Opinion

The Inns by the Sea v. Cal. Mutual Ins. Co.

Court
California Court of Appeal
Filed
Nov 15, 2021
Status
Published
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 21.9%

The opinion

Filed 11/15/21

CERTIFIED FOR PUBLICATION

COURT OF APPEAL, FOURTH APPELLATE DISTRICT

DIVISION ONE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

THE INNS BY THE SEA, D079036

Plaintiff and Appellant,

v. (Super. Ct. No. 20CV001274)

CALIFORNIA MUTUAL INSURANCE

COMPANY,

Defendant and Respondent.

APPEAL from a judgment of the Superior Court of Monterey County,

Lydia M. Villarreal, Judge. Affirmed.

Reiser Law, Michael J. Reiser, Matthew Reiser, Isabella Martinez;

Hunton Andrews Kurth, Scott P. DeVries, Lorelie S. Masters, Rachel E.

Hudgins; The Meade Firm, Tyler Meade, Samuel I. Ferguson and Seena

Forouzan for Plaintiff and Appellant.

Covington & Burling, Jad H. Khazem, David B. Goodwin, Rani Gupta

for Oakland Athletics Baseball Company, San Francisco Giants Baseball

Club LLC, Los Angeles Dodgers LLC, Angels Baseball LP and Padres L.P. as

Amici Curiae on behalf of Plaintiff and Appellant.

Reed Smith, David E. Weiss and T. Connor O’Carroll for United

Policyholders as Amicus Curiae on behalf of Plaintiff and Appellant.

Hayes, Scott, Bonino, Ellingson, Guslani, Simonson & Clause, Mark G.

Bonino, Stephen M. Hayes, Charles E. Tillage, and Ryan Z. Keller for

Defendant and Respondent.

Crowell & Moring, Mark D. Plevin; Robinson & Cole and Wystan M.

Ackerman for American Property Casualty Insurance Association and

National Association of Mutual Insurance Companies as Amicus Curiae on

behalf of Defendant and Respondent.

This appeal presents an issue of first impression for a California

appellate court: does a commercial property insurance policy provide

coverage for a business’s lost income due to the COVID-19 pandemic? 1 As we

1 Although no California appellate court has addressed the issue,

numerous federal courts and courts in other states have done so. The

relevant authorities are far too numerous to list here. The overwhelming

majority of federal district court cases find no possibility of coverage under

commercial property insurance policies for a business’s pandemic-related loss

of income (see, e.g., Nguyen v. Travelers Casualty Ins. Co. of America

(W.D.Wash., May 28, 2021, No. 2:20-cv-00597-BJR) ___ F.Supp.3d ___ [2021

WL 2184878] (Nguyen) [describing the trend of holdings]), along with each

federal appellate court to consider the issue (Santo’s Italian Cafe LLC v.

Acuity Ins. Co. (6th Cir. 2021) 15 F.4th 398 (Santo’s); Dakota Girls, LLC v.

Philadelphia Indemnity Ins. Co. (6th Cir., Nov. 5, 2021, No. 21-3245) ___

F.4th ___ [2021 WL 5144465]; Oral Surgeons, P.C. v. Cincinnati Ins. Co. (8th

Cir. 2021) 2 F.4th 1141 (Oral Surgeons); Gilreath Family & Cosmetic

Dentistry, Inc. v. Cincinnati Ins. Co. (11th Cir., Aug. 31, 2021, No. 21-11046)

2021 WL 3870697), including the Ninth Circuit applying California law

(Mudpie, Inc. v. Travelers Casualty Ins. Co. of America (9th Cir. 2021) 15

F.4th 885). Some cases, however, do conclude to the contrary. (See, e.g.,

Studio 417, Inc. v. Cincinnati Ins. Co. (W.D.Mo. 2020) 478 F.Supp.3d 794; In

re Society Ins. Co. COVID-19 Business Interruption Protection Ins. Litigation

2

will explain, under the specific insurance policy that California Mutual

Insurance Company (California Mutual) issued to The Inns by the Sea (Inns)

for its five lodging facilities, Inns cannot recover from California Mutual for

its lost business income resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic. Further,

Inns has not identified any manner in which it can amend its complaint to

state a claim for coverage. Accordingly, we affirm the trial court’s order

sustaining California Mutual’s demurrer without leave to amend.

I.

FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

Inns operates four lodging facilities in Carmel-by-the-Sea, and one

lodging facility in Half Moon Bay. On January 9, 2020, Inns renewed its

commercial insurance policy with California Mutual (the Policy), which

includes commercial property insurance covering each of Inns’ five lodging

facilities.

In March 2020, the COVID-19 pandemic resulted in government orders

restricting the movement of citizens and the operation of businesses. On

March 16 and 17, 2020, the counties of Monterey and San Mateo, where Inns’

lodging facilities are located, issued orders for the express purpose of

“ensur[ing] that the maximum number of people self-isolate in their places of

residence to the maximum extent feasible, while enabling essential services

to continue, to slow the spread of COVID-19 to the maximum extent possible”

(N.D.Ill. 2021) 521 F.Supp.3d 729 (Society Ins.); Derek Scott Williams PLLC

v. Cincinnati Ins. Co. (N.D.Ill. 2021) 522 F.Supp.3d 457; Elegant Massage,

LLC v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Ins. Co. (E.D.Va. 2020) 506 F.Supp.3d

360.) A website administered by the University of Pennsylvania Law School

titled “Covid Coverage Litigation Tracker” tracks rulings in insurance

coverage litigation arising from the pandemic. (<https://cclt.law.upenn.edu/>

[as of Nov. 15, 2021], archived at <https://perma.cc/U9Z3-L4LF>.) As

reflected there, hundreds of merits-based rulings have been issued in both

state and federal courts.

3

(the Orders). 2 Among other things, the Orders required citizens to shelter in

place and prohibited travel unless essential. The Orders also required

businesses (except those classified as “Essential Businesses”) to cease all but

minimum basic operations at any facilities located within the counties. The

Monterey County order defined “Essential Businesses” to include “[h]otels,

motels, bed and breakfast establishments, and other businesses that provide

transient occupancy for visitors to the County, provided that such

business[es] require their patrons to shelter in place as otherwise required by

this Order.” The San Mateo County order contained no such specification.

Inns closed its lodging facilities in response to the Orders.

On March 24, 2020, Inns made a claim to California Mutual under its

commercial property insurance coverage for the loss of business income

caused by the pandemic. On the same day, California Mutual denied

coverage, stating that “[l]oss of business due to reasons other than covered

physical damage is beyond the scope of the insurance policy.”

On April 20, 2020, Inns filed the instant lawsuit against California

Mutual in Monterey County Superior Court. The complaint pled causes of

action for (1) declaratory relief, (2) breach of contract, (3) breach of the

2 In support of its demurrer, California Mutual submitted an unopposed

request that the trial court take judicial notice of the Orders. The trial court

failed to rule on the request and did not indicate whether it considered the

Orders in sustaining the demurrer. “[W]e as a reviewing court may take

notice of matters properly subject to judicial notice, despite the failure of the

trial court to do so.” (Chacon v. Litke (2010) 181 Cal.App.4th 1234, 1251,

fn. 10.) We hereby take judicial notice of the Orders pursuant to Evidence

Code section 452, subdivision (c). (Cruz v. County of Los Angeles (1985) 173

Cal.App.3d 1131, 1134 [under Evid. Code, § 452, subd. (c), “judicial notice

may be taken of ‘[o]fficial acts of the legislative, executive, and judicial

departments of the United States and of any state in the United States,’

[which] includes judicial notice of official acts of a county”].)

4

implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, and (4) bad faith denial of

insurance coverage, all of which were based on the allegation that the Policy

provided coverage for Inns’ loss of business income due to the pandemic.

As factual background, the complaint specifically alleged,

“19. Emerging research on the virus and recent reports from the

Center for Disease Control indicate that COVID-19 strains

physically infect and can stay alive on surfaces for extended

periods, a characteristic that renders property exposed to the

contagion potentially unsafe and dangerous.

