Opinion

Resolution Trust Corp. v. Fidelity & Deposit Co. of MD,et al. (Part II)

  • 205 F.3d 615
Court
Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit
Filed
Feb 4, 2000
Author
Greenberg
On the bench
Mansmann, Greenberg, McKee
Cited by
1 cases
Authority
More cited than 46.9%

The opinion

Opinions of the United

2000 Decisions States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit

2-4-2000

Resolution Trust Corp. v. Fidelity & Deposit Co. of

MD,et al. (Part II)

Precedential or Non-Precedential:

Docket 98-6368

Follow this and additional works at: http://digitalcommons.law.villanova.edu/thirdcircuit_2000

Recommended Citation

"Resolution Trust Corp. v. Fidelity & Deposit Co. of MD,et al. (Part II)" (2000). 2000 Decisions. Paper 19.

http://digitalcommons.law.villanova.edu/thirdcircuit_2000/19

This decision is brought to you for free and open access by the Opinions of the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit at Villanova

University School of Law Digital Repository. It has been accepted for inclusion in 2000 Decisions by an authorized administrator of Villanova

University School of Law Digital Repository. For more information, please contact Benjamin.Carlson@law.villanova.edu.

Volume 2 of 2

Filed February 4, 2000

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 98-6368

RESOLUTION TRUST CORPORATION,

as Receiver for City Savings, F.S.B., in Receivership,

v.

FIDELITY AND DEPOSIT COMPANY OF MARYLAND;

WILLEM RIDDER; JOHN T. HURST; LYNDON C. MERKLE;

GREGORY DEVANY

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, as statutory

successor to Resolution Trust Corporation,

Appellant

On Appeal from the United States District Court

for the District of New Jersey

(D.C. Civ. No. 92-01003)

District Judge: Honorable William H. Walls

Argued December 15, 1999

BEFORE: MANSMANN, GREENBERG, and MCKEE,

Circuit Judges

(Filed: February 4, 2000)

b. Whether there is evidence from which a reasonable

jury could conclude that the employees acted with the

manifest intent to obtain a financial benefit for

themselves or a third person (subsection b's

requirement)

Given the standard of manifest intent described above,

we turn our analysis to the specific requirements of

subsection (a) and subsection (b) of the fidelity provision.

As previously mentioned, the plain language of the fidelity

provision covers only those losses caused by employee

misconduct undertaken with the manifest intent (1) to

cause a loss, and (2) obtain a certain type of financial

benefit for the employee or a third person. Wefirst will

address in this section the scope of the latter requirement,

found in subsection (b) of the fidelity provision, because it

informs the remainder of our analysis of the coverage

issues raised in this appeal.

At the outset, it is important to note that the plain

language of that subsection indicates that an insured may

meet its requirements in two ways. First, the insured may

satisfy subsection (b) by demonstrating that the dishonest

employee acted with the purpose of obtaining for himself or

herself a financial benefit other than "salaries,

commissions, fees, bonuses, promotions, awards, profit

sharing, pensions or other employee benefits earned in the

normal course of employment." Alternatively, the insured

may meet the requirements of subsection (b) by showing

that the dishonest employee acted for the purpose of

obtaining for a third party a financial benefit not included

within the list just enumerated. F&D contends that it is

entitled to summary judgment because the individual

defendants' actions do not satisfy either aspect of

subsection (b). We will address its arguments separately

below.

i. Whether the evidence could support a finding that the

individual defendants acted with the manifest intent to

obtain a financial benefit for themselves "other than

salaries, commissions, fees, bonuses, promotions, awards,

profit sharing, pensions or other employee benefits earned

in the normal course of employment"

In the district court, the RTC contended that Hurst,

Merkle and Ridder committed their fraudulent or dishonest

50

acts because they were motivated by a desire to obtain the

golden handcuff payments, and that DeVany was motivated

by his desire to receive a $1,000 payment at the close of the

HonFed sale. See SA at 206-07. It also asserted that Hurst,

Ridder and Merkle acted with the intent to obtain lucrative

employment opportunities with HonFed. In response, F&D

claims that there is no evidence indicating that Ridder,

Hurst and Merkle acted with the manifest intent to obtain

for themselves employment opportunities with HonFed or

signing bonuses with that company. Focusing next on the

plain language of the exclusionary clause in subsection (b),

F&D argues that both the golden handcuff payments and

the $1,000 payment constitute bonuses or awards. From

that premise, F&D contends that because the plain

language of subsection (b) excludes coverage for losses

resulting from employee misconduct motivated by a desire

to receive, inter alia, bonus payments and other forms of

compensation from the insured, the employees' desire to

obtain the handcuff payments does not provide a basis for

indemnity.

To reiterate, subsection (b) of the fidelity provision

requires that the employee engage in the dishonest or

fraudulent conduct with the manifest intent "to obtain

financial benefit for the Employee . . . , other than salaries,

commissions, fees, bonuses, promotions, awards, profit

sharing, pensions or other employee benefits earned in the

normal course of employment." App. at 562. As a matter of

contract construction, it is evident that the clause

beginning with "other than" is exclusionary. Thus, if the

employee committed the fraudulent or dishonest act

motivated only by a desire to gain one of the enumerated

financial benefits for himself or herself, the insured could

not recover under the fidelity provision, as the requirements

of subsection (b) would not be satisfied.

The district court held that the golden handcuff

payments were not the type of financial benefits excluded

under subsection (b) by adopting the following construction

of the relevant language:

It is clear that the uniquely final `one-time only' nature

of these payments prevents them from being classified

as bonuses `earned in the normal course of

51

employment.' F&D maintains that the clause precludes

coverage for acts done with the intent to obtain any

type of bonus, not just those earned in the normal

course of business. Although grammatically the phrase

`earned in the normal course of employment' modifies

`other employee benefits,' it is at least unclear whether

this clause intended to exclude coverage for dishonest

acts committed with an intent to obtain a one-time

payment such as the handcuff bonus in the context of

the generic thrust of excluded types of remuneration.

The litany of compensation kinds excluded from

coverage are all payments which are generally received

on a regular basis as part of an employee's

compensation scheme. The handcuff payments

certainly do not fall within that category.

