Opinion

Sullivan v. Barnett

  • 139 F.3d 158
  • 1998 U.S. App. LEXIS 4488
  • 1998 WL 107983
Court
Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit
Filed
Mar 13, 1998
Author
Garth
On the bench
Mansmann, Nygaard, Garth
Cited by
3 cases
Authority
More cited than 63.6%

The opinion

Opinions of the United

1998 Decisions States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit

3-13-1998

Sullivan v. Barnett

Precedential or Non-Precedential:

Docket 96-2140

Follow this and additional works at: http://digitalcommons.law.villanova.edu/thirdcircuit_1998

Recommended Citation

"Sullivan v. Barnett" (1998). 1998 Decisions. Paper 46.

http://digitalcommons.law.villanova.edu/thirdcircuit_1998/46

This decision is brought to you for free and open access by the Opinions of the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit at Villanova

University School of Law Digital Repository. It has been accepted for inclusion in 1998 Decisions by an authorized administrator of Villanova

University School of Law Digital Repository. For more information, please contact Benjamin.Carlson@law.villanova.edu.

Filed March 13, 1998

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 96-2140

DELORES SCOTT SULLIVAN; WILLIAM BATTLE;

ANTHONY CANCILA; CHARLES MATTHEWS;

CHRISTOPHER COSTELLO; LISA LEX; SUSAN HANSEN,

On Their Own Behalf and on Behalf of All Similarly

Situated Class Plaintiffs; PHILADELPHIA AREA PROJECT

ON OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH; THE

PHILADELPHIA FEDERATION OF TEACHERS, Local 3,

AFL-CIO

v.

ROBERT BARNETT, Secretary of Labor and Industry for

the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania; FRANK BEAL,

Director of the Pennsylvania Bureau of Workers

Compensation; CONSTANCE B. FOSTER, Insurance

Commissioner for the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania;

CATHERINE BAKER KNOLL, Treasurer, Commonwealth of

Pennsylvania; JOHN P. O'MALLEY, Director, State

Workers' Insurance Fund; AMERICAN MANUFACTURERS

MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANY; CIGNA CORPORATION;

CONTINENTAL CASUALTY COMPANY; USF&G

INSURANCE COMPANY; ZURICH AMERICAN INSURANCE

COMPANY; SCHOOL DISTRICT OF PHILADELPHIA;

JOHNNY J. BUTLER, Secretary of Labor and Industry of

the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania; RICHARD A.

HIMLER, Director of the Pennsylvania Bureau of Workers

Compensation; COMMERCIAL UNION INSURANCE

COMPANY; DONEGAL MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANY;

HARTFORD INSURANCE COMPANY

Delores Scott Sullivan, William Battle, Louis

Baumgartner,* Anthony Cancila, William C.

Dillon,* Terrence Ervine,* Charles Matthews,

Christopher Costello, Lisa Lex, Susan Hansen,

Philadelphia Area Project on Occupational Safety

and Health and Philadelphia Federation of

Teachers,

Appellants

*pursuant to Rule 12(a) FRAP

On Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania

(D.C. No. 95-cv-00201)

Argued Thursday, September 11, 1997

BEFORE: MANSMANN, NYGAARD and GARTH, Circuit Judges

(Opinion filed March 13, 1998)

Lorrie McKinley (Argued)

McKinley & Vonier

1333 Race Street

Philadelphia, PA 19107

Attorney for Appellants Delores Scott

Sullivan, William Battle, Anthony

Cancila, Louis Baumgartner and

Class Plaintiffs

2

Alan B. Epstein

Jablon, Epstein, Wolf & Drucker

The Bellevue, Ninth Floor

Broad Street at Walnut

Philadelphia, PA 19102

Attorneys for Appellants

Charles Matthews, Christopher

Costello, Lisa Lex, Terrence Ervine,

William C. Dillon, Susan Hansen,

and Class Plaintiffs

Thomas J. O'Brien

Galfand, Berger, Lurie, Brigham,

Jacobs, Swan & Jurewicz

1818 Market Street, Suite 2300

Philadelphia, PA 19103

Attorneys for Appellant

Philadelphia Area Project on

Occupational Safety and Health

Linda M. Martin

Ralph Teti

Willig, Williams & Davidson

1845 Walnut Street, 24th Floor

Philadelphia, PA 19103

Attorneys for Appellant/Intervenor

The Philadelphia Federation of

Teachers Local 3, AFL-CIO

3

D. Michael Fisher

Attorney General

Susan J. Forney (Argued)

