Opinion

Hollingsworth v. Heavy Transport, Inc.

Court
California Court of Appeal
Filed
Jul 27, 2021
Status
Published
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 15.9%

The opinion

Filed 7/27/21

CERTIFIED FOR PUBLICATION

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

SECOND APPELLATE DISTRICT

DIVISION FOUR

LEANNE HOLLINGSWORTH et al., B306127

Plaintiffs and Appellants, (Los Angeles County

Super. Ct. No. BC690999)

v.

HEAVY TRANSPORT, INC. et al.,

Defendants and Respondents.

APPEAL from a judgment of the Superior Court of

Los Angeles County, Michael P. Vicencia, Judge. Affirmed.

Murray & Associates, Lawrence D. Murray for Plaintiffs

and Appellants.

Gray•Duffy, John Duffy, Michelle MacDonald; Black,

Compean & Hall, Frederick G. Hall for Defendants and

Respondents.

INTRODUCTION

In June 2016, Kirk Hollingsworth (Hollingsworth) was

involved in a fatal accident while working for defendant Heavy

Transport, Inc. (HT). Hollingsworth’s wife and son, plaintiffs

Leanne and Mark Hollingsworth, filed a wrongful death

complaint in superior court against HT and Bragg Investment

Company, Inc. (Bragg) (collectively, Bragg/HT; the parties

dispute whether the defendants are separate companies).

Plaintiffs alleged that HT lacked the required workers’

compensation insurance at the time of the incident, and therefore

plaintiffs were entitled to sue Bragg/HT under Labor Code

section 3706, which states, “If any employer fails to secure the

payment of compensation, any injured employee or his

dependents may bring an action at law against such employer for

damages . . . .” Bragg/HT then filed an application for

adjudication of claim with the Workers’ Compensation Appeals

Board (WCAB). Only one of these tribunals could have exclusive

jurisdiction over plaintiffs’ claims, and in our previous opinion,

Hollingsworth v. Superior Court (2019) 37 Cal.App.5th 927

(Hollingsworth I), we held that the superior court, which had

exercised jurisdiction first, should resolve the questions that

would determine which tribunal had exclusive jurisdiction over

plaintiffs’ claims.

Following remand, plaintiffs asserted they were entitled to

a jury trial on the factual issues that would determine

jurisdiction. The superior court denied plaintiffs’ request and

held a hearing in which it received evidence and heard testimony

regarding HT’s insurance status. The superior court determined

that HT was insured by a workers’ compensation policy at the

time of Hollingsworth’s death, and therefore the WCAB had

2

exclusive jurisdiction over the matter. The court entered a

judgment terminating proceedings in the superior court, and

plaintiffs appealed.

Plaintiffs assert that they were entitled to a jury trial on

the fact issues that would determine jurisdiction. We disagree.

Although a jury may determine questions relevant to workers’

compensation exclusivity when the issue is raised as an

affirmative defense to common law claims, jurisdiction under

Labor Code section 3706 is an issue of law for the court to decide.

Plaintiffs also contend that the superior court erred in

considering parol evidence in interpreting the workers’

compensation insurance policy at issue. We find that the court’s

consideration of parol evidence was not erroneous, and that

substantial evidence supports the court’s findings. We therefore

affirm.

FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

A. Background facts and previous appellate opinion

On June 20, 2016, a Bragg/HT tractor-trailer was hauling a

large Bragg crane that had been used to hoist blades onto

electric-generating windmills in the Stockton area. Two tires on

the trailer failed, and Hollingsworth, who worked in maintenance

for HT, was called to the location to change the tires. After the

tires were changed and the tractor-trailer began traveling again,

a third tire failed. The rubber treads of the tire came loose and

wrapped around the axle of the trailer. Hollingsworth was again

called to the scene for repair. As Hollingsworth and the truck

driver attempted to free the rubber treads from the axle,

Hollingsworth was crushed, causing his death.

“As a general rule, an employee who sustains an industrial

injury ‘arising out of and in the course of the employment’ is

3

limited to recovery under the workers’ compensation system.”

(Torres v. Parkhouse Tire Service, Inc. (2001) 26 Cal.4th 995,

1001; see also Lab. Code, § 3600.) Private employers must either

carry workers’ compensation insurance or be self-insured. (Lab.

Code, § 3700, subds. (a), (b).) The WCAB has exclusive

jurisdiction over claims for workers’ compensation benefits. (La

Jolla Beach & Tennis Club, Inc. v. Industrial Indemnity Co.

(1994) 9 Cal.4th 27, 35.) If an employer fails to carry the

appropriate insurance, however, “any injured employee or his

dependents may bring an action at law against such employer for

damages” in superior court. (Lab. Code, § 3706.) “If at the time

of the accident there was no work[ers’] compensation coverage,

then the [WCAB] is without jurisdiction to grant relief, and if

there was such coverage then the superior court is without

jurisdiction and must leave the parties to pursue their remedies

before the [WCAB].” (Scott v. Industrial Acc. Commission (1956)

46 Cal.2d 76, 83 (Scott).)

Plaintiffs filed a wrongful death complaint in superior court

on January 22, 2018, alleging that Hollingsworth was in the

course of his employment with HT at the time of his death, and

that HT did not have workers’ compensation insurance.

Plaintiffs alleged that although Bragg purported to merge HT

“out of existence and into” Bragg in 1986, the two companies

maintained separate operations, and HT continued to operate as

a separate corporation. Plaintiffs alleged that Bragg paid them

workers’ compensation benefits, “evidencing the lack of Worker’s

Compensation Insurance for Kirk Hollingsworth as the

employee” of HT. Plaintiffs further alleged that the Bragg and

HT equipment involved in the incident was in a dangerous

condition, and that Bragg and HT failed to adequately train their

4

workers, leading to Hollingsworth’s death. Plaintiffs included a

demand for jury trial with their complaint.

Bragg/HT demurred to plaintiffs’ complaint. It admitted

that Hollingsworth was working for HT at the time of his death.

But it asserted that HT was “a fictitious business name of

defendant Bragg Investment Company, Inc.,” so the companies

were in fact “the same company.” Bragg/HT contended that

“Bragg Investment Company, Inc. d/b/a Heavy Transport, Inc.”

had an active workers’ compensation policy that covered the

incident, so “plaintiffs’ lawsuit is barred in its entirety by the

Exclusive Remedy Rule of the Workers’ Compensation System

pursuant to Labor Code Sections 3601 and 3602.”

