Opinion

Transportes Ferreos De Venezuela II CA v. NKK Corp.

  • 239 F.3d 555
  • 2001 U.S. App. LEXIS 1809
  • 2001 WL 113797
Court
Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit
Filed
Feb 8, 2001
Author
Cudahy
On the bench
McKee, Rosenn, Cudahy
Cited by
9 cases
Authority
More cited than 61.8%

The opinion

Opinions of the United

2001 Decisions States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit

2-8-2001

Transportes Ferreos v. NKK Corp

Precedential or Non-Precedential:

Docket 99-5697

Follow this and additional works at: http://digitalcommons.law.villanova.edu/thirdcircuit_2001

Recommended Citation

"Transportes Ferreos v. NKK Corp" (2001). 2001 Decisions. Paper 24.

http://digitalcommons.law.villanova.edu/thirdcircuit_2001/24

This decision is brought to you for free and open access by the Opinions of the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit at Villanova

University School of Law Digital Repository. It has been accepted for inclusion in 2001 Decisions by an authorized administrator of Villanova

University School of Law Digital Repository. For more information, please contact Benjamin.Carlson@law.villanova.edu.

Filed February 8, 2001

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 99-5697

TRANSPORTES FERREOS DE VENEZUELA II CA,

Appellant

v.

NKK CORPORATION; EDC, INC.;

THE SHEFFER CORPORATION

THE SHEFFER CORPORATION,

Third-Party Plaintiff

v.

JORGENSEN STEEL & ALUMINUM, a division of

EARLE M. JORGENSEN COMPANY; ARTCO, INC.,

Third-Party Defendants

EDC, INC.,

Third-Party Plaintiff

v.

HARTFORD FIRE INSURANCE COMPANY,

Third-Party Defendant

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the District of New Jersey

D.C. No. 96-cv-04016

District Judge: Dickinson R. Debevoise

Argued: December 4, 2000

Before: McKEE, ROSENN, and CUDAHY,*

Circuit Judges.

(Filed: February 8, 2001)

Robert G. Clyne (argued)

Hill Rivkins & Hayden LLP

1 Exchange Place, Suite 1000

Jersey City, NJ 07302-3911

Counsel for Appellant

Michael J. Breslin, Jr., Esq. (ar gued)

Breslin & McNerney

14 Washington Place

Hackensack, New Jersey 07601

Counsel for Appellee

OPINION OF THE COURT

CUDAHY, Circuit Judge.

In April 1995, the ship boom on a vessel owned by

Transportes Ferreos de Venezuela II CA (TFV) collapsed.

TFV sued EDC, Inc., the boom's designer and supplier , and

in August 1998, the parties settled. As part of the

settlement, EDC agreed to the entry of a $1 million

judgment against it, in favor of TFV. TFV agr eed not to

execute this judgment, and in exchange, EDC assigned its

rights under an insurance contract it held with Hartford

Fire Insurance Company (Hartford) to TFV . TFV then

attempted to recover the amount of EDC's $1 million

settlement from Hartford. The district court found for

Hartford, holding that Hartford was substantially

prejudiced by the fact that it was not notified of the

accident until three years after it happened. W e reverse and

remand.

_________________________________________________________________

* Honorable Richard D. Cudahy, Circuit Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals for

the Seventh Circuit, sitting by designation.

2

I. BACKGROUND

A. Facts

TFV owned two vessels that it used to transport ir on ore:

the M/V Rio Caroni (a bulk carrier) and the F/T Boca

Grande (a floating terminal and transfer station). The Rio

Caroni carried iron ore down the Orinoco River in

Venezuela from various inland points and, on arrival at the

mouth of the river, unloaded the ore onto the Boca Grande.

The Boca Grande then placed the ore on ocean-going

vessels.

In August 1992, TFV's predecessor, Deltamar S.A.,

entered into a contract with the NKK Corporation for the

conversion of the Rio Caroni from bulk carrier to self-

unloading shuttle vessel. As part of the conversion, NKK

was required to build a materials handling system--

consisting essentially of a series of conveyor belts and a

boom--that would be placed on the Rio Caroni to facilitate

the movement of iron ore onto the vessel and its discharge

from the vessel. NKK subcontracted the design and

furnishing of the materials handling system to EDC, Inc.,

which was to provide NKK with engineering expertise,

drawings and parts. In turn, NKK would then assemble the

provided parts to complete the conversion of the Rio Caroni.

