Opinion

Derry Township Supervisors v. Workers' Compensation Appeal Board (Reed)

  • 158 A.3d 194
  • 2017 Pa. Commw. LEXIS 107
  • 2017 WL 1402915
Court
Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania
Filed
Jan 30, 2017
Status
Published
Author
Pellegrini
On the bench
Leavitt, Covey, Pellegrini, Hearthway
Cited by
1 cases
Authority
More cited than 47.0%

“The reasonableness of an employer’s contest depends on whether the contest was prompted to resolve a genuinely disputed issue or merely to harass the claimant.”

How later courts described this case

  • “The reasonableness of an employer’s contest depends on whether the contest was prompted to resolve a genuinely disputed issue or merely to harass the claimant.”

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Derry Township Supervisors and :

Selective Insurance Company of :

America, :

Petitioners :

:

v. : No. 751 C.D. 2016

: Submitted: December 30, 2016

Workers’ Compensation Appeal :

Board (Reed), :

Respondent :

BEFORE: HONORABLE MARY HANNAH LEAVITT, President Judge

HONORABLE ANNE E. COVEY, Judge

HONORABLE DAN PELLEGRINI, Senior Judge

OPINION NOT REPORTED

MEMORANDUM OPINION BY

SENIOR JUDGE PELLEGRINI FILED: January 30, 2017

Derry Township Supervisors (Employer) and Selective Insurance

Company of America (Insurer) petition for review of the Workers’ Compensation

Appeal Board’s (Board) order affirming the Workers’ Compensation Judge’s

(WCJ’s) decision granting Kenneth Reed’s (Claimant) penalty petitions and the

award of counsel fees for failing to promptly pay for work-related medical treatment.

Employer did not pay for the work-related medical treatment not

because it was unnecessary, but because Physical Therapy Institute (PTI) was not the

provider of the billed services but another entity, THE pt GROUP (pt Group), was.

The dispute centers on whether the contractual arrangement and billing practice of the

two providers are lawful under the Workers’ Compensation Act (Act).1

I.

Effective January 1, 1995, cost containment amendments to the Act

made to reduce the cost of workers’ compensation insurance to employers became

effective. One of the most important was Section 306(3)(iii), 77 P.S. § 531(3)(iii),

which changed the method by which workers’ compensation medical bills’

reimbursement were to be calculated. The provision changed the charges from a

cost-plus basis to one calculated on Medicare’s fee schedule, which is normally a

lower amount. It provides:

[A] provider shall not require, request or accept payment for

the treatment, accommodations, products or services in

excess of one hundred thirteen per centum of the prevailing

charge at the seventy-fifth percentile; one hundred thirteen

per centum of the applicable fee schedule, the

recommended fee or the inflation index charge; one

hundred thirteen per centum of the DRG [diagnosis-related

group] payment plus pass-through costs and applicable cost

or day outliers; or one hundred thirteen per centum of any

other Medicare reimbursement mechanism, as determined

by the Medicare carrier or intermediary, whichever pertains

to the specialty service involved, determined to be

applicable in this Commonwealth under the Medicare

program for comparable services rendered. If the

commissioner determines that an allowance for a particular

provider group or service under the Medicare program is

not reasonable, it may adopt, by regulation, a new

allowance. If the prevailing charge, fee schedule,

recommended fee, inflation index charge, DRG payment or

1

Act of June 2, 1915, P.L. 736, as amended, 77 P.S. §§ 1–1041.4, 2501–2708.

2

any other reimbursement has not been calculated under the

Medicare program for a particular treatment,

accommodation, product or service, the amount of the

payment may not exceed eighty per centum of the charge

most often made by providers of similar training,

experience and licensure for a specific treatment,

accommodation, product or service in the geographic area

where the treatment, accommodation, product or service is

provided.

77 P.S. § 531(3)(iii).

We are unable to find any exception to this provision requiring billing

based on the Medicare fee schedule but, apparently, such an exception exists because

the parties assume that if a provider was in existence on January 1, 1995, when the

cost containment provisions were enacted, that provider is grandfathered and still

allowed to bill on a cost-plus formula. In this case, if the pt Group is the provider,

because it was apparently not in existence in 1995, the billed services would be billed

at 113 percent of the Medicare fee schedule. However, if PTI is the provider, because

it apparently was in existence in 1995, the services can be billed using the cost-plus

method. Now to the facts of this case.

