Opinion

Courson v. Bert Bell NFL Player Retirement Plan

  • 214 F.3d 136
  • 24 Employee Benefits Cas. (BNA) 2166
  • 2000 U.S. App. LEXIS 11972
  • 2000 WL 696235
Court
Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit
Filed
May 31, 2000
Author
Mansmann
On the bench
Mansmann, Greenberg, Alarcon
Cited by
4 cases
Authority
More cited than 65.1%

The opinion

Opinions of the United

2000 Decisions States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit

5-31-2000

Courson v. Bert Bell Pension Plan & NFL

Precedential or Non-Precedential:

Docket 99-3279

Follow this and additional works at: http://digitalcommons.law.villanova.edu/thirdcircuit_2000

Recommended Citation

"Courson v. Bert Bell Pension Plan & NFL" (2000). 2000 Decisions. Paper 112.

http://digitalcommons.law.villanova.edu/thirdcircuit_2000/112

This decision is brought to you for free and open access by the Opinions of the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit at Villanova

University School of Law Digital Repository. It has been accepted for inclusion in 2000 Decisions by an authorized administrator of Villanova

University School of Law Digital Repository. For more information, please contact Benjamin.Carlson@law.villanova.edu.

Filed May 31, 2000

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 99-3279

STEPHEN P. COURSON,

Appellant

v.

BERT BELL NFL PLAYER RETIREMENT PLAN; BERT

BELL/PETE ROZELLE NFL PLAYER RETIREMENT PLAN;

BERT BELL NFL PLAYER RETIREMENT TRUST; BERT

BELL NFL PLAYER RETIREMENT TRUSTEE; BERT BELL

NFL PLAYER RETIREMENT BOARD; BERT BELL/PETE

ROZELLE NFL PLAYER RETIREMENT BOARD; THE NFL

PLAYER SUPPLEMENTAL DISABILITY PLAN; THE NFL

PLAYER SUPPLEMENTAL DISABILITY PLAN DISABILITY

BOARD; THE NFL PLAYER SUPPLEMENTAL DISABILITY

PLAN TRUST; THE NFL PLAYER SUPPLEMENTAL

DISABILITY PLAN TRUSTEES; THE PLAN DIRECTOR;

DOES 1 THROUGH 110, Inclusive

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Western District of Pennsylvania

(D. Civ. No. 97-cv-02366)

District Judge: Honorable Robert J. Cindrich

Argued

March 21, 2000

Before: MANSMANN, GREENBERG and ALARCON,*

Circuit Judges.

(Filed: May 31, 2000)

_________________________________________________________________

* Honorable Arthur Alarcon of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Ninth Circuit, sitting by designation.

Philip J. Murray, III, Esquire

(ARGUED)

C. James Zeszutek, Esquire

Daniel A. Dzialga, Esquire

Thorp, Reed & Armstrong

One Riverfront Center

Pittsburgh, PA 15222

COUNSEL FOR APPELLANT

Thomas S. Gigot, Esquire (ARGUED)

Douglas W. Ell, Esquire

Alvaro I. Anillo, Esquire

Groom Law Group Chartered

1701 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.

Suite 1200

Washington, D.C. 20006

COUNSEL FOR APPELLEES

OPINION OF THE COURT

MANSMANN, Circuit Judge.

In this appeal, we are asked to decide whether the

decision of the Retirement Board for the National Football

League's retirement plans, denying a request to reclassify

disability benefits to a higher pay status, was arbitrary and

capricious. Stephen P. Courson contends that the NFL and

its member teams condoned and/or supervised, inter alia,

his abuse of alcohol for pain relief and, therefore, his

alcohol-induced cardiomyopathy arose from a "League

football activity" within the meaning of the retirement plan.

Thus, Courson contends he is entitled to a higher level of

disability benefits. Because we find the Board's decision

was reasonable and supported by substantial evidence, we

will affirm the judgment of the District Court.

I.

This appeal presents the unfortunate account of a former

professional football player who once dominated the playing

field as an offensive lineman in the National Football

2

League ("NFL") but, due to alcohol-induced cardiomyopathy,

is now in need of a heart transplant. In 1977, Courson was

drafted by the Pittsburgh Steelers Football Club. Courson

played professional football for the Steelers from the time

he was drafted in 1977 until the end of the 1983 season.

He was traded to the Tampa Bay Buccaneers Football Club

in 1984 and played for that team during the 1984 and

1985 seasons. After the conclusion of Tampa Bay's 1986

mini-camp, Courson asked to be traded. Tampa Bay agreed

and released him two weeks later. Courson then spent the

next month in Myrtle Beach, working out with weights and

running every day to stay in physical condition in the

expectation that another NFL team would express an

interest in him. No other team called, however, and in

September 1986, Tampa Bay officially announced

Courson's retirement from football.

