Opinion

Star Ins. Co. v. Workers' Compensation Appeals Board CA6

Court
California Court of Appeal
Filed
Jan 21, 2016
Status
Unpublished
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 42.9%

The opinion

Filed 1/21/16 Star Ins. Co. v. Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board CA6

NOT TO BE PUBLISHED IN OFFICIAL REPORTS

California Rules of Court, rule 8.1115(a), prohibits courts and parties from citing or relying on opinions not certified for

publication or ordered published, except as specified by rule 8.1115(b). This opinion has not been certified for publication

or ordered published for purposes of rule 8.1115.

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

SIXTH APPELLATE DISTRICT

STAR INSURANCE COMPANY, H042244

(W.C.A.B. No. ADJ8247302)

Petitioner,

v.

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

APPEALS BOARD and MARIA ROSA

TAVARES et al.,

Respondents.

Maria Rosa Tavares (Maria), the widow of Armando Tavares (Tavares), and

Tavares’s dependent children were awarded workers’ compensation death benefits.

Tavares, a tractor driver, died of ischemic heart disease after complaining of chest pain

while at work. After the Worker’s Compensation Appeals Board (Board) denied its

petition for reconsideration, Star Insurance Co., the employer’s workers’ compensation

insurance carrier, (petitioner) filed a petition for writ of review in this court. (See Labor

Code, § 5950.)1 It asserts that substantial evidence did not support a finding that

Tavares’s death arose out of his employment.

The medical experts agreed Tavares had very severe coronary artery disease and

his sudden death at work was the result of a cardiac event. The issue before us is whether

1

All further statutory references are to the Labor Code.

the evidence was sufficient to show that Tavares’s employment contributed to his death.

We find the evidence sufficient and affirm.

I

Procedural History

Maria applied for adjudication of her workers’ compensation claim for death

benefits on behalf of herself and three dependent children. Maria was appointed as those

children’s guardian ad litem and trustee to prosecute the case on their behalf.

Following a hearing on December 3, 2014, the Worker’s Compensation

Administrative Law Judge (WCJ) found that Tavares had sustained an injury arising out

of employment and in the course of employment (AOE/COE) “consisting of a fatal heart

attack/heart-cardiovascular injury resulting in death.” The WCJ determined that the

dependents were entitled to a death benefit of $320,000.

The WCJ’s opinion explained that the determination had been based on the

medical reports of two physicians, Revels Cayton, M.D., and Maria Nellie Betancourt,

M.D. It stated: “Both doctors agree that Mr. Tavares’[s] heart attack was caused by the

physical strain he exerted while using the restroom facilities at work. [Tavares’s]

restroom activities are considered to have arisen out of and during the course and scope

of his employment based on decisions in Allied Signal Inc. v. WCAP (Briggs) 66 Cal.

Comp. Cases 1333 (2001) and Smith v. WCAB (196[9]) 71 Cal.2d 588, 34 Cal. Comp.

Cases 424. These cases hold that an injury precipitated by a movement which is

incidental to the employment constitutes a compensable injury even though it is a normal

bodily movement.”

Petitioner filed a petition for reconsideration challenging the sufficiency of the

evidence. Petitioner pointed out that Dr. Cayton expressed no opinion that physical

straining in the bathroom was a causal factor in Tavares’s heart attack. Petitioner argued

that the finding that Tavares’s death arose out of his employment was not supported by

substantial evidence.

2

More specifically, petitioner asserted that Dr. Cayton’s report, which indicated

that the exertion of power washing his equipment contributed to or hastened Tavares’s

fatal heart attack, did not constitute substantial evidence because it was conclusory and

speculative and it failed to provide supportive scientific reasoning. Petitioner further

argued that Dr. Betancourt’s report did not constitute substantial evidence because her

articulated theory, that Tavares had engaged in a Valsalva maneuver in an attempt to

defecate, and he had, thereby, precipitated his heart attack did not reflect medical

probability.

