) (policy covered

damages arising out of “libel, slander”).

Although we conclude that the policy at issue does not cover slander of

title claims, LCI is correct that this court’s review is not limited to the particular

legal theories alleged in the AFP complaint. See Ingalls, 410 F.3d at 225 (“[W]e

look not to the particular legal theories . . . but to the allegedly tortious conduct

underlying the suit.”); Merchants, 794 F. Supp. at 618 (holding under Mississippi

law that duty to defend is triggered “when there is any basis for potential

liability under the policy. . . . for the allegations raised in the . . . action”);

Employers Reinsurance Corp. v. Martin, Gordon & Jones, Inc., 767 F. Supp.

1355, 1359-60 (S.D. Miss. 1991) (“[I]t is the facts alleged, not the pleader’s legal

conclusions, that are relevant to the insurer’s duty to defend.”); see also Curtis-

Universal, Inc. v. Sheboygan Emergency Med. Servs., 43 F.3d 1119, 1122 (7th

10

No. 06-61084

Cir. 1994) (“[F]or example, if the complaint alleges facts that if proved would

show that the insured had infringed the plaintiff’s copyright, the policy kicks in

even if the complaint charges the insured only with fraud or intentional

infliction of emotional distress.”). Thus, as long as the allegations in the AFP

complaint make out some claim that has the possibility of triggering coverage,

Nationwide has a duty to defend even if the complaint does not pursue that

particular legal theory as a basis for relief. As the Seventh Circuit reasoned:

Defamation and disparagement are explicitly covered by the basic

policy, and defamation by the umbrella policy. But neither tort is

named in the counterclaim. No matter. Coverage does not depend

on the characterization of the wrong by the plaintiff . . . . Modern

pleading requires the pleading only of a claim, not of a legal theory;

and so if a specific tort or other legal wrong named in the insurance

policy had to be named in the suit for liability coverage to exist,

insurance protection could be lost as the result of a totally

inconsequential omission by the drafter of the complaint. Such a

rule would also be an invitation to strategic pleading.

Cincinnati Ins. Co. v. E. Atl. Ins. Co., 260 F.3d 742, 745 (7th Cir. 2001).

LCI cites the following allegations that, according to it, serve to trigger

Nationwide’s duty to defend:

[T]he MCBS, at the request of LCI, approved another Master Plan

for the PUD dated February 19, 1998.

When LCI presented the 1998 Master Plan to the MCBS and

requested that it be approved, LCI withheld from the MCBS the

details of the Contract and Warranty Deed.

LCI withheld from [AFP] the fact that it was presenting to the

MCBS, and requesting approval of, the 1998 Master Plan.

As a result of the actions of LCI, the 1998 Master Plan was

approved by the MCBS without [AFP] being given an opportunity

to advise the MCBS of its contract and deed rights.

11

No. 06-61084

LCI opposed [AFP]’s request, using as a basis for its opposition, the

1998 Master Plan which LCI had approved by withholding

information from the MCBS and [AFP].

LCI made representations to the MCBS and to the public that it was

the only developer of the PUD indicating that [AFP] was not a

developer and did not have rights to develop the subject property in

accordance with applicable zoning ordinances.

LCI made representations to the MCBS and to the public that [AFP]

was prohibited by the Declaration of Covenants, Conditions and

Restrictions for Lake Caroline from developing the subject property.

LCI has continued to do all it can to prevent [AFP] from exercising

its right to develop the subject property and change its use after

December 31, 2006 as contemplated by the Contract and Warranty

Deed.

According to LCI, these allegations make out a claim for slander of person

or organization or disparagement of goods, products, or services. We disagree.

According to the AFP complaint, LCI stated that “[AFP] did not have rights to

develop the subject property” and that “[AFP] was prohibited by the Declaration

of Covenants . . . from developing the subject property.” Moreover, according to

the AFP complaint, “LCI has continued to do all it can to prevent [AFP] from

exercising its right to develop the subject property and change its use.”

Assuming that these statements are slanderous or disparaging, they do not

slander a person or organization or disparage a good, product, or service. At

best, these alleged statements do nothing more than slander AFP’s title to the

subject property and the Policy does not cover such claims.

Because the allegations in the complaint do not trigger the duty to defend,

this court must next address whether Nationwide knew of facts or could have

reasonably ascertained facts that would have triggered coverage under the

Policy. See Mulberry, 101 F.3d at 422 (citing Merchants Co., 794 F. Supp. at

617). Here, LCI argues that a reasonable investigation would have revealed that

12

No. 06-61084

(1) LCI did not make any false statements before the Board, or if any false

statements were made by LCI, LCI did not know they were false; (2) AFP’s

conclusory allegations were unsupported by the evidence; and (3) documents in

the state court suit contradicted or called into serious question the validity of

AFP’s allegations. These additional facts, however, do not trigger coverage or

in any way alter our conclusion that AFP is simply alleging a slander of title

claim, which the Policy does not cover. Accordingly, we conclude that LCI has

not established that the AFP complaint itself -- or any additional facts -- trigger

the duty to defend under Coverage B of the Policy.