After officially retiring from football, Courson took the

first fall vacation of his life--he flew to Munich for

Oktoberfest. Upon returning from Germany, Courson

rented a cabin in Wyoming and began taking notes for his

autobiography, which was eventually published in 1991

under the title, False Glory. In the spring of 1988, Courson

found out he was flat broke, having lost more than

$500,000 through a number of bad investments. Courson

concluded that, "[o]ther than football, I didn't know of too

many legitimate professions in which one could make that

kind of dough. And without a college degree and with few

marketable skills, it would be difficult for me to earn even

a moderately decent wage." Consequently, Courson decided

to pursue a career in professional wrestling. He thought he

could make a lot of money fast and then retire.

In his book, False Glory, Courson describes his first

match in Charleroi, Pennsylvania, in which he quickly

disposed of his opponent by giving "him a couple of hip

tosses, [throwing] him off the ropes, lift[ing] him, body-

slamm[ing] him to the canvas, and then cover[ing] him up.

Bing-bang-boom." Around the same time, Courson

competed in his first and only weight lifting competition. At

a September 10, 1988 event, Courson bench pressed 605

pounds to win the super-heavyweight class, describing the

victory as "exhilarating."

3

During his career in the NFL, Courson was exposed to

the use of anabolic-androgenic steroids ("AAS") among his

teammates and other NFL players. In order to compete with

other NFL players who used AAS, Courson began ingesting

AAS to increase his size, strength, speed, and aggression.

Courson continued to ingest AAS after he retired from the

NFL.

At about the same time as he was ingesting AAS,

Courson also began consuming large amounts of alcohol,

primarily as a means to control the pain resulting from

football injuries. According to Courson, his drinking

eventually led to his addiction to alcohol because the pain

remained constant yet more alcohol was needed as his

tolerance level increased. Courson could have chosen

narcotic painkillers, which he claims were frequently

provided by team physicians, to quell his pain but, instead,

he chose alcohol. Courson continued to drink excessively

until he became ill in the fall of 1988.

On November 26, 1988, Courson presented himself to the

hospital emergency room with complaints of shortness of

breath. Following a battery of tests, the hospital's

physicians concluded that Courson was experiencing heart

failure and diagnosed "dilated cardiomyopathy." According

to Courson, cardiologist Richard Rosenbloom, M.D.,

explained that his muscle fibers were being "lost over time"

and that his heart had become "flabby and baggy and

doesn't pump as a normal heart should." Dr. Rosenbloom

immediately placed Courson on a waiting list for a heart

transplant.

In October 1992, Courson applied for disability benefits

under the Bert Bell NFL Player Retirement Plan (the"Bert

Bell Plan" or the "Old Plan"), an employee pension benefit

plan within the meaning of section 3(2)(A) of ERISA, 29

U.S.C. S 1002(2)(A). The Bert Bell Plan was established

through a collective bargaining agreement between the

National Football League Players' Association ("the Players'

Association") and the National Football League Management

Council ("the Management Council"). The Bert Bell Plan

provides the following relevant categories of benefits:

4

1) a monthly pension of "no less than $4,000 if

disability results from a football injury incurred

while an Active Player;" and

2) a monthly pension of "no less than $750 if the total

and permanent disability results from other than a

football injury;"

Bert Bell Plan, S 5.1 at p. 27. Thus, the Bert Bell Plan

distinguishes between two types of benefits, "Football

Injury" benefits and "Other Than Football Injury" benefits.

The Bert Bell Plan provides for the creation of a

Retirement Board composed of six voting members, three of

whom are selected by the Players' Association and three of

whom are selected by the Management Council, and one

non-voting member, the Commissioner of the NFL. With

regard to the powers of the Retirement Board, the plan

states:

the Retirement Board shall have all necessary

powers incident to the creation, administration,

implementation and operation of the Plan and Trust,

including but not limited to the power:

A) To define and amend the terms of the Plan and

Trust, to construe the Plan and Trust and to reconcile

inconsistencies therein.

Bert Bell Plan, S 8.4(A) at p. 36.

On his application for disability benefits, Courson

identified "Idiopathic Dilated Cardiomyopathy" as the

nature and cause of his disability with an onset date of

November 1988. His application included a report from

cardiologist Mark E. Thompson, M.D., who confirmed that

Courson was totally and permanently disabled and that the

disability onset date was November 26, 1988. Dr.

Thompson described the nature of the disability as

"Idiopathic Cardiomyopathy." Dr. Thompson further

indicated in his report that the disabling illness or injury

did not result from a football-related activity. In December

1992, the Retirement Board awarded Courson "Other Than

Football Injury" benefits under the Bert Bell Plan retroactive

to December 1, 1988, the first month following the onset

date of his disability.

5

In June 1993, the Players' Association and the

Management Council entered into a new collective

bargaining agreement. The agreement called for the Bert

Bell Plan and the Pete Rozelle NFL Player Retirement Plan

(the "Rozelle Plan"), an ERISA plan similar to the Bert Bell

Plan, to be merged to form a new plan, the Bert Bell/Pete

Rozelle NFL Player Retirement Plan (the "Player Retirement

Plan" or the "New Plan"). The Player Retirement Plan, which

governs eligibility determinations for benefits payable after

July 1, 1993, is also an employee pension benefit plan

within the meaning of section 3(2)(A) of ERISA, 29 U.S.C.