As stated in our previous decision, the trial court overruled

the demurrer, finding that plaintiffs had adequately alleged an

exception to workers’ compensation exclusivity by asserting that

HT did not have workers’ compensation insurance.

(Hollingsworth I, supra, 37 Cal.App.5th at p. 931.) The WCAB

then determined that the accident had occurred in the course of

employment, and set a hearing to determine if any workers’

compensation insurance covered the incident. (Ibid.) The parties

acknowledged that resolution of the insurance issue would

determine which tribunal had exclusive jurisdiction, and in a

series of motions and requests, Bragg/HT sought to stay

proceedings in the superior court until the WCAB made that

finding, while plaintiffs sought to stay the WCAB proceedings

until the superior court made that finding. (Id. at pp. 931-932.)

The superior court stayed all proceedings to allow the WCAB to

decide, and plaintiffs filed a petition for writ of mandate in this

court. (Id. at p. 933.) Following Scott, supra, 46 Cal.2d 76, we

held that the superior court, which had exercised jurisdiction

5

first, “should make the necessary findings to determine which

tribunal has exclusive jurisdiction over the remainder of the

matter.” (Hollingsworth I, supra, 37 Cal.App.5th at p. 933.) We

remanded the case with instructions to the superior court to

“conduct further proceedings limited to determining which

tribunal has exclusive jurisdiction over plaintiffs’ claims.” (Id. at

p. 937.)

B. Plaintiffs’ request for a jury trial

Following remand, the superior court requested that the

parties submit briefs asserting their positions on jurisdiction.

Bragg/HT argued that jurisdiction was an issue of law for the

court to determine. It stated that a workers’ compensation policy

had been issued to Bragg by insurer XL Insurance America, Inc.

(XL Insurance), and HT was insured under the policy. Bragg/HT

submitted declarations and the insurance policy in support of its

contentions. It argued that because it carried workers’

compensation insurance at the time of Hollingsworth’s death, the

exception to workers’ compensation exclusivity did not apply, and

jurisdiction in the WCAB was appropriate.

Plaintiffs agreed that “[e]xclusive jurisdiction rests on the

presence or absence of the injured worker’s employer carrying

Worker’s Compensation Insurance for the injured employee at

the time and location of the injury.” They argued that this

question must be answered by a jury. Plaintiffs also contended

that the insurance policy covering Bragg did not include “(a)

Heavy Transport Inc[.], a California Corporation, [or] (b) any

company named Heavy Transport Inc[.], at a California location.”

Plaintiffs further asserted that there had been no “merger” of

Bragg and HT under California law, and whether the companies

were separate “should be part of the jury’s verdict.”

6

At a hearing on November 22, 2019 before Judge Mark C.

Kim, the superior court noted that the Hollingsworth I opinion

remanded the case “to have a hearing and then make a

determination as to whether or not this court has the jurisdiction

or W.C.A.B. has the jurisdiction.” The court said the “one thing

[at] issue” was “whether or not defendants had workers’

compensation coverage for the plaintiff,” and “[i]f they did have

coverage, then . . . it goes to workers’ comp, W.C.A.B.; if there is

no workers’ comp insurance coverage for that plaintiff, then it

stays with this court.”

Plaintiffs’ counsel agreed with the court’s assessment, and

added, “But the decision-maker on that is the jury.” Plaintiffs’

counsel argued that the jurisdictional determination rested on

disputed fact issues, and plaintiffs had a right to have fact issues

decided by a jury. Counsel for Bragg/HT asserted that

jurisdiction was a legal issue for the court to decide.

The court held that plaintiffs were not entitled to a jury

trial on the jurisdiction question. The court noted that the

parties had submitted evidence in support of their positions, but

“my preference is to have live testimony, have witnesses come in

and testify.” The court set a “non-jury trial” for February 14,

2020.

Plaintiffs then filed a peremptory challenge to Judge Kim

under Code of Civil Procedure section 170.6, and the case was

reassigned to Judge Michael Vicencia. Plaintiffs filed an ex parte

application seeking an “order restoring right to a jury trial on all

claims.” They argued that Judge Kim “mistakenly decided” that

Hollingsworth I required that a bench trial determine the

jurisdiction issue. Plaintiffs asserted that the “case was set for

Court Trial in error as plaintiffs have never waived their right to

7

a jury trial.” They further contended, “Any efforts at a court trial

on any contested issue of fact, such as the identify [sic] of the

employer and the presence of Worker’s Compensation for that

employer would likely result in a judgment void at the start.”

At the ex parte hearing on December 10, 2019, Judge

Vicencia questioned whether he could disturb the decision of

Judge Kim, and asked plaintiffs’ counsel, “Are you saying that

Judge Kim was wrong?” Plaintiffs’ counsel responded, “I’m

saying that Judge Kim said it will be decided by the court. It

didn’t say by a judge. Juries are part of the court.” Bragg/HT’s

counsel stated that the issue already had been decided by Judge

Kim. The court noted that juries sometimes decide issues of

workers’ compensation exclusivity, and stated that it appeared

that “[i]f we call it jurisdiction, then the judge decides. If we call

it an affirmative defense, then the jury decides.” Bragg/HT’s

counsel responded, “But the appellate court said it’s a

jurisdictional issue.”

The court also observed, “Requiring an affirmative defense

to be tried to a jury prior to plaintiff making their prima facie

showing strikes me as wrong on every level.” Plaintiffs’ counsel

said that was not what he was advocating; rather, “Plaintiff puts

on the negligence case, and plaintiff puts on the lack of comp and

the lack of merger and puts all that in their case in chief.” The

court said that in that case, the trial would not be limited to

jurisdiction, but “you’re talking about getting a trial date for the

whole shebang, and they can put this on as their affirmative

defense, right?” Plaintiffs’ counsel replied, “Exactly.” The court

noted that Hollingsworth I said “I have to limit it to the issue of

jurisdiction.”

8

The court denied plaintiffs’ ex parte request. The court

stated, “I know that the date was set and it was called a nonjury

trial, but really, it is . . . an evidentiary hearing to determine

jurisdiction.” The court said it would keep the date set for the

hearing and allow witnesses to testify in person, but invited the

parties to “provide me as much as you can by way of brief. To the

extent that you can agree that declarations are sufficient, great.”

The court set a briefing schedule with plaintiffs filing first,

because they had the burden of proof.

