Opinion

Arciga, Nohemi v. AtWork Personnel Services

  • 2016 TN WC App. 5
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Feb 2, 2016
Status
Published
On the bench
Marshall L. Davidson III, David F. Hensley, Timothy W. Conner
Cited by
0 cases

The opinion

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS' COMPENSATION

WORKERS' COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Nohemi Arciga ) Docket No. 2015-02-0217

)

v. )

) State File No. 6668-2015

At Work Personnel Services )

)

)

Appeal from the Court of Workers' )

Compensation Claims )

Brian K. Addington, Judge )

Affirmed and Remanded - February 2, 2016

In this interlocutory appeal, the employee alleges that she injured her right shoulder while

performing work activities. She received some authorized medical treatment, but the

employer subsequently denied that the need for medical treatment was causally-related to

the alleged shoulder injury and discontinued medical benefits. Following an expedited

hearing, the trial court ordered the employer to reinstate medical benefits, but denied her

claim for temporary disability benefits. The employee appealed, arguing that her

unrefuted lay testimony was sufficient to support a finding of medical causation. We

affirm the determination of the trial court and remand the case for any further

proceedings that may be necessary.

Judge Timothy W. Conner delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board, in which Judge

Marshall L. Davidson, III, and Judge David F. Hensley joined.

Russell Veldman, Chuckey, Tennessee, for the employee-appellant, Nohemi Arciga

Mary Elizabeth Maddox, Knoxville, Tennessee, for the employer-appellee, AtWork

Personnel Services

Factual and Procedural Background

Nohemi Arciga ("Employee") is a forty-six-year-old resident of Hamblen County,

Tennessee. She was employed by AtWork Personnel Services ("Employer"), a

temporary employment agency, and was assigned to work at a manufacturing facility in

Hamblen County. 1 On January 19, 2015, she experienced pain and symptoms in her

upper back and right shoulder while performing assembly work. She reported these

symptoms to her employer and was referred to a chiropractor for evaluation and

treatment. 2 She saw the chiropractor on three occasions between January 21, 2015 and

January 26, 2015. On the latter date, he released her to return as needed and also released

her to return to work. Employee was terminated on February 23, 2015 for "violating

safety requirements. " 3

Following her termination, Employee sought treatment from her primary care

physician and also demanded medical treatment from Employer. A panel of physicians

was provided from which she selected Healthstar Physicians on or about August 10,

2015. However, Employee did not attend an appointment with the Healthstar physician

until November 2, 2015. On that date, an unidentified Healthstar physician diagnosed

muscle spasms in her shoulder and prescribed medication and physical therapy.

Employee filed a Petition for _Benefit Determination on July 8, 2015, seeking

additional medical benefits and temporary disability benefits: Following the issuance of

a Dispute Certification Notice, Employee filed a Request for Expedited Hearing

("REH"). Although the REH sought a ruling without an evidentiary hearing, the trial

court chose to conduct an evidentiary hearing in accordance with Tenn. Comp. R. &.

Regs. 0800-02-21-.14(l)(c). Following the December 16, 2015 hearing, the trial court

entered an order compelling Employer to provide additional medical benefits, but

denying Employee's claim for temporary disability benefits. Employee timely appealed,

asserting the trial court erred in failing to find that her shoulder injury was work-related.

Standard of Review

The standard of review to be applied by this Board in reviewing a trial court's

decision is statutorily mandated and limited in scope. Specifically, "[t]here shall be a

1

No transcript of the proceedings in the trial court or statement of the evidence has been provided in this

appeal. Accordingly, we have gleaned the facts from the technical record, the trial court's expedited

hearing order, and the exhibits introduced during the expedited hearing.

2

The record is silent regarding whether Employee selected the chiropractor from a panel of physicians

provided by Employer.

3

Employee alleged a second work-related injury occurring on or about February 18, 2015, but the trial

court declined to consider evidence related to that claim and neither party raised this decision as an issue

on appeal.

2

presumption that the findings and conclusions of the workers' compensation judge are

correct, unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise." Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-

6-239(c)(7) (2014). The trial court's decision must be upheld unless the rights of a party

"have been prejudiced because findings, inferences, conclusions, or decisions of a

workers' compensation judge:

(A) Violate constitutional or statutory provisions;

(B) Exceed the statutory authority of the workers' compensation judge;

(C) Do not comply with lawful procedure;

(D) Are arbitrary, capricious, characterized by abuse of discretion, or

clearly an unwarranted exercise of discretion;

(E) Are not supported by evidence that is both substantial and material

in the light of the entire record."

Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-217(a)(3) (2015). Like other courts applying the standards

embodied in section 50-6-217(a)(3), we will not disturb the decision of the trial court

absent the limited circumstances identified in the statute.

Analysis

It is well-settled that an injured worker has the burden of proof on every essential

element of his or her claim. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-239(c)(6) (2015); see also

Buchanan v. Car/ex Glass Co., No. 2015-01-0012, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd.

