Opinion

Orvosh v. Program of Group Insurance for Salaried Employees of Volkswagen of America, Inc.

  • 222 F.3d 123
Court
Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit
Filed
Jul 28, 2000
Author
McKEE
On the bench
Greenberg, McKEE, Shadur
Cited by
1 cases
Authority
More cited than 63.9%

The opinion

Opinions of the United

2000 Decisions States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit

7-28-2000

Orvosh v. Program Grp. Ins. for Volkswagon of

America, Inc.

Precedential or Non-Precedential:

Docket 99-3589

Follow this and additional works at: http://digitalcommons.law.villanova.edu/thirdcircuit_2000

Recommended Citation

"Orvosh v. Program Grp. Ins. for Volkswagon of America, Inc." (2000). 2000 Decisions. Paper 155.

http://digitalcommons.law.villanova.edu/thirdcircuit_2000/155

This decision is brought to you for free and open access by the Opinions of the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit at Villanova

University School of Law Digital Repository. It has been accepted for inclusion in 2000 Decisions by an authorized administrator of Villanova

University School of Law Digital Repository. For more information, please contact Benjamin.Carlson@law.villanova.edu.

Filed July 28, 2000

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

Nos. 99-3573/3589

DONALD ORVOSH,

Appellant in 99-3589

v.

THE PROGRAM OF GROUP INSURANCE FOR SALARIED

EMPLOYEES OF VOLKSWAGEN OF AMERICA, INC.;

THE VOLKSWAGEN OF AMERICA, INC. EMPLOYEE

BENEFIT PLAN COMMITTEE, individually and as Plan

Administrator of the Program of Group Insurance for

Salaried Employees of Volkswagen of America, Inc.;

VOLKSWAGEN OF AMERICA, INC.,

Appellants in 99-3573

ON APPEAL FROM THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Civil No.: 98-cv-0166

District Court Judge: Honorable Robert J. Cindrich

Argued: May 11, 2000

Before: GREENBERG, McKEE, Circuit Judges and

SHADUR,* District Judge

(Filed: July 28, 2000)

_________________________________________________________________

* Hon. Milton I. Shadur, Senior Judge of the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Illinois, sitting by designation.

Paul Amato, Esq. (Argued)

Richard J. Antonelli, Esq.

BUCHANAN INGERSOLL

PROFESSIONAL CORPORATION

301 Grant Street, 20th Floor

Pittsburgh, PA 15219-1410

Attorneys for Appellants/

Cross Apellees

Abby S. DeBlassio, Esq. (Argued)

FISHER, LONG & RIGGONE

101 West Pittsburgh Street

Greensburg, PA 15601

Attorneys for Appellee/

Cross Appellant

OPINION OF THE COURT

McKEE, Circuit Judge.

The defendants appeal the district court's grant of

summary judgment in favor of plaintiff, Donald Orvosh, and

against defendants on Orvosh's claim under the Employee

Retirement Income Security Act ("ERISA"), 29 U.S.C.

SS 1001 et seq. Orvosh has also cross-appealed from the

district court's denial of attorney fees. For the reasons that

follow, we will reverse the district court's grant of summary

judgment in favor of Orvosh. Moreover, we will affirm the

order of the district court denying attorney's fees as we see

no reason to reverse that denial.

I.

David Orvosh entered the job market with a high school

diploma and some college credit. He worked from 1962 to

1967 as a lab technician in Paint Research for PPG

Industries. From 1967 to 1973 he worked first as a

research technician in Paint Production, then as supervisor

of a paint line for Season-All Industries. Orvosh also

worked as a material foreman at Chrysler Corporation from

1973 until 1977.

2

On January 7, 1977, Orvosh was hired by Volkswagen of

America, Inc. and he stayed with the company until March,

1987. During his time with Volkswagen, Orvosh worked in

both the Paint Process Department and Paint Production

Departments holding a variety of positions including senior

chemist, senior lab engineer and general supervisor.

In March of 1987, Orvosh's treating physician, Dr. Angelo

DeMezza, diagnosed him with asbestosis,1 atelectasis,2 deep

vein thrombophlebitis ("DVT"),3 hyperthyrodism, and right

pleural effusion.4 A year later, Orvosh suffered a heart

attack and was diagnosed with coronary artery disease. He

underwent a cardiac catherization in 1989, and in 1991 a

piece of his lung was removed due to a left pleural tumor.

