Opinion

Volpe Tile & Marble, Inc. v. Workers' Compensation Appeal Board

  • 170 A.3d 1275
Court
Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania
Filed
Sep 29, 2017
Status
Published
Author
Leadbetter
On the bench
Leavitt, McCullough, Leadbetter
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 4.0%

The opinion

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Volpe Tile and Marble, Inc., :

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 118 C.D. 2017

: SUBMITTED: July 7, 2017

Workers' Compensation Appeal :

Board (Redelheim), :

Respondent :

BEFORE: HONORABLE MARY HANNAH LEAVITT, President Judge

HONORABLE PATRICIA A. McCULLOUGH, Judge

HONORABLE BONNIE BRIGANCE LEADBETTER, Senior Judge

OPINION BY

SENIOR JUDGE LEADBETTER FILED: September 29, 2017

Employer, Volpe Tile and Marble, Inc., petitions for review of an

order of the Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Board) that affirmed the

decision of Workers’ Compensation Judge (WCJ) Ignasiak denying the application

for supersedeas fund reimbursement filed by Nationwide Insurance Company

(Nationwide) pursuant to Section 443(a) of the Workers’ Compensation Act (Act),1

which outlines the circumstances under which recovery may be made from the

Fund:

(a) If, in any case in which a supersedeas has been

requested and denied under the provisions of section 413

or section 430, payments of compensation are made as a

result thereof and upon the final outcome of the

proceedings, it is determined that such compensation was

not, in fact, payable, the insurer who has made such

1

Act of June 2, 1915, P.L. 736, added by Section 3 of the Act of February 8, 1972, P.L. 25,

as amended, 77 P.S. § 999(a).

payments shall be reimbursed therefor. [Emphasis

added.]

On appeal, we consider whether it was determined in the final outcome of the

proceedings that compensation was payable such that Employer did not satisfy the

final criterion for reimbursement from the Fund. We affirm.

In July 2006, Claimant, Josh Redelheim, sustained a work injury

when Nationwide served as Employer’s carrier. He received benefits, but they

subsequently were suspended via a supplemental agreement when he returned to

work for Employer. Thereafter, Claimant filed a reinstatement petition alleging

that he was injured at work in December 2007 and seeking to reinstate benefits for

his July 2006 work injury. Employer and Nationwide filed a joinder petition

against Liberty Mutual Insurance Company (Liberty Mutual), alleging that

Claimant sustained a new injury in December 2007 when Liberty Mutual served as

Employer’s carrier. March 4, 2015, Decision of WCJ Ignasiak, Finding of Fact

(F.F.) No. 1. In October 2010, WCJ Harris granted Claimant’s reinstatement

petition, concluding that he sustained a recurrence of his July 2006 injury and

awarding ongoing disability benefits against Nationwide effective December 20,

2007. Id., F.F. No. 2. Employer and Nationwide appealed to the Board and filed

an application for supersedeas. In November 2010, the Board denied the

application.

During the pendency of that appeal, Claimant entered into

compromise and release (C&R) agreements with both Nationwide and Liberty

Mutual. In July 2012, WCJ Krass approved both agreements. Id., F.F. No. 3. In

the Nationwide C&R, the parties resolved any and all claims for future indemnity

benefits, medical benefits, and specific loss benefits starting June 25, 2012, and

extending into the future in exchange for Nationwide’s payment of $50,000.00. In

2

addition, those parties acknowledged: (1) the pending appeal from WCJ Harris’s

October 2010 decision; and (2) their agreement that the Board would enter a

decision on the merits of that appeal thereby determining Claimant’s entitlement to

the payment of indemnity and medical benefits for the time period of July 5, 2006,

to June 24, 2012. July 19, 2012, Decision of WCJ Krass, Nationwide C&R;

Reproduced Record (R.R.) at 83a.