LEXIS 39, at *5 (Tenn. Workers' Comp. App. Bd. Sept. 29, 2015). However, at an

expedited hearing at which pre-trial benefits are at issue, an employee need not prove

every element of his or her claim by a preponderance of the evidence but must come

forward with sufficient evidence from which the trial court can determine that the

employee is likely to prevail at a hearing on the merits consistent with Tennessee Code

Annotated section 50-6-239(d)(l) (2014). McCord v. Advantage Human Resourcing, No.

2014-06-0063, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 6, at *9 (Tenn. Workers' Comp.

App. Bd. Mar. 27, 2015). This lesser evidentiary standard "does not relieve an employee

of the burden of producing evidence of an injury by accident that arose primarily out of

and in the course and scope of employment at an expedited hearing, but allows some

relief to be granted if that evidence does not rise to the level of a 'preponderance of the

evidence."' Buchanan, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 39, at *6.

Moreover, the appealing party has the burden to ensure that an adequate record is

prepared on appeal. As explained in Vulcan Materials Co. v. Watson, No. M2003-00975-

WC-R3-CV, 2004 Tenn. LEXIS 451 (Tenn. Workers' Comp. Panel May 19, 2004):

The appellant has the duty of preparing a record that conveys a fair,

accurate and complete account of the proceedings in the trial court with

respect to the issues on appeal. We are provided with only the trial court's

3

findings of fact and conclusions of law rendered from the bench and the

exhibits introduced at the trial of this cause . . . . We do not have a record

of the lay testimony presented to the trial court. In the absence of an

adequate record on appeal, this Court must presume the trial court's

rulings were supported by sufficient evidence.

Id. at *6-7 (emphasis added) (citations omitted). Furthermore, there is a statutory

presumption "that the findings and conclusions of the workers' compensation judge are

correct, unless the preponderance of the evidence is otherwise." Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-

6-239(c)(7) (2015). In accordance with these established principles, without a transcript

or statement of the evidence, we presume that the trial court's rulings were supported by

sufficient evidence.

Employee asserts that the trial court "erred when it found insufficient proof that

the injury was work-related." With respect to the element of medical causation, an

employee has the burden of proving, to a reasonable degree of medical certainty, that the

work accident "contributed more than fifty percent (50%) in causing ... the need for

medical treatment, considering all causes." Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-102(14)(C) (2015).

In addition, the phrase "shown to a reasonable degree of medical certainty" is defined to

require an "opinion of the physician" that it is "more likely than not, considering all

causes." Tenn. Code Ann.§ 50-6-102(14)(D) (2015).

In the present case, Employee has offered no expert medical evidence to support a

finding of causation. Her lay testimony, while probative to the issue of causation, is

insufficient in and of itself to satisfy her burden of proof by a preponderance of the

evidence. Additionally, we have no record of Employee's testimony at the expedited

hearing and have no means to consider her testimony beyond what was cited by the trial

court in its order. Therefore, we find it was not error for the trial court to conclude that it

"cannot make a determination on the causation of Ms. Arciga's injury." Nevertheless, an

employee need not meet the ultimate burden of proof at an expedited hearing, but must

come forward with sufficient proof that he or she is likely to prevail at a hearing on the

merits. The trial court determined that Employee met that lesser burden and ordered

additional medical benefits.

Finally, we note that the trial court found "the reasonable course at this time is to

return [Employee] to Healthstar for a causation opinion of [Employee's] spasms."

Although an injured worker may have a statutory right to medical benefits, assuming the

applicable proof requirements are met, there is no right to a "causation opinion" as such.

See generally Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 50-6-204, 239(d)(l); Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0800-

02-17-.15 (2014). If a court determines that medical benefits are appropriate, the court

can order the initiation of such benefits, and the physician may be asked to address

causation in the course of treatment. However, it is each party's responsibility to secure

expert opinions or other evidence necessary to meet any applicable burden of proof.

4

Conclusion

We conclude it was not error for the trial court to find that it was unable to

determine the medical cause of Employee's shoulder condition. We therefore affirm the

trial court's order and remand the case for further proceedings as necessary.

W. Conner, Judge

' Compensation Appeals Board

5

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Nohemi Arciga ) Docket No. 2015-02-0217

)

v. )

) State File No. 6668-2015

AtWork Personnel Services )

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the

referenced case was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service

on this the 2nd day of February, 2016.

Name Certified First Class Via Fax Via Email Address

Mail Mail Fax Number Email

Russell Veldman X rveldman1@aol.com

Mary Beth Maddox X mmaddox@fmsllp.com

Brian K. Addington, X Via Electronic Mail

Judge

Kenneth M. Switzer, X Via Electronic Mail

Chief Judge

Penny Shrum, Clerk, X Penny.Patterson-Shrum@tn.gov

Court of Workers’

Compensation Claims

Matthew Salyer

Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-1606

Electronic Mail: Matthew.Salyer@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.