C. Jurisdiction hearing

The parties set out their positions in documents titled “trial

briefs.” Plaintiffs asserted in their brief that Hollingsworth was

within the scope of his employment with HT at the time of his

death on June 20, 2016, and “[t]he main dispute here relates to

the contention that HT did not have Workers Compensation

Insurance at the time of his death.” They contended that

Hollingsworth’s paychecks, other work documents, uniforms, and

a collective bargaining agreement stated that HT was his

employer. The ownership documents for the maintenance truck

Hollingsworth drove and the tractor involved in the incident

listed HT as the owner; the trailer was registered to Bragg. The

relevant licenses and permits for the trip were in the name of HT.

Plaintiffs asserted that in the Occupational Safety and Health

Administration (OSHA) investigation following the incident, HT

“informed the OSHA board . . . that HT was the true employer

and that BRAGG had nothing to do with the circumstances

leading to Hollingsworth’s death.”

Plaintiffs asserted that HT “did not have in place a policy of

Worker’s Compensation Insurance in its name. Hence, this civil

suit under Labor Code Section 3706. The insurance policy in

9

effect named an HT company in Oregon, but did not list nor

indicate coverage for any HT entity in California . . . .” Plaintiffs

asserted that HT and Bragg were not the same entity. They

further stated that checks for workers’ compensation benefits

paid to plaintiffs were in the name of Bragg, not HT. Plaintiffs

also contended that Bragg’s equipment involved in the incident

was defective, in that the tires on the trailer “were not capable of

carrying the weight of this 20 ton trailer with an 80 ton crane on

it.” No evidence was cited in plaintiffs’ brief.

Bragg/HT asserted in its trial brief that HT “is a DBA” of

Bragg, and at the time of the incident, “both Bragg Investment

Company and Heavy Transport were named insureds of a

workers compensation insurance policy issued by XL Insurance

America.” It stated that HT began as a California corporation in

1955 but “merged into” Bragg in November 1986; Bragg/HT

attached the fictitious business name statement filed for HT.

Bragg/HT described its application for workers’ compensation

insurance and attached the package submitted, which included a

schedule of named insureds. Bragg/HT stated that in the policy

active at the time of the incident, “[t]he applicant is Bragg

Investment Company Inc[.], but Heavy Transport is specifically

identified in the assigned risk section.” Bragg/HT submitted a

declaration by Thomas Poskus, a senior claims specialist with

“AXA XL,” the workers’ compensation carrier for HT. Poskus

stated that in May 2016, XL Insurance issued a workers’

compensation coverage policy to Bragg, and at the time of the

incident, HT was a named insured under the policy. Poskus

stated that XL Insurance “accepted coverage” for plaintiffs’ claim

and paid benefits to plaintiffs starting in July 2016.

10

Bragg/HT also submitted the declaration of Gregory Stone,

a licensed insurance broker, whose company has “worked with

the various Bragg entities and dbas and divisions for decades.”

In May 2016, Stone’s company “placed Workers’ Compensation

insurance coverage for our client Bragg Investment Company,

Inc. with XL Insurance America, Inc.” Stone stated, “In the case

of Heavy Transport, the underwriters at XL America were

provided with a standard ACORD application which contained

the company’s payroll by classification, a loss history and a

Description of Operation Form. The underwriters used this

information to calculate a rating and determine the premiums

which contain a component specific to Heavy Transport.” Stone

stated that XL Insurance paid benefits on the Hollingsworth

claim under the policy, and “[t]here has never been a coverage

dispute regarding this claim.” The president of Bragg/HT, M.

Scott Bragg, stated in a declaration that Hollingsworth was

employed by HT, HT’s information was included in the

application for insurance, and at the time of the incident HT was

insured by XL Insurance. The general manager of HT, Robert

Weyers, stated in a declaration that HT was insured under the

XL Insurance policy at the time of the incident. A declaration by

a claims representative from a third-party administrator stated

that HT was a named insured under the XL Insurance policy,

benefits had been paid to Leanne Hollingsworth on the claim,

and benefits payments were ongoing.

Noting that one portion of the XL Insurance policy listed

Heavy Transport with an Oregon address, Bragg/HT asserted

that “Heavy Transport is not a company in Oregon—which was

clearly a typo in the named insureds section of the certified

11

policy.” The Oregon address was for another Bragg company, the

“Bragg Cattle Ranch.”

However, Bragg/HT asserted that the intended insured was

made clear by information included in the application for

workers’ compensation insurance. HT’s Stockton work yard was

identified as one of the premises in the application, and HT’s

business was described in the application’s schedule of

operations. Bragg/HT also noted that the Stockton work yard—

where Hollingsworth worked—had a large sign with both Bragg

and HT names on it, the pickup truck that Hollingsworth drove

had the Bragg “B” logo on it, and Bragg issued Hollingsworth’s

W-2 forms.

Bragg/HT also asserted that because HT was a dba of

Bragg, it had an “automatic insured” status under the XL

Insurance policy, and it was not required to be separately listed,

even though it was. Because HT had workers’ compensation

insurance, Bragg/HT asserted that plaintiffs could not meet their

burden of showing the exception to workers’ compensation

exclusivity. It further argued that plaintiffs could not sue Bragg

for defective equipment because it was not a separate entity from

Hollingsworth’s employer. Bragg/HT argued that the action

should be dismissed for lack of jurisdiction, and that the WCAB

action should proceed.

In their reply brief, plaintiffs asserted there was no dispute

that HT employed Hollingsworth. However, they asserted that

HT did not have its own workers’ compensation insurance, and

“[p]arent corporations, subsidiary corporations and sister

corporations cannot piggyback to avoid liability by claiming a

‘doing business’ status.” They asserted that Bragg and HT

maintained separate operations, and that as a subsidiary, HT

12

was required to carry its own insurance. Plaintiffs argued that

Bragg paid benefits “for its own potential liability,” but no

benefits had been paid in HT’s name.

At the hearing on February 14, 2020, plaintiffs called as an

expert witness Scott Thomas, an attorney specializing in

“[i]nsurance coverage and litigation.” Thomas stated that he had

never worked for an insurance company, but as an attorney he

had represented insurance companies and “policy holders of

various kinds” in insurance coverage disputes. Thomas testified

that workers’ compensation insurance constituted “a very small

percentage of the matters that I have been involved with in my

career,” but he could nevertheless “recognize and understand how

a workers’ compensation insurance policy is structured.”

