Opinion

Leason v. Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Review

  • 198 A.3d 509
Court
Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania
Filed
Nov 21, 2018
Status
Published
Author
Brobson
On the bench
Brobson, McCullough, Colins
Cited by
5 cases
Authority
More cited than 61.5%

finding the claimant’s decision to quit his job and relocate to be with his wife was not motivated by circumstances beyond his wife’s control, where he “did not present evidence or develop an argument that the couple’s financial situation was so dire 12 that it necessitated relocation”

How later courts described this case

  • finding the claimant’s decision to quit his job and relocate to be with his wife was not motivated by circumstances beyond his wife’s control, where he “did not present evidence or develop an argument that the couple’s financial situation was so dire 12 that it necessitated relocation”

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Daniel J. Leason, :

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 223 C.D. 2018

: Submitted: August 31, 2018

Unemployment Compensation :

Board of Review, :

Respondent :

BEFORE: HONORABLE P. KEVIN BROBSON, Judge

HONORABLE PATRICIA A. McCULLOUGH, Judge

HONORABLE JAMES GARDNER COLINS, Senior Judge

OPINION BY JUDGE BROBSON FILED: November 21, 2018

Petitioner Daniel J. Leason (Claimant) petitions, pro se, for review of

an order of the Unemployment Compensation Board of Review (Board). The Board

affirmed the Unemployment Compensation Referee’s (Referee) decision, which

denied Claimant unemployment compensation benefits pursuant to Section 402(b)

of the Unemployment Compensation Law (Law),1 relating to voluntary separation

without cause of a necessitous and compelling nature. For the reasons set forth

below, we now affirm the Board’s order.

Claimant worked for Havis, Inc. (Employer) as a full-time Inside Sales

Representative. (Certified Record (C.R.), Item No. 10 at 2.) Claimant voluntarily

separated from Employer on August 4, 2017, to relocate to Gainesville, Florida, with

1

Act of December 5, 1936, Second Ex. Sess., P.L. (1937) 2897, as amended, 43 P.S.

§ 802(b).

his spouse who accepted a full-time position there as an art teacher at a school. (Id.

at 2-3.) Shortly thereafter, Claimant filed for unemployment compensation benefits.

The Altoona Unemployment Compensation Service Center (Service Center) issued

a determination, finding Claimant ineligible for benefits due to his inability to prove

a necessitous and compelling reason for terminating his employment. (C.R., Item

No. 4 at 1.) Claimant then appealed the Service Center’s decision, and the Referee

conducted an evidentiary hearing. (C.R., Item Nos. 5, 10.)

At the evidentiary hearing before the Referee, Claimant participated by

telephone and Employer did not appear. (C.R., Item No. 10 at 1.) Claimant testified

that he voluntarily terminated his employment so that he could move to Florida to

join his spouse. (Id. at 2.) Before leaving the state, Claimant’s spouse was employed

part-time as a teacher, but she was unable to find a full-time position in the field in

which she was trained, i.e., as an art teacher. (Id. at 3.) Claimant testified that his

spouse, therefore, moved to Florida because she had the opportunity to be employed

as a full-time art teacher. (Id.) Claimant “followed [his spouse] down to Florida so

she could accept that position.” (Id. at 2.)

With respect to the issues relevant to this appeal, Claimant’s full

testimony on the matter was brief:

R Why was August 4th your last day?

C My last day was, because my wife accepted a

position[,]—she’s a teacher. She accepted a

position down in Alachua County in Florida in

Gainesville, and I followed her down to Florida, so

she could accept that position.

....

R Okay and why not stay up here? You were

employed. Couldn’t she find a job in Pennsylvania?

C Nope that’s fine. I knew that question was coming.

