Opinion

Petrovic v. Department of Employment Security

  • 2016 IL 118562
Court
Illinois Supreme Court
Filed
May 23, 2016
Status
Unpublished
Cited by
3 cases
Authority
More cited than 53.9%

The opinion

2016 IL 118562

IN THE

SUPREME COURT

OF

THE STATE OF ILLINOIS

(Docket No. 118562)

ZLATA PETROVIC, Appellant, v. THE DEPARTMENT OF EMPLOYMENT

SECURITY et al., Appellees.

Opinion filed February 4, 2016.—Modified upon denial of rehearing May 23,

2016.

JUSTICE BURKE delivered the judgment of the court, with opinion.

Chief Justice Garman and Justices Freeman, Thomas, Kilbride, Karmeier, and

Theis concurred in the judgment and opinion.

OPINION

¶1 The plaintiff, Zlata Petrovic, applied for unemployment insurance benefits with

the Department of Employment Security (Department) following the termination

of her employment with American Airlines (American). American filed a protest

alleging that plaintiff was ineligible for benefits because she was “discharged for

misconduct connected with [her] work,” pursuant to section 602(A) of the

Unemployment Insurance Act (Act) (820 ILCS 405/602(A) (West 2012)).

Following a hearing, a referee for the Department denied plaintiff’s application.

The referee’s determination was affirmed by the Board of Review (Board). Plaintiff

filed a complaint for administrative review in the circuit court. The circuit court of

Cook County reversed the Board’s decision, finding that the actions which led to

plaintiff’s discharge did not constitute “misconduct” under the strict statutory

definition in section 602(A). Thus, according to the circuit court, plaintiff was

entitled to unemployment benefits. On appeal, the appellate court reversed the

circuit court. 2014 IL App (1st) 131813.

¶2 In this court, plaintiff contends that the Board’s decision finding her ineligible

for benefits is clearly erroneous. We agree. For the reasons that follow, we reverse

the judgment of the appellate court and affirm the judgment of the circuit court.

¶3 BACKGROUND

¶4 Plaintiff was employed by American from June 6, 1988, to January 24, 2012.

On January 1, 2012, plaintiff was working as a tower planner at O’Hare

International Airport. Plaintiff received a call from a friend at another airline. The

friend asked plaintiff whether she could do something for a passenger who was

scheduled to fly on American. Plaintiff requested that the catering department

deliver a bottle of champagne to the passenger. She then asked a flight attendant

whether it would be possible to upgrade the passenger. The passenger in question

was upgraded from business class to first class.

¶5 On January 24, 2012, plaintiff was advised that her employment was terminated

because she upgraded the passenger and requested the champagne without proper

authorization. The termination letter in the record states that plaintiff’s actions

violated two express policies governing American employees. These policies,

referred to as rule Nos. 16 and 34, are set forth in the letter as follows:

“Rule #16: ‘Misrepresentation of facts or falsification of records is

prohibited.’

Rule #34: ‘Dishonesty of any kind in relations [sic] to the Company, such as

theft or pilferage of Company property, the property of other employees or

property of others entrusted to the Company, or misrepresentation in obtaining

employee benefits or privileges will be grounds for dismissal and where the

facts warrant, prosecution to the fullest extent of the law. Employees charged

with a criminal offense on or off duty may be immediately withheld from

service. Any action constituting a criminal offense, whether committed on or

off duty, will be grounds for dismissal.’ ”

-2-

¶6 Plaintiff subsequently applied to the Department for unemployment benefits.

American filed a protest alleging that plaintiff was discharged because she “left her

work area without her manager’s approval to secure an undocumented upgrade for

a friend of a friend.” According to American, plaintiff’s conduct violated a

“reasonable and known policy.” The protest does not refer to rule Nos. 16 and 34.

Instead, it alleges that “[o]nly authorized employees may issue an upgrade[,] and

employees are expected to remain in their work area during the course of their shift

unless given permission by their manager to leave. The claimant was made aware

of this policy through PC [personal computer] based training.”

