Opinion

Herman Nunies v. Hie Holdings, Inc.

  • 904 F.3d 837
Court
Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit
Filed
Sep 17, 2018
Status
Published
Nature of suit
Civil
Cited by
2 cases
Authority
More cited than 57.3%

The opinion

FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

HERMAN N. NUNIES, No. 16-16494

Plaintiff-Appellant,

DC No.

v. CV 15-0116 KSC

HIE HOLDINGS, INC.,

Defendant-Appellee. OPINION

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the District of Hawaii

Kevin S. Chang, Magistrate Judge, Presiding

Argued and Submitted June 12, 2018

Honolulu, Hawaii

Filed September 17, 2018

Before: A. Wallace Tashima, William A. Fletcher,

and Andrew D. Hurwitz, Circuit Judges.

Opinion by Judge Tashima

2 NUNIES V. HIE HOLDINGS

SUMMARY*

Employment Discrimination

The panel affirmed in part and reversed in part the district

court’s summary judgment in favor of the defendant in an

employment discrimination action under the Americans with

Disabilities Act.

The panel held that, under the ADA Amendments Act, the

scope of the ADA’s “regarded-as” definition of disability was

expanded. Prior to the ADAAA, to sustain a regarded-as

claim, the plaintiff had to provide evidence that the employer

subjectively believed the plaintiff was substantially limited in

a major life activity. Under the ADAAA, however, the

plaintiff must show that he has been subjected to a prohibited

action “because of an actual or perceived physical or mental

impairment whether or not the impairment limits or is

perceived to limit a major life activity.” Applying the correct

law, and viewing the evidence in the light most favorable to

the non-moving party, the panel concluded that the plaintiff

established a genuine issue of material fact as to whether his

employer regarded him as having a disability.

The panel held that the district court further erred in

concluding that the plaintiff did not meet the “physical”

definition of disability under the ADA, which requires a

showing that the plaintiff has a physical impairment that

substantially limits one or more major life activities. The

panel concluded that there was at least a dispute about

*

This summary constitutes no part of the opinion of the court. It has

been prepared by court staff for the convenience of the reader.

NUNIES V. HIE HOLDINGS 3

whether the plaintiff’s shoulder injury substantially limited

the life activities of working and lifting.

The panel reversed the district court’s dismissal of both

the ADA claims and plaintiff’s state law discrimination

claim. The panel affirmed the district court’s ruling that

Haw. Rev. Stat. § 378-35, which provides an exclusive

remedy for certain claims arising from a workplace injury,

did not bar the ADA claims. The panel remanded the case to

the district court for further proceedings.

COUNSEL

Charles H. Brower (argued), Honolulu, Hawaii, for Plaintiff-

Appellant.

Marguerite S. N. Fujie (argued) and Lisa W. Cataldo,

McCorriston Miller Mukai MacKinnon LLP, Honolulu,

Hawaii, for Defendant-Appellee.

Susan R. Oxford (argued), Attorney; Ann Noel Occhialino,

Acting Assistant General Counsel; Jennifer S. Goldstein,

Associate General Counsel; James L. Lee, Deputy General

Counsel; Equal Employment Opportunity Commission,

Washington, D.C.; for Amicus Curiae Equal Employment

Opportunity Commission.

4 NUNIES V. HIE HOLDINGS

OPINION

TASHIMA, Circuit Judge:

In 2008, Congress enacted the ADA Amendments Act

(“ADAAA”), which broadened the definition of disability

under the Americans with Disabilities Act (“ADA”),

42 U.S.C. §§ 12101 et seq. As relevant to this appeal, the

ADAAA expanded the scope of the ADA’s “regarded-as”

definition of disability. We have not opined on this issue

in the ten years since the ADAAA was enacted and some

district courts have mistakenly continued to apply the

narrower pre-ADAAA definition of regarded-as disability.

We now write to clarify this issue.

Plaintiff-appellant Herman Nunies was a delivery driver

for HIE Holdings, Inc. (“HIE”). Nunies claims that he

injured his shoulder and wanted to transfer to a part-time,

less-physical warehouse job. The requested transfer was

approved and all set to go through until Nunies told HIE

about his shoulder injury. Two days after Nunies allegedly

informed HIE about his injury, the company rejected his

transfer request and forced him to resign. Nunies brought a

disability discrimination suit against HIE under the ADA and

state law, arguing that HIE terminated him because of his

shoulder injury. HIE moved for summary judgment, which

the district court granted.