“20. On March 17, 2020, the Inns were forced to cease

operations based on orders from both the County of Monterey and

the County of San Mateo ordering cessation of all non-essential

travel and directing all businesses and governmental agencies to

cease non-essential operations at physical locations. These

Closure Orders were issued in direct response to these dangerous

physical conditions, and prohibit [Inns] from selling any rooms to

the public, thereby forcing [Inns] to close the Inns and to lay off

nearly all of its workers and triggering California Mutual’s

coverage responsibilities.

“21. The Closure Orders were made in direct response to the

continued and increasing presence of the coronavirus on [Inns’]

property and/or around its premises.” 3

Attached to the complaint was the Policy issued to Inns by California

Mutual. The Policy provides commercial property insurance for “direct

physical loss of or damage to Covered Property at the premises . . . caused by

or resulting from any Covered Cause of Loss,” with “Covered Property”

generally encompassing Inns’ buildings and business personal property, as

3 Similarly, the complaint alleged, “On March 17, 2020, as a direct and

proximate result of the Closure Orders, [Inns] ceased operations at the Inns,

as its rooms could no longer be rented to the public and the Inns could not be

used for any purpose. The occupancy rate at the Inns has dropped to zero.

As a further direct and proximate result of the Closure Orders, [Inns]

effectively furloughed all of its non-manager employees.”

5

well as certain personal property of others, unless specifically limited.

“Covered Causes of Loss” is defined to mean “Risks Of Direct Physical Loss,”

unless excluded or limited. To provide a simple example of this coverage, if a

storm caused the roof to blow off one of Inns’ properties, California Mutual

would pay for the loss of the roof. 4

As especially pertinent here, however, the commercial property

insurance also provides “Business Income (and Extra Expense)” and “Civil

Authority” coverage. The Business Income coverage states in relevant part:

“We will pay for the actual loss of Business Income you sustain due to the

necessary ‘suspension’ of your ‘operations’ during the ‘period of restoration’.

The ‘suspension’ must be caused by direct physical loss of or damage to

property at [Inns’] premises . . . . The loss or damage must be caused by or

result from a Covered Cause of Loss.” (Italics added.) The “Period of

Restoration” is defined as “the period of time that: [¶] a. Begins: [¶] (1) 72

hours after the time of direct physical loss or damage for Business Income

coverage; or [¶] (2) Immediately after the time of direct physical loss or

damage for Extra Expense coverage; [¶] caused by or resulting from any

Covered Cause of Loss at the described premises; and [¶] b. Ends on the

earlier of: [¶] (1) The date when the property at the described premises

should be repaired, rebuilt or replaced with reasonable speed and similar

4 To make the policy language more accessible, we use the simple

example of a destructive windstorm. In so doing, however, we do not intend

to limit the range of scenarios—some quite different from a windstorm—that

could give rise to coverage under the commercial property insurance portion

of the Policy.

6

quality; or [¶] (2) The date when business is resumed at a new permanent

location.” 5

The Extra Expense coverage provides for coverage of additional

expenses during the restoration period:

“b. Extra Expense means necessary expenses you incur

during the ‘period of restoration’ that you would not have

incurred if there had been no direct physical loss or damage to

property caused by or resulting from a Covered Cause of Loss.

“We will pay Extra Expense (other than the expense to

repair or replace property) to:

“(1) Avoid or minimize the ‘suspension’ of business and to

continue operations at the described premises or at replacement

premises or temporary locations, including relocation expenses

and costs to equip and operate the replacement location or

temporary location.

“(2) Minimize the ‘suspension’ of business if you cannot

continue ‘operations’.

“We will also pay Extra Expense to repair or replace

property, but only to the extent it reduces the amount of loss that

otherwise would have been payable under this Coverage Form.” 6

The Civil Authority coverage applies when Inns’ property does not itself

sustain damage or loss, but damage or loss somewhere else gives rise to an

order by a civil authority that prohibits access to Inns’ premises. The Policy

5 Continuing with the storm scenario, if the damage to the roof required

Inns to shut down one of its lodging facilities while repairs were made,

California Mutual would pay for Inns’ resulting loss of business income

during the restoration period.

6 Thus, for example, if Inns decided after the hypothetical storm to erect

tents to house guests while the roof was being repaired, that expense would

arguably be covered by the “Extra Expense” coverage.

7

states, “We will pay for the actual loss of Business Income you sustain and

necessary Extra Expense caused by action of civil authority that prohibits

access to the described premises due to direct physical loss of or damage to

property, other than at the described premises, caused by or resulting from

any Covered Cause of Loss.” (Italics added.) 7

The complaint alleged that Inns was entitled to recover from California

Mutual under either the Business Income coverage or the Civil Authority

coverage.

California Mutual filed a demurrer. Specifically, California Mutual

argued that the Policy did not provide coverage for Inns’ lost business income

resulting from the pandemic, under either the Business Income or Civil

Authority coverages, because the pandemic did not give rise to direct physical

loss of or damage to property. In addition, California Mutual argued that

even if the pandemic gave rise to direct physical loss of or damage to

property, three exclusions in the Policy operated to exclude coverage. 8

7 For example, in the windstorm scenario, if the storm downed

powerlines and trees, making it unsafe to enter the neighborhood where one

of Inns’ lodging facilities was located, but Inns’ property was not harmed by

the storm, Inns would arguably have coverage for loss of business income

while a civil authority prohibited access to Inns’ premises.

8 The first exclusion, which California Mutual refers to as the

“Ordinance or Law” exclusion, provides in relevant part: “1. We will not pay

for loss or damage caused directly or indirectly by any of the following. Such

loss or damage is excluded regardless of any other cause or event that

contributes concurrently or in any sequence to the loss. [¶] a. Ordinance Or

Law [¶] The enforcement of any ordinance or law: [¶] (1) Regulating the

construction, use or repair of any property; . . .”

The second exclusion, which California Mutual refers to as “the [L]oss

of [U]se” exclusion, states, “We will not pay for loss or damage caused by or

8

After holding a hearing, the trial court issued an order on August 6,

2020, sustaining the demurrer without leave to amend. Inns appeals from

the judgment. 9

II.

DISCUSSION

A. Applicable Legal Standards

We begin with the legal standards governing an appeal from an order

sustaining a demurrer. “ ‘On appeal from an order of dismissal after an order

sustaining a demurrer, the standard of review is de novo: we exercise

our independent judgment about whether the complaint states a cause of

action as a matter of law.’ ” (Villafana v. County of San Diego (2020) 57

Cal.App.5th 1012, 1016.) In reviewing the complaint, “we must assume the

truth of all facts properly pleaded by the plaintiffs, as well as those that are

judicially noticeable.” (Howard Jarvis Taxpayers Assn. v. City of La

Habra (2001) 25 Cal.4th 809, 814.) 10 We may affirm on any basis stated in

resulting from any of the following: . . . [¶] b. Delay, loss of use or loss of

market.”

The third exclusion, which California Mutual refers to as the “Acts or

Decisions” exclusion, states that California Mutual will not pay for loss or

damage caused by or resulting from “b. Acts or decisions, including the

failure to act or decide, of any person, group, organization or governmental

body” unless it results in loss or damage caused by a Covered Cause of Loss.

9 In addition to the parties’ appellate briefing, we have considered

briefing by amici curiae, both in support of and in opposition to Inns’ appeal.

This appeal was transferred to us from the Sixth District on June 2, 2021,

pursuant to an order of the Chief Justice.

10 As we have taken judicial notice of the Orders, we rely on the Orders

themselves for our understanding of their scope and purpose, rather than the

vague conclusory allegations of the complaint, such as that the Orders “were

9

the demurrer, regardless of the ground on which the trial court based its

ruling. (Carman v. Alvord (1982) 31 Cal.3d 318, 324.)

This appeal requires us to interpret an insurance policy. “While

insurance contracts have special features, they are still contracts to which

the ordinary rules of contractual interpretation apply.” (Bank of the West v.

