Opinion

Wilgro Services, Inc. v. Workers' Compensation Appeal Board (Mentusky)

  • 165 A.3d 99
  • 2017 Pa. Commw. LEXIS 415
  • 2017 WL 2797452
Court
Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania
Filed
Jun 28, 2017
Status
Published
Author
McCULLOUGH
On the bench
Leavitt, McCullough, Colins
Cited by
2 cases
Authority
More cited than 51.9%

The opinion

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Wilgro Services, Inc., :

Petitioner :

: No. 1932 C.D. 2016

v. :

: Submitted: March 31, 2017

Workers’ Compensation Appeal :

Board (Mentusky), :

Respondents :

BEFORE: HONORABLE MARY HANNAH LEAVITT, President Judge

HONORABLE PATRICIA A. McCULLOUGH, Judge

HONORABLE JAMES GARDNER COLINS, Senior Judge

OPINION BY

JUDGE McCULLOUGH FILED: June 28, 2017

Wilgro Services (Employer) petitions for review of the November 17,

2016, order of the Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Board) affirming a

decision and order of the Workers’ Compensation Judge (WCJ) granting the claim

petition of Robert Mentusky (Claimant).

Facts and Procedural History

On June 27, 2014, while working at a job site assigned by Employer,

Claimant jumped off a two-story roof and injured his feet and back. Claimant

reported the injuries to Employer that day, and Employer issued a notice of

compensation denial on July 7, 2014, contending: (1) that Claimant’s injuries were

not work-related; and (2) that Claimant “JUMPED FROM ROOF—DELIBERATE

AND INTENTIONAL ACT.” (Reproduced Record (R.R.) at 141) (emphasis in

original.)

Subsequently, Claimant filed a claim petition, alleging an injury

consisting of “bilateral heel fractures and back injuries,” which rendered him totally

disabled. (Claim petition, ¶¶3-6a; R.R. at 7.) Employer filed a timely answer

denying all material allegations and alleging further, inter alia, “[a]t the time of the

alleged incident, Claimant was beyond the scope of any employment relationship

and, hence, is not entitled to any workers’ compensation benefits.” (R.R. at 7-10, 15-

17.)

Claimant testified at a hearing before the WCJ on September 4, 2014.

He explained that he was working for Employer as an HVAC mechanic at a building

owned by KVK-Tech in Newtown, Pennsylvania, on June 27, 2014, cleaning

condenser coils on the air conditioning units, which were located on the roof of the

building. He stated that the building varied in height but was mostly one story with

some parts as high as two stories. The units on which he worked were between three

and eight feet off the ground. That day, he testified that he arrived at 7:00 a.m. and

ascended the roof on a ladder placed by roofers who were also working at the

building. Claimant testified that he accessed the roof by means of this ladder since

the job had begun. He stated that he was never told by the roofers not to use the

ladder, and because the ladder had always been left there overnight, he used it as well

to leave the roof area when his shift was over. (WCJ’s Finding of Fact No. 4.)

On June 27, 2014, he testified that he arrived at 7:00 that morning for

work and ascended the ladder, and he used the ladder at lunch break to go down and

then back up to the roof. He stated that he finished his job between 2:00 and 2:15

p.m. and gathered his tools and supplies, but when he looked around he saw no one

else on the roof and the roofers’ ladder was gone. He noted that at no time that day

did the roofers ever tell Claimant they were leaving or that they were removing the

2

ladder. He indicated that the building had a roof hatch which he tried, but found it

was locked. He testified that he had a cell phone but did not try the phone for the

building owner, KVK-Tech, because whenever he tried that number in the past, he

could never get through to actually talk with someone. He stated that he did not try

the phone for the owner’s maintenance man because Claimant had seen him at lunch

and he had told Claimant he was leaving at 1:00, and did not call Employer because

its personnel were too far away. He noted that he called “Terry,” an employee at

KVK-Tech, but got his answering machine, and had the same result with “Andrew,”

another KVK-Tech employee, and did not leave any message for either man. (WCJ’s

Finding of Fact No. 4.)

