Opinion

Kurpiewski v. Workers' Comp. Appeal Bd.

  • 202 A.3d 870
Court
Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania
Filed
Jan 18, 2019
Status
Published
Author
Jubelirer
On the bench
Leavitt, Jubelirer, Ceisler
Cited by
13 cases
Authority
More cited than 67.3%

to be entitled to WC benefits, claimant must not only establish a work-related injury, but also a “disability” from that injury, defined as the “loss of earnings or earning power that is caused by a work-related injury”

How later courts described this case

  • to be entitled to WC benefits, claimant must not only establish a work-related injury, but also a “disability” from that injury, defined as the “loss of earnings or earning power that is caused by a work-related injury”
  • addressing an issued based on the certified record

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Thomas Kurpiewski, :

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 158 C.D. 2018

:

Workers’ Compensation Appeal :

Board (Caretti, Inc.), :

Respondent :

:

Caretti, Inc., :

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 194 C.D. 2018

: Submitted: September 28, 2018

Workers’ Compensation Appeal :

Board (Kurpiewski), :

Respondent :

BEFORE: HONORABLE MARY HANNAH LEAVITT, President Judge

HONORABLE RENÉE COHN JUBELIRER, Judge

HONORABLE ELLEN CEISLER, Judge

OPINION BY

JUDGE COHN JUBELIRER FILED: January 18, 2019

Presently before the Court are the cross-petitions for review from the Order

of the Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Board) filed by Thomas Kurpiewski

(Claimant) and Caretti, Inc. (Employer).1 Claimant petitions for review of the

Board’s Order that, in relevant part, modified a Workers’ Compensation Judge’s

(WCJ) decision awarding Claimant ongoing workers’ compensation (WC) benefits

to reflect an award of benefits for a closed period between June 21, 2012, and

1

The petitions for review were consolidated by this Court.

August 14, 2012, and directed the recalculation of Claimant’s average weekly

wage (AWW). Employer petitions for review of the Board’s Order, which

reversed the WCJ’s decision denying Claimant’s Penalty Petition and awarded

Claimant a 10-percent penalty.

I. Background

A. Proceedings before the WCJ

Claimant, a union bricklayer, worked for Employer on various job sites,

most recently in the Spring of 2012. In April 2012, while working for Employer,

Claimant broke out into a rash on various parts of his body. He left work on April

16, 2012, and did not return at the instruction of his physician, Joel Laury, M.D.

Dr. Laury diagnosed Claimant with allergic contact dermatitis arising from

Claimant’s long-term work exposure to chromium, which is found in bricks,

concrete, and mortar. On June 21, 2012, Claimant filed a Claim Petition and a

Penalty Petition, alleging, respectively, that he suffered the above injury and that

Employer violated the WC Act2 (Act) by not timely accepting or denying liability

for that injury. In addition to ongoing WC benefits and a penalty, Claimant sought

attorneys’ fees, alleging Employer’s contest became unreasonable following a

November 6, 2012 Independent Medical Examination (IME) that indicated

Claimant’s condition was work-related and he could not return to his position as a

bricklayer. Employer filed answers denying the material allegations in the

Petitions.

The Petitions were consolidated, and the WCJ held hearings, at which

Claimant testified as follows. Claimant began working as a bricklayer when he left

2

Act of June 2, 1915, P.L. 736, as amended, 77 P.S. §§ 1 - 1041.4, 2501-2708.

2

high school, approximately 18 years prior to the December 4, 2012 hearing.

(Reproduced Record (R.R.) at 21a.) Thus, he has worked as a bricklayer since

approximately 1994. Claimant first experienced a rash in 2007 while working as a

bricklayer for a different employer. Claimant sought treatment with his

dermatologist in 2008, who did patch testing, which “revealed that Claimant was

allergic to nickel sulfate, potassium dichromate [(chromium)], balsam of Peru[,]

and cobalt dichloride.” (WCJ Decision, May 1, 2014, Finding of Fact (FOF) ¶ 14.)

When his position with that employer ended, Claimant began working for

Employer in 2009, but was subject to layoffs when Employer did not have work

for him. (R.R. at 34a-35a.) On his most recent layoff, Claimant did non-

bricklaying work for a different employer until Employer recalled him. (Id. at

44a.)

While working as a bricklayer, Claimant continued to get the rash

intermittently, with the symptoms worsening with each break out. In April 2012,

while laying brick for Employer, he again developed a rash. After seeking

treatment with Dr. Laury, Claimant informed Employer’s foreman (Foreman) that

his physician removed him from work due to the rash. Claimant did not recall

specifically what he told Foreman regarding the cause of the rash. (Id. at 43a,

46a.) He continued to treat with Dr. Laury and has not returned to work. Claimant

agreed that he was not working for another employer while working for Employer

in April 2012. (Id. at 35a.) Claimant received unemployment compensation

benefits when he stopped working in April 2012.

Claimant presented the deposition of Dr. Laury, who is board-certified in

allergies/immunology and internal medicine and with whom Claimant initially

sought treatment for a rash in February 2009. Dr. Laury indicated that the medical

3

records of Claimant’s treating dermatologist reflected that, per prior diagnostic

testing, Claimant had allergies to cobalt and chromium. (FOF ¶ 14; R.R. at 103a-

04a.) Dr. Laury explained that, “[a]s a bricklayer, Claimant was regularly exposed

to both cobalt and chromium in the course of [his] employment.” (FOF ¶ 14.)

After Dr. Laury treated Claimant with oral steroids, Claimant’s symptoms

improved and Claimant returned for treatment only as needed. Claimant returned

to Dr. Laury on April 19, 2012, with a rash on his forehead, hands, and legs.

Claimant told Dr. Laury that the rash went away when he was not working. Based

on the history provided by Claimant, Claimant’s medical records, the results of

Claimant’s diagnostic tests, and his physical examination of Claimant, Dr. Laury

opined “that Claimant’s symptoms were the result of occupational exposure” and

“diagnosed Claimant with allergic contact dermatitis as a result of occupational

exposure to chromium.” (Id. ¶ 15.) Dr. Laury recommended that Claimant not

return to work as a bricklayer, noting that Claimant’s condition was worsening and

he could not continue to take the prescribed systemic oral steroid without it having

long-term effects on Claimant’s health, some of which could be life threatening.

(R.R. at 106a-07a, 109a, 135a.) Dr. Laury acknowledged that, as of his August 14,

2012 examination, Claimant’s rash had “cleared up.” (Id. at 110a-11a.)

Claimant also introduced the IME physician’s medical report, not to prove

that he suffered a work-related injury as set forth in that report, but to support his

claim that Employer’s contest became unreasonable in November 2012. After

performing the IME on November 6, 2012, the IME physician indicated in her

medical report that Claimant had “chromium induced occupational contact

dermatitis, chronic and severe.” (FOF ¶ 16.) The medical report stated,

4

“Claimant’s allergy to chromates would be permanent and that ‘he absolutely

cannot have a job as a bricklayer ever again.’” (Id. (quoting R.R. at 175a).)