Op. at 26. Invoking the well-settled principle that courts

resolve ambiguities in an insurance contract in favor of

coverage and construe exclusions narrowly, the court found

that the clause did not bar coverage for dishonest or

fraudulent acts committed with the manifest intent to

obtain the handcuff payments.

In support of its construction of the exclusionary clause,

F&D points out that "[c]ourts uniformly have construed the

Bond's exclusion language for financial benefits to mean

any payment that the insured voluntarily pays to an

employee, even if those payments are fraudulently earned."

Br. at 39. It explains that "[r]ecovery under a fidelity bond

is barred if the employer `knowingly paid the disputed

funds directly to the employees on the belief that the

employees were entitled to the payments as compensation

for honest work.' " Id. at 40 (quoting FDIC v. St. Paul Fire &

Marine Ins. Co., 738 F. Supp. 1146, 1160 (M.D. Tenn.

1990), aff'd in relevant part, 942 F.2d 1032 (6th Cir. 1991)).

F&D also points to Auburn Ford Lincoln Mercury, Inc. v.

Universal Underwriters Insurance Co., 967 F. Supp. 475

(M.D. Ala.), aff'd, 130 F.3d 444 (11th Cir. 1997) (table),

where the court rejected the insured's argument that the

phrase "earned in the normal course of employment"

permits coverage under subsection (b) if the commissions

the employee earned from his conduct were not "earned in

the normal course of employment" in the sense that they

52

were obtained fraudulently. See id. at 478-79 (noting that

the phrase "in the normal course of employment" serves

only to define the type of excluded benefits andfinding that

"[t]his phrase does not mean that allegedly dishonestly

obtained commissions are included within the policy").

We agree with F&D's argument that the district court

erred in finding that the phrase "earned in the normal

course of employment" could be construed as precluding

the "one-time payments" provided for in the closing

agreements. In this regard, we believe that the district

court's construction of the last phrase of subsection (b)

"`strain[s] the language of the policy tofind an ambiguity

where there is none in order to grant coverage that does not

exist.' " Oritani Savs. & Loan Ass'n v. Fidelity & Deposit Co.,

989 F.2d 635, 639 (3d Cir. 1993) (citation omitted). In our

view, the phrase "earned in the normal course of

employment" is unambiguous, and thus, the presumption

of construing the exclusion in the contract narrowly does

not apply here. This conclusion compels us to find that the

handcuff payments fall squarely within the definition of

"bonuses" or "awards," or alternatively qualify as a type of

benefit "earned in the normal course of employment."

Accordingly, the RTC cannot satisfy subsection (b) by

establishing that Ridder, Hurst and Merkle acted with the

"manifest intent" of obtaining the golden handcuff

payments for themselves.13

Our analysis begins with a review of the plain language

of subsection (b). First, we note that the position of the

phrase "earned in the normal course of employment"

strongly indicates that that phrase was meant to modify the

language "other employee benefits," as the modifying

language directly follows that phrase and describes the

types of employee benefits falling within the exclusion.

See id.; Hartford Accident & Indem. Ins. Co. v. Washington

_________________________________________________________________

13. Parenthetically, we observe that with respect to the $1,000 "bonus"

DeVany received after the HonFed closing, there simply is insufficient

evidence in the record concerning the nature and character of the

payment for us to determine in this appeal whether it falls within the

exclusionary language in subsection (b). Notably, the district court's

opinion did not address that issue, and we expressly leave that question

unresolved.

53

Nat'l Ins. Co., 638 F. Supp. 78, 83 (N.D. Ill. 1986) (quoting

Berger v. Fireman's Am. Loss Control Co., No. 508, slip op.

(Md. Ct. App. Dec. 16, 1982)). Moreover, as there is no

comma between the two phrases, it is clear that they

should be read together, so that the "earned in the normal

course of employment" modifies only the general phrase

"other employee benefits" rather than the other specific

types of employee benefits previously enumerated. See

Hartford Accident, 638 F. Supp. at 83. As one article

explains:

Attempts to limit the exclusion to financial benefits

[such as salaries and commissions] earned in the

normal course of employment have been rejected. The

words `earned in the normal course of employment' do

not modify the enumerated exclusions that precede

them, but are intended to include in the list of

excluded benefits other benefits typically earned by

employees.

Foster, et al., supra at 789. Thus, under the plain language

of the bond, the phrase "earned in the normal course of

employment" cannot be viewed as a limitation on the

exclusion. Rather, it is reasonable to conclude that the

drafters included the phrase to provide a broader exclusion,

thereby shrinking the bounds of coverage under thefidelity

provision. This construction clearly undermines the district

court's reliance on the last phrase of the exclusionary

clause to conclude that the handcuff payments were not

within the exclusion. See Hartford Accident, 638 F. Supp. at

83; see also Morgan, Olmstead, Kennedy & Gardner, Inc. v.

Federal Ins. Co., 637 F. Supp. 973, 977 (S.D.N.Y.)

(interpreting similar language and reaching same

conclusion), aff'd, 833 F.2d 1003 (2d Cir. 1986) (table).

While recognizing that "earned in the normal course of

employment" did not modify "bonuses" or"awards" per se,

the district court found that language informative and

demonstrative of the types of financial benefits that came

within the exclusion. By relying on the phrase "earned in

the normal course," its appears that the district court

concluded that the one-time, final payments were not

within the excluded financial benefits. The court's holding

on this point thus rests upon its conclusion that the

54

unique, one-time nature of the payment distinguished it

from the types of employee benefits set out in the

exclusionary clause.

We cannot agree with the district court's reasoning. Put

simply, a review of the case law interpreting the purpose of

the exclusionary language and the meaning of the phrase

"earned in the normal course of employment" demonstrates

that the court's conclusion on this point is contrary to most

(if not all) of the decisions addressing this issue.

