Opinion

Leheny v. City of Pittsburgh

  • 183 F.3d 220
  • 1999 WL 458778
Court
Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit
Filed
Jul 7, 1999
Author
Aldisert
On the bench
Aldisert, Weis, Stapleton
Cited by
1 cases
Authority
More cited than 55.8%

The opinion

Opinions of the United

1999 Decisions States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit

7-7-1999

Leheny v. Cty of Pittsburgh

Precedential or Non-Precedential:

Docket 98-3356

Follow this and additional works at: http://digitalcommons.law.villanova.edu/thirdcircuit_1999

Recommended Citation

"Leheny v. Cty of Pittsburgh" (1999). 1999 Decisions. Paper 193.

http://digitalcommons.law.villanova.edu/thirdcircuit_1999/193

This decision is brought to you for free and open access by the Opinions of the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit at Villanova

University School of Law Digital Repository. It has been accepted for inclusion in 1999 Decisions by an authorized administrator of Villanova

University School of Law Digital Repository. For more information, please contact Benjamin.Carlson@law.villanova.edu.

Filed July 7, 1998

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

Nos. 98-3356, 98-3364, 98-3405

THOMAS E. LEHENY; JAMES R. RAMSEY; ARTHUR

MARUNICH, for themselves and others similarly situated

Thomas E. Leheny,

Appellant No. 98-3364

v.

CITY OF PITTSBURGH; POLICEMEN'S RELIEF AND

PENSION FUND OF THE CITY OF PITTSBURGH;

FRATERNAL ORDER OF POLICE, FORT PITT LODGE

NO. 1

City of Pittsburgh,

Appellant Nos. 98-3356/3405

On Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Western District of Pennsylvania

(D.C. No. 94-cv-00866)

District Judge: Hon. Maurice B. Cohill, Jr.

Argued: May 4, 1999

Before: ALDISERT, WEIS and STAPLETON, Circuit Judges,

(Filed: July 7, 1999)

Joseph S. Hornack (argued)

Healey, Davidson & Hornack

Fifth Floor

Law & Finance Building

Pittsburgh, PA 15219

ATTORNEY FOR

APPELLEES/CROSS-APPELLANTS

Brian P. Gabriel (argued)

Assistant City Solicitor

City of Pittsburgh Department

of Law

Firm #046

313 City-County Building

414 Grant Street

Pittsburgh, PA 15219

ATTORNEY FOR

APPELLANTS/CROSS-APPELLEES

OPINION OF THE COURT

ALDISERT, Circuit Judge.

These cross-appeals by the City of Pittsburgh and three

retired police officers (the "Retirees") require us to decide

whether a City policy that offsets pension benefits for

disabled retired police officers by worker's compensation

benefits violates equal protection and due process rights

and constitutes a violation of the Americans with

Disabilities Act, 42 U.S.C. S 12101 et seq. ("ADA"). The

district court dismissed the Retirees' ADA claim but

submitted the constitutional claims to a jury that awarded

compensatory damages.

In its appeal from the judgment on the jury verdict, the

City contends that the court erred in not granting judgment

as a matter of law on the equal protection and due process

claims. In their appeal, the Retirees contend that the court

erred in dismissing their ADA claim. We have jurisdiction

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. S 1291.

2

We hold that the district court correctly dismissed the

Retirees' ADA claim but erred when it failed to grant

judgment as a matter of law in the City's favor on the equal

protection and due process claims. Accordingly, we will

affirm in part and reverse in part.

I.

The Retirees are former police officers for the City of

Pittsburgh. Each suffered a work-related injury and

received his full rate of salary pursuant to the Heart and

Lung Act, 53 P.S. S 637, until approximately December 14,

1992.1 On December 14, 1992, Thomas E. Leheny and

James R. Ramsey signed documents acknowledging their

permanent disability, and therefore became ineligible for

Heart and Lung Act benefits but eligible to collect worker's

compensation and reduced pension benefits. These appeals

pertain to the amount of pension benefits for which the

Retirees became eligible.