S 1002(2)(A). Under the Player Retirement Plan, eligible

players who had been awarded benefits under the Bert Bell

Plan and the Rozelle Plan (collectively referred to as the

"Predecessor Plans") will continue to receive disability

benefits.

As was true for the Predecessor Plans, eligibility terms

and benefit levels under the Player Retirement Plan were

established through collective bargaining between the

Players' Association and the Management Council and

memorialized in the governing plan document. Like the

Predecessor Plans, the Player Retirement Plan is

administered by a joint Retirement Board composed of six

voting members, three selected by the Players' Association

and three selected by the Management Council. The plan

document provides in pertinent part:

[t]he Retirement Board will have full and absolute

discretion, authority and power to interpret, control,

implement, and manage the Plan and the Trust. Such

authority includes, but is not limited to, the power to:

(a) Define the terms of the Plan and Trust, construe

the Plan and Trust, and reconcile any

inconsistencies therein;

(b) Decide claims for benefits (except that the

Retirement Board will follow decisions submitted

to, and decided by, the Medical Advisory

Physician or an arbitrator pursuant to Section

8.3);

. . .

6

Player Retirement Plan, S 8.2 at 32.

The plan document also sets forth the following four-part

classification scheme for awarding and paying total and

permanent disability benefits:

(a) (Active Football) The monthly total and permanent

disability benefit will be no less than $4,000 if the

disability(ies) results from League football

activities, arises while the Player is an Active

Player, and causes the Player to be totally and

permanently disabled "shortly after" the

disability(ies) first arises.

(b) (Active Nonfootball) The monthly total and

permanent disability benefit will be no less than

$4,000 if the disability(ies) does not result from

League football activities, but does arise while the

Player is an Active Player and does cause the

Player to be totally and permanently disabled

"shortly after" the disability(ies) first arises.

(c) (Football Degenerative) The monthly total and

permanent disability benefit will be no less than

$4,000 if the disability(ies) arises out of League

football activities, and results in total and

permanent disability before the later of (1) age 45,

or (2) 12 years after the end of the Player's last

Credited Season.

(d) (Inactive) The monthly total and permanent

disability benefit will be no less than $1,500 if (1)

the total and permanent disability arises from

other than League football activities while the

Player is a Vested Inactive Player, or (2) the

disability(ies) arises out of League football

activities, and results in total and permanent

disability after the later of (i) age 45, or (ii) 12

years after the end of the Player's last Credited

Season. The minimum benefits provided under

this Section 5.1(d) will be offset by any disability

benefits provided by an employer other than the

League or an Employer, but will not be offset by

worker's compensation.

7

Id., S 5.1(a) - (d) at 21-22. As used in subsections (a) and

(b) above, the phrase "shortly after" includes Players who

become totally and permanently disabled within six months

after the disability first arises. If a Player becomes totally

and permanently disabled more than twelve months after

the disability first arises, the disability will be conclusively

deemed not to fall within the "shortly after" provision. The

Retirement Board is vested with the discretion to decide

whether the "shortly after" standard is satisfied in cases

where the Player becomes totally and permanently disabled

more than six months but less than 12 months after the

disability first arises. Id., S 5.1 at 22.

In addition to the minimum $4,000 benefit provided by

the Active Football, Active Nonfootball, and Football

Degenerative classifications, a player falling under one of

these three classifications is automatically entitled to an

additional monthly benefit under the NFL Player

Supplemental Disability Plan (the "Supplemental Plan").1 The

purpose of the Supplemental Plan is to provide additional

disability benefits to certain players who also receive total

and permanent disability benefits under the Player

Retirement Plan. Like the Player Retirement Plan, eligibility

terms and benefit levels under the Supplemental Plan are

determined through collective bargaining between the

Players' Association and the Management Council and

memorialized in the governing plan document. The

Supplemental Plan is administered by a Disability Board

composed of six voting members, three of whom are

selected by the Players' Association and three of whom are

appointed by the Management Council. The Disability

Board has absolute discretion and final authority in

interpreting the Supplemental Plan, adopting rules and

regulations regarding the administration of the plan, and

reviewing claims for benefits. Supplemental Plan, S 4.3 at 9.

When aggregated, benefit payments under the Player

Retirement Plan and the Supplemental Plan amount to

$200,000 per year for Players whose claims fall within one

of these three categories. On the other hand, Players whose

_________________________________________________________________

1. The Supplemental Plan is an employee benefit plan within the

meaning of Section 3(1) of ERISA, 29 U.S.C. S 1002(1).

8

claims are classified in the Inactive category do not receive

benefits under the Supplemental Plan.

