Opinion

McNeil v. Workers' Compensation Appeal Board (Department of Corrections, SCI-Graterford)

  • 169 A.3d 171
  • 2017 Pa. Commw. LEXIS 670
  • 2017 WL 3798518
Court
Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania
Filed
Sep 1, 2017
Status
Published
Author
McCULLOUGH
On the bench
Leavitt, McCullough, Cosgrove
Cited by
4 cases
Authority
More cited than 59.4%

concluding that rather than establishing the post- termination reinstatement burden of recurrence or increase of disability and change of condition, the claimant improperly sought to relitigate issues that had or should have been addressed in the prior termination litigation

How later courts described this case

  • concluding that rather than establishing the post- termination reinstatement burden of recurrence or increase of disability and change of condition, the claimant improperly sought to relitigate issues that had or should have been addressed in the prior termination litigation

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Janie McNeil, :

Petitioner :

: No. 2022 C.D. 2016

v. :

: Submitted: April 21, 2017

Workers’ Compensation Appeal :

Board (Department of Corrections, :

SCI-Graterford), :

Respondent :

BEFORE: HONORABLE MARY HANNAH LEAVITT, President Judge

HONORABLE PATRICIA A. McCULLOUGH, Judge

HONORABLE JOSEPH M. COSGROVE, Judge

OPINION BY

JUDGE McCULLOUGH FILED: September 1, 2017

Janie McNeil (Claimant) petitions for review of the November 17,

2016 order of the Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Board) affirming a

decision of the Workers’ Compensation Judge (WCJ) dismissing Claimant’s

reinstatement petition against the Department of Corrections, State Correctional

Institution (SCI)-Graterford (Employer).

Facts and Procedural History

While working as a gate sergeant for Employer on January 26, 2011,

Claimant slipped and fell while trying to enter a truck at the front gate of

Employer’s premises and suffered injuries to her left ankle and left shoulder.

Claimant filed a claim petition on February 15, 2011. As this petition was

pending, Employer issued a notice of compensation payable (NCP) on March 7,

2011, acknowledging that Claimant sustained work-related injuries in the nature of

a left ankle sprain and left shoulder sprain. On August 3, 2011, Employer issued

an amended/corrected NCP which acknowledged an additional injury in the nature

of a low back strain. (Reproduced Record (R.R.) at 6; Claimant’s brief at 6.) By

decision and order circulated July 10, 2013, the WCJ granted Claimant’s claim

petition with respect to the following injuries: “left ankle sprain, acute cervical

strain, acute back pain, musculoskeletal injury of the left shoulder, mild edema of

the left ankle, left shoulder sprain, and tenderness of the Claimant’s left shoulder

and upper and lower back.” (R.R. at 7.) Employer did not appeal.

On August 15, 2013, Employer filed a termination petition, alleging

that Claimant had fully recovered from her work-related injuries. This petition was

premised upon the decision of an arbitrator under the Heart and Lung Act,1 which

found Claimant to be fully recovered. Employer also relied on the results of an

independent medical examination of Claimant conducted on May 21, 2014, by

John Donahue, M.D., who similarly opined that Claimant had fully recovered from

her work injuries as of the date of the examination. (R.R. at 8.) Claimant filed a

timely answer denying all material allegations.

In the meantime, on February 25, 2014, Claimant filed a petition to

review benefits, alleging an incorrect description of the work injury, and a

penalties petition, alleging that Employer violated the Workers’ Compensation

Act2 and/or its regulations. Employer filed a timely answer denying all material

allegations of Claimant’s petitions. (R.R. at 6.) Claimant’s petitions were

1

Act of June 28, 1935, P.L. 477, as amended, 53 P.S. §§637-638.

2

Act of June 2, 1915, P.L. 736, as amended, 77 P.S. §§1-1041.4, 2501-2708.

2

consolidated with the termination petition for purposes of hearings and disposition.

(R.R. at 3-21.) The final hearing was held on September 29, 2014. (R.R. at 5.)

