Opinion

Lidey v. Workers' Compensation Appeal Board (Tropical Amusements, Inc.)

  • 157 A.3d 22
  • 2017 Pa. Commw. LEXIS 81
  • 2017 WL 1034646
Court
Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania
Filed
Mar 17, 2017
Status
Published
Author
Brobson
On the bench
Brobson, Wojcik, Leadbetter
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 3.6%

The opinion

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Archie Lidey III, :

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 726 C.D. 2016

: Submitted: December 2, 2016

Workers’ Compensation Appeal :

Board (Tropical Amusements, Inc.), :

Respondent :

BEFORE: HONORABLE P. KEVIN BROBSON, Judge

HONORABLE MICHAEL H. WOJCIK, Judge

HONORABLE BONNIE BRIGANCE LEADBETTER, Senior Judge

OPINION BY JUDGE BROBSON FILED: March 17, 2017

Petitioner Archie Lidey III (Claimant) petitions for review of an order

of the Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Board). The Board affirmed, as

modified, the decision of a Workers’ Compensation Judge (WCJ), granting

Claimant’s petition to review compensation benefits. We now reverse.

Claimant sustained an injury in the nature of a right arm fracture/crush

injury while in the course and scope of his employment with Tropical

Amusements, Inc. (Employer) on August 4, 2013. (Reproduced Record (R.R.)

at 98a.) Employer accepted liability for Claimant’s work-related injury pursuant to

a Notice of Compensation Payable, dated August 12, 2013. (Id. at 98a-99a.) The

Notice of Compensation Payable and accompanying Statement of Wages reflected

an average weekly wage (AWW) of $640.00, and a weekly compensation rate of

$458.50. (Id. at 94a, 98a.) Thereafter, on September 15, 2014, Claimant filed a

petition to review compensation benefits, alleging that Employer had improperly

calculated his AWW and weekly compensation rate. (Id. at 1a-4a.)

Before the WCJ, Claimant testified that on August 4, 2013, he was

assembling a carnival ride at the Greene County Fair, when the ride malfunctioned,

causing the car/trolley to come down onto his right arm and pin his right arm

between the ride’s main support/tower and the car/trolley. (Supplemental

Reproduced Record (Supp. R.R.) at 13b.) Claimant initially treated for his

work-related injury at Ruby Memorial Hospital in Morgantown, West Virginia,

where he underwent five or six surgeries on his right arm over a period of

approximately ten to twelve days and was treated in the intensive care unit.

(Id. at 20b-21b.) Since that time, Claimant has undergone two additional surgeries

on his right arm. (Id. at 21b.) Claimant explained that he continues to treat for his

work-related injury and that his doctors would like to perform additional surgeries,

but he was currently being given some time to return to as much normal activity as

possible for psychological reasons. (Id.)

At the time of his August 4, 2013 work-related injury, Claimant was

working as a manager/fabricator for Employer, a family-owned business that

provides amusement rides to fairs and carnivals. (Id. at 12b, 15b, 25b.) In this

position, Claimant was responsible for Employer’s day-to-day operations, contract

negotiations, representing Employer at conventions and trade shows, buying and

selling equipment, and assembling, disassembling, and repairing rides.

(Id. at 15b-16b, 25b-26b.) Claimant explained that he took on the management

duties in addition to his regular fabricator duties in the winter of 2012/2013 after

his grandfather passed away. (Id. at 15b, 26b-27b.) Before that time, Claimant

had been learning the management duties from his grandfather since approximately

2

2008 or 2009. (Id. at 15b, 29b.) Claimant testified further that in 2012, he was

paid $1,000.00 per week from the first week in June through the last week of

September. (Id. at 17b.) Claimant explained that in 2013, his weekly wages were

increased from $1,000.00 to $2,000.00 in connection with his additional

management duties. (Id. at 18b-19b.) Claimant explained further that prior

to 2013, his employment duties stopped when the carnival season ended in

September. (Id. at 19b.) After he took on the additional management duties,

however, he was required to work through the winter months, attending

conventions and trade shows, performing contract negotiations, buying and selling

rides, and finding the best deals on ride parts. (Id.) Claimant testified that as a

result of these wintertime employment duties, his weekly wages of $2,000.00 were

supposed to continue beyond the 2013 carnival season. (Id. at 19b-20b.) Claimant

stated further that had he not been injured, he would have expected his weekly pay

to continue through the end of 2013 and into 2014. (Id. at 20b.) Claimant returned

to work for Employer in a light-duty capacity in June 2014, performing tasks such

as “catch drops” and monitoring ticket booths. (Id. at 21b-22b.) Claimant

continues to work for Employer in a light-duty capacity and is able to perform

additional duties as the condition of his arm improves. (Id. at 22b.)