Courson petitioned the Player Retirement Plan's

Retirement Board in May of 1996 to reclassify his disability

from Inactive to one of the three higher-paying

classifications--Active Football, Football Degenerative, or

Active Nonfootball. In his petition, Courson cited his use of

AAS and alcohol during the years that he played in the NFL

as the cause of his disabling heart condition, and that such

use should be considered "League football activities" for

purposes of the Player Retirement Plan's disability

classification scheme.

The Retirement Board unanimously denied Courson's

reclassification request under the Player Retirement Plan in

a letter decision dated July 18, 1996. The Board's decision

left intact Courson's current classification of Inactive for

which he receives payments of $1,750 per month. The

Board concluded that Courson did not qualify for either

Active Football, Football Degenerative, or Active Nonfootball

benefits because: (1) his disability did not arise during the

time he was an Active Player; (2) even if his disability did

arise during the time he was an Active Player, it did not

cause him to become totally and permanently disabled

within 12 months of the onset date of the disabling

condition; (3) the taking of AAS and the consumption of

alcohol are not League football activities; and (4) even if the

taking of AAS was considered a League football activity,

there is no established scientific evidence that there is a

causal relationship between the use of AAS and the

development of dilated cardiomyopathy.

In accordance with the decision review provisions of the

Player Retirement Plan, Courson appealed the Retirement

Board's denial and submitted additional documentation

related to AAS and alcohol use. Courson also raised for the

first time new theories of benefit eligibility with new onset

dates. In particular, Courson argued that he was entitled to

benefits under the Bert Bell Plan from June 1986 through

November 1988 because alcoholism rendered him disabled

during this period. He further argued that his alcoholism

was a "League football activity" which entitled him to the

higher-paying Football Injury benefits during this period.

9

Courson also claimed that his heart condition resulted from

"League football activities" which entitled him to Football

Injury benefits under the Bert Bell Plan from November

1988 through July 1, 1993.

The Retirement Board reviewed the supplemental

documentation Courson submitted. In addition, the

Retirement Board sought and obtained more information

about the medical and non-medical issues related to AAS

and alcohol use, all of which was made available for

Courson's review. After considering all of the record

evidence, the Retirement Board, on August 11, 1997,

unanimously affirmed its previous determination that

Courson only qualified for "Other Than Football Injury"

benefits under the Bert Bell Plan for the period December 1,

1988 through July 1, 1993 and "Inactive" benefits under

the Player Retirement Plan on an ongoing basis thereafter.

The Retirement Board further found that Courson was not

totally and permanently disabled from June 1986 through

November 1988 under the Bert Bell Plan eligibility rules.

Having exhausted his administrative remedies, Courson

then filed this action in the District Court against the

defendants, claiming that his application for benefits was

denied in violation of ERISA. The parties subsequently filed

cross-motions for summary judgment. The District Court,

finding that the Retirement Board's decision was reasonable

and supported by substantial evidence, entered an order on

March 31, 1999, granting summary judgment in favor of

the defendants. Courson subsequently filed this timely

appeal.

II.

Our review of the District Court's grant of summary

judgment is de novo. We employ the same legal standards

applied by the District Court in the first instance. Where

the benefit plan gives the administrator or fiduciary

authority to determine eligibility for benefits or to construe

the terms of the plan, the denial of benefits is reviewed

under the arbitrary and capricious standard. Mitchell v.

Eastman Kodak Co., 113 F.3d 433, 437-38 & n.4 (3d Cir.

1997) (citing Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. v. Bruch, 489 U.S.

10

101, 115 (1989)). Under all of the plans at issue here, the

Retirement Board is vested with complete discretion to

determine eligibility for benefits and to construe the terms

of the plans. Thus, we review the Retirement Board's

decisions under the arbitrary and capricious standard on

the basis of the administrative record before the Board

when it made its decisions. Hullett v. Towers, Perrin, Forster

& Crosby, Inc., 38 F.3d 107, 114 (3d Cir. 1994) (citing

Firestone, supra, at 115).

Under this deferential standard, a plan administrator's

interpretation of a plan may be disturbed "only if it is

`without reason, unsupported by substantial evidence or

erroneous as a matter of law.' " Abnathya v. Hoffmann-

LaRoche, Inc., 2 F.3d 40, 45 (3d Cir. 1993) (quoting Adamo

v. Anchor Hocking Corp., 720 F.Supp. 491, 500 (W.D. Pa.

1989)). A decision is supported by "substantial evidence if

there is sufficient evidence for a reasonable person to agree

with the decision." Daniels v. Anchor Hocking Corp., 758

F.Supp. 326, 331 (W.D. Pa. 1991). With this highly

deferential standard in mind, we turn now to the merits of

Courson's appeal.

III.