On July 18, 2014, Claimant had her first office visit with Andrew

Kuntz, M.D. (Dr. Kuntz), a staff surgeon in the department of orthopedic surgery

at the Department of Veterans Affairs Medical Center in Philadelphia. Although

Dr. Kuntz’s examination occurred prior to the close of the record in the

aforementioned proceeding, Claimant did not depose Dr. Kuntz or offer any

evidence relating to his examination.

On August 7, 2014, Claimant underwent an MRI of her left shoulder,

which indicated a partial tendon tear along with degenerative changes. (R.R. at

54.) However, the MRI results were not introduced into evidence in the

aforementioned proceeding.

Dr. Kuntz performed arthroscopic surgery on Claimant’s left shoulder

on December 30, 2014. During the surgery, Dr. Kuntz found “a partial articular

sided tear of the supraspinatous tendon that was debrided, but did not need repair.

Additionally, there was evidence of intra-articular biceps tendon fraying and

tearing in conjunction with a type I SLAP tear.” (R.R. at 55.) Dr. Kuntz performed

a soft tissue biceps tenodesis and some additional debridement to treat both of

these lesions. (R.R. at 55.) Although the record in the aforementioned proceeding

was closed at the time of the surgery, the WCJ had not yet rendered a decision, and

Claimant did not seek to re-open the record.

By decision and order circulated on February 2, 2015, the WCJ

determined: (1) the prior arbitrator’s decision in the proceeding under the Heart

and Lung Act did not preclude her from reaching the merits of Claimant’s review

petition or Employer’s termination petition; (2) the termination of Claimant’s

workers’ compensation benefits was appropriate as of May 21, 2014, the date of

3

the examination by Dr. Donahue; (3) Claimant’s penalties petition was denied; (4)

Claimant’s review petition was granted to the extent it sought to further add

thoracic and lumbar strain and sprain as a work-related work injury; (5)

Employer’s contest of the review and penalties petitions was reasonable; and, (6)

the testimony of Dr. Donahue was credible. The Claimant’s review petition was

denied insofar as it sought to add, inter alia, a left shoulder rotator cuff tear to the

work-related injury. (R.R. at 13, 15-18.)

Both parties appealed the WCJ’s decision. In an opinion and order

circulated on December 30, 2015, the Board affirmed the WCJ. (R.R. at 41-51.)

Neither party appealed this decision of the Board.

Meanwhile, Claimant had follow-up office visits with Dr. Kuntz on

February 13, April 10, and July 10, 2015. Dr. Kuntz issued a report to Claimant’s

counsel on September 3, 2015 (the Kuntz report), finding that “based on Ms.

McNeil’s report of a fall from a truck that resulted in shoulder pain, it is [his]

opinion that, within a reasonable degree of medical certainty[,] her left shoulder

pain resulted from that injury.” (R.R. at 55.)

On November 18, 2015, Claimant filed a reinstatement petition,

seeking a reinstatement of her benefits as of December 30, 2014, the date of the

arthroscopic surgery. Employer filed a timely answer denying all material

allegations.

The sole hearing to consider the reinstatement petition occurred

before the WCJ on December 10, 2015. Although counsel for Claimant and

counsel for Employer were present at the hearing, no testimony was taken. The

only evidence offered by either party was the decision of the WCJ in the prior

proceeding. There is no evidence that either Claimant or Employer was present

with their counsel. (R.R. at 56-68.)

4

At this hearing, Employer moved to dismiss the reinstatement petition

because “right now as of record, she has no rotator cuff tear related to the work

injury, and two there are very [expensive] appeal [sic] pending with the Appeal

Board.” (R.R. at 62.) The WCJ set a briefing schedule and made it clear that “[I]f

I grant the motion to dismiss, you’re going to appeal it. If I deny the motion to

dismiss, I’ll bring this back for a pre-trial [hearing] and set it up for a trial date.”

(R.R. at 64.) Claimant’s counsel represented that he was in possession of the

Kuntz report, (R.R. at 66), and the following exchange took place among counsel

and the WCJ:

[Employer’s counsel]: Your Honor, just to clarify on the

records, it is the surgery for the rotator cuff tear in

December of 2014 that you’re claiming is the worsening

injury?

[Claimant’s counsel]: Yes, absolutely.

(R.R. at 65.)

