Opinion

Matter of Koniak v. Salamanca Board of Public Utilities

  • 139 A.D.3d 1290
  • 31 N.Y.S.3d 688
Court
Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of the State of New York
Filed
May 19, 2016
Status
Published
Author
Mulvey
On the bench
Mulvey, Peters, Lahtinen, Egan, Devine
Cited by
2 cases
Authority
More cited than 60.2%

The opinion

State of New York

Supreme Court, Appellate Division

Third Judicial Department

Decided and Entered: May 19, 2016 521286

________________________________

In the Matter of the Claim of

ROBERT KONIAK,

Respondent,

v

SALAMANCA BOARD OF PUBLIC MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

UTILITIES et al.,

Appellants.

WORKERS' COMPENSATION BOARD,

Respondent.

________________________________

Calendar Date: April 26, 2016

Before: Peters, P.J., Lahtinen, Egan Jr., Devine and Mulvey, JJ.

__________

Hamberger & Weiss, Buffalo (Kristin M. Machelor of

counsel), for appellants.

Fessenden, Laumer & DeAngelo, Jamestown (Daniel Gullotti of

counsel), for Robert Koniak, respondent.

Eric T. Schneiderman, Attorney General, New York City

(Marjorie S. Leff of counsel), for Workers' Compensation Board,

respondent.

__________

Mulvey, J.

Appeal from a decision of the Workers' Compensation Board,

filed October 16, 2014, which ruled that the workers'

compensation carrier is liable for the payment of medical bills

covering treatment that is causally related to claimant's

established workers' compensation claim.

-2- 521286

On December 4, 2006, claimant was involved in an accident

while working as a lineman for the Salamanca Board of Public

Utilities. On that date, he was clearing utility wires following

an automobile accident and was struck in the back of the neck by

a heavy wire that had been cut from a pole by another lineman.

Claimant sustained injuries to his neck, shoulder and lower back,

which also affected his extremities. Although he only missed a

few days of work, he obtained medical treatment for his injuries

through May 2007. He filed a claim for workers' compensation

benefits with regard to this accident and his case was

established for work-related injuries to his neck and back.

Claimant began working as a lineman for a different public

utility company in 2007. In October 2012, he was performing his

regular job duties and, after throwing a 50-pound pole into his

truck, he experienced numbness and tingling in his left arm and

leg. He received medical treatment through May 2013 and was

diagnosed with various lower back abnormalities. In connection

with such treatment, claimant submitted certain medical bills for

payment as part of his established workers' compensation claim.

The Salamanca Board of Public Utilities and its workers'

compensation carrier (hereinafter collectively referred to as the

carrier) objected on the ground that claimant had sustained a new

injury and the treatment was not causally related to his prior

compensable injury. Following a hearing, a Workers' Compensation

Law Judge found that there was insufficient medical evidence of a

causal relationship and ruled in favor of the carrier. The

Workers' Compensation Board, however, reversed and ruled that the

carrier is liable for payment as it failed to produce sufficient

evidence to deny a causal relationship. The carrier now appeals.

The Board relied heavily upon the statutory presumption set

forth in Workers' Compensation Law § 21 (5) in making its

decision. That provision states that "the contents of medical

and surgical reports introduced in evidence by claimants for

compensation shall constitute prima facie evidence of fact as to

the matter contained therein" (Workers' Compensation Law § 21

[5]; see Matter of Kigin v State of New York Workers'

Compensation Bd., 24 NY3d 459, 468 [2014]). Once the statutory

presumption has been established, the burden shifts to the

carrier to proffer "'substantial evidence' to contradict the

-3- 521286

content of [the] medical reports" (Matter of Kigin v State of New

York Workers' Compensation Bd., 24 NY3d at 468, quoting Workers'

Compensation Law § 21 [5]).

Here, the medical reports prepared by the physicians who

submitted bills for treatment list the injury date as December 4,

2006 and make no reference to any other injuries that may have

occurred in October 2012. Two of these physicians stated in

their reports that there was a causal relationship between the

underlying incident and the injuries for which claimant was being

treated. Significantly, one of these physicians, who treated

claimant immediately after the December 4, 2006 accident and

again in 2013, opined that both claimant's complaints and his own

objective findings were consistent with claimant's history of

injury. In view of this, the statutory presumption set forth in

Workers' Compensation Law § 21 (5) is clearly applicable. The

carrier, however, failed to rebut this presumption by submitting

any evidence to contradict these medical reports (see Matter of

Kigin v State of New York Workers' Compensation Bd., 24 NY3d at

468). Therefore, the Board properly found, in keeping with

statutory purpose of requiring employers to bear the cost of

medical care and treatment "for such period as the nature of the

injury or process of recovery may require" (Workers' Compensation

Law § 13 [a]; see Matter of Spyhalsky v Cross Constr., 294 AD2d

23, 25 [2002]), that the carrier is liable for the payment of

claimant's medical bills.

Peters, P.J., Lahtinen, Egan Jr. and Devine, JJ., concur.

ORDERED that the decision is affirmed, without costs.

ENTER:

Robert D. Mayberger

Clerk of the Court

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.