Opinion

Beal v. Coastal Carriers, Inc.

  • 251 N.C. App. 1
  • 794 S.E.2d 882
  • 2016 N.C. App. LEXIS 1316
  • 2016 WL 7367973
Court
Court of Appeals of North Carolina
Filed
Dec 20, 2016
Status
Published
Author
Davis
On the bench
Davis
Cited by
2 cases
Authority
More cited than 46.6%

The opinion

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF NORTH CAROLINA

No. COA16-420

Filed: 20 December 2016

North Carolina Industrial Commission, I.C. No. X07855

JEFFREY EUGENE BEAL, Employee, and LAWRENCE CRAIGE, Guardian of the

Estate of JEFFREY EUGENE BEAL, Plaintiffs

v.

COASTAL CARRIERS, INC., (Alleged) Employer, and ZURICH AMERICAN

INSURANCE COMPANY, (Alleged Carrier); Defendants; and THE

WAREHOUSING COMPANY, LLC, (Alleged) Employer and KEY RISK

INSURANCE COMPANY, (Alleged) Carrier, Defendants.

Appeal by defendant-appellant Key Risk Insurance Company from opinion and

award entered 15 December 2015 by the North Carolina Industrial Commission.

Heard in the Court of Appeals 5 October 2016.

Stiles, Byrum & Horne, L.L.P., by Henry C. Byrum, Jr., and B. Jeanette Byrum,

for defendants-appellees Coastal Carriers, Inc. and Zurich American Insurance

Company.

Hedrick Gardner Kincheloe & Garofalo, LLP, by Erica B. Lewis, Shelley W.

Coleman, and M. Duane Jones, for defendant-appellant Key Risk Insurance

Company.

DAVIS, Judge.

This workers’ compensation insurance coverage dispute arises from a

workplace accident that occurred in Florida and injured an employee who lived in

North Carolina and had been lent to an employer based in South Carolina. Key Risk

Insurance Company (“Key Risk”) appeals from an opinion and award of the North

Carolina Industrial Commission ordering Key Risk to (1) pay temporary total

BEAL V. COASTAL CARRIERS, INC.

Opinion of the Court

disability compensation to Jeffrey Eugene Beal (“Plaintiff”) pursuant to the North

Carolina Workers’ Compensation Act; and (2) pay all indemnity benefits owed on

Plaintiff’s claim. After careful review, we reverse and remand.

Factual Background

The facts giving rise to this case involve two furniture moving and installation

companies — Coastal Carriers, Inc. (“Coastal”) and The Warehousing Company, LLC

(“TWC”). On 20 July 2010, TWC — a company based in South Carolina — entered

into an agreement with Winter Park Construction Company (“Winter Park”) to

provide furniture, fixtures, and electronics installation services at Plantation Beach

Club Condominiums in Stuart, Florida (the “Florida Project”). Because TWC did not

have enough manpower to perform the job, TWC’s owner, Sidney Baird, contacted

Gordon Ray — Baird’s longtime friend who was the president of Coastal — to see

about the possibility of TWC hiring four of Coastal’s employees to temporarily work

for TWC on the Florida Project.

In 2010, Plaintiff was working for Coastal, which was based in North Carolina.

At a safety meeting of Coastal employees, Ray shared with them the information

regarding the Florida Project. Upon learning of the employment opportunity from

Ray, Plaintiff and three other Coastal employees — Michael Porter, Anthony Brown,

and Randy Wallace — contacted Baird to inform him of their interest in working on

the Florida Project. Baird offered each of the four employees the job — which they

-2-

BEAL V. COASTAL CARRIERS, INC.

Opinion of the Court

each accepted — and told all of them that upon completion of the job, they would be

paid by TWC.

Plaintiff worked on the Florida Project under the on-site supervision of his

fellow Coastal employee, Porter, and a TWC employee named David Fleener. Baird

kept in contact with Porter and Fleener on a daily basis from his home in South

Carolina.

On 26 September 2010, while working at the Florida job site, Plaintiff was

injured when he fell while lifting furniture to the second floor of the building where

the TWC crew was working. As a result of the fall, he sustained multiple injuries.

On 22 October 2010, Plaintiff filed a Form 18 “Notice of Accident” with the

Industrial Commission, seeking compensation for his injuries from Coastal’s workers’

compensation insurance carrier, Zurich American Insurance Company (“Zurich”), due

to his need for medical care for which TWC’s insurance carrier, Key Risk, had refused

to pay. Zurich paid Plaintiff’s medical compensation of $350,799.25 and disability

compensation of $44,068.85.

On 16 September 2011, Coastal filed a motion to add TWC as a defendant to

Plaintiff’s workers’ compensation action. The motion was granted on 27 October

2011. On 2 January 2013, Coastal filed a Form 33 “Request That Claim be Assigned

for Hearing” requesting that “[TWC] and its workers’ compensation carrier [Key Risk]

pay benefits pursuant to the North Carolina Workers’ Compensation Act.” On 25

-3-

BEAL V. COASTAL CARRIERS, INC.

Opinion of the Court

February 2013, Key Risk filed a Form 33R “Response to Request That Claim Be

Assigned for Hearing” contending that Key Risk was not a party and “would be

prejudiced if added into this claim as a party” more than two years after it was

removed from a hearing docket.

On 9 July 2013, a hearing was held before Deputy Commissioner Melanie

Wade Goodwin. Deputy Commissioner Goodwin issued an opinion and award

providing that Coastal, Zurich, and TWC were jointly liable for indemnity and

medical benefits paid by Zurich and ordering that Key Risk be dismissed with

prejudice as a party-defendant in the matter. Coastal and Zurich filed a notice of

appeal from the deputy commissioner’s dismissal of Key Risk on 18 June 2014.

On 15 December 2015, the Full Commission issued an opinion and award

containing the following pertinent findings of fact:

1. On September 26, 2010, Jeffrey Eugene Beal

(hereinafter, “Jeffrey Beal” or “Mr. Beal” or “Plaintiff’) was

injured when he fell approximately 10-20 feet from a piece

of equipment called a lull which was being used to lift

furniture to the second floor of the building where The

Warehousing Company, LLC (hereinafter, “TWC”) crew

was working. As a result of his fall, Mr. Beal sustained

multiple injuries, including fractures of the left sphenoid

wing, left lateral orbital wall, left maxillary sinus, and left

zygomatic arch; a comminuted right distal radius and ulna

fracture; a left elbow comminuted intra-articular olecranon

fracture; multiple left rib fractures; a ruptured spleen and

a mild subarachnoid hemorrhage.

2. On October 22, 2010, Jeffrey Beal filed a Form 18

Notice of Accident with the North Carolina Industrial

-4-

BEAL V. COASTAL CARRIERS, INC.