Applying the standard set forth in the ADAAA, we hold

that the district court erred in concluding, as a matter of law,

that Nunies was not regarded-as disabled. The district court

further erred in concluding that Nunies did not meet the

“physical” definition of disability under the ADA. We

reverse and remand.

NUNIES V. HIE HOLDINGS 5

BACKGROUND

1. Factual Background

HIE is in the business of the purchase, sale, and

distribution of food products for residential and commercial

use. Nunies was a five-gallon delivery driver for the

company in Kauai. His primary duties included operating

HIE’s company vehicle; loading, unloading, and delivering

five-gallon water bottles; and occasionally assisting in the

warehouse. The position required lifting and carrying a

minimum of 50 pounds and other physical tasks.

Sometime in mid-June 2013, Nunies wanted to transfer

from his full-time delivery driver position to a part-time

warehouse position. The parties dispute the motivation for

this switch. Nunies attributes his desire to switch to the pain

he had developed in his left shoulder. HIE – through a

supervisor, Victor Watabu – contends that Nunies wanted to

transfer so that he could focus on his independent side-

business. To effectuate the transfer, Nunies found a part-time

warehouse employee, Sidney Aguinaldo, to swap positions.

Watabu contacted HIE’s Honolulu office because that

office needed to approve the Nunies-Aguinaldo swap.

According to Watabu, the Honolulu office “tentatively”

approved the switch pending resolution of some pay and

duties questions. Nunies asserts that on June 14, 2013,

Watabu told him that the switch had been approved.

Next, Nunies states that on June 17, 2013, he notified his

operations manager and Watabu that he was having shoulder

pain. HIE disputes that it was aware of Nunies’ shoulder

injury. However, on a later-filed “Employer’s Report of

6 NUNIES V. HIE HOLDINGS

Industrial Injury,” an HIE HR official noted that Nunies first

reported the injury on June 17.

The parties agree that on June 19, Watabu told Nunies

that HIE would not extend the part-time warehouse position

to him and that Nunies’ last day would be July 3. Nunies

argues that there were no discussions after June 14 about

reaching an agreement until, on June 19, Watabu said “[y]ou

gotta resign” because “[y]our job no longer exists because of

budget cuts.”1 HIE’s termination report, dated June 27, 2013,

states that the “type” of Nunies’ separation was “resignation,”

and that the reason for the separation was that the “part-time

position [was] not available.” However, on June 24, 2013,

Watabu emailed his HIE colleagues, on an email chain about

Nunies’ last day of employment, and asked, “can you scan a

copy for a job opening for a part-time warehouseman ad[?]”

Nunies saw an ad for the position in the newspaper on June

26, 2013, one day before HIE completed Nunies’ termination

report.

On June 20, the day after HIE informed Nunies that he

would not get the part-time position, Nunies went to a doctor

for his shoulder pain and procured a note stating that he

should not work until being reevaluated on July 5. Therefore,

although the last day that Nunies actually worked was June

19, he was still technically employed until July 3. After his

doctor’s visit, Nunies filled out a Workers’ Compensation

Accident Report and sent the report to HIE on June 27. The

1

HIE argues that between June 14 and June 19, Watabu and Nunies

discussed the terms of the switch and that Nunies wanted his same hourly

rate in the new position. Watabu declares that the Honolulu office would

not give Nunies the same hourly rate as his delivery driver wage, and as

such, they would not extend the position to Nunies.

NUNIES V. HIE HOLDINGS 7

report notes that Nunies first reported the injury on June 17

and that the “injury is from lifting five gal bottles over a

period of 5 years.” In HIE’s Report of Industrial Injury, it

also states that Nunies reported the injury on June 17, but

notes that Nunies “advised [his] supervisor that he will not be

able to work full time due to increased jobs from his

landscaping business.” In describing the cause and nature of

the injury, the Employer’s Report states “[a]lleged left

shoulder and both wrist[s]” injuries and “[n]othing noted as

specific incident for injury. Alleging possible cumulative

trauma from doing the job for 5 years. No recent missed time

up to date of filing.”