Extrapolating from the cases we have found on point, we

understand the exclusion found in subsection (b) to

eliminate coverage where the insured's theory is that the

employee's purpose in engaging in the misconduct that

caused the loss was to receive some type of financial benefit

that, generally speaking, the insured provides knowingly to

its employees as part of its compensation scheme and as a

result of the employment relationship.14

(Text continued on page 57)

_________________________________________________________________

14. See St. Paul Fire & Marine, 738 F. Supp. at 1160 (reviewing cases

finding that coverage was precluded by the exclusionary clause, and

noting that in each of them, "the employers [i.e., the insureds] knowingly

paid the disputed funds directly to the employees on the belief that the

employees were entitled to the payments as compensation for honest

work"); see also Glusband, 892 F.2d at 210 (affirming judgment for

insurer and noting that there was no evidence that the dishonest

employee ever received any financial benefit other than salaries or

commissions from insured, his employer, as a result of improper and

speculative trading practices); Municipal Sec., Inc. v. Insurance Co. of

N.

Am., 829 F.2d 7, 9-10 (6th Cir. 1987) (affirming summary judgment for

insurer where only evidence was that the employee obtained additional,

unearned commissions from insured, her employer, as a result of

improper conduct); Auburn Ford, 967 F. Supp. at 478 (same conclusion),

aff'd 130 F.3d 444 (11th Cir. 1997) (table); Hartford Accident, 638 F.

Supp. at 84 (stating that the last phrase "or other employee benefits

earned in the normal course of employment" serves the useful purpose

of distinguishing the entire list in part (b) from those financial

benefits

that, generally speaking, are "unearned" in the sense that they are not

paid by the employer to the employee as part of the compensation

scheme, but instead are obtained from payoffs, embezzlement schemes

and other forms of theft); Verex Assurance, Inc. v. Gate City Mortgage

Co., No. C-83-0506W, 1984 WL 2918, at **1-2 (D. Utah Dec. 4, 1984)

(granting judgment to insurer because there was no evidence that

employees intended to obtain a covered financial benefit; court noted

55

that the proofs indicated only that the loan officers decided to make

loans to persons of questionable credit in order to collect commissions

on the loans from their employer, the insured); Mortell v. Insurance Co.

of N. Am., 458 N.E.2d 922, 929 (Ill. App. Ct. 1983) (finding that

dishonest employees' only personal gain was improper commissions

received from insured); Benchmark Crafters, Inc. v. Northwestern Nat'l

Ins. Co., 363 N.W.2d 89, 91 (Minn. Ct. App. 1985) (stating that

employee's four months of salary and benefits he received as an

employee of the insured before the insured's discovery of the fraud did

not provide basis for coverage); First Philson Bank, N.A. v. Hartford Fire

Ins. Co., 727 A.2d 584, 590 (Pa. Super. Ct. 1999) (affirming summary

judgment for insurer and holding that employee's receipt of shares of

insured's stock through an employee stock option plan, along with

various salary increases and bonuses from insured, constituted receipt

of benefits "earned in the normal course of employment"), appeal denied,

1999 WL 1255735 (Pa. Dec. 27, 1999); Dickson v. State Farm Lloyds,

944 S.W.2d 666, 668 (Tex. App. 1997, no writ) (rejecting insured's

coverage claim based on loss caused by employees' manipulation of time

card system in order to obtain extra salary from insured); cf. James B.

Lansing Sound, Inc. v. National Union Fire Ins. Co., 801 F.2d 1560, 1567

(9th Cir. 1986) (holding, in a suit for recovery on an employee dishonesty

policy under which the insurer agreed to indemnify for loss of money,

securities, or "other property" the insured sustained because of employee

dishonesty, that the term "other property" did not permit the insured to

recover commissions which it paid to an employee on fraudulent sales;

court relied on language in dishonesty clause that excluded

"commissions . . . or other benefits earned in the normal course of

employment"); compare Lustig, 961 F.2d at 1167 (finding that district

court erred in granting summary judgment to insured on issue of

employee's manifest intent to obtain a covered financial benefit; in

noting

that evidence of employee's intent was mixed, court nevertheless

observed that the proofs indicated that the employee received a $40,000

"loan" from one of the bank's borrowers, ostensibly to show the

borrower's good faith in an offer of future employment to employee); First

Bank v. Hartford Underwriters Mut. Ins. Co., 997 F. Supp. 934, 937 (S.D.

Ohio 1998) ("Courts have found indicia of manifest intent to obtain

financial benefit outside the normal course of employment where an

employee has a financial interest in the entity who benefits from the

improper transaction."), aff'd on other grounds, 198 F.3d 245 (6th Cir.

1999) (table); Estate of K.O. Jordan v. Hartford Accident & Indem. Co.,

844 P.2d 403, 413 (Wash. 1993) (en banc) (stating that employee

obtained a financial benefit other than one"earned in the normal course

of employment" when he embezzled trust funds and used them to cover

56

Following this approach, courts have explained that

payments qualifying as "payoffs" or "kickbacks" fall outside

the exclusionary clause, as well as financial benefits

obtained as a result of the employee's interest in an entity

that benefits from the improper transaction, because the

payments in those instances clearly are not "salaries,

commissions, fees, bonuses, promotions, awards, profit

sharing, pensions or other employee benefits earned in the

normal course of employment." See Lustig, 961 F.2d at

1167 ($40,000 "loan" from borrower to employee); First

Bank v. Hartford Underwriters Mut. Ins. Co., 997 F. Supp.

934, 937-38 (S.D. Ohio 1998), aff'd on other grounds, 198

F.3d 245 (6th Cir. 1999) (table); Estate of K.O. Jordan v.

Hartford Accident & Indem. Co., 844 P.2d 403, 413 (Wash.

1993) (en banc). Moreover, courts have rejected the

argument that the exclusion precludes coverage only for

losses caused by an employee's desire to obtain, for

example, honestly earned commissions, finding that the

term "earned" encompasses financial benefits both

fraudulently obtained and honestly earned from the

employer. See Municipal Sec., Inc. v. Insurance Co. of N.

Am., 829 F.2d 7, 9-10 (6th Cir. 1987); Auburn Ford, 967 F.

Supp. at 479; Mortell v. Insurance Co. of N. Am., 458 N.E.2d

922, 929 (Ill. App. Ct. 1983).