II.

On March 5, 2010, Claimant sustained work-related injuries resulting

from a motor vehicle collision recognized by Employer as a cervical sprain and back

sprain. 2 As a result of those injuries, Claimant received physical therapy services at a

2

Employer issued a Notice of Compensation Payable (NCP) recognizing the work injuries.

3

facility known as the Derry Office located at 555 Route 217, Suite 3, Latrobe,

Pennsylvania (Latrobe Facility). The pt Group, a Medicare Part B provider, owns the

Latrobe Facility and employs its physical therapy and administrative staff. However,

pursuant to a Master Office Space Sublease Agreement and Staffing Agreement, it

then “leases” its facility and physical therapists to The Physical Therapy Institute

(PTI), a Medicare Part A provider, for set periods of time for the purpose of treating

workers’ compensation (WC) clients.

Claimant received treatment for his work injuries at the Latrobe Facility

and PTI submitted bills to Insurer totaling $9,564.62. Insurer denied those bills

because it believed the pt Group performed Claimant’s physical therapy and not PTI,

explaining:

The Physical Therapy Institute is not the entity which

provided the PT services represented on the submitted bill

and therefore is not entitled to payment under the medical

cost containment provision of the Act.

(See, e.g., Reproduced Record (R.R) at 560a.)

In February 2011, Claimant filed a penalty petition, later amended to

include a petition for review of medical treatment and/or billing (medical review

petition),3 contending that Employer and Insurer (collectively, Employer) failed to

3

Claimant amended his penalty petition to include a medical review petition in light of this

Court’s decision in Selective Insurance Company of America v. Bureau of Workers’ Compensation

Fee Review Hearing Office (The Physical Therapy Institute), 86 A.3d 300 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2014),

which involved nearly identical facts and, other than Claimant, the same parties. There, we held

that the Bureau of Workers’ Compensation Fee Review Hearing Office lacks jurisdiction to

(Footnote continued on next page…)

4

pay reasonable, necessary and causally-related medical expenses incurred by

Claimant for treatment of his work-related injuries. Employer timely filed Answers

denying all material allegations.

III.

A.

Before the WCJ, Claimant testified that he received physical therapy for

his work injuries at the Latrobe Facility and, as far as he knew, the physical therapy

was provided by the pt Group. Although he did not understand the meaning of the

document, Claimant confirmed that he signed a Disclosure Statement providing, in

pertinent part:

The Physical Therapy Institute and THE pt GROUP are

partners in a joint venture to provide physical therapy

services to a wide range of clients. Workers’ compensation

clients will be treated by therapists of the Physical Therapy

Institute unless your employer has an independent contract

with THE pt Group for such services . . . .

(R.R. at 286a, 774a.)

(continued…)

determine whether an entity is a “provider” of medical services as opposed to simply being a billing

agency because this is a question of liability or possibly insurance fraud, both of which are beyond

the scope of a fee review. We also held that the Bureau’s Medical Fee Review Section lacked

jurisdiction to consider PTI’s fee review petitions in the first instance.

5

To explain the relationship between PTI and the pt Group, Claimant

presented the testimony of Michael Cassidy (Attorney Cassidy), the attorney who

drafted the office and staff leasing arrangement between PTI and the pt Group in

November 2006. He explained that the leasing arrangement is the result of a joint

venture between PTI and the pt Group to provide resources, staff and office leases to

PTI at a variety of locations so that PTI could expand its WC practice in the most

cost-efficient manner. He explained that “the staff is leased in the same way you

would get part-time providers from a staffing service or a local temp agency” and that

this type of staff and leasing arrangement is “[v]ery common” because “there are

rules under Medicare, for example, that specifically allow the incorporation of leased

employees into the provider contracts for Medicare patients and [WC] patients.”

(R.R. at 112a-113a.)

