Opinion

Richard Michelhaugh v. Consolidated Nuclear Security, LLC

Court
Court of Appeals of Tennessee
Filed
Aug 11, 2020
Status
Published
On the bench
Judge John W. McClarty
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 12.3%

The opinion

08/11/2020

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF TENNESSEE

AT KNOXVILLE

February 19, 2020 Session

RICHARD MICHELHAUGH, ET AL. v. CONSOLIDATED NUCLEAR

SECURITY, LLC

Appeal from the Circuit Court for Anderson County

No. B8LA0053 Donald Ray Elledge, Judge

___________________________________

No. E2019-00361-COA-R3-CV

___________________________________

This appeal arises from a dispute over vacation benefits. The plaintiffs allege that their

employer deprived them of earned vacation time when it changed its vacation policy. The

plaintiffs moved for class certification, and the defendant filed a motion for summary

judgment. After hearing both motions, the trial court dismissed the plaintiffs’ complaint

with prejudice and denied the motion for class certification. The plaintiffs appeal. We

affirm the trial court’s ruling.

Tenn. R. App. P. Appeal as of Right; Judgment of the Circuit Court

Affirmed; Case Remanded

JOHN W. MCCLARTY, J., delivered the opinion of the court, in which D. MICHAEL SWINEY,

C.J., and ARNOLD B. GOLDIN, J., joined.

Gregory F. Coleman, Mark E. Silvey, and William A. Ladnier, Knoxville, Tennessee, for

the appellants, Richard Michelhaugh, John D. Williams, Jeff Gardner, and Monty Goins.

John C. Burgin, Jr., and John E. Winters, Knoxville, Tennessee, and Kristi McKinney

Stogsdill and Charles E. Young, Jr., Oak Ridge, Tennessee, for the appellee, Consolidated

Nuclear Security, LLC.

OPINION

I. BACKGROUND

Consolidated Nuclear Security, LLC (“CNS”) contracted with the Department of

Energy (“DOE”) to direct operations at the Y-12 facility in Oak Ridge, Tennessee. CNS

became the Y-12 facility contractor on July 1, 2014, and it replaced the former DOE

contractor, Babcock & Wilcox Technical Services Y-12, LLC (“B&W”). All four

plaintiffs–Richard Michelhaugh, John D. Williams, Jeff Gardner, and Monty Goins

(collectively “Plaintiffs”)–worked at the Y-12 facility for several years before the transition

from B&W to CNS. Plaintiffs were “at will” B&W employees, and they became “at will”

CNS employees on July 1, 2014.1

A B&W provision entitled Vacation Plan, Number Y11-Y114, Revision 12/13/12

(the “Vacation Plan”) governed employees’ 2014 vacation rights, and the interpretation of

the Vacation Plan is the principal issue in this case. Section B of the Vacation Plan applied

to employees with a Company Service Date (“CSD”) before January 1, 1996, and it gave

those salaried employees the right to receive all of their vacation time up-front at the start

of each year. All four Plaintiffs worked at the Y-12 facility before 1996, and had a CSD

before January 1, 1996. Accordingly, Section B of the Vacation Plan governed their

vacation rights. Because vacation time vested on December 31 of each year, Plaintiffs had

the ability to use their vacation time during the first week of the calendar year. However,

employees hired after 1996 did not have this vacation benefit and were instead required to

accrue vacation time incrementally throughout the calendar year.

From early March 2014 through June 2014 (the “Transition Period”), CNS provided

prospective employees with information about the transition from B&W to CNS.2 CNS

created a transition website that included information about its plan to change from

vacation time to a paid time off system (“PTO”) beginning in January 2015. CNS also

created an informational document entitled “2014-2015 Benefits Summary for Non-

Bargained Employees” (the “Benefits Summary”) and held informational sessions

(“Benefits Sessions”) to explain upcoming changes. CNS mailed copies of the Benefits

Summary to prospective employees in early June 2014 and encouraged prospective

employees to submit questions by e-mail. The Benefits Summary explained:

Effective January 1, 2015, CNS employees will accrue Paid

Time Off (PTO) hours every pay period based on years of

service. PTO accrued hours can be used for vacation, sick leave

and personal time off from work, and you can accrue up to 240

hours of PTO.

The CNS Human Resources Manager, Janet Hunt, spoke at the Benefits Sessions

and explained the transition from vacation time to PTO. CNS submitted a video in which

Ms. Hunt directly addressed whether CNS would continue the B&W practice of vesting

the next calendar year’s vacation on December 31 (for employees with a pre-1996 CSD).

Ms. Hunt stated:

1

Plaintiffs also worked at the Y-12 facility before B&W directed operations.

2

Most prospective CNS employees were currently employed by B&W before the transition period.