Superior Court (1992) 2 Cal.4th 1254, 1264 (Bank of the West).) “The

principles governing the interpretation of insurance policies in California are

well settled. ‘Our goal in construing insurance contracts, as with contracts

generally, is to give effect to the parties’ mutual intentions.’ ” (Minkler v.

Safeco Ins. Co. of America (2010) 49 Cal.4th 315, 321 (Minkler).) “ ‘Such

intent is to be inferred, if possible, solely from the written provisions of the

contract. ([Civ. Code], § 1639.) The “clear and explicit” meaning of these

provisions, interpreted in their “ordinary and popular sense,” unless “used by

the parties in a technical sense or a special meaning is given to them by

usage” (id., § 1644), controls judicial interpretation. (Id., § 1638.)’ ” (Waller

v. Truck Ins. Exchange, Inc. (1995) 11 Cal.4th 1, 18 (Waller).) “ ‘ “If

contractual language is clear and explicit, it governs.” ’ ” (Minkler, at p. 321.)

“ ‘If the terms are ambiguous [i.e., susceptible of more than one

reasonable interpretation], we interpret them to protect “ ‘the objectively

reasonable expectations of the insured.’ ” ’ ” (Minkler, supra, 49 Cal.4th at

p. 321.) This rule stems from the principle that “ ‘[i]f the terms of a promise

are in any respect ambiguous or uncertain, it must be interpreted in the

made in direct response to the continued and increasing presence of the

coronavirus on [Inns’] property and/or around its premises.” (Cf. Ricard v.

Grobstein, Goldman, Stevenson, Siegel, LeVine & Mangel (1992) 6

Cal.App.4th 157, 160 [“a demurrer reaches not only the contents of the

complaint, but also such matters as may be properly considered under the

doctrine of judicial notice” and “ ‘[t]he pleading must be read as if it contained

all matters of which the court could properly take judicial notice’ ”].)

10

sense in which the promisor believed, at the time of making it, that the

promisee understood it.’ ” (Bank of the West, at pp. 1264-1265, quoting Civ.

Code, § 1649.) “ ‘Only if these rules do not resolve a claimed ambiguity do we

resort to the rule that ambiguities are to be resolved against the insurer. . . .’

The ‘tie-breaker’ rule of construction against the insurer stems from the

recognition that the insurer generally drafted the policy and received

premiums to provide the agreed protection.” (Minkler, at p. 321, italics

added.) “[L]anguage in a contract must be interpreted as a whole, and in the

circumstances of the case, and cannot be found to be ambiguous in the

abstract. . . . Courts will not strain to create an ambiguity where none

exists.” (Waller, supra, 11 Cal.4th at pp. 18-19.)

“The insured has the burden of establishing that a claim, unless

specifically excluded, is within basic coverage, while the insurer has the

burden of establishing that a specific exclusion applies.” (Minkler, supra, 49

Cal.4th at p. 322.) The principles of contractual interpretation, as applied to

insurance policies “do not include using public policy to redefine the scope of

coverage.” (Ward General Ins. Services, Inc. v. Employers Fire Ins. Co. (2003)

114 Cal.App.4th 548, 553 (Ward).)

B. The Scenario Alleged in the Complaint Does Not Trigger the Policy’s

Business Income Coverage

The first issue we must consider is whether the scenario pled in the

complaint falls within the Policy’s Business Income coverage. The Policy

provides: “We will pay for the actual loss of Business Income you sustain due

to the necessary ‘suspension’ of your ‘operations’ during the ‘period of

restoration’. The ‘suspension’ must be caused by direct physical loss of or

damage to property at [Inns’] premises . . . . The loss or damage must be

caused by or result from a Covered Cause of Loss.” (Italics added.)

11

Here, there is no dispute that certain requirements of the Business

Income coverage are satisfied. Specifically, Inns suspended its operations,

which led to a loss of business income. However, the issue we must resolve is

whether the suspension of operations was “caused by direct physical loss of or

damage to property at [Inns’] premises.” (Italics added.)

In the context of a demurrer, we focus on the facts pled in the

complaint. Inns emphasizes that the complaint generally refers to both the

Orders and the presence of the COVID-19 virus when explaining the reason

for Inns’ suspension of operations. More specifically, however, the complaint

describes a three-step chain of causation, beginning with the COVID-19

virus, in which “the continued and increasing presence of the coronavirus on

[Inns’] property and/or around its premises” led to the Orders, which in turn

led to Inns’ suspension of operations. 11 Although the complaint is vague as

to the “presence of the coronavirus on [Inns’] property,” we will assume for

the purpose of our analysis that the complaint describes (or could be amended

to describe) a scenario in which, at some point, a person infected with

COVID-19 was known to have been present at one or more of Inns’ lodging

facilities. Importantly, however, we approach our analysis mindful that, as

the Orders establish, it was the presence of the virus throughout San Mateo

and Monterey Counties—not the presence of the virus specifically on Inns’

11 We note that the preliminary introductory allegations in the complaint

do not specify the factual chain of causation, stating generally that “the Inns

were forced to cease operations based on the COVID-19 coronavirus and [the

Orders]. These orders and/or the virus itself . . . prohibited [Inns] from

selling any rooms to the public.” (Italics added.) We base our analysis on the

complaint’s more specific causation allegations, as specific allegations in a

complaint control over any potentially inconsistent general allegations.

(Perez v. Golden Empire Transit Dist. (2012) 209 Cal.App.4th 1228, 1235-

1236.)

12

premises—that gave rise to the Orders, leading to Inns’ suspension of

operations. 12

Case law establishes that when an insurance policy uses the phrase

“direct physical loss of or damage to . . . [p]roperty,” “the words ‘direct

physical’ . . . modify both ‘loss of’ and ‘damage to.’ ” (Ward, supra, 114

Cal.App.4th at pp. 553-554.) Accordingly, Inns must establish that either

“direct physical . . . damage to” property at the premises, or “direct physical

loss of” property at the premises caused its suspension of operations. Inns

sets forth arguments under both theories. We consider each in turn. 13

1. In the Scenario Pled in the Complaint, Inns’ Operations Were

Not Suspended Due to Direct Physical Damage to Inns’

Property

We turn first to the question of whether the suspension of Inns’

operations was caused by “direct physical . . . damage to” Inns’ property.

(Italics added.) Inns argues that “the presence of COVID-19 clearly

12 This litigation does not involve a scenario in which a business has

alleged it was the target of an order requiring its particular premises to close

for a period of time due to the demonstrated presence of a person infected

with the COVID-19 virus. For example, such an order hypothetically might

be issued to allow a particular business to undertake disinfection procedures

or to allow time for the virus to dissipate. Inns has not suggested that it

could amend its complaint to add any such allegations. We do not decide

whether commercial property insurance coverage might be triggered in such

a circumstance.

13 The Policy does not define the terms “direct” “physical,” “loss” or

“damage.” Thus, they are to be understood in their “ ‘ “ordinary and popular

sense,” ’ ” unless it is shown that they are “ ‘ “used by the parties in a

technical sense or a special meaning is given to them by usage” ’ ” (Waller,

supra, 11 Cal.4th at p. 18.) Other than citing case law interpreting those

terms, the parties have not indicated that any of the terms have a technical

sense or special meaning.

13

constitutes the requisite ‘damage,’ as that undefined term is reasonably

understood, because its physical presence transforms property, specifically

indoor air and surfaces, from a safe condition to a dangerous and potentially

deadly condition unsafe and unfit for its intended purpose.”

The words in the phrase “direct physical damage” all have commonly

understood meanings. “Physical” is defined as “having material existence :

perceptible especially through the senses and subject to the laws of nature.”