Opinion of the Court

Commission seeking compensation for his injuries. The

named Defendant was Coastal Carriers, Inc. (hereinafter,

“Coastal”). Plaintiff’s claim was accepted and paid by

Coastal and Zurich American Insurance Company

(hereinafter “Zurich”) due to the emergent need for medical

care which Key Risk Insurance Company (hereinafter,

“Key Risk”), the workers’ compensation carrier for TWC,

would not address.

....

5. On September 16, 2011, Defendant Coastal filed a

Motion to Add Party-Defendant, seeking to add TWC, as a

party Defendant. This Motion was granted by the

Executive Secretary on October 27, 2011.

6. On September 26, 2010, Gordon Wayne Ray, Jr.

(hereinafter Mr. Ray) was the President of Coastal, which

was located in Wilmington, North Carolina. Coastal was a

mover of household goods regulated by state and federal

tariffs.

7. On September 26, 2010, Sidney “Skip” Baird

(hereinafter, “Mr. Baird”) was the owner of TWC located at

122 Watergate Drive, Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.

TWC’s business included the warehousing of and the

installation of furniture, fixtures, and electronics at resort

properties, installing furniture, fixtures, and electronics

which was commercial work which was not regulated by

state and federal tariffs.

....

11. On July 20, 2010, TWC (through Mr. Baird) entered

into a “Subcontract Agreement” with Winter Park

Construction Company (hereinafter; “Winter Park”) to

provide furniture, fixture and electronics installation

services at Plantation Beach Club Condominiums in

Stuart, Florida. This contract was negotiated entirely by

Mr. Baird on behalf of TWC and did not involve Mr. Ray or

-5-

BEAL V. COASTAL CARRIERS, INC.

Opinion of the Court

Coastal in any way.

12. Under the terms of the contract, TWC had eight days

to complete the installation of furniture, fixtures and

electronics in thirty-two units. At the time in question,

TWC had multiple projects underway in various parts of

the United States and did not have the manpower to

complete all of these jobs. Mr. Baird’s situation was further

complicated by the fact that he was awaiting the birth of

his daughter, which required him to remain in Myrtle

Beach, South Carolina. Mr. Baird contacted Mr. Ray

indicating he was “in a jam” and that he wanted to hire four

of Mr. Ray’s employees to work for TWC on a Florida job

where all of the furniture, fixture and electronics

installation had to be completed in eight days.

13. Sometime prior to September 19, 2010, Mr. Ray

announced at a safety meeting of Coastal employees that

Mr. Baird wanted to hire workers for a Florida project and

since the work for his company was in a slow period, he

instructed any of his interested workers to contact Mr.

Baird directly. Mr. Ray did not select or designate any of

his workers for the Florida job. His workers were free to

accept or reject the offer of employment.

....

15. Following this meeting, which occurred in North

Carolina, four Coastal employees -- Michael Porter,

Anthony Brown, Randy Wallace and Jeffrey Beal --

arranged with Mr. Baird to go to Florida to work for TWC.

Prior to these workers leaving North Carolina, Mr. Baird

spoke by telephone with each of these four men -- Michael

Porter, Anthony Brown, Randy Wallace and Jeffrey Beal -

- to give a “pep talk[”] and discuss payment or wages at the

completion of the job in Florida. Mr. Baird informed them

they would be paid by TWC. Each one of these four men

accepted Mr. Baird’s offer of employment while still in

North Carolina.

-6-

BEAL V. COASTAL CARRIERS, INC.

Opinion of the Court

16. Plaintiff testified that he agreed to work the Florida

job while he was in North Carolina.

17. The four individuals who agreed to work on the

Florida project did not have reliable transportation. When

informed of their transportation problems, Mr. Ray loaned

the men a Coastal sales van to drive and gave them a gas

card to purchase fuel. He expected to be reimbursed by

TWC for these expenses.

....

19. When the four individuals hired by TWC -- Michael

Porter, Anthony Brown, Randy Wallace and Jeffrey Beal

-- arrived in Florida, they went to a motel room that was

paid for by Mr. Baird. Mr. Porter supervised the work for

the first couple of days until David Fleener, an employee of

TWC arrived on the site. Mr. Fleener then instructed the

workers on what to do. Mr. Baird communicated with TWC

workers multiple times on a daily basis while they were in

Florida and personally supervised them through Michael

Porter and David Fleener. This included setting working

hours and monitoring progress on the job. Mr. Ray never

supervised the work of the TWC crew.

20. Prior to September 26, 2010, Mr. Ray had a conference

in West Palm Beach and he decided to stop by the Florida

jobsite for a visit on his way to the conference. During the

period of about thirty minutes when he was at the site, he

cautioned the TWC workers to “be careful” but did not offer

supervision or instruct them on their work. While Mr. Ray

was present, he was approached by Mr. Porter about

loaning Mr. Brown, Mr. Wallace, Mr. Beal and him money

for food. Mr. Baird had promised to send the TWC crew

money, but had failed to do so. Mr. Ray loaned each man

$100.00 out of his personal funds.

21. When TWC’s project in Florida was completed, Mr.

Baird paid Michael Porter, Anthony Brown, Randy Wallace

and Jeffrey Beal for the work they did for TWC in Florida.

-7-

BEAL V. COASTAL CARRIERS, INC.

Opinion of the Court

These workers (other than Plaintiff) collected their money

in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina. The offices for TWC

remained in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina the entire time

the company was in existence.

22. Plaintiff was performing the work of TWC when his

accident occurred.

23. Anthony Brown gave a statement under oath on

February 17, 2012, which was included in the record,

stating he was one of four individuals who traveled from

North Carolina to Florida to work for TWC and was

working on the project for a man named “Skip.” Mr. Porter

was the contact person with Mr. Baird, and the two were

constantly talking. Mr. Brown considered himself to be an

employee of TWC. When the job was completed, the TWC

employees drove to Mr. Baird’s apartment in Myrtle Beach,

South Carolina where they collected their checks for the

project.

24. Plaintiff testified by deposition on October 9, 2012 in

a civil action he filed in Florida as a result of the September

26, 2010 accident. Plaintiff testified that he received

$100.00 from Mr. Ray so he would have food when Mr. Ray

visited the Florida jobsite with his wife and took a “tour

through the motel.” Plaintiff testified that he took orders

from Michael Porter on the job and that Mr. Porter kept his

hours. He was paid by Skip Baird for the work he

performed in Florida. Mr. Ray never directed his work on

the project.

....

26. Based upon a preponderance of the evidence in view

of the entire record, the Full Commission finds that Jeffrey

Beal was not an independent contractor for TWC. He was

expressly hired pursuant to an oral contract to leave North

Carolina and go to work in Florida for a job that was to be

completed in eight days. He did not possess any special

skills in performing the type of work done by TWC. He did

-8-

BEAL V. COASTAL CARRIERS, INC.

Opinion of the Court

not have control over any aspects of the work that he

performed for TWC. Mr. Beal obtained his work directions

from persons designated by Mr. Baird to be onsite

supervisors. He had no power to hire or fire anyone. The

work he did was part of the trade or business of TWC. He

was paid wages and trip expenses by TWC.

