Opinion

PAGE ONE AUTO SALES, INC. v. BROWN & BROWN OF NEW YORK, INC.

Court
Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of the State of New York
Filed
Apr 1, 2011
Status
Published
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 3.2%

The opinion

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK

Appellate Division, Fourth Judicial Department

1525

CA 10-01439

PRESENT: SMITH, J.P., PERADOTTO, CARNI, LINDLEY, AND SCONIERS, JJ.

PAGE ONE AUTO SALES, INC., PLAINTIFF-APPELLANT,

V MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

BROWN & BROWN OF NEW YORK, INC., DOING BUSINESS

AS BROWN & BROWN, SUCCESSOR IN INTEREST TO

RIEDMAN CORPORATION, DOING BUSINESS AS RIEDMAN

INSURANCE, DEFENDANT-RESPONDENT.

BOYLAN, BROWN, CODE, VIGDOR & WILSON, LLP, ROCHESTER (DAVID K. HOU OF

COUNSEL), FOR PLAINTIFF-APPELLANT.

HURWITZ & FINE, P.C., BUFFALO (KATHERINE A. FIJAL OF COUNSEL), FOR

DEFENDANT-RESPONDENT.

Appeal from an order of the Supreme Court, Monroe County (Ann

Marie Taddeo, J.), entered April 6, 2010. The order denied the motion

of plaintiff for summary judgment and granted the cross motion of

defendant for summary judgment.

It is hereby ORDERED that the order so appealed from is modified

on the law by denying defendant’s cross motion and reinstating the

complaint and as modified the order is affirmed without costs.

Memorandum: Plaintiff, an automobile dealership, commenced this

action seeking damages for the alleged breach by defendant,

plaintiff’s insurance broker, of its duty to procure an insurance

policy containing “false pretense coverage,” which is intended to

cover losses in the event that plaintiff purchased automobiles with

defective titles. We agree with plaintiff that Supreme Court erred in

granting defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment dismissing the

complaint, and we therefore modify the order accordingly. “ ‘In New

York, the duty owed by an insurance agent to an insurance customer is

ordinarily defined by the nature of the request a customer makes to

the agent’ ” (Chase’s Cigar Store v Stam Agency, 281 AD2d 911, 912;

see Wied v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 208 AD2d 1132, 1133).

“Where . . . there is a specific request for insurance, the agent has

a duty to obtain the requested coverage or to inform the client of his

or her inability to do so” (Herdendorf v Geico Ins. Co., 77 AD3d 1461,

1463; see Murphy v Kuhn, 90 NY2d 266, 270; Twin Tiers Eye Care Assoc.

v First Unum Life Ins. Co., 270 AD2d 918, lv denied 95 NY2d 758). “In

such a case, it must be demonstrated that the coverage could have been

procured prior to the occurrence of the insured event” (Herdendorf, 77

AD3d at 1463; see American Motorists Ins. Co. v Salvatore, 102 AD2d

-2- 1525

CA 10-01439

342, 346).

Viewing the evidence in the light most favorable to the nonmoving

party, as we must (see Russo v YMCA of Greater Buffalo, 12 AD3d 1089,

lv dismissed 5 NY3d 746), we conclude that there are triable issues of

fact whether defendant breached its duty to procure the insurance

coverage requested by plaintiff (see generally Zuckerman v City of New

York, 49 NY2d 557, 562). Further, although the insured’s receipt of

the insurance policy at issue may in some cases provide a complete

defense to the insured’s action against an agent or broker for failing

to procure certain coverage (see e.g. Hoffend & Sons, Inc. v Rose &

Kiernan, Inc., 19 AD3d 1056, 1057-1058, affd on other grounds 7 NY3d

152; Laconte v Bashwinger Ins. Agency, 305 AD2d 845, 846), it does not

provide such a defense in this case. Where, as here, there is

evidence establishing that the insured made requests for the missing

coverage subsequent to receipt of the policy, the broker has a renewed

“duty to obtain the requested coverage or to inform the client of

[its] inability to do so” (Herdendorf, 77 AD3d at 1463).

