Opinion

State ex rel. Giant Eagle, Inc. v. Ohio Indus. Comm.

  • 2017 Ohio 7413
Court
Ohio Court of Appeals
Filed
Aug 31, 2017
Status
Published
On the bench
Luper Schuster
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 3.9%

The opinion

[Cite as State ex rel. Giant Eagle, Inc. v. Ohio Indus. Comm., 2017-Ohio-7413.]

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF OHIO

TENTH APPELLATE DISTRICT

The State ex rel. Giant Eagle, Inc., :

Relator, :

v. : No. 16AP-354

Ohio Industrial Commission : (REGULAR CALENDAR)

and

Henry Brown, :

Respondents. :

D E C I S I O N

Rendered on August 31, 2017

On brief: Matty, Henrikson, & Greve, Kirk R. Henrikson,

Jesse P. Kanner, and Samuel T. O'Leary, for relator.

On brief: Michael DeWine, Attorney General, and

Natalie J. Tackett, for respondent Industrial Commission of

Ohio.

On brief: Nicholas C. DeGennaro, for respondent Henry

Brown.

IN MANDAMUS

LUPER SCHUSTER, J.

{¶ 1} Relator, Giant Eagle, Inc., filed this original action requesting that this court

issue a writ of mandamus ordering respondent, Industrial Commission of Ohio ("ICO"),

to vacate its November 16, 2015 order granting respondent, Henry Brown, a lump sum

advancement from his award of permanent total disability and to enter an order denying

the lump sum advancement.

{¶ 2} The court referred this matter to a magistrate pursuant to Civ.R. 53(C) and

Loc.R. 13(M) of the Tenth District Court of Appeals. The magistrate issued the appended

No. 16AP-354 2

decision, including findings of fact and conclusions of law, and recommended this court

issue the requested writ of mandamus ordering ICO to vacate the November 16, 2015

order and enter an order that determines whether "special circumstances" exist to support

the application for a lump sum advancement under R.C. 4123.64 and Ohio Adm.Code

4123-3-37. No objections to the magistrate's decision have been filed.

{¶ 3} Finding no error of law or other defect on the face of the magistrate's

decision, this court adopts the magistrate's decision as our own, including the findings of

fact and conclusions of law contained therein. In accordance with the magistrate's

recommendation, we grant the requested writ of mandamus and order the ICO to vacate

the November 16, 2015 order and enter an order that determines whether "special

circumstances" exist to support the application for a lump sum advancement under R.C.

4123.64 and Ohio Adm.Code 4123-3-37.

Writ of mandamus granted.

BROWN and BRUNNER, JJ., concur.

No. 16AP-354 3

APPENDIX

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF OHIO

TENTH APPELLATE DISTRICT

The State ex rel. Giant Eagle, Inc., :

Relator, :

v. : No. 16AP-354

Ohio Industrial Commission : (REGULAR CALENDAR)

and

Henry Brown, :

Respondents. :

MAGISTRATE'S DECISION

Rendered on April 26, 2017

Matty, Henrikson, & Greve, Kirk R. Henrikson, Jesse P.

Kanner, and Samuel T. O'Leary, for relator.

Michael DeWine, Attorney General, and Natalie J. Tackett,

for respondent Industrial Commission of Ohio.

Nicholas C. DeGennaro, for respondent Henry Brown.

IN MANDAMUS

{¶ 4} In this original action, relator, Giant Eagle, Inc., requests a writ of

mandamus ordering respondent Industrial Commission of Ohio ("commission") to

vacate the November 16, 2015 order of its staff hearing officer ("SHO") granting to

respondent, Henry Brown, a lump sum advancement from his award of permanent total

disability ("PTD") compensation, and to enter an order denying the lump sum

advancement pursuant to R.C. 4123.64 and Ohio Adm.Code 4123-3-37.

No. 16AP-354 4

Findings of Fact:

{¶ 5} 1. On November 22, 2006, respondent, Henry Brown ("claimant") injured

his cervical and lumbar areas while employed as a truck driver for relator, a self-insured

employer under Ohio's workers' compensation laws. On that date, claimant was

involved in a motor vehicle accident.

{¶ 6} 2. The industrial claim (No. 06-886218) is allowed for:

Cervical sprain/strain; lumbar strain/sprain; right sacroiliac

strain; post-traumatic stress disorder; major depressive

disorder; panic disorder.

{¶ 7} 3. On October 5, 2009, claimant filed an application for PTD

compensation.

{¶ 8} 4. Following a December 22, 2010 hearing, an SHO issued an order

awarding PTD compensation starting September 10, 2009.

{¶ 9} 5. On July 29, 2015, on a bureau form captioned "Application for Payment

of Lump Sum Advancement" (form C-32), claimant moved for a lump sum advancement

of $76,940 from his PTD award. Claimant identified three loans that he would pay off:

(1) opened September 17, 2013, a loan from US Bank with a current balance of

$64,082.05 secured by a home mortgage, (2) opened August 22, 2014, an installment

loan from US Bank with a current balance of $8,239.16, and (3) a loan from Wells Fargo

to claimant's spouse in the amount of $4,639.70 secured by an automobile.