See Appx. 119.

One of the parts EDC contracted to supply was a boom

cylinder, which formed part of the boom's hoisting

mechanism. Because EDC was itself unable to build the

boom cylinder, EDC subcontracted the manufacture of this

part to the Sheffer Corporation. Exactly which party

designed the boom cylinder is unclear from the record on

appeal. The purchase order for the boom cylinder, which

refers to a "Sheffer Hydraulic Boom Hoist Cylinder,"

indicates that Sheffer regularly of fered several standard

boom cylinder models for sale to the public. See Appx. 142.

However, the numerous specifications in the purchase

order--for example, the purchase or der stated that "blind

or piston end of the cylinder to have pivot mount . . .

suitable for 350 mm pin"--indicate that EDC pr ovided at

least some special parameters with which Shef fer's cylinder

was required to comply. See id. As such, the boom cylinder

3

appears to be a modified Sheffer cylinder , custom-built to

EDC's specifications.

On April 15, 1995, the Rio Caroni's new boom suddenly

collapsed while the vessel was unloading ore onto the Boca

Grande, damaging both vessels. An investigation by W alter

Herbst, president of EDC, revealed that the boom's collapse

was due to a sudden fracture of the steel r od-eye, a

component of the boom cylinder that had been built for

EDC by Sheffer. See Appx. 151. However, Herbst's report

was not able to pinpoint the exact cause of the r od-eye's

failure, giving ten possible reasons for it--including possible

design and manufacturing defects. At the request of TFV,

EDC arranged for metallurgical testing of the rod-eye by

Professional Services Industries, Inc. (PSI) to determine the

precise cause of the rod-eye's failur e. PSI determined that

the rod-eye failed in a brittle manner, possibly due to its

fabrication from an inferior grade of steel. See Appx. 161-

62. Following PSI's analysis of the rod-eye, EDC refused to

pay a monthly storage fee for the rod-eye. Consequently,

the rod-eye was discarded by PSI prior to the

commencement of this suit, and it cannot now be

recovered.

B. District Court Proceedings

On August 21, 1996, TFV filed suit in the United States

District Court for the District of New Jersey against NKK,

EDC and Sheffer, seeking an awar d of $3.6 million for the

physical damage to its vessels, as well as compensation for

economic losses attributed to the vessels' being out of

operation. In its answer to TFV's complaint, EDC asserted

a cross-claim against Sheffer, alleging that Sheffer should

pay any judgment entered against EDC because it had

improperly manufactured the rod-eye. The district court

had subject matter jurisdiction over this cause pursuant to

28 U.S.C. S 1332.

Through discovery, TFV learned that EDC was insured

under a policy with Hartford. This Compr ehensive General

Liability and Business Liability Policy provided a $2 million

aggregate limit for business liability claims. On March 6,

1998, TFV notified Hartford of the accident and pending

litigation. (Thus, Hartford became awar e of the accident

4

approximately three years after the accident occurred and

not until after this litigation was instituted.) On May 15,

1998, EDC brought suit in New Jersey state court, seeking

from Hartford coverage and/or a defense of TFV's suit.

Hartford denied both coverage and a defense; thereafter, for

reasons not reflected in the recor d on appeal, the state

court action was dismissed. Hartford was then brought into

the instant action as a third-party defendant by way of

EDC's third-party complaint. In its thir d-party answer to

this complaint, dated July 8, 1998, Hartford denied that its

policy covered EDC for the losses sustained on TFV's

vessels and refused to defend EDC in the pr esent action.

See Appx. 46-53.

On August 10, 1998, approximately one month after

being joined in the present lawsuit, Hartfor d, along with the

other parties to this suit, attended an all-day settlement

conference before the magistrate judge assigned to this

case. At the conference, TFV agreed to settle its claims

against all parties for $1.85 million. During the settlement

conference, the magistrate judge informed Hartford that it

could settle on behalf of EDC for $750,000. If Hartford

chose not to settle, the magistrate advised the participants

that EDC was going to consent to judgment in the amount

of $1 million and assign its rights under the insurance

contract to TFV. At Hartford's r equest, the magistrate judge

allowed it two weeks to consider which of the two options

it would accept.