¶7 A claims adjudicator denied benefits to plaintiff on the ground that she was

discharged for misconduct connected with her work. Plaintiff appealed, and a

Department referee conducted a telephone hearing. Plaintiff’s supervisor, Robert

Cumley, testified that he had no personal knowledge of the incident leading to

plaintiff’s termination. He stated generally that “[p]olicies and procedures were not

followed” and that “questions were asked of the wrong people” about moving the

passenger. When the referee asked Cumley to describe plaintiff’s involvement in

upgrading the passenger, he replied, “making the request and most likely moving

the passenger, uh, circumventing the policy and procedures of having management,

uh, approval to do so.” Cumley testified that the upgrade caused a loss of revenue to

American in the amount of $7,100. He also testified that moving a passenger to a

different seat could affect the balance and weight numbers for the aircraft.

¶8 Plaintiff testified that a friend from another airline asked whether she could do

something for a passenger on an American flight. She told him that she “could

probably help with a bottle of champagne or maybe ask for an upgrade.” Plaintiff

asked the catering department to send a bottle of champagne to the plane for the

passenger. The catering employees “didn’t say no, we don’t do this anymore.”

Plaintiff testified that, in her previous job working with customers in American’s

international department, she and acquaintances from other airlines would do

favors for each other, such as helping passengers with connections. Referring to the

champagne, she testified that “we used to do these things in the past.” After

requesting the champagne, plaintiff boarded the aircraft and asked the flight

attendant if it would be possible to upgrade the passenger. The flight attendant said,

“[o]h, no problem.” Plaintiff informed the gate agent that the upgrade “might

happen” and left the area without learning whether the passenger was upgraded.

Plaintiff testified that none of the employees with whom she spoke informed her

that her requests could not be granted. She stated that she was not aware of any rule

-3-

or policy requiring a manager to approve requests for special treatment for a

passenger.

¶9 Following the telephone hearing, the referee affirmed the denial of

unemployment benefits due to misconduct under section 602(A) of the Act. The

referee made no finding that plaintiff violated an express rule or policy of the

employer. Rather, the referee concluded that “there are some acts of misconduct

that are so serious and so commonly accepted as wrong that employers need not

have rules covering them,” and “[i]n this case, the claimant’s action in giving away

the employer’s champagne and a free upgrade to first class was unacceptable by

any standard.” Finally, the referee found that plaintiff’s conduct harmed American

because it resulted in a financial loss to the company.

¶ 10 Plaintiff appealed the referee’s decision to the Board, which affirmed the

determination of ineligibility for unemployment benefits. The Board incorporated

the entirety of the referee’s decision as part of its decision and made no additional

findings of fact or conclusions of law. On administrative review, the circuit court

reversed the Board’s decision and found that plaintiff was eligible for benefits. The

court held that American failed to provide proof that plaintiff violated an express

rule or policy. In the absence of an express rule, plaintiff could not have known that

her requests for special treatment for a passenger were forbidden. Thus, the court

concluded, plaintiff’s actions did not amount to “misconduct” under the

disqualifying provision in section 602(A).

¶ 11 The Department, the Board, and the Director of Employment Security

(collectively, the State defendants) appealed. The appellate court reversed the

circuit court’s judgment and reinstated the Board’s order denying benefits. 2014 IL

App (1st) 131813. The appellate court held that plaintiff “sought an upgrade for a

friend of a friend without management authorization or payment” and “caused a

$7,100 upgrade to first class to be issued without management approval.” Id. ¶¶ 30,

33. According to the court, plaintiff’s actions violated an American policy that only

authorized employees may issue upgrades. Id. ¶ 30. The court thus upheld the

Board’s finding that plaintiff was terminated for misconduct. Id. ¶ 33.