27. Based upon a preponderance of the evidence in view

of the entire record, the Full Commission finds that Jeffrey

Beal was an employee of TWC at the time of his injury. Mr.

Baird, owner of TWC, expressly made a contract of hire

with Plaintiff. The work Mr. Beal did for TWC was entirely

the work of Mr. Baird and TWC and benefitted TWC and

not Coastal. Mr. Baird and TWC had the right, and did in

fact, control the details of the work done by Mr. Beal during

the period he worked for TWC, including the date of his

injury by accident. During the period Mr. Beal was hired to

work for TWC, he did not do any work for Coastal and the

work that he did for TWC was not part of the trade or

business of Coastal. Mr. Beal and Mr. Baird on behalf of

TWC agreed upon the employment terms. Coastal was not

involved in the employment contract agreement, Mr. Ray

did not assign employees to TWC; he only announced the

availability of a temporary job with TWC and left the

decision of whether to seek the job entirely up to any of his

interested employees.

....

32. The Full Commission finds that both Coastal and

TWC are liable for all of the compensable consequences of

Plaintiff’s September 26, 2010 injury by accident in

proportion to the wage liability of each employer.

33. At the time of Plaintiff’s injury on September 26, 2010,

TWC was insured by Key Risk. There is a dispute, however,

over whether the policy of insurance between Key Risk and

TWC covered Plaintiff’s claim herein.

34. Mr. Baird arranged workers’ compensation insurance

-9-

BEAL V. COASTAL CARRIERS, INC.

Opinion of the Court

for the Florida project on behalf of TWC through Associated

Insurors (hereinafter “Associated”) in Myrtle Beach, South

Carolina. In doing so, he explained to the agent the nature

of his business and that TWC worked outside South

Carolina. At the time of Plaintiff’s injury, TWC had more

projects outside South Carolina than within the State. It

was Mr. Baird’s understanding that TWC had workers’

compensation coverage for each jobsite, including the

jobsite in Florida where Plaintiff was injured.

35. As part of its Subcontract Agreement with Winter

Park for the project in Stuart, Florida, TWC had to provide

proof of workers’ compensation insurance. Mr. Baird

arranged for his insurance agent (Associated) to contact

Winter Park to verify the required coverage. After that

contact occurred, Associated sent Winter Park a certificate

of insurance verifying workers’ compensation insurance for

TWC. The “Certificate Holder” was listed as Winter Park

Construction, 221 Circle Drive, Maitland, Florida. After

that contact occurred, Winter Park sent TWC the

Subcontract Agreement to execute, and TWC went to work.

....

61. Key Risk contends that the language of TWC’s

insurance policy provides for workers’ compensation

insurance coverage in South Carolina only, with additional

coverage only if Plaintiff was hired in South Carolina or

principally employed in South Carolina.

62. Based upon a preponderance of the evidence of record,

the Full Commission finds that Plaintiff’s employment was

located in South Carolina because it is the only state in

which he had any “base of operation.” The only place of

business ever maintained by TWC was located in Myrtle

Beach, South Carolina. Plaintiff was hired from TWC’s

office in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina. Mr. Baird provided

work assignments to the employees, including Plaintiff,

working on the Winter Park project from his place of

business in South Carolina and Plaintiff was paid out of

- 10 -

BEAL V. COASTAL CARRIERS, INC.

Opinion of the Court

South Carolina for the work he performed in Florida. The

other three lent employees from Coastal -- Michael Porter,

Anthony Brown and Randy Wallace -- traveled to Myrtle

Beach, South Carolina to receive payment from TWC for

the work they performed (along with Plaintiff) in Stuart,

Florida upon completion of the job.

63. Based upon a preponderance of the evidence in view

of the entire record, the Full Commission finds that

Plaintiff’s claim for compensation is covered under the Key

Risk policy issued to TWC.

64. Coastal and TWC are jointly liable for medical

payments made consequent of Plaintiff’s September 26,

2010 injury. Since Coastal had no “wage liability” to

Plaintiff for the Florida project, TWC owes all of Plaintiff’s

indemnity compensation. As a result of Plaintiff’s injuries,

Zurich has paid as carrier for Coastal, medical

compensation in the amount of $350,799.25 and indemnity

compensation in the amount of $44,068.85. TWC’s carrier,

Key Risk, has paid nothing. TWC and Key Risk are

obligated to reimburse Zurich for TWC’s and Key Risk’s

(50%) share of the joint amount of the medical

compensation due as a result of Plaintiff’s claim. TWC and

Key Risk are obligated to reimburse Zurich for all the

indemnity compensation due Plaintiff that Zurich has paid.

Since the matter in controversy before the Full

Commission is between the Defendants, the amount of

Plaintiff’s average weekly wage is not being determined.

Based on these findings of fact, the Commission made the following pertinent

conclusions of law:

1. On September 26, 2010, Plaintiff, Jeffrey Beal,

sustained a compensable injury by accident due to a fall

which arose out of and in the course of his employment with

TWC and involved the interruption of his work routine and

the introduction thereby of unusual conditions likely to

result in unexpected consequences. N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 97-

- 11 -

BEAL V. COASTAL CARRIERS, INC.

Opinion of the Court

2(5); 97-2(6).

2. At the time of Plaintiff’s injury on September 26, 2010,

four employees, Michael Porter, Anthony Brown, Randy

Wallace and Plaintiff, were employees of TWC who had

been lent by Coastal to TWC. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 97-2; S.C.

Code Ann. § 42-1-360(2).

3. The Full Commission concludes that the North

Carolina Industrial Commission has jurisdiction over

Plaintiff’s claim. . . .

....

6. The Full Commission concludes that Plaintiff was an

employee of TWC, not an independent contractor, at the

time of his injury on September 26, 2010. . . .

....

9. The Full Commission concludes, based upon a

preponderance of the evidence of record, that the

employment relationship Plaintiff had with TWC met all

three of the conditions to establish a “special employer”

relationship . . . . The preponderance of the evidence of

record establishes that Plaintiff made a contract of hire

with TWC; the work Plaintiff was doing for TWC on the

Florida project was work involving furniture, fixture and

electronics installations that TWC subcontracted with

Winter Park to perform and was different from the type of

work Plaintiff did for Coastal, a household moving

company; Coastal had no part in negotiating the

subcontract agreement that TWC made with Winter Park

and there was no agreement between TWC and Coastal for

Coastal to share the profits from the project; the work being

done by Plaintiff was essentially that of TWC, the special

employer; and TWC, the special employer, had the right to

control, and did control, the details of the work that

Plaintiff did on the Florida project. Anderson v. Demolition

Dynamics, Inc., 136 N.C. App. 603, 607, 525 S.E.2d 471,

- 12 -

BEAL V. COASTAL CARRIERS, INC.

Opinion of the Court

473 (2000).