Employer did not present any medical evidence, but did present Foreman’s

testimony. Foreman explained Claimant began working for Employer in October

2009, Claimant would be temporarily laid off when Employer had little work,

Claimant was eligible for unemployment compensation during these layoffs, and

Claimant remained Employer’s employee during these layoffs. (R.R. at 73a-75a.)

Foreman was Claimant’s supervisor and was aware Claimant had a rash. Claimant

informed him on April 16, 2012, that Claimant would not be returning to work

because of the rash issue, but he did not remember if Claimant stated that the rash

was work-related. Foreman received a text message from Claimant on April 20,

2012, in which Claimant again stated he was not able to return to work. When

Foreman subsequently spoke with Claimant, Claimant said “he was allergic to

‘most everything in the construction industry’ and would probably need to find a

different job.” (FOF ¶ 12 (quoting Hr’g Tr. at 14, R.R. at 71a).)

Employer also presented evidence regarding Claimant’s wages with

Employer, which supported an AWW of $682.37 and a corresponding

compensation rate of $454.81. It also offered evidence of Claimant’s receipt of

unemployment compensation benefits in the net amount of $516 per week for

weeks ending June 9, 2012, through March 8, 2013. Claimant challenged

Employer’s wage information by presenting, as evidence of his wages, copies of

his tax returns for the years 2010 and 2011, which included $43,630 from

Employer and $12,246 from a concurrent employer. Claimant also testified that, in

his most recent work for Employer, he was earning $30.90 per hour for a 40-hour

5

work week, resulting in a weekly wage of $1236. The WCJ accepted Claimant’s

evidence and found that Claimant’s AWW was $1236.3

After reviewing the evidence, the WCJ found Claimant’s testimony credible

and persuasive and found Foreman’s testimony credible on the issue of when

Employer received notice that Claimant’s injury was work related. The WCJ

credited Dr. Laury’s testimony, observing Dr. Laury is Claimant’s treating

physician and his opinions were supported by his multiple examinations of

Claimant, diagnostic testing, and the evidence as a whole. While the WCJ noted

the IME medical report was not offered or entered into evidence to prove that

Claimant suffered a work-related injury, but to support Claimant’s request for

unreasonable contest attorneys’ fees, the medical report “unequivocally relate[d]

Claimant’s condition to his employment.” (FOF ¶ 28.) Based on these findings,

the WCJ concluded Claimant met his burden of proof on the Claim Petition by

“establish[ing] the causal connection between Claimant’s employment and the

aggravation of Claimant’s preexisting dermatitis which resulted in [his] removal

from employment as a bricklayer as of April 19, 2012.” (WCJ Decision,

Conclusion of Law (COL) ¶ 2.) The WCJ further held Claimant’s “work-related

injury in the nature of allergic contact dermatitis” “rendered him incapable of

returning to work as a bricklayer,” and Employer did not present evidence that it

had work available that would not require Claimant to be exposed to chromium.

(Id. ¶ 3.) According to the WCJ, Claimant gave Employer timely notice of the

3

In finding that Claimant’s AWW was $1236, the WCJ apparently multiplied Claimant’s

most recent hourly wage by the number of hours Claimant was expected to work on the current

project for Employer. This would be an application of the formula set forth in Section 309(d.2)

of the Act, added by Section 5 of the Act of June 24, 1996, P.L. 350, 77 P.S. § 582(d.2), the only

subsection of Section 309 that utilizes this formula for calculating the AWW.

6

work injury, having filed the Claim Petition within the required 120-day notice

period. Therefore, the WCJ granted the Claim Petition and directed Employer to

pay Claimant WC benefits of $824 per week, based on an AWW of $1236, from

April 16, 2012, forward with credit for the unemployment compensation benefits

Claimant received. (WCJ Order, April 28, 2014.) The WCJ denied the Penalty

Petition “[u]pon [his] review of the evidence of record in its entirety.”4 (Id.)

B. The Board’s September 10, 2015 Opinion

Both Employer and Claimant appealed to the Board. Employer first

challenged the WCJ’s award of ongoing benefits beginning April 16, 2012. It

asserted, relevant here, that Claimant did not give it notice within 21 days of the

injury; thus, his receipt of benefits could not begin until the date he gave notice.

The Board concluded a remand on this issue was necessary. It observed that

Section 311 of the Act, 77 P.S. § 631, requires a claimant to give notice of an

injury within 120 days and provides that unless a claimant gives notice within 21

days after the injury, no compensation is due until notice is given. The Board

noted a claimant’s compliance with these notice requirements was a question of

fact for the WCJ, but the WCJ did not make a finding regarding when Claimant

advised Employer that his rash was work related. Accordingly, the Board

remanded for the WCJ to do so and, if necessary, adjust the date from whence

Claimant’s WC benefits should begin.

4

On the issue of attorneys’ fees, the WCJ concluded that, while Employer’s contest

began as reasonable, it became unreasonable as of November 6, 2012, and directed Employer to

pay Claimant’s counsel a quantum meruit fee for his work on the matter after that date.

Employer did not appeal that determination.

7

Employer further argued that Claimant had fully recovered from his work-

related aggravation of the preexisting dermatitis as of August 14, 2012, and,

therefore, ongoing benefits should not have been awarded. The Board agreed,

citing Bethlehem Steel Corporation v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board

(Baxter), 708 A.2d 801 (Pa. 1998). The Board held that, under Baxter,

if exposure results in an ongoing disabling condition, benefits may

continue; however, where no restrictions from the work-related injury

exist, and only the threat of future recurrences prevents the claimant

from performing [the] pre-injury job, the claimant no longer is

entitled to benefits when his condition returns to baseline. Like the

claimant in Baxter, Claimant’s injury was an aggravation injury and

the medical evidence presented and accepted established that

Claimant recovered from the work-related injury.

(Board Opinion (Op.) at 10.) Because Dr. Laury did not testify to any ongoing or

permanent work injury and agreed that Claimant had essentially recovered from

the rash as of August 14, 2012, the Board held that Claimant had returned to his

pre-injury baseline condition and his entitlement to benefits ended as of that date.

Accordingly, the Board modified the WCJ’s decision “to reflect a termination of

benefits as of August 14, 2012.” (Id. at 11.)

Finally, Employer asserted the WCJ erred in finding that Claimant had

concurrent employment and increasing Claimant’s AWW based on that

employment. Employer argued that because Claimant testified that he did not

work for anyone else at the same time he was working for Employer, his AWW

should have been calculated using his wages from “the 4 completed 13-week

periods immediately preceding the date of injury.” (Id.) The Board agreed that the

WCJ’s finding that Claimant had “concurrent employment” was not supported by

Claimant’s credited testimony and Claimant could not “be deemed [as] hav[ing]

8

had concurrent employers.” (Id. at 12.) The Board, therefore, vacated the WCJ’s

calculation and remanded for a new calculation of Claimant’s AWW and

corresponding compensation rate in accordance with Section 309 of the Act, 77

P.S. § 582.

