Opinion

Tennessee Clutch And Supply , Inc. v. Auto-Owners (Mutual) Insurance Company

  • 556 S.W.3d 203
Court
Court of Appeals of Tennessee
Filed
Nov 22, 2017
Status
Published
On the bench
Presiding Judge Frank G. Clement, Jr.
Cited by
3 cases
Authority
More cited than 46.9%

The opinion

11/22/2017

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF TENNESSEE

AT NASHVILLE

June 7, 2017 Session

TENNESSEE CLUTCH AND SUPPLY, INC. V. AUTO-OWNERS

(MUTUAL) INSURANCE COMPANY

Appeal from the Chancery Court for Davidson County

No. 16-0049-I Claudia Bonnyman, Chancellor

No. M2016-02195-COA-R3-CV

This appeal arises from a dispute between an insured and its insurance carrier concerning

the coverage limits under an “Employee Dishonesty” endorsement to a commercial

general liability policy for an employee’s dishonesty that spanned two policy years. After

the insured discovered that one of its employees embezzled approximately $100,000 in

2014 and 2015, it filed a claim for $30,000, the aggregate of the policy limits of $15,000

for each policy year. The insurer took the position that the limitation of coverage for such

an occurrence was $15,000, paid that amount, and denied the balance of the claim. The

trial court held that the policy language was ambiguous and by construing the policies in

favor of the insured, determined there were two policies, each of which provided $15,000

of coverage and ruled that Plaintiff was entitled to recover $30,000. The insurer appealed.

Finding no ambiguity, we have determined that the 2015 policy was not a separate policy

but a renewal of the 2014 policy, that the policy limit for employee dishonesty is $15,000

per occurrence, and that there was one continuous occurrence, as that term is defined in

the policy, which spanned two years. We have also determined that the policy prohibits

“stacking” of coverage from one policy year to the next. For these reasons, we

respectfully reverse the judgment of the trial court and hold that the policy limits for the

claim asserted by the insured is $15,000.

Tenn. R. App. P. 3 Appeal as of Right; Judgment of the Chancery Court

Reversed and Remanded

FRANK G. CLEMENT JR., P.J., M.S., delivered the opinion of the Court, in which ANDY D.

BENNETT and RICHARD H. DINKINS, JJ., joined.

John J. Griffin, Jr. and Michael A. Johnson, Nashville, Tennessee, for the appellant,

Auto-Owners (Mutual) Insurance Company.

Fred C. Dance, Franklin, Tennessee, for the appellee, Tennessee Clutch and Supply, Inc.

OPINION

Auto-Owners (Mutual) Insurance Co. (“Auto-Owners”) provided commercial

liability insurance for Tennessee Clutch and Supply, Inc. (“Plaintiff”) in 2014 and 2015.

The coverage was provided under two policies with effective dates from February 1,

2014, until February 1, 2015 (“the 2014 policy”), and from February 1, 2015, until

February 1, 2016 (“the 2015 policy”). Each policy provided coverage for loss resulting

from “employee dishonesty.”

In July of 2015, Plaintiff discovered that an employee had embezzled $48,206.59

during the 2014 policy period and $50,384.51 during the 2015 policy period. Plaintiff

timely made a claim for $30,000, which constituted policy limits per occurrence of

$15,000 for two separate occurrences, one under each policy period. Auto-Owners

responded to the claim stating the policy limits for the loss claimed was $15,000. Plaintiff

then filed suit against Auto-Owners for breach of contract. During the pendency of this

action, Auto-Owners interpleaded $15,000, which represents the policy limits for one

occurrence.

After entering into a joint stipulation of the material facts, the parties filed cross-

motions for summary judgment to address whether Auto-Owners was liable for an

additional $15,000. In its motion for summary judgment, Plaintiff contended that the

2014 policy and the 2015 policy were separate policies and that the language of the

Employee Dishonesty endorsement was ambiguous as to whether the policies could be

“stacked.”1 Auto-Owners argued that the two policies at issue were one continuous

policy, that the 2015 policy was a renewal of the 2014 policy, and there was one

continuous occurrence, as that term is defined in the policy, which spanned two years.

Auto-Owners further argued that the language of the Employee Dishonesty endorsement

expressly prohibited stacking.