In the Liberty Mutual C&R, Claimant and Liberty Mutual settled and

ended his entitlement to indemnity, medical, and specific loss benefits for any

injuries that he sustained during his employment with Employer while Liberty

Mutual served as the carrier. In pertinent part, the Liberty Mutual C&R provided:

“The sum of $50,000.00 represents payment of all future indemnity claims for the

work related injuries of December 20, 2007.” July 19, 2012, Decision of WCJ

Krass, Liberty Mutual C&R; R.R. at 67a.

In December 2012, the Board reversed the WCJ’s decision granting

Claimant’s reinstatement petition against Nationwide and remanded the matter to

the WCJ to determine his average weekly wage and compensation rate for a

December 2007 aggravation or new injury for which Liberty Mutual was

determined to be the responsible carrier. March 4, 2015, Decision of WCJ

Ignasiak, F.F. No. 4. On remand, WCJ Krass dismissed as moot Claimant’s

reinstatement petition against Employer and Nationwide based on the Nationwide

C&R and the Board’s decision. In addition, she dismissed as moot the joinder

petition against Liberty Mutual, filed by Employer and Nationwide, based on the

Liberty Mutual C&R. In so doing, WCJ Krass concluded:

3. Although the [Board] reversed the finding that

the Claimant sustained a recurrence of the July 5, 2006

work injury on December 20, 2007 and found that [he]

sustained a new injury on December 20, 2007 during the

3

insurance coverage period of Liberty Mutual . . . this

[WCJ] must dismiss the Remanded Petitions as Liberty

Mutual . . . and Nationwide . . . entered into [C&R]

Agreements precluding any further liability for the injury

of December 20, 2007, which was approved by this

[WCJ] . . . on July 19, 2012.

July 29, 2013, Decision of WCJ Krass, Conclusion of Law No. 3; R.R. at 94-95a.

No appeal was taken from WCJ Krass’s decision.

Subsequently, Nationwide filed the application for supersedeas fund

reimbursement at issue, which WCJ Ignasiak denied in March 2015. The Board

affirmed, concluding that all of the statutory criteria for supersedeas fund

reimbursement were not met because “it was determined here that Nationwide

should not have paid compensation to Claimant, not that [he] should never have

received compensation.” Board’s January 6, 2017, Decision at 7. The Board

reasoned that it did not determine in its December 2012 decision that compensation

was not payable to Claimant, but that Liberty Mutual was the responsible insurer.

In other words: “The fact that Claimant and Liberty Mutual entered into a C&R to

settle the payment of benefits by Liberty Mutual does not change the final

determination that Claimant was entitled to compensation for his injury, but that

compensation was not payable by Nationwide.” Id. at 6. Employer’s petition for

review to this Court followed.

Asserting that there are no potential payers remaining, Employer

argues that it proved that benefits were “not payable” under Section 443(a) of the

Act because: (1) WCJ Krass determined that the Liberty Mutual C&R completely

extinguished liability for that carrier and that the benefits Nationwide paid were

not payable by Liberty Mutual; and (2) the Board concluded that compensation

benefits were not payable by Nationwide. Accordingly, Employer argues that the

benefits that it paid to Claimant as a result of the Board’s November 2010 denial of

4

supersedeas were “not payable” as contemplated in Section 443(a) of the Act and

that, therefore, it is entitled to reimbursement from the Fund. Employer’s position

is without merit.

In establishing the Fund in the Commonwealth’s Treasury, the

General Assembly legislated reimbursement, under specified circumstances, to an

employer who was ordered to pay workers’ compensation benefits that were

subsequently determined not to be owed. H.A. Harper Sons, Inc. v. Workers’

Comp. Appeal Bd. (Sweigart & BWC Legal Div.), 84 A.3d 363, 366 (Pa. Cmwlth.