Thus, contrary to the district court's construction of the

exclusion found in subsection (b), courts addressing its

scope have held that the "earned in the course of

employment" language is descriptive of the character of the

payment at issue rather than the frequency with which the

payment is received or the timing of its receipt. Indeed, this

construction makes sense in view of the fact that each of

the eight nouns preceding the last phrase "other employee

benefits . . ." share the singular characteristic that they are

all financial benefits provided knowingly by an insured, in

its capacity as an employer, to its employees as a form of

compensation and as a result of the employment

relationship.

_________________________________________________________________

operating expenses of company in which he was a shareholder, director,

officer and employee).

57

We also point out that the very nature of bonuses and

awards, both of which are excluded financial benefits under

subsection (b), undermines the district court's limitation of

the exclusion to only those payments received with

frequency, or at a minimum more than once. Webster's

Third New International Dictionary defines a "bonus" as

"something given or received that is over and above what is

expected." Id. at 252. Similarly, Webster's Seventh New

Collegiate Dictionary defines an "award" as "something that

is conferred or bestowed: prize." Id. at 61. Thus, if

presented in the employment context, bonuses and awards

are given by an employer to its employee as rewards based

on job-related performance. By their very nature, those

rewards are bestowed sparingly, perhaps only once in an

employee's career. Nevertheless, under the plain language

of the bond, a loss motivated by a desire to obtain such

benefits falls squarely within the exclusion found in

subsection (b).

Thus, we cannot agree with the district court's reasoning

that the last phrase "earned in the normal course" indicates

that the excluded benefits are limited to those forms of

compensation that are given by the employer to the

employee on a "regular basis." Rather, we hold that the

exclusion covers payments knowingly made by the insured

to the employee as a consequence of their employment

relationship and in recognition of the employee's

performance of job-related duties. Applying this standard

here, we find that the golden handcuff payments fall

squarely within the exclusion set forth in subsection (b),

whether it be because they are considered a "bonus,"

"award," or simply a financial benefit that the employees

"earned in the normal course of employment."

We point out that the closing agreements describe the

payments thereunder as "compensation" for the employees'

assistance in City Collateral sale, SA at 153, which

suggests to us that the payments were bestowed once and

only to certain employees in recognition of their job-related

performance. We also note that the fact that the closing

agreements provided for a singular, lump-sum payment

actually supports the finding that the payments qualify as

a bonus or award, given the ordinary meaning of those

58

terms. Moreover, these payments clearly are distinguishable

from the those financial benefits which have been held to

fall outside the category of excluded benefits, namely

payoffs or embezzled funds, as City Collateral voluntarily

signed the agreements knowing that the payments would

be made if the sale eventually occurred. Indeed, City

Federal paid the employees once the HonFed deal closed.

Compare St. Paul Fire & Marine, 738 F. Supp. at 1160-61;

Morgan, Olmstead, 637 F. Supp. at 978 (noting that bribes

would not qualify as "salary, commissions, fees or other

emoluments," which was the operative exclusionary

language).

Nevertheless, given our construction of the exclusion, it

appears that it would not preclude coverage under the

theory that Ridder, Hurst and Merkle engaged in dishonest

and fraudulent acts with the manifest intent to secure

future lucrative employment opportunities, salaries and

signing bonuses from HonFed--a third party to their

employment relationship with City Collateral.15 Indeed, F&D

_________________________________________________________________

15. We point out in this regard that we have considered but rejected an

alternative construction of the language of the exclusionary clause--

namely that it would apply regardless of whether the employee obtained

the excluded financial benefits from the insured or a potential future

employer who is a third party to the insured/employee relationship. Not

surprisingly, we have been unable to find any cases addressing this

issue. We think it clear, however, that the exclusionary clause precludes

coverage only where the employee is motivated by a desire to obtain from

his or her current employer, i.e., the insured, the enumerated financial

benefits. See supra note 14. Such a construction is consistent with the

drafters' intent in limiting the types of risks that will be covered under

Insuring Agreement A. See generally Robin V. Weldy, A Survey of Recent

Changes in Financial Institutions Bonds, 12 Forum 895 (1977)

(describing dishonesty clause as covering losses resulting from a distinct

type of human failing, and excluding all other losses caused by

employees' "undesirable traits" from coverage):

Certain types of financial benefit earned in the course of

employment are not recognized. . . . In general, these benefits

would

be those earned in the normal course of employment. For example,

an incompetent employee earns a salary while concealing the nature

and extent of his disastrous errors. Simple fear of unemployment is

the undesirable trait here. It's not a covered peril. A head teller

in

59

apparently concedes that even under its construction of the

exclusionary clause, which we found persuasive, benefits

such as future employment, salaries and bonuses from

HonFed would not fall within the exclusionary clause in

subsection (b). Instead, it argues that the inference that the

employees acted with the manifest intent to obtain different

and more lucrative employment is "factually unsupportable"

because it is undisputed that HonFed did not seek their

employment with the company until November 1988. Thus,

as we understand F&D's argument, it challenges the

district court's assessment of the sufficiency of the RTC's

evidence to survive summary judgment on this theory.

We disagree with F&D's argument that no reasonable

jury could conclude, based on the evidence, that Ridder,

Hurst, and Merkle acted with the purpose of obtaining for

themselves more lucrative employment elsewhere, including

large salaries and bonuses with the prospective purchaser.

Indeed, we believe that a reasonable jury couldfind that

these employees, in engaging in their course of concealment

and misrepresentation, intended to secure employment

bonuses and future employment with City Collateral's

purchaser. As the district court noted, Hurst testified that

the officers sought to " `maximize their rewards' in

connection with the sales effort and targeted potential

purchasers who would likely employ them after the

transaction." Op. at 25. Put simply, the fact that Ridder,

Hurst and Merkle did not learn until November 1988, that

they in fact obtained what they had hoped for all along (in

terms of lucrative employment, salaries and bonuses with

the purchaser) is not logically inconsistent with the

_________________________________________________________________

a bank is promoted to loan officer and is aware that future

promotions and raises are dependent on increasing loan activity. To

increase loans and receive a normal financial benefit (raise and

promotion) the loan officer ignores standing lending instructions

and

many loans go bad. Again, there is no covered loss in this

situation.