Claimant testified that he never considered calling 911 or any emergency

number, nor did he call out for help, bang on the hatch, or walk the perimeter of the

roof to look for anyone else. Claimant stated that he proceeded toward the

employees’ entrance, where the roof was lower and waited about thirty minutes to see

someone entering or exiting the building, but that he saw no one. He estimated the

roof at that point to be between sixteen and twenty feet off the ground, and because

he had successfully made similar jumps in the past and the ground was covered with

mulch, he thought he could jump without injury. After jumping into the mulched

spot, Claimant felt immediate pain in both feet. Employees of KVK-Tech came to

him and eventually, he was taken by ambulance to St. Mary’s Hospital. (WCJ’s

Finding of Fact No. 4.)

Claimant denied that he had deliberately and intentionally jumped off

the roof to injure himself, or that he had planned to injure himself on the job.

Claimant admitted that he could have used his own ladder to access the roof but that

there was limited space to place a ladder because of landscaping work occurring at

the same time surrounding the building. He agreed that if he had waited longer, the

odds were that someone would enter or leave the building, but he felt he could safely

3

make the jump without hurting himself. In retrospect, he testified, the decision was

not smart, but he said he never thought he would get hurt. (WCJ’s Finding of Fact

No. 4.)

In a deposition taken on November 21, 2014, Claimant submitted the

medical testimony of David Hardeski, M.D. Board-certified in orthopedic surgery,

Dr. Hardeski testified that his practice is dedicated to treatment of traumatic

orthopedic injuries. He testified that he first saw Claimant the day after the incident,

and obtained a history from him, which included the fact that Claimant had jumped

off the roof. He stated that he reviewed x-rays and diagnosed Claimant with bilateral

calcaneus fractures, left medial malleolus fracture, and lumbar spinal fractures at L-4

and L-5. Dr. Hardeski attempted conservative treatment but then performed surgery

on July 16, 2014, fixing screws and plates into the bones of both heels. (WCJ’s

Finding of Fact No. 5.)

On follow-up with Claimant on October 24, 2014, Dr. Hardeski testified

Claimant continues to improve with some loss of reduction on the left calcaneus heel.

He stated that he prescribed physical therapy for both legs. At the October 24 office

visit, Dr. Hardeski testified that Claimant’s pain was worse in the left heel than the

right, and worse with ambulation. He testified that Claimant uses a cane to walk. Dr.

Hardeski concluded that the cause of Claimant’s problems was the jump from the

roof, and that Claimant was presently disabled and could take up to two years of

rehabilitation, with lifelong issues because the prognosis for calcaneal fractures is

poor with regard to painless and normal function. (WCJ’s Finding of Fact No. 5.)

Claimant’s medical evidence was not contested or rebutted by Employer.

However, in a deposition taken on December 5, 2014, Employer

submitted the testimony of Nikki Houy, the Human Resources manager for KVK-

Tech. She testified that on June 27, 2014, she had been called to the outside of the

KVK-Tech building by security, and she saw Claimant on the ground. She stated that

4

Claimant told her he had jumped from the roof. She testified that she asked Claimant

why he did not call someone from KVK-Tech and Claimant responded that the

number never works. She testified that she then used Claimant’s cell phone to call

the KVK-Tech number and the phone started to ring, indicating the number was

working. She admitted that when Claimant told her to call “Nondu” or “Andy” with

her company, the calls went to voice mail for each. She testified that she looked at

Claimant’s cell phone and saw a call to Andy but not to Nondu. Ms. Houy testified

that she put ice packs on Claimant’s feet and called 911. She testified that she knew

nothing specific about the jobs on the roof or the persons working on the roof.

(WCJ’s Finding of Fact No. 6.)

Employer presented no evidence to contradict Claimant’s testimony

regarding his attempts to call people after he noticed the roofers’ ladder was gone, but

Employer did proffer photographs of the building and the work area, which were not

disputed by Claimant. (WCJ’s Findings of Fact Nos. 7-8.)

The WCJ found Claimant to have been credible for a number of reasons,

including that his testimony as to mechanism of injury and his thought process was

uncontradicted, that his testimony was consistent with that of his physician, and that

Claimant had been candid “in acknowledging his decision to jump from the roof was

not the best decision he has made in his life.” (WCJ’s Finding of Fact No. 9.)