-2-

PTO hours will begin to accrue each pay period as we move

forward. So, I know many of you have been in a plan in the

past where you received a kind of advance accrual at the

beginning of the year. That will no longer be the case. So,

beginning with the 2015 accruals, then you will receive an

accrual per pay period so hours will be added to your bank

every time you receive a pay check. So that will build

throughout the year.

Three Plaintiffs attended a session in which Ms. Hunt made similar statements about

discontinuing the practice of advancing vacation time.3 She stated that any changes to the

Vacation Plan would not be effective until January 1, 2015, and Plaintiffs now argue that

this made them to believe they would still receive all of their 2015 vacation time in advance

on December 31, 2014.

CNS mailed offers of employment to prospective employees starting on June 2,

2014. The offer letters required all employees to read and accept CNS’s Terms and

Conditions of Employment. The document stated that “CNS adheres to the doctrine of

employment at will,” and, except for “at will” employment, “other terms of employment,

policies, or procedures may exist and be changed from time to time.” All four Plaintiffs

accepted CNS’s offers of employment on or before the June 9, 2014, deadline and became

CNS employees on July 1, 2014.

CNS initially continued the existing Vacation Plan without change. However, on

December 11, 2014, CNS formally issued Standing Order SO-Y-12-15-2007 (the

“Standing Order”), which eliminated Section B of the Vacation Plan. CNS asserts that the

Standing Order was issued in order to reconcile the Vacation Plan with the new CNS PTO

policy that would begin on January 1, 2015. Plaintiffs and CNS agree that the Standing

Order took effect before December 31, 2014, when, under the Vacation Plan, Plaintiff’s

“next calendar year’s vacation” would have otherwise “vested.” The CNS website

explained the impact of the change:

Q: What happens to my 2014 accrued vacation?

A: Accrued vacation hours in your “bank” as of December 31,

2014, up to a maximum of 240 hours, will be carried over to

your CNS PTO account. Accrued hours over 240 will be paid

out as soon as administratively possible.

Plaintiffs claim that this standing order unexpectedly eliminated vacation benefits

3

Michelhaugh, Williams, and Goins each attended a session. Gardner was aware of but did not attend any of

the sessions.

-3-

that they had earned by working in 2014. CNS argues that the standing order did not

eliminate Plaintiffs’ vacation time; it only changed the timeline under which they received

their 2015 PTO.4 CNS asserts that the advance accrual system of Section B of the Vacation

Plan gave Plaintiffs access to all of the coming year’s vacation time before that calendar

year actually started (it was always awarded on December 31). Thus, eliminating Section

B only ended the advance accrual system. Under CNS’s interpretation of the Vacation Plan,

Section B gave Plaintiffs a benefit that was reserved for long standing facility employees.

Employees with CSDs before 1996 did not actually earn vacation time by working

throughout the previous calendar year. Instead, their former employer5 advanced all of their

vacation time without requiring them to first earn that vacation.

Plaintiffs take the opposite position and argue that Section B did not create an

advance accrual system. They contend that vacation time in any given calendar year was

always earned by working throughout the previous year; vacation time was not awarded in

advance. Under their interpretation of the plan, an employee earns vacation time by

working for an entire year, the vacation time is collectively awarded on December 31 of

that year (the year in which it was allegedly earned), but it cannot be used until the

following calendar year.

The relevant provision of the Vacation Plan states:

Vested Rights to Vacation Eligibility for Salaried Employees:

A salaried employee has vested rights to next calendar year’s

vacation if all of the following are applicable:

(1) the salaried employee was hired prior to January 1, 1996,

or was reinstated on or after January 1, 1996, with immediate

restoration of prior service which results in an adjusted

company service date of December 31, 1995, or earlier;

(2) the salaried employee has completed one year of company

service credit; and

(3) the salaried employee was on the payroll of the company

on December 31st.

4

Note that through the end of 2014 vacation benefits were referred to as “vacation time.”

Beginning in 2015, vacation time was called “PTO” per CNS’s new policy.

5

B&W adopted the Vacation Plan from the previous facility contractor and, much like

CNS, amended the plan as needed. Accordingly, there were several amendments to the Vacation

Plan through the years, but each facility contractor gave employees hired before 1996 the advance

accrual benefit.

-4-

Appendix B to the Vacation Plan explained that employees with CSDs before 1996 had a

“vested vacation for next CY [calendar year] on 12/31 of previous CY.” The Vacation Plan

did not use the word “earned” in any sentence applicable to an employee with a CSD before

January 1, 1996. Plaintiffs admitted that Part 1, Section B of the Vacation Plan never used

the words “accrued” or “earned.”