Hartford chose not to settle on behalf of EDC. Instead, in

a letter dated August 18, 1998, Hartford infor med EDC that

it would now agree to provide EDC with a defense, subject

to a reservation of rights as to coverage of the claim. See

Appx. 377. On August 26, counsel for all parties

participated in a telephone conference with the magistrate

judge, during which the judge informed Hartfor d that, in

spite of Hartford's offer to defend EDC, the parties had

signed a settlement agreement. Under the final terms of the

settlement, TFV received $500,000 from Sheffer and

$350,000 from various parties, including NKK and the

supplier of the steel used in the rod-eye's manufacture. The

settlement also made EDC liable to TFV for $1 million.

However, because EDC could not affor d to pay the $1

5

million settlement amount, it consented instead to a

judgment against it in favor of TFV. TFV agr eed not to

execute this judgment, and in exchange EDC assigned all of

its claims against Hartford to TFV.

Thus, following the settlement, TFV and Hartfor d were

the only two parties remaining in this suit. TFV moved, and

Hartford cross-moved, for summary judgment. The district

court granted Hartford's motion for summary judgment,

finding that the late notice of the accident voided coverage.

The district court also found that Hartford suf fered

substantial prejudice due to the late notice because EDC's

consent to disposal of the rod-eye prevented Hartford from

examining the rod-eye itself. The district court believed that

Hartford was further prejudiced because the late notice

prevented it from filing a cross-claim for indemnification

against Sheffer.

TFV appeals. We have appellate jurisdiction over both the

grant of Hartford's summary judgment motion and the

denial of TFV's motion. See 28 U.S.C. S 1291.

II. DISCUSSION

The decision below arises out of cross-motions for

summary judgment. Such motions:

are no more than a claim by each side that it alone is

entitled to summary judgment, and the making of such

inherently contradictory claims does not constitute an

agreement that if one is rejected the other is

necessarily justified or that the losing party waives

judicial consideration and determination whether

genuine issues of material fact exist.

Rains v. Cascade Indus., Inc., 402 F.2d 241, 245 (3d Cir.

1968). In addition, "when an appeal from a denial of

summary judgment is raised in tandem with an appeal of

an order granting a cross-motion for summary judgment,

we have jurisdiction to review the propriety of the denial of

summary judgment by the district court." Nazay v. Miller,

949 F.2d 1323, 1328 (3d Cir. 1991). Our review of the

district court's decision on the motions for summary

judgment is plenary. See International Union, United Mine

6

Workers of America v. Racho Trucking Co., 897 F.2d 1248,

1252 (3d Cir. 1990). We will uphold a grant (or reverse a

denial) of summary judgment only when there is no

genuine issue of material fact and a party is entitled to

judgment as a matter of law. See Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c).

Because there is no dispute that New Jersey law governs

in this case, we do not question its application. See

Newport Assocs. Development Co. v. The Travelers

Indemnity Co. of Ill., 162 F.3d 789, 791 (3d Cir. 1998).

Under New Jersey law, the words of an insurance contract

are given their ordinary meaning, unless they are

ambiguous. See 495 Corp. v. N.J. Ins. Underwriting Ass'n.,

430 A.2d 203, 206 (N.J. 1981). We test for ambiguity by

asking whether the policy's phrasing is "so confusing that

the average policyholder cannot make out the boundaries of

coverage." Weedo v. Stone-E-Brick, Inc., 405 A.2d 788, 795

(N.J. 1979).

TFV presents two issues on appeal: (1) whether Hartford

was appreciably prejudiced because it r eceived late

notification of the accident and because the r od-eye was

lost or destroyed and (2) whether the insurance contract

between EDC and Hartford covered EDC's liability to TFV.

We address these issues in turn.