In 1994, Orvosh had a second cardiac catherization, which

disclosed that his right coronary artery had a 100%

blockage, and his left coronary artery had a 30% blockage.

In addition, Orvosh suffers from Graves' disease which

_________________________________________________________________

1. Asbestosis is defined as a "lung disease caused by inhalation of

asbestos fibers, characterized by interstitialfibrosis, and associated

with

mesothelioma and bronchogenic carcinoma." This and all other

definitions of Orvosh's medical conditions were taken from the district

court's opinion. The district court adopted definitions from a medical

encyclopedia that Volkswagen included in its motion for summary

judgment. Orvosh did not challenge the definitions, and indeed relies on

the same definitions in his briefs to us. Therefore, we will rely on the

definitions as well.

2. Atelectasis is defined as "a collapsed or airless state of the lung,

which

may be acute or chronic, and may involve all or part of the lung."

3. DVT is defined as the formulation of a thrombus, which impedes the

flow of blood in the arteries or veins. Venous thrombosis occurs most

often in the legs or pelvis. The symptoms of venous thrombosis -- a

feeling of heaviness, pain, warmth, or swelling in the affected part, and

possibly chills and fever -- do not necessarily indicate its severity.

Immediate medical attention is necessary in any case. Treatment

requires bed rest with the legs elevated and application of heat to the

affected areas, and the affected part must be immobilized to prevent the

clot from spreading, and anticoagulant drugs may be given. Immobility

is a prime factor in the development of thrombosis; an exercise routine

is necessary in treatment and prevention.

4. Pleural effusion is defined as "an accumulation of fluid in the space

between the membrane encasing the lung and that lining the thoracic

cavity," threatening the collapse of the lung.

3

impairs his vision. Over time, his condition worsened and

he also developed a pulmonary embolism.5

Volkswagen paid Orvosh short-term and long-term

disability ("LTD") benefits in accordance with its Salaried

Group Insurance Plan which had been adopted in October,

1977. In June, 1995, Volkswagen adopted the "Program of

Group Insurance for Salaried Employees of Volkswagen of

America, Inc." ("the Plan"). Both parties agree that the 1995

plan governs this case and that it is covered by ERISA.

The Plan defines "disabled" as follows:

For the first 12 months that you are receiving long

term benefits, `disabled' means you cannot engage in

your specific position at the Company. For the

remainder of your disability you must be unable to

work for any employer in a paying job for which you

are reasonably fitted by education, training, or

experience. However, you can take part in rehabilitative

employment and still be considered disabled.

App. at R68.

Benefits are payable under the Plan for a covered

disability if the following conditions are satisfied:

1. You are "disabled" (as defined by the Plan)

2. You are under a doctor's care

3. You provide required proof of your disability

4. You submit to an examination by an impartial

doctor, at the company's expense, if requested. The

results of this examination will determine whether

or not you receive or continue to receive disability

benefits.

Id.

The Plan further provides that:

Long-Term Disability benefits start on the day after

_________________________________________________________________

5. Pulmonary embolisms occur when an embolus or blood clot detaches

itself from a vein in the leg or pelvis and blocks the pulmonary artery or

one of its branches.

4

Short-Term Disability benefits stop. These benefits can

continue through the end of the month in which you

attain age 65, provided your Long-Term disability

benefits began before age 60, and you are certified by

your physician as being totally disabled.

Id. at R69.

Volkswagen concluded that Orvosh met all prerequisites

for LTD benefits, and it paid those benefits for ten years

without dispute. During that time, Dr. DeMezza repeatedly

certified that Orvosh was totally disabled, and he identified

several of Orvosh's disabling conditions including: DVT,

chest pain, and asbestosis.

In 1995, Volkswagen changed the administrator of its

LTD benefits from Metropolitan Life Insurance Company to

UNUM Life Insurance Company of America. UNUM reviewed

Orvosh's claim shortly after the change. In August of 1995,

UNUM received copies of Orvosh's medical records and

asked Dr. DeMezza to complete a questionnaire regarding

Orvosh's condition. Pursuant to that inquiry, Dr. DeMezza

told UNUM that Orvosh's diagnosis included

arteriosclerosis, heart disease, recurrent pulled groin, and

DVT. Dr. De Mezza further indicated that Orvosh was being

treated with medication and that the prognosis for his

return to gainful employment was "bleak" because of

dyspnea.6

UNUM then had its own physician, Dr. Charles Perakis,

review Orvosh's medical history. Dr. Perakis concluded that

Orvosh's pulmonary function appeared to be adequate for

sedentary work but that reevaluation of his coronary artery

disease was necessary to assess his true functioning

status.