¶ 12 This court allowed plaintiff’s petition for leave to appeal. Ill. S. Ct. R. 315(a)

(eff. Jan. 1, 2015).

-4-

¶ 13 ANALYSIS

¶ 14 I. State Defendants’ Standing

¶ 15 At the outset, plaintiff argues that the State defendants had no standing to

appeal the circuit court’s judgment reversing the Board’s denial of benefits. The

State defendants were the only appellants because American did not participate in

the appeal. Relying on Speck v. Zoning Board of Appeals, 89 Ill. 2d 482 (1982),

plaintiff argues that the State defendants function solely in an adjudicatory or

quasi-judicial capacity, which limits their capacity to appeal adverse decisions.

¶ 16 In Speck, this court held that an administrative body whose statutory charge is

to “function in an adjudicatory or quasijudicial capacity” lacks standing to appeal a

circuit court’s reversal of its own decision on administrative review. Id. at 485. We

held that the ordinance empowering a municipal zoning board to decide

applications and appeals did not specifically authorize it to “assume the role of

advocate for the purpose of prosecuting an appeal.” Id. The zoning board thus was

prohibited from appealing the circuit court’s decision. Id.

¶ 17 However, the rule in Speck does not foreclose every appeal by an administrative

agency seeking review of an adverse court judgment. In Braun v. Retirement Board

of the Firemen’s Annuity & Benefit Fund, 108 Ill. 2d 119, 128 (1985), this court

clarified that an administrative agency with additional managerial functions

beyond those of a tribunal is not subject to the “normal rule that an administrative

agency has no standing to appeal a decision reversing its own decision.” Because

the retirement board in Braun had “extensive managerial responsibilities” to

maintain and manage disbursements from a pension fund, we held the retirement

board had standing to appeal the circuit court’s judgment. Id.

¶ 18 Plaintiff argues that the Department functions in an adjudicatory or

quasi-judicial capacity, similar to the zoning board in Speck. Plaintiff points out

that the Act delineates the Department’s adjudicatory responsibilities and that the

Director is statutorily empowered to decide applications for benefits, designate

claims adjudicators, and obtain an adequate number of impartial referees to hear

and decide disputed claims. 820 ILCS 405/701, 802 (West 2012). Plaintiff further

notes that the Board has the power to affirm, modify, or set aside any decision of a

referee (820 ILCS 405/803 (West 2012)) and has the discretion to take additional

evidence, remand the case to the referee or claims adjudicator, or make a final

determination on appeal. Id.

-5-

¶ 19 These are not the Department’s only functions, however. In addition to its

adjudicatory duties, the Department is specifically entrusted with administering the

Act, preserving the fund, and handling its assets in accordance with the Act. See

820 ILCS 405/1700, 2100(A) (West 2012). Thus, the State defendants have

independent interests in maintaining a uniform body of law involving the Act and

protecting the fund. See Braun, 108 Ill. 2d at 128; see also Farris v. Department of

Employment Security, 2014 IL App (4th) 130391, ¶ 31 (holding that the

Department had standing to appeal the circuit court’s decision reversing its denial

of unemployment insurance benefits because it had a duty to protect the fund from

diminution in the form of disbursements to ineligible claimants). By contrast, the

zoning board in Speck had no purpose under its governing ordinance other than to

decide the cases before it. We therefore reject plaintiff’s contention that the State

defendants lack standing to appeal the circuit court’s decision on administrative

review.