Thomas stated that he reviewed the information page of

the relevant policy, which “is sort of the index for the policy” and

includes “the policy’s definition of who is insured.” Thomas

concluded that “Heavy Transport, Inc., Mr. Hollingsworth’s

employer, is not an insured entity under this policy,” because the

information page of the policy did not include HT. He also noted

that in the “schedule of named insureds,” a company called

Heavy Transport, Inc. was listed, but its location was stated to be

in Imnaha, Oregon. There was nothing in the policy stating that

a Heavy Transport, Inc. in Stockton, California was insured.

The court asked Thomas, “If the insurer and the insured

agreed that it was their intention that the insured be an insured,

isn’t that the end of the query? Would you . . . take the position

that there is no coverage when the insured and the insurer agree

there is coverage?” Thomas said that under circumstances in

which there was an “insurance policy, a contract” that “does not

identify party A as an insured, then I would say they’re not

13

insured.” The court asked if, where the parties agreed that their

“intention from the beginning was for us to insure them and for

them to be an insured,” even if the policy said something

different, would Thomas “take the position that no, they are not

insured? Isn’t that an absurd position?” The court continued,

“Doesn’t the intent of the parties to a contract control? A writing

is just evidence of what they intended.” Thomas responded that

the intent, compared to the writing, does not control “in every

instance.”

Plaintiffs’ counsel asked Thomas how parties might reform

a contract if they realized there was a mistake in the written

terms, but the court barred this line of inquiry, stating, “This is

not a reformation case.” The court stated that the focus should

be on the parties’ intent, and “somehow you’ve hired an attorney

to, essentially, tell me that under the law, you should win.” The

court asked plaintiffs’ counsel to “move on to something else.”

Thomas testified that he was not aware that the parties had

made any corrections to the endorsement.

On cross-examination, Thomas agreed that the policy

included a notation that it applied under the workers’

compensation laws of California and Oregon. Bragg/HT’s counsel

asked if it applied to any work site in either state. Thomas

replied that he did not know, because that would be a “function of

what the insurance policy says.” Bragg/HT’s counsel pointed to

the extension of the information page of the policy, which

included a list of classification codes including code 7219 for

“trucking firms.” Thomas testified, “I do not know where these

codes in this policy came from.” Thomas could not recall whether

HT had been listed in the application for workers’ compensation

insurance, or whether HT had been assigned code 7219. Thomas

14

did not know whether the “premium basis” listed on the

information page reflected HT’s payroll. Bragg/HT’s counsel

began to ask about other issues in the policy, but the court

suggested it was not necessary. Bragg/HT’s counsel said he had

no more questions. The court stated, “I will say now, his opinion

is of little import to the court.”

Plaintiffs’ counsel called Leanne Hollingsworth to testify.

She testified that Hollingsworth’s paychecks came from HT, and

she was not aware of anything suggesting that Bragg was

Hollingsworth’s employer. Hollingsworth’s work truck and

uniforms also said Heavy Transport. Plaintiffs’ counsel also

called Mark Hollingsworth as a witness, but when the court

determined that his testimony would be similar to his mother’s,

the court said the testimony was unnecessary. Plaintiffs had no

further witnesses.

Bragg/HT called Gregory Stone, the licensed insurance

broker retained by Bragg to obtain workers’ compensation

insurance in 2016. In February 2016, Stone participated in a

Workers’ Compensation Insurance Rating Bureau (WCIRB) audit

of the Bragg companies, along with David Benjamin, who worked

for WCIRB. Stone and Benjamin toured the Bragg facilities in

Long Beach, as well as the HT facility. WCIRB assigned a

classification code to HT: 7219 for trucking firms. Stone included

this information in his application to XL Insurance for workers’

compensation insurance for Bragg in March 2016. A “description

of operations” was submitted with the application, which is

intended to “help the underwriters understand the . . . scope of

operations of each one of the entities involved.” The entities

listed in the document were “divisions of one of the named

insureds.” HT was one of the divisions listed, and the description

15

stated that it is “[a] division of Bragg Investment Company;

specializes in over-sized multi-dimensional and large capacity

(from 1 ton to 400 tons) cargo providing a full-service approach to

your individualized transportation needs.” Stone explained that

“the Bragg companies do business as Heavy Transport. And so,

we describe, as a business, what Heavy Transport does, because

they have their own units with the decals on the side.”

The insurance application also included a “site location

coding” section, which Stone explained was relevant to “how we

allocate claims – cost and claims themselves.” HT was included

in this section, both at its Long Beach address and its Stockton

address. In addition, the insurance application package included

payroll projections, which Stone explained were the “basis of

premium in a workers’ compensation policy.” Smith stated that

HT’s payroll was included in the payroll projections. In the policy

itself, HT’s payroll projection—around $7.9 million—was

included on the information page next to “trucking firms” with

the classification code 7219. Smith stated that the payroll is used

to “calculate the premium for that specific classification.” Smith

testified that the policy’s schedule of named insureds also

included HT, but the notation that HT was located in Oregon was

a “clerical error” made by XL Insurance in writing the policy.

On cross-examination, plaintiffs’ counsel asked Stone about

exhibit 15, a letter to plaintiffs’ counsel from WCIRB, which

stated that in response to an inquiry by plaintiffs’ counsel, “no

results were found” regarding workers’ compensation insurance

for HT. The letter stated that “the coverage information

requested either does not exist or that coverage information could

not be found based on the information provided to us.” Plaintiffs’

counsel asked Stone if exhibit 15 indicated that WCIRB “does not

16

recognize Heavy Transport as having workman’s [sic] comp

insurance in the year 2016.” Stone replied, “No.” Plaintiffs’

counsel asked Stone whether the various Bragg companies had

“Bragg as the parent company.” Stone replied, “Yes. That’s what

makes them a named insured.” Stone also stated that he was

“not, so much, concerned about a dba being included as a named

insured. Because technically, they don’t have to, because they’re

a dba of the corporation.” Stone testified that he was not familiar

with who held the title on HT’s equipment.

