Opinion

Tennessee Farmers Mutual Insurance Company v. Southern Damage Appraisals, Inc

Court
Court of Appeals of Tennessee
Filed
Mar 21, 2018
Status
Published
On the bench
Chief Judge D. Michael Swiney
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 4.3%

The opinion

03/21/2018

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF TENNESSEE

AT NASHVILLE

September 5, 2017 Session

TENNESSEE FARMERS MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANY v.

SOUTHERN DAMAGE APPRAISALS, LLC

Appeal from the Circuit Court for Robertson County

No. 74CC1-2015-CV-104 Ross H. Hicks, Judge

No. M2017-00164-COA-R3-CV

Tennessee Farmers Mutual Insurance Company (“TN Farmers”), a/s/o Jared Smalley and

Cara Gurszecki (“the Homeowners”) sued Southern Damage Appraisals, LLC a/k/a

Willow Works (“SDA”) in connection with a construction project that SDA performed on

the Homeowners’ house located in Robertson County, Tennessee. SDA filed a motion

for summary judgment alleging that the suit was barred by the statute of repose contained

in Tenn. Code Ann. § 28-3-202. After a hearing on the motion for summary judgment,

the Circuit Court for Robertson County (“the Trial Court”) entered its order granting

summary judgment to SDA after finding and holding, inter alia, that TN Farmers’ claim

was for subrogation, the claim was subject to the four year statute of repose contained in

Tenn. Code Ann. § 28-3-202, and as the claim had been filed more than four years after

substantial completion of the work TN Farmers’ claim was barrred. We find and hold

that the claim was one for subrogation asserting a right pursuant to an alleged contract

between the Homeowners and SDA, that TN Farmers failed to show the existence of any

contract between the Homeowners and SDA, and that even if a contract between the

Homeowners and SDA did exist coverage for such a contract would be excluded under

the insurance policy between TN Farmers and the Homeowners. We, therefore, find and

hold that the Trial Court did not err in granting summary judgment to SDA.

Tenn. R. App. P. 3 Appeal as of Right; Judgment of the Circuit Court Affirmed;

Case Remanded

D. MICHAEL SWINEY, C.J., delivered the opinion of the court, in which FRANK G.

CLEMENT, JR., P.J., M.S. and RICHARD H. DINKINS, J., joined.

Jonathan A. Garner, Springfield, Tennessee, for the appellant, Tennessee Farmers Mutual

Insurance Company a/s/o Jared Smalley and Cara Gurszecki.

Benjamin E. Goldammer, Nashville, Tennessee, for the appellee, Southern Damage

Appraisals, LLC a/k/a Willow Works.

OPINION

Background

In December of 2009, the Homeowners sustained wind and water damage to their

house located in Greenbrier, Tennessee when a tree fell on the house during a storm. The

house was approximately two years old at that time. The Homeowners made a claim for

the storm damage under their homeowner’s insurance policy with TN Farmers

(“Insurance Policy”).

At that time, TN Farmers had a contractual agreement with SDA (“the Quality

Repair Program”) for SDA to be a preferred contractor for TN Farmers. SDA was hired

to replace the Homeowners’ roof and perform some other work related to the storm

damage. Work was completed in April of 2010, and the homeowner, Jared Smalley,

signed a Quality Repair Program Certificate of Satisfaction & Authorization to Pay

showing a completion date of February 26, 2010. TN Farmers paid the claim pursuant to

the Insurance Policy.

In April of 2012, the Homeowners discovered water damage in their house

allegedly due to faulty roof repair. TN Farmers paid to fix the roof and the areas of the

house that had been damaged, among other things. TN Farmers then sued SDA in March

of 2015 claiming subrogation under the Insurance Policy to the right of recovery of the

Homeowners.

SDA filed a motion for summary judgment alleging that the suit was barred by the

four year statute of repose contained in Tenn. Code Ann. § 28-3-202. SDA alleged that

the work was completed in February of 2010, the repose period under the statue ended in

February of 2014, and TN Farmers did not file suit until March of 2015. SDA also

alleged that the claim raised by TN Farmers was barred by the voluntary payment

doctrine because TN Farmers was a mere volunteer as to its payment related to the

damages from the alleged faulty roof repair and not, therefore, entitled to subrogation.