Id. at 897. Indeed, it is apparent from this passage that the focus must

be on the wrongdoer's status as an employee of the insured at the time

of the dishonest conduct causing the loss. Thus, the relevant

employment relationship is that of the insured and the employee, rather

than the employee and a prospective employer.

60

proposition that they engaged in a course of concealment

and misrepresentation prior to that date to secure that

ultimate result.

We also point out that there is a suggestion in the record

that as of late October or early November 1988, Ridder,

Hurst and Merkle were confident that HonFed was going to

purchase City Collateral, and that they began negotiating

the terms of their future employment with the company

around the same time period. In determining the

employees' "manifest intent" to obtain future employment

and signing bonuses, the jury certainly could consider the

events that occurred subsequently to that date, in

particular the December 9, 1988, memorandum to HonFed,

and the fact that the individual defendants continued their

course of concealment through the date of the sale. These

events would be particularly probative on this issue, given

the circumstance that as of that time frame, Ridder, Hurst

and Merkle were certain to gain future employment,

substantial salaries and signing bonuses if the sale

occurred smoothly and on terms that were favorable to

HonFed. In that sense, then, Merkle, Ridder and Hurst's

chances for financial prosperity were tied to HonFed's

ultimate success, which inevitably would come at City

Federal's expense.

Accordingly, we hold that at trial, the RTC may seek to

establish coverage under the bond by proving that in

engaging in the various acts of concealment and

misrepresentation, Ridder, Hurst, and Merkle acted with

the purpose of securing for themselves lucrative

employment opportunities, salaries and bonuses with City

Collateral's eventual purchaser. However, it cannot seek to

establish coverage by arguing that these employees acted

with the intent to secure the golden handcuff payments

from City Collateral, as those payments qualify asfinancial

benefits falling within the exclusionary clause in subsection

(b).

ii. Whether a reasonable jury could conclude that the

individual defendants acted with a manifest intent to

secure a financial benefit for a third party

We noted at the outset of our discussion that subsection

(b) of the fidelity provision could be satisfied in two ways.

61

The second way that an insured could obtain coverage is if

the loss resulted directly from the employee's desire to

obtain a financial benefit for a third party, in this instance

HonFed. F&D contended before the district court that it

was illogical to assume that the individual defendants

began their course of conduct in May 1988 with the

manifest intent to benefit HonFed because HonFed did not

come into the picture until November 1988, long after the

individual employees allegedly began their dishonest and

fraudulent conduct. The district court agreed with F&D's

argument, holding as follows:

In addition, no rational juror could find that the

officers fraudulently concealed information from City

Federal beginning in May 1988 with the manifest

intent to benefit HonFed, a potential purchaser which

only expressed interest in City Collateral months later.

Although the December 9 memorandum was likely

motivated by the desire to ensure that City Collateral

passed to HonFed on favorable terms, the entire course

of dishonesty and concealment perpetuated by the

officers during the prior months cannot be attributed

to this purpose.

Op. at 24.

The RTC does not challenge this ruling on appeal. For

our purposes, we need not address whether the district

court's analysis on this point was correct because we

already have determined that the RTC may establish

coverage under subsection (b) by proving that Ridder,

Hurst, and Merkle acted with the manifest intent to secure

future employment and bonuses with HonFed. Therefore,

we will not disturb the district court's finding on this point.

c. Whether there is sufficient evidence from which a

reasonable jury could conclude that the employees

acted with the manifest intent to cause City Federal to

sustain a loss on the Northwest account (subsection

(a)'s requirement)

F&D asserts alternatively that there is insufficient

evidence from which a reasonable jury could conclude that

the individual defendants acted with the manifest intent to

cause City Federal to incur a loss on the Northwest

62

account. F&D points out that the quintessential example of

an employee who undoubtedly possesses a manifest intent

to cause the insured's loss is the embezzling employee--

"the thief"--because in that situation the employee's gain is

always at the employer's expense. It contends that the only

conclusion permitted by the evidence is that the employees

hoped to save City Federal from large losses on the

Northwest account. Accordingly, it asserts that we should

affirm the district court's order of summary judgment

because, as a matter of law, the evidence could not support

the conclusion that the employees intended to cause City

Federal's loss.

The district court found that there was a triable issue

concerning the employees' manifest intent to injure City

Federal, explaining that "the evidence supports an inference

that the employees concealed the true problematic status of

the Northwest credit line to induce City Federal to approve

extensions of the credit line and to consent to the

advancement of additional funds from April to December

1988." Op. at 22. Moreover, the court pointed out that the

evidence demonstrated that the individual defendants,

either individually or collectively, were well aware of the

nature and severity of the problems with the credit line, yet

took affirmative steps to misrepresent and conceal them

from City Federal. Relying also on the other circumstantial

evidence of intent, including the concealment of the

Movroydis admission, the alteration of the customer

history, and the advisory memorandum to HonFed on the

eve of sale, the court found that a factfinder"could

certainly conclude that the employees knew that the

significant losses were `substantially certain to follow' from

their conduct and that they acted with total disregard for

these inevitable consequences." Id.

F&D contests the court's holding on two grounds. First,

it contends that the district court's reasoning is unsound

because "it makes no sense that the employees would

cause [City Federal] to lose millions of dollars because that

loss would assist the employees in obtaining thefinancial

benefits." Br. at 48. It contends that "creating a loss would

not have assisted the employees in receiving their bonuses

from [City Federal.]" "If anything, and by the FDIC's own

63

admission, the Employees could have been terminated if

they had been caught purposely creating a loss on the

Northwest loan." See id. at 49.

Second, F&D argues that the district court ignored the

undisputed evidence in the case demonstrating that the

individual defendants extended the Northwest credit line

beyond its initial maturity date in an attempt to minimize

the losses that City Federal would incur. Moreover, F&D

points out that the evidence also shows that over the

course of the summer of 1988, the credit line showed some

improvement, thus demonstrating that the employees acted

solely with the best interests of City Federal in mind. In

addressing the alleged acts of concealment, F&D contends

that they do not undercut the other evidence of the

employees' good intentions, as the RTC has failed to show

how the employees intended to harm City Federal by hiding

these problems. See id. at 49.