Prior to 1992, police officers who were unable to return

to work due to injury remained on the City's active payroll

and received 100% of their salary pursuant to the Heart

and Lung Act. These payments placed a significant strain

on the City's fiscal integrity.

The City's financial concerns were addressed in March

1992, after an impasse had been reached in the collective

bargaining process with the Fraternal Order of Police

(F.O.P.), when an arbitration award was issued that

eventually became a part of a collective bargaining

agreement. Officers meeting age and service eligibility

requirements could choose to be placed on one of two lists

of officers who wished to retire prior to the end of 1995

under an "early retirement incentive plan." List A would

consist of all officers seeking immediate retirement. List B

would consist of all officers who wished to retire before

December 31, 1995, when eligibility for this early

_________________________________________________________________

1. The Retirees accepted Heart and Lung Act benefits in lieu of lesser

benefits provided pursuant to the Pennsylvania Worker's Compensation

Act, 77 P.S. S 1 et seq. The Heart and Lung Act permits police officers to

receive their full salary during a period of temporary disability.

3

retirement incentive would end. Officers on List B could be

retired by the City at any time after all officers on List A

had been retired, but were guaranteed retirement by

December 31, 1995.

Officers selecting to be placed on either list were required

to fill out a Retirement Incentive Window Irrevocable

Application Form prior to September 1, 1992. See App. at

115 (arbitration award provision), 121 (letter from Fraternal

Order of Police to officers describing procedure for early

retirement incentive). The Retirees chose to be placed on

List B.

Pursuant to the arbitration award, officers on either list

who were at least 50 years of age and had at least 25 years

of service were given the opportunity to receive an

enhanced retirement benefit equal to 75% of their average

monthly pay without service increments. App. at 115-116.

For disabled officers who were receiving worker's

compensation, the award provided that:

An employee who is receiving worker's compensation

benefits can receive up to 66 2/3 [%] of pay from

worker's compensation and receive 50% of average

monthly pay plus service increments under the Police

Pension Plan without any offset. . . . However, an

employee who is already eligible on retirement for

combined benefits in excess of 75% of average monthly

pay and who elects to retire pursuant to the retirement

incentive shall not be entitled to any additional pension

benefit from the retirement incentive provided for in

this Award. In the event that such employee's worker's

compensation benefits are reduced or eliminated after

retirement, the employee shall be entitled to such

pension enhancement as is necessary to maintain a

benefit, including worker's compensation, if any, which

is 75% of average monthly pay at retirement.2

_________________________________________________________________

2. This reduced pension was available to all permanently disabled

officers, regardless of age and service. See City's Br. at 18. Because the

reduced pension for disabled officers was not limited to those who met

the 50 years of age/25 years of service plateau, there may have been

officers who were eligible for reduced benefits because they collect

4

App. at 116. Officers who accepted this enhancement but

continued to receive worker's compensation were not

deemed "voluntary quits."

The Retirees were requested to sign supplemental

agreements acknowledging their permanent disability. By

signing these agreements, the Retirees agreed to the

termination of their benefits under the Heart and Lung Act,

which provided 100% salary payments. In place of these

benefits, the Retirees would be eligible to receive worker's

compensation benefits, which provide up to 66 2/3% of the

worker's salary. The City planned to submit these

agreements to an office in Harrisburg to terminate payment

of Heart and Lung Act benefits.

The City had retained Sedgwick James, an independent

agency retained by the City for disability claims

management service, to process these claims. Leheny and

Ramsey were shown a letter from Sedgwick James that

directed the F.O.P.'s attorney to contact certain officers and

have them sign supplemental agreements acknowledging

that they were permanently disabled. This letter stated that

"[if anyone decides not to sign the agreement, then I [Kelly

Ryan, a Sedgwick James employee] will have no recourse

but to file a Termination with the Heart and Lung Panel."

App. at 954.