¶ 20 II. Plaintiff’s Eligibility for Unemployment Insurance Benefits

¶ 21 Our review of the Board’s decision to deny unemployment insurance benefits

based on an employee’s discharge for misconduct involves a mixed question of law

and fact. See Abbott Industries, Inc. v. Department of Employment Security, 2011

IL App (2d) 100610, ¶¶ 15-16; Hurst v. Department of Employment Security, 393

Ill. App. 3d 323, 327 (2009); Oleszczuk v. Department of Employment Security, 336

Ill. App. 3d 46, 50 (2002). A mixed question of law and fact requires a court to

determine the legal effect of a given set of facts. City of Belvidere v. Illinois State

Labor Relations Board, 181 Ill. 2d 191, 205 (1998). Mixed questions are reviewed

under the “clearly erroneous” standard, which is less deferential to the

administrative agency than the manifest weight of the evidence standard. AFM

Messenger Service, Inc. v. Department of Employment Security, 198 Ill. 2d 380,

392 (2001). An agency’s decision is clearly erroneous if, based on the entire record,

the reviewing court is “ ‘left with the definite and firm conviction that a mistake has

been committed.’ ” Id. at 393 (quoting United States v. United States Gypsum Co.,

333 U.S. 364, 395 (1948)).

¶ 22 We review the final decision of the Board, rather than the decision of the referee

or the circuit court. Sudzus v. Department of Employment Security, 393 Ill. App. 3d

814, 819 (2009); Czajka v. Department of Employment Security, 387 Ill. App. 3d

-6-

168, 172 (2008). In the case before us, the Board incorporated the referee’s

decision in its entirety as part of its decision and made no additional independent

findings. Therefore, it is appropriate to review the findings of fact and conclusions

of law made by the referee in determining whether the Board’s decision is clearly

erroneous. See Oleszczuk, 336 Ill. App. 3d at 50. Applying the clearly erroneous

standard of review, this court must determine whether the evidence in the record

supports the Board’s determination that plaintiff was discharged for misconduct

within the meaning of section 602(A) of the Act (820 ILCS 405/602(A) (West

2012)). Under the Administrative Review Law, which governs judicial review of

the Board’s decision, our review extends to all questions of law and fact presented

by the entire record. 820 ILCS 405/1100 (West 2012); 735 ILCS 5/3-110 (West

2012). Thus, we will overturn the Board’s denial of unemployment benefits only if

we are left with the “definite and firm conviction,” based on the entire record, that

the Board’s decision was a mistake. (Internal quotation marks omitted.) AFM

Messenger Service, 198 Ill. 2d at 393.

¶ 23 The main purpose of the Act is to relieve the economic insecurity caused by

involuntary unemployment. 820 ILCS 405/100 (West 2012); AFM Messenger

Service, 198 Ill. 2d at 396. The Act recognizes that involuntary unemployment not

only burdens unemployed individuals and their families but also threatens the

health, safety, morals, and welfare of all Illinois citizens. 820 ILCS 405/100 (West

2012). In light of this purpose, the Act must be liberally construed in favor of

awarding benefits to unemployed workers. AFM Messenger Service, 198 Ill. 2d at

398; Universal Security Corp. v. Department of Employment Security, 2015 IL App

(1st) 133886, ¶ 9; Lojek v. Department of Employment Security, 2013 IL App (1st)

120679, ¶ 34.

¶ 24 Because the Act is aimed at alleviating the burdens of “involuntary”

employment, certain unemployed individuals are specifically disqualified from

obtaining benefits. 820 ILCS 405/600 to 614 (West 2012). For example,

individuals who leave work voluntarily without good cause attributable to the

employing unit (820 ILCS 405/601 (West 2012)), individuals who are discharged

for misconduct connected with their work (820 ILCS 405/602 (West 2012)), and

individuals who fail to apply for suitable work or who refuse suitable work when

offered (820 ILCS 405/603 (West 2012)), are ineligible for unemployment

benefits. These disqualification provisions are intended to “act like gate-keepers

against persons who lack a sincere desire to work and who seek to create situations

where they can rely on government financial support.” Lisa Lawler Graditor, Back

-7-

to Basics: A Call to Re-evaluate the Unemployment Insurance Disqualification for

Misconduct, 37 J. Marshall L. Rev. 27, 37 (2003). In other words, the purpose of a

disqualification provision is to exclude employees who voluntarily become

unemployed or stay unemployed because they prefer to collect benefits instead of

working. Id. at 36-38.