Attorney Cassidy went on to testify that the Centers for Medicare and

Medicaid Services (CMS) has approved approximately 26 locations submitted by PTI

involving this leasing arrangement, including the Latrobe Facility, and the Bureau of

Workers’ Compensation (Bureau) has been aware of the leasing arrangement since

2007. He stated that no objections to this arrangement have been made by either

CMS or the Bureau, and despite an investigation conducted by the Office of the

Attorney General, there was no finding that the joint venture was illegal, improper or

otherwise in violation of any applicable law. Attorney Cassidy opined that the staff

and facility leasing arrangements are “entirely appropriate within the recognized

reimbursement rules for Medicare that the Workers’ Compensation Bureau follows

and that there’s no problem with the arrangement.” (R.R. at 160a.)

6

Attorney Cassidy testified that after he was made aware that Insurer was

refusing to pay Claimant’s medical bills issued by PTI, he contacted Insurer and

explained the legal basis for PTI’s entitlement to bill as Claimant’s provider. He

provided Insurer with documentation confirming PTI’s right to receive payment but

did not send Insurer a copy of the actual leasing agreements between PTI and the pt

Group due to concerns relating to confidentiality.

Ryan Christoff, PTI’s president, testified about the relationship between

PTI and the pt Group. He explained that PTI leased space and employees from the pt

Group for PTI’s workers’ compensation business, and that PTI paid a flat rate to the

pt Group for use of the facility and use of employees. The leased employees were

employees of the pt Group but were independent contractors with respect to PTI

under a staffing lease agreement. He noted, however, that PTI also employs physical

therapists but they do no work for the pt Group. Regarding billing practices, he

denied that PTI is billing for work performed by the pt Group. He explained that

where the pt Group had contracts with certain companies or if the patient was non-

workers’ compensation, the patient was treated by the pt Group while the WC

patients were treated by PTI.

Michael Smith, a senior investigator for Employer’s insurance carrier,

Selective Insurance Company, testified that from his review of Claimant’s bills, it

was unclear which was providing the service, but he believed that PTI was not the

actual health care provider. He acknowledged, though, that after he started his

investigation, he spoke with Attorney Cassidy regarding the questions that he had

about the relationship between PTI and the pt Group, and that Attorney Cassidy

7

indicated that the original agreements had been provided to the Office of the Attorney

General. He acknowledged that he had no information from CMS, the Bureau or any

state or federal law enforcement agency indicating that the arrangement between PTI

and the pt Group was unlawful or fraudulent.

Claimant also presented the testimony of Sherry Myers (Myers),

Selective Insurance Company’s lead bill reviewer, and Charita Farley (Farley), a

medical claims specialist for Eastern Alliance Insurance Group. Myers testified that

when the bills at issue were brought to her attention, they were denied because, based

on a review of the bills and Claimant’s medical records, the provider that billed the

treatment, PTI, was not the provider that rendered the treatment. Farley testified that

nothing on the face of the bills in question indicated that they should not be paid or

that the provider billing the treatment was not the provider rendering the treatment.

Employer presented the testimony of Joseph Chrillo (Chrillo), one of the

pt Group partners, who explained that the pt Group is the actual owner or direct lessor

of the Latrobe Facility which is subleased to PTI on an as-needed basis as is staff to

provide physical therapy services. Chrillo acknowledged that the secretary taking

information from a new patient is an employee of the pt Group, but if it is determined

that the patient is a PTI patient, the secretary then functions as a PTI employee. He

further stated that the physical therapists are pt Group employees and are leased to

PTI to treat PTI patients.

Dale Cordial (Cordial), owner of the pt Group, described the

arrangement as a joint venture of the pt Group and PTI. He testified that PTI

8

subleased space from the pt Group for a certain number of hours per week, and that

when patients were registered, they were identified as either a PTI or pt Group

patient. He testified that when a physical therapist saw a patient, the therapist

generated a billing slip from which the billing office entered the charges and codes

and transmitted them to PTI. The billing office employees were pt Group employees.