The WCJ’s report and recommendation on the petition for reconsideration

concluded that each doctor’s opinion provided independent, substantial evidence

supporting the decision to award death benefits. As to Dr. Cayton’s report, which

indicated that Tavares’s work activity was a contributing cause of his heart attack and

death, the WCJ’s report stated that the doctor’s opinion was neither conclusory nor

speculative because the doctor provided a logical explanation for concluding that activity

hastened Tavares’s death. As to Dr. Betancourt’s report, the WCJ indicated that the

report permitted an inference of industrial injury and that scientific certainty is not

necessary to establish industrial causation. The WCJ indicated that Dr. Betancourt’s

stated conclusion that the Valsalva maneuver was the most likely cause of injury met the

burden of proof. The WCJ further concluded that, under the personal comfort and

convenience doctrine, Tavares’s fatal injury while using restroom facilities was sufficient

to establish an industrial injury because it resulted from a combination of the Valsalva

maneuver and his compromised coronary artery system.

The Board adopted the reasons stated in the WCJ’s report and denied the petition

for reconsideration.

3

II

Facts

Tavares had been employed by Luis Scattini & Sons for three to four years before

his death. He worked as a tractor driver on a seasonal basis and drove a tractor

approximately 10 hours a day. Tavares sometimes worked as many as 12 hours a day,

and he was a dedicated and conscientious employee. In the opinion of Gregory Scattini

(Gregory), who managed the business’s operations in the fields and office, the job duties

of a tractor driver were not physically demanding.

On June 13, 2011, Tavares reported to work at 6:00 a.m. He drove a Caterpillar

Challenger that pulled a disc. At about 11:00 a.m., Tavares was pressure washing the

mud off the tractor and disc. He used a motorized cart with a hose for this purpose.

Tavares went over to Gregory’s truck and told Gregory and the foreman, that he was

having chest pain. It did not appear to be an emergency and the foreman was going to

drive Tavares to see a doctor. Gregory left for another area of the ranch.

Tavares asked to use the restroom before he went to the doctor. He went into the

portable toilet, but he did not come out. Coworkers knocked on the door, but they did not

receive a response. The door was forced open, and Tavares was found in a sitting

position, leaning against the wall. Someone called 911. The first responders pronounced

Tavares dead at 12:15 p.m., after they had attempted advanced cardiac life support and

consulted with a doctor at Salinas Valley Memorial Hospital.

A day or two before his death, Tavares had complained of chest pain to a

coworker. Tavares’s younger brother indicated that Tavares had diabetes.

The report of the forensic pathologist, who performed the postmortem

examination of Tavares, described him as a Hispanic male, 48 years of age, 70 inches

tall, and weighing 251 pounds. It stated that Tavares “died as a result of ischemic heart

disease due to coronary artery atherosclerosis (heart attack due to hardening and

narrowing of arteries which supply the heart muscle).” It listed the cause of death as

4

“Ischemic heart disease (years) due to coronary artery atherosclerosis (years).” The

internal examination of Tavares’s coronary arteries had disclosed “[e]xtensive severe

atherosclerotic changes, widespread calcification, and long segments greater than 90%

narrowing of all proximal coronary arteries, with evidence of old occlusion and

recanalization o[f] [the] right coronary artery.” The pathologist had found a “gelatinous

dark red blood clot occluding the proximal left anterior descending coronary artery.”

The coroner’s report stated that Tavares’s death, although occurring at work, “was

related to natural disease process and not any sort of work place accident.”

Dr. Betancourt’s report, dated June 5, 2013, provided her preliminary opinion that

Tavares’s death was “solely due to nonoccupational, pre-existing and extensive coronary

artery disease without any contribution from work.”

Dr. Betancourt’s report, dated August 9, 2013, concluded: “[W]ithin reasonable

medical probability and based on the entire evidence reviewed, in my professional

opinion [Tavares’s] coronary artery disease was severe enough to be the sole cause of his

sudden death. I have seen no evidence in support of a work-related contribution, not

even to a minimal degree.”

Dr. Cayton’s report, dated November 25, 2013, indicated that he had reviewed

Dr. Betancourt’s medical report. He agreed that Tavares had very severe coronary artery

disease, but he concluded that Tavares’s “significant activity placed him at increased risk

for the development of a sudden cardiac event.” Dr. Cayton stated: “In the case of

Mr. Tavares, that increased activity was in the form of washing disk brakes [sic]. I think

it is fairly obvious given the extensiveness in the coronary disease had he not washed

those disk brakes [sic] and had he not come to work that day there is a good chance that

he would have survived to hospitalization and be alive today.” Dr. Cayton also opined:

“Absent work, Mr. Tavares had a greater likelihood of surviving. Work certainly

hastened his deterioration.”