We have made a complete study of the record of this case

to determine whether there is sufficient evidence from

which a jury could conclude that Ridder, Hurst, and Merkle

acted with the purpose or desire of causing City Federal to

sustain a loss on the Northwest account. While we do not

set forth at this point all of the evidence the RTC presented

on this issue and explain our analysis of it, we are in

complete agreement with the district court's ultimate

conclusion that the circumstances present a genuine issue

of material fact concerning their manifest intent to cause

City Federal to sustain the Northwest loss. Given the

unique facts of this case, there are many possible

conclusions that could be drawn concerning the employees'

purpose. For example, there is evidence tending to show

that Ridder, Hurst and Merkle acted with the desire of

benefitting themselves, and consequently also desired to

cause City Federal's loss, inasmuch as City Federal's loss

would inure to their benefit. Clearly, HonFed's last minute

decision to exclude the Northwest account from the

purchase was beneficial to them because it ensured that

their new employer would not be saddled with the loss with

which they arguably were involved on some level. On the

other hand, the jury could conclude that the loss was the

unfortunate result of a series of poor business decisions, or

64

that in seeking to obtain future employment and associated

benefits with HonFed, Ridder, Hurst and Merkle only

intended to benefit themselves and that the injury to City

Federal was an unintended consequence. Moreover, we

cannot discount the possibility that at some point, their

motivation and desires changed. In any event, the evidence

pertaining to the employees' intent is mixed, and coverage

therefore is a disputed issue of fact that should be left for

the jury. See Lustig, 961 F.2d at 1166-67.

Inasmuch as we have held that a jury may consider

evidence tending to establish an employee's reckless

behavior, as well as circumstantial proof of the substantial

likelihood of a loss, and infer from those circumstances an

intent to cause a loss, we believe that the facts of this case

are such that a reasonable jury could draw the conclusion

that the employees intended for City Federal to be saddled

with the Northwest loan loss. Indeed, as we have explained,

we simply cannot state with certainty what the employees

intended in engaging in the acts that they did. Accordingly,

we agree with the district court's ultimate conclusion that

summary judgment on this issue was inappropriate.

We have considered in this regard F&D's argument that

the district court ignored the circumstantial evidence

supporting the conclusion that the employees' actions were

not undertaken with the manifest intent to cause City

Federal's loss on the Northwest account. To be sure, F&D

is correct that a reasonable jury could conclude, based on

certain evidence in the record, that the employees only

hoped to save City Federal from incurring a substantial loss

in connection with the overflow of shipped and warehoused

loans. Nevertheless, there is other evidence in the record,

namely the various acts of concealment, which supports

the opposite conclusion. Put simply, a jury would be

required to consider all of the evidence in reaching its

ultimate finding regarding the employees' subjective intent

in engaging in the conduct that they did, and we will not

pretermit the jury's ability to do so.

Similarly, we have considered F&D's alternative

argument, namely that "it makes no sense that the

employees would cause [City Federal] to lose millions of

dollars because that loss would assist the employees in

65

obtaining the financial benefits." Br. at 48. It claims that

logically, if the individual defendants purposely created a

loss on the Northwest account, it would not have benefitted

them at all personally because it would be likely that City

Federal would have fired them if it discovered that they

purposely did so. In that event, Ridder, Hurst, and Merkle

would not have been able to obtain lucrative employment

with HonFed or collect on their closing agreements with

City Collateral. See id.

This assertion does not persuade us that no reasonable

jury could find that these employees acted with the

manifest intent to cause City Federal to sustain a loss.

First, we note that this argument, in essence, asks us to

view the facts in the light most favorable to F&D, and draw

subjective conclusions in its favor, a task that we cannot

perform at this juncture. We believe, however, that F&D's

contention is best left for the jury's consideration. We also

point out that this argument is premised on F&D's

assumption that the RTC's theory is that the individual

defendants purposely "created" a loss on the Northwest

account. But it seems clear to us that the RTC does not

claim that individual defendants "created a loss" in the

sense that they assisted Movroydis in his kiting scheme.

Rather, the RTC's position is that the employees"caused"

the loss to City Federal because their acts of concealment

and various misrepresentations led HonFed to exclude the

loan from the sale, which in turn resulted in City Federal

being put in the unfavorable position of having to deal with

a delinquent account that was certain to result in a

significant loan loss. Inasmuch as subsection (a) of the

fidelity provision requires only that the employees acted

with the manifest intent "to cause" the insured to sustain

the loss that it did, the RTC's theory of coverage falls

squarely within its relatively narrow parameters.

In sum, we are convinced that the evidence is not so one-

sided so as to compel the conclusion that, as a matter of

law, Ridder, Hurst and Merkle did not intend to benefit

themselves and cause City Federal to sustain a loss.

Consequently, we will not disturb the district court's

conclusion that summary judgment on this issue was

inappropriate.

66

2. Whether there is a genuine issue of material fact as to

whether the Northwest loss is a loss "resulting directly"

from the employees' dishonest or fraudulent acts

As its final argument, F&D contends that the district

court erred in concluding that a reasonable jury could find

that the employees' misconduct caused the Northwest loan

loss. The district court construed the causation language--

"resulting directly from"--as meaning that the bond covers

losses that would not have occurred "but for" the dishonest

conduct. See Op. at 23 (citing Lustig, 961 F.2d at 181 [sic]).

The court found that the evidence was sufficient to survive

F&D's summary judgment motion on this point because it

suggested that the extensions of credit and the additional

loans made after the original maturity date "at the very

least enhanced the losses" City Federal suffered. Id. The

court concluded that "while the deterioratingfinancial

condition of Northwest and Movroydis's kiting scheme

certainly contributed to the losses, a fact-finder could

reasonably conclude that the concealment by the officers of

the problematic status of the credit line in order to induce

the approval of future loans and extensions directly

resulted in a covered loss." Id.

F&D does not contend that the district court's "but for"

standard was incorrect, but instead maintains that the RTC

has not produced any evidence from which a reasonable

jury could conclude that the employees' misconduct was

the cause in fact of the loss, given the reality that it was

likely that City Federal would have sustained the same or

similar loss absent the fraudulent and dishonest actions.