In his appeal, Claimant argued the WCJ erred in denying the Penalty

Petition. After reviewing the penalty provisions of the Act, Section 435 of the Act,

77 P.S. § 991,5 and the Act’s requirement that an employer timely investigate an

injury, Section 406.1(a) of the Act, 77 P.S. § 717.1(a),6 the Board observed that the

WCJ had summarily denied the Penalty Petition without discussion. Because

Section 422(a) of the Act, 77 P.S. § 834, required a reasoned decision on this issue,

the Board remanded for a determination that would satisfy the reasoned decision

requirements.

C. The WCJ’s Remand Decision

The WCJ issued a new decision addressing the issues remanded to him.

First, with regard to notice, the WCJ found it was undisputed that Claimant advised

Employer in April 2012 that he could not return to work due to his severe rash.

However, the WCJ found Claimant did not inform Employer that this condition

was related to his work with Employer at that time. Instead, the WCJ found

Claimant later informed Foreman that the rash was due to his “exposure to

materials in the construction industry.” (WCJ Remand Decision, Finding of Fact

(Remand FOF) ¶ 6.) The WCJ found that this statement did not place Employer on

notice that the rash was related to Claimant’s work for Employer because Claimant

5

Added by Section 3 of the Act of February 8, 1972, P.L. 25, as amended.

6

Added by Section 3 of the Act of February 8, 1972, P.L. 25, as amended.

9

had worked for other employers in the construction industry. On this basis, the

WCJ found that, for the purpose of Section 311 of the Act, Employer received

notice of Claimant’s injury on June 21, 2012, the date Claimant filed the Claim

Petition.

Second, with regard to Claimant’s AWW, the WCJ reviewed the evidence

regarding Claimant’s wages from the last 4 completed 13-week periods of

employment with Employer, without considering any alleged concurrent

employment. Based only on the evidence related to Claimant’s work for Employer

during those periods, the WCJ added Claimant’s highest three quarters and divided

that number by three, resulting in an AWW of $728.38 with a compensation rate of

$485.58.

Finally, in addressing the Penalty Petition, the WCJ noted that Claimant bore

the burden of proving a violation of the Act and the asserted violation here was that

Employer failed to timely accept or deny liability for Claimant’s injury. The WCJ

held, however, that Employer’s obligation to do so arose only after it received

notice of the injury. Because notice was not received until Claimant filed the

Claim Petition in June 2012 and Employer filed a timely answer denying the

pertinent allegations and had Claimant submit to an IME, the WCJ concluded

Claimant did not establish Employer’s violation of the Act and denied the Penalty

Petition.

D. The Board’s January 12, 2018 Opinion

Claimant appealed the WCJ’s remand decision to the Board, arguing the

WCJ erred in terminating his benefits as of August 14, 2012, and in recalculating

Claimant’s AWW, because Claimant continued to disagree with the Board’s prior

10

decision. Noting that the Board had addressed these issues in its prior opinion, the

Board declined to revisit those determinations, while acknowledging that Claimant

had preserved those issues for further appeal purposes.

Claimant also challenged the WCJ’s conclusion that Employer did not

violate the Act by virtue of its late response and by not issuing a notice of

compensation payable (NCP) once the IME physician found that a work-related

injury had occurred. The Board concluded that, pursuant to Section 406.1,

Employer was required to promptly investigate Claimant’s injury and begin

making payments “not later than the twenty-first day after [it] ha[d] notice or

knowledge of” Claimant’s disability, or, if it disputed the right to compensation, to

promptly notify Claimant of its decision. 77 P.S. § 717.1(a), (c); see also 34 Pa.

Code § 121.13. The failure of Employer to issue the appropriate document within

21 days of receiving notice of a work injury is a technical violation of the Act.

Johnstown Hous. Auth. v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (Lewis), 865 A.2d 999,

1004 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2005). The Board found no authority to support the WCJ’s

conclusion that, because Employer filed an answer denying the Claim Petition’s

allegations, Employer was excused from its obligations under Section 406.1.

Although the amount of penalties is generally within the discretion of the WCJ, the

Board found a 10-percent penalty was, as a matter of law, appropriate under

Section 435(d) due to Employer’s technical violation of the Act. Accordingly, the

Board reversed the WCJ’s denial of the Penalty Petition and awarded Claimant a

10-percent penalty, and reaffirmed its prior determinations regarding the

termination of Claimant’s benefits and calculation of Claimant’s AWW.

11

Both Claimant and Employer petition this Court for review.7

II. Appeal to this Court

Claimant raises two arguments before this Court. First, he argues his WC

benefits should not have been terminated as of August 14, 2012, because he

established his entitlement to ongoing WC benefits notwithstanding the cessation

of the symptoms associated with his work-related chromium allergy. Second, he

asserts his AWW was miscalculated and that wages from his work with a different

employer while he was laid off should have been considered concurrent

employment in order to reflect his economic reality. Employer raises one

argument, which is that the amount of a penalty is a matter for the WCJ and the

Board’s sua sponte imposition of the 10-percent penalty improperly infringed upon

the WCJ’s discretion.

A. The Termination of Claimant’s Benefits

1. The Parties’ Arguments

Claimant argues the Board erred in terminating his benefits as of August 14,

2012, because he did not suffer from a preexisting condition and had no work-

related medical restrictions at the time he developed his chromium allergy. Rather,

he maintains, the medical evidence establishes that his underlying allergy to

chromium was the result of his prolonged exposure to that substance in the course

and scope of his work, and this allergy, which manifests as contact dermatitis,

7

This Court’s “review is limited to determining whether constitutional rights were

violated, whether the adjudication is in accordance with the law[,] or whether necessary findings

of fact are supported by substantial evidence.” City of Phila. v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd.

(Sherlock), 934 A.2d 156, 159 n.5 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2007).

12

prevents him from ever working as a bricklayer again. Claimant argues that Dr.

Laury and the IME physician both opined that he could never return to work as a

bricklayer due to the risk of chromium exposure, and, therefore, he has suffered a

loss of earnings due to his work-related injury. Although his allergy initially

manifested during his work for a previous employer, he was able to continue

working as long as he wore gloves and other safety equipment. However, during

his time working for Employer, his injury progressed and he is no longer able to

work at all. The fact that he is asymptomatic when he is not exposed to chromium

does not preclude the receipt of ongoing WC benefits because his condition will

recur, and continue to become more dangerous, when he is again exposed at work.