A. Late Notice

The insurance contract between EDC and Hartfor d

required that EDC notify Hartford pr omptly of any accident

that might result in a claim:

E. LIABILITY AND MEDICAL EXPENSES GENERAL

CONDITIONS

2. Duties in the Event of Occurrence, Claim or Suit.

a. You must see to it that we are notified promptly

of an "occurrence" or an offense which may

result in a claim.

***

b. If a claim is made or "suit" is br ought against

any insured, you must:

(1) Immediately record the specifics of the claim

7

or "suit" and the date received; and

(2) Notify us as soon as practicable.

You must see to it that we receive a written notice of

the claim or "suit" as soon as practicable.

Appx. 256. The insurance contract defines an "occurrence"

as "an accident" and a "suit" as "a civil proceeding in which

damages because of . . . `property damage' .. . to which

this insurance applies are alleged." See Appx. 260. Thus,

the rod-eye failure qualifies as an"occurrence," and this

cause qualifies as a "suit," as those ter ms are defined in the

contract. Consequently, EDC was, upon learning of the

accident, obligated to notify Hartford.

Hartford argues--and the district court agreed--that

Hartford cannot be liable to EDC because EDC did not

provide Hartford with prompt notice of the accident, as

required under the insurance contract. However, for an

insurer to assert the defense of late notice under New

Jersey law, the insurer must prove not only that it was

given late notice of the accident (here, TFV does not dispute

that its notice was late), but also that it suf fered

appreciable prejudice as a result of the late notice. See

Chemical Leaman Tank Lines v. Aetna Casualty & Surety

Co., 89 F.3d 976, 996 (3d Cir. 1996) (noting that New

Jersey law requires showing of appr eciable prejudice);

Solvents Recovery Service of New England v. Midland Ins.

Co., 526 A.2d 1112, 1114 (N.J. App. Div. 1987) (noting that

insurer bears burden of proving appr eciable prejudice). New

Jersey courts look to two factors in analyzing whether a

party has suffered appreciable pr ejudice: (1) whether

substantial rights have been irretrievably lost by virtue of

the insured's failure to give timely notice; and (2) whether

the likelihood of success of the insurer in defending against

the underlying claim has been adversely affected. See

Chemical Leaman Tank Lines, 89 F.3d at 996-97.

Under New Jersey Law, mere conjecture or suspicions

may not form the basis for establishing appr eciable

prejudice. See Molyneaux v. Molyneaux, 553 A.2d 49, 54

(N.J. App. Div. 1989). Indeed, "the insur er [must] establish

more than the mere fact that it cannot employ its normal

procedures in investigating and evaluating the claim,

8

[r]ather it must show that substantial rights have been

irretrievably lost." Kitchnefsky v. National Rent-A-Fence of

America, Inc., 88 F.Supp.2d 360, 368 (D.N.J. 2000)

(internal citations and quotation marks omitted). These

rights "include . . . `the preparation and preservation of

demonstrative and illustrative evidence such as vehicles or

photographs, and the ability of experts to r econstruct the

scene.' " J.T. Baker v. Aetna Casualty & Surety Co., 1996

WL 451316 (D.N.J. 1996) (quoting Morales v. National

Grange Mutual Ins. Co., 176 N.J. Super. 347, 355 (Law Div.

1980)).

Hartford believes that the above standar ds are satisfied

by two actions it was unable to take as a result of the late

notice: (1) it was denied an opportunity to inspect the failed

rod-eye assembly on its own and (2) it was denied an

opportunity to assert a cross-claim against Sheffer, the

manufacturer of the rod-eye. We address in turn, and

reject, both of Hartford's prof fered grounds for finding

substantial prejudice.

Hartford first alleges that, if it only had r eceived prompt

notice of the accident, it would have taken custody of the

failed rod-eye assembly and undertaken its own full

analysis of it. While it is true that the failed r od-eye has

been irretrievably lost, it has been replaced by an

independent professional metallurgist's comprehensive

laboratory report that seemingly details all r elevant

characteristics of the rod-eye at the time of failure. The rod-

eye was fully tested by PSI, and Hartford has not stated any

additional or different testing it would have pursued on its

own had it had possession of the rod-eye. Instead, Hartford

appears to argue that it need not show how it was

prejudiced by loss of the rod-eye because, to its way of

thinking, the loss of a piece of physical evidence will per se

establish substantial prejudice. However , New Jersey law is

not so generous; as noted, more than speculation and

conjecture is required to establish substantial prejudice.