10. The Full Commission concludes that Coastal

remained Plaintiff’s general employer while he was

working for TWC since the preponderance of the evidence

and the reasonable inferences therefrom, indicate that

Coastal was the general employer of Plaintiff while he was

working for TWC, as Plaintiff and the three other workers

Coastal lent to TWC had an expectation of returning to

work with Coastal when the job with TWC was completed.

Therefore, the legal presumption that the general

employment with Coastal continued is not rebutted by a

“clear demonstration.” Collins v. James Paul Edwards,

Inc., 21 N.C. App. 455, 204 S.E.2d 873 (1974); Anderson v.

Demolition Dynamics, Inc., 136 N.C. App. 603, 607, 525

S.E.2d 471, 473 (2000).

11. Based upon a preponderance of the evidence of record,

the Full Commission concludes that Plaintiff was lent by

Coastal to TWC and that at the time of his injury on

September 26, 2010, he was jointly employed by both TWC

and Coastal and both employers are jointly liable for

Plaintiff’s injuries. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 97-51; Collins v.

James Paul Edwards, Inc., 21 N.C. App. 455, 204 S.E.2d

873 (1974); Anderson v. Demolition Dynamics, Inc., 136

N.C. App. 603, 607, 525 S.E.2d 471, 473 (2000).

....

14. The Commission has the inherent power in this case

to order TWC and Key Risk to reimburse Coastal and

Zurich for benefits paid or to be paid on Plaintiff[’]s

claim. . . .

....

17. Key Risk further contends that Key Risk’s obligation

under a policy must be defined by the terms of the policy

itself and that in construing policy language, basic contract

rules apply. If the terms of a contract are unambiguous, the

- 13 -

BEAL V. COASTAL CARRIERS, INC.

Opinion of the Court

contract must be enforced. South Carolina Ins. Co. v.

White, 301 S.C. 133, 390 S.E.2d 471 (1990). Key Risk

argues that coverage cannot be extended to Plaintiff under

the “Other State Insurance” portion of the policy because

Plaintiff’s claim does not meet the following conditions of

the policy: “The employee claiming benefits was either

hired under a contract of employment made in a state listed

in Item 3.A. of the Information Page or was, at the time of

the injury, principally employed in a state listed in Item

3.A. of the Information Page. . . .”

18. It is undisputed that the substantive law of South

Carolina applies to this case. . . .

....

21. Coastal relies on the provisions of S.C. Code Ann. § 42-

[1]5-10, which state: “Any employee covered by the

provisions of this Title is authorized to file his claim under

the laws of the state where he is hired, the state where he

is injured, or the state where his employment is located.[”]

S.C. Code Ann. § 42-15-10 does not specifically use the term

“principally employed,” and instead refers to where an

employee’s employment is “located.” S.C. Code Ann. § 42-

15-10.

22. Key Risk contends, however, that Plaintiff must first

show that his claim comes under the jurisdiction of the

South Carolina Workers’ Compensation Act before South

Carolina statutory law can be applied to Plaintiff’s claim.

23. The Full Commission concludes that South Carolina

could have exercised jurisdiction over Plaintiff’s claim had

he chosen to file his claim in South Carolina because South

Carolina is the state where Plaintiff’s employment was

located. To determine where a worker’s employment is

located, South Carolina follows the “base of operation rule.”

Hill v. Eagle Motor Lines, 373 S.C. 422, 429-30, 645 S.E.2d

424, 427 (2007) (quoting Holman v. Bulldog Trucking Co.,

311 S.C. 341, 346, 428 S.E.2d 889, 892 (1993)). Under this

- 14 -

BEAL V. COASTAL CARRIERS, INC.

Opinion of the Court

rule, “the worker’s employment is located at the employer’s

place of business to which he reports, from which he

receives his work assignments, and from which he starts

his road trips, regardless of where the work is performed.”

Id. at 373 S.C. [sic] at 429, 373 S.E.2d at 432. Where the

work is performed is irrelevant on the issue of where an

employee’s employment is located. Id. In the present case,

the only place of business ever maintained by TWC was

located in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina. Plaintiff was

hired from TWC’s office in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina.

Mr. Baird (TWC) provided detailed and specific work

assignments to the employees, including Plaintiff, working

on the Winter Park project from his place of business in

South Carolina and Plaintiff was paid out of South

Carolina for the work he performed in Florida. The other

three lent employees from Coastal -- Michael Porter,

Anthony Brown and Randy Wallace -- traveled to Myrtle

Beach, South Carolina to receive payment from TWC for

the work they performed in Stuart, Florida upon

completion of the job. S.C. Code Ann. § 42-15-10; Hill v.

Eagle Motor Lines, 373 S.C. 422, 429-30, 645 S.E.2d 424,

427 (2007). The Court of Appeals of South Carolina in Voss

v. Ramco, Inc., 325 S.C. 560, 482 S.E.2d 582 (1997), held

that the legislature did not intend to exclude all transient

employment that did not fit neatly within the base of

operations test set out in Holman. Id. The concept of “base

of operation” rule presupposes that all employees have a

fixed base of operation [to] which jurisdiction over a

workers’ compensation claim will attach. Id. The Court of

Appeals in Voss ultimately held that South Carolina was

the state where the employee’s employment was located,

given the amount of control exerted over the employee by

his employer, who operated out of South Carolina, even

though the employee received his daily assignments from

wherever his employer was located that day and he started

his road trips from wherever the group was located, but

never from South Carolina. Voss v. Ramco, Inc., 325 S.C.

560, 482 S.E.2d 582 (1997). The Supreme Court of South

Carolina agreeing with the Court of Appeals’ analysis in

Voss, held in Oxendine v. Davis, 373 S.C. 438, 646 S.E.2d

- 15 -

BEAL V. COASTAL CARRIERS, INC.

Opinion of the Court

143 (2007), that the base of operations rule is to “determine

the location of nomadic employment based on the

employer’s place of business,” and used other factors

outside of those defined in Holman, such as the employee

reporting to the employer’s business in South Carolina to

be paid, to determine the employee’s location of

employment. Id. The Supreme Court in Oxendine

ultimately held that an employer’s base of operations was

in South Carolina when the employer clearly operated his

business in South Carolina. Id. at 445, [646] S.E.2d at 150.

Thus, even if the facts of the present case do [not] have all

of the factors under the base of operations test set out in

Holman, following the analysis of Oxendine and Voss,

Plaintiff’s employment would still be located in South

Carolina, given the amount of the control exerted over

Plaintiff by Mr. Baird (TWC), who clearly operated his

business out of South Carolina. Oxendine v. Davis, 373 S.C.

438, 646 S.E.2d 143 (2007); Voss v. Ramco, Inc., 325 S.C.

560, 482 S.E.2d 582 (1997).

24. Applying the applicable provisions of the South

Carolina law to the current claim, the Full Commission

finds that the Key Risk policy provided coverage for

Plaintiff’s claim filed in North Carolina. Pursuant to S.C.