In other words, according to Claimant, his work injury has become disabling

because he can now no longer perform the job that he had been able to perform

when he started his employment with Employer. Thus, he has not returned to the

condition he was in when he began working for Employer, and he should not have

to continue to expose himself to a substance that is toxic to him, in order to be

eligible for benefits. Claimant argues that our Supreme Court’s opinions in Lash v.

Workmen’s Compensation Appeal Board (General Battery Corporation), 420 A.2d

1325 (Pa. 1980), and Farquhar v. Workmen’s Compensation Appeal Board

(Corning Glass Works), 528 A.2d 580 (Pa. 1987) (plurality), support his

entitlement to ongoing benefits.

Employer responds that Claimant was no longer eligible for WC benefits

because his injury was a work-related aggravation of a preexisting condition,

which had resolved as of August 14, 2012. Employer argues Claimant’s chromium

allergy, diagnosed in 2008, is a preexisting condition that was not caused by his

work for Employer, which did not begin until 2009. It began when he worked for

13

a previous employer. The aggravation of this work injury he experienced while

working for Employer was resolved, and he returned to his baseline condition on

August 14, 2012, when he stopped working. Then, the compensable injury ended,

and his entitlement to WC benefits ceased. Here, Claimant’s work-related

condition was caused by his work for a previous employer. Therefore, the cases

that Claimant relies upon are inapplicable, because in those cases, the condition

was caused by the claimants’ employment with the employer against whom the

claims were being filed. Employer argues the Board correctly terminated

Claimant’s benefits based on Baxter as of August 14, 2012.8

2. Discussion

In a claim petition proceeding, the claimant bears the burden of establishing

all of the elements necessary to support an award of WC benefits, including the

existence of an injury and disability, and a causal relationship between the injury

and the claimant’s work. Giant Eagle, Inc. v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd.

(Thomas), 725 A.2d 873, 876 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1999). Disability is the loss of

earnings or earning power that is caused by a work-related injury. Sch. Dist. of

Phila. v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (Lanier), 727 A.2d 1171, 1172 (Pa. Cmwlth.

1999). The burden remains on claimants to show that their work-related injury

continues to cause disability throughout the pendency of the claim proceeding.

Somerset Welding & Steel v. Workmen’s Comp. Appeal Bd. (Lee), 650 A.2d 114,

8

Employer also argues Dr. Laury’s testimony indicates that Claimant was exposed to an

allergen related to the refinishing of the floor in Claimant’s home and that this was a cause of

Claimant’s rash. (R.R. at 124a-26a.) However, Dr. Laury explained that, even if there was

exposure at Claimant’s home, it was short lived and the work exposure was more of a substantial

or major factor because Claimant’s symptoms improved after he left work. (Id. at 124a, 126a,

135a.)

14

119 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1994). The “WCJ is authorized, when considering a claim

petition, to award compensation for a work-related injury, and, in addition, to

terminate benefits as of the date the disability ceased, . . . if the claimant has not

carried [his or her] burden of proof to establish a continuing disability.” Ohm v.

Workmen’s Comp. Appeal Bd. (Caloric Corp.), 663 A.2d 883, 886 (Pa. Cmwlth.

1995).

Relevant here, claimants may be considered disabled by a work-related

injury despite the resolution of their symptoms “if there is evidence that [the

symptoms] are likely to recur once [they] return[] to work.” Schrader Bellows

Pneumatics, Div. of Parker-Hannifin Corp. v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (Earle),

711 A.2d 578, 581 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1998). Where claimants “establish that they [are]

unfit or unable to perform their duties when they return[] to work” by unequivocal

medical testimony, ongoing disability can be established. Id. However, a mere

“possibility of a future recurrence does not constitute a compensable disability.”

Swartz v. Workmen’s Comp. Appeal Bd. (Dutch Pantry Rest.), 543 A.2d 201, 204

(Pa. Cmwlth. 1988).

Claimant contends that he is similar to the claimants in Lash, who, when

they became “lead absorbers,” meaning that they absorbed lead into their blood at

abnormally high rates which made future exposures to lead hazardous, were

reassigned to lower paying, non-lead handling positions by the employer. 420

A.2d at 1325. Although the claimants’ health had not yet deteriorated to advanced

lead poisoning, the Supreme Court held they did not have to work until they

became ill in order to establish a compensable injury because the evidence

established that their becoming “lead absorbers” was a direct result of their work

and future exposure to lead would be perilous to their health. Id. at 1326. In

15

rejecting the employer’s argument that the claimants were not yet eligible for WC

benefits, our Supreme Court explained “[i]t would be barbaric to require . . .

employees to continue in a position where [they are] exposed to a toxic substance

until [they are] so ill that [they] physically [are] incapable of performing [their]

job.” Id. at 1327.

Claimant also contends that, even though he is not currently exhibiting

symptoms from his work-related condition, he is entitled to ongoing benefits under

the Supreme Court’s reasoning in Farquhar, because those symptoms will recur

and become increasingly more dangerous to his health if he returns to his pre-

injury duties. The claimant in Farquhar worked as a screen maker and developed,

in the course of her employment, effort thrombosis (blood clot) resulting in her

hospitalization and inability to perform her work duties for a period. 528 A.2d at

582. After she received WC benefits for that injury, she returned to work at the

same position and experienced a flare up of her thrombosis. The claimant’s

physician told her not to perform the strenuous work duties again and that she was

permanently unfit to perform those duties. Following her discharge for refusing to

follow the employer’s directive that she perform those strenuous duties, the

claimant sought the reinstatement of her WC benefits. The medical evidence

established that the claimant should never perform her work duties again and, to do

so, “would expose her to great risk of another, potentially more dangerous

thrombosis attack” and was akin to “playing Russian Roulette.” Id. at 583.

Because the claimant was not exhibiting symptoms at the time she sought

reinstatement, the WCJ denied reinstatement, which the Board and this Court

affirmed. On further appeal, the Supreme Court reversed, observing that “the

conclusion of the lower tribunals that, because [the claimant’s] symptoms had

16

disappeared . . . and her condition had ‘normalized,’ she was not totally disabled

and could not, therefore, recover compensation” was “absurd[] and fl[ew] in the

face of the substantive law.” Id. at 587 (citing Lash, 420 A.2d 1326-27). Noting

that due to the nature of the claimant’s condition, “the consequences threatened to

be more severe if she were to experience another episode,” the Supreme Court held

that “[i]t [was] inexplicable that the lower tribunals would deny her compensation

simply because her symptoms were not currently manifesting . . . .” Id. at 588.

We agree with Claimant that his situation is similar to these cases where,

although the work-related injury became asymptomatic when the claimants were

not working, ongoing benefits were awarded because their injuries would recur

upon the claimants’ return to work. Had Claimant worked just for Employer

during his bricklaying career, it would be clear that Claimant’s work-related injury

would be compensable. Such a result would be consistent with other cases that

followed Lash and Farquhar. For example, in Henry Paul Cadillac, Inc. v.