Because Hartford has provided nothing beyond mere

speculation, it has failed to show how it might have been

appreciably prejudiced by its failur e to run its own tests on

the rod-eye assembly.

9

Whether Hartford was prejudiced by its inability to fully

pursue a cross-claim against Sheffer is a more difficult

issue, but one that Hartford emphasized at oral argument.

Hartford maintains that "EDC's breach of the notice

provision of the Hartford policy also pr ejudiced Hartford by

reason of EDC's failure to aggressively pursue a cross-claim

for contractual indemnification from co-defendant Sheffer."

Appellee's Br. at 20. There are several problems with this

argument, not the least of which is the fact that an insurer

who has not paid its insured's claim or pr ovided the

insured with a defense has no right to obtain the benefit of

the insured's claims against third parties. See Fireman's

Fund Ins. Co. v. Security Ins. Co. of Hartfor d, 367 A.2d 864,

868 (N.J. 1976); see also In re Joint Eastern & Southern

Dist. Asbestos Lit., 78 F.3d 764, 779 (2d Cir. 1996). Here,

Hartford received notice of the accident in March 1998 and

was first sued under its policy with EDC in May 1998.

Nonetheless, Hartford steadfastly refused coverage, or even

a defense, to EDC until one week after a settlement was

agreed to in August 1998. During the months following

Hartford's initial notification of the accident, Hartford had

ample opportunity to assist EDC, but turned down the

chance to do so. Therefore, Hartfor d lost the right to pursue

a cross-claim against Sheffer as a r esult of its own inaction,

not by virtue of EDC's action.

Hartford's real problem appears to lie with EDC's

decision to settle this case, thereby extinguishing its cross-

claim against Sheffer. However, under New Jersey law,

when an insurer refuses to defend its insured, the insured

is free to settle with third parties, and the settlement may

be enforced against the insurer. See Griggs v. Bertram, 443

A.2d 163, 171-72 (N.J. 1982).1 Thus, EDC was free to

_________________________________________________________________

1. We recognize that Hartford of fered to defend EDC one week after the

settlement was agreed to. However, this fact is irrelevant to our

discussion. Even if Hartford had been allowed to defend EDC, subject to

a reservation of rights, EDC would have been able to enter the same

settlement, for the attorney hired by an insurance company represents

the insured, not the insurer. See Petty v. General Accident Fire & Life

Assurance Corp., 365 F.2d 419, 421 (3d Cir. 1966). And "[w]hile the

insurer is not compelled to disregard its own interests in representing or

defending an insured, the insured's inter ests must necessarily come

first." Lieberman v. Employers Insurance of Wausau, 419 A.2d 417, 422-

23 (N.J. 1980). Accordingly, if an insur ed wants to settle (as did EDC),

the attorney provided by the insur er must do so, even if the insurer

objects.

10

settle, subject to limited oversight by Hartfor d. Of course, a

settlement that is unreasonable in amount or entered into

in bad faith is not enforceable against Hartfor d, but

Hartford bears the ultimate burden of showing such

frailties in the settlement. Griggs v. Bertram , 443 A.2d at

174. Hartford has not met that burden.

Here, EDC was justified, and perhaps even wise, to settle

in the manner that it did. Under its contract with NKK,

EDC warranted that it would provide equipment (including

the rod-eye) that is "of merchantable quality, free from all

defects in design, material and workmanship . . . ." Appx.

125. EDC was apparently liable, therefor e, to NKK for

supplying a defective product, even if the defect was due

perhaps to Sheffer's manufacturing err or. Hartford believes,

however, that the indemnification clause in the boom

cylinder purchase order clearly pr ovided that Sheffer would

fully indemnify EDC for any damages arising out of the

defectiveness of the product. The clause r eads: "[i]f this

Purchase Order involves work to be per formed by you at a

job site, you, by the acceptance of this Pur chase Order . . .

agree to indemnify and save EDC incorporated against all

claims for damages to persons or property arising out of the

execution of the work." Appx. 140. The indemnification

clause is not as broad as Hartford claims, for it only

provides for indemnification when damages arise "out of the

execution of . . . work" done at a job site. The damage

caused by the failed rod-eye does not seem to meet these

conditions. Thus, the purchase order's indemnification

clause does not appear to provide EDC with any

contractual indemnification. This being the case, Hartford

has not shown that settlement was unreasonable because

of the indemnification clause in the contract between EDC

and Sheffer.