Following an MRI on July 29, 2013, Nunies was

diagnosed with supraspinatus tendinitis/partial tear of his left

shoulder. By September 2014, medical reports concluded

that the injury had been resolved.

2. Procedural Background

Nunies brought suit on April 6, 2015, alleging that HIE

violated the ADA and Hawaii’s employment discrimination

law, Haw. Rev. Stat. (“HRS”) § 378-2, by discriminating

against him because of his disability. HIE moved for

summary judgment on all claims, arguing that: (1) Nunies’

suit was barred under HRS § 378-352; and (2) Nunies could

2

HRS § 378-35 states:

If the department of labor and industrial relations finds,

after a hearing, that an employer has unlawfully

suspended, discharged or discriminated against an

employee in violation of section 378-32, the department

may order the reinstatement, or reinstatement to the

prior position, as the case may be, of the employee with

8 NUNIES V. HIE HOLDINGS

not establish a prima facie case of disability discrimination

because he was not “disabled,” not a “qualified individual,”

and did not suffer an “adverse employment action.” The

district court granted HIE summary judgment on all of

Nunies’ claims.

First, the district court rejected HIE’s argument that

Nunies’ claims were barred by state law because Nunies did

not assert a cause of action under HRS § 378-32, the claim

that HRS § 378-35 bars.

Second, the district court concluded that Nunies did not

have a “disability” under the ADA. Even though Nunies only

argued in his briefs that HIE regarded him as having a

disability, the district court also considered whether he had a

“physical,” or a “record” disability. As to physical disability,

the district court concluded that Nunies had not established

that his shoulder injury “substantially limited” any “major life

activity.” The district court also found that Nunies did not

establish a record of impairment. Finally, the district court

concluded that Nunies had not established that HIE regarded

him as having a disability because Nunies did not come

forward with any evidence that HIE subjectively believed that

Nunies was substantially limited in a major life activity.

Nunies timely appealed.

or without backpay or may order the payment of

backpay without any such reinstatement.

NUNIES V. HIE HOLDINGS 9

STANDARD OF REVIEW

This court reviews an order granting summary judgment

de novo. United States v. Washington, 853 F.3d 946, 961–62

(9th Cir. 2017).

DISCUSSION

1. Waiver

HIE argues that we should not consider Nunies’ regarded-

as disability claim because he did not adequately argue it in

his opening brief on appeal or his physical disability claim

because he did not raise it below. We reject HIE’s arguments

and reach the merits on both theories of disability.

First, although Nunies’ regarded-as argument in his

opening brief is sparse, he does home in on the key issue of

whether he was required to “show that a major life activity

was substantially limited,” or that HIE perceived as much.

Therefore, Nunies “specifically and distinctly” raised the

issue for this court. See Entm’t Research Grp., Inc. v.

Genesis Creative Grp., Inc., 122 F.3d 1211, 1217 (9th Cir.

1997) (quoting Greenwood v. FAA, 28 F.3d 971, 977 (9th Cir.

1994)).

As to the “physical” disability argument, HIE is correct

that Nunies did not address the issue in his opposition to the

motion for summary judgment. Nonetheless, Nunies raised

the argument at the hearing on the motion by contending that

he could not work or lift, both of which are “major life

activities” relevant to the definition of physical disability. In

response to this argument, the district court asked “[s]o is this

a – regarded as having an impairment ADA claim?” to which

10 NUNIES V. HIE HOLDINGS

Nunies’s counsel responded (1) “our position is that as soon

as he told them he had that pain in the shoulder, things

changed, and suddenly he was out the door,” and (2) “in

addition to that our argument is that yes, in fact he does have

an ADA-covered disability which we said they considered in

changing their mind about him taking the warehouse

position.” (Emphasis added). Thus, Nunies suggested that he

was raising two distinct arguments. And, the district court’s

order suggests that the court interpreted Nunies’ argument as

implicating both the physical and regarded-as prongs of

disability because it addressed both.

Even if Nunies did not raise the issue, we may consider it

if “the issue presented is purely one of law and either does not

depend on the factual record developed below, or the

pertinent record has been fully developed[.]” See Bolker v.