On January 10, 1996, UNUM forwarded a follow-up

questionnaire to Dr. DeMezza. Dr. DeMezza responded that

the only symptom causing impairment was "difficulty

_________________________________________________________________

6. Dyspnea is a condition of difficult or painful breathing due to

inadequate ventilation or insufficient amounts of oxygen circulating in

the blood. People suffering from this condition cannot get enough oxygen

in the blood, and oxygen therapy is required.

5

breathing with exertion," but that in his opinion, Orvosh

was unable to work in any type of gainful employment.

UNUM interviewed Orvosh in early 1996. During that

interview, Orvosh reported that he did housework including

cleaning dishes and making dinner. He also reported an

ability to perform various house cleaning tasks. Orvosh also

reported that he engaged in various recreational activities

including hunting and walking his dog. Finally, Orvosh

reported that he drove his wife home from work every day,

but that his wife drove herself to work because Orvosh

experienced double vision upon waking in the morning.

Also in January, 1996, Jackie Roberts, an UNUM

Disability Benefits Specialist, submitted a Regional

Consulting Physician Referral Sheet to Mary Hearn, an

UNUM Registered Nurse, asking Hearn to assess Orvosh's

claim. After reviewing Orvosh's entire file, Hearn concluded

that although the medical information was insufficient to

determine the severity of his cardiac status, Orvosh

appeared to have the capacity for sedentary to light work.

Sometime after Hearn reviewed Orvosh's file, Roberts

requested that Triebold & Associates perform a Transferable

Skills Assessment ("TSA") to determine whether Orvosh had

the functional capacity to perform sedentary work.

However, UNUM did not give Triebold a complete picture of

Orvosh's health. Rather, UNUM told Triebold only that

Orvosh suffered from asbestosis. Triebold reviewed Orvosh's

work history, educational background, and personal data to

prepare the TSA. Triebold assumed "for the purposes of this

assessment . . . a functional capacity for work at the

sedentary level of physical exertion." App. at R200. Triebold

concluded that Orvosh's past highly skilled work"would

not provide him with transferable skills for work at the

sedentary level of physical exertion given his over 9 years

absence from the work force at age 57." App. at R200-1.

However, Triebold suggested that "retirement type

positions" such as gate attendant, surveillance system

monitor, and information clerk would be appropriate for

Orvosh, given his health. According to the TSA, such

retirement type positions,

would utilize Mr. Orvosh's basic work skills that he

gained from performing his past work [including] his

6

ability to perform simple to complex tasks within a

schedule and without special supervision, interact

appropriately with co-workers and supervisors, adhere

to company procedures and safety policies, etc.

App. at R201.

Based on the TSA and other information gathered during

the investigation, UNUM recommended that Volkswagen

terminate Orvosh's LTD benefits. However, Volkswagen did

not immediately act on that recommendation. Instead

Volkswagen instructed UNUM to obtain an independent

medical exam ("IME") to confirm that termination of those

benefits was appropriate. Pursuant to that request, UNUM

sought recommendations for appropriate testing through a

Regional Consulting Physician Referral Form.

On September 23, 1996, UNUM sent Dr. DeMezza a copy

of the TSA and asked him whether he agreed with its

conclusion that Orvosh was capable of performing in

"retirement type positions." Dr. DeMezza disagreed with the

TSA and advised UNUM that sedentary work of any kind

was contraindicated because of recurrent episodes of DVT

and pulmonary embolism. Dr. DeMezza also stated that

Orvosh could not have periods of prolonged sitting without

movement.

In November, 1996, UNUM contacted Dr. Seymoure

Krause, a cardiac specialist, and asked him to conduct an

IME. Krause reviewed Orvosh's medical history, evaluated

his physical capabilities, and tested his functional capacity

by means of a thallium stress test which measures heart

rate at the peak of stress. Krause issued a report in which

he noted that Orvosh's chest discomfort and dyspnea were

more likely related to pulmonary disease and thoracotomy

than coronary heart disease. Krause recommended that

Orvosh "have pulmonary function tests and also obtain an

opinion from a pulmonary specialist." App. at R253. As part

of his report, Dr. Krause also filled out a physical

capabilities evaluation form. Krause answered an inquiry

into Orvosh's ability to work that was contained on that

form by stating: "it depends on the job assignment." App. at

R254.1. Dr. Krause opined that in an eight hour work day,

with rest, Orvosh could sit for up to six hours, stand for up

to six hours, and walk for up to one hour.