5

Dr. Betancourt’s report, dated March 12, 2014, indicated that she had reviewed

Dr. Cayton’s report and found his reasoning as to Tavares’s death to be mere speculation.

She believed that “the most likely specific mechanism of injury leading to his death” was

his performance of a Valsalva maneuver. She stated: “[F]or all we know, [Tavares] may

have felt the need to defecate, may have had to do a Valsalva maneuver to force the

stools out and that may have tipped the scales enough to provoke a cardiac

decompensation leading to death. A Valsalva maneuver is performed by a moderately

forceful attempted exhalation against a closed airway, which increases the intra-

abdominal pressure, which in turn facilitates passage of stool through the anus.”2

III

Sufficiency of the Evidence

A. Standard of Review

“ ‘Judicial review of the Board’s decision on factual matters is limited to

determining whether the decision, based on the entire record, is supported by substantial

evidence.’ [Citations.] In this context, judicial review has been expressly limited by

statute to whether the award ‘was not supported by substantial evidence’ and the factual

findings ‘support the . . . award.’ (§ 5952, subds. (d), (e).) Indeed, section 5952

expressly provides that ‘[n]othing in this section shall permit the court . . . to exercise its

2

Dr. Betancourt further explained the affect of a Valsalva maneuver on the heart:

“This maneuver poses a challenge to the heart because the pressure inside the chest needs

to rise, abruptly forcing the blood out of the pulmonary circulation into the left atrium,

which immediately floods the left ventricle, causing the myocardium to stretch in

response to the rush of volume into the left ventricular chamber, leading to an increase in

stroke volume. This increases the immediate energy (oxygen) requirements of the

myocardial cells, as the blood needs to be pushed out of the left ventricle. This requires a

forceful cardiac contraction against increased peripheral resistance from the increased

chest pressure. It also causes decreased myocardial perfusion because the myocardium is

contracting, and this decreases the coronary blood flow.”

6

independent judgment on the evidence.’ ” (South Coast Framing, Inc. v. Workers’ Comp.

Appeals Board (2015) 61 Cal.4th 291, 302-303 (South Coast Framing).)

“The WCJ’s findings of fact, and the Board’s adoption of them, ‘are final and

conclusive and not subject to appellate review if supported by substantial evidence in

light of the entire record. [Citations.] Substantial evidence must be reasonable in nature,

credible, and of solid value such that a reasonable mind might accept it as adequate to

support a conclusion. [Citation.] In examining the entire record, this court “may not

simply isolate evidence which supports or disapproves the board’s conclusions and

ignore other relevant facts which rebut or explain the supporting evidence . . . .” ’

[Citations.]” (South Coast Framing, supra, 61 Cal.4th at p. 303.)

“The Legislature, by enacting section 3202, has helped frame the issue of review

by an appellate court. That section provides that issues of compensation for injured

workers ‘shall be liberally construed by the courts with the purpose of extending their

benefits for the protection of persons injured in the course of their employment.’ Thus,

‘ “[a]lthough the employee bears the burden of proving that his injury was sustained in

the course of his employment, the established legislative policy is that the Workmen’s

Compensation Act must be liberally construed in the employee’s favor . . . , and all

reasonable doubts as to whether an injury arose out of employment are to be resolved in

favor of the employee. [Citation.] This rule is binding upon the board and this court.” ’

(Lamb v. Workmen’s Comp. Appeals Bd. (1974) 11 Cal.3d 274, 280.)” (Department of

Rehabilitation v. Workers’ Comp. Appeals Bd. (2003) 30 Cal.4th 1281, 1290.)

