Opinion

United States v. Vargas

  • 21 F.4th 332
Court
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
Filed
Dec 23, 2021
Status
Published
Nature of suit
Direct Criminal
Cited by
19 cases
Authority
More cited than 79.3%

explaining reasonable presumption may be rebutted by showing “the sentence: (1) does not account for a factor that should have received significant weight, (2) gives significant weight to an irrelevant or improper factor, or (3) represents a clear error of judgment in balancing the sentencing factors” (citation omitted)

How later courts described this case

  • explaining reasonable presumption may be rebutted by showing “the sentence: (1) does not account for a factor that should have received significant weight, (2) gives significant weight to an irrelevant or improper factor, or (3) represents a clear error of judgment in balancing the sentencing factors” (citation omitted)
  • applying the plain error standard where the 3 Case: 21-50676 Document: 00516606905 Page: 4 Date Filed: 01/11/2023 No. 21-50676 To establish plain error, a litigant “must show that (1) the district court erred; (2) the error was clear and obvious; and (3

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

Case: 20-50029 Document: 00516143779 Page: 1 Date Filed: 12/23/2021

United States Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit United States Court of Appeals

Fifth Circuit

FILED

No. 20-50029 December 23, 2021

Lyle W. Cayce

Clerk

United States of America,

Plaintiff—Appellee,

versus

Marco A. Vargas,

Defendant—Appellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Western District of Texas

USDC No. 5:18-CR-531-1

Before Wiener, Elrod, and Higginson, Circuit Judges.

Wiener, Circuit Judge:

Defendant-Appellant Marco A. Vargas appeals the fifty-one month

sentence he received after a jury found him guilty of fraudulently obtaining

federal worker’s compensation benefits and stealing government property.

For the following reasons, we affirm.

I. Background

Vargas was working as a civilian employee on an air force base when

he “amputated [his] left thumb [and] severed and mangled tendons on other

fingers” with a circular saw. He filed a claim for compensation, falsely

Case: 20-50029 Document: 00516143779 Page: 2 Date Filed: 12/23/2021

No. 20-50029

reporting that the accident occurred while he was installing a fire alarm.1

After his claim was approved and some benefits were paid, an investigation

revealed that Vargas had been injured while shaving down copper wire that

he had stolen from the base.

Vargas was charged with and convicted of (1) making a false statement

to obtain federal employee compensation, in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1920;

(2) falsely claiming that he was injured while performing his duty as an

employee, in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1001; and (3) theft of government

property, in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 641. The district court sentenced Vargas

to fifty-one months in prison, followed by three years of supervised release.

The court also ordered him to pay $66,851.72 in restitution.

In imposing this sentence, the district court relied on a presentence

investigation report (“PSR”) that calculated Vargas’s total offense level as

22 and his criminal history category as I. In calculating the total offense level,

the PSR applied a base offense level of 6 under United States Sentencing

Guidelines § 2B1.1(a)(2), and added 14 additional levels under

§ 2B1.1(b)(1)(H) because the intended loss exceeded $550,000.00,2 and 2

additional points under § 3C1.1 because Vargas obstructed justice during the

investigation of the incident and at trial.3 Vargas timely appealed, challenging

the district court’s method of calculating the intended loss enhancement and

the substantive reasonableness of the sentence.

1

The form Vargas submitted is titled “Federal Employee’s Notice of Traumatic

Injury and Claim for Continuation of Pay/Compensation.”

2

The PSR concluded that if Vargas continued to receive benefits until he reached

80 years of age, he would receive $850,438.27.

3

The PSR noted that Vargas attempted to have colleagues conceal or destroy

evidence related to the incident and provided false testimony at trial and during his PSR

interview regarding the timeline of events.

2

Case: 20-50029 Document: 00516143779 Page: 3 Date Filed: 12/23/2021

No. 20-50029

II. Standard of Review

We generally “review factual findings related to a district court’s loss

calculations under the Sentencing Guidelines for clear error and that court’s

calculation methodology de novo.”4 Vargas failed to object to the method of

loss calculation, so our review is for plain error.5 To establish plain error,

Vargas must show that (1) the district court erred; (2) the error was clear and

obvious; and (3) the error affected his substantial rights.6 Should he make

such showings, we would have the discretion to correct the error if a failure

to do so would seriously affect the fairness, integrity, or public reputation of

the proceeding.7

Challenges to the substantive reasonableness of a sentence are

reviewed for abuse of discretion.8

III. Analysis

On appeal, Vargas contends that (1) the district court erred

procedurally in calculating the applicable guidelines range, and (2) the

sentence is substantively unreasonable. We address each contention in turn.