The court then asked Stone questions. The court clarified

that Stone was a broker, and asked, “And as a broker, you don’t

work, necessarily, for the insured or the insurer, correct?” Stone

agreed. The court also asked about the $7.9 million payroll

projection, which included the Long Beach and Stockton

locations, and asked Stone, “[D]o you go over those records in

order to compile the information for the application?” Stone said

he did, “[w]ith the named insured,” specifically the chief financial

officer, Dennis Ferguson. Stone also stated that “XL” was the

insurer at the time of the incident, and it paid the claim. On re-

cross, plaintiffs’ counsel established that Stone did not know

whether Hollingsworth individually was included in the HT

payroll projections, but Stone stated that if “Mr. Hollingsworth

was an employee at the time of the payroll projection, his payroll

would have been included.”

Bragg/HT offered to call underwriter Rafi Astorian as a

witness, but the court stated, “I think I’ve heard enough with

respect to the policy.” Bragg/HT offered additional witnesses

“who handled” the insurance policy, but the court said they were

not necessary, stating, “I apologize, but clearly, Heavy Transport

was insured,” and added, “I think there’s no question about it.”

17

The court explained that the intent of the parties was important,

and here, “clearly the intent was to cover Heavy Transport Long

Beach and Heavy Transport Stockton, and they accepted

coverage.” The court stated that its “tentative ruling would be

that the conditions of compensation exist with respect to Heavy

Transport, and therefore workers’ comp is the exclusive remedy

with respect to Heavy Transport . . . .” The court stated that the

“conditions of compensation do not exist with respect to Bragg

Investments,” which did not employ Hollingsworth, and

“therefore workers’ compensation would not be the exclusive

right.” The court invited the parties to present additional

evidence or give their closing arguments.

Plaintiffs’ counsel stated, “You disagree with our expert.

Okay.” The court interrupted, and stated, “And let me just say,

your expert took an outrageous point of view at the outset. The

notion that some writing might control over the express intention

of the parties is found nowhere in law. It just isn’t.”

In his closing argument, plaintiffs’ counsel asserted that

the people “who write insurance policies for a living” are “very

sophisticated people” who “don’t want to make mistakes.” Since

the incident in 2016, however, “they still have not stepped up and

said, we made a mistake. We want to change this. We want to

show our true intention.” Plaintiffs’ counsel asserted that if

“there truly was an interest in making sure the policy was

accurate, to show their true intention, we would have seen that”

before now. The court stated, “[Y]ou haven’t explained to me why

XL would accept this workers’ comp claim, unless they could

trace Mr. Hollingsworth back to some payroll upon which they

based their premium.” Plaintiff’s counsel suggested that “they

saw . . . the picture of that Bragg crane on the trailer . . . showing

18

that Bragg had the potential for exposure here.” The court

disagreed, stating that after the incident and claim, “they’re

going to say, wait a second, he worked for Heavy Transport. Was

Heavy Transport’s payroll part of the premium? Because if it

wasn’t, he’s not covered.” Plaintiffs’ counsel responded, “We don’t

have any of that evidence.” The court noted that the broker,

Stone, said “that the $7.9 million . . . included the payroll of both

Heavy Transport facilities.” Plaintiffs’ counsel pointed out that

Stone could not say whether that included payroll for

Hollingsworth specifically.

Plaintiff also asserted that HT operated as a separate legal

entity in California, but only Bragg was listed on the benefits

checks, and “we haven’t seen anything that says, we have

corrected our mistake to reflect our true intention. There’s

nothing in there that shows their true intention was anything

other than that written policy that says, Heavy Transport,

Oregon.” Plaintiffs counsel asserted that plaintiffs had done two

years’ worth of investigation into whether HT was insured, and

“nobody has stepped up and said, yeah, we meant to [insure HT].

Until now, until their civil liability is in issue, and suddenly they

walk in the door and go, oh, that was a mistake. ”

Plaintiffs’ counsel further argued that the documents were

“indisputable,” and the parol evidence rule was based “on the

notion that, if it’s in writing, it has some real, serious

consequences, and you don’t just say, oh, we decided something

different. [¶] And how easy would it be for an employer and their

insurance company, which they get along quite well with, to say,

we really wanted to do it a different way. We wanted to have

that covered at HT.” Plaintiffs’ counsel added, “Where were they

19

in 2016 when this man was killed, and said, oh my god, you

know, we didn’t get it right. We need to get this right.”

Before Bragg/HT could present a closing argument, the

court stated, “Workers’ compensation is the exclusive remedy.”

The court noted that “everyone agrees” HT was Hollingsworth’s

employer. The court then considered whether HT had “sufficient

insurance, so that the conditions of compensation occur under the

Labor Code,” and said, “I conclude that it does.” The court stated

that plaintiffs’ expert witness, Thomas, was not “particularly

helpful,” and Thomas’s assertion that HT was not covered

because of the Oregon address listed in the policy was “a

nonsense opinion.” The court stated that if it was “the intent of

the insured and the intention of the insurer, to cover all of the HT

facilities and its employees, then that coverage exists, and there

is workers’ compensation coverage for Heavy Transport.” The

court also noted that XL Insurance had accepted coverage and

paid the claim, stating, “To me, that evidence makes it quite clear

that it was the intention of Bragg Investments and Heavy

Transport, Inc., on the one hand, and XL, the insurer, on the

other, to include the Heavy Transport, Inc., operations in both

Stockton and Long Beach as part of the insurance policy that was

in place at the time” of the incident. The court then considered

whether Hollingsworth was also an employee of Bragg at the

time of the incident, and stated, “the answer to that question is

clearly, no. He was not.” The court instructed the parties to

prepare a judgment. 1

1Atthe beginning of the hearing, the court asked

Bragg/HT’s counsel several questions attempting to clarify the

ownership of the defendant companies, the merger of Bragg and

20

Plaintiffs timely appealed. 2

DISCUSSION

Plaintiffs assert two contentions on appeal: (1) the trial

court deprived plaintiffs of a jury trial on the factual issue of

insurance coverage, and (2) the court’s decision violates the parol

evidence rule and contradicts the insurance policy. 3 We consider

plaintiffs’ contentions below, following the “fundamental

principle of appellate procedure that a trial court judgment is

ordinarily presumed to be correct and the burden is on an

appellant to demonstrate, on the basis of the record presented to

the appellate court, that the trial court committed an error that

HT, and the corporate structure. At the end of the hearing, the

court held, over Bragg/HT’s objection, that the case involving

plaintiffs’ claims against Bragg would continue in superior court.

These issues are not relevant to this appeal.

2 The court’s judgment terminating proceedings in the

superior court is appealable. (See Furtado v. Schriefer (1991) 228

Cal.App.3d 1608, 1613.) Bragg/HT filed a cross-appeal, which it

later dismissed.