In August 2015, Plaintiffs Michelhaugh and Williams filed their original complaint

against CNS on behalf of themselves and others similarly situated. CNS moved to dismiss,

the trial court granted the motion, and Plaintiffs appealed. We overturned the dismissal and

remanded the case for further proceedings.6 The Tennessee Supreme Court denied CNS’s

application to appeal.7 On remand, the two original Plaintiffs–Michelhaugh and Williams–

and CNS agreed to a pre-trial scheduling order that required any motion for class

certification to be filed by September 22, 2017, 180 days before the March 21, 2018, trial

date. Plaintiffs did not file a motion for class certification in Michelhaugh I. On November

7, 2017, Plaintiffs voluntarily dismissed their claims without prejudice.

The original Plaintiffs filed the current action on April 11, 2018, and two additional

Plaintiffs, Gardner and Goins, joined the suit.8 The parties conducted discovery, and

Plaintiffs moved for class certification on August 24, 2018. CNS opposed the motion for

class certification and filed its motion for summary judgment on October 2, 2018. The trial

court set both motions for a hearing scheduled on January 25, 2019. The trial court

extensively questioned both counsel and quoted from our decision in Michelhaugh I.

After the hearing, the trial court issued a ruling in which it granted CNS’s motion

for summary judgment, dismissed the Plaintiffs’ complaint with prejudice, and denied the

Plaintiffs’ motion for class certification. The court determined that the four Plaintiffs, and

any putative class members, were not deprived of any earned or vested vacation when CNS

issued the Standing Order that eliminated Part B of the Vacation Plan on December 11,

2014. That document only operated prospectively. The claims of Plaintiffs Gardner and

Goins–and any claims that could have been asserted by putative class members–were

dismissed with prejudice as untimely.9 The claims of Plaintiffs Michelhaugh and Williams

were also dismissed with prejudice, and the motion for class certification was denied as

moot. The court further determined that Plaintiffs failed to comply with Rule 56.03 of the

6

Michelhaugh v. Consol. Nuclear Sec., LLC, No. E2016-01075-COA-R3-CV (Tenn. Ct.

App. Nov. 28, 2016 (“Michelhaugh I”)).

7

Michelhaugh v. Consol. Nuclear Sec., LLC, No. E2016-01075-SC-R11-CV (Mar. 9, 2017)

(designated “Not for Citation”).

8

Plaintiffs Gardner and Goins never moved to become parties in Michelhaugh I.

9

The trial court referred to the holding in Tigg v. Pirelli Tire Corp., 232 S.W.3d 28, 35

(Tenn. 2007), in which the Tennessee Supreme Court refrained from adopting the doctrine of class

action tolling. In light of that ruling, the trial court found that Plaintiffs Gardner and Goins, and

any other putative class members, could not rely on the doctrine of class action tolling.

-5-

Tennessee Rules of Civil Procedure because they did not provide specific citations to

record evidence to support their dispute(s) of CNS’s statement of material facts.10

A final order was entered on March 19, 2019. Plaintiffs thereafter timely filed this

appeal.

II. ISSUES

We restate the issues raised as follows:

1. Whether the trial court erred in finding that Plaintiffs failed

to comply with Rule 56 of the Tennessee Rules of Civil

Procedure.

2. Whether the trial court erred in finding that the doctrine of

class action tolling did not apply, thereby rendering the claims

of Plaintiff Gardner and Goins, along with those of other

putative class members, untimely.

3. Whether the trial court erred in granting summary judgment

in favor of CNS.

III. STANDARD OF REVIEW

This case was decided by summary judgment, which is appropriate when “the

pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories, and admissions on file, together with the

affidavits, if any, show that there is no genuine issue as to any material fact and that the

moving party is entitled to a judgment as a matter of law.” Rye v. Women’s Care Ctr. of

Memphis, MPLLC, 477 S.W.3d 235, 250 (Tenn. 2015); Dick Broad. Co., Inc. of Tenn. v.

Oak Ridge FM, Inc., 395 S.W.3d 653, 671 (Tenn. 2013). We review a trial court’s ruling

on a motion for summary judgment de novo, without a presumption of correctness. Id. In

doing so, we make a fresh determination of whether the requirements of Rule 56 of the

Tennessee Rules of Civil Procedure have been satisfied. Rye, 477 S.W.3d at 250 (citing

Estate of Brown, 402 S.W.3d 193, 198 (Tenn. 2013); Hughes v. New Life Dev. Corp., 387

S.W.3d 453, 471 (Tenn. 2012)).

Because Plaintiffs argue that the trial court misapplied Rule 56.03 of the Tennessee

Rules of Civil Procedure, the standard of review with regard to that issue is abuse of

discretion. In Owens v. Bristol Motor Speedway, Inc., we held that we review a trial court’s

10

Several of Plaintiffs’ responses only restated what the Plaintiffs’ “contended,” which also

failed to comply with Rule 56.06 of the Tennessee Rules of Civil Procedure.