After a hearing, the Trial Court entered its order on December 14, 2016 granting

summary judgment to SDA after finding and holding, inter alia, that the instant case was

a subrogation action subject to the four year statute of repose in Tenn. Code Ann. § 28-3-

202, and as the claim had been filed more than four years after substantial completion of

SDA’s work, TN Farmers’s claim against SDA was barred. The December 14, 2016

2

order also found and held that TN Farmers’ payments to the Homeowners for the 2012

claim were voluntary payments for losses not covered under the Insurance Policy, and

therefore, TN Farmers was not entitled to seek subrogation. TN Farmers appealed the

December 14, 2016 order to this Court.

Discussion

The dispositive issue in this case is whether the Trial Court erred in granting

summary judgment to SDA. As our Supreme Court has instructed:

Summary judgment is appropriate when “the pleadings, depositions,

answers to interrogatories, and admissions on file, together with the

affidavits, if any, show that there is no genuine issue as to any material fact

and that the moving party is entitled to a judgment as a matter of law.”

Tenn. R. Civ. P. 56.04. We review a trial court’s ruling on a motion for

summary judgment de novo, without a presumption of correctness. Bain v.

Wells, 936 S.W.2d 618, 622 (Tenn. 1997); see also Abshure v. Methodist

Healthcare–Memphis Hosp., 325 S.W.3d 98, 103 (Tenn. 2010). In doing

so, we make a fresh determination of whether the requirements of Rule 56

of the Tennessee Rules of Civil Procedure have been satisfied. Estate of

Brown, 402 S.W.3d 193, 198 (Tenn. 2013) (citing Hughes v. New Life Dev.

Corp., 387 S.W.3d 453, 471 (Tenn. 2012)).

***

[I]n Tennessee, as in the federal system, when the moving party does not

bear the burden of proof at trial, the moving party may satisfy its burden of

production either (1) by affirmatively negating an essential element of the

nonmoving party’s claim or (2) by demonstrating that the nonmoving

party’s evidence at the summary judgment stage is insufficient to establish

the nonmoving party’s claim or defense. We reiterate that a moving party

seeking summary judgment by attacking the nonmoving party’s evidence

must do more than make a conclusory assertion that summary judgment is

appropriate on this basis. Rather, Tennessee Rule 56.03 requires the

moving party to support its motion with “a separate concise statement of

material facts as to which the moving party contends there is no genuine

issue for trial.” Tenn. R. Civ. P. 56.03. “Each fact is to be set forth in a

separate, numbered paragraph and supported by a specific citation to the

record.” Id. When such a motion is made, any party opposing summary

judgment must file a response to each fact set forth by the movant in the

manner provided in Tennessee Rule 56.03. “[W]hen a motion for summary

3

judgment is made [and] . . . supported as provided in [Tennessee Rule 56],”

to survive summary judgment, the nonmoving party “may not rest upon the

mere allegations or denials of [its] pleading,” but must respond, and by

affidavits or one of the other means provided in Tennessee Rule 56, “set

forth specific facts” at the summary judgment stage “showing that there is a

genuine issue for trial.” Tenn. R. Civ. P. 56.06. The nonmoving party

“must do more than simply show that there is some metaphysical doubt as

to the material facts.” Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co., 475 U.S. at 586, 106 S.

Ct. 1348. The nonmoving party must demonstrate the existence of specific

facts in the record which could lead a rational trier of fact to find in favor of

the nonmoving party. If a summary judgment motion is filed before

adequate time for discovery has been provided, the nonmoving party may

seek a continuance to engage in additional discovery as provided in

Tennessee Rule 56.07. However, after adequate time for discovery has

been provided, summary judgment should be granted if the nonmoving

party’s evidence at the summary judgment stage is insufficient to establish

the existence of a genuine issue of material fact for trial. Tenn. R. Civ. P.

56.04, 56.06. The focus is on the evidence the nonmoving party comes

forward with at the summary judgment stage, not on hypothetical evidence

that theoretically could be adduced, despite the passage of discovery

deadlines, at a future trial.

Rye v. Women’s Care Cntr. of Memphis, MPLLC, 477 S.W.3d 235, 250, 264-65 (Tenn.

2015).

In its brief on appeal, TN Farmers argues that the Trial Court erred in finding that

the cause of action was a claim for subrogation. TN Farmers argues, despite the language

of the complaint, that its cause of action was one for a breach of a contract between TN

Farmers and SDA and not a claim for subrogation. TN Farmers then argues that because

the Trial Court erred in determining the gravamen of the suit to be a claim for

subrogation, the Trial Court applied an incorrect statute of limitations.