A. Guidelines Calculation

Vargas first contends that the district court erred in calculating his

sentencing range under § 2B1.1, which sets forth the applicable guidelines for

crimes involving fraud and deceit.9 Under § 2B1.1(b), the applicable offense

4

United States v. Hearns, 845 F.3d 641, 647 (5th Cir. 2017).

5

Puckett v. United States, 556 U.S. 129, 134 (2009).

6

Id. at 135.

7

Id.

8

Gall v. United States, 552 U.S. 38, 56 (2007).

9

U.S. Sentencing Guidelines Manual § 2B1.1 (U.S. Sent’g

Comm’n 2018) [hereinafter “U.S.S.G.”].

3

Case: 20-50029 Document: 00516143779 Page: 4 Date Filed: 12/23/2021

No. 20-50029

level is subject to escalating enhancement depending on the amount of loss

that resulted from the underlying offense.10 As a “general rule,” a “loss is

the greater of actual loss or intended loss.”11 In cases involving government

benefits, however, a “special rule” applies. It provides:

Notwithstanding [the general rule], the following special rule[]

shall be used to assist in determining loss . . . .

In a case involving government benefits (e.g., grants, loans,

entitlement program payments), loss shall be considered to be

not less than the value of the benefits obtained by unintended

recipients or diverted to unintended uses, as the case may be.

For example, if the defendant was the intended recipient of

food stamps having a value of $100 but fraudulently received

food stamps having a value of $150, loss is $50.12

In adopting the PSR, the district court concluded that the loss

attributable to Vargas’s crime was $850,438.27—a sum representing the

total amount of benefits that he would receive if he continued to receive

compensation payments until the age of 80. Based on this intended loss, the

district court applied a 14-level enhancement under § 2B1.1(B), which

resulted in an advisory sentencing range of 41-51 months. On appeal, Vargas

contends that the district court erred in calculating the amount of loss

because it applied the general rule that “loss is the greater of actual loss or

intended loss” rather than the government-benefits rule.

Our caselaw does not clearly explain the relationship between the

general rule and the government-benefits rule. We recently noted in United

10

Id. § 2B1.1(b).

11

Id. cmt. n.3(A).

12

Id. cmt. n.3(F).

4

Case: 20-50029 Document: 00516143779 Page: 5 Date Filed: 12/23/2021

No. 20-50029

States v. Harris that the government-benefits rule is “one of several special

rules that supplant the default general rule whenever they apply.”13

However, the Harris court determined that the government-benefits rule was

inapplicable to the set of facts before it, rendering such comments dicta. And,

just three years earlier, we held in United States v. Nelson that, although “the

correct loss calculation [in government-benefits cases] is ‘the difference

between the amount the defendant actually received and the amount he

would have received absent the fraud,’” “[t]he intended loss analysis applies

to [government-benefits] cases.”14 We have also stressed that “[t]he

intention to divert funds from the Government for unintended uses qualifies

the amounts as intended losses.”15 But, to complicate matters, despite

Nelson’s reliance on the intended loss analysis, we have reversed district

courts on multiple occasions for calculating the loss in government-benefits

cases as involving the total value of benefits received rather than only those

benefits fraudulently received, without reference to the intended loss.16 We

therefore decline to resolve the relationship between the general rule and the

government-benefits rule today. Even if we assume that the district court

13

821 F.3d 589, 602 (5th Cir. 2016); see also id. at 603 (noting that the government-

benefits rule “obviate[s] the general rule”).

14

732 F.3d 504, 521 (5th Cir. 2013) (quoting United States v. Harms, 442 F.3d 367,

380 (5th Cir. 2006)).

15

Id. (cleaned up) (quoting United States v. Dowl, 619 F.3d 494, 502 (5th Cir.

2010)).

16

See, e.g., Harms, 442 F.3d at 379 (holding that the applicable loss “should not

include any benefits to which [the defendant] would have been entitled absent fraud”);

United States v. Lopez, 486 F. App’x 461, 467 (5th Cir. 2012) (unpublished) (holding that

the district court should have excluded from the total value of government contracts the

portion of funds that, while fraudulently solicited, reached intended beneficiaries).

However, there is good reason for these reversals: In Harms and Lopez, the district courts

never engaged in an analysis of intended loss, so the only issue on appeal was the propriety

of the district courts’ calculation of actual loss.