PTI generated its own bills. Cordial testified that the joint venture allowed the pt

Group to maximize its staffing and space in underutilized areas and provided regular

cash flow through the lease payments.

Mary Rectenwald testified that she was the physical therapist who

provided the services to Claimant that are at issue in this matter. She confirmed that

she is an employee of the pt Group but also acts as a leased employee of PTI. She

testified that she did not personally inform Claimant that his therapy was provided by

PTI but confirmed that he was provided with information about the joint venture.

She also confirmed that she provided Claimant’s treatment as a leased employee of

PTI.

Employer also presented the testimony of Lorie Myers, who is employed

by Insurer as a WC supervisor and has 33 years of experience in WC claims

management. She stated that the reason the billing for Claimant was denied was due

to billing discrepancies brought to her attention regarding which was actually

providing the therapy and billing Insurer.

9

Linda Schmac (Schmac), the owner and president of Premier Comp

Solutions,4 testified that she was aware of the leasing arrangement for space and

employees between PTI and the pt Group, but that she had never come across this

type of leasing arrangement in her 23 years of work, nor had she heard of any leasing

arrangement between a Part A provider and a Part B provider for physical therapy.

She also testified that she reported PTI and the pt Group’s relationship to the Office

of the Attorney General, CMS and the Bureau.5

B.

Finding credible Attorney Cassidy’s testimony that the joint venture has

been disclosed to CMS and the Bureau and investigated by the Office of the Attorney

General with no finding of illegality, and concluding that Employer has failed to

produce any evidence that would refute the testimony of Attorney Cassidy, the WCJ

granted Claimant’s penalty and medical review petitions. The WCJ noted that

Employer did not dispute that Claimant received the physical therapy treatment

outlined on the bills submitted by PTI or that the bills remain unpaid and outstanding.

Because Employer never received any indication from any federal or state authority

that the billing arrangement between PTI and the pt Group was impermissible in any

way, the WCJ found that Employer did not have a reasonable basis to contest the

4

Premier Comp Solutions is a company engaged in medical management, medical cost,

workers’ compensation medical cost containment services, and medical bill review and repricing.

5

Throughout these proceedings, various testimonies were offered regarding Schmac as it

pertains to her former business relationship with PTI and a withdrawn lawsuit commenced by PTI

against Schmac. The WCJ did not find this testimony to be particularly relevant or germane to the

issues involved in this case.

10

matter and ordered Employer to pay Claimant’s attorney’s fees in the amount of

$83,400.00, reflecting 333.6 hours at $250.00 per hour. The WCJ also ordered that

Employer reimburse Claimant’s counsel for all reasonable and necessary litigation

costs incurred in the amount of $3,328.32.

Employer then appealed to the Board, contending that the WCJ failed to

take into account the totality of the evidence and the actual operation of the entities in

question in finding that PTI provided the physical therapy. Arguing that the evidence

establishes that services were provided by the pt Group employees and billed by PTI

at Part A rates, Employer alleged that the staffing and leasing agreements are an

improper means to avoid the cost containment provision of the Act. Employer also

contended that the WCJ’s conclusion that Employer engaged in an unreasonable

contest was factually erroneous and not the product of a reasoned decision.

Noting that the WCJ found credible Attorney Cassidy’s testimony that

the joint venture was legal and found credible Farley’s testimony that there was

nothing on the face of the bills and supporting documentation to indicate that the bills

should not be paid or that the provider billing the treatment was not the provider

rendering the treatment, the Board found that the WCJ’s decision was grounded in

credibility determinations, which were his to make, and affirmed the WCJ.

With regard to the issue of attorney’s fees, the Board reasoned that the

WCJ did not err in concluding that Employer’s contest was unreasonable because the

WCJ found that Employer failed to submit any evidence to refute PTI’s status as the

provider or any evidence to demonstrate any illegality about the joint venture. The

11

Board further noted that the WCJ found that Claimant’s witnesses’ testimonies

supported the legitimacy of the joint venture, which Employer could not contradict.

Finally, the Board found that the WCJ properly found that Employer had no factual

or legal basis for its belief that the treatment was not actually rendered by the

provider that billed for the services. Employer then filed this petition for review.6

IV.