3Every appellant’s opening brief is required to “[p]rovide a

summary of the significant facts limited to matters in the record”

(Cal. Rules of Court, rule 8.204(a)(2)(C)) and state each point of

argument “under a separate heading or subheading summarizing

the point.” (Id., rule 8.204(a)(1)(B).) Here, the 49-page

“Introduction” section of plaintiffs’ opening brief is peppered with

legal contentions and commentary about the superior court’s

perceived errors. Legal arguments not included in the argument

section of plaintiffs’ opening brief under appropriate headings

have been forfeited. (Pizarro v. Reynoso (2017) 10 Cal.App.5th

172, 179 [“Failure to provide proper headings forfeits issues that

may be discussed in the brief but are not clearly identified by a

heading”].)

21

justifies reversal of the judgment.” (Jameson v. Desta (2018) 5

Cal.5th 594, 608-609.)

A. Plaintiffs did not have a right to a jury trial

Plaintiffs assert that the superior court committed

reversible error by depriving them of a jury trial “on the factual

issue of coverage.” Bragg/HT asserts that jurisdiction is always a

question for the court, not a jury, even if the court must make

some factual findings in that determination. Whether a party

was constitutionally entitled to a jury trial is a question of law

that we review de novo. (Caira v. Offner (2005) 126 Cal.App.4th

12, 23.) We find that plaintiffs were not entitled to a jury trial on

the issue of jurisdiction.

In Hollingsworth I, we issued a writ of mandate and

remanded the case to allow the trial court to “conduct further

proceedings limited to determining which tribunal has exclusive

jurisdiction over plaintiffs’ claims.” (Hollingsworth I, supra, 37

Cal.App.5th at p. 937.) Plaintiffs have alleged that

Hollingsworth was acting within the scope of his employment

with HT at the time of the incident, but that they have a

statutory right to bring a claim under Labor Code section 3706

based on HT’s alleged lack of insurance. “Whether or not [an

employer] carried the required work[ers’] compensation

insurance is a question going to the jurisdiction of the superior

court to entertain the action for wrongful death. . . . [J]urisdiction

is a question of law and it is for the court and not for the jury to

determine.” (Coleman v. Silverberg Plumbing Co. (1968) 263

Cal.App.2d 74, 79-80 (Coleman).)

Plaintiffs assert that because exclusive jurisdiction relied

on a disputed issue of fact—whether HT was insured—they were

entitled to have a jury act as factfinder. They rely on cases in

22

which the plaintiffs asserted common law causes of action, but

the parties disagreed as to whether the plaintiffs’ claims fell

within workers’ compensation exclusivity. “As a general rule, an

action brought under Labor Code section 3706 differs markedly

from a common law negligence action” (Valdez v. Himmelfarb

(2006) 144 Cal.App.4th 1261, 1269), because “in an action

brought under Labor Code section 3706 an employer’s liability is

determined under rules of pleading and proof.” (Id. at p. 1268.)

This distinction was discussed in Coleman, supra, 263

Cal.App.2d 74. In Coleman, the decedent’s wife and child sued

after their husband and father, Coleman, died while operating a

backhoe at a construction site. The defendants included several

companies that were involved in the construction project,

including Silverberg. The plaintiffs alleged, in part, that they

were entitled to sue under Labor Code section 3706 because

Silverberg did not carry the appropriate workers’ compensation

insurance. (Id. at p. 77.) The court granted the defendants’

motion for nonsuit, and the plaintiffs appealed. The Court of

Appeal stated, “The theory of recovery for wrongful death of a

presumptive employee (Coleman) caused by the presumptive

negligence of Silverberg is based upon sections 3700, 3706 and

3708 of the Labor Code.[ ] Assuming arguendo that Coleman was

Silverberg’s employee, plaintiffs had to plead [citations] and

prove that Silverberg violated section 3700 by not carrying the

work[ers’] compensation required [citations]. We are not here

concerned with common law causes of action, in which case it is

incumbent on the defendant to plead and prove the employer-

employee relationship and work[ers’] compensation insurance

coverage. [Citation.] A complaint disclosing an employer-

employee relationship in this action without negativing the

23

existence of work[ers’] compensation insurance would have been

subject to a general demurrer.” (Coleman, supra, 263 Cal.App.2d

at p. 79.) Coleman stated, as quoted above, that “[w]hether or not

Silverberg carried the required work[ers’] compensation

insurance is a question going to the jurisdiction of the superior

court,” and “jurisdiction is a question of law and it is for the court

and not for the jury to determine.” (Id. at pp. 79-80.) The court

held that the motion for nonsuit was properly granted on this

basis. (Id. at p. 80.)

Plaintiffs rely on cases involving common law causes of

action such as Lee v. West Kern Water Dist. (2016) 5 Cal.App.5th

606. There, the plaintiff employee sued the defendant employer

and four employees “for assault and intentional infliction of

emotional distress after the coemployees staged a mock robbery

with Lee as the victim.” (Id. at pp. 610-611.) The defendants

asserted that the plaintiff’s claims were barred by workers’

compensation exclusivity under Labor Code section 3600. The

case was presented to a jury in two phases: the first phase was

intended to determine whether the plaintiff’s claims were barred

under workers’ compensation exclusivity; if the claims were not

barred, liability and damages would be determined in phase two.

(Id. at p. 612.) Contested issues at trial and on appeal focused on

whether plaintiff’s claims satisfied the statutory conditions for

workers’ compensation exclusivity, including whether the

plaintiff was acting within the course of her employment during

the incident and whether the injury was proximately caused by

the employment. (Id. at p. 624; see Lab. Code, § 3600, subd. (a).)

The court ultimately held that the jury had been properly

instructed on these issues and upheld the damages award to the

24

plaintiff. 4 The exception to workers’ compensation exclusivity in

Labor Code section 3706 was not at issue in Lee.