¶ 25 Section 602(A) of the Act provides that an individual is ineligible for

unemployment benefits if she has been discharged for “misconduct” in connection

with her work. 820 ILCS 405/602(A) (West 2012). The Act defines misconduct as:

“the deliberate and willful violation of a reasonable rule or policy of the

employing unit, governing the individual’s behavior in performance of his

work, provided such violation has harmed the employing unit or other

employees or has been repeated by the individual despite a warning or other

explicit instruction from the employing unit.” Id.

¶ 26 An employee’s actions thus constitute misconduct under the Act only if the

evidence in the record satisfies three requirements: (1) a deliberate and willful

violation (2) of a reasonable rule or policy of the employer governing the

individual’s behavior in the performance of her work, that (3) either (a) harmed the

employer or a fellow employee or (b) was repeated despite a warning or explicit

instruction from the employer. Unless all three requirements are established by

competent evidence in the record, the Board’s decision to deny unemployment

benefits on this basis should be reversed as clearly erroneous. See Woods v. Illinois

Department of Employment Security, 2012 IL App (1st) 101639, ¶ 19.

¶ 27 It is important to emphasize that the disqualification for misconduct is intended

to exclude individuals who intentionally commit conduct which they know is likely

to result in their termination. See Graditor, supra, at 41 (underlying a

disqualification for misconduct “is the implicit assumption that workers who

deliberately violate a known employer rule or who commit acts in the moderate to

extreme range of the spectrum do so knowing that unemployment will likely

result”); Adams v. Ward, 206 Ill. App. 3d 719, 726-27 (1990). It is not intended to

exclude all employees who have been fired from their jobs. If the General

Assembly intended to disqualify all fired employees from receiving unemployment

benefits, there would be no need to define “misconduct” in the Act. While an

employer has the right to fire an at-will employee for any reason or no reason at all

(Turner v. Memorial Medical Center, 233 Ill. 2d 494, 500 (2009)), “the Act

-8-

requires a different legal standard to be applied to the separate question of whether

a terminated employee is eligible to receive unemployment benefits.” Abbott

Industries, Inc. v. Department of Employment Security, 2011 IL App (2d) 100610,

¶ 25. In order to show that an employee should be disqualified for misconduct, “an

employer must satisfy a higher burden than merely proving that an employee

should have been rightly discharged.” Zuaznabar v. Board of Review of the

Department of Employment Security, 257 Ill. App. 3d 354, 359 (1993); Hoffmann v.

Lyon Metal Products, Inc., 217 Ill. App. 3d 490, 497-98 (1991); Adams, 206 Ill.

App. 3d at 726.

¶ 28 Defendants request that this court resolve a split of authority in the appellate

court regarding which party has the burden of proving an employee’s

disqualification due to misconduct. But, in fact, there is no “split of authority” on

this issue. The appellate court has consistently held that the burden of establishing

an employee’s disqualification rests upon the employer who alleges that the

employee was discharged for misconduct. See Eastham v. Housing Authority of

Jefferson County, 2014 IL App (5th) 130209, ¶ 12; Abbott Industries, Inc., 2011 IL

App (2d) 100610, ¶ 25; Messer & Stilp, Ltd. v. Department of Employment

Security, 392 Ill. App. 3d 849, 862 (2009); Czajka v. Department of Employment

Security, 387 Ill. App. 3d 168, 176 (2008); Manning v. Department of Employment

Security, 365 Ill. App. 3d 553, 557 (2006); Wrobel v. Department of Employment

Security, 344 Ill. App. 3d 533, 537-38 (2003); Zuaznabar, 257 Ill. App. 3d at 359;

Hoffmann, 217 Ill. App. 3d at 497-98; Adams, 206 Ill. App. 3d at 726. 1 Contrary to

defendants’ argument, no Illinois appellate court decision holds that it is the

employee’s burden to prove that she was not discharged for misconduct. While it is

1

The appellate court’s imposition of the burden on the employer is in accord with the vast

majority of states to have decided the issue. See, e.g., Ex parte Rogers, 68 So. 3d 773, 779, 781 (Ala.