The WCJ found Ms. Houy credible but that she failed “to provide any

significant factual information that contradicted the Claimant’s testimony regarding

his decision making process.” (WCJ’s Finding of Fact No. 10.)

The WCJ found Dr. Hardeski credible and considered as well that the

medical evidence was not contradicted. (WCJ’s Finding of Fact No. 11.)

Accordingly, the WCJ made the following dispositive findings of fact:

(1) on June 27, 2014, Claimant was a traveling employee furthering Employer’s

business, so that he was in the course of his employment when he jumped from the

5

roof; (2) Claimant did not intentionally and/or deliberately attempt to injure himself

when he jumped; (3) “[t]his Judge recognizes that Claimant[‘s] decision was

misguided however such is NOT a bar from receiving compensation benefits under

Pa. Workers[‘] Compensation Act, a no-fault system;” (4) Claimant was not involved

in horseplay when he jumped; (5) “[t]his Judge finds the Claimant had NOT

contemplated or considered jumping off the roof as the appropriate means of getting

off the roof at the end of his work day as he had used the roofer’s ladder at the end of

each prior work day;” (6) Claimant did not violate any positive work order because

there was no “proper protocol established by the Employer if stuck on a roof;” and,

(7) Claimant suffered the work injury “while in the course and scope of his

employment on June 27, 2014,” and his disability is ongoing. (WCJ’s Findings of

Fact Nos. 12-18) (emphases in original).

Employer appealed to the Board, arguing that the WCJ erred as a matter

of law in finding Claimant’s injuries compensable because Claimant’s actions in

jumping from the roof were wholly foreign to his employment and so sufficient to

remove him from the course and scope of his employment under this Court’s holding

in Penn State University v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Smith), 15 A.3d

949 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2011). The Board disagreed, finding that “course of employment”

is construed more broadly for a traveling employee such as Claimant and that the

proscribed conduct in Penn State was distinguishable because it was done on a

“whim.” (Board op. at 6-9.)

Employer filed a petition for review with this Court,1 raising the same

arguments.

1

Our scope of review is limited to determining whether Findings of Fact are supported by

substantial evidence, whether an error of law has been committed, or whether constitutional rights

have been violated. Section 704 of the Administrative Agency Law, 2 Pa.C.S. §704; Meadow

Lakes Apartments v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Spencer), 894 A.2d 214, 216 n.3 (Pa.

(Footnote continued on next page…)

6

Discussion

In a workers’ compensation proceeding, the WCJ is the ultimate fact

finder and is the sole authority for determining the weight and credibility of evidence.

Lombardo v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Topps Company, Inc.), 698

A.2d 1378, 1381 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1997). “As such, the WCJ is free to accept or reject

the testimony of any witness, including medical witnesses, in whole or in part.” Id.

The WCJ’s findings will not be disturbed on appeal when they are supported by

substantial, competent evidence. Greenwich Collieries v. Workmen’s Compensation

Appeal Board (Buck), 664 A.2d 703, 706 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1995). “Substantial evidence

is such relevant evidence which a reasonable mind might accept as adequate to

support a finding.” Berardelli v. Workmen’s Compensation Appeal Board (Bureau of

Personnel, State Workmen’s Insurance Fund), 578 A.2d 1016, 1018 (Pa. Cmwlth.

1990).

Indeed, where both parties present evidence, it is irrelevant that the

record contains evidence which supports a finding contrary to that made by the WCJ;

rather, the pertinent inquiry is whether evidence exists that supports the WCJ’s

findings. Hoffmaster v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Senco Products,

Inc.), 721 A.2d 1152, 1155 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1998).

Further, on appeal, all inferences drawn from the evidence shall be taken

in favor of the party prevailing before the WCJ. Krumins Roofing and Siding v.

(continued…)

Cmwlth. 2006). The scope of review on questions of law is plenary and the standard of review is de

novo. Pitt Ohio Express v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Wolff), 912 A.2d 206, 207 (Pa.

2006).

7

Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Libby), 575 A.2d 656, 659 (Pa. Cmwlth.

1990).

Section 301(c)(1) of the Workers’ Compensation Act (Act)2 covers any

injury “arising in the course of his employment and related thereto,” and includes “all

other injuries sustained while the employe is actually engaged in the furtherance of

the business or affairs of the employer, whether upon the employer’s premises or

elsewhere . . . .”