A.

The determinative issue in this appeal is whether the WCJ correctly

found that the joint venture between PTI and the pt Group was lawful, thereby

enabling PTI to bill for services rendered. Because the physical therapy services

were rendered to Claimant by the pt Group and billed by PTI, Employer argues that

the pt Group is the health care provider, not PTI and, thus, PTI is not entitled to

payment under the Act. Employer asserts that “[a]s a Part B provider, pt Group

portrayed themselves [sic] as the provider to [Claimant] and allowed PTI to represent

themselves [sic] to [Insurer] as the provider in order to charge Part A rates.”

(Employer’s Brief at 15-16.) Employer argues that because the pt Group is the

provider, services should be billed at the Part B rate and its insurance company did

not violate the Act by not paying PTI’s bills.

6

Our review of a decision of the Board is limited to determining whether errors of law were

made, whether constitutional rights were violated, and whether necessary findings of fact are

supported by substantial evidence. Ward v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (City of

Philadelphia), 966 A.2d 1159, 1162 n.4 (Pa. Cmwlth.), appeal denied, 982 A.2d 1229 (Pa. 2009).

12

Section 306(f.1)(1)(i) of the Act requires that employers pay “for

reasonable surgical and medical services, services rendered by physicians or other

health care providers . . . medicines and supplies, as and when needed.” 77 P.S. §

531(1)(i). Employers must pay a claimant’s medical bills within 30 days of receiving

them “unless the employer or insurer disputes the reasonableness or necessity of the

treatment provided pursuant to [Section 306(f.1)(6) of the Act, 77 P.S. § 531(6)].” 77

P.S. § 531(5).

Here, there is no dispute as to whether Claimant’s physical therapy

treatment was necessary or whether Employer needs to pay for his treatment. Rather,

the conflict is over whether Employer needs to pay PTI’s bills given that it believes

that the pt Group was the health care provider. As noted by the WCJ, the agreement

between PTI and the pt Group, under which PTI leases space and staff from the pt

Group and bills insurance carriers for the services provided to patients, is acceptable

under the applicable law. The WCJ relied on and found as entirely credible Attorney

Cassidy’s testimony with which he established that CMS and the Bureau are aware of

the joint venture, and that the joint venture had been investigated by the Office of the

Attorney General with no finding of illegality. Moreover, the WCJ found that the

evidence produced by Employer did not contradict the finding that the joint venture

was lawful. Employer provides no analysis or reasons that we should find otherwise.

B.

Employer next contends that the Board abused its discretion when

assessing a 50 percent penalty fee because Employer established a reasonable basis to

deny payment of the medical bills in light of the complex facts of this case, the

13

leasing arrangement between PTI and the pt Group, and the fact that Claimant’s

physical therapist and PTI’s staff are employed by the pt Group.7

Section 435(d)(i) of the Act8 gives a WCJ discretion to impose a penalty

which “may be increased to fifty per centum in cases of unreasonable or excessive

delays.” Here, Employer persisted in denying PTI’s bills and, as the WCJ found, then

failed to submit any evidence or credible testimony to refute PTI’s status as the

provider or demonstrate that there was anything illegal or improper about the leasing

arrangements between PTI and the pt Group. Accordingly, the WCJ did not abuse its

discretion in imposing a 50 percent penalty.

C.

Not challenging the amount, Employer contends that the WCJ erred by

awarding Claimant unreasonable contest attorney’s fees because it presented a

reasonable contest. Pursuant to Section 440(a) of the Act,9 77 P.S. § 996, in any

7

While a claimant bears the initial burden of establishing a violation under the Act, once a

violation is established, the burden shifts to the employer to demonstrate that the violation did not

occur. Futura Agency, Inc. v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Marquez), 878 A.2d 167, 172

(Pa. Cmwlth. 2005). The assessment and amount of penalties is a matter for the WCJ’s discretion,

which this Court will not reverse absent an abuse of discretion. Westinghouse Electric v. Workers’

Compensation Appeal Board (Weaver), 823 A.2d 209, 213-14 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2003).