Leheny and Ramsey signed the agreements. They testified

at trial that they interpreted the letter to mean that they

would lose all of their work-related and injury-related

benefit payments if they did not sign the supplemental

agreement. They contended that they were not informed

that Ryan had no authority to terminate or file a

termination of Heart and Lung Act benefits, nor were they

made aware that they could decline to sign the agreement

and then go before an arbitrator if the City filed a

_________________________________________________________________

worker's compensation, but who were not eligible for the enhanced

incentive pension. Those officers would not be "similarly situated" to

those receiving the 75% pension, and thus the provision would not be

unconstitutional on its face. Here, however, it is clear that the Retirees

each had achieved the age and service requirement, and thus we must

determine whether the provision is unconstitutional as applied to them.

5

termination petition. Retiree Arthur Marunich, however,

refused to sign the supplemental agreement, and received a

hearing in front of an arbitrator in accordance with the

arbitration award's grievance procedure.3

After Leheny and Ramsey signed the supplemental

agreements, they applied for the 75% pensions provided for

by the arbitration award. In January 1993, the City's

Policemen's Relief and Pension Fund (the "Fund") approved

Leheny's and Ramsey's applications for retirement benefits.

However, instead of awarding the 75% pension, the Fund

awarded Leheny and Ramsey the 50% pension in

accordance with the provisions of the arbitration award

because they were receiving worker's compensation

benefits.

After exhausting administrative procedures, the Retirees

filed a complaint in the district court, alleging, inter alia,

that the City, the F.O.P. and the Fund had violated their

rights to equal compensation under the ADA, as well as

their equal protection and due process rights.

The Retirees filed a motion for class certification on

September 2, 1994. On January 27, 1995, the City moved

for summary judgment. The Retirees also filed a motion for

partial summary judgment. These motions were assigned to

a Magistrate Judge, who conducted a hearing and

subsequently issued her report and recommendation from

the bench. She recommended that: (1) the Retirees' partial

motion for summary judgment be denied; (2) the City's

motion for summary judgment be granted as to the

Retirees' ADA claim, but be denied in all other respects;

and (3) the motion for class certification be denied as moot

if the district court agreed that the ADA claim should be

dismissed.

The district judge adopted and approved the report and

recommendation in toto, and set the matter for trial.

Another district judge presided at the trial. At the close of

the Retirees' case-in-chief, the City moved for judgment as

a matter of law. The district court reserved ruling on the

_________________________________________________________________

3. Because Marunich received a hearing before an arbitrator, he did not

allege a violation of his due process rights.

6

motion. At the close of all evidence, the City renewed its

motion for judgment as a matter of law. Once again, the

court reserved ruling.

The jury issued special verdicts, finding that: (1) the

F.O.P. was not acting under color of state law and therefore

could not be held liable on the constitutional violation

claims; (2) the City violated Leheny's and Ramsey's due

process rights when it forced them to sign the supplemental

agreements; (3) Leheny and Ramsey were entitled to

compensatory damages in the amounts of $15,000 and

$22,000 respectively for the due process violations; and (4)

the City deprived the Retirees of their equal protection

rights when it determined that the Retirees were only

entitled to a 50% pension and 66 2/3% worker's

compensation benefits. After the verdicts were rendered, the

district court denied the City's motion for judgment as a

matter of law.

The City timely filed a motion for a new trial, which was

immediately denied. On April 14, 1998, the Retireesfiled a

motion for prejudgment interest and a motion for costs and

attorney's fees. The district court granted the Retirees'

motions on May 22, 1998, without explanation: The court

simply signed the Retirees' proposed form of order. These

appeals followed.4

On appeal, the City contends that the district court was

obligated, pursuant to case law from this court, to grant the

motion for judgment as a matter of law as to the Retirees'

equal protection claim. Further, the City argues that the

Retirees, as a matter of law, failed to establish that they

had been forced to retire in violation of their due process

rights. Conversely, the Retirees contend that our holding in

Ford v. Schering-Plough Corp., 145 F.3d 601 (3d Cir. 1998),

requires reinstatement of their ADA claim, and that the

district court abused its discretion when it denied their

motion for class certification.5

_________________________________________________________________

4. The F.O.P. and the Fund are not parties to these appeals.

5. The City has also appealed certain evidentiary rulings made by the

district court concerning the admissibility of testimony of non-disabled

officers' post-retirement earnings and the district court's failure to

explain its award of prejudgment interest and attorney's fees. These

issues, as well as the Retirees' appeal of the denial of the motion for

class certification, need not be addressed because of the discussion that

follows.