Senior Deputy Attorney General

Calvin R. Koons

Senior Deputy Attorney General

John G. Knorr, III

Chief Deputy Attorney General

Chief, Litigation Section

Office of the Attorney General

of Pennsylvania

Department of Justice

Strawberry Square, 15th Floor

Harrisburg, PA 17120

Attorneys for Appellees

Robert Barnett, Secretary of Labor

and Industry for the Commonwealth

of Pennsylvania; Frank Beal, Director

of the Pennsylvania Bureau of

Workers Compensation; Constance B.

Foster, Insurance Commissioner for

the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania;

Catherine Baker Knoll, Treasurer,

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania;

John P. O'Malley, Director, State

Workers' Insurance Fund; Johnny

Butler, Secretary of Labor and

Industry of the Commonwealth of

Pennsylvania; Richard A. Himler,

Director of the Pennsylvania Bureau

of Workers Compensation

4

Arthur Makadon

Robert McL. Boote (Argued)

Burt M. Rublin

Cecelia E. Henry

Ballard, Spahr, Andrews & Ingersoll

1735 Market Street, 51st Floor

Philadelphia, PA 19103-7599

Attorneys for Appellees

American Manufacturers Mutual

Insurance Company, CIGNA

Corporation, Continental Casualty

Company, USF&G Insurance

Company, Zurich American Insurance

Company, Commonwealth Union

Insurance Company

Patricia F. Kerelo

Jan M. Ritchie

Schubert, Bellwoar, Cahill & Quinn

1400 Two Penn Center Plaza

Philadelphia, PA 19102-1890

Stephen J. Springer

Jeffrey D. Hutton

Rawle & Henderson

One South Penn Square

The Widener Building

Philadelphia, PA 19107

Pamela Tobin

Labrum and Doak

1818 Market Street, Suite 2900

Philadelphia, PA 19103

Attorneys for Appellee,

School District of Philadelphia

Robert E. Kelly, Jr.

Duane, Morris & Heckscher

305 North Front Street

P.O. Box 1003

Harrisburg, PA 17108-1003

Attorneys for Appellee Donegal

Mutual Insurance Company

5

Mark F. Horning

Shannen W. Coffin

Steptoe & Johnson, LLP

1330 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

Craig A. Berrington

Bruce C. Wood

American Insurance Association

1130 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae

American Insurance Association

Michael W. Jones, Esq.

Michael I. Levin & Associates

1800 Byberry Road

1402 Masons Mill Business Park

Huntingdon Valley, PA 19006

Attorneys for Amici Curiae School

Boards Association Insurance Trust

and Pennsylvania Pooled Risk

Insurance for Municipal Entities

Workers' Compensation Trust

OPINION OF THE COURT

GARTH, Circuit Judge:

The issue we must address on this appeal is whether

Pennsylvania's Workers' Compensation Act, 77 Pa. Const.

Stat. Ann. S 531(5) and (6) (West Supp. 1997), which

provides for the supersedeas of an employee's medical

benefits without prior notice or an opportunity to be heard,

violates the requisites of procedural due process. We hold

that it does. Accordingly, we reverse.

I.

The Pennsylvania Workmen's Compensation Act ("the

Act"), 77 Pa. Const. Stat. Ann. S 1 et seq., establishes a

6

compulsory insurance system for employers that provides

compensation to employees who sustain work-related

injuries and occupational diseases without regard to an

employee's negligence. See 77 Pa. Const. Stat. Ann. S 431.

To guarantee the payment of an employee's claims, the Act

requires employers to obtain insurance -- either through a

private insurance carrier or through the State Workmen's

Insurance Fund ("SWIF ") -- or to self-insure. See id. S 501.

When an employer purchases insurance, the insurance

company assumes the employer's statutory liabilities. See

id. SS 501, 701.