Code Ann. § 42-5-60, “Every policy for the insurance of the

compensation provided in this Title or against liability

therefore shall be deemed to be made subject to provisions

of this Title . . . .” Therefore, the statutory provisions of the

South Carolina Workers’ Compensation Code are a

required part of the Key Risk policy for workers’

compensation insurance issued to TWC. Also, S.C. Code

Ann. § 42-5-70 provides that jurisdiction of the insured for

the purpose of this Title shall be jurisdiction of the insurer

and S.C. Code Ann. § 42-5-60 requires that the Key Risk

policy conform to South Carolina law. These statutory

requirements are reflected in the language of the Key Risk

workers’ compensation insurance policy issued to TWC.

The policy states, “Jurisdiction over you is jurisdiction over

us for purposes of workers’ compensation law. We are

bound by decisions against you under the law, subject to

- 16 -

BEAL V. COASTAL CARRIERS, INC.

Opinion of the Court

the provisions of this policy that are not in conflict with the

law.” The policy also provided that, “Terms of this

insurance that conflict with the workers’ compensation law

are changed by this statement to conform to that law.” S.C.

Code Ann. § 42-5-70. Key Risk, in issuing its workers’

compensation policies, has submitted to the jurisdiction of

South Carolina and its statutory provisions governing

workers’ compensation claims. Based upon the “base of

operation” analysis above, the employment for the other

three lent employees from Coastal was also located in

South Carolina. Therefore, TWC had four or more

employees in South Carolina for the purposes of

jurisdiction under South Carolina Workers’ Compensation

Act. S.C. Code Ann. § 42-1-360(2).

25. The Full Commission concludes that the

preponderance of the evidence of record establishes that

South Carolina has jurisdiction over TWC, the insured, and

that the workers’ compensation insurance policy issued by

Key Risk to TWC covered Plaintiff’s injury, requiring Key

Risk to reimburse Coastal and Zurich pursuant to N.C.

Gen. Stat. § 97-86.1(d). . . .

Key Risk filed written notice of appeal from the Commission’s 15 December

2015 Opinion and Award.1

Analysis

Appellate review of an opinion and award of the Industrial Commission is

“limited to consideration of whether competent evidence supports the Commission’s

findings of fact and whether the findings support the Commission’s conclusions of

law.” Philbeck v. Univ. of Mich., 235 N.C. App. 124, 127, 761 S.E.2d 668, 671 (2014)

1 The appellees in this appeal are Coastal and Zurich. At times in this opinion, we refer to

them jointly as “Coastal.”

- 17 -

BEAL V. COASTAL CARRIERS, INC.

Opinion of the Court

(citation and quotation marks omitted). “The findings of fact made by the

Commission are conclusive on appeal if supported by competent evidence even if there

is also evidence that would support a contrary finding. The Commission’s conclusions

of law, however, are reviewed de novo.” Morgan v. Morgan Motor Co. of Albemarle,

231 N.C. App. 377, 380, 752 S.E.2d 677, 680 (2013) (internal citations omitted), aff’d

per curiam, 368 N.C. 69, 772 S.E.2d 238 (2015).

Before addressing Key Risk’s arguments, we must first determine whether the

Commission had jurisdiction over Plaintiff’s workers’ compensation claim. North

Carolina’s Workers’ Compensation Act provides, in pertinent part, as follows:

Where an accident happens while the employee is

employed elsewhere than in this State and the accident is

one which would entitle him or his dependents or next of

kin to compensation if it had happened in this State, then

the employee or his dependents or next of kin shall be

entitled to compensation (i) if the contract of employment

was made in this State, (ii) if the employer’s principal place

of business is in this State, or (iii) if the employee’s

principal place of employment is within this State;

provided, however, that if an employee or his dependents

or next of kin shall receive compensation or damages under

the laws of any other state nothing herein contained shall

be construed so as to permit a total compensation for the

same injury greater than is provided for in this Article.

N.C. Gen. Stat. § 97-36 (2015) (emphasis added).

In order to determine where a contract of employment was made, we apply the

“last act” test. Murray v. Ahlstrom Indus. Holdings, Inc., 131 N.C. App. 294, 296, 506

S.E.2d 724, 726 (1998). “For a contract to be made in North Carolina, the final act

- 18 -

BEAL V. COASTAL CARRIERS, INC.

Opinion of the Court

necessary to make it a binding obligation must be done here.” Id. (citation, quotation

marks, and brackets omitted).

Here, the Commission found that the last act making the employment

arrangement between Plaintiff and TWC “a binding obligation” was Plaintiff’s

agreement during his telephone conversation with Baird to work on the Florida

Project for TWC. Because Plaintiff was physically present in North Carolina during

this conversation, the contract of employment was made in North Carolina.

“To be entitled to maintain a proceeding for workers’ compensation, the

claimant must be, in fact and in law, an employee of the party from whom

compensation is claimed.” Youngblood v. N. State Ford Truck Sales, 321 N.C. 380,

383, 364 S.E.2d 433, 437 (1988) (citations omitted). If no employer-employee

relationship exists, the Commission lacks jurisdiction to hear the claim. See Lucas v.

Li’l Gen. Stores, 289 N.C. 212, 218, 221 S.E.2d 257, 261 (1976) (citations omitted).

“The issue of whether the employer-employee relationship exists is a jurisdictional

one.” Youngblood, 321 N.C. at 383, 364 S.E.2d at 437.

Here, the parties do not contest the Commission’s finding that an employer-

employee relationship existed between Plaintiff and TWC at the time of the 26

September 2010 accident. The record establishes that — as the Commission found

— TWC was a “special employer,” Plaintiff was a “borrowed employee,” and Coastal

remained Plaintiff’s “general employer.”

- 19 -

BEAL V. COASTAL CARRIERS, INC.

Opinion of the Court

“The North Carolina Supreme Court has determined that the Industrial

Commission has jurisdiction to . . . hear and determine questions of fact and law

respecting the existence of insurance coverage and liability of the insurance carrier.”

Smith v. First Choice Servs., 158 N.C. App. 244, 248, 580 S.E.2d 743, 747 (2003)

(citation and quotation marks omitted); see also Harrison v. Tobacco Transp., Inc.,

139 N.C. App. 561, 564-65, 533 S.E.2d 871, 873-74 (2000) (determining that

Industrial Commission had jurisdiction to determine whether Kentucky’s workers’

compensation statutes expanded insurance policy’s coverage so as to provide benefits

to employee of Kentucky employer).

Having determined that the Commission had jurisdiction to hear this matter,

we next turn to Key Risk’s argument that its policy does not provide coverage for

Plaintiff’s injuries. Specifically, Key Risk argues that (1) Plaintiff was not

“principally employed” in South Carolina, and therefore, no coverage for his injuries

exists under the terms of the policy it issued to TWC; and (2) South Carolina’s

Workers’ Compensation Act does not require that such coverage be provided under

Key Risk’s policy.

