Opinion

Lawson, Charles v. Amazon.com Services, LLC

  • 2021 TN WC App. 89
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Dec 27, 2021
Status
Published
On the bench
Timothy W. Conner, David F. Hensley, Pele I. Godkin
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 22.3%

The opinion

FILED

Dec 27, 2021

10:25 AM(CT)

TENNESSEE

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

APPEALS BOARD

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Charles Lawson ) Docket No. 2021-01-0213

)

v. ) State File No. 56752-2020

)

Amazon.com Services, LLC, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Thomas L. Wyatt, Judge )

Affirmed and Remanded

In this interlocutory appeal, the employer asserts the trial court erred in declining to grant

its pre-hearing motion in limine to exclude the testimony of an expert witness based on the

alleged unreliability of the information and data on which the expert relied. In denying the

motion, the trial court concluded the issues noted by the employer impact the weight but

not the admissibility of the expert’s opinions, and the employer has appealed. Discerning

no error, we affirm the trial court’s order and remand the case.

Presiding Judge Timothy W. Conner delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in which

Judge David F. Hensley and Judge Pele I. Godkin joined.

W. Troy Hart, Knoxville, Tennessee, for the employer-appellant, Amazon.com Services,

LLC

G. Brent Burks, Chattanooga, Tennessee, for the employee-appellee, Charles Lawson

Memorandum Opinion 1

Charles Lawson (“Employee”) worked for Amazon.com Services, LLC

(“Employer”), as a fulfillment associate at one of its distribution centers in Hamilton

County. On August 31, 2020, Employee reported experiencing low back pain radiating

down his left lower extremity while lifting heavy totes at work. He was initially seen at

1

“The appeals board may, in an effort to secure a just and speedy determination of matters on appeal and

with the concurrence of all judges, decide an appeal by an abbreviated order or by memorandum opinion,

whichever the appeals board deems appropriate, in cases that are not legally and/or factually novel or

complex.” Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0800-02-22-.03(1) (2020).

1

Employer’s onsite clinic, then selected Dr. Robert Sass, an osteopathic doctor with Nova

Medical Centers, from Employer’s panel of physicians. During his initial visit with Dr.

Sass, which occurred on the date of the accident, Employee reported having experienced

prior low back problems. According to Dr. Sass’s August 31 report, Employee described

a “history of back problems including a pinched nerve and has sciatic pain intermittently.”

Employee also reportedly told Dr. Sass of having “back pain once a month,” which he

treated with pain medications. According to Dr. Sass’s report, there was “[n]o specific

incident . . . no slip, trip[,] fall or faulty equipment.” 2 As a result of Dr. Sass’s examination,

he concluded “within a reasonable degree of medical certainty” that Employee “is

experiencing a flare of back pain” due to a “chronic back issue” and that “no work injury

has occurred.” Thereafter, Employer denied Employee’s claim.

After leaving Dr. Sass’s office, Employee went to a local emergency room, where

he reported “low back pain and burning into his left leg and foot.” He also reported a

“history of spinal stenosis and a disc problem.” With respect to his pre-existing condition,

Employee “describe[d] having [a] problem years ago [but] never had to have surgery and

has not been having pain since that time.” He reported the work incident as having

occurred when he “lifted some Gatorade and felt pain in his low back and down his left

leg.” A CT of the lumbar spine revealed “spinal stenosis from L3-S1.” Employee was

diagnosed with a lumbar strain, spinal stenosis, left sided sciatica, and degenerative

arthritis. A consultation was sought from Dr. Garrick Cason of Comprehensive Spine

Institute, who recommended Employee take steroidal medication and undergo physical

therapy.

Thereafter, Employee sought treatment on his own from Dr. Cason, who he first

saw on October 1, 2020. Employee reported that he “was injured at work on 8/31/2020

picking up an item” and described “immediately [feeling] pain in his lower back and down

either side of his [left lower extremity].” Dr. Cason noted that the “[c]ausative event at the

time of symptom onset [was] reported as picking up [an] item at work.” Under “past

medical history,” Dr. Cason indicated Employee had reported a history of osteoarthritis,

but there was nothing in his report indicating Employee had described prior low back

injuries or any significant treatment to the lumbar spine.

Diagnostic scans ordered by Dr. Cason were interpreted as revealing “retrolisthesis”

at L4 through S1 and “neuroforaminal stenosis” at L4-S1. Dr. Cason described these

findings as “mild degenerative disc arthritis at L5-S1” and “facet joint degenerative

arthritis at L4-L5, moderate left and mild right.” Dr. Cason diagnosed degenerative

changes in the lumbar spine, as well as “[l]umbar [r]adiculopathy on the left.” He opined

that “[b]ased on the patient’s history and clinical evaluation, the current problem is

2

We note, however, that earlier in the same paragraph of his August 31 report, Dr. Sass noted Employee

had described an incident on 8/31/2020 at 7:40 a.m. “while moving an item” in which Employee “developed

low back pain and left leg pain.”

2

consistent with the accident described by the patient.” Dr. Cason also signed a form on

October 1 indicating that Employee “is temporarily and totally disabled from any gainful

employment at the present time.” Later, Dr. Cason signed an affidavit in which he stated,

“within a reasonable degree of medical certainty, and considering all causes, that Mr.