8

Added by Section 3 of the Act of February 8, 1972, P.L. 25, as amended, 77 P.S. §

991(d)(i).

9

Section 440(a) of the Act was added by the Act of February 8, 1972, as amended, and

provides:

(a) In any contested case where the insurer has contested liability in

whole or in part, including contested cases involving petitions to

terminate, reinstate, increase, reduce or otherwise modify

(Footnote continued on next page…)

14

contested case where an insurer contests liability in whole or in part, a WCJ shall

award counsel fees to an employee in whose favor the matter has been finally

adjudicated unless the employer provides a reasonable basis for the contest. “Section

440 . . . is intended to deter unreasonable contests of workers’ compensation claims

and to ensure that successful claimants receive compensation undiminished by costs

of litigation.” Eidell v. Workmen’s Compensation Appeal Board (Dana Corp.), 624

A.2d 824, 826 (Pa. Cmwlth. 1993) (citation omitted). The issue of whether an

employer’s contest is reasonable is a legal conclusion based on the WCJ’s findings of

fact. Yespelkis v. Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board (Pulmonology Associates

Inc.), 986 A.2d 194 (Pa. Cmwlth. 2009). The reasonableness of an employer’s

(continued…)

compensation awards, agreements or other payment arrangements or

to set aside final receipts, the employe or his dependent, as the case

may be, in whose favor the matter at issue has been finally determined

in whole or in part shall be awarded, in addition to the award for

compensation, a reasonable sum for costs incurred for attorney’s fees,

witnesses, necessary medical examination, and the value of

unreimbursed lost time to attend the proceedings: Provided, That cost

for attorney’s fees may be excluded when a reasonable basis for the

contest has been established by the employer or the insurer.

(b) If counsel fees are awarded and assessed against the insurer or

employer, then the workers’ compensation judge must make a finding

as to the amount and the length of time for which such counsel fee is

payable based upon the complexity of the factual and legal issues

involved, the skill required, the duration of the proceedings and the

time and effort required and actually expended. If the insurer has paid

or tendered payment of compensation and the controversy relates to

the amount of compensation due, costs for attorney’s fee shall be

based only on the difference between the final award of compensation

and the compensation paid or tendered by the insurer.

77 P.S. § 996.

15

contest depends on whether the contest was prompted to resolve a genuinely disputed

issue or merely to harass the claimant. Id.

In the present case, the WCJ found that Employer had failed to sustain

its burden of proving a reasonable contest, explaining in pertinent part:

. . . Employer denied the medical bills at issue alleging that

PTI was not the provider of the services. However, the

Employer has failed to submit any evidence during the

course of these proceedings to refute PTI’s status as the

provider of the treatment at issue. The Employer has failed

to submit any evidence contrary to PTI’s position that the

treatment was rendered by PTI in connection with a joint

venture that was entered into between PTI and [pt Group],

which was the basis for the Employer denying the bills.

The Employer has not offered any evidence to demonstrate

that there was anything illegal or improper about the joint

venture between PTI and [pt Group]. To the contrary, the

[i]nsurer’s senior investigator, Mr. Smith, admitted that he

had developed no evidence during the course of his

investigation that the joint venture was in [any] way illegal

or improper.

(R.R. at 35a, ¶17.) Given Employer’s failure to provide any evidence that establishes

the alleged illegality of the joint venture or PTI’s status as a health care provider, we

agree with the WCJ that Employer engaged in an unreasonable contest and the award

of attorney’s fees is proper.

16

Accordingly, the order of the Board is affirmed.

____________________________________

DAN PELLEGRINI, Senior Judge

Judge Hearthway did not participate in the decision of this case.

17

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Derry Township Supervisors and :

Selective Insurance Company of :

America, :

Petitioners :

:

v. : No. 751 C.D. 2016

:

Workers’ Compensation Appeal :

Board (Reed), :

Respondent :

ORDER

AND NOW, this 30th day of January, 2017, it is hereby ordered that the

order of the Workers’ Compensation Appeal Board dated April 13, 2016, is affirmed.

____________________________________

DAN PELLEGRINI, Senior Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.