The Information Page of Key Risk’s policy states, in pertinent part, as follows:

3.A. Workers’ Compensation Insurance: Part One of the

policy applies to the Workers’ Compensation Law of the

states listed here:

SC

- 20 -

BEAL V. COASTAL CARRIERS, INC.

Opinion of the Court

....

C. Other States Insurance: Part Three of the policy applies

to the states, if any, listed here:

[none listed]

The policy also contained a Residual Market Limited Other States Insurance

Endorsement (the “Endorsement”), the relevant language of which provides as

follows:

“Part Three-Other States Insurance” of the policy is

replaced by the following:

PART THREE OTHER STATE INSURANCE

A. How This Insurance Applies:

1. We will pay promptly when due the benefits required of

you by the workers’ compensation law of any state not

listed in Item 3.A. of the Information Page if all of the

following conditions are met:

a. The employee claiming benefits was either hired under

a contract of employment made in a state listed in Item 3.A.

of the Information Page or was, at the time of injury,

principally employed in a state listed in Item 3.A. of the

Information Page[.]

....

IMPORTANT NOTICE!

If you hire any employees outside those states listed in

Item 3.A. on the Information Page or begin operations in

any such state, you should do whatever may be required

under that state’s law, as this endorsement does not satisfy

the requirements of that state’s workers’ compensation

- 21 -

BEAL V. COASTAL CARRIERS, INC.

Opinion of the Court

law.

(Emphasis added.)

Thus, when the Endorsement is read in conjunction with Item 3.A. of the

Information Page, the policy provides that Key Risk will pay benefits required by the

workers’ compensation law of a state other than South Carolina only if the employee

claiming benefits was either (1) hired under a contract of employment made in South

Carolina; or (2) principally employed in South Carolina at the time of injury. Neither

party contends that Plaintiff was hired under a contract of employment made in

South Carolina. However, the parties disagree as to whether Plaintiff was

“principally employed” in South Carolina at the time of his injury.

Key Risk contends that Plaintiff was principally employed in Florida — rather

than South Carolina — because his work on the project took place exclusively in

Florida. Coastal, conversely, contends that South Carolina was the state in which

Plaintiff was principally employed because TWC was based in South Carolina and

exercised control from South Carolina over the Florida Project.

“With insurance contracts the principle of lex loci contractus mandates that the

substantive law of the state where the last act to make a binding contract occurred,

usually delivery of the policy, controls the interpretation of the contract.” Harrison,

139 N.C. App. at 565, 533 S.E.2d at 874 (citation and quotation marks omitted). Here,

Baird, a resident of South Carolina, sought workers’ compensation coverage for TWC,

- 22 -

BEAL V. COASTAL CARRIERS, INC.

Opinion of the Court

a South Carolina business, through an agent in South Carolina. He received coverage

through a policy issued by Key Risk, and the policy was delivered to him at his South

Carolina address. Thus, the last act to make a binding insurance contract between

Key Risk and TWC occurred in South Carolina. As such, the Commission correctly

determined that South Carolina’s substantive law governs the interpretation of Key

Risk’s policy.

Under South Carolina law,

[i]nsurance policies are subject to the general rules of

contract construction. This Court must give policy

language its plain, ordinary, and popular meaning. When

a contract is unambiguous, clear, and explicit, it must be

construed according to the terms the parties have used.

B.L.G. Enters. v. First Fin. Ins. Co., 334 S.C. 529, 535, 514 S.E.2d 327, 330 (1999)

(internal citations omitted).

In the present case, the Commission held — and the parties agree — that the

term “principally employed” in the Endorsement cannot be read in isolation but

instead must be construed in conjunction with South Carolina’s Workers’

Compensation Act. See S.C. Code Ann. § 42-5-60 (2015) (“Every policy for the

insurance of the compensation provided in this title or against liability therefor shall

be deemed to be made subject to provisions of this title. No corporation, association,

or organization shall enter into any such policy of insurance unless its form shall have

been approved by the Director of the Department of Insurance.”).

- 23 -

BEAL V. COASTAL CARRIERS, INC.

Opinion of the Court

Coastal argues that § 42-15-10 of South Carolina’s Workers’ Compensation Act

“extended jurisdiction over South Carolina employers beyond state lines by

specifically authorizing employees to assert claims against employers domiciled in

South Carolina in any state where the employee was hired, injured or his employment

was located.” Even assuming arguendo that this is correct, however, we conclude

that the Commission erred in determining that Key Risk’s policy provided coverage

for Plaintiff’s accident.

S.C. Code Ann. § 42-15-10 states as follows:

Any employee covered by the provisions of this title is

authorized to file his claim under the laws of the state

where he is hired, the state where he is injured, or the state

where his employment is located. If an employee shall

receive compensation or damages under the laws of any

other state, nothing contained in this section shall be

construed to permit a total compensation for the same

injury greater than that provided in this title.

S.C. Code Ann. § 42-15-10 (2015) (emphasis added).

Based on this statute, Coastal contends that the phrase “principally employed”

as used in Key Risk’s policy must be interpreted as having the same meaning as the

phrase “where . . . employment is located” as contained in the statute. For this reason,

Coastal asserts that it is appropriate to examine South Carolina caselaw interpreting

this language in § 42-15-10.

In determining where a worker’s employment is located for purposes of § 42-

15-10, South Carolina courts apply the “base of operation” rule, a doctrine originating

- 24 -

BEAL V. COASTAL CARRIERS, INC.

Opinion of the Court

from the decision by the South Carolina Court of Appeals in Holman v. Bulldog

Trucking Co., 311 S.C. 341, 428 S.E.2d 889 (Ct. App. 1993). Under this rule, “the

worker’s employment is located at the employer’s place of business to which he

reports, from which he receives his work assignments and from which he starts his

road trips, regardless of where the work is performed.” Id. at 346, 428 S.E.2d at 892.

South Carolina’s appellate courts have made clear that “the location of employment

can only be in one state.” Voss v. Ramco, Inc., 325 S.C. 560, 572, 482 S.E.2d 582, 588

(Ct. App. 1997).

In the present case, the Commission made the following finding of fact, which

Key Risk challenges in this appeal:

62. Based upon a preponderance of the evidence of record,

the Full Commission finds that Plaintiff’s employment was

located in South Carolina because it is the only state in

which he had any “base of operation.” The only place of

business ever maintained by TWC was located in Myrtle

Beach, South Carolina. Plaintiff was hired from TWC’s

office in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina. Mr. Baird provided

work assignments to the employees, including Plaintiff,

working on the Winter Park project from his place of

business in South Carolina and Plaintiff was paid out of

South Carolina for the work he performed in Florida. The

other three lent employees from Coastal -- Michael Porter,

Anthony Brown and Randy Wallace -- traveled to Myrtle

Beach, South Carolina to receive payment from TWC for

the work they performed (along with Plaintiff) in Stuart,

Florida upon completion of the job.