We further conclude, however, that the court properly denied

plaintiff’s motion for, inter alia, summary judgment on the complaint

inasmuch as the record demonstrates that triable issues of fact exist

with respect to both defendant’s liability and the amount of damages

recoverable by plaintiff (see generally Zuckerman, 49 NY2d at 562).

All concur except PERADOTTO, J., who dissents and votes to affirm

in the following Memorandum: I respectfully dissent because, in my

view, Supreme Court properly granted defendant’s cross motion for

summary judgment dismissing the complaint. Plaintiff, an automobile

dealership, commenced this action seeking damages for the alleged

breach by defendant, plaintiff’s insurance broker, of its duty to

procure an insurance policy containing “false pretense coverage,”

which is intended to cover losses in the event that plaintiff

purchased automobiles with defective titles. Plaintiff subsequently

moved for summary judgment on the complaint, and defendant cross-moved

for summary judgment dismissing the complaint.

“It is now well settled ‘that insurance agents have a common-law

duty to obtain requested coverage for their clients within a

reasonable time or [to] inform the client of the inability to do so’ ”

(Arthur Glick Truck Sales v Spadaccia-Ryan-Haas, Inc., 290 AD2d 780,

781, quoting Murphy v Kuhn, 90 NY2d 266, 270). It is equally well

settled, however, that “an insured is conclusively presumed to know

the contents of an insurance policy concededly received, even though

the insured did not read or review it” (Laconte v Bashwinger Ins.

Agency, 305 AD2d 845, 846; see Chase’s Cigar Store v Stam Agency, 281

AD2d 911, 912; Nicholas J. Masterpol, Inc. v Travelers Ins. Cos., 273

AD2d 817). Here, plaintiff submitted evidence in support of its

motion establishing that it requested false pretense coverage for the

1999-2000 policy period and that its insurance broker advised

plaintiff that he would procure such coverage. Plaintiff’s

submissions demonstrate that, in November or December 1999, the broker

informed plaintiff’s office manager that coverage “had been procured”

-3- 1525

CA 10-01439

and that “the endorsements were coming.” The office manager

thereafter continued to contact the broker periodically to inquire

about the endorsements, and she was repeatedly advised that the

endorsements were on the way. The office manager acknowledged,

however, that defendant had not provided documentary proof that it had

obtained false pretense coverage by the time she left plaintiff’s

employ in April 2000, and plaintiff’s general manager conceded that

plaintiff never received the requested endorsements.

Notably, all of the losses at issue appear to have been sustained

during the 2000-2001 policy period. Although the record indicates

that plaintiff may not have received the new policy for that period

before the losses occurred, the prior policy specifically excluded

false pretense coverage, and the only policy change plaintiff

discussed with defendant when the policy came up for renewal in June

2000 was a possible increase in limits for the coverage it already

possessed. At his deposition, plaintiff’s general manager suggested

that plaintiff may not have made a specific request for false pretense

coverage at the time of renewal because plaintiff “assumed” it had

such coverage. In my view, however, any such assumption was

unreasonable as a matter of law in light of the plain language of the

policy in plaintiff’s possession at that time, i.e., the 1999-2000

policy, and the fact that plaintiff had never received documentation

confirming the false pretense coverage, despite numerous requests for

it over a period of at least 10 months (see Laconte, 305 AD2d at 846;

see also Chase’s Cigar Store, 281 AD2d at 912-913; Nicholas J.

Masterpol, Inc., 273 AD2d at 818). Moreover, it is undisputed that

plaintiff never paid for such coverage. I therefore conclude that,

notwithstanding the broker’s assurances in November or December 1999

that plaintiff had false pretense coverage, plaintiff knew or should

have known that it did not have such coverage at the time plaintiff’s

office manager left in April 2000, if not sooner. Thus, in the

absence of any evidence sufficient to overcome plaintiff’s presumptive

knowledge of the contents of the policy, it is my view that the court

properly granted defendant’s cross motion for summary judgment

dismissing the complaint. I would therefore affirm the order.

Entered: April 1, 2011 Patricia L. Morgan

Clerk of the Court

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.