-6-

enforcement of Rule 56.03 for an abuse of discretion. 77 S.W.3d 771, 774-775 (Tenn. Ct.

App. 2001); see also Holland v. City of Memphis, 125 S.W.3d 425, 428-429 (Tenn. Ct.

App. 2003).

IV. DISCUSSION

Entitlement to Summary Judgment

To prevail in their suit, Plaintiffs must establish that CNS deprived its employees of

earned vacation compensation when it eliminated Section B of the Vacation Plan. An

essential element of such claim is that the compensation in question was actually earned

during the period at issue, 2014. Since Section B of the Vacation Plan governed Plaintiffs’

2014 vacation rights, they must demonstrate that–under Section B and past practices–

employees did in fact earn their 2015 vacation time by working during 2014.

Plaintiffs contend that Section B of the Vacation Plan supports their argument and

demonstrates that employees were in fact earning the following year’s vacation time by

working in the preceding year. However, this argument is based on their interpretation of

Vacation Plan rather than the plain language of Section B and corresponding documents.

CNS relies on the plain language of Section B, arguing that it does not support Plaintiffs’

argument or indicate that employees earned 2015’s vacation time by working in 2014.

Plaintiffs argue that, in light of the parties’ disagreement as to the meaning of Section B,

there is a genuine issue of material fact that must be submitted to a jury for resolution.

Summary judgment is appropriate when the moving party demonstrates that the

evidence is insufficient to establish an essential element of the nonmoving party’s claim.

Rule 56.03 requires the party seeking summary judgment to provide a separate concise

statement of the material facts as to which the moving party contends there is no genuine

issue for trial. Tenn. R. Civ. P. 56.03. Each fact must be set forth in a separate, numbered

paragraph along with a specific citation to the record. Id. The nonmoving party must file a

response to each fact and either (1) agree that the fact is undisputed; (2) agree that the fact

is undisputed for the purposes of the motion; or (3) demonstrate with a specific citation to

the record that the fact is disputed. Id. The nonmoving party may also provide additional

facts to which the nonmoving party contends there exists a genuine issue to be tried. Id.

Each such fact should be set forth in a separate, numbered paragraph with specific citations

to the record. Id.

The record before us reveals that CNS is entitled to summary judgment because

Plaintiffs failed to establish–by reference to facts and record evidence–that employees

earned 2015 vacation compensation by working in 2014. Plaintiffs repeatedly assert that

the Vacation Plan itself supports their argument, but they failed to cite to any specific

language that justifies their position or their interpretation of Section B. The plain language

of Section B does not support their argument, and Plaintiffs did not provide additional facts

-7-

to establish that employees did in fact earn vacation time. Because Plaintiffs failed to

establish an essential element of their deprivation of earned vacation compensation claim,

the trial court correctly determined that CNS was entitled to summary judgment as a matter

of law.

A disagreement over specific facts is different from a disagreement over the

interpretation of a document. The Vacation Plan and corresponding documents were

submitted into evidence, and both parties agree that the documents were authentic. Further,

Plaintiffs admitted under oath that the relevant parts of the Vacation Plan never used the

words “earned” or “accrued.” Plaintiffs also admitted that CNS changed the Vacation Plan

before Plaintiffs’ “next calendar year’s vacation” would have vested on December 31 under

the Vacation Plan’s previous terms. They do not dispute the plain language of the Vacation

Plan, but nonetheless argue for an alternative interpretation that supports their position.

After searching the record, it is clear that Plaintiffs failed to provide the trial court with any

citations that could have established that they actually earned vacation time. Further,

Plaintiffs failed to demonstrate that a genuine dispute of material fact exists. Citing to your

own legal arguments–or arguing for an alternative interpretation of a document–is not

sufficient to establish a genuine dispute of material fact. State v. Trotter, No. E2018-00390-

COA-R3-CV, 2019 WL 354969, at *9 (Tenn. Ct. App. Jan. 28, 2019). Plaintiffs failed to

establish an essential element of their claim, and they failed to competently dispute CNS’s

statement of facts. Accordingly, we affirm the trial court’s determination and find that CNS

is entitled to summary judgment as a matter of law.

Trial Court’s Enforcement of Rule 56.03

Plaintiffs argue the trial court misapplied Rule 56.03 of the Tennessee Rules of Civil

Procedure by requiring “strict” and “rigid” adherence to the rule. Plaintiffs assert that the

trial court should have applied a “more relaxed reading” instead of requiring record

citations to the “page in the record containing those facts.” They argue as follows:

“[R]edundant citations–as Judge Elledge determined were necessary under his

interpretation of Rule 56.03–would have done nothing to actually assist the trial court in

ascertaining whether these material issues of fact existed.” We cannot agree. The trial court

specifically stated to Plaintiffs’ counsel, “I’ve read this, but in order to compare it and look

at it, I need something, some type of reference, to that.” Plaintiffs failed to provide the trial

court with proper citations, and they failed to move for a continuance to fix their errors.