The record indicates that Claimant’s brief in response to Employer’s

motion to dismiss was electronically filed with the WCJ on February 18, 2016, and

was also mailed to the WCJ. (R.R. at 1.) Claimant’s counsel represents that the

Kuntz report was attached to that brief. (Claimant’s brief at 7-8.) Employer’s

counsel admits that the Kuntz report was attached to Claimant’s brief, but argues

that it was properly disregarded by the WCJ “because it had not been produced to

Employer or submitted into evidence prior to the submission” of that brief.

(Employer’s brief at 15.)

The WCJ dismissed Claimant’s reinstatement petition in a decision

and order circulated on February 29, 2016. The WCJ found, in pertinent part:

The Judge has reviewed the arguments of the parties

and finds that a surgery for a rotator cuff tear in

5

December of 2014 was the basis of the worsening of

condition allegation in this case . . . . The Judge’s

review of [the prior WCJ’s] decision of February 2,

2015, finds that the left rotator cuff injury alleged by

the Claimant was determined not to be related to the

Claimant’s employment incident of January 26, 2011.

(WCJ’s Findings of Fact Nos. 13-14.)

Neither the WCJ’s decision nor the list of exhibits referenced the

Kuntz report. Furthermore, neither the WCJ’s findings of fact, nor her conclusions

of law referenced the aforementioned dialogue between counsel at the December

10 hearing.

Claimant appealed to the Board, which affirmed the WCJ’s decision,

holding: (1) Employer’s motion to dismiss was made after the dialogue of

counsel;3 (2) Claimant bore a heavy burden when seeking reinstatement following

a termination of benefits; (3) Claimant’s attempt to include the left rotator cuff tear

as a work-related injury was barred by the doctrine of collateral estoppel; and (4)

even if a worsening had occurred in December of 2014, as Claimant contended,

“she [did] not establish[] [that] her condition [] changed since the prior termination

proceeding and thus, [was] not be entitled to a reinstatement of benefits.” (Board

op. at 3-4). The Board also noted that Dr. Kuntz’s “report was not part of the

record before the [WCJ], and thus, [it could not] consider it.” (Board op. at 4, n.1).

Claimant appealed the Board’s decision to this Court,4 arguing that

3

The Board is incorrect. Employer moved to dismiss Claimant’s reinstatement petition

prior to the dialogue in question. (R.R. at 61-66.)

4

Our scope of review is limited to determining whether findings of fact are supported by

substantial evidence, whether an error of law has been committed, or whether constitutional

rights have been violated. Section 704 of the Administrative Agency Law, 2 Pa.C.S. §704;

Meadow Lakes Apartments v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Spencer), 894 A.2d 214,

216 n.3 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2006). The scope of review on questions of law is plenary and the

(Footnote continued on next page…)

6

the Board erred in: (1) failing to consider the report of Dr. Kuntz as part of the

record; (2) holding that Claimant did not meet her burden of establishing a causal

connection between her current condition and the work injury; and (3) holding that

the worsening of Claimant’s condition occurred prior to the termination of

benefits.

Claimant’s Burden of Establishing a Causal Connection

The Court will first consider Claimant’s argument that the Board erred

in holding that she did not meet her burden of establishing a causal connection

between her current condition and the work injury.

To reinstate benefits after termination, a claimant must establish “a

causal connection between [her] current condition and the prior work-related

injury.” Pieper v. Ametek-Thermox Instruments Div., 584 A.2d 301, 304 (Pa.

1990) (internal citations omitted); see also Huynh v. Workers’ Compensation

Appeal Board (Hatfield Quality Meats), 924 A.2d 717, 722 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2007).

To establish this causal connection, a claimant must demonstrate that her

“disability has increased or recurred after the date of the prior award, and that [her]

physical condition has actually changed in some manner.” Pieper, 584 A.2d at

304.

In this case, Claimant alleges that her worsened condition resulted

from arthroscopic rotator cuff surgery occurring on December 30, 2014. In

response, Employer argues that the rotator cuff injury was already excluded from

(continued…)

standard of review is de novo. Pitt Ohio Express v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board

(Wolff), 912 A.2d 206, 207 (Pa. 2006).