(Merriam-Webster’s Online Dictionary (2021) <https://merriam-webster.com

/dictionary/physical> [as of Nov. 15, 2021], archived at <https://perma.cc/

Q78D-MKDT>.) “Direct” is defined as “proceeding from one point to another

in time or space without deviation or interruption,” “stemming immediately

from a source,” and “characterized by close logical, causal, or consequential

relationship.” (Id., <https://merriam-webster.com/dictionary/direct> [as of

Nov. 15, 2021], archived at <https://perma.cc/MP6D-D9D3>.) “Damage” is

defined as “loss or harm resulting from injury to . . . property . . . .” (Id.,

<https://merriam-webster.com/dictionary/damage> [as of Nov. 15, 2021],

archived at <https://perma.cc/FHG4-DDPG>.)

In many circumstances it is relatively simple to determine whether an

item of personal property or a business’s premises has incurred direct

physical damage, leading to a suspension of operations. One can usually

focus on whether there is some sort of physical alteration to an object or to a

building. (See 10A Couch on Insurance (3d ed. 2016) § 148:46, p. 148-95

(Couch) [“There is little question that this threshold” of establishing “physical

loss or damage” “has been met when an item of tangible property has been

14

physically altered by perils like fire or water”].) 14 However, as case law

demonstrates, the inquiry is not as simple when, as here, the question is

whether the real property comprising a policyholder’s entire premises has

been damaged due to an intervening physical force that does not physically

alter any building or item of personal property but makes the real property

uninhabitable. (10A Couch, supra, § 148:46, p. 148-95 [“When the structure

of the property itself is unchanged to the naked eye, however, and the insured

alleges that its usefulness for its normal purposes has been destroyed or

reduced, there are serious questions whether the alleged loss satisfies the

policy trigger.”].) 15

The Couch treatise gives an example of how such a scenario is treated

under a property insurance policy. Specifically, in Western Fire Ins. Co. v.

14 Inns contends that the phrase “direct physical loss of or damage to” is

ambiguous, and we must therefore apply the rules of construction applicable

to ambiguous language in an insurance policy. In support of this argument,

Inns relies in large part on the lack of unanimity reflected in the numerous

judicial decisions applying the same policy language in the wake of the

pandemic. We reject Inns’ argument. A review of those decisions show that

the range in outcomes in courts throughout the country results primarily

from the difficulty and complexity of applying policy language in the

unprecedented situation created by the pandemic, rather than from any

ambiguity in the phrase “direct physical loss of or damage to” property.

15 As we have noted, Inns’ argument separates the issue of whether direct

physical damage is present from the issue of whether direct physical loss is

present. It is worth noting, however, that some of the case law we rely upon

in analyzing Inns’ argument regarding “direct physical . . . damage” does not

strictly separate the concept of damage from the concept of loss. We

nevertheless consider the case law to be directly on point as it addresses the

issue before us, namely, whether a first party property insurance policy

provides coverage when real property has been negatively impacted, in a non-

structural manner, by physical forces that make it uninhabitable or

unsuitable for its intended use.

15

First Presbyterian Church (Colo. 1968) 437 P.2d 52, 55, real property was

determined to suffer “physical damage despite the lack of physical alteration

of the property, on the theory that the uninhabitability of the property was

due to the fact that gasoline vapors from adjacent property had infiltrated

and saturated the insured building.” (10A Couch, supra, § 148:46, p. 148-99.)

Inns and amici cite numerous other cases that fall into the same category, all

of which identify the existence of property damage within the meaning of a

property insurance policy despite the absence of physical alteration of a

structure or object. Based on those authorities, Inns and amici contend that

even though the COVID-19 virus does not physically alter the structure of

property, it does give rise to “physical . . . damage to property” within the

meaning of the Policy because it renders real property uninhabitable and

unavailable for its intended use.

The central relevant California opinion is Hughes v. Potomac Ins. Co. of

District of Columbia (1962) 199 Cal.App.2d 239. In that case, a landslide left

a house standing on the edge of, and partially overhanging, a newly-formed

30-foot cliff, depriving it of “subjacent and lateral support essential to [its]

stability.” (Id. at p. 243.) The plaintiff’s insurance policy covered physical

loss of and damage to the “ ‘dwelling building.’ ” (Id. at pp. 245-246.) Hughes

concluded that coverage was triggered under the policy because the dwelling

building “suffered real and severe damage when the soil beneath it slid away”

even though the structure of the house was undamaged. (Id. at p. 249.)

The other cases cited by Inns and amici deal with the presence of

noxious substances and odors that rendered real property uninhabitable or

unable to be used as intended. The authorities are numerous, although none

16

of them were issued by California courts. 16 We highlight the central cases

here. First, Inns relies upon Gregory Packaging, Inc. v. Travelers Property

Casualty Co. of America (D.N.J., Nov. 25, 2014, No. 2:12-cv-04418) 2014 WL

6675934, in which a food packaging business was determined to incur

“ ‘physical loss of or damage to’ ” its facility under either New Jersey or

Georgia law when ammonia was accidentally released, burning an employee

and requiring remediation for approximately five days to make the building

safe for occupancy. Inns also highlights Oregon Shakespeare Festival Assn. v.

Great American Ins. Co. (D.Or., June 7, 2016, No. 1:15-cv-01932-CL) 2016

WL 3267247, vacated by agreement (D.Or., Mar. 6, 2017, No. 1:15-cv-01932-

CL) 2017 WL 1034203. In that case, a theater was forced to close for several

days when smoke from nearby wildfires caused health concerns about poor

air quality inside the theater. (Id. at p. *2.) The court determined that the

harmful air quality inside the theater constituted physical damage giving rise

to coverage because the theater was unusable and uninhabitable, even

though the property did not incur any permanent or structural damage. (Id.

at p. *9.) Finally, in Port Authority of New York and New Jersey v. Affiliated

FM Ins. Co. (3d Cir. 2002) 311 F.3d 226, 236, the court held that “[w]hen the

16 Inns cites Armstrong World Industries, Inc. v. Aetna Casualty & Surety

Co. (1996) 45 Cal.App.4th 1, which considered the issue of asbestos

contamination in a building. However, Armstrong is not a persuasive

precedent (and we therefore do not discuss it), as it dealt with insurance

coverage under a third party commercial general liability (CGL) policy with

different policy language and posing distinct coverage issues. (Cf. Garvey v.

State Farm Fire & Casualty Co. (1989) 48 Cal.3d 395, 399 [discussing “the

important distinction between property loss coverage under a first party

property policy and tort liability coverage under a third party liability

insurance policy”].) For the same reason, although Inns’ briefing relies to

some extent on the language of the CGL section of the Policy to support its

interpretation of the commercial property insurance portion, we do not find

the provisions in the CGL portion of the Policy to be relevant to our analysis.

17

presence of large quantities of asbestos in the air of a building is such as to

make the structure uninhabitable and unusable, then there has been a

distinct loss to its owner” within the meaning of a first party property

insurance policy.

Other cases find coverage under property insurance policies in similar

situations. (See, e.g., Matzner v. Seaco Ins. Co. (Mass.Super.Ct., Aug. 12,

1998, No. CIV. A. 96-0498-B) 1998 WL 566658 [unsafe carbon monoxide

levels in an apartment building caused by the chimney’s condition was a

“direct physical loss of or damage to” the property]; Farmers Ins. Co. of

Oregon v. Trutanich (Or.Ct.App. 1993) 858 P.2d 1332, 1335 [the persistent

odor from a past methamphetamine operation in a house constituted a

“physical loss”]; Mellin v. Northern Security Ins. Co., Inc. (N.H. 2015) 115

A.3d 799, 805 [remanding for determination of whether persistent cat urine

odor in a condominium unit emanating from downstairs was a covered

physical loss under the principle that “physical loss may include not only

tangible changes to the insured property, but also changes that are perceived

by the sense of smell and that exist in the absence of structural damage”];

Widder v. Louisiana Citizens Property Ins. Corp. (La.Ct.App. 2011) 82 So.3d

294, 296 [a house made uninhabitable due to contamination with inorganic

lead suffered “direct physical loss”]; TRAVCO Ins. Co. v. Ward (E.D.Va. 2010)

715 F.Supp.2d 699, 707-708 [a house made uninhabitable by sulfuric gas

released from sheets of drywall suffered a direct physical loss].) “The

majority of cases appear to support [the] position that physical damage to the

property is not necessary, at least where the building in question has been

rendered unusable by physical forces.” (TRAVCO Ins. Co, at p. 708, italics

added.) As one federal court observed after surveying this case law,

“[c]ontamination of a structure that seriously impairs or destroys its function

18

may qualify as direct physical loss.” (Kim-Chee LLC v. Philadelphia

Indemnity Ins. Co. (W.D.N.Y., Apr. 22, 2021, No. 1:20-cv-1136) ___ F.Supp.3d

___, ___ [2021 WL 1600831, at p. *5] (Kim-Chee).) 17

Relying on the case law we have described above, Inns and amici

contend that the scenario pled in the complaint is analogous to the cases in

which property insurance coverage was triggered because a physical force

rendered real property uninhabitable or unsuitable for its intended use,

without any structural alteration. As we will explain, we do not find the case

law to be applicable here.