Courson maintains that the Retirement Board's decision

was arbitrary and capricious as it was against the weight of

substantial evidence. The Retirement Board addressed

three distinct claims presented by Courson: (1) a claim for

total and permanent disability benefits from 1986 through

November 1988 due to alcoholism; (2) a request for

reclassification of disability benefits from"Other Than

Football Injury" to "Football Injury" for the period November

1988 to July 1, 1993; and (3) a request for reclassification

of disability benefits from "Inactive" to either "Active

Nonfootball," "Active Football," or "Football Degenerative"

benefits for the period July 1, 1993 to present. 2 We will

address each of these claims seriatim. Before proceeding

with our analysis, however, we will first consider the

_________________________________________________________________

2. In this appeal, Courson has wisely abandoned his claim that his AAS

abuse caused his cardiomyopathy as the medical evidence to date simply

does not support a link between AAS and cardiomyopathy.

11

meaning of the terms "totally and permanently disabled"

and "League football activities" as those terms are used in

the plan documents.

With respect to disability benefits paid after July 1, 1993,

a Player will be deemed totally and permanently disabled

under the New Plan in the following situation:

An Active Player or a Vested Inactive Player . . . will be

deemed to be totally and permanently disabled if the

Retirement Board finds that he has become totally

disabled to the extent that he is substantially

prevented from or substantially unable to engage in

any occupation or employment for remuneration or

profit, but expressly excluding any disability suffered

while in the military service of any country. A Player

will not be considered to be able to engage in any

occupation or employment for remuneration or profit

within the meaning of this Section 5.2 merely because

such person is employed by the League or an

Employer, manages personal or family investments, is

employed by or associated with a charitable

organization, or is employed out of benevolence.

Player Retirement Plan, S 5.2 at 22-23. Under section 5.2 of

the Old Plan, which applies to disability benefits paid before

July 1, 1993, the standard for determining total and

permanent disability is stated as follows:

A Player or Vested Inactive Player, other than a Retired

Player, shall be deemed to be totally and permanently

disabled if the Retirement Board shall find that he has

become totally disabled to the extent that he is

prevented from or unable to engage in any occupation

or employment for remuneration or profit, but

expressly excluding any disability suffered while in the

military service of any country.

Bert Bell Plan, S 5.2 at 28.

Once a determination of total and permanent disability

has been made, the eligibility criteria set forth previously

for the various levels of benefits must be reviewed in light

of the nature and cause of an individual Player's disability.

Under the New Plan, the four-part classification scheme is

12

used (Active Football, Active Nonfootball, Football

Degenerative, Inactive); under the Old Plan, disabilities are

categorized as either "Football Injury" or"Other Than

Football Injury."

Under the New Plan, the key to determining the correct

benefit category is whether the disability arises or results

from "League football activities." The New Plan provides the

following definition of "Arising out of League football

activities":

"Arising out of League football activities" means a

disablement arising out of any League pre-season,

regular-season, or post-season game, or any

combination thereof, or out of League football activity

supervised by an Employer, including all required or

directed activities. "Arising out of League football

activities" will not include any disablement resulting

from other employment or activity initiated by the

Player outside of official pre-season training, including

athletic activity for recreation or for the general

purpose of maintaining or achieving playing condition.

Player Retirement Plan, SS 6.4(c) and 6.5(g) at 27 (emphasis

added). Under the Old Plan, the key to correctly classifying

the disability is determining whether the disability"results

from a football injury." The Old Plan defines"Arising out of

football activities" as follows:

"Arising out of football activities" shall mean a

disablement arising out of any Game or any pre-season

or post-season game of the League or out of football

activity supervised by an Employer, including all

required or directed activities. "Arising out of football

activities" shall not include any disablement resulting

from other employment or activity initiated by the

Player outside of official pre-season training, including

athletic activity for recreational or for the general

purpose of maintaining or achieving playing condition.

Bert Bell Plan, S 6.5 at 30 (emphasis added).3 With these

_________________________________________________________________

3. This definition comes from a separate article of the Old Plan relating

to temporary "line of duty" disability benefits for a player who suffers a

"substantial disablement arising out of football activities." We refer to

this definition because it provides some guidance in determining whether

Courson's disability "result[ed] from a football injury" for purposes of

total and permanent disability benefits.

13

definitions in mind, we turn now to a discussion of the

three claims raised by Courson before the Retirement

Board.

A.

Denial of Benefits from June 1986 - November 1988

Courson claims that the Retirement Board's decision to

deny him total and permanent disability benefits under the

Old Plan for the period June 1986 through November 1988

was arbitrary and capricious. He contends that the record

establishes that he was totally and permanently disabled

during this period due to alcoholism. Courson further

contends that his addiction to alcohol arose as a result of

the failure by the NFL and its member clubs for whom he

played, despite knowledge of Courson's use and abuse of

alcohol, to follow NFL policies regarding such abuse.

Moreover, Courson contends that by providing alcohol to

Players after games, the Steelers supervised and directed

his alcohol consumption, thus making it a football activity.

Thus, Courson submits that because his alcoholism

resulted from a football activity, he is entitled to"Football

Injury" benefits. The Board's decision to the contrary,

Courson argues, was against the weight of substantial

evidence.