{¶ 10} 6. Relator, as a self-insured employer, denied claimant's July 29, 2015

application.

{¶ 11} 7. Following a September 15, 2015 hearing, a district hearing officer

("DHO") issued an order granting the application. The DHO's order explains:

Mr. Brown's IC-32 [sic] Application, filed 07/29/2015, is

granted.

At the hearing, the parties stipulated to the fact that

Mr. Brown is currently receiving $904.24 in bi-weekly

Permanent Total Disability compensation benefits.

Furthermore, the parties stipulated at the hearing that,

based upon Mr. Brown's life expectancy of approximately 20

years, the bi-weekly decrease in benefits attributed to the

proposed lump sum advancement would be $147.96. Thus,

No. 16AP-354 5

the decrease in bi-weekly benefits would be well below the

1/3 maximum decrease mandated in Ohio Adm.Code 4123-

3-37(C)(1). Finally, the parties stipulated at the hearing that

there are no outstanding lump sum advancements under this

claim.

Based upon the foregoing facts, the lump sum advancement

request is granted in accordance with the provisions of Ohio

Adm.Code 4123-3-37(A) to provide Mr. Brown "financial

relief" by repaying his loans. While Counsel for the Self-

insuring Employer voiced concerns from his client regarding

the payment of such loans being contemplated under the

statute and administrative code, no case law was presented

which would restrict the interpretation of the applicable

provisions of the administrative code cited above.

This decision is based upon a review of Mr. Brown's IC-32

[sic] Application and attachments, as well as, the stipulations

made at the hearing by the parties, as set forth above. All

evidence on file with regard to this matter was reviewed and

considered.

The Self-Insuring Employer is hereby ordered to comply

with the above findings.

{¶ 12} 8. Relator administratively appealed the DHO's order of September 15,

2015.

{¶ 13} 9. Following a November 16, 2015 hearing, an SHO issued an order that

affirms the DHO's order of September 15, 2015. The SHO's order explains:

The order of the District Hearing Officer, issued 09/17/2015,

is affirmed.

Therefore, the Injured Worker's C-32 Application for

Payment of Lump Sum Advancement is granted to the extent

of this order.

The lump sum advancement request is granted in

accordance with Ohio Admin. Code 4123-3-37(A) to provide

the Injured Worker the financial relief in repaying the loans

listed on the application for a home mortgage, an installment

loan, and a car.

This decision is based on a review of the C-32 application

and loan information attached and the stipulations at

No. 16AP-354 6

hearing, which indicated that the lump sum advancement

meets the criteria of Ohio Admin. Code 4123-3-37(A) and

that the bi-weekly benefit decrease is within the mandates of

Ohio Admin. Code 4123-3-37(C)(1).

{¶ 14} 10. On November 25, 2015, relator administratively appealed the

November 16, 2015 order of the SHO.

{¶ 15} 11. On December 9, 2015, another SHO mailed an order refusing relator's

administrative appeal from the SHO's order of November 16, 2015.

{¶ 16} 12. On December 18, 2015, relator moved for reconsideration.

{¶ 17} 13. On January 27, 2016, the three-member commission mailed an order

denying reconsideration.

{¶ 18} 14. On May 9, 2016, relator, Giant Eagle, Inc., filed this mandamus action.

Conclusions of Law:

{¶ 19} The issue is whether the failure of the SHO's order of November 16, 2015

to address "special circumstances" as that term is used in R.C. 4123.64 is an abuse of

discretion requiring this court to issue a writ of mandamus.

{¶ 20} Finding that the failure of the SHO's order to address "special

circumstances" is an abuse of discretion, it is the magistrate's decision that this court

issue a writ of mandamus, as more fully explained below.

{¶ 21} Entitlement to workers' compensation payments is a substantive right

measured by the statutes in force on the date of the injury. State ex rel. Kirk v. Owens-

Illinois, Inc., 25 Ohio St.3d 360-61 (1986); Rambaldo v. Accurate Die Casting, 65 Ohio

St.3d 281, 284 (1992); State ex rel. Jefferson Smurfit Corp. Reclamation v. Indus.

Comm., 10th Dist. No. 09AP-851, 2010-Ohio-3521, ¶ 21.

{¶ 22} Effective October 20, 1993 and currently, R.C. 4123.64 provides:

(A) The administrator of workers’ compensation, under

special circumstances, and when the same is deemed

advisable for the purpose of rendering the injured or

disabled employee financial relief or for the purpose of

furthering his rehabilitation, may commute payments of

compensation or benefits to one or more lump-sum

payments.

No. 16AP-354 7

(B) The administrator shall adopt rules which set forth the

policy for awarding lump sum payments. The rules shall:

(1) Enumerate the allowable purposes for payments and the

conditions for making such awards;

(2) Enumerate the maximum reduction in compensation

allowable;

(3) Enumerate the documentation necessary to award a

lump-sum payment;

***

(5) Require a fully completed and current application

including notary and seal; and

(6) Specify procedures to make a claimant aware of the

reduction in amount of compensation which will occur.