Plaintiffs also rely on Doney v. Tambouratgis (1979) 23

Cal.3d 91 (Doney), in which the plaintiff alleged injuries resulting

from assault and battery by the defendant. The complaint did

not allege an employment relationship, and the defendant did not

assert workers’ compensation exclusivity as an affirmative

defense until the appeal. The Supreme Court rejected the

defendant’s belated contention, stating, “The complaint . . .

contained no allegation directly or indirectly indicating that an

employment relationship existed between plaintiff and defendant

or that the injuries which formed the basis of the action arose out

of and in the course of employment. In these circumstances it

became the responsibility of defendant to plead and prove that

the conditions of compensation rendering him subject to the

protections of the [Workers’ Compensation Act] existed.[ ] This

he did not do.[ ] Accordingly he may not now raise the defense of

coverage by the act.” (Id. at pp. 97-98.) In a footnote, Doney noted

the difference between common law-based claims and cases

4 Plaintiffsalso cite Ramey v. General Petroleum Corp.

(1959) 173 Cal.App.2d 386, without including a specific page

citation, asserting that the court “reviewed a jury trial on

predicate facts for application of compensation [sic] as a defense,”

and found that “[t]here was no question that the employer and

the employee was [sic] entitled to a jury trial on the issue of

coverage.” In fact, Ramey involved an appeal following a

demurrer based on the statute of limitations. The court did not

consider or decide whether a party was entitled to a jury trial

with respect to workers’ compensation coverage.

25

under Labor Code section 3706, and cited Coleman with approval.

(Doney, supra, 23 Cal.3d at p. 99, fn. 11.)

Plaintiffs also rely on Scott, supra, 46 Cal.2d 76, which we

discussed in detail in Hollingsworth I, supra, 37 Cal.App.5th 927.

In that case, a lawsuit by an injured employee was pending at the

same time that a proceeding regarding the same incident was

before the Industrial Accident Commission, a predecessor to the

WCAB. The Supreme Court stated that either the superior court

or the commission would have exclusive—not concurrent—

jurisdiction, “depending on whether or not the injuries were

suffered within the course and scope of an employment

relationship and so covered by the work[ers’] compensation laws.”

(Scott, supra, 46 Cal.2d at pp. 82-83.) The court discussed the

differences between concurrent and exclusive jurisdiction, and

within that discussion noted, “Other practical problems, and

differences between this situation and that of completely

concurrent jurisdiction in two different tribunals are said to be

these: [¶] 1. In a jury trial of the superior court action, it appears

that a special interrogatory on the question of coverage would (at

least in the absence of special circumstances) be necessary in

order to disclose what was determined on that point, in case of a

verdict for defendant. Without such a special interrogatory it

could not be ascertained whether the verdict turned on one of the

other pleaded defenses of absence of defendant’s negligence,

unavoidable accident, or contributory negligence of plaintiff,

rather than on the issue of the employment relationship. This,

however it is answered, is a mere incident of procedure which can

be handled in the trial court.” (Id. at p. 84.)

Plaintiffs cite this portion of Scott and argue, “According to

the Supreme Court’s Scott decision, it is a jury determination if

26

the injured worker’s employer carried Worker’s Compensation

Insurance for the injured employee at the time and location of the

injury and if that constitutes a defense.” We disagree with this

interpretation of Scott. When discussing the possibility of a

special interrogatory to a jury, the court in Scott was discussing

“practical problems” that may arise in certain cases. The court

was not discussing whether a party has a right to a jury trial for

the determination of jurisdictional issues. “‘[A]n opinion is not

authority for a proposition not therein considered.’” (Elisa B. v.

Superior Court (2005) 37 Cal.4th 108, 118.)

Moreover, it is the general rule that “[i]n a civil case . . .

personal and subject matter jurisdiction ordinarily are issues for

the court, not the jury.” (People v. Betts (2005) 34 Cal.4th 1039,

1049, fn. 2.) It is well established that whether a court has

subject matter jurisdiction is a question of law. (See, e.g.,

Robbins v. Foothill Nissan (1994) 22 Cal.App.4th 1769, 1774

[“Because the appeal is from a dismissal for lack of subject matter

jurisdiction,[ ] a question of law, this court reviews the issue de

novo”]; Tearlach Resources Limited v. Western States Internat.,

Inc. (2013) 219 Cal.App.4th 773, 780 [“Questions of subject

matter jurisdiction are questions of law, which are reviewed de

novo”]; Warburton/Buttner v. Superior Court (2002) 103

Cal.App.4th 1170, 1180 [“the issue of whether a court has subject

matter jurisdiction over an action against an Indian tribe is a

question of law subject to de novo review”]; Lundahl v. Telford

(2004) 116 Cal.App.4th 305, 312 [“Whether California had sole

subject matter jurisdiction over spousal support is a question of

law that we review de novo”].) And “[a]n issue of law must be

tried by the court.” (Code Civ. Proc., § 591.) “When the right to

27

jury trial exists, it provides the right to have a jury try and

determine issues of fact. (Code Civ. Proc., § 592; Evid. Code,

§ 312.) Even in such cases, issues of law are to be determined by

the court, rather than a jury. (Code Civ. Proc., § 591; Evid. Code,

§ 310; see generally 7 Witkin, Cal. Procedure, supra, Trial, § 81,

pp. 107-108 [citing cases].)” (Shaw v. Superior Court (2017) 2

Cal.5th 983, 993.)

Because plaintiffs asserted jurisdiction under Labor Code

section 3706, it was appropriate for the court, not a jury, to

determine the questions relevant to jurisdiction. Plaintiffs did

not have a right to a jury trial on these facts. We therefore find

no error in the court’s denial of plaintiffs’ request for a jury trial.

B. The court properly considered parol evidence

Plaintiffs contend the superior court’s “decision is contrary

to the limitations in the policy and a violation of the parol

evidence rule,” and assert that “[t]he basis for the Judgment

should be overturned as violating the Parol Evidence Rule.”

Bragg/HT asserts that the court correctly considered parol

evidence, including the evidence presented by plaintiffs.

“[I]nterpretation of a contract is a judicial function.” (Wolf

v. Walt Disney Pictures & Television (2008) 162 Cal.App.4th

1107, 1125 (Wolf).) Contracts, including insurance policies, “are

interpreted so as to give effect to the mutual intention of the

parties at the time of contracting, to the extent ascertainable and

lawful. [Citations.] The mutual intent of the parties is

ascertained from the contract language, which controls if clear

and explicit. [Citations.] Where necessary, a contract may be

interpreted by reference to the circumstances under which it was

made or the matter to which it relates. . . . Extrinsic or parol

evidence may be used to explain ambiguity, context or related

28

matter.” (Fireman’s Fund Ins. Co. v. Workers’ Comp. Appeals Bd.

(2010) 189 Cal.App.4th 101, 110-111.)