2010) (and cases cited therein) (the employer, not the claimant, has the burden of proving that

claimant is disqualified from receiving unemployment compensation benefits on the basis of

misconduct); Bean v. Montana Board of Labor Appeals, 965 P.2d 256, 261 (Mont. 1998);

Hohenstein v. Nevada Employment Security Division, 346 P.3d 365, 369 (Nev. 2015); Caterpillar,

Inc. v. Unemployment Compensation Board of Review, 703 A.2d 452, 456 (Pa. 1997); Parker v. St.

Maries Plywood, 614 P.2d 955, 958 (Idaho 1980) (and cases cited therein); see generally 76 Am.

Jur. 2d Unemployment Compensation § 71 (2005)(“An employer who alleges that a benefits

claimant is ineligible for unemployment compensation by reason of misconduct has the burden of

proof on this issue by a preponderance of the evidence.”); 81A C.J.S. Social Security and Public

Welfare § 502 (2016).

-9-

true that a claimant bears the burden of establishing her initial eligibility for

unemployment insurance benefits (see 820 ILCS 405/500 (West 2012); Wise v.

Department of Employment Security, 2015 IL App (5th) 130306, ¶ 18), this does

not mean that an employee must prove the absence of a disqualifying event. An

employer alleging misconduct due to a willful and deliberate violation of an

employment rule has proof of its own rules, if they exist, as well as proof that the

employee was notified of the rule. Placing the burden on the employer, rather than

the employee, thus imposes the burden of proof on the entity who has access to the

relevant evidence. See Ex parte Rogers, 68 So. 3d 773, 779-80 (Ala. 2010); Hooper

v. Talbot, 343 Ill. 590, 593 (1931) (it is reasonable and just to impose the burden of

proof on the individual who is in possession of such proof, rather than requiring the

other party to prove a negative). Accordingly, we see no reason to change the

well-established rule that an employer who asserts an employee’s disqualification

for benefits based on misconduct has the burden of proving such misconduct.

¶ 29 A. Deliberate and Willful Violation of a Reasonable Rule or Policy

¶ 30 Section 602(A) expressly limits misconduct to a deliberate and willful violation

of a reasonable rule or policy of the employer. 820 ILCS 405/602(A) (West 2012).

“Willful conduct is a conscious act made in violation of company rules, when the

employee knows it is against the rules.” Wrobel v. Department of Employment

Security, 344 Ill. App. 3d 533, 538 (2003) (citing Lachenmyer v. Didrickson, 263

Ill. App. 3d 382, 389 (1994) (“[w]ilful behavior stems from employee awareness of

a company rule that is disregarded by the employee”)). The “deliberate and willful”

language “reflects the General Assembly’s intent that only those who intentionally

act contrary to their employers’ rules should be disqualified on the basis of

misconduct, while those who have been discharged because of their inadvertent or

negligent acts, or their incapacity or inability to perform their assigned tasks,

should receive benefits.” Abbott Industries, Inc., 2011 IL App (2d) 100610, ¶ 19.

¶ 31 In light of the purpose of the misconduct disqualification, the requirement that a

rule violation be “deliberate and willful” necessarily requires evidence that the

employee was aware that her conduct was prohibited. While a rule or policy need

not be written or formalized (Caterpillar, Inc. v. Department of Employment

Security, 313 Ill. App. 3d 645, 654 (2000)), it must have been clearly expressed to

the employee in order to place the employee on notice that she could be fired for

- 10 -

violating it. See Hoffmann v. Lyon Metal Products, Inc., 217 Ill. App. 3d 490,

498-99 (1991); Farmers State Bank of McNabb v. Department of Employment

Security, 216 Ill. App. 3d 633, 637-38 (1991); Adams, 206 Ill. App. 3d at 726.