There are actually no art teaching positions really in

2

Pennsylvania. The question on the form I filled out

asked if your wife was employed prior to accepting

a position down in Florida. That’s a very black and

white question. Yes, she was employed, but

working anywhere from two to six hours weekly. It

certainly wasn’t economically viable, and again, for

her to obtain a full-time teaching position in her

chosen field, which is very specific, she’s an art

teacher, she actually had to look beyond the state

and out of state, really, actually–[inaudible] many

months ago. So she was actually able to obtain a

full-time position, in a district down here, where she

wasn’t able to do so up there, so.

R Okay. What else do you want me to know?

C That’s really it. The form was–yeah, the form was

very black and white. I read the question, you

know, answer it truthfully. So, I mean, was she

employed? She was, but again it never asked if it

was part-time or the hours that were involved, or

anything like that. So, that was basically the reason.

That was basically, you know, I went on to

questions beyond that, but yeah, that was the reason

and I certainly hope that’s sufficient.

....

R Okay.

C And there are no such positions up in Pennsylvania.

You know, they’re doing away with a lot of those—

you know, music and art programs. The teachers

that are there are shared between multiple schools.

They don’t leave, so it’s very difficult to obtain, you

know, that type of position. You know,

unfortunately, much to the chagrin of her parents.

(Id. at 2-4.)

After the conclusion of the evidentiary hearing, the Referee issued a

decision, finding Claimant ineligible for unemployment compensation benefits

pursuant to Section 402(b) of the Law. (C.R., Item No. 11.) Claimant then appealed

3

to the Board, which affirmed the Referee’s decision and order. In so doing, the

Board issued the following findings of fact:

1. Havis, Inc., employed the claimant beginning

June 6, 2011, as an inside sales representative.

2. The claimant’s spouse was employed in Pennsylvania,

but accepted a position in Florida.

3. Effective August 4, 2017, the claimant resigned to

follow his spouse to Florida.

(C.R., Item No. 13.) The Board concluded that Claimant was ineligible for benefits

pursuant to Section 402(b) of the Law. The Board reasoned:

The claimant’s spouse was employed at the time, so her

decision to accept better employment in Florida was not

beyond her control. The Pennsylvania courts have

repeatedly held that an employed spouse’s choice to

accept better employment, different employment, or a

voluntary transfer does not create a necessitous and

compelling reason for the claimant to quit. To receive

benefits, a claimant’s spouse must be forced to transfer by

his or her employer. Had the claimant’s spouse been

unemployed at the time, the Board would be required to

analyze the duration of her unemployment and the efforts

she took to find local employment, but those are not the

facts here.

(Id.) Claimant now petitions this Court for review.

On appeal,2 Claimant alleges that the Board committed an error of law

by concluding that Claimant failed to prove that he had a cause of a necessitous and

compelling nature to voluntarily terminate his employment.

2

This Court’s standard of review is limited to determining whether constitutional rights

were violated, whether an error of law was committed, or whether necessary findings of fact are

supported by substantial evidence. Section 704 of the Administrative Agency Law, 2 Pa. C.S.

§ 704.

4

Section 402(b) of the Law, pertaining to voluntary termination without

cause of a necessitous and compelling nature, provides in part that an employee shall

be ineligible for compensation for any week “[i]n which his unemployment is due

to voluntarily leaving work without cause of a necessitous and compelling nature.”

Where a claimant voluntarily terminates employment, the claimant bears the burden

of proving that the basis of the decision to terminate employment was a necessitous

and compelling one. Pa. Gaming Control Bd. v. Unemployment Comp. Bd. of

Review, 47 A.3d 1262, 1265 (Pa. Cmwlth.), appeal denied sub nom. Wyatte v.

Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Review, 62 A.3d 381 (Pa. 2012). This burden may be

met by showing that the circumstances at the time of the decision produced both a

real and substantial pressure to leave the employment and that a reasonable person

would have been similarly compelled under the same circumstances.3 Taylor v.

Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Review, 378 A.2d 829, 833 (Pa. 1977); Beachem v.

Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Review, 760 A.2d 68, 71 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2000). The

“follow-the-spouse” doctrine, which is applied when a claimant leaves employment

in order to relocate to be with his or her spouse, satisfies this inquiry. Glen Mills

Schs. v. Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Review, 665 A.2d 561, 564 (Pa.

Cmwlth. 1995).

Under the follow-the-spouse doctrine, a claimant’s burden is two-fold.

Wheeler v. Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Review, 450 A.2d 775, 778 (Pa.

Cmwlth. 1982). First, the claimant must establish that the move created

insurmountable commuting problems or that maintaining two residences would

result in economic hardship. Glen Mills Schs., 665 A.2d at 564. Under the second

3

Whether a claimant has a cause of a necessitous and compelling nature to voluntarily

leave employment is a question of law subject to this Court’s review. Pa. Gaming Control

Bd., 47 A.3d at 1265.

5

inquiry, the claimant must also demonstrate that circumstances beyond the control

of the claimant’s spouse caused the necessity to relocate, that the decision was

reasonable and made in good faith, and that the relocation was not a result of the

spouse’s personal preferences. Pa. Gaming Control Bd., 47 A.3d at 1267; Glen Mills

Schs., 665 A.2d at 564. Relocation due to a spouse’s inability to find a job locally

in the spouse’s field due to the spouse’s unique occupation and highly specialized

skills has been found to meet the second part of the test.4 Glen Mills Schs.,

665 A.2d at 564. Unemployment compensation benefits, however, are not meant to

“finance a voluntary change of career.” Rodriguez v. Unemployment Comp. Bd. of

Review, 174 A.3d 1158, 1165 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2017). Rather, “the objective of the

Law[5] . . . is to ensure that employees who become unemployed involuntarily are

provided with some semblance of economic security.” Hamot Med. Ctr. v.

Unemployment Comp. Bd. of Review, 645 A.2d 466, 469 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1994).

Here, Claimant appears to argue that he is entitled to benefits under the

follow-the-spouse doctrine because his spouse’s relocation was necessary due to an

inability to find specialized employment as an art teacher locally. Claimant testified

4

In Glen Mills Schools, we held that where a claimant’s spouse is trained in a highly

specialized area, inability to find employment in that field may constitute circumstances outside

of the claimant’s spouse’s control. In Glen Mills Schools, the claimant and her spouse resided in

Chester County where they were both employed. The claimant’s spouse was employed as a

physicist and had a Ph.D. in the discipline, but he lost his job. The claimant’s spouse sought

employment locally for a period of more than four months to no avail, after which he received and

accepted an offer of employment in Maryland. The claimant’s spouse initially commuted

two-and-a-half hours each weekend, but the commute became burdensome and the couple was not

able to maintain two separate residences, so the claimant voluntarily left her job and moved to

Maryland. This Court found that the claimant’s spouse’s decision to accept the job in Maryland

was not motivated by personal preference but by circumstances beyond his control in the form of

his “unique occupation and highly specialized skills.” Glen Mills Schs., 665 A.2d at 564.

5

Act of December 5, 1936, Second Ex. Sess., P.L. (1937) 2897, as amended, 43 P.S.

§§ 751-918.10.

6

that his spouse needed to relocate in order to accept full-time employment “in her

chosen field, which is very specific.” (C.R., Item No. 10 at 3.) Claimant further

explained that “there are no such positions up in Pennsylvania” and that “it’s very

difficult to obtain . . . that type of position.” (Id.) As to the financial aspect of the

relocation, Claimant testified that, prior to the decision to relocate, his spouse was

employed for between two to six hours each week and that the position was not

economically viable. (Id.)

The Board counters that Claimant’s spouse’s decision to relocate to

accept full-time employment when she already had part-time employment is more

comparable to a change of job based on personal preferences rather than necessity.