Of course, Sheffer might nonetheless have emer ged from

a trial with a substantial obligation of its own, arising out

of a legal duty distinct from the above indemnification

clause. For example, EDC's cross-claim against Sheffer

contains the allegation that Sheffer failed to exercise due

care in manufacturing the rod-eye. EDC might also have

pursued an express or implied warranty claim against

Sheffer. If ultimately proven at trial, these allegations might

11

have led to a significant amount of contribution from

Sheffer. However, there is no guarantee that EDC could

successfully prove these allegations at trial. Such

uncertainty is a classic reason for settling, and here the

settlement amounts paid by each party appear to

reasonably reflect the parties' various responsibilities for

designing, manufacturing and installing the r od-eye: TFV

agreed to settle a $3.6 million claim for only $1.85 million,

and of that amount, EDC was responsible for $1 million,

Sheffer for $500,000 and other parties for the remaining

$350,000.

Hartford has shown no evidence that the above amounts

were somehow the result of collusive conduct or bad faith

dealings between the parties. Indeed, the best ar gument

Hartford could muster at oral argument was an appeal to

equity, claiming that it only had two weeks to consider a

settlement that arose out of a complex case involving

thousands of pages of documents. Hartford's ar gument

fails, however, because Hartford certainly had more than

two weeks to familiarize itself with this case. EDCfirst sued

Hartford over the insurance policy in May 1998. At that

time, Hartford learned the facts of this case and formulated

a litigation strategy based upon them, for Hartfor d denied

that its policy obligated it to defend or cover EDC--a

determination that required a familiarity with the facts and

insurance policy. Consequently, Hartford had ample time to

learn the facts and legal issues in this case and cannot now

claim that the settlement is unfair because it was only

allowed two weeks to make a settlement decision that all

other parties were apparently able to make in one day. For

these reasons, we find that the settlement is reasonable

and the result of good faith dealings between the parties.

Thus, Hartford has failed to show appreciable prejudice

arising from the late notice of EDC's claim that it received.

B. Contract Coverage

Having found that Hartford was not appr eciably

prejudiced by the late notice, we turn now to the question

whether the insurance contract provides coverage of the

rod-eye failure. The contract between EDC and Hartford

provides up to $2 million of business liability coverage.2

_________________________________________________________________

2. The relevant provision of the contract states that "[Hartford] will pay

those sums that [EDC] becomes legally obligated to pay as damages

12

However, the contract also contains several standard

exclusions.

The first relevant exclusion addresses the "products-

completed operations hazard."3 Under this exclusion, the

contract exempts from coverage any damage arising after

the product or work leaves the insured's hands. Here, for

example, the "products-completed operations hazard"

exclusion would act to prevent coverage of damage arising

from the rod-eye once the rod-eye has left EDC's control.

However, under the EDC policy, the "pr oducts-completed

operations hazard" exclusion does not apply when the work

out of which the damage arises was perfor med by a

subcontractor.

The second relevant exclusion, entitled "Exclusion--

Engineers and Architect Professional Liability," generally

provides that insurance coverage will not extend to damage

arising out of various professional services, such as product

design.4 However, as noted by TFV, "[t]he exclusion for

_________________________________________________________________

because of `bodily injury,' `property damage,' `personal injury' or

`advertising injury' to which this insurance applies." Appx. 247 (Business

Liability Coverage Form A.1.a). The $2 million limit is provided on page

5 of the Spectrum Policy Declarations in EDC's insurance contract with

Hartford. See Appx. 213.

3. The "products-completed operations hazard" coverage exclusion states

that the insurance contract does not extend coverage to " `Property

damage' to `your work' arising out of it or any part of it and included in

the `products-completed operations hazar d.' " However, this coverage

exclusion does not apply "if the damaged work or the work out of which

the damage arises was performed on your behalf by a subcontractor."