Following a hearing on the cross-motions for summary judgment, the trial court

ruled in favor of Plaintiff on the breach of contract claim.2 As grounds for its ruling, the

trial court found the language of the endorsement to be ambiguous, because it could be

read in at least two different ways.3 One interpretation would lead the court to construe

1

“Stacking” refers to attempts by an insured to recover more than the limit of a single policy by

seeking a separate payment for each applicable policy period. See 10-134 Jeffrey E. Thomas, New

Appleman on Insurance Law Library Edition § 134.04 (LexisNexis).

2

Plaintiff also asserted a bad faith claim. The trial court ruled in favor of Auto-Owners on that

claim and Plaintiff did not appeal that ruling. Thus, the bad faith claim is not at issue in this appeal.

3

The trial court noted that it considered “paragraphs C, E(2), E(8), E(9), E(12), and F(4) of the

endorsement to be the most important provisions.”

-2-

the policies as one continuous policy, while the other interpretation would lead the court

to construe the policies as two separate contracts. Since ambiguities in insurance

contracts should be construed against the insurer, the trial court concluded that it must

interpret the provisions in the contract at issue here against Auto-Owners. Accordingly,

the trial court found that

the 2014 and 2015 policies are two separate policies and that the Plaintiff’s

employee’s actions constituted two “occurrences”—one “series of acts”

that occurred during the 2014 policy period and one “series of acts” that

occurred during the 2015 policy period.

The trial court further found that the matter of stacking commercial liability

policies was an issue of first impression in Tennessee and thus looked to similar cases

from other jurisdictions for guidance. It found guidance in E.J. Zeller, Inc. v. Auto

Owners Ins. Co., 2014 WL 5803028, No. 4-14-04 (Ohio Ct. App. Nov. 10, 2014). The

court’s order states:

The Court also finds persuasive the reasoning in E.J. Zeller, Inc. v. Auto

Owners Ins. Co., 2014-Ohio-4994 (Ct. App.), which held in favor of the

insured under similar facts and identical policy provisions. Specifically, the

Ohio court held that paragraph E(2) of the endorsement (Discovery Period

for Loss) “acts as an expiration date for the insurer’s liability under each

policy. Losses caused by acts inside the policy period which are discovered

while the policy is still in effect, or in the year immediately after the policy

period ended, are still covered.”

Auto-Owners then filed this appeal.

ISSUES

The determinative issues in this appeal are: (1) whether the 2015 insurance policy

was a renewal of the 2014 policy or a separate policy; (2) whether the employee

dishonesty that spanned two years constituted one or two occurrences; and (3) whether

the limits of coverage afforded under each policy year is cumulative.4

4

In its brief, Auto-Owners frames the issues as follows:

1. Whether the trial court erred in finding a renewal of an insurance policy created a

new contract of insurance with separate limits?

2. Whether the trial court erred in finding that the policy language is ambiguous?

3. Whether the trial court erred in finding there were two “occurrences”?

-3-

STANDARD OF REVIEW

This court reviews a trial court’s decision on a motion for summary judgment de

novo without a presumption of correctness. Rye v. Women’s Care Ctr. of Memphis,

MPLLC, 477 S.W.3d 235, 250 (Tenn. 2015) (citing Bain v. Wells, 936 S.W.2d 618, 622

(Tenn. 1997)). Accordingly, this court must make a fresh determination of whether the

requirements of Tenn. R. Civ. P. 56 have been satisfied. Id.; Hunter v. Brown, 955

S.W.2d 49, 50-51 (Tenn. 1997). In so doing, we consider the evidence in the light most

favorable to the non-moving party and draw all reasonable inferences in that party’s

favor. Godfrey v. Ruiz, 90 S.W.3d 692, 695 (Tenn. 2002).

Summary judgment should be granted when “the pleadings, depositions, answers

to interrogatories, and admissions on file, together with the affidavits, if any, show that

there is no genuine issue as to any material fact and that the moving party is entitled to a

judgment as a matter of law.” Tenn. R. Civ. P. 56.04. In this case, there are no disputed

facts, and this is purely an issue of contract interpretation. Issues regarding contract

interpretation are matters of law. Allstate Ins. Co. v. Watson, 195 S.W.3d 609, 611 (Tenn.

2006). Our review of a trial court’s determinations on issues of law is de novo, without

any presumption of correctness. Lind v. Beaman Dodge, Inc., 356 S.W.3d 889, 895

(Tenn. 2011).