Plaintiffs contend that they supported their responses with cross-references to

“expansive explanatory arguments.” However, on closer review, several of their cross-

references repeatedly state, “See generally Plaintiffs’ Response in Opposition to

Defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment.” Since Plaintiffs repeatedly used

generalizations instead of providing specific pages or record citations, their cross-

references failed to satisfy Rule 56.03’s specificity requirements.

-8-

Trial courts have the authority to enforce the Tennessee Rules of Civil Procedure.

The trial court could have, in its discretion, waived complete compliance with Rule 56.03,

but it was not required to do so. Plaintiffs failed to comply with the rule at issue and

repeatedly failed to support their response to CNS’s statement of undisputed material facts

with proper citations to record evidence. Owens, 77 S.W.3d at 774-775; see also Holland,

125 S.W.3d at 428-429. Thus, the trial court acted within its discretion when it determined

that Plaintiffs’ response paragraphs “4, 10, 11, 45, 48, 53, 56, 59, 60, 61, 69, 71 through

78, 81, 82, 87 through 90” failed to comply with Rule 56.03 or otherwise failed to

demonstrate the existence of a disputed material fact. For the reasons set forth above, we

affirm the trial court’s ruling.

Deprivation of Earned Compensation Claim

Plaintiffs argue they were deprived of earned vacation compensation when CNS

issued the Standing Order that formally eliminated Section B of the Vacation Plan.

Reviewing the record before us, the evidence shows that CNS had the right to prospectively

change its Vacation Plan, and it did so before Plaintiffs’ 2015 vacation vested, accrued, or

was earned. CNS informed prospective employees that the Vacation Plan would change

beginning in 2015, and Plaintiffs were notified about these changes before they accepted

positions as “at will” employees. Plaintiffs were never deprived of their 2015 vacation

benefits because they began accruing PTO incrementally in January 2015.

In Tennessee, the agreement between an employer and its employee determines

whether an employee’s compensation includes vacation time, when that vacation accrues,

and whether an employee is entitled to vacation upon termination. Phillips v. Memphis

Furn. Mfg. Co., 573 S.W.2d 493, 494-495 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1978); accord Hance v. United

Family Life Ins. Co., 725 S.W.2d 680, 682 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1986). How and when

employees earn vacation time is purely a matter of agreement. Eades v. Bristol Mem. Hosp.,

No. 72, 1986 WL 10924 at *4 (Tenn.1986); Tenn. Code Ann.§ 50-2-103(a)(4). The

Tennessee Supreme Court has held that an employer has no obligation to provide an

employee with paid time off “in the absence of its agreement to.” Id. Further, at will

employees–such as Plaintiffs–have no contractual right to demand that an employer

continue any past practice. See Cummings, Inc. v. Dorgan, 320 S.W.3d 316, 335 (Tenn. Ct.

App. 2009); Rose v. Tipton Cnty. Pub. Works Dep’t, 953 S.W.2d 690, 694 (Tenn. Ct. App.

1997).

In order to analyze the agreement between Plaintiffs and CNS, we must first

understand Plaintiffs’ agreement with B&W and other past DOE contractors. Under past

versions of the Vacation Plan, employees would earn vacation time incrementally during

their first year of employment. Once an employee had worked at the Y-12 facility for one

year–and they received their time off for that year–they would begin receiving advance

accrual of the next year’s vacation. The advance accrual was awarded on December 31 to

be used in the following calendar year. Under this system, B&W advanced Plaintiffs’ entire

-9-

2014 vacation on December 31, 2013. Thus, when CNS became the DOE contractor in

mid-2014, Plaintiffs already had access to all of their 2014 vacation benefits.

Because CNS replaced B&W in the middle of the calendar year, it agreed to

temporarily adopt the Vacation Plan for the remainder of 2014. However, CNS informed

all prospective employees that the Vacation Plan would change beginning in 2015 and that

past practices, such as advance accrual of vacation time, would be eliminated. CNS never

told Plaintiffs that they would earn vacation time by working during the remainder of 2014,

and CNS did not agree to pay Plaintiffs’ “next calendar year’s vacation” upfront on

December 31, 2014. Nevertheless, this dispute arose when, consistent with its previous

statements, CNS eliminated Section B of the Vacation Plan.