7

the nature of Claimant’s work-related injury and that the doctrine of collateral

estoppel applies to prevent the Claimant from re-litigating that issue at this time.

This Court agrees.

The WCJ opinion circulated on February 2, 2015, considered the

testimony of Dennis Ivill, M.D. (Dr. Ivill), as presented by Claimant, as well as the

testimony of Dr. Donahue, as presented by Employer. With respect to the

purported rotator cuff tear, the WCJ found Dr. Donahue’s testimony to be more

“credible and persuasive” than that of Dr. Ivill because Dr. Donahue “gave specific

reasons for the lack of existence of . . . [a] left shoulder rotator cuff tear.” (R.R. at

7.) Additionally, Dr. Ivill did not “delineate any specific clinical findings and

reasons in support of [that] diagnos[is] as [an] alleged result[] of the work injury.”

Id. The WCJ’s denial of Claimant’s review petition seeking to add an injury in the

nature of a left rotator cuff tear was affirmed by the Board. Notably, Claimant did

not appeal the Board’s decision. At the hearing before the WCJ to consider

Claimant’s reinstatement petition, neither Claimant nor Employer presented any

additional evidence or testimony.

This Court addressed a similar situation in Williams v. Workers’

Compensation Appeal Board (South Hills Health Systems), 877 A.2d 531 (Pa.

Cmwlth. 2005). In Williams, the employer filed a termination petition. In granting

the termination petition, the WCJ found that the claimant’s disc bulge was not a

work-related injury, and the claimant did not appeal that decision. The claimant

then filed a reinstatement petition, premised upon a worsening of her condition

related to the disc bulge. The WCJ granted the reinstatement petition, finding that

the claimant met her burden in demonstrating that her back condition had

worsened as a result of the work-related injury. On appeal, the Board reversed the

decision of the WCJ, reasoning that the WCJ’s decision with respect to the

8

termination petition, now a final order, specifically excluded the disc bulge from

the work-related injury. This Court concluded that the claimant was collaterally

estopped from re-litigating the question of whether her disc bulge was caused by

the work-related injury, and stated that the claimant’s remedy would have been to

appeal the WCJ’s grant of the termination petition. Accordingly, the Court

affirmed the decision of the Board.

The present case is indistinguishable. Here, in granting Employer’s

termination petition, the WCJ found that Claimant’s left rotator cuff tear was

excluded from the work-related injury. Claimant appealed to the Board, which

ultimately affirmed the decision of the WCJ. Claimant did not appeal the Board’s

decision; thus, it became a final order as to the scope of the work-related injury.

Similar to the claimant in Williams, Claimant then filed a reinstatement petition,

again raising the issue of whether the left rotator cuff tear was a result of the work-

related injury. That question was previously determined in the context of the

termination petition. Therefore, Claimant is collaterally estopped from re-litigating

that fact in this proceeding.

Even if not collaterally estopped, Claimant’s attempt to prove that her

condition worsened after the termination of her benefits is belied by her counsel’s

own statements at the hearing on the reinstatement petition. At the beginning of

the December 10, 2015 hearing before the WCJ, counsel explained that Claimant’s

reinstatement petition was “based on a surgery that was done in December of

2014” and that Claimant’s “condition has obviously worsened because of that, and

that’s the basis for the [r]einstatement [p]etition.” (R.R. at 60.)

Later, at the same hearing, a colloquy among counsel and the WCJ

included the following exchange:

9

[Employer’s counsel:] Your Honor, just to clarify on the

records, it is the surgery for the rotator cuff tear in

December of 2014 that you’re claiming is the worsening

injury?

[Claimant’s counsel:] Yes, absolutely.

[Employer’s counsel:] Okay.

[WCJ:] Relist, I just have to make a note to myself for

my secretary.

(R.R. at 65-66.)

The WCJ relied in part on the statement by Claimant’s counsel in

finding that the “surgery for a rotator cuff tear in December of 2014 was the basis

of the worsening of condition allegation in this case.” (R.R. at 26.) On appeal, the

Board characterized the statement of Claimant’s counsel as an acknowledgment

which led to the request by Employer’s counsel for dismissal of the reinstatement

petition. (R.R. at 31-32.) Employer again references this exchange in its brief

submitted to this Court, arguing that “it is eminently clear from the record that [the

WCJ] based his decision on the statement made by Claimant’s counsel.”