B. Governing Law

Section 3600, subdivision (a), provides in pertinent part: “Liability for [workers’

compensation benefits], in lieu of any other liability whatsoever to any person except as

otherwise specifically provided . . . , shall, without regard to negligence, exist against an

employer for any injury sustained by his or her employees arising out of and in the

course of the employment and for the death of any employee if the injury proximately

7

causes death, in those cases where the following conditions of compensation concur:

[¶] . . . [¶] (2) Where, at the time of the injury, the employee is performing service

growing out of and incidental to his or her employment and is acting within the course of

his or her employment. [¶] (3) Where the injury is proximately caused by the

employment, either with or without negligence.” (Italics added.) “ ‘Injury’ includes any

injury or disease arising out of the employment . . . .” (§ 3208.)

“The requirement of Labor Code section 3600 is twofold. On the one hand, the

injury must occur ‘in the course of the employment.’ This concept ‘ordinarily refers to

the time, place, and circumstances under which the injury occurs.’ (2 Hanna, [Cal. Law

of Employee Injuries and Workmen’s Compensation (2d ed. 1982)] at § 9.01(1)(b),

fn. omitted.)” (Maher v. Workers’ Comp. Appeals Bd. (1983) 33 Cal.3d 729, 733

(Maher).) “On the other hand, the statute requires that an injury ‘arise out of’ the

employment. Whether this standard has been met in this case is a more difficult question.

It has long been settled that for an injury to ‘arise out of the employment’ it must ‘occur

by reason of a condition or incident of [the] employment . . . .’ (Employers etc. Ins. Co. v.

Ind. Acc. Com. (1953) 41 Cal.2d 676, 679.) That is, the employment and the injury must

be linked in some causal fashion. (Kimbol v. Industrial Acc. Commission (1916) 173 Cal.

351, 353.)” (Id. at pp. 733-734.)

“The applicant for workers’ compensation benefits has the burden of establishing

the ‘reasonable probability of industrial causation.’ [Citations.] The applicable standard

of proof is ‘proof by a preponderance of the evidence.’ (Lab.Code, § 3202.5.)”

(LaTourette v. Workers’ Comp. Appeals Bd. (1998) 17 Cal.4th 644, 650; see South Coast

Framing, supra, 61 Cal.4th at p. 297.) “If the [industrial] injury causes death, the

8

worker’s dependents are entitled to a death benefit. (§ 4701, subd. (b).)”3 (South Coast

Framing, supra, at p. 297.)

“Tort law and the workers’ compensation system are significantly different. One

result of the difference is the role and application of causation principles. ‘[A]lthough

Labor Code section 3600 refers to “proximate cause,” its definition in workers’

compensation cases is not identical to that found in the common law of torts. [Citation.]

“In fact, the proximate cause requirement of Labor Code section 3600 has been

interpreted as merely elaborating on the general requirement that the injury arise out of

the employment.” [Citation.] The danger from which the employee’s injury results must

be one to which he was exposed in his employment. [Citation.] “ ‘All that is required is

that the employment be one of the contributing causes without which the injury would

not have occurred.’ ” [Citation.]’ [Citations.]” (South Coast Framing, supra, 61 Cal.4th

at pp. 297-298.)

“Legal causation in tort law has traditionally required two elements: cause in fact

and proximate cause. ‘An act is a cause in fact if it is a necessary antecedent of an

event.’ [Citation.] This has traditionally been expressed as the ‘ “but for” ’ test, i.e., if

the injury ‘would have happened anyway, whether the defendant was negligent or not,

then his or her negligence was not a cause in fact.’ [Citations.] ‘California has

definitively adopted the substantial factor test of the Restatement Second of Torts for

cause-in-fact determinations. [Citation.] Under that standard, a cause in fact is

3

Death benefits are not apportioned between various contributing causes.

(§ 4702.) Except as otherwise provided, the death benefit in cases of total dependency

with “three or more total dependents and regardless of the number of partial dependents,”

is “three hundred twenty thousand dollars ($320,000), for injuries occurring on or after

January 1, 2006.” (§ 4702, subd. (a)(5).) “[T]he Legislature has determined that it is

socially desirable to make a reasonably adequate provision for such dependents in every

case of industrially caused death without regard to other considerations.” (Pacific Gas &

Elec. Co. v. Ind. Acc. Com. (1961) 56 Cal.2d 219, 222-223.)