Determining which statute of limitations applies is a question of law, which we

review de novo with no presumption of correctness. Benz-Elliott v. Barrett Enters., LP,

456 S.W.3d 140, 147 (Tenn. 2015). In Benz-Elliott v. Barrett Enters., LP, our Supreme

Court instructed:

[I]n choosing the applicable statute of limitations, courts must ascertain the

gravamen of each claim, not the gravamen of the complaint in its entirety.

Black v. Sussman, No. M2010–01810–COA–R3–CV, 2011 WL 2410237,

at *8 (Tenn. Ct. App. June 9, 2011); Bluff Springs Apartments, Ltd. v.

4

Peoples Bank of the South, No. E2009–01435–COA–R3–CV, 2010 WL

2106210, at *10 (Tenn. Ct. App. May 26, 2010); Mid–South Indus., Inc. v.

Martin Mach. & Tool, Inc., 342 S.W.3d 19, 31–32 (Tenn. Ct. App. 2010);

Craighead v. BlueCross BlueShield of Tenn., Inc., No. M2007–01697–

COA–R10–CV, 2008 WL 3069320, at *8 (Tenn. Ct. App. July 31, 2008);

Lewis v. Caputo, No. E1999–01182–COA–R3–CV, 2000 WL 502833, at

*4 (Tenn. Ct. App. Apr. 28, 2000); Taylor, 924 S.W.2d at 113.

B. Test for Ascertaining Gravamen of Each Claim

Having concluded that a court must consider each claim, rather than

the entire complaint, when ascertaining gravamen and choosing the

applicable statute of limitations, we next determine the analysis courts

should use when undertaking this task. As already noted, although

gravamen has long been defined as the basis for which damages are sought,

many Tennessee decisions have focused almost exclusively on the damages

aspect of this formula and have given little or no consideration to the basis

aspect of it. Although not clearly denoted at the time, in Vance v. Schulder,

this Court modified the analysis to require consideration of both the basis of

the claim and the type of injuries for which damages are sought. 547

S.W.2d at 932; see also Elizabeth J. Landrigan, The Weakest Link:

Application of the Property Damage Statute of Limitation to Tort Claims

for Purely Economic Damages, 32 U. Mem. L. Rev. 45, 56 (2001)

(describing Vance as enunciating a two-step decisional process).

***

Today we clarify that the two-step approach articulated in Vance and

applied in Alexander and Harvest Corp. is the correct framework for courts

to employ when ascertaining the gravamen of a claim for the purpose of

choosing the applicable statute of limitations. When utilizing this

approach, a court must first consider the legal basis of the claim and then

consider the type of injuries for which damages are sought. This analysis is

necessarily fact-intensive and requires a careful examination of the

allegations of the complaint as to each claim for the types of injuries

asserted and damages sought. Contract Law and Practice § 12:78, at 595

(2006).

Benz-Elliott, 456 S.W.3d at 149, 151.

5

In its brief on appeal, TN Farmers asserts that its claim is one for breach of a

contract between TN Farmers and SDA. A careful and thorough review of TN Farmer’s

complaint, however, reveals otherwise. In its complaint, TN Farmers makes the

following allegations:

4. That on or about December 24, 2009, [the Homeowners] sustained

damage to their residence located at 1086 Carrs Creek Boulevard in

Greenbrier, Robertson County, Tennessee. Aforesaid loss damage was

sustained by an act of God wherein wind damage occurred.

5. That as a result of this damage, [the Homeowners] entered an agreement

with [SDA] a/k/a Willow Works to perform repairs on the roof, roofing

system and other ancillary items on their residence. The agreement by and

between [the Homeowners] was for a total replacement of the roof, roofing

system and other ancillary items on their residence.

6. That the repairs to the roof, roofing system and other ancillary items on

the residence were completed on or about April 2010.

7. That on or about April 1, 2012, [the Homeowners] observed problems

with the flooring in a room of their residence. An investigation led to the

discovery of water damage throughout multiple rooms within their

residence.

8. That [the Homeowners] did seek repairs of of [sic] the water damage

throughout their residence. That the water damage throughout their

residence was a direct and proximate cause from the faulty and incomplete

construction performed by the Defendant, [SDA] a/k/a WILLOW WORKS

in the repairs on the roof, roofing system, and other ancillary items.

9. Plaintiff, [TN Farmers] paid to [the Homeowners] and [sic] amount in

excess of $125,000.00 for the repairs to their residence and paid monies to

satisfy the claims pursuant to the homeowners coverage of that policy of

insurance issued to [the Homeowners.]

10. Pursuant to the terms of the aforementioned homeowners insurance

policy, Plaintiff is subrogated to the right of recovery of [the Homeowners]

to the extent of said payments.