B. Property Damage - Coverage A

LCI also argues that there is a possibility of coverage under Coverage A

of the Policy, which covers “property damage” caused by an “occurrence.” We

reject this argument for three independent reasons. First, the Policy only covers

property damage “caused by an ‘occurrence’ that takes place in the ‘coverage

territory.’” Here, there is no suggestion that the alleged slanderous statements

took place in Lake Caroline.

Second, it is doubtful that the allegations in the AFP complaint satisfy the

Policy’s definition of “occurrence,” which limits coverage to property damage

resulting from “an accident.” The Mississippi Supreme Court has cited with

favor the following definition of “accident” for insurance coverage purposes:

An accident is anything that happens or is the result of that which

is unanticipated and takes place without the insured’s foresight or

anticipation. . . . As used in insurance policies it is simply an

undersigned, sudden, and unexpected event, usually of an afflictive

or unfortunate character, and often accompanied by a manifestation

of force, but it does not mean the natural and ordinary consequences

of a negligent act.

Allstate Ins. Co. v. Moulton, 464 So. 2d 507, 509 (Miss. 1985) (quoting 7A

Appleman, Insurance Law and Practice § 4492 (Berdal ed. 1979)). We have

already held that the allegations in the AFP complaint state only a slander of

13

No. 06-61084

title claim. Under Mississippi law, such claims require a showing of malice.

Walley, 54 So. 2d at 396. A party can be deemed to have acted with malice under

Mississippi law upon a showing of a reckless disregard for the truth, which

requires sufficient evidence to establish that “the defendant in fact entertained

serious doubts as to the truth of his publication.” McCullough, 743 So.2d at 361

(quoting Harte-Hanks Commc’ns, 491 U.S. at 688). Such conduct hardly

constitutes “an undersigned, sudden, and unexpected event.”

Third, LCI concedes that the subject property was not physically injured.

The only other property damage that is covered under the Policy is the “[l]oss of

use of tangible property.” However, under Mississippi law, injurious falsehood

claims -- such as slander of title -- must include a showing of economic or

pecuniary damages. See Smith v. Magnolia Lady, Inc., 925 So. 2d 898, 906

(Miss. Ct. App. 2006). This court has recognized the abundance of case law

holding that “purely economic losses . . . do not constitute ‘the loss of use of

tangible property.’” Snug Harbor, Ltd. v. Zurich Ins., 968 F.2d 538, 542 & n.13

(5th Cir. 1992); see also Shelter Mut. Ins. Co. v. Brown, 345 F. Supp. 2d 645, 649

(S.D. Miss. 2004) (holding that damages arising out of negligent

misrepresentation not property damages); Audubon Ins. Co. v. Stefancik, 98 F.

Supp. 2d 751, 756 (S.D. Miss. 1999) (holding that damages arising out of

defamation not property damages); State Farm Fire & Cas. Co. v. Brewer, 914

F. Supp. 140, 142 (S.D. Miss. 1996) (“The[] cases are virtually unanimous in

their holdings that damages flowing from misrepresentation and/or fraud have

no basis in property damage; rather, the only cognizable damages from such

torts are economic and contractual in nature and as such do not fall within the

scope of coverage afforded by policies like that of the [Defendant]”); Giddings v.

Indus. Indem., 169 Cal. Rptr. 278, 281 (Cal. Ct. App. 1980) (“To construe the

explicit words ‘tangible property’ to include intangible economic interests and

property rights requires a strained and farfetched interpretation, doing violence

14

No. 06-61084

to the plain language of the policies.”). In short, the subject property itself was

not damaged; if anything, the reputation of AFP’s title to the subject property

was damaged and the resulting injury was purely economic. The distinction is

subtle but important and does not serve to trigger the duty to defend under the

Policy.

Even if this court goes beyond the allegations in the AFP complaint, LCI

does not isolate any additional facts that would trigger coverage or in any way

alter our conclusion that AFP is simply alleging a slander of title claim, which

did not occur in Lake Caroline, does not meet the definition of an “occurrence”

in the Policy, and does not involve damage that would constitute the loss of use

of tangible property as required under the Policy. Accordingly, we conclude that

LCI has not established that the AFP complaint itself -- or any additional facts --

trigger the duty to defend under Coverage A of the Policy.

IV. CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, we affirm the judgment of the district court.

AFFIRMED.

15

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.