¶ 32 In the instant case, we can find no evidence in the record of a reasonable rule or

policy prohibiting an American employee from requesting champagne or an

upgrade for a passenger. “[A] rule is not reasonable unless it provides guidelines

that are or should be known by the employee.” Garner v. Department of

Employment Security, 269 Ill. App. 3d 370, 375 (1995). Although plaintiff’s

termination letter refers to American rule Nos. 16 and 34, which prohibit

“misrepresentation” and “dishonesty,” these rules were not referenced at the

hearing or introduced into evidence. The employer’s sole witness at the hearing,

Cumley, testified only that “[p]olicies and procedures were not followed” without

identifying any express or written policy regarding requesting upgrades for

customers. Cumley also testified that plaintiff asked “the wrong people” and failed

to seek management approval for the upgrade. We find that these vague and

conclusory statements do not constitute competent evidence of a reasonable rule or

policy prohibiting plaintiff’s actions.

¶ 33 Even if American did have a policy requiring an employee to obtain approval

from a manager before seeking an upgrade for a customer, it did not submit

evidence that plaintiff was aware of such a policy. The State defendants argue to the

contrary, citing statements in the employer’s written protest that “[o]nly authorized

employees may issue an upgrade[,] and *** The claimant was made aware of this

policy through PC based training.” 2 There is no evidence in the record, however,

that plaintiff actually “issue[d] an upgrade,” in violation of the alleged policy.

¶ 34 Plaintiff testified that she merely made inquiries of other employees and did not

upgrade the passenger herself. Although Cumley testified that plaintiff “most likely

mov[ed] the passenger,” he admitted that he had no personal knowledge of the

events and relied on various statements in the file that plaintiff asked “the wrong

people” about moving the passenger. Plaintiff cannot be disqualified from

receiving benefits based on others’ conduct. Section 602(A) requires evidence that

the claimant violated a rule or policy “governing the individual’s behavior in

2

We note that the referee’s decision does not refer to the upgrade policy referenced in the

employer’s protest, nor does it find that plaintiff violated an express rule or policy of the employer.

As we have stated, the Board affirmed the referee’s decision without making any independent legal

or factual findings.

- 11 -

performance of his work.” (Emphasis added.) 820 ILCS 405/602(A) (West 2012).

Possible rule violations by other employees thus have no bearing on whether

plaintiff’s own actions constituted misconduct under section 602(A). Accordingly,

because American failed to introduce any evidence that plaintiff was aware her

conduct was forbidden, it failed to meet its burden to establish a deliberate and

willful rule violation. See Zuaznabar, 257 Ill. App. 3d at 358-59; Adams, 206 Ill.

App. 3d at 727-28.

¶ 35 In the absence of an express rule or policy prohibiting plaintiff’s actions, we are

left to consider the Board’s determination that “there are some acts of misconduct

that are so serious and so commonly accepted as wrong that employers need not

have rules covering them.” The Board’s conclusion finds support in numerous

appellate court decisions holding that, under certain circumstances, an employer

need not prove the existence of a rule or policy by direct evidence. Instead, these

cases hold, a court may infer a rule violation “by a commonsense realization that

certain conduct intentionally and substantially disregards an employer’s interests.”

Greenlaw v. Department of Employment Security, 299 Ill. App. 3d 446, 448 (1998).

The commonsense rationale was initially applied in cases of criminal conduct.

Meeks v. Department of Employment Security, 208 Ill. App. 3d 579, 585 (1990)

(employer need not prove an express rule against physically assaulting a

coworker); Ray v. Department of Employment Security Board of Review, 244 Ill.

App. 3d 233, 236 (1993) (employer need not prove an express rule against

stealing). The appellate court later expanded the commonsense exception to cases

in which the employee’s conduct was not criminal or universally regarded as

grounds for immediate termination. See Lachenmyer v. Didrickson, 263 Ill. App.