9

something that is a substantial factor in bringing about the injury.’ [Citation.] ‘[T]he

“substantial factor” test subsumes the “but for” test.’ [Citations.]” (South Coast

Framing, supra, 61 Cal.4th at p. 298.)

“[T]he workers’ compensation system is not based upon fault. ‘It seeks (1) to

ensure that the cost of industrial injuries will be part of the cost of goods rather than a

burden on society, (2) to guarantee prompt, limited compensation for an employee’s work

injuries, regardless of fault, as an inevitable cost of production, (3) to spur increased

industrial safety, and (4) in return, to insulate the employer from tort liability for his

employees’ injuries.’ [Citations.]” (South Coast Framing, supra, 61 Cal.4th at p. 298.)

Because the workers’ compensation system is not based upon fault and because statutory

policy favors awards of employee benefits, section 3600’s requirements of causation are

less demanding than tort law. (South Coast Framing, supra, at p. 298.) “Tort liability

only attaches if the defendant’s negligence was a significant or substantial factor in

causing injury. In the workers’ compensation system, the industrial injury need only be a

contributing cause to the disability.” (Id. at p. 299.)

In addition, “[t]he rule has been long established in workers’ compensation cases

that ‘an employer takes the employee as he finds him at the time of the employment.’

(Ballard v. Workmen’s Comp. App. Bd. (1971) 3 Cal.3d 832, 837.)” (Maher, supra, 33

Cal.3d at p. 734.) “[A]ggravation of an existing infirmity where such aggravation is

proximately caused by the employment is compensable, even though a normal man

would not have been adversely affected. This rule applies even though it is shown that

the employee would have ultimately died from such disease, if the evidence shows and [it

is found] that the injury hastened or produced his death. [Citations.]” (Liberty Mut. Ins.

Co. v. Ind. Acc. Com. (1946) 73 Cal.App.2d 555, 559; see id. at pp. 556-557 [while lifting

a heavy bag, employee with preexisting heart disease experienced severe pain, “later

diagnosed as an occlusion of the left coronary artery with infarction of the left ventricle

of the heart”].) Thus, “a disability that is in part attributable to a preexisting disease is

10

nonetheless compensable so long as a worker’s employment played any contributing role

in either aggravating the progressive heart disease or in hastening the occurrence of a

heart attack (see, e.g., Lamb v. Workmen’s Comp. Appeals Bd. (1974) 11 Cal.3d 274, 281

& fn. 6).” (City and County of San Francisco v. Workers’ Comp. Appeals Bd. (1978) 22

Cal.3d 103, 115.)

“ ‘[A]n employee may not be denied compensation merely because his physical

condition was such that he sustained a disability which a person of stronger constitution

or in better health would not have suffered.’ [Citations.]” (South Coast Framing, supra,

61 Cal.4t at p. 300.) “ ‘A person suffering from a preexisting disease who is disabled by

an injury proximately arising out of the employment is entitled to compensation even

though a normal man would not have been adversely affected by the event.’ [Citations.]”

(Lamb v. Workmen’s Comp. Appeals Bd., supra, 11 Cal.3d at p. 282 (Lamb).)

“Though an injury to be compensable must arise out of the employment, that is,

occur by reason of a condition or incident of employment, the injury need not be of a

kind anticipated by the employer nor peculiar to the employment in the sense that it

would not have occurred elsewhere. [Citations.] If we look for a causal connection

between the employment and the injury, such connection need not be the sole cause; it is

sufficient if it is a contributory cause. [Citation.]” (Employers Etc. Ins. Co. v. Ind. Acc.

Com. (1953) 41 Cal.2d at pp. 679-680.)

C. Analysis

Dr. Cayton’s report recognized Tavares suffered from profound heart disease and

severely compromised coronary arteries. His report can be reasonably interpreted as

reflecting findings that Tavares’s heart disease was so extensive and severe that any kind

of physical stress or exertion would be sufficient to increase his risk of a sudden cardiac

event and hasten such event, and that, in this instance, Tavares’s power washing of his

equipment constituted such physical stress or exertion. Dr. Cayton implicitly concluded

11

that Tavares’s performance of his work duties was a contributing causal factor in

hastening his death.