ANALYSIS

When interpreting insurance contracts, we apply the same rules of construction

used to interpret other contracts. Travelers Indem. Co. of Am. v. Moore & Assocs., 216

S.W.3d 302, 305-06 (Tenn. 2007); McKimm v. Bell, 790 S.W.2d 526, 527 (Tenn. 1990).

Insurance contracts “must be interpreted fairly and reasonably, giving the language its

usual and ordinary meaning.” Travelers at 306. (quoting Naifeh v. Valley Forge Life Ins.

Co., 204 S.W.3d 758, 768 (Tenn. 2006)). Furthermore, insurance contracts are to be

construed reasonably and logically as a whole. Id. If an insurer drafts a policy that is

ambiguous we construe any ambiguity in favor of the insured. Mid-Century Ins. Co. v.

Williams, 174 S.W.3d 230, 240 (Tenn. Ct. App. 2005) (citing NSA DBA Benefit Plan,

Inc. v. Connecticut Gen. Life Ins. Co., 968 S.W.2d 791 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1997)). An

ambiguity exists when the language is reasonably susceptible to two meanings. Id. That

is, there is “doubt or uncertainty arising from the possibility of the same language being

fairly understood in more ways than one.” Id.

The insurance policies at issue here are clear and unambiguous. The 2015 policy

expressly provides that it is a renewal of the previous policy. Moreover, two key

provisions in the policies at issue, taken together, evince a clear intent that the insured

will only be able to recover under one policy for all loss resulting from one employee’s

embezzlement, regardless of whether the embezzlement constituted a series of acts that

took place during the course of two policy periods.

-4-

I. RENEWAL LANGUAGE

The trial court held that “[c]onstruing the policy language in favor of the insured,

the Court finds that the 2014 and 2015 policies are two separate policies. . . .” We

respectfully disagree having determined that the 2015 policy unambiguously states that it

is a renewal of the 2014 policy.

Plaintiff asserts that the language used in the policies at issue have been held “to

mean or construed to mean different things by many different courts from other

jurisdictions. . . . All of these cases . . . should lead to the inescapable conclusion that the

key terms used by [Auto-Owners] in the policies presently before this Court are

ambiguous.” We respectfully disagree and, instead of looking to other jurisdictions, we

shall follow the wisdom as expressed in the Travelers and Brewer decisions, which is to

look at the parties’ contract, the policy of insurance. See Travelers, 216 S.W.3d at 305-

06; see also Brewer v. Vanguard Ins. Co., 614 S.W.2d 360 (Tenn. Ct. App. 1980).

When an insurance policy renewal is made, unless otherwise provided and

called to the attention of the insured, the terms of the original policy

become a part of the renewal contract of insurance. See 13A Appleman,

Insurance Law and Practice, § 7648; 17 Couch on Insurance 2nd; §§ 64:40,

68:61. . . .” An accurate definition of renewal cannot be made until it is first

determined whether the renewal takes effect as an extension or continuation

of the original policy or whether it represents the formation of a new

although identical contract of insurance.” 17 Couch on Insurance 2nd, §

68:2 at 659. Whether a renewal insurance policy is a new and independent

contract or whether it is an extension or continuation of the original

contract depends primarily upon the intention of the parties as ascertained

from the instrument itself. Lewis v. Western Assur. Co., 175 Tenn. 37, 130

S/W/2d 982 (1939); 17 Couch, supra, § 68:39.

Brewer, at 363.

As Auto-Owners correctly states in its brief, it is expressly and repeatedly stated in

the policy, declaration and endorsement that the policy is renewed each year.

Pertinent provisions in the policy, declaration and endorsement make it

unambiguously clear that each renewal does not form a new and independent contract.

The declarations page states that the “policy term” is February 1, 2014, through February

1, 2015, and February 1, 2015, through February 1, 2016, respectively, and states

“Renewal Effective” on the first day of the term. The “Calculation of Premium”

endorsement states, “On each renewal, continuation, or anniversary of the effective date

of this policy, we will compute the premium in accordance with our rates and rules then

-5-

in effect.” In addition to what is clearly stated in the policy, declaration and endorsement,

the “Notices of Change in Policy Terms” state “Effective with this renewal,” certain

Policy sections are changed or revised as set forth.

In Gieringer, the United States District Court for the Eastern District of Tennessee

applied the test in Brewer to determine whether a policy was a new contract or a renewal.

Gieringer v. Cincinnati Ins. Co., 2010 WL 1050201, No. 3:08-cv-267 at *3 (E. Dist.