F&D asserts that, under general principles of tort law, an

actor's conduct cannot be said to be a cause in fact of the

resulting damage if the evidence shows that the injury

would have resulted anyway even in the absence of the

conduct at issue. In support of applying this rule to bar

coverage in this case, F&D relies on tort cases discussing

the concept that a plaintiff asserting a fraud claim must

demonstrate that the fraudulent conduct caused an injury,

and it analogizes to cases which held that there is no tort

without an injury. See id. at 56 (citing Midwest Commerce

Banking Co. v. Elkhart City Ctr., 4 F.3d 521, 524-25 (7th

Cir. 1993); Stromberger v. 3M Co., 990 F.2d 974, 976-77

67

(7th Cir. 1993); Citibank, N.A. v. K-H Corp., 968 F.2d 1489,

1496 (2d Cir. 1992); Schroth v. Coal Operators Cas. Co., 73

A.2d 67, 68 (N.J. Super. Ct. App. Div. 1950)).

From this premise, F&D argues that the RTC failed to

meet its evidentiary burden at summary judgment because

it did not introduce any evidence tending to show that,

absent the individual defendants' pattern of concealment

and misrepresentation, City Federal would have avoided the

loss on the Northwest account. Br. at 55-63. F&D points to

the fact that the RTC's expert could not quantify with a

reasonable degree of certainty what funds were available to

pay off the advances outstanding on the Northwest loan at

any particular time. F&D's argument thus is premised on

its belief that the district court's factual cause or "but for"

analysis was flawed in that no reasonable jury could

conclude that the employees' dishonest or fraudulent

conduct played any part in the loan loss that forms the

basis of the RTC's indemnification claim.

Our analysis of this issue must begin by determining the

appropriate causation standard, given the plain language of

the bond. That finding will permit us to consider whether

the evidence in record is sufficient to establish that there is

a jury issue on causation.

As to the first issue, we do not share F&D's view that the

phrase "losses resulting directly from" requires only an

inquiry into the factual cause of the loss. Indeed, it appears

that in assuming that the language "resulting directly from"

requires only a "but for" or "cause-in-fact" standard of

causation, F&D has not considered our opinion in Jefferson

Bank v. Progressive Casualty Insurance Co., 965 F.2d 1274

(3d Cir. 1992), which addressed the appropriate

construction of the identical phrase under Pennsylvania

law. There we construed the "resulting directly from"

causation language in Insuring Agreement E--the forgery

provision--and concluded that that phrase meant"losses

proximately caused by." See id. at 1280-81. In reaching our

conclusion, we specifically noted the insured's argument

that the bond's language indicated that the causation

standard was "broader" than proximate cause, and that the

standard was a more lenient one, requiring only that the

forgery be the "cause-in-fact" or the "but-for" cause of the

68

loss. See id. at 1280-81 & n.10. Our analysis rejected the

insured's broader construction, as we found that the

conventional proximate cause standard was the correct

formulation. We also rejected the insurer's argument that

the language of the bond required the plaintiff to prove not

only proximate cause, but also some additional closeness in

space and time between the loss and the cause of the loss.

See id. at 1280-81 & n.11.

Our research reveals that the New Jersey Supreme Court

has not addressed the meaning of the phrase "losses

resulting directly from" as it is used throughout the various

Insuring Agreements contained in the Standard Form No.

22 bond at issue in this case, and in particular has not

construed the meaning of that language as it is used in the

fidelity provision. Nevertheless, our review of several New

Jersey cases interpreting and applying similar causation

language in other types of insurance agreements indicates

to us that the New Jersey Supreme Court would follow our

opinion in Jefferson Bank and apply the proximate

causation standard to the "resulting directly from" language

found in the fidelity provision of this bond. See, e.g., Cruz-

Mendez v. ISU/Ins. Servs., 722 A.2d 515, 525 (N.J. 1999)

(stating that statute, in using the terms "caused" and "by

reason of," contemplates proof of proximate causation)

(citing Westchester Fire Ins. Co. v. Continental Ins. Cos., 312

A.2d 664, 669 (N.J. Super. Ct. App. Div. 1973), aff'd, 319

A.2d 732 (N.J. 1974) (per curiam), which observed that

phrases "caused by" and "resulting from" in insurance

contracts convey idea of proximate cause); Search EDP, Inc.

v. American Home Assurance Co., 632 A.2d 286, 289-90

(N.J. Super. Ct. App. Div. 1993) (applying proximate cause

standard where errors and omissions policy covered

damages "resulting from" wrongful act where wrongful act

"arises out of" conduct of insured's business) (citing

Franklin Pack'g Co. v. California Union Ins. Co., 408 A.2d

448 (N.J. Super. Ct. App. Div. 1979)); Stone v. Royal Ins.

Co., 511 A.2d 717, 719-20 (N.J. Super. Ct. App. Div. 1986)

(interpreting language describing coverages and exclusions

under homeowner's insurance policy where policy covered

"direct loss . . . caused by," inter alia, accidental discharge

or overflow of water, and excluded losses "directly or

indirectly from" water damage; court applied proximate

69

cause standard to determine if water damage was covered

by policy, and determined that last event contributing to

the damage--the ruptured hose on the sump pump--was a

covered risk); see generally Karadontes v. Continental Ins.

Co., 354 A.2d 696, 697 n.1 (Bergen County Dist. Ct. 1976)

(noting that "direct loss" as used in fire insurance policies

has been construed to have essentially the same meaning

as proximate cause); Stephen M. Brent, Annotation, What

Constitutes "Direct Loss" Under Windstorm Insurance

Coverage, 65 ALR 3d 1128 (1975) (noting that courts have

equated "direct result" with "proximate cause of loss"); 7

Couch 3d, supra S 101:53 ("The term `direct loss' is

generally held to be the equivalent of both `proximate

cause,' and `direct cause.' ") (citations omitted).