3d 382, 388-89 (1994) (throwing folder toward supervisor); Stovall v. Department

of Employment Security, 262 Ill. App. 3d 1098, 1102-03 (1994) (leaving meeting

and calling supervisor a liar); Greenlaw, 299 Ill. App. 3d at 449 (telling supervisor

to “kiss my grits”); Caterpillar, Inc. v. Department of Employment Security, 313 Ill.

App. 3d 645, 654 (2000) (sexually harassing a coworker); Czajka v. Department of

Employment Security, 387 Ill. App. 3d 168, 177 (2008) (actively challenging an

employer program).

¶ 36 Plaintiff contends that the judicially created commonsense exception cannot be

reconciled with the plain language in section 602(A), which clearly requires

evidence of a deliberate violation of a reasonable rule or policy of the employer.

We agree, with the exception that evidence of a rule need not be shown where the

employee’s conduct would otherwise be illegal or constitute a prima facie

- 12 -

intentional tort. As we have explained, the purpose of a disqualification is to

prevent abuse of the unemployment insurance system by those whose termination

is essentially by choice. Therefore, an employee should not be disqualified unless

she engages in conduct she knew was prohibited. Where an employee’s behavior

would constitute a crime, such as theft or assault, a civil rights violation, such as

sexual harassment, or a prima facie intentional tort, it is fair to say that the

employee knows his actions are likely to result in termination. We hold, therefore,

that in the absence of evidence of an express rule violation, an employee is only

disqualified for misconduct if her conduct was otherwise illegal or would constitute

a prima facie intentional tort.

¶ 37 Since the case at bar does not involve any illegal or intentionally tortious

conduct, evidence of a deliberate rule violation is required. The employer failed to

offer evidence of a rule or policy prohibiting an employee from requesting

champagne or an informal upgrade for a passenger. To the contrary, plaintiff

testified that these types of special favors had been done for airline customers in the

past. She testified that none of her coworkers informed her that they could not grant

her requests. In fact, she was told that it would be “no problem.” No evidence in the

record contradicts plaintiff’s testimony regarding the normal business practices of

her place of employment. Nor was there any evidence introduced of informal or

unwritten rules pertaining to requests for customer upgrades. In the absence of a

rule prohibiting her conduct, plaintiff could not reasonably have predicted that she

would be fired as a result. As we have held, where an employee’s conduct falls

short of being criminal, illegal, or intentionally tortious, the employer must present

evidence of a deliberate rule violation. American failed to do so. Since American

failed to meet its burden of proving that plaintiff was discharged for misconduct

under section 602(A), we find that the Board’s decision finding plaintiff ineligible

for unemployment benefits is clearly erroneous. 3

3

We note that section 602(A) has recently been amended. Pub. Act 99-488 (eff. Jan. 3, 2016)

(amending 820 ILCS 405/602(A) (West 2014)). The amendment lists certain circumstances under

which an employee is disqualified from receiving benefits, “notwithstanding” the definition of

misconduct set forth in the statute. Because the instant case does not involve any of the enumerated

circumstances, the language in the amendment is irrelevant to our analysis.

- 13 -

¶ 38 B. Harm to the Employer or Employees

¶ 39 Plaintiff raises an additional argument that American failed to present evidence

that her conduct either harmed her employer or other employees, or was repeated

despite a warning, as required by section 602(A). In light of our holding that there is

no evidence in the record of a deliberate and willful rule violation by plaintiff, we

find it unnecessary to reach this issue.

¶ 40 CONCLUSION

¶ 41 For the foregoing reasons, we reverse the judgment of the appellate court. We

affirm the order of the circuit court reversing the Board’s decision and finding that

plaintiff is eligible to receive unemployment benefits.

¶ 42 Appellate court judgment reversed.

¶ 43 Circuit court judgment affirmed.

- 14 -

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.