7

II.

We review de novo the district court's denial of the City's

motions for judgment as a matter of law. Paolella v.

Browning-Ferris, Inc., 158 F.3d 183, 189 (3d Cir. 1998). "A

motion for judgment as a matter of law should be granted

only if, `viewing all the evidence . . . in the light most

favorable to the party opposing the motion, no jury could

decide in that party's favor.' " Id. (quoting Walter v. Holiday

Inns, Inc., 985 F.2d 1232, 1238 (3d Cir. 1993)). Review of

the district court's grant of summary judgment in the City's

favor as to the Retirees' ADA claim is also plenary. Pavlik v.

Lane Limited/Tobacco Exporters Int'l, 135 F.3d 876, 880 (3d

Cir. 1998).

III.

We conclude that the Retirees' constitutional law claims

are inconsistent with the teachings of this court in

Buczynski v. General Motors Corp., 616 F.2d 1238, 1246

(3d Cir. 1980), aff'd sub nom. Alessi v. Raybestos-

Manhattan, Inc., 451 U.S. 504 (1981), that held that the

Employee Retirement Security Act of 1974 ("ERISA") did not

invalidate a pension plan provision authorizing reductions

or offsets of pension benefits by amounts received by

pensioners under a worker's compensation statute.

A.

We begin our analysis of the Retirees' contention that the

arbitration award violated the Equal Protection Clause with

a determination of the appropriate standard of review. See

Donatelli v. Mitchell, 2 F.3d 508, 513 (3d Cir. 1993). The

Retirees have alleged that state action disparately affected

the economic rights of a specific group of retired Pittsburgh

police officers. Because the City's action involves neither

fundamental rights nor suspect classifications, it is

accorded a strong presumption of validity and is subject to

rational basis review, in which the Retirees must establish

that the action was not rationally related to effecting any

legitimate government purpose. Heller v. Doe, 509 U.S. 312,

319-321 (1993).

8

It is clear that the City's asserted purposes for creation of

the early retirement incentive--to maintain the City's fiscal

integrity and to avoid paying duplicate benefits--are

legitimate government concerns. See Graham v. Richardson,

403 U.S. 365, 371-376 (1971). Accordingly, the primary

question presented here is whether the early retirement

incentive, with its distinction between retirees who receive

worker's compensation and those who do not, bears a

rational relationship to those asserted purposes.

In the context of an ERISA-based action, in Buczynski we

addressed whether pension benefits and worker's

compensation benefits are interchangeable. We were called

upon to determine whether ERISA invalidated a pension

plan provision that authorized the reduction or offset of

pension benefits by amounts received by pensioners under

the worker's compensation statute. The court conducted a

lengthy analysis that analogized provisions of the Internal

Revenue Code and applicable legislative history regarding

Congressional approval of offsets of pension benefits by

amounts received from the Social Security Administration

to the type of offset at issue here. See Buczynski, 616 F.2d

at 1244-1246. In S 1021(e) of the Internal Revenue Code, 26

U.S.C. S 401(a)(15), Congress specifically permitted such

offsets of pension benefits irrespective of ERISA's

nonforfeiture provision, 29 U.S.C. S 1053(a).

The pensioners in Buczynski argued that offset of

pension benefits by amounts received from worker's

compensation could not be sustained on the basis of

Congress' approval of the Social Security offset. The

pensioners argued that Social Security benefits and pension

benefits

are both designed to compensate for wages lost as a

result of old age, and therefore the Social Security

offset simply avoids a duplication of benefits directed to

the same end. Workmen's Compensation, by contrast,

is designed to compensate for losses flowing from

employment related injuries; thus, the Workmen's

Compensation offset . . . cannot be defended as a

means to avoid duplication of benefits.

Buczynski, 616F.2d at 1246.