Workmen’s Compensation Appeal Board (Stephens), 496 A.2d 1364, 1366 (Pa.

Cmwlth. 1985), the claimant was entitled to ongoing benefits where his physician

testified that the claimant had become sensitized to particular allergens over his

years of work such that the physician did not “think [the claimant] can do it

anymore, because the least exposure now that he has, even if it’s minimal, he’s

probably going to break out.” Similarly, in Schrader Bellows, the claimant was

entitled to ongoing WC benefits where he suffered, over numerous years, multiple

incidents of contact dermatitis due to the coolants used by the employer. 711 A.2d

at 579-80. In support of an award of ongoing benefits, the claimant’s physician

testified that, due to the airborne nature of the coolants, “regardless of where in the

plant or which type of position [the e]mployer would provide, [the c]laimant will

17

continue to experience the dermatitis as long as he is working at [the e]mployer’s

facility.” Id. at 580.

Employer argues, and the Board agreed, that Claimant’s situation is more

like the claimant’s aggravation of a preexisting, non-work-related condition in

Baxter. In Baxter, the claimant had suffered from asthma since childhood, which

was aggravated by his exposure to paint fumes at work. 708 A.2d at 801. This

aggravation, however, did not result in any permanent injury to the claimant. The

employer paid for the time the claimant was unable to work due to the aggravation,

but the claimant did not return to his pre-injury position at his physician’s

recommendation. The claimant’s physician testified that the claimant’s lung

functions had returned to normal, but that his severe non-work-related asthma

placed him at risk of future exacerbation of that condition if he returned to work.

The physician further explained that the restrictions on the claimant’s ability to

work in a dusty environment “had nothing to do with [the claimant’s] actual

employment at [the employer] . . . . [and] would have been placed on [the

c]laimant whether or not he ever worked at [the employer] or had the episodes of

exacerbation of his preexisting asthma . . . .” Id. at 802-03 (emphasis and

quotation marks omitted). The referee granted the claim petition, and both the

Board and this Court affirmed.

The employer appealed to the Supreme Court, which reversed. It held that

the claimant had not established his eligibility for ongoing benefits because he had

fully recovered from the work-related aggravation of his preexisting, non-work-

related asthma. The Supreme Court observed that the underlying condition

aggravated in Baxter was preexisting and not work-related, and not like the

residual work-related injuries that had never resolved in Lash and Farquhar. The

18

Court explained that “[t]he claimant in Farquhar continued to suffer from

thrombosis which was caused by her employment; [and] the Lash claimants

continued to suffer from lead absorption which was caused by their employment.”

Baxter, 708 A.2d at 804. And that, “[h]ad Baxter introduced medical evidence . . .

that his exposure to paint fumes at [work] had resulted in an ongoing condition that

affected his pulmonary capacity, Farquhar and Lash would be controlling.” Id.

However, his physician testified that there was “no evidence that the claimant had

sustained any continuing changes to his pulmonary capacity or in the functioning

of his lungs.” Id. (emphasis added). Because there had been no ongoing changes,

the Supreme Court held that once the claimant had fully recovered from the work-

related aggravation of his preexisting, non-work-related asthma and his condition

returned to its baseline, the claimant was ineligible for benefits because his

disability was no longer related to the conditions of his workplace. Id. To hold

otherwise, the Supreme Court reasoned, would “undermine[] the principles of the

[WC] Act [by] impos[ing] liability on an employer for the existence of a condition

present from childhood when no residual work-related injury is demonstrated.”

Id. (emphasis added).

Unlike the claimant’s asthma in Baxter, which was not work-related but

developed while that claimant was a child, Claimant’s severe allergy to chromium

was caused by his long-term exposure to chromium working as a bricklayer. Thus,

Claimant has a work-related condition. Because Claimant here worked as a

bricklayer for a prior employer, during which time his allergy manifested,

Employer argues that the allergy is a preexisting condition that merely was

aggravated by his work for Employer. Employer argues Baxter applies and

Claimant should not receive ongoing benefits because Claimant, having become

19

asymptomatic as of August 14, 2012, had returned to his baseline condition.

However, Claimant was able to perform the bricklaying job when he started

working for Employer. While he did have to use gloves, and eventually started

taking systemic steroids to control his symptoms, his condition has now progressed

and worsened such that it is not safe for him to continue to do so. (Dr. Laury’s

Dep. at 43, R.R. at 107a, 109a-10a, 135a.) Both Dr. Laury and the IME doctor

have credibly opined that Claimant has an allergy to chromium due to his long-

term work exposure to that substance, which the IME doctor described as “chronic

and severe” and “permanent,” and that “‘he absolutely cannot have a job as a

bricklayer ever again.’” (FOF ¶¶ 14-16 (quoting IME physician’s medical report at

2, R.R. at 175a); R.R. at 103a-04a, 113a-14a.) Dr. Laury agreed with the IME

doctor’s observations. (R.R. at 114a.) Under these circumstances, we cannot

conclude that Claimant’s condition has returned to its baseline.

Claimant’s current restriction from working as a bricklayer is a result of his

continued exposure to chromium, which occurred while working for Employer.

That Claimant should receive ongoing benefits is, thus, consistent with our

precedent. For example, in Reinforced Molding v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal

Board (Haney), 717 A.2d 1096, 1100-01 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1998), the claimant, as part

of his work duties, was exposed to styrene, which aggravated a preexisting, non-

work-related lung condition and caused the claimant to develop asthma. The WCJ

found that the compensable work-related injury was the aggravation caused by the

claimant’s work exposure to styrene, which rendered him incapable of performing

his work duties. Id. at 1099. There was no testimony that the claimant’s

restrictions would have been imposed had he not worked for his present employer

and developed the styrene sensitization and asthma that aggravated the claimant’s

20

underlying lung condition. Id. at 1102 n.4. Because the medical evidence in

Haney established that the claimant “should never return to his time of injury job

which would expose him to styrene lest he suffer renewed aggravation,” we

affirmed, holding the claimant bore his burden of proving that he was disabled

from performing that job and was eligible for ongoing benefits. 717 A.2d at 1101.

See also Bethlehem Steel Corp. v. Workmen’s Comp. Appeal Bd. (Boles), 713 A.2d

1116, 1117 (Pa. 1998) (per curiam order) (affirming determination that where a

work-related aggravation continued to affect the claimant’s pulmonary function, an

award of ongoing benefits was appropriate); accord McCabe v. Workers’ Comp.