Employer presented the testimony of Rebecca Lidey, Employer’s

president and Claimant’s mother. (Id. at 39b, 41b.) Ms. Lidey testified that

Employer is in the business of providing amusement rides for Pennsylvania

carnivals from May through September of each year. (Id. at 40b-41b.) Employer

has a summertime office located in Scottsdale, Pennsylvania, where it stores its

equipment during the winter months, and a wintertime office located in Riverview,

Florida, where it is incorporated. (Id. at 40b-41b.) Ms. Lidey confirmed that

3

Claimant worked for Employer as a fabricator in 2012, and Employer paid

Claimant $1,000.00 per week. (Id. at 41b-42b.) Ms. Lidey also confirmed that

Claimant took over some administrative duties after his grandfather passed away

in 2012. (Id. at 42b.) Ms. Lidey explained, however, that Claimant was not paid

to attend conventions on behalf of Employer during the winter months and

received money only when he sold equipment for Employer. (Id. at 42b-43b.)

Ms. Lidey stated that Claimant was “just helping the [family] business” by

attending these conventions and performing other duties in the wintertime.

(Id. at 44b-45b.) Ms. Lidey also admitted that Claimant was paid $2,000.00 per

week beginning in 2013. (Id. at 45b.) Ms. Lidey explained, however, that while

she and Claimant had discussed the possibility of Claimant receiving $2,000.00 per

week during the entire year, Employer had not agreed to that arrangement prior to

Claimant’s August 4, 2013 work-related injury. (Id. at 43b.) Ms. Lidey testified

further that no employee received any wages during the winter months at the time

of Claimant’s August 4, 2013 work-related injury, but that this changed in 2014,

when Employer began paying Archie Lidey, Jr. and Claimant throughout the

winter months. (Id. at 46b-47b.)

On June 26, 2015, the WCJ issued a decision, granting Claimant’s

petition to review compensation benefits.1 In so doing, the WCJ concluded:

(1) Employer improperly calculated Claimant’s time of injury AWW as a seasonal

1

On July 6, 2015, the WCJ issued an amended decision for the purpose of ordering and

directing Employer to reimburse Claimant’s counsel for all reasonable and necessary litigation

costs. The WCJ reaffirmed his prior June 26, 2015 decision in all other respects.

(See R.R. at 20a-24a.)

4

employee under Section 309(e) of the Workers’ Compensation Act (Act);2 and

(2) pursuant to Section 309(a) of the Act,3 Claimant’s time of injury AWW was

$2,000.00, which resulted in a weekly compensation rate of $917.00.

Employer appealed to the Board, arguing that the WCJ erred in

concluding that Claimant was improperly classified as a seasonal employee, that

Employer had improperly calculated Claimant’s AWW, and that Claimant’s

correct AWW was $2,000.00. By decision dated April 13, 2016, the Board

affirmed the WCJ’s decision granting Claimant’s petition to review compensation

benefits, but modified Claimant’s AWW to $717.95. In so doing, the Board

determined: (1) the WCJ properly concluded that Claimant was not a seasonal

employee; (2) the WCJ’s calculation of Claimant’s AWW under Section 309(a) of

the Act “artificially inflated Claimant’s compensation rate in comparison to his

pre-injury earning experience;” and (3) the WCJ should have utilized

Section 309(d) of the Act to calculate Claimant’s AWW because it “is a more

accurate reflection of Claimant’s economic reality.” (Board’s Op. at 6-7.)

Claimant then petitioned this Court for review.

On appeal,4 Claimant argues that the Board committed an error of law

when it applied Section 309(d) of the Act and modified his AWW to $717.95.

More specifically, Claimant argues that by applying Section 309(d) of the Act, the

2

Act of June 2, 1915, P.L. 736, as amended, 77 P.S. § 582(e).

3

Act of June 2, 1915, P.L. 736, as amended, 77 P.S. § 582(a).

4

This Court’s standard of review is limited to determining whether constitutional rights

were violated, whether an error of law was committed, or whether necessary findings of fact are

supported by substantial evidence. Section 704 of the Administrative Agency Law, 2 Pa. C.S.

§ 704.