The Commission then purported to apply the principles set forth in Holman

and Voss as well as in two other South Carolina cases — Oxendine v. Davis, 373 S.C.

- 25 -

BEAL V. COASTAL CARRIERS, INC.

Opinion of the Court

438, 646 S.E.2d 143 (2007), and Hill v. Eagle Motor Lines, 373 S.C. 422, 645 S.E.2d

424 (2007). Because of the significant amount of attention that the Commission and

the parties give these four cases, we address each of them in turn.

In Holman, the employee, a truck driver, lived in South Carolina, but he would

report to Georgia for his assignments. Holman, 311 S.C. at 343, 428 S.E.2d at 891.

While driving his truck in Georgia, the employee was killed in an accident on the

highway. The employee’s mother filed for benefits under South Carolina’s Workers’

Compensation Act. Her claim was denied, and she appealed the decision to the South

Carolina Court of Appeals. Id. at 344, 428 S.E.2d at 891.

The court held that in order to determine whether the truck driver’s

employment was located in South Carolina for purposes of § 42-15-10, an application

of the “base of operation” test was required. Id. at 346, 428 S.E.2d at 892. In applying

this test, the court relied on the fact that although the employee lived in South

Carolina, he had reported to Georgia for duty, picked up and returned his company

truck in Georgia, received his work assignments from Georgia, and made calls to his

employer in Georgia. Therefore, the court concluded that his “base of operation” was

in Georgia, meaning that his “employment was located” in Georgia for purposes of

§ 42-15-10 such that his workers’ compensation claim had been correctly denied. Id.

at 346-47, 428 S.E.2d at 893.

- 26 -

BEAL V. COASTAL CARRIERS, INC.

Opinion of the Court

In Voss, the South Carolina Court of Appeals revisited this issue. In that case,

a company called Ramco, Inc. that manufactured small industrial equipment was

located in South Carolina. Voss, 325 S.C. at 563, 482 S.E.2d at 583. Another

company, NATCO, which sold Ramco’s equipment, was also located in South

Carolina. Id. NATCO’s owner hired the plaintiff — who lived in Texas — to sell

Ramco’s equipment across the country. The plaintiff would travel from city to city

selling Ramco equipment by the truckload. Id. at 563, 482 S.E.2d at 583-84. The

agreement between Ramco and NATCO provided that Ramco would deliver its

equipment to the city in which the group of salesmen — including the plaintiff —

were selling the equipment, and NATCO’s owner would then supervise the sales team

in each city to which the team traveled. Id.

The plaintiff was injured selling Ramco equipment while in the state of

Washington. Id. at 570, 482 S.E.2d at 587. During the time in which he worked for

Ramco, he never sold equipment in South Carolina and made only one trip to South

Carolina to pick up equipment. Id. at 565, 482 S.E.2d at 584. He filed a workers’

compensation claim in South Carolina, but Ramco denied the claim, asserting that

the South Carolina Workers’ Compensation Commission lacked subject matter

jurisdiction over the plaintiff’s claim. Id. at 563, 482 S.E.2d at 583. The commission

ruled in favor of the plaintiff, and its decision was ultimately affirmed by the circuit

court. Ramco appealed to the South Carolina Court of Appeals. Id.

- 27 -

BEAL V. COASTAL CARRIERS, INC.

Opinion of the Court

The court invoked the “base of operation” test set out in Holman to determine

whether South Carolina had jurisdiction over the plaintiff’s claim, noting that “all

types of transient employment . . . do not fit neatly within the employment ritual of

the employee truck driver in [Holman].” Id. at 571, 482 S.E.2d at 588. The court

observed that a traveling salesman would not have the same work routine as a truck

driver, stating the following:

[I]t was not this Court’s intention [in Holman] to hold that

a class of transient employees could never have a “base of

operation” and therefore be limited under section 42-15-10

to the benefits available in two states (the state where the

employee [was] hired and the state where the employee

was injured), while other transient employees could choose

the most advantageous of three states.

Id.

The court reiterated its previous statement in Holman that “the location of

employment can only be in one state” and that, logically, “the location of employment

must be in some state.” Id. at 572, 482 S.E.2d at 588. The court proceeded to hold

that although the plaintiff lived in Texas and was injured in Washington, his

employment was located in South Carolina. Id. The court ruled that regardless of

the fact that the plaintiff received work assignments from a supervisor who was often

physically present in multiple states, the plaintiff’s employer was Ramco, and Ramco

was permanently located in South Carolina. Id.

The court reasoned that

- 28 -

BEAL V. COASTAL CARRIERS, INC.

Opinion of the Court

although Voss started his road trips from wherever the

group was located, but never from South Carolina, he

nevertheless is principally employed in South Carolina

because it is the only state in which he has any “base of

operation.” . . . [A]s a practical matter, South Carolina is

the state where Voss was employed, given the amount of

control exerted over Voss by [his employers], both of whom

operated out of South Carolina.

Id.

In 2007, the Supreme Court of South Carolina issued two decisions applying

the “base of operation” test. In Oxendine, the plaintiff was a construction worker

living in North Carolina who did seasonal work for a construction company that was

based in South Carolina. Oxendine, 373 S.C. at 440, 646 S.E.2d at 144. His employer

hired him to work at a jobsite in North Carolina on a project that lasted for six weeks.

The plaintiff had previously performed work for the employer in South Carolina and

had regularly traveled to South Carolina to receive his payment. Id.

During the six-week period prior to his injury, the plaintiff worked solely at

the jobsite in North Carolina. Id. At one point, the plaintiff visited his employer’s

home in South Carolina for social purposes and fixed the employer’s water pump —

a task for which he was not paid. Id. He also traveled to the employer’s home in

South Carolina to receive payment at least once during the time he worked on the

North Carolina project. Id.

The plaintiff was injured in an accident while working on the North Carolina

jobsite. Id. He filed a workers’ compensation claim in North Carolina, which was

- 29 -

BEAL V. COASTAL CARRIERS, INC.

Opinion of the Court

denied. Id. He then filed a claim under South Carolina’s Workers’ Compensation

Act, and the South Carolina Workers’ Compensation Commission determined that it

had jurisdiction over the plaintiff’s claim. Id. at 440-41, 646 S.E.2d at 144. The

employer ultimately appealed to the Supreme Court of South Carolina. Id.

The court held that South Carolina was the plaintiff’s “base of operation.” Id.

at 445, 646 S.E.2d at 146. In making this determination, the court relied on multiple

factors, noting that while none was “individually determinative, they all lend support

to the conclusion[.]” Id. at 444, 646 S.E.2d at 146.

(1) Respondent regularly worked for Employer in South

Carolina during warm months for a number of years; (2)

Respondent went to Employer’s home/office in South

Carolina on occasions to be paid, including at least once

during the last interval of his work; (3) Respondent often

met co-workers at the place of employment to go to jobs;

and (4) Respondent performed work at Employer’s home

immediately before his injury.