17 The same court also observed, “[o]ther cases have concluded that

contamination which is short-lived or does not prevent the use of the

structure does not qualify as direct physical loss.” (Kim-Chee, supra, ___

F.Supp.3d at p. ___ [2021 WL 1600831, at p. *5].) For example, in Mama Jo’s

Inc. v. Sparta Ins. Co. (11th Cir. 2020) 823 Fed.Appx. 868, a restaurant

sought coverage for loss of business income when dust and debris from

nearby road construction over the course of many months made it necessary

for the restaurant to perform cleaning and also resulted in reduced income

during the period of construction. The court held that the dust and debris did

not qualify as a “direct physical loss of or damage to” the restaurant property

because “an item or structure that merely needs to be cleaned has not

suffered a ‘loss’ which is both ‘direct’ and ‘physical.’ ” (Id. at p. 879.)

Similarly, courts have held that real property does not suffer direct physical

loss of or damage to property when cleaning is required to remove mold or

bacteria, but the building is not rendered uninhabitable. (Universal Image

Productions, Inc. v. Federal Ins. Co. (6th Cir. 2012) 475 Fed.Appx. 569, 573-

574 [the building did not experience physical loss or damage when the

ventilation system was shut down to perform an extensive cleaning to remove

mold and bacteria, as those agents did not render the building

uninhabitable]; Mastellone v. Lightning Rod Mutual Ins. Co. (Ohio Ct.App.

2008) 884 N.E.2d 1130, 1145 [presence of mold on the siding of a house did

not constitute “ ‘physical damage’ ” because it “did not alter or otherwise

affect the structural integrity of the siding” and could be treated with

bleach].)

19

Certainly, there are some comparable elements between the scenario

pled in the complaint and the case law relied upon by Inns and amici: (1) the

COVID-19 virus—like smoke, ammonia, odor, or asbestos—is a physical

force; (2) Inns alleges that a physical force (i.e., the COVID-19 virus) was

present on its premises; and (3) Inns suspended its operations during the

pandemic, presumably concluding that its premises were uninhabitable or

unsuitable for their intended use. However, the similarities end there

because Inns cannot reasonably allege that the presence of the COVID-19

virus on its premises is what caused the premises to be uninhabitable or

unsuitable for their intended purpose. As we have discussed, although Inns

loosely states that the Orders were issued “in direct response to the continued

and increasing presence of the coronavirus on [Inns’] property and/or around

its premises,” a review of the actual text of the Orders reveal that they were

issued because the COVID-19 virus was present throughout San Mateo and

Monterey Counties, not because of any particular presence of the virus on

Inns’ premises. Moreover, Inns alleges that it ceased operations “as a direct

and proximate result of the Closure Orders.” It does not make the proximate

cause allegation based on the particular presence of the virus on its premises.

As one court has summarized the contrast between the case law relied

upon by Inns and the situation created by pandemic-related government

orders, “the presence of COVID-19 on Plaintiff’s property did not cause

damage to the property necessitating rehabilitation or restoration efforts

similar to those required to abate asbestos or remove poisonous fumes which

permeate property. Instead, all that is required for Plaintiff to return to full

working order is for the [government orders and restrictions to be lifted].”

(First & Stewart Hotel Owner, LLC v. Fireman’s Fund Ins. Co. (W.D.Wash.,

July 22, 2021, No. 2:21-cv-00344-BJR) 2021 WL 3109724, at p. *4.) “This

20

case . . . concerns an invisible virus that is present throughout the world. . . .

It is that general presence, and not a specific physical harm to covered

properties, that has caused governments at all levels to consider restrictions.

The question, therefore, is one of ‘widespread economic loss due to

restrictions on human activities, not the consequence of a direct physical loss

or damage to the insured premises.’ ” (Associates in Periodontics, PLC v.

Cincinnati Ins. Co. (D.Vt., May 18, 2021, No. 2:20-cv-171) ___ F.Supp.3d ___,

___ [2021 WL 1976404, at p. *6].)

Indeed, the lack of causal connection between the alleged physical

presence of the virus on Inns’ premises and the suspension of Inns’ operations

can be best understood by considering what would have taken place if Inns

had thoroughly sterilized its premises to remove any trace of the virus after

the Orders were issued. In that case, Inns would still have continued to incur

a suspension of operations because the Orders would still have been in effect

and the normal functioning of society still would have been curtailed. As

explained in the context of a lawsuit brought by a restaurant to recover for

business losses during the pandemic: “[T]he property did not change. The

world around it did. And for the property to be useable again, no repair or

change can be made to the property—the world must change. Even if a

cleaning crew Lysol-ed every inch of the restaurant, it could still not host

indoor dining at full capacity. Put simply, Plaintiff seeks to recover from

economic losses caused by something physical—not physical losses.” (Town

Kitchen LLC v. Certain Underwriters at Lloyd’s, London (S.D.Fla. 2021) 522

F.Supp.3d 1216, 1222.)

Based on the case law we have cited above, it could be possible, in a

hypothetical scenario, that an invisible airborne agent would cause a

policyholder to suspend operations because of direct physical damage to

21

property. However, the complaint here simply does not describe such a

circumstance because it bases its allegations on the situation created by the

Orders, which were not directed at a particular business establishment due

to the presence of COVID-19 on that specific business’s premises. As one

court explained, “It could be a different story if a business—which could have

otherwise been operating—had to shut down because of the presence of the

virus within the facility. For example, a restaurant might need to close for a

week if someone in its kitchen tested positive for COVID-19, requiring the

entire facility to be thoroughly sanitized and remain empty for a period.

Perhaps the restaurant could successfully allege that the virus created

physical loss or damage in the same way some chemical contaminant might

have. But as the complaint and the closure orders demonstrate . . . , [the

plaintiff’s] facilities would have had remained shut regardless of whether the

virus was present in its facilities.” (Another Planet Entertainment, LLC v.

Vigilant Ins. Co. (N.D.Cal., Feb. 25, 2021, No. 20-cv-07476-VC) 2021 WL

774141, at p. *2.)

In sum, we conclude that despite Inns’ allegation that the COVID-19

virus was present on its premises, it has not identified any direct physical

damage to property that caused it to suspend its operations.

2. In the Scenario Pled in the Complaint, Inns’ Operations Were

Not Suspended Due to Direct Physical Loss of Inns’ Property

We turn next to the question of whether, as Inns alternatively

contends, the scenario pled in the complaint describes a suspension of

operations caused by a “direct physical loss of” property. (Italics added.)