All the allegations in the complaint about a contract refer to an alleged contract

between SDA and the Homeowners. Nowhere in the complaint does TN Farmers even

mention any contract between TN Farmers and SDA, including the Quality Repair

Program. Rather, the short four (4) page complaint refers to the Insurance Policy and

asserts that TN Farmers is subrogated to the right of recovery of the Homeowners under

the Insurance Policy. As such, we cannot find that the legal basis of the claim asserted by

TN Farmers is one for breach of a contract between TN Farmers and SDA. The legal

basis of the claim asserted by TN Farmers in the complaint is clearly one for subrogation

6

to the right of recovery of the Homeowners under the Insurance Policy. Furthermore, a

review of the injuries for which TN Farmers seeks damages shows that TN Farmers is

seeking to recoup monies it paid to the Homeowners “for the repairs to [the

Homeowners’s residence] . . . to satisfy the claims pursuant to the homeowners coverage

of that policy of insurance issued to [the Homeowners]” with regard to “water damage

throughout their residence [that] was a direct and proximate cause from the faulty and

incomplete construction performed by the Defendant, [SDA] a/k/a WILLOW WORKS in

the repairs on the roof, roofing system, and other ancillary items.” Thus, the gravamen of

TN Farmers’s claim is a claim for subrogation, not breach of any contract between TN

Farmers and SDA.

In its complaint, TN Farmers claims a right to subrogation under the Insurance

Policy with regard to an alleged contract between the Homeowners and SDA. The record

on appeal, however, does not support a finding that a contract existed between the

Homeowners and SDA. In its brief on appeal, TN Farmers refers to a contract between

the Homeowners and SDA, but its citation to the record in support of this assertion

simply does not support the assertion. The citation refers to the deposition testimony of

homeowner Jared Smalley wherein Mr. Smalley testified that “[TN Farmers] had

arranged for a company to come and repair the roof.” A careful and thorough review of

the record on appeal reveals that Mr. Smalley further testified: “we didn’t pick who was -

- I think originally I was going to - - I asked if Ben could do it. He was not actually one

of the preferred people. So [TN Farmers] picked, you know, their preferred builder - - or

roofer to do it.” Mr. Smalley further stated that someone with SDA came to the house to

“do the quote back to [TN Farmers].”

Paul Vitolins, the managing member and 99 percent owner of SDA, testified

during his deposition that SDA was contacted by TN Farmers in 2009 about the

assignment, that SDA then contacted the Homeowners to arrange a time to inspect the

house, that SDA prepared an estimate, and that SDA then subcontracted with J&J

Roofing Company to replace the Homeowners’ roof.

Greg Lott, the designated corporate representative for TN Farmers, testified during

deposition that although the Quality Repair Program did not require insureds to utilize the

preferred contractors and that TN Farmers had a disclaimer stating that it did not employ

or warrant the preferred contractors, the adjuster who handled the claim for the 2009

storm damage told Mr. Lott that he “used [the Quality Repair Program], sent [SDA], they

replaced the roof, he wrote a check and that was his involvement in the 2009 claim.”

When questioned further, Mr. Lott agreed that the claim came from the Homeowners to

the adjuster at TN Farmers. Mr. Lott further agreed with the statement that the claim

“resulted in monies being paid . . . from [TN Farmers] to Willow Works or SDA[.]”

7

TN Farmers propounded interrogatories and requests for production to SDA

asking if there was “any written agreement concerning the work or job to be performed

by you at [the Homeowners’ residence] . . . and if so attach a copy of such . . . .” SDA

responded: “Yes. The contract was memoralized in a December 29, 2009 Building

Estimate, February 27, 2010 Invoice, Quality Repair Program Work Authorization and

various other documents produced herewith.” These listed documents are documents

prepared pursuant to the Quality Repair Program contract between TN Farmers and SDA.

Additionally, the 2009 Building Estimate specifically states on the bottom of the first two

pages: “This is an estimate of recorded damages and is subject to review and final

approval by the insurance carrier.” The Quality Repair Program Work Authorization

carries the logos of TN Farmers and Willow Works at the top of the form.1 The Quality

Repair Program Certificate of Satisfaction & Authorization to Pay also carries the logo of

TN Farmers at the top of the page.