Tenn. March 22, 2010). The court found that the “renewal policy was, indeed just that – a

renewal of the exiting policy.” Id. The court based its decision on the following:

In this case, the initial policy, No. HO10341086, was issued on September

8, 2006 for a period from September 8, 2006 to September 8, 2007. This

policy states “New Business” in the top righthand corner. The renewal

policy, with the same policy number, was presumably issued to be effective

on September 8, 2007 for a period from September 8, 2007 to September 8,

2008. This policy clearly states “Renewal” in the top righthand corner.

Both policies contain 38 similar pages in the bulk of the documentation. In

addition, the categories of coverage are the same, although the limits of

coverage are slightly increased-along with an increase in the total premium-

in the renewal policy.

Id. at *4.

Similar to Gieringer, the policy at issue here contains express language that the

policy was renewed. Also similar to Gieringer, the policy number here remained the

same with the exception of the last two digits which appear to represent the year of the

policy term.5 Finally, both policies, like Gieringer, contained almost identical language

throughout the policy, with the exception of a few changes which were brought to the

attention of the insured.6

As the Brewer decision makes clear, whether a renewal insurance policy is a new

and independent contract or an extension or continuation of the original contract

“depends primarily upon the intention of the parties as ascertained from the instrument

itself.” Brewer, 614 S.W.2d at 363 (emphasis added). The contract documents at issue

5

The policy number is identical for the years 2014 and 2015, except for the last two digits which

appear to represent the year. 2014:034619-03252298-14; 2015: 034619-03252298-15.

6

Bringing these changes to the attention of a current client is required for any changes to take

effect. See Brewer, 614 S.W.2d at 363 (“When an insurance policy renewal is made, unless otherwise

provided and called to the attention of the insured, the terms of the original policy become a part of the

renewal contract of insurance.”) This is important because if this was a new contract, there would be no

need to bring “changes” to the attention of the insured.

-6-

here, unambiguously state that the 2015 policy is a renewal of the 2014 policy, not a

separate policy. Based on these expressed statements, we hold that the 2015 policy was a

renewal of the 2014 policy.7

II. OCCURRENCE, AS DEFINED IN THE POLICY

The policy states, “The most we will pay for loss in any one ‘occurrence’ is the

Limit of Insurance shown in the Declarations for EMPLOYEE DISHONESTY.” The

policy defines “occurrence” as “all loss caused by, or involving one or more ‘employees’,

whether the result of a single act or series of acts.” A leading legal commentator on

insurance explains:

In defining ‘occurrence’ as ‘all loss caused by or involving, one or more

employees,’ the definition expressly aggregates ‘all loss’ caused by any one

employee into a single occurrence. Thus the commission of multiple

consecutive acts of employee theft by one employee is only one occurrence

and the single occurrence limit and deductible apply. Simply stated, if the

same employee is always involved, it is only one occurrence. It also is only

one occurrence if employees in collusion were stealing from the insured.

Only if employees were stealing independently would there be separate

occurrences.

10-134 Jeffrey E. Thomas, New Appleman on Insurance Law Library Edition, § 134.03

(LexisNexis).

Therefore, under the foregoing interpretation of the definition of occurrence, all

loss that stems from multiple consecutive acts of theft by one employee is only one

occurrence and the single occurrence limit and deductible apply. Although we have found

no Tennessee cases interpreting similar provisions, we find the interpretations of federal

courts in Colorado and Mississippi to be persuasive.

In Wausau Business Insurance v. US Motels Management, Inc., 341 F. Supp.2d

1180, 1182 (Dist. Colo. 2004), the insured business discovered that one of its employees

had been embezzling money for approximately four years. The business held two

commercial crime policies issued by the insurance company for two consecutive policy

years, each with a limit of liability of $100,000 for any one “occurrence.” Id. at 1181-82.

Like Plaintiff in this case argues, the insured business contended that since the employee

committed acts constituting embezzlement within those two policy years, the court

7

Because of the clear guidance provided by the Brewer decision it is not necessary for us to

consider the authorities from other jurisdictions Plaintiff relies on.

-7-

should consider the acts committed within each policy year as one occurrence for a total

of two occurrences, which would entitle it to recover under both policies. Id. at 1183-84.