Section B stated that an employee hired before 1996 “has vested rights to the next

calendar year’s vacation” if the employee is “on the payroll” as of December 31. Under

CNS’s interpretation of the Vacation Plan, no vacation vests (or accrues or is earned) until

December 31, and the vacation time that vests on December 31 is “the next calendar year’s

vacation.” CNS argues that Section B annually advanced the following calendar year’s

vacation time without first requiring employees to earn that vacation time. CNS takes the

position that employees were never earning next year’s vacation by working during the

previous calendar year; they were simply awarded all of their vacation time upfront. Thus,

if Plaintiffs were “earning” anything by working during 2014, the vacation time that they

earned was undoubtedly the vacation time that B&W preemptively advanced to them on

January 31, 2013. CNS argues that Section B’s advance accrual system created a benefit

that was reserved for long-standing facility employees, and it allowed them to take paid

vacation leave during the month of January.11 Reviewing the relevant portions of the

Vacation Plan and past practices, we agree with CNS’s interpretation of the Vacation Plan.

Under Tennessee law, CNS had the right to prospectively change its Vacation Plan,

and it did so when it issued the Standing Order that eliminated Section B. CNS did not

deprive Plaintiffs of any vested vacation rights or earned compensation because the change

happened before any of Plaintiffs’ 2015 vacation time would have otherwise vested on

December 31. If CNS had not issued the Standing Order, then Plaintiffs would have

received double vacation time in a single calendar year.12 To avoid this result, CNS had to

eliminate Section B before December 31, and it did not matter whether that change

happened on July 1 or December 30, so long as Section B was eliminated before Plaintiffs’

vacation time vested. The Standing Order satisfied this requirement because it was issued

11

Since Section B only applied to employees with a CSD before 1996, new hires and the

majority of facility employees were not given this same benefit. When Section B was eliminated,

it ended this practice and meant that employees with a CSD before 1996 would have to accrue

vacation time incrementally, in the same manner as post-1996 employees.

12

Under the unamended version of the Vacation Plan, an entire year of vacation time would

have vested on December 31, 2014. Then, under the new PTO plan, which took effect in January

2015, Plaintiffs would accrue vacation time incrementally at the end of each pay period.

- 10 -

on December 11, 2014, and went into effect that same day. When CNS ended the advance

accrual system and implemented its PTO system, Plaintiffs began receiving their PTO

incrementally rather than in one lump-sum distribution at the start of the calendar year.

However, this change did not deprive Plaintiffs of any vacation benefits or PTO.

Plaintiffs’ entire claim is based on their flawed interpretation of the Vacation Plan.

Specifically, they rely on a single clause in Section B to argue their position: in order to

have vested vacation rights the salaried employee must be on the company payroll on

December 31. They argue that employees earned vacation time by working for an entire

calendar year, the vacation time was collectively awarded on December 31 of that same

year, and it could only be used in the following year. Under Plaintiffs’ interpretation of

the Vacation Plan, employees must forfeit all of their earned vacation benefits if their

employment ends any time before December 31. Further, employees must work 365 days

before they can actually use any of their earned vacation time. This type of vacation plan

is both uncommon and unrealistic. Under this interpretation of the Vacation Plan,

employees hired after 1996 CSDs have historically been treated better than the employees

with more seniority.13 This result simply does not square with logic or past practices.

Plaintiffs’ interpretation of the Vacation Plan contradicts the plain language of

Section B and corresponding documents, the Benefits Meetings, past practices, and other

facts in the record. CNS never deprived Plaintiffs of any earned vacation compensation

because there is no evidence that Plaintiffs earned 2015’s vacation time by working in

2014. Because Plaintiffs received their 2015 vacation time/PTO as it accrued incrementally

throughout 2015, finding in their favor would result in a double recovery that cannot be

allowed. For the reasons stated, we affirm the trial court’s determination and find that CNS

had the right to prospectively change its Vacation Plan, it did so before any of Plaintiffs’

2015 Vacation Benefits vested, and the change did not deprive Plaintiffs of any earned

vacation compensation.

Misrepresentation Claim

Plaintiffs argue that statements Ms. Hunt made during the Benefits Meetings led

them to believe that they would still receive an advance accrual of their 2015 vacation

benefits on December 31, 2014. In particular, Ms. Hunt stated, “I just wanted to reiterate

these changes are effective January 1, 2015, as moving to a PTO policy, so your vacation

will stay in effect as of July 1 through the end of the year 2014.” They contend this

statement suggested that, since the new policy would not take effect until 2015, they would

13

Newly hired employees did not have to work an entire year before they received any

vacation benefits or PTO. It is not logical to think that long-term employees would have been held

to more cumbersome standards.