9

We disagreed with the pensioners' reasoning:

The plaintiffs' argument here fails to recognize the

breadth of the Social Security program. Social Security

provides benefits for disabilities, see 42 U.S.C. S 423

(1976), as well as benefits for old age. Thus, the Social

Security offset that Congress has approved includes,

perforce, an offset against pension benefits for

disability benefits. The Social Security offset, since it

includes an offset of disability benefits, makes any

purported distinction between the Social Security offset

and the Workmen's Compensation offset meaningless.

The disability offset, included within the Social Security

offset, thus compels us to reject any purported

distinction between Social Security offsets and

Workmen's Compensation offsets.

Id. In Alessi, the Court put its imprimatur on our

discussion. See 451 U.S. at 519-521.

Although Buczynski involved an ERISA-based challenge

rather than a challenge under the Constitution, the

precepts enunciated in that case are controlling here. Our

holding in Buczynski can be distilled to a single concept: An

offset of pension benefits by a portion of the benefits

received from worker's compensation is permissible, in the

same manner as an offset of Social Security benefits,

because both offsets encompass, at least in part,"an offset

of disability benefits, mak[ing] any purported distinction

between [a] Social Security offset and [a] Workmen's

Compensation offset meaningless." Buczynski, 616 F.2d at

1246. Because Buczynski stands for the proposition that an

offset of pension benefits by an amount of received worker's

compensation benefits is permissible, the offset enforced by

the City bears a rational relation to the stated government

purposes of maintaining fiscal integrity and preventing

payment of duplicate benefits, and therefore withstands

equal protection scrutiny.6

_________________________________________________________________

6. The City's position is made stronger by the arbitration award's

provision concerning disabled retirees whose worker's compensation

benefits terminate. The award states that once a retiree's worker's

compensation benefits cease, the retiree will receive the 75% pension

given to all non-disabled retirees. Thus, at no point will a retired

disabled Pittsburgh police officer receive less than his non-disabled

counterparts.

10

Decisions from several state courts, relied upon by the

Retirees, do not qualify as proper analogies or persuasive

argument. See, e.g., Industrial Claim Appeals Office v.

Romero, 912 P.2d 62 (Colo. 1996) (in banc ); State ex rel.

Boan v. Richardson, 482 S.E.2d 162 (W. Va. 1996). The

decision in Buczynski controls this case and the district

court erred when it denied the City's motion for judgment

as a matter of law on the equal protection claim.

B.

Similarly, the Retirees' due process claim should have

been dismissed. The City concedes that the Retirees had a

valid property interest in their employment and retirement

benefits. We must, therefore, focus on whether the Retirees

retired voluntarily or were constructively discharged. See

Zepp v. Rehrmann, 79 F.3d 381, 385-386 (4th Cir. 1996).

To make this determination, we examine "the surrounding

circumstances to test the ability of the employee to exercise

free choice." Scharf v. Department of the Air Force, 710 F.2d

1572, 1574 (Fed. Cir. 1983).

Employee resignations and retirements are presumed to

be voluntary. See Angarita v. St. Louis County, 981 F.2d

1537, 1544 (8th Cir. 1992). This presumption remains

intact until the employee presents evidence to establish

that the resignation or retirement was involuntarily

procured. Id. If an employee retires of his own free will,

even though prompted to do so by some action of his

employer, he is deemed to have relinquished his property

interest in his continued employment for the government,

and cannot contend that he was deprived of his due

process rights. See Hargray v. City of Hallandale, 57 F.3d

1560, 1567 (11th Cir. 1995); Stone v. University of Md.

Medical Sys. Corp., 855 F.2d 167, 173 (4th Cir. 1988).

There appear to be two circumstances in which an

employee's resignation or retirement will be deemed

involuntary for due process purposes: 1) when the employer

forces the resignation or retirement by coercion or duress,

or 2) when the employer obtains the resignation or

retirement by deceiving or misrepresenting a material fact

to the employee. See Hargray, 57 F.3d at 1568.