7

Several of UNUM's doctors and nurses reviewed the

results of the IME and concluded that Orvosh could work

at a sedentary job. Similarly, after reviewing the IME,

Triebold concluded that Orvosh could perform any of the

"retirement type positions" previously referred to as well as

"numerous additional occupations." App. at R307-8. Dr.

DeMezza received a copy of both the IME report and

Triebold's most recent report for review. However, he

remained unpersuaded and maintained his opinion that

Orvosh was totally disabled.

Nevertheless, despite Dr. DeMezza's opinion to the

contrary, UNUM concluded that Orvosh was not "totally

disabled" under the Plan, and advised Orvosh that his LTD

benefits would be terminated. Orvosh filed an unsuccessful

administrative appeal of that decision, and then sued

Volkswagen in state court seeking reinstatement of his LTD

benefits. Volkswagen removed the case to the United States

District Court for the Western District of Pennsylvania

because it arose under federal law.

On cross-motions for summary judgment, the district

court held that Volkswagen's decision to terminate Orvosh's

benefits was arbitrary and capricious and ordered

Volkswagen to reinstate Orvosh's benefits retroactive to the

date of termination. The court also considered, but denied,

a motion for attorney's fees Orvosh filed as a prevailing

party pursuant to 11 U.S.C. S 1132 (g)(1). Volkswagen's

appeal of the district court's grant of summary judgment

and Orvosh's cross-appeal of the court's denial of attorney's

fees are now before us.

II.

When we review a grant of summary judgment we must

apply the same test as the district court. See Carter v.

Rafferty, 826 F.2d 1299, 1304 (3d Cir. 1987). Namely,

summary judgment is only appropriate when "the

pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories, and

admissions on file, together with affidavits, if any, show

that there is no genuine issue as to any material fact and

the moving party is entitled to judgment as a matter of

law." Fed.R.Civ.P. 56(c). We exercise "plenary review over

8

the trial court's choice and interpretation of legal precepts

and its application of those precepts to the historical facts."

Louis W. Epstein Family Partnership v. Kmart Corp. , 13 F.3d

762, 766 (3d Cir. 1994).

In reviewing a denial of benefits under an ERISA plan, we

must first determine the extent to which the plan

administrator has discretion to interpret the Plan. If the

Plan grants the administrator the authority to determine

eligibility, we review a denial of benefits under an "arbitrary

and capricious" standard. Under that standard, a plan

administrator's decision will be overturned only if it is

"clearly not supported by the evidence in the record or the

administrator has failed to comply with the procedures

required by the plan." Abnathya v. Hoffman- La Roche, Inc.,

2 F.3d 40, 41 (3d Cir. 1993). " `[A] court is not free to

substitute its own judgment for that of the defendants in

determining eligibility for plan benefits.' " Id. at 45 (quoting

Lucash v. Strick Corp., 602 F.Supp. 430, 434 (E.D. Pa.

1984). Here, the Plan vests the administrator with the

authority to "interpret the plan and make final decisions on

such things as eligibility and payment of benefits," App. at

R90, and we must therefore undertake a deferential review.

Moreover, the parties have stipulated that the arbitrary and

capricious standard governs our inquiry. See Stip. P 2 at

App. at R58.7

III.

Thus, our inquiry turns on whether defendants were

arbitrary and capricious in their interpretation of the Plan's

LTD requirement. Under that requirement Orvosh was not

eligible for LTD benefits unless he was unable to perform in

_________________________________________________________________

7. After this case was argued, we decided that a heightened standard of

review applies where the same entity both funds and administers an

ERISA plan. See Pinto v. Reliance Standard life Ins. Co., ___ F.3d ___,

2000 WL 696383 (3d Cir. May 31, 2000). Here, UNUM provides

important administrative functions, but the Plan itself states that the

official Plan administrator is "Volkswagen of America Inc." App. at R90.

However, valid stipulations entered into freely and fairly should not be

lightly set aside. See Waldorf v. Shuta, 142 F.3d 601, 616 (3d Cir. 1998).

Thus, we will apply the arbitrary and capricious standard of review.