(Employer’s brief at 11-12.) Employer cites this Court’s decision in Piper Aircraft

Corporation v. Workmen’s Compensation Appeal Board (Bibey), 485 A.2d 906

(Pa. Cmwlth. 1985), to argue that the statement made by Claimant’s counsel at the

WCJ hearing is binding on Claimant. (Employer’s brief at 11.)

In Piper Aircraft, this Court held that “an admission of an attorney

during the course of a trial [was] binding upon his client.” 485 A.2d at 908-09

(citing Eldridge v. Melcher, 313 A.2d 750 (Pa. Super. 1973)). The Superior

Court’s decision in Eldridge explained that a “client may be bound by the acts or

statements of his attorney, when made within the scope of his authority.” 313 A.2d

at 755. However, the Court held that counsel had no authority to bind his client

10

through a statement “made out of court and not in the presence of the client”

without affirmative proof that the client gave his counsel authority to make the

admission, knew the admission would be made, or assented to the admission.

Eldridge, 313 A.2d at 755; see also Mahler v. Singer, 285 Pa. 540, 545 (1926).

In the present case, the statement of Claimant’s counsel was made on

the record during hearing on the reinstatement petition. Although Claimant was

not present at the hearing, counsel appeared at the hearing on her behalf and within

the scope of his authority. Therefore, the statement of Claimant’s counsel was

binding on Claimant, and the Board did not err in relying upon that statement in

affirming the WCJ.

Report of Dr. Kuntz

Next, Claimant argues that the Board erred in failing to consider the

Kuntz report as part of the record. Although Employer admits that the Kuntz

report was attached to Claimant’s brief filed with the WCJ, it argues that the report

was not properly admitted into evidence. (Employer’s brief at 15.) The Board

agreed with that argument, citing Kimberly Clark Corp. v. Workers’ Compensation

Appeal Board (Bullard), 790 A.2d 1072 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2001), to explain that the

“report was not part of the record before the [WCJ] and thus, [the Board could not]

consider it.”5 (Board op. at 4 n.1.)

5

In Kimberly Clark Corp., this Court held that “items which are not part of the record

may not be considered by the fact-finding tribunal, or the appellate body on review.” Kimberly

Clark Corp., 790 A.2d at 1075-76 (citations omitted). It further explained that evidence cannot

be considered part of a party’s case-in-chief if it was not “offered and admitted as an exhibit

during on-the-record proceedings.” Id. at 1075.

11

This Court finds that the Board did not err by declining to consider the

Kuntz report because it was not part of the record. Relevant to this determination

are sections 131.52 and 131.61 of the Special Rules of Administrative Practice and

Procedure Before Workers’ Compensation Judges (Special Rules), 34 Pa. Code

§§131.52 and 131.61. Section 131.52 provides, in pertinent part:

(a) When practicable and appropriate, the entire record

relating to any petition shall be completed at the initial

hearing . . . .

...

(c) The moving party, at the first hearing, shall advise

the judge and opposing parties of the following: . . . (5)

Whether the items and information specified in §

131.61(a) (relating to exchange of information), which

are intended to be used as evidence or exhibits, have been

provided to the responding party at or before the first

hearing.

(d) The moving party, at the first hearing, unless

otherwise directed by the judge, shall offer and have

marked for identification available exhibits of the moving

party.

...

(f) Evidence furnished under this section does not

become part of the record, unless otherwise admissible.

34 Pa. Code §131.52. In turn, section 131.61, which governs the exchange of

information, provides:

(a) Parties shall exchange all items and information,

including . . . reports . . . to be used in or obtained for the

purpose of prosecuting or defending a case, unless the

12

foregoing are otherwise privileged or unavailable,

whether or not intended to be used as evidence or

exhibits.

(b) The moving party shall provide the items and

information referred to in subsection (a) to the

responding party prior to the commencement of the first

pretrial hearing or hearing actually held. The responding

party shall provide the items and information referred to

in subsection (a) to the moving party no later than 45

days after the first pretrial hearing or hearing actually

held.