Appeal Bd. (Dep’t of Revenue), 738 A.2d 503, 507 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1999) (remanding

for a determination as to whether the restrictions placed upon the claimant were

causally related to the preexisting, non-work-related asthma, or the work-related

aggravation of her underlying asthma due to exposure to cigarette smoke at work).9

Claimant’s situation here is similar to Little v. Workers’ Compensation

Appeal Board (Select Specialty Hospital), 113 A.3d 1 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2015), a recent

case. There, the claimant, who had no preexisting asthmatic condition or work-

related medical restrictions, was exposed multiple times to a chemical used by her

employer causing her to develop a sensitivity to that chemical and occupationally

induced asthma. Id. at 2-3, 5. Although granting her benefits for a closed period,

9

On remand, the WCJ in McCabe accepted additional medical evidence from both the

employer and the claimant. The WCJ credited the employer’s evidence establishing that the

claimant had fully recovered from the temporary work-related aggravation of her underlying

asthmatic condition, she suffered from no residual physical injuries as a result of her work

exposure to cigarette smoke, and the restrictions imposed were not “causally related to her prior

exposures at work.” McCabe v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (Dep’t of Revenue), 806 A.2d 512,

515 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2002). Based on that evidence, the WCJ denied the claim for ongoing benefits

based on Baxter, and both the Board and this Court affirmed. Id. at 515, 517.

21

the WCJ terminated them based on an IME physician’s testimony that the claimant

had “fully recovered with no residual disability or pulmonary impairment.” Id. at

3. On appeal, the Board affirmed the denial, but this Court reversed. Because the

claimant did not have a preexisting asthmatic condition or work-related medical

restrictions prior to her work injury, the claimant’s “baseline condition materially

differed” before and after her cumulative workplace exposure to the chemical. Id.

at 7. This change, the medical experts agreed, constituted a “residual medical

condition[]” that prevented the claimant from returning to her pre-injury position.

Id. at 8. As in Little, Claimant’s baseline condition materially differed between

when he started working for Employer and when, due to his ongoing exposure to

chromium, his work-related condition became so severe that he could no longer be

exposed to that material without endangering his health. It was Claimant’s

exposure to chromium while working for Employer, and the resulting aggravation

of his work-related chromium sensitivity, that have rendered him incapable of

performing his work duties.10 Claimant has, therefore, satisfied his burden of

proving that, notwithstanding his current lack of symptoms or need for treatment,

he is disabled from performing his job as a bricklayer for Employer, or anyone

else, and is eligible for ongoing benefits.

10

Holding otherwise would require claimants, particularly those who, due to the nature of

their work in the unionized trades, may work for multiple employers over the course of their

working life, “to continue in a position where [they are] exposed to a toxic substance until [they

are] so ill that [they are] physically . . . incapable of performing [their] job.” Lash, 420 A.2d at

1327.

22

B. The Calculation of Claimant’s AWW

1. The Parties’ Arguments

Claimant next argues the Board erred in vacating the WCJ’s initial

calculation of his AWW. He claims his AWW should have been calculated using

Section 309(d.1) of the Act because he was not an ongoing employee of Employer

due to his being laid off and obtaining work with another employer during the year

prior to his injury, and he did not work 3 consecutive periods of 13 calendar

weeks.11 He argues the Supreme Court’s decision in Reifsnyder v. Workers’

Compensation Appeal Board (Dana Corporation), 883 A.2d 537 (Pa. 2005),

should not apply because the claimant in that case was a long-term, continuous

employee of the employer subject to a collective bargaining agreement (CBA) who

had periods of layoffs during which the claimant did not work for other employers.

In contrast, here, there is no CBA and Employer does not deny he worked for other

companies during layoff periods. Applying Reifsnyder, Claimant asserts, would be

contrary to the purpose of the Act because the resulting calculation would not be

an accurate measure of his future wage loss caused by his work injury as it does

not recognize “the economic reality” of his recent pre-injury earning experience.

Triangle Bldg. Ctr. v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (Linch), 746 A.2d 1111, 1112

(Pa. 2000). Claimant also argues that pursuant to Section 309(e), his AWW should

have included his wages from the “concurrent” employment in which he engaged

during his layoffs from Employer.

11

Using this calculation would result in an AWW of $1234.04 and a compensation rate

of $822.69.

23

Employer replies12 that it and Claimant had a continuing employment

relationship between October 2009 and April 2012, and, therefore, the WCJ’s

calculation of Claimant’s AWW using Section 309(d) on remand is consistent with

the Supreme Court’s decision in Reifsnyder. Employer further asserts that

including earnings Claimant received from unemployment or a second employer

during his layoffs is not necessary to ensure an accurate reflection of Claimant’s

earnings history while he maintained continuous employment with Employer

during the 4, 13-week periods immediately preceding the April 2012 work injury.

Employer also contends that the WCJ correctly calculated Claimant’s AWW

without considering any concurrent employment because Claimant testified he was

not working for another employer at the time he sustained the work injury in April

2012.

2. Discussion

a. Which Subsection applies to calculate Claimant’s AWW?

Subsections 309(d), (d.1), and (d.2),13 77 P.S. § 582(d), (d.1), (d.2), describe

the various methods of calculating an AWW where wages are not fixed by the

week, month, or year. Those statutory provisions state:

12

Employer also argues Claimant waived his arguments regarding the calculation of his

AWW because he did not include them in his Petition for Review. Pennsylvania Rule of

Appellate Procedure 1513, Pa.R.A.P. 1513; Tyler v. Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Review, 591

A.2d 1164, 1168 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1991). However, Rule 1513 was amended in 2014 to state that,

while an appellate jurisdiction petition for review should include a general statement of a

petitioner’s objections, “the omission of an issue from the statement shall not be the basis for a

finding of waiver if the court is able to address the issue based on the certified record.”

Pa.R.A.P. 1513(d)(5). As we are able to address this issue based on the certified record,

Claimant’s arguments are not waived.

13

Subsections (d.1) and (d.2) were added by Section 5 of the Act of June 24, 1996, P.L.

350, 77 P.S. § 582(d.1), (d.2).

24

(d) If at the time of the injury the wages are fixed by any manner not

enumerated in clause (a), (b) or (c), the average weekly wage shall be

calculated by dividing by thirteen the total wages earned in the

employ of the employer in each of the highest three of the last four

consecutive periods of thirteen calendar weeks in the fifty-two weeks

immediately preceding the injury and by averaging the total amounts

earned during these three periods.

(d.1) If the employe has not been employed by the employer for at

least three consecutive periods of thirteen calendar weeks in the fifty-

two weeks immediately preceding the injury, the average weekly

wage shall be calculated by dividing by thirteen the total wages

earned in the employ of the employer for any completed period of

thirteen calendar weeks immediately preceding the injury and by

averaging the total amounts earned during such periods.

(d.2) If the employe has worked less than a complete period of

thirteen calendar weeks and does not have fixed weekly wages, the

average weekly wage shall be the hourly wage rate multiplied by the

number of hours the employe was expected to work per week under

the terms of employment.

77 P.S. § 582(d), (d.1), (d.2). We are cognizant that “the overall legislative

purpose of Section 309 [is] to provide for an accurate measurement of the AWW.”