Comm’r, 760 F.2d 1039, 1042 (9th Cir. 1985). Whether

Nunies has come forward with sufficient evidence to defeat

summary judgment is a question of law, the district court

developed the issue, and the parties briefed it on appeal;

therefore, we opt to reach whether the district court erred in

concluding that Nunies did not have a disability under the

physical prong of the definition.

2. Disability

To set forth a prima facie disability discrimination claim,

a plaintiff must establish that: (1) he is disabled within the

meaning of the ADA; (2) he is qualified (i.e., able to perform

the essential functions of the job with or without reasonable

accommodation); and (3) the employer terminated him

because of his disability. See Snead v. Metro. Prop. & Cas.

Ins. Co., 237 F.3d 1080, 1087 (9th Cir. 2001).

NUNIES V. HIE HOLDINGS 11

“The term ‘disability’ means, with respect to an

individual – (A) a physical or mental impairment that

substantially limits one or more major life activities of such

individual; (B) a record of such an impairment; or (C) being

regarded as having such an impairment.” 42 U.S.C.

§ 12102(1)(A)–(C). The ADA does not define “physical or

mental impairment,” but the Equal Employment Opportunity

Commission’s (“EEOC”) regulations define physical

impairment as “[a]ny physiological disorder or condition . . .

affecting one or more body systems, such as . . .

musculoskeletal . . . .” 29 C.F.R. § 1630.2(h)(1).

The regarded-as and physical prongs of the definition are

at issue on appeal.

A. Regarded-as

Under the ADAAA,

An individual meets the requirement of “being

regarded as having such an impairment” if the

individual establishes that he or she has been

subjected to an action prohibited under this

chapter because of an actual or perceived

physical or mental impairment whether or not

the impairment limits or is perceived to limit

a major life activity.

12 NUNIES V. HIE HOLDINGS

42 U.S.C. § 12102(3)(A) (emphasis added).3 Prior to the

ADAAA, to sustain a regarded-as claim, the plaintiff had to

“provide evidence that the employer subjectively believe[d]

that the plaintiff [was] substantially limited in a major life

activity.” Walton v. U.S. Marshals Serv., 492 F.3d 998, 1006

(9th Cir. 2007) (relying in part on the interpretation of

regarded-as in Sutton, which the ADAAA explicitly

superceded). See footnote 3, supra.

The ADA excludes individuals from regarded-as coverage

if the impairment is both transitory (i.e., expected to last six

months or less) and minor (which the statute does not define).

42 U.S.C. § 12102(3)(B).

Here, the district court cited the ADAAA definition of

regarded-as, but relied on pre-ADAAA caselaw to hold that

Nunies did not establish coverage. Specifically, the district

court concluded “that Plaintiff has not sustained his burden of

presenting direct evidence that Defendant subjectively

believed that Plaintiff is substantially limited in a major life

activity.” (Emphasis added.) Based on the plain language of

the ADAAA, it was error for the district court to require

Nunies to present evidence that HIE believed that Nunies was

substantially limited in a major life activity.

Applying the correct law, and viewing the evidence in the

light most favorable to the non-moving party, we conclude

3

“The ADAAA rejects the Supreme Court’s interpretation of the term

‘disability’ in Sutton v. United Air Lines, Inc., 527 U.S. 471, 119 S.Ct.

2139, 144 L.Ed.2d 450 (1999), and Toyota Motor Manufacturing,

Kentucky, Inc. v. Williams, 534 U.S. 184, 122 S.Ct. 681, 151 L.Ed.2d 615

(2002), and thereby expands the class of individuals who are entitled to

protection under the ADA.” Rohr v. Salt River Project Agric.

Improvement & Power Dist., 555 F.3d 850, 853 (9th Cir. 2009).

NUNIES V. HIE HOLDINGS 13

that Nunies established a genuine issue of material fact as to

whether HIE regarded him as having a disability. A

reasonable jury could conclude that HIE effectively

terminated Nunies “because of” its knowledge of Nunies’

shoulder injury.

Nunies proffered evidence that Watabu told him that the

transfer to the part-time position was fully approved on June

14. On June 17, Nunies informed Watabu and his operations

manager that he was having shoulder pain. Then, on June 19,

Nunies learned that he would not receive the transfer and that

he had to resign. When Nunies asked why, Watabu told him

that the part-time job no longer existed because of budget

cuts. Nevertheless, because HIE advertised an opening for

the exact same position just days afterwards, it reasonably can

be inferred that the position clearly still existed.