- 11 -

still receive an advance accrual of their entire 2015 vacation on December 31, 2014. This

Court has addressed the issue of misrepresentation in the workplace in past cases:

In commercial transactions the law has recognized a less stringent standard

of liability for fraudulent misrepresentations than the common law action for

deceit. One who, in the course of his business, profession, or employment,

or during a transaction in which he had a pecuniary interest, supplies false

information for the guidance of others in their business transactions, is

subject to liability for pecuniary loss caused to them by their justifiable

reliance upon such information, if he fails to exercise reasonable care or

competence in obtaining or communicating the information. This standard of

liability substitutes a reasonable care standard for the common law scienter

requirement. In other words, in business transactions, a defendant can be held

liable for negligent misrepresentations.

Alley v. Quebecor World Kingsport, Inc., 182 S.W.3d 300, 303 (Tenn. Ct. App. 2005)

citing to Holt v. American Progressive Life Ins. Co., 731 S.W.2d 923, 927 (Tenn. Ct.

App. 1987).

On the one hand, the Standing Order could be interpreted as contradicting Ms.

Hunt’s statements and the terms under which Plaintiffs accepted their employment offers.

However, on closer review, Ms. Hunt’s statement was not a misrepresentation. CNS and

Ms. Hunt exercised reasonable care in communicating information to Plaintiffs and other

potential employees, and there is no evidence that any of the statements were intended to

mislead potential employees. In the context of the Benefits Meetings, the statement was

generally directed at the entire group of attendees and not just Plaintiffs or employees with

CSDs before 1996. In all likelihood, a majority of attendees had CSDs after 1996, and these

employees did not have the benefit of Section B’s advance accrual system. In this general

context, Ms. Hunt’s statement simply meant that most employees would continue accruing

vacation time incrementally through the remainder of 2014.14

CNS notified Plaintiffs that the advance accrual system would end, it mailed them

letters explaining these changes, and it encouraged Plaintiffs to send in questions via email.

In light of these facts, Plaintiffs had no reason to believe that they would still receive an

advance accrual of their 2015 vacation time on December 31, 2014. Plaintiffs were

responsible for understanding the terms of their employment, and reviewing the benefits

summary before accepting employment with CNS.

14

The portions of Vacation Plan that applied to post-1996 employees–the majority

of the workforce and prospective employees–remained intact through the close of 2014

and were not affected by the Standing Order or the elimination of Part B.

- 12 -

Even if Ms. Hunt’s statements are construed as misleading, they are not material to

Plaintiffs’ deprivation of earned compensation claim. “The issues central to the Court’s

evaluation of a motion for summary judgment are whether a factual dispute exists, whether

the disputed fact is material to the outcome of the case, and whether the disputed fact

creates a genuine issue for trial.” Cox v. Tennessee Farmers Mut. Ins. Co., 297 S.W.3d

237, 245 (Tenn. Ct. App. 2009). In this case, what matters is whether Plaintiffs earned 2015

vacation time by working in 2014, and whether CNS deprived them of that vacation time.

Ms. Hunt’s statements are not material because they have no bearing on that issue. The

Vacation Plan itself is what matters, and the parties do not dispute the text of that document.

Ms. Hunt’s statements may have been material to a misrepresentation claim, but Plaintiffs’

complaint asserted no such claim, nor was it amended to assert such claim. We have held

that a plaintiff may not raise a new theory of recovery for the first time in response to a

defendant’s motion for summary judgment, and that is exactly what Plaintiffs have

attempted to do. Blackburn v. Pre-Paid Legal, 398 S.W.3d 630, 661 (Tenn. Ct. App. 2010)

(citations and quotations omitted).

Statute of Limitations

The statute of limitations started running when CNS changed from the Vacation

Plan to the PTO policy on January 1, 2015. The three-year statute of limitations in

Tennessee Code Annotated section 28-3-105 required claims to be filed by January 1, 2018.

Original Plaintiffs filed their complaint on August 5, 2015, but voluntarily dismissed their

complaint on November 7, 2017. Under the saving statute, original Plaintiffs had one year

to refile their complaint, and Plaintiffs Michelhaugh and Williams met that deadline when

they refiled the current complaint on April 11, 2018. Tennessee Code Annotated § 28-1-

105(a). However, when Plaintiffs Gardner and Goins filed their claims on April 11, 2018,

the statute of limitations had expired by over three months. Because their claims are time-

barred, an issue before the trial court was whether Plaintiffs Gardner and Goins, and any

putative class members, could establish that the statute of limitations had been tolled.

Plaintiffs had the burden of proof as to this issue. See Redwing v. Catholic Bishop for the

Diocese of Memphis, 363 S.W.3d 436, 460 (Tenn. 2012).