The Board compares the situation to that presented in Kochel v. Unemployment

Compensation Board of Review (Pa. Cmwlth., No. 284 C.D. 2012, filed

November 7, 2012).6 In Kochel, the claimant testified that her husband changed his

job because “it would allow him to better utilize his education, [it] had better hours,

and better pay.” Kochel, slip op. at 2. This Court, therefore, held that these reasons

were related to personal preference rather than circumstances outside the spouse’s

control, and we affirmed the denial of benefits. Id. While this holding is not binding,

we based our decision in Kochel on our holding in Gaunt v. Unemployment

Compensation Board of Review, 510 A.2d 895 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1986), wherein this

Court found that the claimant’s husband’s decision to accept new employment

because it was a better position was not a circumstance beyond his control. Gaunt,

510 A.2d at 896. We note, however, that neither of those cases involved a claimant’s

6

Pursuant to Section 414(a) of this Court’s Internal Operating Procedures, 210 Pa. Code

§ 69.414(a), an unreported panel decision issued by this Court after January 15, 2008, may be cited

“for its persuasive value, but not as binding precedent.”

7

spouse being employed part-time and relocating as a result of an inability to find

full-time employment in the career of her choice.

Moreover, the Board acknowledges that there may be instances where

a couple’s financial situation may be so dire that the circumstances surrounding the

claimant’s spouse’s decision to relocate and accept better employment may be

outside of the claimant’s spouse’s control. See Mathis v. Unemployment Comp. Bd.

of Review (Pa. Cmwlth., No. 1809 C.D. 2009, filed June 10, 2010.) In Mathis, the

claimant was facing termination of her employment in Pittsburgh, which prompted

her spouse to accept a better position in Erie instead of keeping his job in Pittsburgh.

Mathis, slip op. at 1. The claimant also testified that other factors such as foreclosure

on their home, their two young children, daycare expenses, and a two-hour total

commute contributed to the couple’s decision to relocate. Id. This Court found that

the claimant’s spouse’s decision to relocate was not based on personal preference

even though the accepted job would pay more. Id. at 3. The decision to relocate

was characterized as “strictly for survival purposes,” because the couple was about

to lose their home in foreclosure proceedings, the cost of daycare for two children

was high, and relocation to Erie would result in a more reasonable cost of living with

the added benefit of family nearby that could provide daycare at no cost. Id. The

circumstances surrounding the couple’s relocation were, therefore, out of the

claimant’s spouse’s control and not based on personal preference.

Here, we agree that Claimant’s spouse’s decision to relocate was

motivated by a desire to accept a full-time job that would allow her to better utilize

her training and obtain better pay. Thus, her decision to relocate to accept a better

job for which she was trained was motivated largely by personal preference. Her

situation is different than that in Glen Mills Schools, because her relocating to accept

8

a specialized job did not occur as a result of her losing a specialized job. As to

Claimant’s spouse’s prior part-time employment, it appears that Claimant may be

suggesting that his spouse’s part-time employment was so insubstantial as to render

the relocation necessary. Claimant, however, did not present evidence or develop

an argument that the couple’s financial situation was so dire that it necessitated

relocation, as in Mathis. The mere mention that her employment was not

economically viable does not show the state of the couple’s finances or provide

evidence of any impending economic crises. Based on these factors, Claimant has

not proven that the decision to relocate was motivated by circumstances outside of

Claimant’s spouse’s control.

For these reasons, Claimant failed to prove that his decision to

voluntarily terminate his employment was based on necessitous and compelling

reasons. Accordingly, we affirm the order of the Board.

P. KEVIN BROBSON, Judge

Senior Judge Colins dissents.

9

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Daniel J. Leason, :

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 223 C.D. 2018

:

Unemployment Compensation :

Board of Review, :

Respondent :

ORDER

AND NOW, this 21st day of November, 2018, the order of the

Unemployment Compensation Board of Review is hereby AFFIRMED.

P. KEVIN BROBSON, Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.