Opinion

Torijano v. Workers' Compensation Appeal Board (In a Flash Plumbing)

  • 168 A.3d 424
  • 2017 Pa. Commw. LEXIS 658
Court
Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania
Filed
Aug 30, 2017
Status
Published
Author
Hearthway
On the bench
Brobson, Hearthway, Leadbetter
Cited by
3 cases
Authority
More cited than 56.1%

The opinion

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Carlos Torijano, :

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 1686 C.D. 2016

: SUBMITTED: April 13, 2017

Workers' Compensation Appeal :

Board (In A Flash Plumbing), :

Respondent :

BEFORE: HONORABLE P. KEVIN BROBSON, Judge

HONORABLE JULIA K. HEARTHWAY, Judge

HONORABLE BONNIE BRIGANCE LEADBETTER, Senior Judge

OPINION BY JUDGE HEARTHWAY FILED: August 30, 2017

Carlos Torijano (Claimant) petitions for review of the September 21,

2016 order of the Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Board) which affirmed

the workers’ compensation judge’s (WCJ’s) decision and order granting In A Flash

Plumbing’s (Employer) suspension petition. We affirm.

Claimant was employed by Employer as a plumber’s helper. (R.R. at

28.)1 On May 30, 2014, Claimant sustained an injury, which Employer’s notice of

compensation payable described as a low back strain. (R.R. at 10, see WCJ’s

Findings of Fact (F.F.) No. 1.) Subsequently, Employer filed a petition to suspend

compensation benefits alleging that Employer offered a specific job to Claimant

1

Although Claimant has not numbered the pages in the manner required by Pa. R.A.P.

2173, we will cite to them as numbered to avoid confusion.

which he refused. (WCJ’s decision at 3.) Claimant filed an answer denying the

material allegations, and hearings were held before the WCJ.

Employer offered the deposition testimony of Steven J. Valentino,

D.O., Claimant’s treating physician. Dr. Valentino testified that he first examined

Claimant on July 1, 2014. Dr. Valentino opined that during treatment, Claimant

could perform light duty work. Dr. Valentino last examined Claimant on August

19, 2014 and Claimant’s exam was completely normal. Dr. Valentino felt that at

that time, Claimant was fully recovered. (WCJ’s F.F. No. 2.)

Employer also offered the testimony of Robbin Nocella. Ms. Nocella

is a co-owner of Employer and performs administrative duties. Ms. Nocella

testified that Claimant returned to work on June 11, 2014 with a ten pound lifting

restriction. (WCJ’s F.F. No. 3a, R.R. at 97.) Ms. Nocella stated that Claimant

never complained that he was being given work he was not supposed to do.

(WCJ’s F.F. No. 3a, R.R. at 97.) Ms. Nocella also testified that she asked

Claimant to call in before jobs and when he left in order to direct him to

assignments and make sure he was getting light duty, as well as to keep track of his

hours. (WCJ’s F.F. No. 3b, R.R. at 98a, 105-06.) Ms. Nocella testified that

Claimant did not usually call in, which led to a reprimand. (R.R. at 98a, see WCJ’s

F.F. No. 3b.) Ms. Nocella testified that she asked Claimant to sign a paper that she

discussed the reprimand with him, and Claimant got upset. (R.R. at 99.) Claimant

did not show up for work after she talked to him. (R.R. at 99.) Ms. Nocella stated

that Claimant was not fired. (WCJ’s F.F. No. 3c, R.R. at 99.) She stated that later,

Claimant was “cleared” by his doctor but that Claimant never showed up after

2

being released to full duty, despite her sending him letters. (R.R. at 99, see WCJ’s

F.F. No. 3c.) She further stated that employment was available to Claimant even if

restrictions were necessary. (R.R. at 100.)

Robert Nocella, Employer’s vice-president also testified. Mr. Nocella

testified that he provided Claimant with light duty work doing “HVAC” because it

is lighter work than plumbing. (WCJ’s F.F. No. 4a, R.R. at 111.) He testified that

Claimant never complained that he was being asked to do more than permitted by

his restrictions or that the work was worsening his condition. (WCJ’s F.F. No. 4a,

R.R. at 112.) Mr. Nocella testified that he met with Claimant in September 2014,2

and Claimant told him that Ms. Nocella had asked Claimant to sign a letter

regarding his failure to call in as requested and to get to assignments properly.

(WCJ’s F.F. 4c, R.R. at 112-13.) Mr. Nocella testified that Claimant stated he

refused to sign the letter and quit because he was asked to sign the letter. (WCJ’s

F.F. No. 4b, R.R. at 113.) Mr. Nocella stated that work would still be available to

Claimant if he had not quit, even if he required light duty. (WCJ’s F.F. No. 4c,

R.R. at 114.)