Plaintiffs argue that their claims were tolled by the saving statute and by the class

action tolling doctrine. They assert that the trial court “failed to account for the fact that

Plaintiffs’ Rule 41.01 voluntary dismissal restarted the entire action, allowing Plaintiffs to

seek certification of the putative class upon refiling.” Plaintiffs also argue that the trial

court reached an erroneous decision by relying on Tigg v. Pirelli Tire Corp., 232 S.W.3d

28 (Tenn. 2007). Despite these arguments, Plaintiffs failed to cite to any sources that

address the current situation and instead relied on cases that are structurally different than

the one at bar. Here, two Plaintiffs voluntarily dismissed a prior action and they, along with

two new Plaintiffs, filed an action after the statute of limitations lapsed. For the reasons set

forth below, we affirm the trial court’s ruling and find that claims asserted by Plaintiffs

Gardner and Goins, and any putative class members, are dismissed as untimely.

- 13 -

Rule 41.01 provides that, subject to some limitations, plaintiffs have a right to

voluntarily dismiss their claims without prejudice. However, Rule 41.01 does not mention

the ability to refile an action, and it does not determine the timeliness of a second action.

Instead, the respective statute of limitations and the saving statute govern the plaintiffs’

ability to timely refile the original claim. Rule 23.04 of the Tennessee Rules of Civil

Procedure gives the trial court authority to establish a time for filing a class certification

motion.15 When a trial court sets a deadline for filing a motion for class certification–and

the suit is voluntarily dismissed but later refiled–any tolling that applied from filing the

prior action ceases if the plaintiffs fail to file their motion for class certification before the

deadline. Tigg, 232 S.W.3d at 30.16

In this case, the Michelhaugh I scheduling order determines whether Plaintiffs’

motion for class certification was timely. “The Plaintiffs shall file any motion for class

certification as soon as practicable, but not later than 180 days before trial.” Both parties

agreed to the scheduling order, and Plaintiffs knew they were required to file their motion

by September 22, 2017. Plaintiffs allowed that deadline to pass without moving for class

certification and voluntarily dismissed their claims several weeks later. Plaintiffs failed to

comply with the scheduling order, and they are bound by that result.

The claims of Plaintiffs Goins and Gardner–and other putative class members–

cannot be saved by the federal class action tolling doctrine or the saving statute. The saving

statute does not protect them because they were not named in Michelhaugh I. In general, a

proposed but uncertified class action does not bind nonparties, and Plaintiffs do not cite

any decision in which putative class members are considered plaintiffs for purposes of the

saving statute. Smith v. Bayer Corp., 564 U.S. 299, 315 (2011).

Furthermore, Tennessee has not adopted the federal class action tolling doctrine

which allows members of a proposed but uncertified class to file individual lawsuits or

intervene in the pending action within the statutory limitations period.17 Even if Tennessee

had adopted this doctrine, it could only be used to save the individual claims of Goins and

Gardner. However, the Tennessee Supreme Court refrained from adopting the federal class

action tolling doctrine in Tigg, stating, “Even if we were to adopt a class action tolling

15

The trial court does not have a local rule on the motion for certification for class-action

lawsuits. Instead, the court relies on scheduling orders to determine filing deadlines.

16

In Tigg, the Tennessee Supreme Court determined that a previous purported class action

filed by other replacement workers did not operate to toll the applicable statutes of limitations after

the time for seeking class certification expired, and thus the later action was untimely. “We hold

that the complaint filed by the previous plaintiffs, which purported to be a class action, did not

operate to toll the statutes of limitations for the plaintiffs in this case after the time for seeking

class certification expired.”

17

The federal class action tolling doctrine only applies to individual claims, and the

Supreme Court held that class action tolling did not toll the time for filing class claims. Tigg, 232

S.W. 3d at 32; China Agritech, Inc. v. Resh, 138 S. Ct. 1800, 1806 (2018).

- 14 -

doctrine, we would hold that the plaintiffs are barred by the statutes of limitations on their

claims because the previous plaintiffs failed to protect the other potential members of the

class.” Tigg, 232 S.W.3d at 35.

It is undisputed that the current claims were filed after the three-year statute of

limitations expired. It is also undisputed that original Plaintiffs did not move to certify the

class in Michelhaugh I, and thereby failed to protect potential members of the class.

Plaintiffs Gardner and Goins should have filed their individual claims within the original

limitations period (by January 1, 2018), but they failed to do so. Therefore, the trial court

properly determined that the three-year statute of limitations bars the claims of Plaintiffs

Gardner and Goins and any claims a putative class member could assert.

V. CONCLUSION

The judgment of the trial court is affirmed. The case is remanded for further

proceedings as may be necessary. Costs of the appeal are assessed to the appellants,

Richard Michelhaugh, John D. Williams, Jeff Gardner, and Monty Goins.

_________________________________

JOHN W. MCCLARTY, JUDGE

- 15 -

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.