On July 2, 1993, the Pennsylvania legislature amended

the Act by enacting Act 44. The purpose of Act 44 was to

contain the spiraling costs of medical treatment for work-

related injuries. Codified at 77 Pa. Const. Stat. Ann.

S 531(5) and (6), Act 44 created a utilization review process

under which the reasonableness and/or necessity of an

employee's medical treatment could be reviewed. It is these

provisions of Act 44 which create the utilization review

process and the corresponding supersedeas that are

challenged in this action. Utilization review is a process

whereby medical providers assess the reasonableness or

necessity of current, prospective, or past medical treatment.

Section 531(5) provides the mechanism by which

utilization review is invoked. It states in pertinent part:

The employer or insurer shall make payment and

providers shall submit bills and records in accordance

with the provisions of this section. All payments to

providers for treatment provided pursuant to this act

shall be made within thirty (30) days of receipt of such

bills and records unless the employer or insurer

disputes the reasonableness or necessity of the

treatment provided pursuant to paragraph (6) . . . .

77 Pa. Const. Stat. Ann. S 531(5) (West 1997) (emphasis

added). Hence, an employer or insurer must pay an

employee's medical expenses within thirty (30) days of

receipt of the medical bills unless the employer or insurer

requests utilization review. The decision to invoke

utilization review is made independently by the employer or

insurer.

7

A.

Section 531(6) outlines the utilization review process.

Section 531(6) provides:

. . . disputes as to reasonableness or necessity of

treatment by a health care provider shall be resolved in

accordance with the following provisions:

(I) The reasonableness or necessity of all treatment

provided by a health care provider under this act may

be subject to prospective, concurrent or retrospective

utilization review at the request of an employe[sic],

employer or insurer. The department shall authorize

utilization review organizations to perform utilization

review under this act. Utilization review of all treatment

rendered by a health care provider shall be performed

by a provider licensed in the same profession and

having the same or similar specialty as that of the

provider of the treatment under review. Organizations

not authorized by the department may not engage in

such utilization review.

(ii) The utilization review organization shall issue a

written report of its findings and conclusions within

thirty (30) days of a request.

(iii) The employer or the insurer shall pay the cost of

the utilization review.

(iv) If the provider, employer, employe [sic] or insurer

disagrees with the finding of the utilization review

organization, a petition for review by the department

must be filed within thirty (30) days after receipt of the

report. The department shall assign the petition to a

workers' compensation judge for a hearing or for an

informal conference under [77 Pa. Const. Stat. Ann.

S 711.1]. The utilization review report shall be part of

the record before the workers' compensation judge. The

workers' compensation judge shall consider the

utilization review report as evidence but shall not be

bound by the report.

77 Pa. Const. Stat. Ann. S 531(6).

Thus, utilization review is invoked when an employee,

8

employer, or insurer requests review of specific medical

treatment performed.1 The party seeking review submits its

request to the Bureau of Workers' Compensation ("the

Bureau") on a Bureau-prescribed form entitled "Utilization

Review: Initial Request" ("Initial Request"). The Bureau

reviews the Initial Request to ensure that it is properly

completed -- i.e., that all information required by the form

is provided. See 34 Pa. Code S 127.452. The Bureau's

review of the Initial Request does not address the legitimacy

or lack thereof of the request for utilization review.

If the Initial Request is improperly completed (i.e., does

not provide all pertinent information requested by the

form), the Bureau denies the request for review and sends

the form back to the party. If the Initial Request is

completed properly, the request is approved and the party

requesting review must serve a copy of the Initial Request

upon the remaining interested parties, including the

employee, the employer, the insurer, and the health care

provider, as appropriate. See 34 Pa. Code S 127.452.

At this point, according to the Act's regulations, an

employer or insurer with a Bureau-approved request may

suspend payment for the medical treatment in question.

See id. S 127.208.2 The Act does not require -- but permits

-- suspension of medical benefits. In addition, medical

_________________________________________________________________

1. An employee is not likely to request utilization review, however,

because the invocation of that process can result in the termination of

the employee's medical benefits pending such review.