The Trial Court granted summary judgment as to the subrogation complaint filed

by TN Farmers based upon the Insurance Policy and an alleged contract between the

Homeowners and SDA. On appeal, TN Farmers argues that the Trial Court erred in

granting summary judgment as to a complaint predicated upon a contract between TN

Farmers and SDA. This latter contract, however, was not the contract discussed in the

complaint. The “complaint” relied upon by TN Farmers on appeal was, respectfully, not

the complaint filed in the Trial Court as to which the Trial Court granted summary

judgment. While this second “complaint” may have been the one TN Farmers now

wishes it had filed or intended to file, it was not the one filed that the Trial Court was

called upon to address as to the motion for summary judgment.

Given the record now before us, there is no proof that a contract even existed

between the Homeowners and SDA. Rather, it appears that the only contract to perform

the work of repairing the 2009 storm damage was between TN Farmers and SDA and that

the Homeowners received the benefit of that contract. What is clear is that TN Farmers’

complaint alleged that TN Farmers was “subrogated to the right of recovery of [the

Homeowners] . . . .” Summary judgment on the complaint was appropriate. TN

Farmers’ complaint relied entirely on an alleged contract between the Homeowners and

SDA. On appeal, TN Farmers instead relies upon an alleged contract between TN

Farmers and SDA.

Even if we are incorrect and a contract did exist between the Homeowners and

SDA, something contrary to TN Farmers’ argument on appeal, such a contract would

have been for construction or repair of the 2009 storm damage. TN Farmers, however,

would have no right of subrogation under the Insurance Policy with regard to such a

1

The copies of the Quality Repair Program Work Authorization provided in the record on appeal are

largely illegible, other than the logos at the top of the form.

8

contract as the Insurance Policy exempts such claims in the first place. In pertinent part,

the Insurance Policy provides:

Under SECTION 1 we do not cover any loss resulting directly or

indirectly from any of the excluded events listed below. We do not cover

such loss for anyone regardless of: (a) the cause of the excluded event; or

(b) other causes of the loss; or (c) whether other causes acted concurrently

or in any sequence with the excluded event to produce the loss.

***

10. Defect, weakness, inadequacy, fault, or unsoundness in:

a. planning, zoning, development, surveying, siting;

b. design, specifications, workmanship, construction, grading, compaction;

c. materials used in construction or repair; or

d. maintenance;

of any property (including land, structures, or improvements of any kind)

whether on or off the residence premises.

The Insurance Policy clearly excludes claims for “[d]efect, weakness, inadequacy,

fault, or unsoundness in . . . design, specifications, workmanship, construction, grading,

compaction,” and “materials used in construction or repair.” As such, the Homeowners

would have no right under the Insurance Policy for a claim for defects in workmanship or

materials pursuant to a contract between the Homeowners and SDA for repair of the 2009

storm damage, and therefore, TN Farmers would have no right of subrogation with regard

to such a claim by the Homeowners against SDA for the alleged faulty construction. The

Trial Court correctly found that the Insurance Policy excluded such claims.

The Trial Court further found, and we agree, that the payment made by TN

Farmers to the Homeowners in 2012 was a voluntary payment that does not entitle TN

Farmers to subrogation. Any claim by the Homeowners against SDA for defective

workmanship or materials in its work related to the 2009 storm damage was excluded

from coverage under the Insurance Policy. As our Supreme Court has explained: “in the

absence of legal compulsion to pay the debt of another, voluntary payment of another’s

debt, absent fraud, accident, mistake, or by contract with the payee, does not entitle one

to subrogation.” Hubble v. Dyer Nursing Home, 188 S.W.3d 525, 538 (Tenn. 2006).

TN Farmers utilizes its brief on appeal to argue that it has a claim for breach of

contract pursuant to a contract between TN Farmers and SDA. As discussed above,

9

however, the suit actually filed was not one for breach of a contract between TN Farmers

and SDA. The Trial Court had before it a complaint for subrogation based upon an

alleged contract between the Homeowners and SDA. As discussed above, however, there

was no such contract, and TN Farmers had no right of subrogation as to an alleged

contract between the Homeowners and SDA in any event. The Trial Court granted SDA

summary judgment upon grounds, in part, other than those we find dispositive. However,

“[I]f the Trial Judge reached the right result for the wrong reason, there is no reversible

error.” Robinson v. Currey, 153 S.W.3d 32, 40 (Tenn. Ct. App. 2004) (quoting Shutt v.

Blount, 249 S.W.2d 904, 907 (Tenn. 1952)).

Conclusion

The judgment of the Trial Court is affirmed, and this cause is remanded to the

Trial Court for collection of the costs below. The costs on appeal are assessed against the

appellant, Tennessee Farmers Mutual Insurance Company, and its surety.

_________________________________

D. MICHAEL SWINEY, CHIEF JUDGE

10

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.