Employer also offered the testimony of Mark Riley who is a master

plumber with Employer. Mr. Riley supervised Claimant when he returned to work

with restrictions. Mr. Riley testified that he did not ask Claimant to work beyond

his restrictions. (WCJ’s F.F. No. 5b, R.R. at 118.) Mr. Riley testified that

2

Mr. Nocella testified that when he arrived at a job site, Claimant was there speaking

with Mark Riley, an HVAC supervisor. It appears that Claimant went to the job site to return

money that Mr. Nocella loaned Claimant when he first got hurt. (R.R. at 111-13.)

3

Claimant did not complain that he had to do anything over his restrictions or that

his symptoms were getting worse. (WCJ’s F.F. No. 5c, R.R. at 118.)

Employer also offered the testimony of Kevin Kling, a master

plumber with Employer. Mr. Kling testified that he supervised Claimant while he

was working light duty. (WCJ’s F.F. No. 6a, R.R. at 125.) Mr. Kling testified that

he never asked Claimant to work beyond his restrictions. (WCJ’s F.F. No. 6b,

R.R. at 125.) Mr. Kling testified that Claimant never complained that work was

worsening his back condition. (WCJ’s F.F. No. 6b, R.R. at 126.)

Employer also submitted into evidence a copy of a letter dated July

23, 2014, from Ms. Nocella to Claimant. The letter stated that Employer had made

light duty available to Claimant but he had not come to work, and Employer was

“unsure of why we have not heard from you.” The letter also stated that Employer

could accommodate updated work restrictions based on Claimant’s July 22, 2014

exam with Dr. Valentino, as it had done in the past. (Certified Record, Exhibit D-

5.)

Claimant offered the deposition testimony of Christian I. Fras, M.D.,

who is a board certified orthopedic surgeon. Dr. Fras first examined Claimant in

December 2014. (WCJ’s F.F. No. 7a, R.R. at 180.) Dr. Fras diagnosed Claimant

with aggravation of degenerative disc disease and spondylosis as a result of the

work-related injury on May 30, 2014. (WCJ’s F.F. No. 7c, R.R. at 184.) Dr. Fras

also saw Claimant on January 5, 2015 at which time Claimant was still

symptomatic (see WCJ’s F.F. No. 7d, R.R. at 186-87), and again on May 18, 2015,

4

(R.R. at 189). Dr. Fras opined that Claimant is capable of doing light duty work

but is not fully recovered. (WCJ’s F.F. No. 7e, R.R. at 185-86, 188.)

Claimant testified that after he was injured, he returned to work in

June 2014. (WCJ’s F.F. No. 8b, R.R. at 39.) In his opinion, it was not light duty.

(WCJ’s F.F. No. 8b, R.R. at 39.) Claimant stated he did not tell the Nocellas that

the work was too heavy; it was light duty for them. (WCJ’s F.F. No. 8b, R.R. at

40.) Claimant claimed that he complained to Mr. Kling but not to the Nocellas.

(WCJ’s F.F. No. 8b, R.R. at 42-43.) Claimant stated he did not quit his job.

(WCJ’s F.F. No. 8c, see R.R. at 47.) Claimant admitted that he told the adjuster

that the only reason he was not working was because of a reprimand he received.

(WCJ’s F.F. No. 8c, R.R. at 47.) Claimant said he did not feel fully recovered.

(WCJ’s F.F. No. 8a.)

The WCJ credited the testimony of the Nocellas over that of Claimant

as to the reason Claimant is not working, because Claimant conceded that he told

the adjuster that the only reason he was not working was because of the reprimand

he received. (WCJ’s F.F. No. 10.) Additionally, the WCJ found that the fact that

Claimant discussed with Mr. Nocella that Ms. Nocella asked Claimant to sign the

letter regarding his lack of compliance with her request gave credence to the fact

that Claimant was upset by that and quit. (WCJ’s F.F. No. 10.) Additionally, the

WCJ credited the testimony of Mr. Kling and Mr. Riley over that of Claimant

regarding the work Claimant was given. (WCJ’s F.F. No. 11.) The WCJ found

that Ms. Nocella told Claimant not to do more than his restrictions allowed and that

Claimant did not complain. (WCJ’s F.F. No. 11.) The WCJ did not believe that

5

Claimant was asked to do more. (WCJ’s F.F. No. 11.) The WCJ found that

Claimant voluntarily quit. (WCJ’s F.F. No. 12.) The WCJ concluded that

Employer met its burden of establishing that work was available to Claimant and

that Claimant did not return of his own volition. (WCJ’s Conclusions of Law No.

3.) Accordingly, the WCJ granted Employer’s suspension petition. The WCJ

found, however, that Claimant was not fully recovered.

Claimant appealed to the Board, which affirmed. Claimant now

petitions this Court for review of the Board’s order,3 arguing that the Board erred

in suspending Claimant’s benefits because Employer offered no medical evidence

to establish that, as of the date Claimant allegedly quit, he was capable of returning

to his pre-injury job or that any suitable light duty employment was available.