Dr. Cayton had reviewed the forensic pathology report, the coroner’s report,

Dr. Betancourt’s June 5, 2013 and August 9, 2013 medical reports, and the witness

statements obtained in the insurance investigation. The evidence showed that the

postmortem examination revealed very significant heart disease and coronary artery

atherosclerosis. Tavares complained about having chest pains about the time he engaged

in the physical activity of power washing. His death due to a heart attack was close in

time to that activity.

We recognize that “not all expert medical opinion constitutes substantial evidence

upon which the Board may rest its decision.” (Hegglin v. Workmen’s Comp. App. Bd.

(1971) 4 Cal.3d 162, 169 (Hegglin).) “Medical reports and opinions are not substantial

evidence if they are known to be erroneous, or if they are based on facts no longer

germane, on inadequate medical histories and examinations, or on incorrect legal

theories. Medical opinion also fails to support the Board’s findings if it is based on

surmise, speculation, conjecture, or guess. [Citation.]” (Ibid.)

Dr. Cayton’s report indicated that the physical exertion of power washing did

contribute to the occurrence of Tavares’s heart attack. That opinion was not unfounded

speculation. It rested upon relevant facts of Tavares’s heart disease as established by the

autopsy reports and the evidence of what Tavares was doing around the time he

complained of chest pain at work, which was not long before he died of a heart attack.

Dr. Cayton did not offer a bare legal conclusion. (See Hegglin, supra, 4 Cal.3d at

pp. 170-171 [doctor’s opinion that employee able to perform moderate work constituted

substantial evidence since it was based primarily upon tests of the level of liver enzymes

in his blood]; cf. Zemke v. Workmen’s Comp. App. Bd. (1968) 68 Cal.2d 794, 798-799

[doctor’s opinion that a 50 percent apportionment would be fair posed a mere legal

conclusion]; Granado v. Workmen’s Comp. App. Bd. (1968) 69 Cal.2d 399, 407 [doctor’s

12

opinion that 50 percent apportionment was reasonable constituted mere legal

conclusion]4.) “[T]he relevant and considered opinion of one physician, though

inconsistent with other medical opinions, may constitute substantial evidence [citations].”

(Smith v. Workmen’s Comp. App. Bd. (1969) 71 Cal.2d 588, 592 (Smith).)

Dr. Cayton’s opinions are based on correct law. “[E]ven though an employee’s

underlying heart disease was not caused by his employment, his disability or death is

compensable if such disease is aggravated or accelerated by his work. [Citations.]”

(Smith, supra, 71 Cal.2d at p. 592.) “Where an employee suffers a heart attack brought

on by strain and over-exertion incident to his employment the injury or death is

compensable, even though the idiopathic condition previously existed, and no traumatic

injury is necessary. [Citations.]” (Lumbermen’s Mut. Cas. Co. v. Ind. Acc. Com. (1946)

29 Cal.2d 492, 496-497 (Lumbermen’s); see Fogarty v. Depart. of Indus. (1928) 206 Cal.

102, 110.) Moreover, the physical exertion or strain need not be “unusual or other than

that occurring in the normal course of the employment.” (Lumbermen’s, supra, at p. 497;

see Lamb, supra, 11 Cal.3d at p. 283 & fn. 8 [actual effect of employment upon the

particular worker, not inherent stress of job duties, must be assessed].)

Dr. Cayton’s medical opinion together with the evidence of Tavares’s very severe

heart disease and his complaints of chest pains around the time he was power washing his

equipment, a short time before he suffered a fatal heart attack, provided substantial

evidence for finding that Tavares’s employment was a contributory cause of that cardiac

4

Apportionment of permanent disability is now based on causation. (§ 4663,

subd. (a).) An employer is liable only “for the percentage of permanent disability directly

caused by the injury arising out of and occurring in the course of employment.” (§ 4664,

subd. (a).) A physician’s report must include an apportionment determination “by

finding what approximate percentage of the permanent disability was caused by the direct

result of injury arising out of and occurring in the course of employment and what

approximate percentage of the permanent disability was caused by other factors . . . .”

(§ 4663, subd. (b).)

13

event. We find it unnecessary to resolve whether Dr. Betancourt’s opinions provide a

further, independent basis for upholding the Board’s decision awarding death benefits.