According to Inns, regardless of the physical presence of the COVID-19 virus,

it has adequately pled direct physical loss by alleging “the loss of use,

function, and value of its property.” Thus, as Inns argues, even if we

conclude that the presence of the COVID-19 virus on the premises did not

22

constitute physical damage to property within the meaning of the Policy, “a

policyholder can reasonably expect that a claim constitutes physical loss

where the insured property cannot function as intended.” (Italics added.) As

we will explain, this argument fails because it collapses coverage for “direct

physical loss” into “loss of use” coverage. Case law and the language of the

Policy as a whole establish that the inability to use physical property to

generate business income, standing on its own, does not amount to a

“ ‘ “suspension” ’ . . . caused by direct physical loss of” property within the

ordinary and popular meaning of that phrase. 18

The Couch treatise sets forth the generally recognized principle in the

context of first party property insurance that mere loss of use of physical

property to generate business income, without any other physical impact on

the property, does not give rise to coverage for direct physical loss: “The

requirement that the loss be ‘physical,’ given the ordinary definition of that

term, is widely held to exclude alleged losses that are intangible or

18 Although Inns does not focus on the dictionary definition of “loss,” it is

nevertheless useful to review the common meaning of the word. “Loss” is

often used to refer to “destruction” and “ruin” (Merriam-Webster’s Online

Dictionary (2021) <https://merriam-webster.com/dictionary/loss> [as of Nov.

15, 2021], archived at <https://perma.cc/6FAV-9FSG>, capitalization

omitted), but its definition also includes “the partial or complete deterioration

or absence of a physical capability or function,” “an instance of losing

someone or something,” and “the harm or privation resulting from losing or

being separated from someone or something.” (Ibid.) Inns’ argument that

“loss,” as used in the Policy, encompasses loss of use without any other

physical impact therefore relies on the aspects of “loss” meaning “absence of a

physical capability or function,” or perhaps “an instance of losing . . .

something.” As we will explain, although the dictionary definition of “loss”

could encompass the mere loss of use of real property, the surrounding

context of the word “loss” in the Policy unambiguously indicates that “direct

physical loss of” property cannot reasonably be interpreted to have that

meaning.

23

incorporeal and, thereby, to preclude any claim against the property insurer

when the insured merely suffers a detrimental economic impact

unaccompanied by a distinct, demonstrable, physical alteration of the

property.” (10A Couch, supra, § 148:46, pp. 148-96 to 148-98, fns. omitted,

italics added.) 19 California case law has repeatedly cited the Couch treatise

in adopting this rule. (Simon Marketing, Inc. v. Gulf Ins. Co. (2007) 149

Cal.App.4th 616, 622-624 [quoting the Couch treatise in concluding that loss

of business due to cancelled contracts after employees perpetrated a fraud did

not constitute physical loss of insured property]; MRI Healthcare Center of

Glendale, Inc. v. State Farm General Ins. Co. (2010) 187 Cal.App.4th 766, 779

[quoting the Couch treatise in concluding that loss of use of imaging

equipment due to inability to ramp it up after turning it off did not constitute

“direct physical loss”]; Doyle v. Fireman’s Fund Ins. Co. (2018) 21 Cal.App.5th

33, 38-39 [quoting Simon Marketing’s citation to the Couch treatise in

concluding that a wine collector did not suffer loss to property when he

purchased counterfeit wine].) In simple terms, under this rule, “ ‘Plaintiff[s’]

operations are not what is insured—the building and the personal property in

or on the building are.’ ” (Nguyen, supra, ___F.Supp.3d at p. ___ [2021 WL

2184878, at p. *11].)

Turning to the language of the Policy, the Business Income coverage

applies when there is a suspension of operations caused by “direct physical

loss of” property. As numerous courts have observed, the words “direct” and

“physical” preclude the argument that coverage arises in a situation where

19 Given our discussion, supra, it is possible that in the context of real

property, the “distinct, demonstrable, physical alteration” referenced in the

Couch treatise (10A Couch, supra, § 148:46, p. 148-98) could include damage

that is not structural, but instead is caused by a noxious substance or an

odor.

24

the loss incurred by the policyholder stems solely from an inability to use the

physical premises to generate income, without any other physical impact to

the property. (See, e.g., Isaac’s Deli, Inc. v. State Auto Property and Casualty

Ins. Co. (E.D.Pa., May 14, 2021, No. 5:20-cv-06165-JMG) ___ F.Supp.3d ___,

___ [2021 WL 1945713, at p. *4] [focusing on the fact that the terms “ ‘direct’

and ‘physical’ ” modify the word “ ‘loss,’ ” “a natural reading suggests that the

Policy contemplates an explicit nexus between the purported loss and the

physical conditions of the covered premises”]; Image Dental, LLC v. Citizens

Ins. Co. of America (N.D.Ill., June 11, 2021, No. 20-cv-02759) ___ F.Supp.3d

___, ___ [2021 WL 2399988, at pp. *4-*5] [in light of the terms “direct” and

“physical”, “[s]omething physical must cause the loss – that is, the reason for

the deprivation must be physical in nature. It is not enough if the

deprivation involves something physical.”].) As the federal Eighth Circuit

Court of Appeals persuasively explained, because the policy language

requires “direct ‘physical loss’ ” to trigger coverage, “there must be some

physicality to the loss . . . of property—e.g., a physical alteration, physical

contamination, or physical destruction. . . . The policy cannot reasonably be

interpreted to cover mere loss of use when the insured's property has suffered

no physical loss or damage.” (Oral Surgeons, supra, 2 F.4th at p. 1144, italics

added, citations omitted.) “The cases consistently conclude that there needs

to be some physical tangible injury . . . to support ‘loss of property’ or a

physical alteration or active presence of a contaminant to support ‘damage to’

property.” (Water Sports Kauai, Inc. v. Fireman’s Fund Ins. Co. (N.D.Cal.

2020) 499 F.Supp.3d 670, 677.)

The Policy’s reference to the “period of restoration” further supports our

conclusion that mere loss of use, without any other physical impact to Inns’

property, is not sufficient to trigger the Business Income coverage. The

25

Policy states, “We will pay for the actual loss of Business Income you sustain

due to the necessary ‘suspension’ of your ‘operations’ during the ‘period of

restoration’. The ‘suspension’ must be caused by direct physical loss of or

damage to property at [Inns’] premises . . . .” (Italics added.) Significantly,

the “period of restoration” is defined as ending on the earlier of “(1) The date

when the property at the described premises should be repaired, rebuilt or

replaced with reasonable speed and similar quality; or [¶] (2) The date when

business is resumed at a new permanent location.”

The Policy’s focus on repairing, rebuilding or replacing property (or

moving entirely to a new location) is significant because it implies that the

“loss” or “damage” that gives rise to Business Income coverage has a physical

nature that can be physically fixed, or if incapable of being physically fixed

because it is so heavily destroyed, requires a complete move to a new location.

Put simply, “[t]hat the policy provides coverage until property ‘should be

repaired, rebuilt or replaced’ or until business resumes elsewhere assumes

physical alteration of the property, not mere loss of use.” (Oral Surgeons,

supra, 2 F.4th at p. 1144, italics added.)

Inns cites a federal district court decision rejecting the significance of

identical “period of restoration” language by explaining that “the ‘Period of

Restoration’ describes a time period during which loss of business income will

be covered, rather than an explicit definition of coverage.” (Society Ins.,

supra, 521 F.Supp.3d at p. 742.) This observation misses the point. We do

not focus on the “period of restoration” as an explicit definition of the scope of

coverage. Instead, we cite the language because our task is to interpret the

Policy using the whole of its language. (Civ. Code, § 1641 [“The whole of a

contract is to be taken together, so as to give effect to every part, if

reasonably practicable, each clause helping to interpret the other.”].) The

26

definition of “period of restoration” provides an indication that the phrase

“direct physical loss of” property was not intended to include the mere loss of

use of physical property to generate income, without any other physical

impact to property that could be repaired, rebuilt or replaced. (See Santo’s,

supra, 15 F.4th at p. 403 [“Baked into this [period of restoration] timing

provision is the understanding that any covered ‘direct physical loss of or

damage to’ property could be remedied by repairing, rebuilding, or replacing

the property or relocating the business.”].)

In sum, we conclude that Inns has not alleged “direct physical loss of”

property based on the fact that it lost the ability to use its physical premises

to generate income.