Claimant contends that absent medical evidence by Employer identifying

Claimant’s physical abilities and available work within those abilities, Employer

failed to meet its burden.4

3

Our scope of review is limited to determining whether constitutional rights have been

violated, whether an error of law was committed and whether necessary findings of fact are

supported by substantial evidence. Johnson v. Workmen’s Compensation Appeal Board (Dubois

Courier Express), 631 A.2d 693 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1993).

4

Claimant maintains that this appeal does not implicate credibility determinations.

Contrary to Claimant’s position, however, the WCJ’s credibility determinations are relevant in

this appeal. It is well-settled that the WCJ is the sole arbiter of credibility, and she is free to

accept or reject the testimony of any witness in whole or in part. See Investors Diversified

Services v. Workmen’s Compensation Appeal Board (Howar), 520 A.2d 958, 962 (Pa. Cmwlth.

1987). Where the WCJ’s findings are supported by substantial evidence, they are conclusive on

appeal. Glass v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (City of Philadelphia), 61 A.3d 318 (Pa.

Cmwlth. 2013).

6

In order to suspend benefits, the employer must establish either that

work within the claimant's restrictions was available or that the claimant's loss of

earnings was caused by something other than the work-related injury. Erisco

Industries, Inc. v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Luvine), 955 A.2d 1065,

1068 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2008). Here, Claimant’s argument ignores the latter means by

which an employer may meet its burden. Indeed, where “it is established that the

claimant's loss of earnings is no longer the result of the work-related disability, the

employer is not required to establish the availability of an alternative job within the

claimant's medical restrictions.” Edwards v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal

Board (Sear's Logistic Services), 770 A.2d 805, 808 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2001) (Edwards

I).5 Further, Pennsylvania courts “have consistently held that an employer does not

need to demonstrate that a claimant is physically able to work or that available

work has been referred to a claimant where the claimant has voluntarily retired or

withdrawn from the workforce.” Banic v. Workmen’s Compensation Appeal

Board (Trans-Bridge Lines, Inc.), 705 A.2d 432, 436 (Pa. 1997).

Here, there is substantial evidence indicating that Claimant’s loss of

earnings was a result of Claimant’s own actions, i.e., a voluntary quit, and not his

work-related injury. Specifically and significantly, Claimant admitted that he told

the adjuster that the only reason he was not working was because of a reprimand he

received. (R.R. at 47.) Additionally, the WCJ credited the testimony of the

Nocellas in this regard, including Mr. Nocella’s testimony that Claimant told Mr.

5

In Edwards I, the claimant was released to light duty work but was terminated when he

failed a drug test. This Court upheld the suspension of benefits, ruling that the claimant’s loss of

earnings was not the result of the work-related disability.

7

Nocella that Ms. Nocella had asked Claimant to sign a letter regarding the

reprimand and that Claimant refused and quit because he was asked to sign the

letter. (R.R. at 113.)

Additionally, there is substantial evidence that Claimant was actually

working within his physical restrictions at the time he stopped reporting to work.

Claimant admitted he returned to work in June 2014. Ms. Nocella also testified

that Claimant returned to work in June 2014 with restrictions. Both Mr. Riley and

Mr. Kling testified that Claimant was not asked to exceed his restrictions, and the

WCJ credited this testimony. Additionally, Claimant never complained that he

was being asked to exceed his restrictions.

We examine the record as a whole to see if it contains evidence a

reasonable person might find sufficient to support the WCJ’s findings. Edwards v.

Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Epicure Home Care, Inc.), 134 A.3d 1156,

1161 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2016). “Further, we must view the evidence in the light most

favorable to the prevailing party and give it the benefit of all inferences reasonably

deduced from the evidence.” Id. at 1161-62.

In sum, the WCJ made factual findings that accommodations for

Claimant’s physical limitations had been made by Employer and that Claimant had

not been requested to exceed those limitations. More significantly, however, is the

fact that Claimant admitted he left his job because of the reprimand. This fact is

critical. This Court has consistently held that when a loss of earnings is related to a

factor other than the work injury, the claimant’s benefits must be suspended. See

8

Edwards I. Under the facts of this case, additional medical evidence potentially

clarifying Claimant’s physical limitations is not required.

Because Employer established that Claimant’s loss of earnings is

related to a factor other than his work injury, i.e., his voluntary quit, Employer was

not required to establish the availability of an alternative job within Claimant’s

medical restrictions. See Edwards I. Further, where, as here, Claimant’s loss of

earnings is related to a factor other than his work injury, Claimant’s benefits must

be suspended. See Edwards I.

Accordingly, we affirm the order of the Board.

__________________________________

JULIA K. HEARTHWAY, Judge

9

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Carlos Torijano, :

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 1686 C.D. 2016

:

Workers' Compensation Appeal :

Board (In A Flash Plumbing), :

Respondent :

ORDER

AND NOW, this 30th day of August, 2017, the order of the Workers’

Compensation Appeal Board in the above-captioned matter is hereby affirmed.

__________________________________

JULIA K. HEARTHWAY, Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.