(C) An order of the administrator issued under this section is

appealable pursuant to section 4123.511 of the Revised Code

but is not appealable to court under section 4123.512 of the

Revised Code.

{¶ 23} Effective July 11, 2013 and on the date claimant filed his application for

payment of lump sum advancement, Ohio Adm.Code 4123-3-37 provided:

(A) The administrator of the bureau of workers'

compensation may commute an award of compensation to a

lump sum payment when the administrator determines that

the advancement is advisable for the purpose of providing

the injured worker financial relief or for furthering the

injured worker's rehabilitation.

(1) The administrator may only grant a lump sum payment to

an injured worker from an award of compensation made

pursuant to section 4123.58 of the Revised Code or from

division (B) of section 4123.57 of the Revised Code.

***

(B) An injured worker shall file an application requesting a

lump sum advancement with the bureau.

(1) The application shall be fully completed and notarized.

No. 16AP-354 8

(2) The administrator shall review the application and utilize

whatever methods the administrator determines to be

appropriate, consistent with general insurance principles, to

evaluate the claim for a lump sum payment.

(3) If the administrator determines that the lump sum

application is advisable, the administrator shall determine

the amount of the biweekly rate reduction and the terms of

such reduction. The administrator shall fix a specific time for

the reduction of the biweekly rate of compensation to repay

the lump sum advancement. The administrator my include

interest in the repayment schedule.

(4) The administrator shall issue an order approving or

disapproving the application. If the application is approved,

the order shall advise the injured worker of the amount of

reduction of compensation and the terms of the lump sum

advancement.

{¶ 24} Effective November 13, 2015 and after the date of filing the application,

Ohio Adm.Code 4123-3-37 was amended as it currently provides. There is no indication

in the current provision of Ohio Adm.Code 4123-3-37 that it is intended to be applied

retroactively, nor do the parties to this action argue that the current version of Ohio

Adm.Code 4123-3-37 is applicable to the application filed July 29, 2015. See State ex

rel. A.J. Rose Mfg. Co. v. Schwarz, 10th Dist. No. 11AP-379, 2012-Ohio-4367.

{¶ 25} It can be observed that notwithstanding R.C. 4123.64(A) 's reference to

"special circumstances," the version of Ohio Adm.Code 4123-3-37 effective July 11, 2013

fails to reiterate "special circumstances" as a factor to be addressed by the administrator

in his determination of whether to grant a lump sum payment. Rather the version at

issue states that the administrator "may commute an award of compensation to a lump

sum payment when the administrator determines that the advancement is advisable for

the purpose of providing the injured worker financial relief or for furthering the injured

worker's rehabilitation."

{¶ 26} According to the commission and the claimant in this action, given the

failure of Ohio Adm.Code 4123-3-37 to reiterate "special circumstances" as a factor to be

addressed, the administrator is not required to address "special circumstances" in his

order. The magistrate disagrees.

No. 16AP-354 9

{¶ 27} To begin, it is clear that R.C. 4123.64 provides to the employer a

substantive right that "special circumstances" must be considered in the determination

of whether to grant the application. Thus, even though R.C. 4123.64 commands that the

administrator "shall adopt rules," the administrator has no authority to eliminate

"special circumstances" from the statute by promulgating a rule that fails to require

"special circumstances."

{¶ 28} Clearly, R.C. 4123.64, effective October 20, 1993 and currently, provides

substantive rights to the employer and the claimant that vested on the date of injury, i.e.

November 22, 2006. Thus, the rule at issue here cannot be read in isolation from

R.C. 4123.64, nor can the rule be read to eliminate "special circumstances" from the

statute. In short, the administrator was required to address "special circumstances"

under the statute. By the same token, both the DHO and SHO who heard the appeals

were commanded by the statute to address "special circumstances." Neither the DHO

nor the SHO addressed "special circumstances." Thus, the commission abused its

discretion in failing to address "special circumstances."

{¶ 29} Accordingly, it is the magistrate's decision that this court issue a writ of

mandamus ordering the commission to vacate the SHO's order of November 16, 2015,

and, in a manner consistent with this magistrate's decision, enter an order that

determines whether "special circumstances" exist to support the application for a lump

sum advancement under R.C. 4123.64 and the version of Ohio Adm.Code 4123-3-37

effective July 11, 2013.

/S/ MAGISTRATE

KENNETH W. MACKE

NOTICE TO THE PARTIES

Civ.R. 53(D)(3)(a)(iii) provides that a party shall not assign as

error on appeal the court's adoption of any factual finding or

legal conclusion, whether or not specifically designated as a

finding of fact or conclusion of law under Civ.R.

53(D)(3)(a)(ii), unless the party timely and specifically objects

to that factual finding or legal conclusion as required by Civ.R.

53(D)(3)(b).

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.