...

(e) Statements, documents or other records required to

be provided by this chapter, if not provided within the

time periods in this chapter or modified under § 131.12

(relating to modification of time), will not be admitted,

relied upon or utilized in the proceedings or judge’s

rulings, as appropriate.

34 Pa. Code §131.61.

Based upon their plain language, it is apparent that Claimant, the

moving party with respect to the reinstatement petition, did not satisfy the

requirements of sections 131.52 and 131.61 of the Special Rules. Specifically,

there is no evidence to suggest that Claimant provided the Kuntz report to

Employer prior to the commencement of the hearing before the WCJ. Notably,

Claimant does not argue that the Kuntz report was properly exchanged with, and

provided to, Employer pursuant to the Special Rules. Instead, Claimant contends

that the Kuntz report was submitted to the WCJ on February 18, 2016, and

uploaded to the WCAIS6 on that same day. Merely attaching the Kuntz report to a

6

The WCAIS is the Workers’ Compensation Automation and Integration System of the

Pennsylvania Department of Labor and Industry.

13

brief does not satisfy the requirement of section 131.61(b) that all items to be used

in the prosecution of a case are to be provided to the responding party prior to the

commencement of the first hearing actually held. Although Claimant’s counsel

referred to the Kuntz report at the sole hearing before the WCJ, (R.R. at 66),

Claimant’s counsel did not offer the Kuntz report to be marked for identification

before the WCJ, nor did he advise the Board whether the Kuntz report had been

provided to Employer. See 34 Pa. Code §131.52. Because there is nothing in the

record to indicate that Claimant complied with the Special Rules with respect to

the Kuntz report, this Court cannot determine that the WCJ, and later the Board,

erred in failing to consider the Kuntz report in their decisions.

Date of Termination

Finally, Claimant argues that the Board erred in holding that the

worsening of Claimant’s condition occurred prior to the previous termination of

benefits. “A claimant seeking reinstatement of benefits following a termination

carries a heavy burden because the claimant has been adjudicated to be fully

recovered.” National Fiberstock Corp. (Greater New York Mut. Ins. Co.) v.

Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Grahl), 955 A.2d 1057, 1062 (Pa. Cmwlth.

2008); see also Taylor v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Servistar Corp.),

883 A.2d 710, 713 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2005) (finding that a termination order effectively

establishes that a claimant has fully recovered from the work-related injury).

In the present case, Claimant’s benefits were terminated as of May 21,

2014, pursuant to the WCJ’s February 2, 2015 opinion, and affirmed by the Board

on December 30, 2015. Claimant filed her reinstatement petition on November 18,

2015, asserting a worsened condition resulting from her December 30, 2014,

surgery to repair her left rotator cuff tear.

14

While it is true that the surgery occurred after Claimant was deemed

to have fully recovered from her work-related injury, it occurred one month prior

to issuance of the WCJ’s decision in the termination/review/penalty proceeding. In

the WCJ’s February 2, 2015 opinion, the rotator cuff injury was deemed to be

excluded as a work-related injury. Therefore, any worsened condition that

occurred after May 21, 2014, as a result of the rotator cuff tear was irrelevant to the

consideration of whether Claimant is entitled to the reinstatement of her benefits.

Conclusion

Because Claimant failed to establish a causal connection between her

current condition and her recognized work-related injuries, failed to comply with

the Special Rules relating to the admissibility of the Kuntz report, and failed to

establish a worsening of her condition subsequent to the termination of her

benefits, the Board did not err in affirming the WCJ’s decision dismissing

Claimant’s reinstatement petition. Accordingly, the order of the Board is affirmed.

________________________________

PATRICIA A. McCULLOUGH, Judge

Judge Cosgrove dissents.

15

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Janie McNeil, :

Petitioner :

: No. 2022 C.D. 2016

v. :

:

Workers’ Compensation Appeal :

Board (Department of Corrections, :

SCI-Graterford), :

Respondent :

ORDER

AND NOW, this 1st day of September, 2017, the order of the

Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board dated November 17, 2016, is hereby

affirmed.

________________________________

PATRICIA A. McCULLOUGH, Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.