“Although the [parol evidence] rule results in the exclusion

of evidence, it ‘is not a rule of evidence but is one of substantive

law.’” (Casa Herrera, Inc. v. Beydoun (2004) 32 Cal.4th 336, 343

(Casa Herrera).) The superior court’s determination whether the

contractual language is ambiguous is a question of law subject to

independent review. (Winet v. Price (1992) 4 Cal.App.4th 1159,

1165.) “When the competent parol evidence is in conflict, and

thus requires resolution of credibility issues, any reasonable

construction will be upheld as long as it is supported by

substantial evidence.” (Id. at p. 1166.)

Plaintiffs argue, “Where there is an integrated contract,

such as here, the Parol Evidence Rule prevents any attempt to

change the terms” of the contract. They assert that the XL

Insurance policy covered only a Heavy Transport, Inc. in Oregon,

and based on the court’s consideration of parol evidence, “the

terms [of the policy] as to the identity of HT Oregon [were]

changed to HT California.” Plaintiffs contend, “While the parties,

and the broker had every opportunity to seek a written

modification in the form of an endorsement for an additional

insured, they did not. They never claimed they made a mistake.

[Record citation.] Instead, they prevailed on the Trial Judge to

alter the terms for coverage in the insurance agreement to have it

apply to a different entity, a California corporation.” Bragg/HT

asserted below that its named insured was HT in California, and

only the Oregon address was erroneous. 5 Bragg/HT contends on

5Plaintiffs assert that Bragg/HT’s position is that because

Bragg as a parent company sought insurance or was insured, HT

29

appeal that in light of the competing constructions of the policy,

the superior court properly considered parol evidence to

determine the intent of the contracting parties.

We agree with Bragg/HT. The XL Insurance policy was

ambiguous as to whether the named insured was the HT in

California that employed Hollingsworth, or a different entity in

Oregon. In light of the parties’ competing interpretations of the

contract, the court appropriately considered parol evidence to

determine the meaning of the disputed terms. The parol

evidence rule “does not . . . prohibit the introduction of extrinsic

evidence ‘to explain the meaning of a written contract . . . [if] the

meaning urged is one to which the written contract terms are

reasonably susceptible.’” (Casa Herrera, supra, 32 Cal.4th at p.

343; see also Wolf, supra, 162 Cal.App.4th at p. 1126 [“Extrinsic

evidence is admissible . . . to interpret an agreement when a

material term is ambiguous”].) “[T]he intention of the parties as

expressed in the contract is the source of contractual rights and

duties.[ ] A court must ascertain and give effect to this intention

by determining what the parties meant by the words they used.

Accordingly, the exclusion of relevant, extrinsic evidence to

explain the meaning of a written instrument could be justified

only if it were feasible to determine the meaning the parties gave

to the words from the instrument alone.” (Pacific Gas & Elec. Co.

v. G. W. Thomas Drayage & Rigging Co. (1968) 69 Cal.2d 33, 38.)

Here, the intention of the parties was not clear from the words of

as Bragg’s subsidiary was automatically also insured. This does

not accurately reflect Bragg/HT’s position. Rather, Bragg/HT

contends that Bragg, “on behalf of itself and its divisions

including Heavy Transport,” obtained insurance that specifically

included HT as a division of Bragg.

30

the XL Insurance policy alone. In light of the differing

interpretations of the policy, the superior court’s consideration of

parol evidence to determine the intent of the parties was not

erroneous.

Substantial evidence showed that the parties intended HT

in California to be a named insured, and that inclusion of the

Oregon address was erroneous. Thomas Poskus of XL Insurance

stated in his declaration that at the time of the incident, HT was

a named insured under the policy. It was undisputed that XL

Insurance paid plaintiffs benefits under the policy, indicating

that XL Insurance had determined the claim was covered. Broker

Gregory Stone, who had worked with Bragg for years, testified

that HT, its two California locations, and its WCIRB

classification code as a trucking firm were included in the

insurance application prepared for XL Insurance. The

application supported this testimony. Stone further testified that

HT’s payroll projections informed the premium charged for the

insurance. “Trucking firms,” the classification code, and HT’s

payroll projection were included on the policy’s information page.

Substantial evidence supports the court’s conclusion that HT was

insured under the XL Insurance policy at the time of

Hollingsworth’s death.

Plaintiffs argue in their reply brief that there was a

“repeated assumption throughout [Bragg/HT’s] brief . . . that

since Bragg made an application for a Workers’ Compensation

Policy, just by submitting that application it would therefore

cover Heavy Transport’s operation in California.” This is not an

accurate representation of Bragg/HT’s position. Rather,

Bragg/HT asserts that the superior court properly considered

that HT and HT’s location were included in the insurance

31

application, HT’s payroll informed the policy premium, HT was a

named insured, XL Insurance did not dispute coverage, and XL

Insurance paid benefits on the claim. We agree that the court

properly considered these things to determine the intent of

Bragg/HT and XL Insurance, and see no evidence in the record

supporting plaintiffs’ contention that Bragg/HT argued that a

presumption of coverage arose based on the insurance application

alone.

Plaintiffs also argue in their reply that benefit payments

were made under Bragg’s name, not HT’s, and therefore HT “is

not entitled to immunity.” Plaintiffs cite Hernandez v. Chavez

Roofing, Inc. (1991) 235 Cal.App.3d 1092, which held that even

though the injured employee was covered by a “general

contractor’s workers’ compensation insurance,” the uninsured

employer was not immune from liability under Labor Code

section 3706. (Id. at p. 1095.) Hernandez is not applicable here,

because HT was not an uninsured employer. Furthermore, the

name on the benefit checks does not suggest that HT was

uninsured. To the contrary, as the superior court noted, payment

of the claim shows that XL Insurance found that the incident was

covered by the policy.

Plaintiffs have not demonstrated that the court erred in

considering parol evidence, or that the court “changed” the policy

by interpreting it to mean that HT was insured. The court’s

conclusions were supported by substantial evidence. The court

was therefore correct in finding that the WCAB has exclusive

jurisdiction over plaintiffs’ claims against HT and terminating

the proceedings as to HT.

32

DISPOSITION

The judgment is affirmed. Bragg/HT is entitled to recover

its costs on appeal.

CERTIFIED FOR PUBLICATION

COLLINS, J.

We concur:

MANELLA, P. J.

WILLHITE, J.

33

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.