The pertinent facts are undisputed: Claimant jumped from the roof of

the KVK-Tech building at the end of his job duties on June 27, 2014, and suffered

injuries to his heels and low back as a consequence, such that he became disabled

from working and remains disabled. Employer was based in Morton, away from the

job site. Accordingly, neither party disputes that Claimant was a traveling employee.

On appeal, Employer argues that this Court should focus on the

intentional, premeditated, deliberate, extreme, and high-risk nature of Claimant’s

conduct, which would compel a denial of benefits under Penn State.

Claimant argues that Penn State is distinguishable because Claimant

here was a traveling employee and did not act on a “whim,” but rather made a

difficult decision which, however misguided or stupid, was in the course of

employment and related thereto, more consistent with this Court’s holding in Baby’s

Room v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Stairs), 860 A.2d 200 (Pa. Cmwlth.

2004), appeal denied, 871 A.2d 193 (Pa. 2005).

In Penn State, this Court addressed the situation where an employee who

was on an unpaid lunch break at his employer’s premises intentionally jumped down

a flight of approximately twelve stairs, landing hard and injuring his legs and ankles.

2

Act of June 2, 1915, P.L. 736, as amended, 77 P.S. §411(1).

8

15 A.3d at 950-51. Claimant testified that “his decision to jump down the flight of

stairs was a ‘whim,’ although he had thoughts of jumping down the steps prior to that

date.” Id. at 951, 954. The WCJ found that the claimant was in the course of his

employment when he was injured and the Board affirmed. Id. at 951. This Court

reversed, noting first that “employees who remain on an employer’s premises for

their lunch break and sustain an injury are generally considered to be in the

furtherance of the employer’s business, unless the activity they are engaged in was so

wholly foreign to their employment.” Id. at 953. Because the claimant did not trip or

fall down the stairs and was not encouraged to jump, “the facts do not establish that

[c]laimant’s actions furthered a specific interest of [e]mployer. Finally, [c]laimant’s

action in jumping the stairs did not maintain any skills necessary to the performance

of his job.” Id. at 954. Accordingly, this Court held:

The premeditated, deliberate, extreme, and inherently

high-risk nature of [c]laimant’s actions are sufficient to

remove [c]laimant from the course and scope of his

employment and distinguish this case from other cases,

such as Baby’s Room . . ., where a claimant engaged in

an inconsequential departure from his work activities and

received benefits for his injuries. . . . We cannot

conclude, therefore, that [c]laimant was in furtherance of

[e]mployer’s business or affairs when he jumped down

the flight of stairs.

Id. at 954-55 (citations omitted).

The claimant in Baby’s Room was delivering furniture to a customer of

his employer and when he finished the delivery and was walking back to the truck, he

jumped up to touch the rim of a hoop on a basketball backboard that was in the

customer’s driveway, when his hand slipped off the rim, he fell backwards, and he hit

his head on the concrete pavement, suffering a traumatic brain injury. 860 A.2d at

202. The WCJ granted the claimant’s claim petition and was affirmed by the Board.

Id. at 202-03. This Court affirmed the award of benefits, finding that although the

9

parties all agreed that the claimant was not furthering his employer’s business, we

held:

Because an interval of leisure would certainly include

short cessation from work duties, we would allow that

definition [of intervals of leisure] to include [c]laimant’s

actions of running from the delivery truck and jumping

up to touch the rim of a basketball hoop, and then

consider those actions as an inconsequential departure

from delivering furniture for [e]mployer.

Id. at 205-06.

This Court also noted that “[w]hether a claimant is a traveling or

stationary employee is relevant for determining whether an injury sustained while on

a departure from work duties is compensable. Injuries sustained by traveling

employees are given more latitude when considered if compensable . . . . Because

[c]laimant’s duties require him to travel daily from employer’s warehouse to various

locations to deliver furniture, he is a traveling employee.” Id. at 203 n.5.

Claimant here was a traveling employee. As such, he is entitled to a

presumption that he was furthering Employer’s business when he was injured. “To

rebut this presumption, the employer bears the burden of proving that the claimant’s

actions were so foreign to and removed from his or her usual employment as to

constitute an abandonment thereof.” Bachman Company v. Workers’ Compensation

Appeal Board (Spence), 683 A.2d 1305, 1311 n.17 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1996).