9

a position for which he was "reasonably fitted by education,

training, or experience." As noted above, while at

Volkswagen, Orvosh worked as a senior chemist and a

senior lab engineer in the Paint Process Department, and

as a general supervisor in the Paint Production

Department. Even though several ailments prevented

Orvosh from performing any of those jobs, the Plan

Administrator concluded that he was no longer totally

disabled because subsequent medical evaluations found

him capable of working as a gate attendant, surveillance

system monitor, information clerk; or performing similar

"retirement type" jobs. Given the totality of circumstances

here, we can not conclude that Volkswagen was arbitrary

and capricious in concluding either that Orvosh was

capable of performing the duties required by such

positions, or that the positions provided a reasonable fit

with Orvosh's training, education, and experience.

Volkswagen argues that its assessment of Orvosh's ability

to work was substantially supported by the evidence.

Several physicians and health care workers reviewed

Orvosh's medical history. They provided Orvosh's treating

physician with copies of the assessments and solicited his

opinion as to whether Orvosh was capable of working.

Although Dr. DeMezza constantly and continually

expressed his disagreement with Volkswagen's

determination that Orvosh could perform sedentary

"retirement type" employment, that doesn't negate the fact

that Volkswagen solicited Dr. DeMezza's opinion as part of

its inquiry into Orvosh's capacity to work.8 Volkswagen

therefore argues that its decision not to continue paying

benefits cannot be arbitrary and capricious because of the

quantity and quality of its inquiry.

Orvosh essentially argues that the investigation is

irrelevant. He asserts that, under the plain language of the

Plan, once long term disability benefits are established,

_________________________________________________________________

8. We do not intend to suggest that an employer or plan administrator

can insulate its decision to deny benefits merely by asking an employee's

treating physician for his/her opinion. A pro forma request for such an

opinion will not camouflage a denial of benefits that is otherwise

arbitrary and capricious.

10

they cannot be terminated unless an impartial doctor

examines the patient/employee and determines that the

individual is capable of working at a job for which he or she

is reasonably suited. It is true that neither the TSA nor the

assessments by UNUM physicians were conducted by an

impartial physician. However, Orvosh was also examined by

Dr. Seymoure Krause, and his impartiality is not

challenged.

As noted above, Krause concluded that Orvosh could: sit

or stand for six hours during an eight hour workday with

rest, walk for one hour with rest, lift up to twenty pounds

for up to 1/3 of the day; and bend, stoop, squat, kneel,

climb stairs, crawl, reach above his shoulders, and walk on

uneven surfaces for up to 1/3 of the day. Dr. Krause also

reported that Orvosh's manual dexterity appeared good and

that there were no other potential environmental

restrictions which Orvosh's medical condition would

require. When asked whether Orvosh could work, Krause

responded, "it depends on the job assignment." App. at

R254.1. Although it can be argued that Dr. Krause's

response was so equivocal as to be of little use, it can not

be successfully argued that Krause's evaluation confirmed

that Orvosh was incapable of working at all, or that it was

arbitrary and capricious for Volkswagen to rely on Krause's

report.

Dr. Krause did qualify his conclusions by stating that

Orvosh's chest discomfort and dyspnea were more likely

related to pulmonary disease and his thoracotomy rather

than his coronary heart disease, and Krause recommended

that Orvosh "have pulmonary function tests and also obtain

an opinion from a pulmonary specialist." App. at R253. We

realize that, despite Dr. Krause' recommendation,

Volkswagen did not consult a pulmonary specialist.

Volkswagen decided against ordering a second IME

directed at Orvosh's pulmonary condition. Instead, it relied

upon Orvosh's lifestyle, medical history, and the initial IME

to conclude in essence that no matter what his precise

pulmonary condition, it was not consistent with afinding of

total disability. For example, on May 23, 1997, Dr. Feagin,

a UNUM physician, reviewed Orvosh's file, specifically

addressing his pulmonary and vascular conditions. Dr.

11

Feagin concluded that test results showed Orvosh to have

"no significant pulmonary DVT or peripheral vascular

disease impairment for at least medium work." App. at

R322. Dr. Feagin's conclusions were also supported by

Anne Giradot, a UNUM registered nurse, and Orvosh's

chest X-rays which revealed only a modest degree of

pulmonary emphysema.