In support of these claims, Courson argues that the

Board relied solely on a few isolated excerpts from his book,

False Glory, to support its conclusion that he was not

totally disabled from alcoholism. As explained below,

Courson's assertion, however, misstates the basis of the

Board's decision and the record evidence.

Courson further argues that the Board failed to consider

that the temporary ability to engage in purely physical feats

of strength does not necessarily mean that one is capable

of employment. In support of this argument, Courson cites

Mitchell v. Eastman Kodak Co., 113 F.3d 433 (3d Cir.

1997). Courson specifically refers to our comment in

Mitchell that given the characteristics of chronic fatigue

syndrome, it was not inconsistent for the plaintiff 's

physician to conclude that the plaintiff was totally unable

14

to engage in substantial gainful activity even though his

ability to perform isolated activities such as standing,

pushing, pulling and communicating was only "somewhat"

limited. Id. at 440 n.7. To further support his position,

Courson cites McShea v. Schweiker, 700 F.2d 117 (3d Cir.

1983), a case involving a claim for social security disability

benefits where the disabling condition was alcoholism.

Courson claims he has displayed many of the same signs of

disabling alcoholism as the claimant in McShea and, just as

the claimant in McShea was not precluded from receiving

social security disability benefits due to periods of lucidity

and sobriety, so, too, should Courson not be precluded

from receiving disability benefits just because the record

indicates periodic activity and sobriety. Id. at 118.

Our decision in Mitchell, however, can be distinguished

on the facts here. The so-called "isolated" activities

performed by Courson were much more than "standing,

pushing, pulling and communicating." Moreover, the

Retirement Board considered the nature of the activities

performed by Courson from June of 1986 through

November 1988 in light of his claimed alcoholism, as well

as other evidence, and concluded that he was not

substantially prevented from or substantially unable to

engage in any occupation or employment for remuneration

or profit.

Finally, Courson contends that the Retirement Board

ignored substantial evidence that Courson was, in fact,

totally disabled from alcoholism for the period June 1986 to

November 1988. The substantial evidence which Courson

contends the Board ignored consists of the report of Paul

Freyder, Courson's affidavit, and his federal income tax

returns for the years in question. A review of the record and

the Retirement Board's decision, however, requires the

opposite conclusion.

Despite Courson's allegations to the contrary, it is clear

that the Retirement Board considered all of the evidence,

including Paul Freyder's report, Courson's affidavit, and his

federal income tax returns, and that its decision was based

on substantial evidence. The Retirement Board considered

Paul Freyder's report and found it to be completely

implausible in light of the facts reported earlier by Courson

15

in his book, False Glory. Freyder, a human services

consultant, opined that Courson's alcoholism "consumed

his life and substantially prevented him from or rendered

him unable to find (and maintain) any employment[from

June 1986 through November 1988]." Freyder's report was

based entirely on an extensive interview he conducted with

Courson in 1997.

On the other hand, in False Glory, which was published

in 1991, Courson described his post-football experiences

very differently than he described them to Freyder in 1997.

For instance, in False Glory, Courson stated that after the

Buccaneers released him, Courson then spent the next

month in Myrtle Beach working out with weights and

running every day to stay in condition with the expectation

that another NFL team would express an interest in him. In

October, Courson vacationed in Munich. Upon returning

from Germany, Courson rented a cabin in Wyoming and

began taking notes for his book. In the spring of 1988,

upon learning that he was impoverished as a result of a

number of bad investments, Courson decided to pursue a

career in professional wrestling. Around the same time,

Courson also competed in a weight lifting competition.

There is no indication from these post-football activities

that alcoholism substantially prevented Courson from

finding and/or maintaining any employment from June

1986 through November 1988.

The Retirement Board also considered Courson's lack of

substantial income from June 1986 through November

1988 but concluded that alone it was not indicative of total

and permanent disability as defined by the Old Plan. Here,

when Courson's income tax returns are viewed in light of

the other evidence, the lack of substantial income is

reflective of his intent and attitude between June 1986 and

November 1988. In this regard, Courson did not view

himself as a person who was unable to engage in any

occupation or employment for remuneration or profit

because of a disability. Indeed, one gets the impression

from his statements in False Glory that he was not really

looking for work until his investments severely decreased in

the spring of 1988, at which point he decided to go into

professional wrestling to make some fast money. Thus, the

16

record evidence here shows that his lack of substantial

income is attributable to a conscious decision on his part

not to seek employment until he discovered his

impoverished situation -- not because he viewed himself as

disabled in any way and incapable of working.

Moreover, Dr. Thompson's report and Courson's initial

application for disability benefits both state that the onset

date of his total and permanent disability is November 26,

1988. Other than Freyder's report and Courson's affidavit

which are based on the self-serving statements of Courson

made in 1997, no other evidence, medical or otherwise,

refutes the onset date of November 26, 1988. Thus, the

Retirement Board's conclusion that Courson was not totally

and permanently disabled from June 1986 through

November 1988 is reasonable and supported by substantial

evidence.