Indeed, our result in Jefferson Bank was predicated upon

our review of Pennsylvania case law addressing the

meaning of a similar causation standard utilized in a

different type of insurance contract, see Jefferson Bank,

965 F.2d at 1281, and our construction of the language

"losses resulting directly from" comports with other

jurisdictions addressing this issue in the fidelity insurance

context. See, e.g., Mid-America Bank v. American Cas. Co.,

745 F. Supp. 1480, 1485 (D. Minn. 1990) (utilizing

proximate cause principles in addressing defendant's

argument that the losses caused by the renewal of loans

are not losses "directly resulting from" the employee's

dishonest or fraudulent acts); Hanson PLC, 794 P.2d at 73

(stating that trial court did not err in instructing jury that

"result directly" language in fidelity bond may be defined as

proximate cause). But see Fidelity & Deposit Co., 45 F.3d at

976 ("Lustig requires that the FDIC show that a loan would

not have been made `but for' the fraudulent conduct of the

employee."); Lustig, 961 F.2d at 1167 ("A loss is directly

caused by the dishonest or fraudulent act within the

meaning of the bond where the bank can demonstrate that

it would not have made the loan in the absence of fraud.");

see generally William T. Bogaert, Andrew F. Caplan,

Computing the Amount of Compensable Loss under the

Financial Institution Bond, 33 Tort & Ins. L.J. 807, 813-14

& nn.29 & 33 (Spring 1998) (criticizing approach

in Jefferson Bank as adopting causation standard that was

too lenient given the plain language of bond which required

70

that the connection between the loss and the conduct be

"direct," and noting still that the Court of Appeals for the

Fifth Circuit's approach in Lustig "departed even further

from the contractual language by allowing recovery based

upon mere `but for' or factual causation in apparent

disregard of the direct loss requirement and the proximity

of the covered conduct and the loss").

Thus, as a matter of logic, we see no reason why the New

Jersey Supreme Court would adopt a different

interpretation of the language, given the fact that the

phrases in the two Insuring Agreements are identical, and

our reasoning in Jefferson Bank supports an application of

the proximate causation standard in this context.

Accordingly, we hold, in accordance with our reasoning in

Jefferson Bank, that the phrase "losses resulting directly

from" requires, for purposes of indemnification, that the

losses be "proximately caused by" the fraudulent or

dishonest acts of the employee which form the basis for the

insured's coverage claim.

As previously mentioned, the district court, following

Lustig, held that there was evidence suggesting that the

dishonest and fraudulent acts were the cause in fact of the

Northwest loan loss. The court stated that there was

evidence suggesting that the extensions and additional

loans, at the very least, "enhanced" the losses City Federal

suffered. Op. at 23. Thus, it appears from the language it

used that the district court applied a less-demanding

standard of causation than that which we have adopted

today. See Jefferson Bank, 965 F.2d at 1281 n.10.

Nevertheless, we do not believe that the district court's

error in this regard necessitates reversal of the district

court's conclusion that there were genuine issues of

material fact concerning the question of causation

presented on the facts of this case. Indeed, we agree with

the district court's ultimate finding that a jury must

determine the cause of the Northwest loss that City Federal

sustained, and in particular, whether those specific

dishonest and fraudulent acts upon which the RTC bases

its claim of indemnification proximately caused the loss.

Under New Jersey tort law, which we find instructive on the

proximate cause analysis required under the bond, see

71

Jefferson Bank, 965 F.2d at 1281, "a proximate cause need

not be the sole cause of harm. It suffices if it is a

substantial contributing factor to the harm suffered." Perez

v. Wyeth Labs. Inc., 734 A.2d 1245, 1261 (N.J. 1999); see

also Jefferson Bank, 965 F.2d at 1281 (stating that under

Pennsylvania law, a cause is proximate if it is merely a

substantial cause of the harm) (citations and quotation

marks omitted). Based on the record before us, we cannot

find, as a matter of law, that a jury could not conclude that

the employees' actions were a substantial factor in bringing

about the Northwest loan loss that eventually resulted.

Allowing the jury to decide the issue of proximate cause is

consistent with New Jersey's approach to resolving

causation issues. See Perez, 734 A.2d at 1261 (citing Martin

v. Bengue, Inc., 136 A.2d 626 (N.J. 1957)).

We further point out that in reaching our conclusion on

the causation issue, we are unpersuaded by F&D's

suggestion that as the non-movant at summary judgment

proceedings, the RTC had to produce evidence

demonstrating that the Northwest loan loss would have

been avoided if the employees' misconduct had not

occurred. Importantly, F&D's position in this regard is

premised on cases which are not on point factually and fail

to address the relevant legal concept here--that of

proximate causation. Indeed, it appears from its brief that

F&D's argument conflates the tort concepts of proximate

causation and lack of compensable injury. See Br. at 56-59

(citing Midwest, 4 F.3d at 524; Stromberger, 990 F.2d at

976-77; Citibank, 968 F.2d at 1495; W. Page Keeton et al.,

Prosser and Keeton on the Law of Torts S 41, at 265 (5th ed.

1984)). Given this analytical flaw, F&D has not persuaded

us that the facts pertaining to the issue of proximate

causation are so one-sided so as to require judgment as a

matter of law in its favor. See Jefferson Bank , 965 F.2d at

1285 (finding genuine issue of material fact concerning

whether forged signature proximately caused loss where the

evidence suggested that the bank would have refused to

enter the transaction had not an individual purporting to

be a notary signed the instrument); accord Lustig, 961 F.2d

at 1167-68 (finding that relevant question pertaining to

causation issue was whether "the loan committee relied on

[the employee's] misrepresentations in making at least some

72

of the disputed loans," and determined that there were

material disputed issues of fact on that point; court stated

that the bond "does not require the bank to rule out all

reasons the loan was not repaid before it can obtain

coverage"). Accordingly, we will affirm the district court's

ruling on the causation issue, as we see no basis for

concluding, as a matter of law, that the dishonest and

fraudulent actions did not cause the Northwest loss.

V. CONCLUSION

As the foregoing discussion demonstrates, we have

determined that the district court erred in determining that

no reasonable jury could conclude that City Federal

"discovered" the covered loss prior to the expiration of the

bond period. Moreover, for the reasons stated, we cannot

affirm on the alternative ground that, as a matter of law,

the loss City Federal sustained was not covered by the

plain language of the bond's fidelity provision. Accordingly,

we will reverse the district court's order entered January

29, 1998, and remand the matter to the district court for

further proceedings consistent with this opinion.

A True Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit

73

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.