Reifsnyder, 883 A.2d at 545 (citing Hannaberry HVAC v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal

Bd. (Snyder, Jr.), 834 A.2d 524, 533-34 (Pa. 2003)). The proper manner of

calculating an AWW is a question of law subject to plenary review. Id. at 541.

In Reifsnyder, the Supreme Court addressed how to calculate a claimant’s

AWW where the claimant had “work-related layoffs for business/economic

reasons in the relevant look-back period.” Id. at 539. This work scenario, the

Court observed, was not specifically addressed by the statutory language, but

explained that

Section 309(d) governs employees with the longest work/employment

histories-i.e., employees who have been employed for at least four

consecutive periods of thirteen calendar weeks. Subsections (d.1) and

25

(d.2) address progressively shorter employment relationships:

(d.1) governs employees employed for at least one, but less than three

consecutive periods of thirteen calendar weeks; while (d.2) addresses

cases of recent hires, i.e., employees who worked less than a single

complete period of thirteen calendar weeks at the time they suffered a

work injury.

Id. at 546. It further described subsections (d) and (d.1) as “includ[ing] look-back

periods encompassing the preceding [52] weeks, in search of ‘completed’ [13]-

week periods.” Id. Therefore, Section 309(d) would apply to any “long-term

employment relationship” even when that “relationship happens to involve periods

with a ‘work’ cessation,” i.e., a layoff. Id. at 547. The Court further observed

the general rule set forth in Section 309(d) does not speak in terms of

the continuity of “work,” but rather, the continuity of the

“employment” relationship. The fact that [the c]laimants were not

“working” during the periods when they were laid off does not mean

that their long-term “employment” relationship was severed.

Id. Because the employment relationship was maintained during layoff periods,

the claimants there “had a long-term employment relationship by which their

actual history of earnings and earning capacity could be measured.” Id. Section

309(d) applied “to capture that entire relevant period.” Id.

Here, Claimant was employed by Employer since October 2009, subject to

certain periods of layoff followed by a return to work for Employer. That he was

laid off from his work with Employer during that period and worked for another

employer does not mean the employment relationship was not maintained. See

Elliot Turbomachinery Co. v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (Sandy), 898 A.2d 640,

648 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2006) (stating “[t]he term ‘employ’ or ‘employed’ [as used in

Section 309(d)] is not limited to actual days an employee performs work, but

encompasses the period of time that an employment relationship is maintained

26

between the parties”). Claimant acknowledges that Employer was aware that he

worked for a different employer while he was laid off, but Employer still recalled

him to work. This is different than the employer’s policy in Janson v. Workers’

Compensation Appeal Board (EM Force, Inc.), 49 A.3d 458, 459-60 (Pa. Cmwlth.

2012), where, if an employee obtained alternative employment during a layoff, the

policy provided that the employment relationship ended and required the employee

to reapply for work.14 This continued employment relationship, which included a

history of layoff periods, is similar to that in Reifsnyder. Section 309(d) thus

applies, and Claimant’s earning capacity was appropriately measured by using the

highest 3 of the last 4 consecutive periods of 13 calendar weeks in the year

immediately preceding Claimant’s work injury, which represented his “actual

history of earnings.” Reifsnyder, 883 A.2d at 547. Because using Claimant’s

earnings history reflects the “economic reality of [his] recent pre-injury earning

experience,” Triangle Building Center, 746 A.2d at 1112, it is an accurate measure

of his earning capacity and there was no error in calculating Claimant’s AWW

using Section 309(d) of the Act.

b. Should Claimant’s AWW include wages from his other

employment?

Section 309(e) provides, in relevant part, that “[w]here the employe is

working under concurrent contracts with two or more employers, his wages from

all such employers shall be considered as if earned from the employer liable for

compensation.” 77 P.S. § 582(e). However, for a claimant’s employment with a

14

In Janson, however, based on the credited testimony of the employer’s witness that the

employer was unaware that the claimant had found alternative employment during the layoff

period, the WCJ found that the employment relationship was maintained notwithstanding the

policy and the claimant obtaining alternate employment. 49 A.3d at 459-60, 463.

27

second employer to qualify as “concurrent employment,” the claimant had to have

been working for both employers “at the time of the [work] injury.” Freeman v.

Workmen’s Comp. Appeal Bd. (C.J. Langenfelder & Son), 527 A.2d 1100, 1101-02

(Pa. Cmwlth. 1987) (emphasis in original). We have explained that “the General

Assembly’s use of the present tense [in Section 309(e)] negates any intention to

include within its ambit workers who have previously been employed by

concurrent employers.” Id. at 1101. Because Claimant testified that he worked

only for Employer in April 2012, the Board did not err in concluding that Claimant

could not be deemed as having concurrent employment at the time of his work

injury.

C. Penalty Petition

Employer appeals from the Board’s Order, arguing the Board erred in

reversing the WCJ’s determination that Claimant did not establish a violation of

the Act and in, sua sponte, awarding a 10-percent penalty. The decision to impose

a penalty falls within the discretion of the WCJ and, here, Employer asserts, the

WCJ found, based on the credible testimony of Foreman, that Employer’s timely

filed answer denying that Claimant suffered from a work-related injury and

promptly scheduled IME provided Claimant with notice that Employer was

denying his claim. According to Employer, issuing a Notice of Compensation

Denial (NCD), the lack of which the Board found was a “technical violation of the

Act,” would simply have reiterated what it stated in its timely answer.

(Employer’s Brief (Br.) at 23-24.) Based on these facts, Employer argues, the

WCJ exercised his discretion to determine that no penalty was warranted, and the

Board erred by usurping that discretion.

28

Claimant responds it is well-settled that an employer’s failure to timely issue

the appropriate WC Bureau document accepting or denying an alleged work injury

is a violation of the Act and should result in an award of penalties. Section 406.1

of the Act requires the issuance of such a document within 21 days of being

notified of a claimant’s injury or disability. 77 P.S. § 991; Brutico v. Workers’

Comp. Appeal Bd. (US Airways, Inc.), 866 A.2d 1152, 1155 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2004).

According to Claimant, Employer’s reasons for not complying with Section 406.1

are insufficient because Employer was fully aware of Claimant’s work-related

disability as of November 6, 2012, the date its IME physician indicated Claimant

suffered from a work-related injury and could not return to his pre-injury position.

Employer’s refusal to acknowledge its liability, Claimant maintains, continued for

months after the IME, and reflects Employer’s decision not to comply with the Act

notwithstanding it being apparent that Claimant had sustained a disabling work-

related injury. As such, Claimant argues, the Board’s decision to find a violation

of the Act and to award a penalty was not erroneous.