B.

Reclassification of Disability Benefits- November 1988 to

July 1993

Courson further argues that the Retirement Board's

denial of his request for reclassification of his disability

benefits from "Other Than Football Injury" to "Football

Injury" for the period November 1988 to July 1, 1993 was

arbitrary and capricious. He claims that he is entitled to

the reclassification because his cardiomyopathy is a total

and permanent disability which resulted from a football

injury, i.e., an abuse of alcohol which was supervised and

condoned by the Steelers and Buccaneers. While we can

appreciate counsel's zealousness to fashion an argument on

Courson's behalf in support of reclassifying his benefits to

"Football Injury" benefits under the Old Plan, we do not

find any merit to his argument.

The Retirement Board carefully considered whether

Courson's self-described alcohol abuse was an activity

"supervised by," or "required or directed" by, the Steelers or

Buccaneers. In particular, the Retirement Board

considered: (1) the NFL policy expressly prohibiting serious

misuse of alcohol; (2) that the Steelers provided alcohol to

17

players after games but only a maximum of two cans of

beer per player; (3) then Steelers' coach Chuck Noll's

statement that Courson displayed no outward signs that he

was alcoholic or abusing alcohol; and (4) Courson's earlier

statements in False Glory that episodes of heavy drinking

occurred at bars or at home, not at the club facilities, that

he did not believe he was an alcoholic because he did not

match the typical profile -- he was rarely late for work,

never started a fight in a bar, and did not drink every day

-- and that he was a big guy who could drink a lot without

getting roaring, sloppy drunk.

The Retirement Board found that alcohol abuse and AAS

consumption did not constitute activities "required,"

"directed," or "supervised" by the NFL or either the Steelers

or Buccaneers. The Board completely rejected Courson's

argument that the teams' alleged failure to supervise his

alcohol and AAS consumption somehow rendered those

activities "League football activities" within the meaning of

the plan document. To the contrary, the Board found the

evidence showed "Courson decided to overindulge in alcohol

and to use AAS on his own initiative, on his own time, and

in knowing contravention of League policy."

We do not find any fault with the Retirement Board's

conclusion. Although the medical evidence indicates that

alcohol consumption is a cause of cardiomyopathy, the

facts here simply do not support a conclusion that alcohol

consumption is an activity "supervised," "required or

directed" by the League clubs. Likewise, our review of the

evidence causes us to conclude that the record clearly

shows that Courson decided to overindulge in alcohol

consumption on his own initiative, on his own time, in

contravention of League policy. Moreover, no precedent

exists for finding that the failure to supervise Courson's

alcohol intake somehow renders that activity one that

"arises out of football activities" as meant by the Plan.

Given these facts, it would be unreasonable to conclude

that Courson's alcohol abuse was an activity "supervised",

"required or directed" by the Steelers or Buccaneers.

Although alcohol consumption may have caused or

contributed to Courson's cardiomyopathy, such alcohol

consumption was not an activity "supervised,""required or

18

directed" by an NFL team. Therefore, Courson's argument

that his disability arose from a football injury lacks merit.

The Retirement Board's denial of his request to reclassify

his disability benefits under the Old Plan was thus

reasonable and supported by substantial evidence.

C.

Reclassification of Disability Benefits- July 1993 to

Present

With regard to his claim for benefits under the New Plan,

Courson makes two arguments. First, Courson argues that

the Retirement Board's denial of his request to reclassify

his disability from "Inactive" to "Active Nonfootball" benefits

was arbitrary and capricious. In support of his argument,

Courson submits that he presented substantial evidence

establishing his eligibility for "Active Nonfootball" benefits

under the New Plan. Specifically, Courson claims he

presented substantial evidence proving: (1) that his

alcoholism arose while he was an active Player, and (2) that

his alcoholism caused him to be totally and permanently

disabled within twelve months of his retirement. Courson

further contends that the Retirement Board rejected his

claim solely on the basis that Courson failed to establish

that his disability existed within twelve months of his June

1986 retirement. Courson submits that the record is

replete, however, with evidence that proves his disease

satisfied the requirements for "Active Nonfootball" benefits.

Courson's argument lacks merit. First of all, a

prerequisite to qualifying for "Active Nonfootball" benefits is

that the disability did not result from"League football

activities." In all other respects, Courson has maintained

that his disability did result from a League football activity,

alcohol consumption. He cannot have it both ways.

Nonetheless, Courson meets this prerequisite since the

Retirement Board's conclusion that his disability did not

result from a League football activity is reasonable and

supported by substantial evidence. Courson's claim of

eligibility for "Active Nonfootball" benefits fails, however,

because he has not shown that his disability,

19

cardiomyopathy, arose while he was an active Player and

that it caused him to be totally and permanently disabled

shortly after the disability first arose.4 Although Courson

avers that the record is replete with evidence that proves he

satisfied the eligibility requirements for "Active Nonfootball"

benefits, he fails to identify the particular evidence that

supports his conclusory statement.