Id.

The court then stated the following:

In reaching this conclusion, we look not only at

Respondent’s six-week employment term, but also at his

broad employment history with Employer. Respondent’s

regular and recurring employment with Employer for

several years prior to his injury was nearly entirely based

in South Carolina. The fact that Respondent was working

in North Carolina on this particular occasion does not

transport the Employer’s base of operations from South

Carolina to North Carolina.

Id.

- 30 -

BEAL V. COASTAL CARRIERS, INC.

Opinion of the Court

The court further noted that “[t]his conclusion is underscored by the amount

of control exerted over Respondent by Employer who was located in South Carolina.”

Id. In explaining its ruling, the court clarified the principles it drew from Holman

and Voss:

Appellants also argue that if the base of operations rule

applies, the relevant base of operation was North Carolina

because it is the employee’s base, and not the employer’s

base, that should be considered. Appellants’ reasoning

directly contradicts both Voss and Holman[,] cases which

apply the base of operations rule to determine the location

of nomadic employment based on the employer’s place of

business, “regardless of where work is performed.”

Id. at 445, 646 S.E.2d at 146.

Hill concerned a plaintiff truck driver who lived in South Carolina and was

injured while driving through Virginia. Hill, 373 S.C. at 427, 645 S.E.2d at 426. The

plaintiff’s employer was based in Alabama. After his accident, the plaintiff

successfully filed a claim under South Carolina’s Workers’ Compensation Act. His

employer appealed the decision in favor of the plaintiff to the Supreme Court of South

Carolina. Id. at 427-28, 645 S.E.2d at 426.

Because the plaintiff had been hired in South Carolina, the court held that

South Carolina had jurisdiction over the plaintiff’s claim. Id. at 430, 645 S.E.2d at

428. However, the court also ruled that in addition to being the state where the

plaintiff was hired, South Carolina was likewise the state where plaintiff’s

employment was “located” for purposes of § 42-15-10. The court determined that the

- 31 -

BEAL V. COASTAL CARRIERS, INC.

Opinion of the Court

plaintiff’s “base of operation” was in South Carolina because the plaintiff began his

road trips from South Carolina, kept his truck at his South Carolina home on the

weekends, and received his paycheck at his home in South Carolina. Id. at 432-33,

645 S.E.2d at 429. The court further noted that although the plaintiff called the

Alabama office at the end of each delivery to find out where to pick up his next load,

he was not required to report to the Alabama office for duty or return to Alabama

after completing his assignments. Id. at 432, 645 S.E.2d at 429. Nor was the

plaintiff’s truck licensed in Alabama. Id.

Holman, Voss, Oxendine, and Hill demonstrate the fact-specific nature of the

“base of operation” test’s application and the difficulty of determining where a

worker’s employment is “located” when his employment is nomadic in nature. In such

cases, the employee works on multiple jobs for a particular employer in more than

one state, making it difficult to pinpoint one specific state as the location of his

employment.

In the present case, conversely, Plaintiff’s employment was not nomadic. He

worked at one location for his employer during the entire period of his employment.

He had no prior history of working on jobs — in South Carolina, Florida, or anywhere

else — for TWC, and the record is devoid of any indication that he was likely to work

on future projects for TWC. He was not a traveling salesman or a truck driver whose

job duties for his employer required him to travel to multiple states. Nor was he akin

- 32 -

BEAL V. COASTAL CARRIERS, INC.

Opinion of the Court

to the worker in Oxendine who performed multiple jobs for his employer in one state

prior to being dispatched by the employer to perform a job in another state.

Instead, Plaintiff was a lent employee who was hired by TWC to perform one

specific job in one specific place. TWC required that he perform all of his work in

Florida, and he lived in Florida for the entire duration of the job, commuting from a

motel in Florida to the Florida jobsite throughout the duration of his employment

with TWC. Plaintiff reported to work each day in Florida and received assignments

from on-site supervisors in Florida.

Standing in stark contrast to his numerous connections with Florida during

his employment with TWC is the utter lack of contacts Plaintiff had with South

Carolina. Plaintiff never reported to South Carolina for duty either before the project

began or after it was completed. Indeed, the record is devoid of any indication that

Plaintiff visited South Carolina for any purpose — except when he drove through that

state as a matter of geographical necessity between North Carolina and Florida.

For these reasons, the present case requires nothing more than a commonsense

application of the “base of operation” test to conclude that Plaintiff’s employment with

TWC was “located” in Florida. The courts in Holman, Voss, Oxendine, and Hill were

required to balance competing factors in applying this test given that each of those

cases involved employees who performed work for a single employer in multiple

states. The facts of this case simply do not require us to do so here.

- 33 -

BEAL V. COASTAL CARRIERS, INC.

Opinion of the Court

We are unpersuaded by Coastal’s argument that Plaintiff’s job assignments

actually came from Baird in South Carolina. The record shows only two instances of

direct contact between Baird and Plaintiff — the telephone call during which Baird

offered him the job and a subsequent call in which he gave Plaintiff a “pep talk.” Both

of these telephone calls occurred while Plaintiff was still in North Carolina and before

he had left the state to start work on the Florida Project.

Plaintiff had on-site supervisors at the Florida jobsite — initially Porter and

later Fleener — who gave him his work assignments and instructions for the work to

be performed. The record clearly indicates that these supervisors were both in

Florida when they instructed Plaintiff as to his duties on the Florida Project. While

Coastal argues that these on-site supervisors were relaying orders that had been

given to them by Baird from South Carolina, we do not believe that any such indirect

control over Plaintiff’s work by Baird serves as a sufficient substitute for direct

connections between Plaintiff and South Carolina given the circumstances of

Plaintiff’s employment with TWC.

Therefore, we conclude that throughout Plaintiff’s employment with TWC, his

“base of operation” was Florida. Accordingly, he was neither “principally employed”

(for purposes of the Endorsement) in South Carolina nor was South Carolina the state

“where his employment [was] located” (for purposes of § 42-15-10). Thus, the

- 34 -

BEAL V. COASTAL CARRIERS, INC.

Opinion of the Court

Commission erred in determining that Key Risk’s policy provided coverage for

Plaintiff’s workplace accident.2

Conclusion

For the reasons stated above, we reverse the Commission’s Opinion and Award

to the extent it determined that Key Risk’s policy provides any coverage for the 26

September 2010 accident and remand this matter for further proceedings not

inconsistent with this opinion.

REVERSED AND REMANDED.

Judges INMAN and ENOCHS concur.

2On appeal, Key Risk also raises as an alternative argument that the Commission erred in

ordering Key Risk to pay all indemnity benefits owed on Plaintiff’s claim as a result of his injury based

on the theory that “the proportion of the responsibility of [Plaintiff’s] wages [was] equal between

Coastal and [TWC].” However, in light of our holding that Key Risk’s policy does not provide any

coverage regarding Plaintiff’s accident, we need not address this issue.

- 35 -

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.