Appx. at 252. (Bus. Liab. Coverage Form. B.1.m.)

The contract defines "products-completed operations hazard" to

"include[ ] all `bodily injury' and`property damage' arising out of `your

product' or `your work' except: (1) Pr oducts that are still in your

physical

possession; or (2) Work that has not yet been completed or abandoned."

Appx. 260. B.10.a.

4. In full, the exclusion states that:

This insurance does not apply to `bodily injury,'`property damage,'

`personal injury' or `advertising injury' arising out of the

rendering or

failure to render any professional services by or for you,

including:

13

professional services is . . . appropriately associated with a

specialized knowledge and a mental or intellectual

endeavor, not production, manufactur e or supply of goods

and manufacturing." Appellant's Br. at 28 (citing Ostrager

& Newman, Handbook on Insurance Coverage Disputes,

S 7.02(b)(6) (10th Ed. 1999)). As such, the exclusion for

professional services precludes coverage only if the damage

arises out of a faulty design (either by EDC or Shef fer), as

opposed to faulty manufacture.

We are thus left with the following after reading the

relevant provisions of the insurance contract. The general

liability provisions of the contract clearly cover the damage

arising from the defective rod-eye: EDC has become legally

obligated to pay damages because of property damage

arising out of a product that it supplied and at least

partially designed. However, two contract exclusions in the

policy must also be considered. Under one exclusion (for

"products-completed operations hazar d"), the contract

provides coverage if the accident arose fr om a defect caused

by Sheffer's manufacture of the rod-eye. Under the other

exclusion (for "engineers and architects pr ofessional

liability"), the contract provides coverage only if the

accident is not attributable to a defect in EDC's or Sheffer's

design of the rod-eye. Thus, Hartfor d's liability under the

insurance contract turns on whether the accident was

caused by a design defect, which would preclude coverage,

or a manufacturing defect, which would not pr eclude

coverage.

All of this leaves us with the task of trying to identify the

defect in the rod-eye that caused it to fail and the party

responsible for this defect. Perhaps because they both

believed that this case would be decided on the issue

whether there was appreciable prejudice, as it was in the

district court, neither party has developed the r ecord or

_________________________________________________________________

(1) The preparing, approving, or failing to prepare or approve

maps,

drawings, opinions, reports, surveys, change or ders, designs or

specifications; and (2) Supervisory, inspection or engineering

services.

Appx. 269.

14

presented arguments sufficiently for us to determine fully

the cause of the rod-eye's failure. Indeed, EDC's own initial

report of the accident, dated April 1995, lists ten possible

causes of failure, including both design and manufacturing

defects. See Appx. 151. The laboratory r eport from PSI

indicates that the rod-eye's failure may be due to the use of

an inferior grade of steel in the manufactur e of the rod-eye,

but the report is not entirely clear on its face and requires

expert testimony to explicate it. See Appx. 159-62. As such,

the precise reason for the rod-eye's failure is not apparent

from the record on appeal.

Further, from the record, it is not even clear who

specified how, and from what materials, the r od-eye should

be built. For example, from the purchase order, which

refers to a "Sheffer Hydraulic Boom Hoist Cylinder" and

then provides detailed specifications, it appears that Sheffer

built a custom version of a conventional hydraulic cylinder

to EDC's specifications. In addition, the r ecord does not

reveal whether EDC specified the particular type of steel

which failed (in which case the type of steel might be

considered a design defect) and, if it did, whether Sheffer

manufactured the rod-eye using the steel specified or,

alternatively, a steel of lower quality (in which case the type

of steel might be considered a manufacturing defect).

Accordingly, because the record is inadequately

developed, we remand for trial (or possibly a showing on

summary judgment) on the issue whether the r od-eye

failure was caused by EDC's or Sheffer's design, which

would presumably preclude coverage under the insurance

contract, or Sheffer's manufacturing, which would allow

coverage under the insurance contract.

III. CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, we VACA TE the judgment of the

district court and REMAND for further proceedings consistent

with this opinion.

15

A True Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit

16

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.