Courson's second reclassification argument pertains to

the Retirement Board's denial of his request to reclassify

his disability from "Inactive" to either "Active Football" or

"Football Degenerative" benefits. Courson contends the

Board's decision denying such reclassification was arbitrary

and capricious because the Board's conclusion that alcohol

use was not a "League football activity" contradicted the

substantial evidence. Specifically, Courson contends that

the Retirement Board ignored the simple and indisputable

facts -- that alcohol consumption was managed by the

Steelers; managing the activity is the equivalent of

supervising the activity; since his disability was caused by

alcohol consumption which was an activity supervised by

the Steelers, the disability was caused by a "League football

activity."

In support of his argument, Courson submits that the

following unrebutted substantial evidence proves a

correlation between the use of alcohol and "League" play:

(a) incessant pressure by NFL teams and the League placed

on athletes to gain every possible edge; (b) the NFL was

_________________________________________________________________

4. Courson maintains that "shortly after" includes disabilities where the

claimant becomes totally and permanently disabled within twelve

months of his retirement. As stated earlier, however, the Player

Retirement Plan provides that a disability will be conclusively deemed to

have occurred "shortly after" if the claimant becomes totally and

permanently disabled within six months after the disability first arises.

Although Courson became totally and permanently disabled from

cardiomyopathy within six months after his disability first arose (i.e.,

November 26, 1988), he cannot show that the cardiomyopathy arose

while he was an active player. Other than the single report in 1985 of

atrial fibrillation, nothing in the record indicates that he suffered any

symptoms of this disease until November 1988. Thus, Courson first

became totally and permanently disabled on November 26, 1988, after

he had been retired from football for over two years.

20

fully aware of alcohol abuse by certain players and declined

to act or to enforce its own policies; and (c) Courson drank

incessantly at first to quell the pain from football injuries

which led to his uncontrollable urge to drink continuously.

Moreover, Courson claims the Retirement Board refused to

acknowledge sworn statements of his former teammates

regarding the widespread availability of alcohol after home

and away games. Thus, Courson maintains that he is

entitled to "Active Football" benefits because his disability

results from "League football activities,"first arose while he

was an active Player and caused him to be unable tofind

or maintain employment within twelve months of his

retirement.

As we stated earlier, the evidence supports a contrary

finding. While all of Courson's assertions linking alcohol

consumption with League play may be true, they fall short

of establishing that the NFL teams actually condoned or

encouraged the consumption of alcohol, let alone in the

large quantities consumed by Courson. Any perceived

pressure on the part of the Players was self-imposed. If

anything, the evidence shows that the League and member

teams discouraged alcohol abuse. To this end, when

Courson mentioned his alcohol abuse to the Buccaneers,

they referred him to a psychiatrist for counseling. When he

played for the Steelers, Courson did not exhibit any

behavior that indicated that he had a drinking problem. As

he admitted in his book, Courson's binge drinking occurred

in bars and at home--not in the clubhouse.5 Courson's use

of alcohol to quell the pain from his football injuries was

clearly self-imposed and thus not " `supervised' or `required

or directed' " by any NFL team. Accordingly, because

Courson has failed to establish that his disability resulted

_________________________________________________________________

5. Courson refers to the affidavits of teammates regarding widespread

alcohol consumption in the clubhouse. However, an examination of Craig

Wolfley's affidavit reveals nothing more than that alcohol was served on

the plane rides home from away games, that alcohol was used by some

NFL players as a "primitive pain killer for bumps, bruises and injuries,"

and that NFL management appeared to place a greater emphasis on

preventing alcohol abuse towards the end of his career (1980-1991).

Nothing in Mr. Wolfley's affidavit supports Courson's theory that the NFL

" `supervised' or `required or directed' " alcohol consumption.

21

from a "League football activity," he is not eligible for

"Active Football" benefits.

In the alternative, Courson argues that if we find the

Retirement Board's decision that Courson did not become

totally and permanently disabled until November 1988 was

supported by substantial evidence, he is nonetheless

entitled to "Football Degenerative" benefits. Courson

contends he has satisfied the eligibility criteria because his

cardiomyopathy was caused by alcoholism which arose out

of a "League football activity," i.e., alcohol consumption,

and he became totally and permanently disabled at the age

of 33 and within three years after the end of his last

Credited Season (1985). As discussed previously, however,

the Retirement Board's conclusion that alcohol

consumption is not a "League football activity" is

reasonable. Thus, because Courson's disability does not

arise from a "League football activity," he is not entitled to

"Football Degenerative" benefits under the New Plan.

Accordingly, we cannot say that the Retirement Board's

decision was arbitrary and capricious on the record

evidence in this case.

IV.

For the reasons set forth above, we will affirm the

judgment of the District Court.

A True Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit

22

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.