5

Board ignored the clear and unambiguous language of both Section 309(a) and

Section 309(d) of the Act because Section 309(d) should have been utilized to

calculate his AWW only if Sections 309(a), 309(b), or 309(c) did not apply. In

support of his position, Claimant argues further that the uncontradicted and

credible testimony of both Claimant and Ms. Lidey5 established that at the time of

Claimant’s August 4, 2013 work-related injury, Claimant’s wages were fixed by

the week at $2,000.00, and, therefore, Section 309(a) of the Act should have been

utilized to calculate his AWW.

In response, Employer argues that the Board properly applied

Section 309(d) of the Act and modified Claimant’s AWW to $717.95, because

Claimant’s pre-injury wages were not fixed by the week—i.e., Claimant was

continuously employed by Employer for the fifty-two weeks prior to his

August 4, 2013 work-related injury, but he was only paid by the week during the

carnival season and he performed various administrative duties in the winter

months without pay.

Section 309 of the Act6 provides in pertinent part:

Wherever in this article the term “wages” is used,

it shall be construed to mean the [AWW] of the employe,

ascertained as follows:

(a) If at the time of the injury the wages are fixed by the

week, the amount so fixed shall be the [AWW];

5

While the WCJ did not make any specific credibility determinations, the Board properly

noted that based upon a fair reading of the WCJ’s decision, it was apparent that the WCJ treated

all of the testimony presented as credible. See Lewistown Hosp. v. Workmen’s Comp. Appeal Bd.

(Kuhns), 683 A.2d 702, 706 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1996).

6

Act of June 2, 1915, P.L. 736, as amended, 77 P.S. § 582.

6

(b) If at the time of the injury the wages are fixed by the

month, the [AWW] shall be the monthly wage so fixed

multiplied by twelve and divided by fifty-two;

(c) If at the time of the injury the wages are fixed by the

year, the [AWW] shall be the yearly wage so fixed

divided by fifty-two;

(d) If at the time of the injury the wages are fixed by any

manner not enumerated in clause (a), (b) or (c), the

[AWW] shall be calculated by dividing by thirteen the

total wages earned in the employ of the employer in each

of the highest three of the last four consecutive periods of

thirteen calendar weeks in the fifty-two weeks

immediately preceding the injury and by averaging the

total amounts earned during these three periods.

(Emphasis added.)

Our Supreme Court had the opportunity to interpret Section 309 of the

Act in Lancaster General Hospital v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board

(Weber-Brown), 47 A.3d 831 (Pa. 2012). Applying principles of statutory

construction, the Supreme Court explained that “Section 309 of the Act calculates

a claimant’s [AWW] by first examining how that claimant earned his or her wages

‘at the time of the injury.’” Lancaster Gen. Hosp., 47 A.3d at 836 (emphasis

added). The Supreme Court explained further that Sections 309(a), 309(b),

and 309(c) of the Act “provide fairly straightforward methods for calculating the

[AWW] of employees whose wages are fixed by the week, month, or year,

respectively,” whereas Section 309(d) “address[es] those employees who earned

their wages by the hour.” Id. at 839. Thus, Section 309(d) of the Act should only

be utilized to calculate the AWW of claimants who are paid by the hour.

Here, the testimony of both Claimant and Ms. Lidey established that

on August 4, 2013, at the time of Claimant’s work-related injury, Claimant’s

wages were fixed by the week at $2,000.00. Contrary to Employer’s arguments, it

7

is irrelevant that Claimant was continuously employed by Employer for the

fifty-two weeks prior to his August 4, 2013 work-related injury or that he was not

paid by Employer during the winter months, because Claimant’s AWW must be

calculated based on how he earned his wages on the date of his injury, not at some

other point during his employment with Employer. In addition, there is no

evidence in the record to suggest that Claimant was paid by the hour at the time of

his August 4, 2013 work-related injury. Because Claimant’s wages were fixed by

the week and he was not paid on an hourly basis at the time of his August 4, 2013

work-related injury, Claimant’s AWW must be calculated pursuant to

Section 309(a) of the Act. For these reasons, we must conclude that the Board

committed an error of law when it applied Section 309(d) of the Act and modified

Claimant’s AWW from $2,000.00 to $717.95.

Accordingly, we reverse the Board’s order.

P. KEVIN BROBSON, Judge

8

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Archie Lidey III, :

Petitioner :

:

v. : No. 726 C.D. 2016

:

Workers’ Compensation Appeal :

Board (Tropical Amusements, Inc.), :

Respondent :

ORDER

AND NOW, this 17th day of March, 2017, the order of the Workers’

Compensation Appeal Board is hereby REVERSED.

P. KEVIN BROBSON, Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.