3. The Absence of a Virus Exclusion in the Policy Does Not Impact

the Meaning of “Direct Physical Loss of or Damage To” Property

As an additional argument in support of its contention that it incurred

a suspension of operations caused by direct physical loss of or damage to

property, Inns points out that even though many first party property

insurance policies contain an express exclusion for loss or damage resulting

“from any virus,” no such exclusion was included in the Policy. (Italics

added.)

Inns specifically refers to the virus exclusion set forth in a form

developed by the Insurance Services Office (ISO) in 2006, which states:

“ ‘We will not pay for loss or damage caused by or resulting from any virus,

bacterium or other microorganism that induces or is capable of inducing

physical distress, illness or disease.’ ” (Croskey et al., Cal. Practice Guide:

Insurance Litigation (The Rutter Group 2021) ¶ 6:393.2 [quoting ISO Form

CP 01 40 07 06, § B—Exclusion Of Loss Due To Virus or Bacteria]; see also

Podoshen, ISO Circular, New Endorsements Filed To Address Exclusion Of

Loss Due To Virus Or Bacteria (July 6, 2006) <https://www.property

27

insurancecoveragelaw.com/files/2020/03/ISO-Circular-LI-CF-2006-175-

Virus.pdf> [as of Nov. 15, 2021], archived at <https://perma.cc/L4WE-ZPYS>

[describing the endorsement CP 01 40 07 06].) 20 Inns argues that

“California Mutual’s failure to use the 2006 [ISO] Virus Exclusion or any

similar exclusion is prima facie proof that it actually intended to provide

coverage for virus losses by not taking advantage of more specific wording

that was available to it.”

This contention is flawed because it improperly attempts to rely on the

absence of an exclusion to create an ambiguity in an otherwise unambiguous

insuring clause. Under California law, “[c]overage is defined in the first

instance by the insuring clause, and when an occurrence is clearly not

included within the coverage afforded by the insuring clause, it need not also

be specifically excluded.” (Glavinich v. Commonwealth Land Title Ins. Co.

(1984) 163 Cal.App.3d 263, 270; see also Haering v. Topa Ins. Co. (2016) 244

Cal.App.4th 725, 736 [“[t]he absence of an express exclusion in the . . . policy

has no significance unless the insuring agreement can be read to include” the

coverage at issue, because “ ‘[b]efore even considering exclusions, a court

must examine the coverage provisions to determine whether a claim falls

within [the policy terms]’ ”].) The same approach is followed in numerous

other jurisdictions, all of which hold that the absence of an available

exclusion does not imply the existence of coverage. (See, e.g., Siegle v.

Progressive Consumers Ins. Co. (Fla. 2002) 819 So.2d 732, 740 [“the existence

or nonexistence of an exclusionary provision in an insurance contract is not at

20 Some courts have determined that the ISO virus exclusion (or an

exclusion with similar language) precludes coverage for business losses

arising from the pandemic. (Border Chicken AZ LLC v. Nationwide Mutual

Ins. Co. (D.Ariz. 2020) 501 F.Supp.3d 699, 704-705 [collecting cases].) We

express no view on that issue.

28

all relevant until it has been concluded that the policy provides coverage for

the insured’s claimed loss”]; American Manufacturers Mutual Ins. Co. v.

Schaefer (Tex. 2003) 124 S.W.3d 154, 160 [“Absence of an exclusion cannot

confer coverage”]; Advance Watch Co., Ltd. v. Kemper Nat. Ins. Co. (6th Cir.

1996) 99 F.3d 795, 805 [“the absence of an exclusion cannot create coverage”];

Doe Run Resources Corp. v. Lexington Ins. Co. (8th Cir. 2013) 719 F.3d 868,

876 [explaining the “common sense principle” that under Missouri law “the

absence of an exclusion, standing alone, does not imply coverage”]; Yale Univ.

v. Cigna Ins. Co. (D.Conn. 2002) 224 F.Supp.2d 402, 410 [“The mere absence

of specific exclusions, standing alone, does not create coverage where it

otherwise does not exist under the express terms of the policy.”].)

Inns relies on case law holding that “an insurance company’s failure to

use available language to exclude certain types of liability gives rise to the

inference that the parties intended not to so limit coverage.” (Fireman’s

Fund Ins. Companies v. Atlantic Richfield Co. (2001) 94 Cal.App.4th 842, 852

[holding that the “additional insured” endorsement in a CGL policy covered

the additional insured for liability caused by the additional insured’s own

negligence because the insurer could have used language in the endorsement

stating that coverage applied only to the additional insured’s vicarious or

derivative liability]; see also Pardee Construction Co. v. Insurance Co. of the

West (2000) 77 Cal.App.4th 1340, 1359-1360 [in an additional insured

endorsement, the insurer’s failure to use available language expressly

excepting completed operations coverage implied a manifested intent not to

do so].) However, this case law is inapposite because it does not deal with the

absence of an exclusion in a policy; instead, the cases discuss the significance

of missing language in the insuring clause itself.

29

In addition, according to Inns, the fact that “the [2006 ISO virus]

exclusion exists at all reflects the insurance industry’s acknowledgement that

a virus is capable of causing ‘direct physical loss of or damage to property.’ ”

This argument is misplaced because our analysis does not depend on an

across-the-board rule that a virus can never give rise to a “direct physical loss

of or damage to property” within the meaning of the Policy. As we have

noted, it may be possible that in certain hypothetical situations a virus could

cause a suspension of operations through direct physical loss of or damage to

property. As pled, this is simply not such a case. 21

C. The Policy’s Civil Authority Coverage Is Not Triggered By the Scenario

Pled in the Complaint

Having determined that the scenario pled in the complaint does not

trigger the Policy’s Business Income coverage, we next consider whether, as

Inns contends, the Policy’s Civil Authority coverage is applicable here.

The Civil Authority coverage states: “We will pay for the actual loss of

Business Income you sustain and necessary Extra Expense caused by action

of civil authority that prohibits access to the described premises due to direct

physical loss of or damage to property, other than at the described premises,

21 Inns also contends that we should look to certain of the Policy’s

exclusions, such as the exclusion that applies to loss or damage caused by the

“[p]resence, growth, proliferation, spread or any activity of ‘fungus’, wet or

dry rot or bacteria.” Specifically, Inns contends that such exclusions show

that a substance “invisible to the naked eye like bacteria or a virus” are

capable of causing “direct physical loss of or damage to” property within the

meaning of the Policy. Even were we to look to these exclusions when

interpreting the scope of the Policy’s insuring clause, Inns’ argument misses

the point. As we have explained, case law supports the view that in certain

circumstances an invisible substance or biological agent might give rise to

coverage because it causes a policyholder to suspend operations due to direct

physical loss of or damage to property. However, the scenario pled in the

complaint does not describe such a circumstance.

30

caused by or resulting from any Covered Cause of Loss.” Inns argues that the

Civil Authority coverage applies because the complaint “alleged that the

government orders were made in direct response to the continued and

increasing presence of the coronavirus, a dangerous physical condition, on

and around its property.” Similarly, the complaint pleads, “[T]he Civil

Authority coverage applies because the Closure Orders were ‘action[s] of civil

authorities that prohibits access to [Plaintiff’s] premises due to direct

physical loss of or damage to [other] property . . . caused by or resulting from’

the COVID-19 coronavirus.”

Because Inns identifies the Orders as the “action of civil authority”

triggering the Policy’s Civil Authority coverage, we look to the Orders to

evaluate Inns’ contention that the coverage applies here. For the purpose of

our analysis we need not, and do not, resolve the disputed issue of whether

the Orders “prohibit[ ] access to” Inns’ premises. Instead, as we will explain,

we conclude that the Civil Authority coverage does not apply because the

plain language of the Orders shows that they were not based on “direct

physical loss of or damage to property” to other premises.

The Orders are very clear about the reason they were issued. In both of

the Orders, the first paragraph states, “The intent of this Order is to ensure

that the maximum number of people self-isolate in their places of residence to

the maximum extent feasible, while enabling essential services to continue,

to slow the spread of COVID-19 to the maximum extent possible.”