Section 435(d)(i) of the Act allows for a penalty of up to 50 percent of the

compensation due to be assessed if an employer violates the Act or its

regulations.15 77 P.S. § 991(d)(i). In penalty petition proceedings, the claimant

15

Section 435(d)(i)-(iii) states, in its entirety:

(d) The department, the board, or any court which may hear any proceedings

brought under this act shall have the power to impose penalties as provided herein

for violations of the provisions of this act or such rules and regulations or rules of

procedure:

(i) Employers and insurers may be penalized a sum not exceeding ten per

centum of the amount awarded and interest accrued and payable:

Provided, however, That such penalty may be increased to fifty per

(Footnote continued on next page…)

29

“bears the burden of proving a violation of the Act occurred” and, if met, the

burden “shifts to the employer to prove it did not violate the Act.” Dixon v.

Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (Medrad, Inc.), 134 A.3d 518, 525 (Pa. Cmwlth.

2016) (quoting Gumm v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (Steel), 942 A.2d 222, 232

(Pa. Cmwlth. 2008)). “When a violation of the Act occurs, it is within the

discretion of the WCJ to impose penalties.” Jordan v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd.

(Phila. Newspapers, Inc.), 921 A.2d 27, 41 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2007). The WCJ has the

discretion to assess a penalty and, if assessed, to determine the amount of the

penalty. Id. This discretion is not unfettered, Croman v. Workers’ Compensation

Appeal Board (Township of Marple), 706 A.2d 408, 410 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1998), and

“[a]n abuse of discretion is not merely an error of judgment but occurs, . . . , when

the law is misapplied in reaching a conclusion.” Westinghouse Elec. Corp. v.

Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (Weaver), 823 A.2d 209, 213-14 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2003).

The Board found that Employer’s failure to issue a document accepting or

denying Claimant’s injury as work-related violated Section 406.1(a), (c) of the Act.

Those provisions state, in relevant part:

_____________________________

(continued…)

centum in cases of unreasonable or excessive delays. Such penalty shall

be payable to the same persons to whom the compensation is payable.

(ii) Any penalty or interest provided for anywhere in this act shall not be

considered as compensation for the purposes of any limitation on the total

amount of compensation payable which is set forth in this act.

(iii) Claimants shall forfeit any interest that would normally be payable to

them with respect to any period of unexcused delay which they have

caused.

77 P.S. § 991(d)(i)-(iii).

30

(a) The employer and insurer shall promptly investigate each injury

reported or known to the employer and shall proceed promptly to

commence the payment of compensation due either pursuant to an

agreement upon the compensation payable or a notice of

compensation payable as provided in section 407 or pursuant to a

notice of temporary compensation payable as set forth in subsection

(d), on forms prescribed by the department and furnished by the

insurer. The first installment of compensation shall be paid not later

than the twenty-first day after the employer has notice or knowledge

of the employe’s disability.

....

(c) If the insurer controverts the right to compensation it shall

promptly notify the employe or his dependent, on a form prescribed

by the department, stating the grounds upon which the right to

compensation is controverted and shall forthwith furnish a copy or

copies to the department.

77 P.S. § 717.1(a), (c). “An employer violates Section 406.1 of the Act if it fails to

issue an NCP, an NCD, or a Notice of Temporary Compensation Payable . . .

within [21] days of receiving notice of a work-related injury” and “can be liable for

penalties for” not doing so. Coyne v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (Villanova

Univ.), 942 A.2d 939, 951 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2008); Lemansky v. Workers’ Comp.

Appeal Bd. (Hagan Ice Cream Co.), 738 A.2d 498, 502 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1999)

(stating “the Act indicates that [an e]mployer does have an affirmative obligation

to accept or deny the injury as work-related within [21] days of notice”). This is

true even if the employer is actively contesting the claimant’s claim, “since

contesting a claim does not relieve an employer of its duty under” Section 406.1 of

the Act. Spangler v. Workmen’s Comp. Appeal Bd. (Ford), 602 A.2d 446, 448 (Pa.

Cmwlth. 1992); see also Croman, 706 A.2d at 410. However, where “there is a

violation of the Act, even an apparent violation, the imposition of a penalty is not

automatic.” Brutico, 866 A.2d at 1155-56 (second emphasis added).

31

Here, Employer did not issue an NCP or an NCD acknowledging or denying

Claimant’s injury as work-related and instead issued an answer to the Claim

Petition contesting Claimant’s claim. The fact that Employer was actively

contesting that claim, however, did not relieve Employer from the requirements of

Section 406.1 of the Act, Spangler, 602 A.2d at 448, and its failure to comply with

those requirements is a technical violation of the Act, Coyne, 942 A.2d at 951.

Although the Board correctly held that the WCJ erred in not finding a violation of

the Act, not every violation of the Act requires, as a matter of law, the automatic

imposition of a penalty. Brutico, 866 A.2d at 1155. Rather, whether a penalty is

appropriate is at the discretion of the WCJ. Unfortunately, we must therefore

“remand . . . to the WCJ to take into consideration whether . . . penalties are

appropriate.” Moore v. Workmen’s Comp. Appeal Bd. (Reading Paperboard

Corp.), 676 A.2d 690, 695 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1996). In doing so, we note that the

Board awarded a 10-percent penalty on an award of benefits for a closed period of

time. Having reversed the termination of Claimant’s benefits as of August 14,

2012, the WCJ will have to consider whether a technical violation of the Act

warrants the imposition of a penalty on what is now an award of ongoing benefits.

III. Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we find that Claimant is entitled to ongoing

benefits, and therefore we reverse that part of the Board’s Order affirming the

termination of Claimant’s WC benefits as of August 14, 2012. We affirm that part

of the Board’s Order affirming the calculation of Claimant’s AWW as $728.38,

and that part of the Board’s Order reversing the denial of the Penalty Petition.

However, we must vacate the award of a 10-percent penalty and remand the matter

32

to allow the WCJ to exercise his discretion on whether to award a penalty based on

Employer’s technical violation of the Act.

_____________________________________

RENÉE COHN JUBELIRER, Judge

33

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Thomas Kurpiewski, :

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 158 C.D. 2018

:

Workers’ Compensation Appeal :

Board (Caretti, Inc.), :

Respondent :

:

Caretti, Inc., :

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 194 C.D. 2018

:

Workers’ Compensation Appeal :

Board (Kurpiewski), :

Respondent :

ORDER

NOW, January 18, 2019, the Order of Workers’ Compensation Appeal

Board (Board) entered in the above-captioned matter is REVERSED to the extent

it affirmed the termination of Thomas Kurpiewski’s (Claimant) workers’

compensation benefits as of August 14, 2012, AFFIRMED to the extent it

affirmed the calculation of Claimant’s average weekly wage as $728.38, and

AFFIRMED to the extent it reversed the denial of Claimant’s Penalty Petition.

The imposition of a 10-percent penalty is VACATED, and the matter is

REMANDED for further proceedings consistent with the foregoing opinion.

Jurisdiction relinquished.

_____________________________________

RENÉE COHN JUBELIRER, Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.