Employer argues that it rebuts the presumption of Claimant furthering

Employer’s business or affairs by applying Penn State and considering the

similarities between the two claimants: (1) both voluntarily jumped; (2) both actively

considered whether they would be injured; (3) neither claimant tripped or fell; (4)

neither employer encouraged either claimant to jump; (5) neither claimant was

performing his job duties when jumping; and, (6) neither claimant was maintaining

10

any job skill necessary to the performance of his respective job. (Employer brief at

19.)

Claimant responds that reliance on Penn State is inappropriate because:

(1) Claimant was a traveling employee while the claimant in Penn State was not; (2)

Claimant was finishing his job on the roof while the claimant in Penn State was on

his lunch break; (3) Claimant’s decision was made because the ladder which had been

there was gone, in contrast to the claimant in Penn State jumping on a whim; and, (4)

departing from a job site not on Employer’s premises was not so foreign to and

removed from his usual employment as to constitute an abandonment of his

employment. (Claimants brief at 9-11.) We agree with Claimant.

Employer errs when it conflates its fifth point above, that is, Claimant

was not performing his job duties when he jumped from the roof, with the

requirement for an award of benefits to a traveling employee being that he or she was

furthering the employer’s business. Certainly, jumping off a roof was not one of

Claimant’s job duties, but exiting a work site is a necessary component of any job and

so advanced Employer’s business and affairs. Moreover, the present case does not

involve a stationary employee acting on a whim or lark, as in Penn State; nor does it

involve a traveling employee taking an interval of leisure, as in Baby’s Room.

Rather, the case at bar is closer to what this Court faced in Bachman Company, that

is, the decision of a referee3 that was supported by the “unrefuted testimony” of a

claimant who had found himself in an unexpected and dangerous situation of being

confronted by an angry person while refueling his employer’s truck, and being

assaulted, with the claimant sustaining injuries. 683 A.2d at 1310. This Court

affirmed the award of benefits, holding, “we can conclude that the attack on

3

WCJs were known as referees prior to the amendments to Section 401 of the Act, 77 P.S.

§701, effective August 31, 1993. See Section 14 of the Act of July 2, 1993, P.L. 190, No. 44.

11

[c]laimant was the unfortunate result of [c]laimant’s reasonable response to an

unexpected situation he confronted during the course of his employment.” Id. at

1312.

The Board here addressed this issue squarely when it concluded that

Employer failed to meet its affirmative defense of proving that Claimant’s actions

were so foreign to and removed from his employment as to constitute an

abandonment of employment. (Board op. at 8.) “We agree,” stated the Board, “that

the decision to jump off the roof rather than to call 911 or to wait for someone to

come out of the building was not the best decision Claimant could have made. Even

so, he was not engaged in horseplay but was merely trying to get off the roof at the

end of his work day.” Id.

While Claimant’s decision to jump was not advisable, may not have

been a smart move, and may have been misguided, we cannot say that it was so

unreasonable as to make the action so foreign to and removed from Claimant’s job as

to constitute an abandonment of that job. Rather, here, Claimant was a traveling

employee who had reasonably used the ladder of other trades people at that job site to

enter and exit the working area, and who unexpectedly found his means of egress

removed when his job was over.

Conclusion

Because Claimant was not engaged in horseplay, nor acting on a whim,

and his action in jumping from the roof was not so unreasonable and removed from

his job to constitute abandonment, the Board did not err in affirming the WCJ’s

decision finding that Claimant was injured in the course of his employment and

entitled to total disability benefits.

12

Accordingly, the Board’s order is hereby affirmed.

________________________________

PATRICIA A. McCULLOUGH, Judge

13

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Wilgro Services, Inc., :

Petitioner :

: No. 1932 C.D. 2016

v. :

:

Workers’ Compensation Appeal :

Board (Mentusky), :

Respondents :

ORDER

AND NOW, this 28th day of June, 2017, the order of the Workers’

Compensation Appeal Board dated November 17, 2016, is hereby affirmed.

________________________________

PATRICIA A. McCULLOUGH, Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.