2014). Mindful that recoupment from a claimant would be impractical and

undermine the benevolent purpose of the Act, we observed that “[t]he Fund injects

fairness into a system that requires an employer to pay a disputed award of benefits

after the award is appealed.” Id. Recovery from the Fund is intended to protect

employers or insurers that make compensation payments that are later, by virtue of

administrative or judicial action, determined not to be required. Bureau of

Workers’ Comp. v. Workmen’s Comp. Appeal Bd. (Allstate Ins. Co.), 508 A.2d

388, 390 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1986). In other words, the Fund provides “a means to

protect an insurer who makes compensation payments to a claimant who ultimately

is determined not to be entitled thereto.” Id.

In the present case, the adversarial appeal process culminated in a

final determination on the merits that Claimant sustained an aggravation or new

injury in December 2007 and that, accordingly, compensation was payable to him

for that injury. The ultimate identity of the liable carrier and the fact that Claimant

entered into a C&R with that carrier are independent of the final determination

regarding the payability of compensation to Claimant. This analysis is consistent

with the pertinent case law.

5

In GMS Mine Repair & Maintenance, Inc. v. Workers’ Compensation

Appeal Board (Way), 29 A.3d 1193 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2011), the claimant filed a claim

petition against GMS, which joined additional defendants asserting that they may

have caused the claimant’s occupational diseases. The claim petition was granted

and GMS paid the claimant benefits. Ultimately, another mining company, which

was no longer in business and uninsured during the claimant’s tenure, was

determined to be the liable employer. We held that GMS was not entitled to

reimbursement from the Fund because the Board “did not determine finally that

compensation was not payable to [the claimant]; rather, it determined finally that

GMS was not the liable employer.” Id. at 1196. We rejected GMS’s attempt to

merge the concepts of the payability of compensation with the identity of the liable

employer. In so doing, we observed that the sufficiency of the remedy against the

party responsible for the claimant’s benefits was immaterial in that the Fund “does

not assume financial responsibility for injury caused by a third party.” Id. at 1197

[quoting Kidd-Parker v. Workers’ Comp. Appeal Bd. (Phila. Sch. Dist.), 907 A.2d

33, 41 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2006)].

In State Workers’ Insurance Fund v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal

Board (Shaughnessy), 837 A.2d 697, 700 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2003), aff’d, 874 A.2d

1158 (Pa. 2005), a widow filed a fatal claim petition and the State Workers’

Insurance Fund (SWIF) defended against it based on the fact that it was not the

employer’s insurer at the time of the decedent’s death. During the course of the

proceedings, SWIF was wrongfully told to pay the claimant benefits despite

evidence that it was not the insurer. After SWIF paid those benefits and sought

reimbursement from the Fund, we held that reimbursement was not appropriate

because “it was determined, by Stipulation, that SWIF should not have paid

6

compensation to Claimant, not that Claimant should never have received any

compensation.” Id. at 702-03.

What can be garnered from these cases is that, even though the Fund

was developed to protect employers or insurers that make compensation payments

that are later, by virtue of administrative or judicial action, determined not to be

required or owed, reimbursement is warranted only under prescribed

circumstances. Sweigart, 84 A.3d at 366. The present appeal pertained to whether

the applicant for supersedeas fund reimbursement met the criterion that

compensation was not payable to Claimant. Resolution of this issue did not hinge

upon which carrier was responsible for the payment of compensation or whether

the liable carrier had entered into a C&R. We will not bypass the plain language of

Section 443(a) of the Act and rule contrary to the law providing for reimbursement

only if specific criteria are satisfied. In summary, Employer cannot circumvent a

final determination concluding that compensation is payable to Claimant.

Accordingly, we affirm.

_____________________________________

BONNIE BRIGANCE LEADBETTER,

Senior Judge

7

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Volpe Tile and Marble, Inc., :

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 118 C.D. 2017

:

Workers' Compensation Appeal :

Board (Redelheim), :

Respondent :

ORDER

AND NOW, this 29th day of September, 2017, the order of the

Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board is hereby AFFIRMED.

_____________________________________

BONNIE BRIGANCE LEADBETTER,

Senior Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.