Put simply, there is evidence in the record that everything

was going swimmingly for Nunies in terms of transferring to

the part-time position until he informed HIE that he had

shoulder pain. Once HIE learned of the shoulder pain, it

rescinded the offer, and forced Nunies to resign. Further,

there is evidence that HIE misrepresented to Nunies that the

position was no longer available because shortly thereafter

the company was looking to hire someone for the same

position. From these facts, on summary judgment, it would

be reasonable to infer that HIE forced Nunies to resign

“because of” his shoulder injury.4 See Ray v. Henderson,

217 F.3d 1234, 1244 (9th Cir. 2000) (stating that causation

may be inferred from timing of events); see also Chuang v.

Univ. of Cal. Davis, Bd. of Trs., 225 F.3d 1115, 1127 (9th Cir.

4

HIE does not contest that a shoulder injury could be a physical

impairment for the purposes of the ADA.

14 NUNIES V. HIE HOLDINGS

2000) (noting that evidence of an employer proffering a

misleading reason supports a finding of intentional

discrimination (citing Reeves v. Sanderson Plumbing Prods.,

Inc., 530 U.S. 133, 146–47 (2000))).

HIE’s arguments to the contrary are not convincing.

First, HIE correctly points out that the regarded-as definition

of disability does not apply to “transitory and minor”

impairments. 42 U.S.C. § 12102(3)(B). Citing this

provision, HIE contends that “Nunies’ report of ‘shoulder

pain’ would not be sufficient to convince a reasonable jury

that Nunies had a physical impairment expected to last six

months or longer, or that HIE regarded him as such.”

However, HIE errs by placing the burden on Nunies to show

that his impairment was not transitory or minor. As Amicus

EEOC points out, the “transitory and minor” exception is an

affirmative defense, and “[a]s such, the employer bears the

burden of establishing the defense.” See 29 C.F.R. pt. 1630,

app. § 1630.2(l); id. at § 1630.15(f); see also Hutton v. Elf

Atochem N. Am., Inc., 273 F.3d 884, 893 (9th Cir. 2001)).

HIE offered no evidence to sustain its burden that Nunies’

actual or perceived injury was “transitory and minor.”5

Second, HIE’s attacks on Nunies’ evidence on summary

judgment are irrelevant to the analysis. HIE asserts that

Nunies’ “uncorroborated report of ‘shoulder pain’ is made

more suspect” by an allegedly contradictory statement from

5

In fact, Nunies still had a lifting restriction until September 2014,

more than a year after he left HIE.

NUNIES V. HIE HOLDINGS 15

Nunies. But, Nunies’ statement is not contradictory6 and,

more fundamentally, whether Nunies’ evidence is suspect is

a question for a jury, not one to be resolved on summary

judgment. Likewise, we reject HIE’s contention that its

newspaper advertisement was irrelevant to whether the

company regarded Nunies as disabled. Evidence that HIE

lied to Nunies about the availability of the part-time position

raises the reasonable inference that the company withdrew its

transfer offer to Nunies based on an illicit reason.

Considering that Nunies had informed the company two days

earlier that he was hurt, a reasonable jury could connect those

dots.

All in all, considering the broader definition of regarded-

as disability under the ADAAA, and viewing the evidence in

the light most favorable to Nunies, the district court erred in

granting of summary judgment to HIE on this issue.

B. Physical

To establish a disability under the physical prong of the

definition, a plaintiff must show that he has “a physical . . .

impairment that substantially limits one or more major life

activities.” 42 U.S.C. § 12102(1)(A). “[M]ajor life activities

include, but are not limited to, caring for oneself, performing

manual tasks, seeing, hearing, eating, sleeping, walking,

standing, lifting, bending, speaking, breathing, learning,

6

HIE argues that Nunies’ statement that he did not tell the company

that he was injured at work prior to the June 20 doctor’s appointment is

contradicted by the fact that Nunies argues he had his shoulder injury prior

to his leaving the company. These statements are not contradictory.

Nunies could have told the company that he was injured on June 17, but

not tell them how he thought he was injured until after June 20.