11

The Retirees contend that they signed the supplemental

agreements because of material misrepresentations made

by Kelly Ryan in the letter she sent on behalf of Sedgwick

James to an attorney for the F.O.P. The Retirees contend

that Ryan's letter led them to believe that if they did not

sign the supplemental agreements, they would not only lose

their Heart and Lung Act benefits, but also their pension

and any available worker's compensation benefits. Ryan's

letter, dated December 3, 1992, stated, in relevant part:

Enclosed are various supplemental agreements for the

following claimants who are currently receiving Heart

and Lung Benefits. The medical information in their

files indicate that they are suffering from a permanent

disability and therefore are not entitled to receive Heart

and Lung benefits. . . . Please have the supplemental

agreements executed and returned to me by December

14, 1992. Once the agreements are received, their

wages will be reduced to the compensation rate

indicated on the agreement. If anyone decides not to

sign the agreement, then I will have no recourse but to

file a Termination with the Heart and Lung Panel.

App. at 137. The Retirees argue that their due process

rights were violated because the letter coerced them into

retiring. We disagree.

Ryan's letter could not have violated the Retirees' due

process rights because the Retirees had decided to retire in

August 1992, four months before they saw Ryan's letter. In

August 1992, the Retirees volunteered to be placed on a list

of police officers who had reached 50 years of age and

provided 25 years of service and who wished to retire at

some time between January 1, 1992 and December 31,

1995. See, e.g., App. at 121 (letter from F.O.P. to officers

describing terms of arbitration award and requirements for

early retirement incentive), 123-124 (Leheny's Retirement

Incentive Window Irrevocable Application Form, dated

August 20, 1992). The City had the right to retire the

Retirees at any time between January 1, 1992 and

December 31, 1995, once all List A officers had been retired

by the City. Thus, the City, by asking the Retirees to sign

the supplemental agreements, had merely approved the

Retirees' retirement and had made a determination that the

12

Retirees were permanently disabled. Ryan's letter indicates

just that: She would seek to terminate Heart and Lung Act

benefits as part of the officers' retirement on the basis of

permanent disability. Although it is possible that Ryan's

letter may have confused Leheny and Ramsey concerning

the applicable procedures for terminating Heart and Lung

Act benefits, no part of the letter would lead a reasonable

police officer to believe that refusal to sign the

supplemental agreements would result in termination of all

benefits.

Additionally, we have held that in cases in which "a due

process claim is raised against a public employer, and

grievance and arbitration procedures are in place, .. . those

procedures satisfy due process requirements `even if the

hearing conducted by the Employer . . . [is] inherently

biased.' " Dykes v. SEPTA, 68 F.3d 1564, 1571 (3d Cir.

1995) (quoting Jackson v. Temple Univ., 721 F.2d 931, 933

(3d Cir. 1983)). Grievance procedures outlined in a

collective bargaining agreement can satisfy due process

requirements. Id. at 1572 n.6.

Because Leheny testified that he received the arbitration

award and attended a meeting in which the award was

explained, he is deemed to have been aware of the

applicable grievance procedure. There is no evidence to

suggest that the Retirees spoke to a supervisor or

representative of the F.O.P. or the City prior to signing the

supplemental agreement. The Retirees had ten days to

investigate the implications of refusing to sign the

supplemental agreement, ten days to seek the advice of a

union representative concerning available grievance

procedures if they did not wish to sign the supplemental

agreement. If the officers were not convinced that they were

permanently disabled, their recourse was to go before an

arbitrator to contest the City's determination of permanent

disability. Officer Marunich followed this procedure, and as

a result is not included in the Retirees' due process claim.

Leheny and Ramsey did not. Not availing themselves of the

process that was available to them, they may not complain

now that they were deprived of due process of law.

For all of the above reasons, we conclude that the district

court erred in not dismissing the due process claim.

13

C.

The district court properly granted summary judgment

for the City regarding the Retirees' ADA claim. The Retirees

were unable to establish that they had been victims of

discrimination under the ADA.

The ADA prohibits discrimination in the terms and

conditions of employment, and states in relevant part:

No covered entity shall discriminate against a qualified

individual with a disability because of the disability of

such individual in regard to job application procedures,

the hiring, advancement, or discharge of employees,

employee compensation, job training, and other terms,

conditions, and privileges of employment.

42 U.S.C. S 12112(a).

[N]o qualified individual with a disability shall, by

reason of such disability, be excluded from

participation in or be denied the benefits of the

services, programs, or activities of a public entity, or be

subjected to discrimination by any such entity.