Elaborating on this preliminary explanation, the order issued by Monterey

County states:

“This Order is issued based on evidence of the occurrence of

COVID-19 within the County and [surrounding areas], scientific

evidence and best practices regarding the most effective

approaches to slow the transmission of communicable diseases

generally and COVID-19 specifically, and evidence that the age,

31

condition, and health of a significant portion of the population of

the County places it at risk for serious health complications,

including death, from COVID-19. Due to the occurrence of the

COVID-19 virus in the County, the potential for it to spread

rapidly through the community, and the World Health

Organization declaring COVID-19 to be a pandemic world-wide,

there is a public health emergency throughout the County.

Making the problem worse, some individuals who contract the

COVID-19 virus have no symptoms or have mild symptoms,

which means they may not be aware they carry the virus.

Because even people without symptoms can transmit the disease,

and because evidence shows the disease is easily spread,

gatherings can result in preventable transmission of the virus.

The scientific evidence shows that at this stage of the emergency,

it is essential to slow virus transmission as much as possible to

protect the most vulnerable and to prevent the health care

system from being overwhelmed. One proven way to slow the

transmission is to limit interactions among people to the greatest

extent practicable. By reducing the spread of the COVID-19

virus, this Order helps preserve critical and limited healthcare

capacity in the County.”

The order issued by San Mateo County contains almost identical wording. 22

Through these statements, the Orders make clear that they were

issued in an attempt to prevent the spread of the COVID-19 virus. The

Orders give no indication that they were issued “due to direct physical loss of

or damage to” any property. Therefore, the Orders did not give rise to Civil

Authority coverage.

Numerous district court opinions have made the same observation in

concluding that government stay-at-home and closure orders resulting from

the pandemic did not give rise to Civil Authority coverage. (Mudpie, Inc. v.

Travelers Casualty Ins. Co. of America (N.D.Cal. 2020) 487 F.Supp.3d 834,

22 In another paragraph, both of the Orders similarly state that due to the

occurrence of COVID-19 in surrounding areas, “[t]his Order is necessary to

slow the rate of spread.”

32

844 [plaintiff was not entitled to Civil Authority coverage because “the

government closure orders were intended to prevent the spread of COVID-19”

rather than being based on any “prior property damage”]; Mortar and Pestle

Corp. v. Atain Specialty Ins. Co. (N.D. Cal. 2020) 508 F.Supp.3d 575, 582 [“it

is apparent from the plain language of the cited civil authority orders that

such directives were issued to stop the spread of COVID-19 and not as a

result of any physical loss of or damage to property”]; Baker v. Oregon Mutual

Ins. Co. (N.D.Cal., Mar. 25, 2021, No. 20-cv-05467-LB) 2021 WL 1145882, at

p. *5 [“the shutdown orders were issued to stop the spread of COVID-19 and

were not about loss of or damage to property”]; Muriel’s New Orleans, LLC v.

State Farm Fire and Casualty Co. (E.D.La., Apr. 26, 2021, No. 20-2295) ___

F.Supp.3d ___, ___ [2021 WL 1614812, at p.*12] [coverage under the Civil

Authority provision was not invoked because “the Closure Orders were

intended to prevent the spread of COVID-19” and therefore “were

preventative and lack[ed] the requisite nexus with prior property damage”];

Hair Studio 1208, LLC v. Hartford Underwriters Ins. Co. (E.D.Pa., May 14,

2021, No. 20-2171) ___ F.Supp.3d ___, ___ [2021 WL 1945712, at p.*10] [“the

Closure Orders were issued to prevent the spread of the COVID-19 virus to

any of these properties. That fact brings this claim outside the coverage of

the Civil Authority endorsement.”].)

In sum, the Orders were issued to prevent the spread of the pandemic,

not because of any direct physical loss of or damage to property. Accordingly,

the Orders did not trigger the Policy’s Civil Authority coverage. 23

23 Because we conclude that the scenario pled in the complaint does not

trigger coverage under the Policy, we need not, and do not, consider whether,

as California Mutual contends, any applicable coverage would nevertheless

be excluded due to the Ordinance or Law, Loss of Use, and Acts or Decisions

exclusions.

33

D. The Trial Court Properly Sustained the Demurrer Without Leave to

Amend

As a final matter, we consider whether, as Inns contend, the trial court

erred in sustaining the demurrer without granting leave to amend.

When a trial court sustains a demurrer without leave to amend, “we

must decide whether there is a reasonable possibility the plaintiff could cure

the defect with an amendment. . . . If we find that an amendment could cure

the defect, we conclude that the trial court abused its discretion and we

reverse; if not, no abuse of discretion has occurred. . . . The plaintiff has the

burden of proving that an amendment would cure the defect.” (Schifando v.

City of Los Angeles (2003) 31 Cal.4th 1074, 1081, citations omitted.)

Here, Inns contends that it should be granted leave to amend to include

more information about “ ‘the science behind the C[OVID]-19 pandemic,’ ” as

the complaint was filed “in March 2020 before scientific understanding had

developed.” According to Inns, if granted leave to amend it would include

allegations such as those that the district court complimented in Kingray Inc.

v. Farmers Group Inc. (C.D.Cal. 2021) 523 F.Supp.3d 1163, 1168, fn. 3,

stating that “Plaintiffs offer an exceptionally thorough account of the science

behind the C[OVID]-19 pandemic in the [first amended complaint], including

the relevant facts that C[OVID]-19 is a viral disease commonly transmitted

via human-to-human contact which may also spread through fomite

transmission.”

Although Inns does not elaborate on the type of scientific information it

would include, other courts have provided examples of such allegations. One

district court, considering several consolidated lawsuits, summarized the

science-based allegations in the applicable complaints as follows: “(1) ‘SARS-

CoV-2 [i.e., the virus that causes COVID-19] can remain suspended in the air

and travel far from the source on air currents due to HVAC systems and

34

natural airflow.’ . . . [¶] (2) Transmission also occurs from property to person

when virus-containing droplets land on surfaces creating a ‘fomite,’ and a

person comes into contact with the property and then touches their eyes,

nose, or mouth . . . ; and [¶] (3) SARS-CoV-2 can survive on surfaces for

hours, days, or weeks, depending on the type of surface affected by the

virus.” (Vita Coffee LLC v. Fireman’s Fund Insurance Company (W.D.Wash.,

July 21, 2021, No. 2:20-CV-01079-BJR) 2021 WL 3077922, at pp. *4-*5; see

also Menominee Indian Tribe of Wisconsin v. Lexington Ins. Co. (N.D.Cal.

Aug. 23, 2021) ___ F.Supp.3d ___, ___ [2021 WL 3727070, at p. *10] [the

complaint alleged that “ ‘[w]hen the coronavirus and COVID-19 attach to and

adhere on surfaces and materials, they become part of those surfaces and

materials, converting the surfaces and materials to fomites’ and ‘[t]his

represents a physical change in the affected surface or material.’ ”].)

Even were Inns to amend its complaint to include specific allegations

about how the virus is transmitted and how it can persist on surfaces and in

the air, the complaint still would not state a claim for relief under either the

Business Income or Civil Authority coverage provisions. As we have

explained, with respect to the Policy’s Business Income coverage, the scenario

pled in the complaint does not state a claim because (1) Inns’ suspension of

operations was caused by the Orders, not by any physical damage to

property, and (2) mere loss of use of real property to generate income does not

give rise to coverage. Additional allegations about the science behind the

pandemic would not change that analysis. With respect to the Civil

Authority coverage, specific scientific information would not solve the

fundamental problem that the Orders were issued to prevent the spread of

the virus rather than due to any “direct physical loss of or damage to

property.”

35

Therefore, the trial court did not abuse its discretion in sustaining the

demurrer without leave to amend.

DISPOSITION

The judgment is affirmed.

IRION, J.

WE CONCUR:

HUFFMAN, Acting P. J.

O'ROURKE, J.

36

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.