16 NUNIES V. HIE HOLDINGS

reading, concentrating, thinking, communicating, and

working.” Id. § 12102(2)(A). The relevant regulations add

that “substantially limits” should “be construed broadly” and

that “[a]n impairment need not prevent, or significantly or

severely restrict, the individual from performing a major life

activity in order to be considered substantially limiting.”

29 C.F.R. § 1630.2(j)(1)(i) & (ii).

Here, the district court held that Nunies could not

establish a disability under the physical prong because he did

“not identif[y] any major life activities that were affected by

his impairment.” And, even if Nunies had identified a life

activity, the district court concluded that he had not

demonstrated that his shoulder injury substantially limited

any of those activities compared to most people in the general

population.

As mentioned above, however, Nunies did identify two

major life activities: working and lifting. After reviewing the

record, we conclude that there is at least a dispute about

whether Nunies’ shoulder injury substantially limited those

life activities. For example, in his deposition, Nunies

testified that any time he lifted his arm above chest height –

even without an object – he would experience a stabbing pain

and numbness. Further, even in 2014, Nunies still had a

lifting restriction of 25 pounds.

HIE relies, as did the district court, on evidence in the

record that Nunies continued working through the pain to

conclude that he was not substantially limited in his ability to

work. But in order for an impairment to substantially limit a

major life activity it “need not prevent, or significantly or

severely restrict” the activity. Id. § 1630.2(j)(1)(ii). In our

view, a stabbing pain when raising one’s arm above chest

NUNIES V. HIE HOLDINGS 17

height substantially limits the major life activity of lifting and

possibly working. Therefore, we conclude that the district

court also erred in deciding as a matter of law that Nunies did

not meet the “physical” disability definition under 42 U.S.C.

§ 12102(1)(A).

3. State Law Claims

A. Hawaii Discrimination Claim

Nunies alleged a state-law disability discrimination claim

under HRS § 378-2. Because Hawaii applies “the same

framework . . . to claims of discrimination under the ADA . . .

to claims under HRS § 378-2,” the district court dismissed

this claim for the same reasons it dismissed the ADA claims.

See Furukawa v. Honolulu Zoological Soc’y, 936 P.2d 643,

648–49 (Haw. 1997). Because we reverse the dismissal of

the ADA claims, we also reverse the dismissal of the state

law discrimination claim.

B. State Law as a Bar

Finally, HIE asserts that HRS § 378-35 bars Nunies’

claims. We conclude that the district court was correct to

deny HIE summary judgment on this ground.

In support of its argument, HIE cites Takaki v. Allied

Machinery Corp., 951 P.2d 507 (Haw. Ct. App. 1998), but

this case is not as broad as HIE argues. In Takaki, the Hawaii

Intermediate Court of Appeals held that the exclusive remedy

available to an individual claiming unlawful discharge under

HRS § 378-32 for a work-related injury is provided in HRS

§ 378-35. Id. at 514. HIE argues by analogy that HRS § 378-

35 must therefore also bar federal ADA claims, but Takaki

18 NUNIES V. HIE HOLDINGS

says nothing about federal claims.7 HIE’s logic also fails for

the simple reason that there is no indication that a workplace

injury cannot serve as the disability in an ADA claim. In

other words, just because an injury happened at work does

not mean that a plaintiff can only assert a claim under HRS

§ 378-32(a)(2). If Nunies brought a claim under HRS § 378-

32(a)(2), it would be barred, but he did not bring such a claim

– he brought a claim under the ADA. Or, as the district court

articulated it, “Plaintiff’s claims do not fall within the ambit

of HRS §§ 378-32 and 378-35.”

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the district court is AFFIRMED as to the

asserted state-law bar to bringing the ADA claims and the

HRS § 378-2 claim, but otherwise REVERSED, and the case

is REMANDED for further proceedings consistent with this

opinion.8

Nunies is awarded his costs on appeal against HIE.

AFFIRMED in part, REVERSED in part, and

REMANDED.

7

It would be highly unusual if it did. HIE’s argument amounts to a

reverse preemption argument – that state employment discrimination law

can displace the federal ADA.

8

HIE argues that we should affirm the district court’s grant of

summary judgment on the alternative grounds that Nunies did not

establish a prima facie case of discrimination, that HIE had a legitimate

reason for its actions, or that Nunies did not show that HIE’s reason was

pretextual. We decline to reach these issues and leave them for the district

court to consider in the first instance.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.