42 U.S.C. S 12132. The Retirees contend that the

arbitration award's early retirement incentive provision

violates their right to equal compensation under the ADA.

Although the parties dispute whether the Retirees were in

fact "disabled" for purposes of the ADA, we need not

address this issue to conclude that the ADA claim was

properly dismissed. Assuming that the Retirees were

"disabled," we conclude that they failed to present evidence

demonstrating that the City impinged upon their right to

equal compensation.

As the district court properly noted, there is no evidence

that the Retirees are receiving less than their non-disabled

counterparts who receive a 75% pension without service

increments. The evidence establishes that disabled retired

officers, who receive a 50% pension with service increments

plus a 66 2/3% worker's compensation award, actually

receive greater compensation than non-disabled retirees.

Indeed, the Retirees receive more than 100% of the salary

they received while actively employed as police officers.

14

The Retirees argue that even though they may receive

greater compensation than their non-disabled counterparts,

they are nonetheless victims of ADA-based discrimination

because non-disabled retirees are able to obtain new

employment for any amount of compensation and, because

of their disability, they are limited to the 66 2/3% worker's

compensation benefits they receive.

Without considering that the Retirees would still face the

possibility of receiving lesser earnings than non-disabled

retirees even if they received a 75% pension because non-

disabled retirees would be able to obtain employment

elsewhere, we conclude that their argument is not

persuasive. The Retirees are not prevented from receiving a

75% pension if they so desire. The arbitration award clearly

states that every police officer who has attained 50 years of

age and 25 years of service is entitled to receive a 75%

pension upon retirement from the police force. Disabled

officers are not required by the arbitration award to accept

the 50% pension and 66 2/3% worker's compensation.

There is nothing in the circumstances presented here that

prevents a retired police officer from rejecting worker's

compensation payments and thereby receiving the 75%

pension. This is made quite clear by the express language

of the arbitration award:

In the event that such employee's worker's

compensation benefits are reduced or eliminated after

retirement, the employee shall be entitled to such

pension enhancement as is necessary to maintain a

benefit, including worker's compensation, if any, which

is 75% of average monthly pay at retirement.

App. at 116.

Our decision today fits squarely with our holding in Ford

v. Schering-Plough Corp., supra, which, surprisingly, the

Retirees have cited as support for their position. The

plaintiff in that case alleged that her former employer's

insurance plan, which provided a two-year cap for benefits

for mental disabilities while providing no cap for benefits for

physical disabilities, violated the ADA. After determining

that the ADA permits disabled individuals to sue their

former employers regarding their disability benefits, we

15

addressed the disparity in available benefits for mental and

physical disabilities. We held that the plaintiff had not

stated a claim for violation of the ADA:

Every Schering employee had the opportunity to join

the same plan with the same schedule of coverage,

meaning that every Schering employee received equal

treatment. So long as every employee is offered the

same plan regardless of that employee's contemporary

or future disability status, then no discrimination has

occurred even if the plan offers different coverage for

various disabilities.

145 F.3d at 608.

In Ford court we were faced with a stricter benefit plan

than the one presented here. The disability policy explicitly

cut off benefits to employees with certain disabilities at the

same time it continued benefits for employees with other

types of disabilities. Yet, we ruled that the policy did not

violate the ADA.

The pension plan and arbitration award presented here

fall within the teachings of Ford. Every police officer who

has attained 50 years of age and 25 years of service is

permitted to receive a 75% pension upon retirement from

the force; "every employee is offered the same plan

regardless of that employee's contemporary or future

disability status." The individual retiree is given the

responsibility to decide whether or not to accept worker's

compensation in lieu of a 75% pension. Because every

eligible retiree is entitled to receive a 75% pension, and

because each of the Retirees is permitted to receive a 75%

pension when he no longer receives worker's compensation

benefits, there is no violation of the ADA.

IV.

In light of the view we take, we need not address the

remaining arguments presented by the parties. The

judgment of the district court will be affirmed in part and

reversed in part in accordance with the foregoing.

16

A True Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit

17

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.