Lawson’s lumbar injuries and the aggravation of his pre-existing lumbar spine conditions,

which he suffered while lifting and moving a large . . . box on August 31, 2020, arose

primarily out of and in the course and scope of his employment.”

Employee filed a request for hearing and attached medical records, Employee’s

affidavit, and the affidavit from Dr. Cason. Prior to the hearing, Employer filed a motion

in limine seeking to exclude from evidence Dr. Cason’s records and affidavit. In support

of its motion, Employer asserted Dr. Cason’s medical opinions were “fundamentally

untrustworthy” because Employee had failed to explain to Dr. Cason the extent and nature

of his prior injuries and pre-existing condition, as well as his chronic, intermittent low back

symptoms and his use of medications to treat those symptoms.

In its order denying Employer’s motion, the trial court noted that rules governing

the Court of Workers’ Compensation Claims provide that medical records and “letters or

written statements addressing medical causation signed by a physician” are admissible at

an expedited hearing. See Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0800-02-21-.15(2) and -.16(2)(b). The

trial court then determined that the objections raised by Employer go to the weight but not

the admissibility of the evidence in question. We agree. 3

It is well settled that the admissibility of evidence is within the discretion of the trial

judge. Mercer v. Vanderbilt Univ., Inc., 134 S.W.3d 121, 131 (Tenn. 2004); Majors v.

Randstad Inhouse Servs., L.P., No. M2010-01975-WC-R3-WC, 2011 Tenn. LEXIS 970,

at *10 (Tenn. Worker’s Comp. Panel Oct. 19, 2011). A trial court abuses its discretion

when it causes an injustice to the party challenging the decision by

(1) applying an incorrect legal standard, (2) reaching an illogical or unreasonable decision,

or (3) basing its decision on a clearly erroneous assessment of the evidence. State v. Ostein,

293 S.W.3d 519, 526 (Tenn. 2009).

Rule 703 of the Tennessee Rules of Evidence provides that “[t]he court shall

disallow testimony in the form of an opinion or inference if the underlying facts or data

indicate lack of trustworthiness.” Tenn. R. Evid. 703. A pre-trial motion to exclude expert

testimony was addressed by the Supreme Court’s Special Workers’ Compensation Appeals

Panel in Franklin v. Duro Standard Products, No. W2011-01212-WC-R3-WC, 2012 Tenn.

LEXIS 485 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. Panel July 30, 2012). In that hearing loss case, the

employer had filed a pre-trial motion to exclude the testimony of an otolaryngologist on

3

On the first page of its brief on appeal, Employer indicated it had requested oral argument, though no

motion for oral argument has been filed pursuant to Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0800-02-22-.08(1). We deny

the request for oral argument.

3

the grounds that the physician testified he was unfamiliar with certain OSHA standards for

noise exposure and that his testimony was inconsistent with an earlier written report. Id.

at *9. In rejecting the employer’s arguments, the Appeals Panel explained:

Trial courts’ decisions concerning the admission or exclusion of evidence are

generally accorded a wide degree of latitude and will only be overturned on

appeal where there is a showing of abuse of discretion. This standard of

review is applicable to decisions concerning questions pertaining to the

qualifications, admissibility, relevancy, and competency of expert testimony.

Id. at *10 (internal quotations and citations omitted). The Appeals Panel then concluded

the trial court had “correctly found that the questions raised by [Employer] concerning [the

physician’s] testimony affected its weight, rather than its admissibility.” Id. at *11.

Here, as noted by the trial court, Dr. Cason indicated in his affidavit he had reviewed

the medical records containing what Employer asserts are pertinent discrepancies in the

histories provided by Employee. We conclude any such discrepancies impact the weight

of Dr. Cason’s testimony, not its admissibility. The trial court will be tasked with weighing

Dr. Cason’s statements and opinions against those offered by Dr. Sass in light of

Employee’s testimony, documentary evidence, and the presumption of correctness on the

medical causation issue in Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-102(14)(E). In short,

we cannot conclude the trial court abused its discretion in denying Employer’s motion in

limine.

For the foregoing reasons, we affirm the trial court’s order and remand the case.

Costs on appeal are taxed to Employer.

4

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Charles Lawson ) Docket No. 2021-01-0213

)

v. ) State File No. 56752-2020

)

Amazon.com Services, LLC, et al. )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers’ )

Compensation Claims )

Thomas L. Wyatt, Judge )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the referenced

case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service on this the 27th day

of December, 2021.

Name Certified First Class Via Via Sent to:

Mail Mail Fax Email

W. Troy Hart X wth@mijs.com

Megan Jones majones@mijs.com

G. Brent Burks X brentburks@mcmahanlawfirm.com

Lew Belvin lew@mcmahanlawfirm.com

Thomas L. Wyatt, Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Penny Shrum, Clerk, Court of X penny.patterson-shrum@tn.gov

Workers’ Compensation Claims

Olivia Yearwood

Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-1606

Electronic Mail: WCAppeals.Clerk@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.