5

Case: 20-50029 Document: 00516143779 Page: 6 Date Filed: 12/23/2021

No. 20-50029

erred in its application of the Guidelines, we are not persuaded that the error

was “clear and obvious.”17

In the absence of clear guidance, the district court did not clearly and

obviously err in applying the general rule in this case.18 In determining the

intended loss, the district court adopted the facts detailed in the PSR, which

are “considered reliable evidence for sentencing purposes,”19 at least in the

absence of “relevant affidavits or other evidence . . . submitted to rebut the

information” contained in the PSR.20 Here, the facts in the PSR were derived

from the trial testimony of an Air Force human resources specialist, Luisa

Garcia, who explained that Vargas stood to receive more than $850,000 in

benefits over the course of his life. And the sentencing judge presided over

the trial, so he was “in a unique position to assess the evidence” that entitles

his determination to “appropriate deference.”21 In addition to Garcia’s

testimony, the district court considered the nature and severity of Vargas’s

injury, which included the permanent amputation of his thumb, and the fact

that, when Vargas filed his compensation claim form, he checked a box

indicating that he sought “compensation for wage loss if disability for work

continues beyond 45 days.”

17

United States v. Wikkerink, 841 F.3d 327, 331 (5th Cir. 2016).

18

United States v. Rodriguez-Parra, 581 F.3d 227, 230–31 (5th Cir. 2009)

(concluding that a “claim of plain error fail[ed] at the second prong” where resolution of

the issue required “a careful parsing of all the relevant authorities, including the sentencing

guidelines and applicable decisions” and “the result [was] reached only by traversing a

somewhat tortuous path”).

19

United States v. Clark, 139 F.3d 485, 490 (5th Cir. 1998).

20

United States v. Jefferson, 258 F.3d 405, 413 (5th Cir. 2001) (quoting United

States v. Vital, 68 F.3d 114, 120 (5th Cir. 1995)).

21

United States v. Delgado, 984 F.3d 435, 453 (5th Cir. 2021).

6

Case: 20-50029 Document: 00516143779 Page: 7 Date Filed: 12/23/2021

No. 20-50029

More significantly, Garcia’s trial testimony, which formed the basis of

the specific loss amount adopted by the PSR and district court, went entirely

unchallenged. Counsel for Vargas declined to cross examine Garcia about her

methodology and failed to introduce any evidence to refute the basis for the

calculation of the intended loss. Neither did counsel probe how much Vargas

received in monthly payments, whether compensation claims are routinely

approved, how securing additional employment would affect the amount of

compensation, or what Vargas understood about the compensation system at

the time he filed his claim. To make matters worse, Vargas’s counsel not only

declined to object to the PSR—he also stated affirmatively in a sentencing

memorandum that “the Presentence Investigation Report properly

calculates Vargas’ total offense level as a 22.” Based on the unrefuted

evidence and Vargas’s affirmative representation that the intended loss was

correctly calculated, it was not clear and obvious error for the court to infer

that Vargas intended to receive benefits to which he was not legally entitled

for as long as he could.22

B. Substantive Reasonableness of Sentence

Vargas also contends that his top-of-the-guidelines sentence was

substantively unreasonable in light of the applicable sentencing factors set

forth in 18 U.S.C. § 3553(a). Within-guidelines-range sentences such as

Vargas’s are entitled to a presumption of reasonableness.23 This presumption

can be rebutted with evidence that the sentence: “(1) does not account for a

22

As the Seventh Circuit put it in a similar case involving disability insurance fraud,

“[the defendant] set out to take the insurers for all they were worth, and that meant benefits

through age 65. What would have induced him to disclaim benefits earlier?” United States

v. Rettenberger, 344 F.3d 702, 708 (7th Cir. 2003); see also United States v. Killen, 761 F.3d

945, 946–47 (8th Cir. 2014) (holding that the plaintiff intended to fraudulently receive

social security benefits until age 65).

23

United States v. Simpson, 796 F.3d 548, 557 (5th Cir. 2015).

7

Case: 20-50029 Document: 00516143779 Page: 8 Date Filed: 12/23/2021

No. 20-50029

factor that should have received significant weight, (2) gives significant

weight to an irrelevant or improper factor, or (3) represents a clear error of

judgment in balancing the sentencing factors.”24 When, as here, a defendant

advocates to the district court for a specific sentence, he preserves his

appellate claim that the length of the sentence imposed was unreasonable.25

On appeal, Vargas maintains that the sentence imposed (1) failed to

account sufficiently for his history and background, (2) invites unwanted

sentencing disparities, and (3) grossly overstates his culpability in the offense.