Thus, Volkswagen's decision to terminate Orvosh's long

term benefits was clearly consistent with the weight of the

medical information available to it, and we can not

conclude that Volkswagen's decision, or UNUM's

recommendation, was arbitrary or capricious. Volkswagen

considered Orvosh's overall medical condition and his well

documented medical history before deciding that he was

capable of performing the duties of a sedentary, retirement

job such as a gate attendant, surveillance system monitor

or information clerk. Moreover, it is important to note that

Volkswagen continued to pay Orvosh while it investigated

his medical condition. There was no rush to cut off the

payments that Volkswagen had been making for over 10

years. Accordingly, we can not agree that the decision to

terminate Orvosh's benefits was arbitrary and capricious.

The more difficult question before us is whether these

"retirement-type positions" are reasonably suited to

Orvosh's education, training, and experience. In arguing

that they are, Volkswagen relies in part upon Buchanan v.

Reliance Standard Life Ins. Co., 5 F.Supp.2d 1172 (D.Kan.

1998) and Brooks v. Protective Life Ins. Co., 883 F.Supp.

632 (M.D.Ala. 1995), aff 'd 77 F.3d 498 (11th Cir. 1996).

The plaintiff in Buchanan was a machinist who lost an

eye while working on a fireworks display. Under his

employer's disability plan, "Permanent Total Disability"

meant that the participant was "not able to perform the

duties of any occupation for which he is suited by

education, training or experience." Buchanan , 5 F.Supp.2d

at 1174. The defendant insurance company performed a

TSA and concluded that the plaintiff was not disabled

under the plan because he could perform other jobs within

the company even though he could no longer work as a

machinist. Id. at 1176. Upon review, the court concluded

that the decision to deny total disability coverage was not

12

arbitrary and capricious even though plaintiff would need

additional training to perform some of the suggested jobs.

Id. at 1184-5. The court found that the language of the

plan did not require an "exact fit" with the employee's

background, but was merely intended to ensure that the

employee had the "minimum education or experience to

perform the job. For example, the defendant could not avoid

payment by insisting that plaintiff 's eye problems would

not disqualify him from being the Chief Justice of the

Supreme Court." Id. at 1185.

The plan at issue in Brooks defined an individual as

disabled if he/she was "unable to engage in any business

or occupation or to perform any work for compensation,

gain or profit for which he[/she] is reasonably fitted by

education, training, or experience." Brooks , 883 F.Supp. at

634, n.1. The court upheld the administrator's decision to

terminate benefits because Brooks, a power company

lineman prior to his injury, could reasonably work as a

meter reader. The court concluded that the administrator

was under no "legal duty to concern itself with the

occupational position for which Brooks was best-suited." Id.

at 640. See also Duhon v. Texaco, Inc., 15 F.3d 1302, 1307

(5th Cir. 1994) (holding plaintiff not totally disabled

because although no longer able to perform his former

occupation as a truck driver, he remained both capable and

"qualified by training, education, or experience" to complete

sedentary to light work).

The defendants urge us to adopt the analysis of Brooks,

Buchanan and Duhon. They argue that we should conclude

that the language of the Plan is intended to ensure only

that an employee has the minimum qualifications for the

suggested jobs.

Given the deference that must be afforded here, we need

not agree with the administrator's interpretation of a

"reasonable fit." We need only determine that its

interpretation is not contrary to the Plan language and that

it is rationally related to a legitimate Plan purpose.

Volkswagen's interpretation easily survives both inquiries.

It appears that, although Orvosh is no longer able to fulfill

the duties of his former job, he is capable of securing other

gainful employment for which he is reasonably suited. The

13

administrator's conclusion is thus not contrary to the plain

language of the Plan and it clearly is rationally related to

the legitimate purpose of preserving the Plan's resources for

legitimately disabled claimants.

Accordingly, we conclude that the district court erred in

granting summary judgment in favor of Orvosh, and its

judgment will therefore be reversed. Further, we hold that

Volkswagen did not act arbitrarily or capriciously in

discontinuing total disability benefits, and we will therefore

order that summary judgment be entered in favor of the

defendants.

IV.

Orvosh cross-appeals the district court's decision to deny

him attorney fees pursuant to 29 U.S.C. S 1132(g).

Obviously, we need not dwell on this point given our

reversal of the district court's grant of summary judgment.

See Noorily v. Thomas and Betts Corp., 188 F.3d 153, 162

(3d Cir. 1999), cert. denied, ___ U.S. ___, 120 S.Ct. 1555

(2000).

V.

For the foregoing reasons, we will reverse the district

court's grant of summary judgment in favor of Orvosh, and

remand with instructions to enter summary judgment in

favor of the defendants. Consequently, we will affirm the

district court's denial of attorney's fees.

A True Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit

14

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.