Accordingly, we will affirm the Board’s order denying the petition for

reconsideration. (See § 5953.)

IV

Daubert v. Merrell Dow Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

Petitioner asserts this case presents an opportunity for this court to clarify whether

workers’ compensation cases are exempt from the evidentiary standards set forth in

Daubert v. Merrell Dow Pharmaceuticals, Inc. (1993) 509 U.S. 579 (Daubert).5

Petitioner argues that Daubert should be applied generally to workers’ compensation

matters and particularly to the medical evidence in this case.

Petitioner did not raise this evidentiary issue in its petition for reconsideration.

Section 5904 provides: “The petitioner for reconsideration shall be deemed to have

finally waived all objections, irregularities, and illegalities concerning the matter upon

which the reconsideration is sought other than those set forth in the petition for

reconsideration.” Accordingly, petitioner may not raise the issue for the first time on in

its petition for writ of review. (See Nicky Blair’s Restaurant v. Workers’ Comp. Appeals

Bd. (1980) 109 Cal.App.3d 941, 959.)

5

In Daubert, the United States Supreme Court considered former Rule 702 of the

Federal Rules of Evidence, which governed expert testimony, and it set forth a number of

non-exclusive factors that trial courts could consider in assessing the reliability of

scientific expert testimony. (Daubert, supra, 509 U.S. at p. 593.) Those factors

included: (1) whether a scientific theory or technique can be and has been tested (ibid.);

(2) whether the theory or technique has been subjected to peer review and publication

(ibid.); (3) the known or potential rate of error of a particular scientific technique (id. at p.

594); the existence and maintenance of standards controlling the operation of a particular

scientific technique (ibid.); and (5) whether a theory or technique has been generally

accepted in the relevant scientific community (ibid.).

14

Furthermore, we would reject petitioner’s contention on the merits. “All hearings

and investigations before the appeals board or a workers’ compensation judge are

governed by [Division 4 of the Labor Code] and by the rules of practice and procedures

adopted by the appeals board.” (§ 5708.) The Board and workers’ compensation judges

are not “bound by the common law or statutory rules of evidence and procedure . . . .”

(Ibid.) Section 5709 provides: “No informality in any proceeding or in the manner of

taking testimony shall invalidate any order, decision, award, or rule made and filed as

specified in this division. No order, decision, award, or rule shall be invalidated because

of the admission into the record, and use as proof of any fact in dispute, of any evidence

not admissible under the common law or statutory rules of evidence and procedure.” It is

simply not the province of this court to establish evidentiary rules for workers’

compensation proceedings. (Cf. South Coast Framing, supra, 61 Cal.4th at p. 307.)

V

Attorney Fees

Maria requested that this court remand the case to the Board for an award of

attorney fees pursuant to section 5801. Section 5801 provides in pertinent part: “In the

event the injured employee or the dependent of a deceased employee prevails in any

petition by the employer for a writ of review from an award of the appeals board and the

reviewing court finds that there is no reasonable basis for the petition, it shall remand the

cause to the appeals board for the purpose of making a supplemental award awarding to

the injured employee or his attorney, or the dependent of a deceased employee or his

attorney a reasonable attorney’s fee for services rendered in connection with the petition

for writ of review.” “Attorneys’ fees are not, however, automatically awarded simply

because an appellate court affirms the WCAB’s decision. [Citation.]” (Crown Appliance

v. Workers’ Comp. Appeals Bd. (2004) 115 Cal.App.4th 620, 627.)

While we have ultimately concluded that substantial evidence supports the

Board’s implicit finding that Tavares’s death arose out of his employment based on

15

Dr. Cayton’s report in light of the entire record, the question was close. We cannot say

that there was no reasonable basis for the petition for writ of review.

DISPOSITION

The Board’s order denying the petition for reconsideration is affirmed. The

request for remand to allow the Board to make a supplemental award of attorney fees

pursuant to section 5801 is denied.

16

_________________________________

ELIA, ACTING P.J.

WE CONCUR:

_______________________________

BAMATTRE-MANOUKIAN, J.

_______________________________

MIHARA, J.

Star Insurance Company v. Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

H042244

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.