These assertions are unavailing. In imposing this sentence, the district court

had the benefit of personally recalling trial testimony, reviewing Vargas’s

sentencing memorandum, and hearing Vargas and his attorney discuss his

“relative lack of criminal history,” record of military service, personal

remorse for actions taken, desire to return to work, and familial support. The

district court was well aware of Vargas’s personal history and background

when selecting his sentence. The fact that the judge declined to find those

factors persuasive enough to warrant a reduced sentence does not mean that

he failed to sufficiently consider those factors under § 3553(a)(1). The district

court also sufficiently considered the need for the sentence imposed under

§ 3553(a)(2), citing the serious nature of the underlying offense and Vargas’s

obstruction of justice as key justifications for the guidelines sentence. And

any sentencing disparities between Vargas and others convicted of the same

crime are explained by the specific facts related to the instant offense.

Lastly, the sentence imposed does not overstate Vargas’s culpability

in the underlying offense because, as explained above, the intended loss

enhancement was not plainly erroneous. For all of these reasons, Vargas has

24

Id. at 558 (quoting United States v. Warren, 720 F.3d 321, 332 (5th Cir. 2013)).

25

Holguin-Hernandez v. United States, 140 S. Ct. 762, 766 (2020).

8

Case: 20-50029 Document: 00516143779 Page: 9 Date Filed: 12/23/2021

No. 20-50029

failed to rebut the presumption of reasonableness that attaches to his within-

guidelines-range sentence.

IV. Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we AFFIRM the judgment of the district

court.

9

Case: 20-50029 Document: 00516143779 Page: 10 Date Filed: 12/23/2021

No. 20-50029

Jennifer Walker Elrod, Circuit Judge, concurring only in the

judgment:

An error that the defendant affirmatively ratified in the district court

does not justify reversal on plain-error review because it does not seriously

affect the fairness, integrity, or public reputation of the trial. See, e.g., United

States v. Duque-Hernandez, 710 F.3d 296, 298 (5th Cir. 2013). As the majority

opinion notes, Vargas’s counsel affirmatively stated that the Presentence

Investigation Report calculated his total offense level correctly. Therefore,

this court need not exercise its discretion to correct even a “clear and

obvious” error. That should be enough to decide this case.

Unfortunately, in arriving at the same conclusion, the majority

opinion adds confusion to our government benefits rule caselaw. In my view,

the government-benefits rule “supplant[s] the default general rule whenever

[it] appl[ies].” United States v. Harris, 821 F.3d 589, 602 (5th Cir. 2016); see

also United States v. Harms, 442 F.3d 367, 379 (5th Cir. 2006); United States

v. Lopez, 486 F. App’x 461, 467 (5th Cir. 2012); cf. United States v. Ainabe,

938 F.3d 685, 692 (5th Cir. 2019) (applying a specific rule applicable to

“Federal health care offense involving a Government health care program,”

which is also listed in U.S.S.G. § 2B1.1 cmt. n.3(F), instead of the general

rule), cert. denied, 141 S. Ct. 259 (2020); accord United States v. Tupone, 442

F.3d 145, 154 n.7 (3d Cir. 2006) (indicating that “U.S.S.G. § 2B1.1 app. note

3(F) supersedes subdivision (A) of Note 3 in government benefits cases and

provides the relevant definition of ‘loss’ in such cases” (emphasis added)).

Assuming arguendo that the general rule of U.S.S.G. § 2B1.1(b) n.3(A)

did apply here, deploying intended—rather than actual—loss analysis surely

constitutes “clear and obvious” error. The government did not carry its

burden to prove intended loss because it rested its case on two casual—and

“purely speculative”—assumptions: first, that Vargas would not seek

10

Case: 20-50029 Document: 00516143779 Page: 11 Date Filed: 12/23/2021

No. 20-50029

reemployment; and second, that Vargas might have lived (and collected

benefits) to the ripe old age of eighty. Such speculative reasoning is not

sufficient to prove intended loss. See United States v. Roussel, 705 F.3d 184,

201 (5th Cir. 2013); see also United States v. Nelson, 732 F.3d 504, 521–22 (5th

Cir. 2013).

For these reasons, I respectfully concur only in the judgment.

11

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.