The Wausau court noted, however, that “occurrence” was defined as “all loss

caused by, or involving, one or more ‘employees’, whether the result of a single act or

series of acts.” Id. at 1183. Based on that definition, the court concluded that since the

“cause of defendant’s loss was the dishonesty of one employee,” it constituted one

occurrence under the policy’s definition. Id. at 1184.

Similarly, in Madison Materials Co., Inc. v. St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance

Co., 523 F.3d 541, 542 (5th Cir. 2008), an employee of the insured business embezzled

money from the company over a period of ten years. Over the same span of time, the

defendant insurer had issued a series of insurance policies, each for a term of one year,

that provided employee dishonesty coverage. Id. Because the losses occurred during ten

policy periods, the insured argued that it was “entitled to recover up to the policy limit for

each of the ten successive policies” issued by the defendant. Id. at 543. This argument

was based in part on the insured’s argument that the definition of “occurrence” was

ambiguous because it did not explicitly provide that an occurrence may span multiple

policy periods. Id. The Madison court disagreed with the insured’s argument:

Policy language is ambiguous only if it can be reasonably interpreted in

more than one way. As [the employee’s] embezzlement scheme consisted

of a ‘series of related acts involving one or more ‘employees,’ it

undisputably [sic] meets the policy definition of occurrence. Nowhere does

policy language state or even imply that acts committed outside of the

policy period in question cannot be part of a “related acts” occurrence

within the policy period.

Id. at 544. (emphasis in original).

Similar to the policy at issue here, the policy in Madison stated that “the most we

will pay for loss in any one ‘occurrence’ is the applicable Limit of Insurance shown in the

DECLARATIONS.” Id. at 543. It also had a similar definition of “occurrence” which

read “an act or series of related acts involving one or more ‘employees.’” Id. Based on

the foregoing definitions in the insurance policy, the court concluded that, under that

definition of occurrence, “there was only one occurrence of employee dishonesty over the

ten year period,” because one employee “repeatedly committed related acts of

embezzlement throughout the decade” of coverage. Id. at 544.

We agree with the analysis of the courts above and hold that the “Limit of

Insurance” provision and the definition of “occurrence” are unambiguous. The policy at

issue states, “The most we will pay for loss in any one ‘occurrence’ is the Limit of

Insurance shown in the Declarations for EMPLOYEE DISHONESTY.” The policy

-8-

defines “occurrence” as “all loss caused by, or involving one or more ‘employees’,

whether the result of a single act or series of acts.”

Here, Plaintiff suffered a loss when one of its employees engaged in a series of

related acts over a period of two years. Under the policy’s definition of “occurrence,” this

series of related acts by one employee constituted one occurrence. Therefore, under the

“Limit of Insurance” provision, Plaintiff is entitled to recover for one occurrence, not

two.

III. NON-CUMULATION OF INSURANCE

Plaintiff’s coverage is also limited by the “Non-Cumulation of Insurance”

provision, which states:

9. Non-Cumulation of Limit of Insurance: Regardless of the number of

years this insurance remains in force or the number of premiums paid, no

Limit of Insurance cumulates from year to year or period to period.

New Appleman on Insurance Law Library Edition states:

Another clause fidelity insurers traditionally have included in their policies

to preclude stacking is the non-cumulation clause. Under a loss sustained

policy, such a clause has been understood to mean that there is no stacking

of the limits in force during prior policy periods. Rather, when a policy is

renewed, it is to be considered only a single continuous policy with a single

stated limit that does not increase over time, and except to the extent

permitted by a prior insurance clause, there is no coverage under one policy

period for loss occurring in another period.

10-134 Jeffrey E. Thomas, New Appleman on Insurance Law Library Edition, § 134.03

(LexisNexis).

This provision unambiguously provides that there is to be no cumulation of limits

of coverage from one policy year to another and clearly indicates the intentions of the

parties for the policy to constitute one continuous and noncumulative contract.8

8

See Kavaney Realtor & Developer, Inc. v. Travelers Ins. Co., 501 N.W.2d 335, 342 (N. Dakota

1993) (“The combination of the provision against cumulation of coverage and this provision, extending

coverage to prior losses, indicates the intention that the policies constitute one continuous and

noncumulative contract”).

-9-

IN CONCLUSION

Therefore, the judgment of the trial court is reversed, and this matter is remanded

with instructions to enter judgment pursuant to this opinion. Costs of appeal are assessed

against Tennessee Clutch and Supply, Inc.

________________________________

FRANK G. CLEMENT JR., P.J., M.S.

- 10 -

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.