2. Section 127.208 of the regulations pertinent to the Act provides in

part:

(e) The 30-day period in which payment shall be made to the

provider may be tolled only if review of the reasonableness or

necessity of the treatment is requested during the 30-day period

under the UR provisions . . . . The insurer's right to suspend

payment shall continue throughout both the initial review and the

reconsideration review of the UR process. The insurer's right to

suspend payment shall further continue beyond the UR process to

a proceeding before a Workers' Compensation judge, unless there is

a UR determination made at reconsideration that the treatment is

reasonable or necessary.

34 Pa. Code S 127.208(e) (1996).

9

providers are not forbidden from continuing to furnish

medical services to employees who are subjected to such

review, although any such treatment is rendered with the

risk that the medical provider ultimately may not be

compensated depending upon the resolution of the

utilization review. Furthermore, although the employee is

given notice that the Initial Request for utilization review

has been filed, there is no indication on that form that an

employee's medical benefits may be terminated for and

during the disputed treatment. Further, the Initial Request

does not provide any information or explanation regarding

what utilization review entails.

After a request for review is properly filed, the Bureau

randomly assigns the case to a Utilization Review

Organization ("URO"),3 and the Bureau again notifies all

interested parties that the case has been assigned by

sending out a Notice of Assignment form. See 34 Pa. Code

S 127.453. The Notice of Assignment is a copy of the notice

that is sent to the URO, advising the URO that a particular

case has been assigned to it. The Notice of Assignment, like

the Initial Request, does not inform employees that their

medical benefits may be suspended nor does it advise

employees of procedures under which their suspension may

be protested.

The review process is narrowly tailored to the task of

determining whether specific medical treatment is or was

reasonable or necessary. Utilization review is conducted by

a health care provider4 who has "the same or similar

_________________________________________________________________

3. "Utilization Review Organizations" are defined as

those organizations consisting of an impartial physician, surgeon

or

other health care provider or a panel of such professionals and

provides as authorized . . . for the purpose of reviewing the

reasonableness and necessity of a health care provider pursuant to

section 531(6).

77 Pa. Const. Stat. Ann. S 29 (West 1997).

4. A "health care provider" is defined as

any person, corporation, facility or institution licensed or

otherwise

authorized by the Commonwealth to provide health care services,

including, but not limited to, any physician, coordinated care

10

specialty" as the provider who conducted the treatment in

question. See 77 Pa. Const. Stat. Ann. S 531(6)(i).

Accordingly, the reviewer must apply generally accepted

treatment protocols to assess the reasonableness or

necessity of the questioned treatment. See 34 Pa. Code

S 127.467. The URO may not request, seek, or obtain

independent medical examinations or reports. See id.

S 127.461. Rather, the review is solely based upon the

medical records of the treating medical provider and any

discussions that the URO has had with the medical

provider concerning the treatment. See id. SS 127.461,

127.469.5 Lastly, the URO's role is narrowly defined to

address exclusively whether the medical treatment in

question is reasonable and/or necessary. See 34 Pa. Code

S 127.470.

The URO must assume that the employee's medical

condition is a work-related injury. See id. In addition, the

URO does not consider whether the employee is still

disabled, whether the employee has obtained maximum

medical improvement, or whether the fees charged are

reasonable. As noted, the URO's exclusive function is to

determine the reasonableness or necessity of the prescribed

treatment in question.

The URO must issue a report of its findings and

conclusions within thirty (30) days of a request. 6 See 77 Pa.

_________________________________________________________________

organization, hospital, health care facility, dentist, nurse,

optometrist, podiatrist, physical therapist, psychologist,

chiropractor

or pharmacist and an officer, employe [sic] or agent of such person

acting in the course and scope of employment or agency related to

health care services.

77 Pa. Const. Stat. Ann. S 29.

5. The URO must give the treating medical provider an opportunity to

discuss the challenged treatment. See 34 Pa. Code S 127.469. Neither

the statute nor the regulations make any provision for giving the affected

employee the same opportunity.

6. The regulations provide that the URO must complete the review and

make a determination within thirty (30) days of receiving the medical

provider's records or within thirty-five (35) days of the date that the

URO

received the Notice of Assignment, whichever is earlier. See 34 Pa. Code

S 127.465.

11

Const. Stat. Ann. S 531(6)(ii). The written report must

contain findings, conclusions, and citations to generally

accepted treatment protocols and medical literature, as

appropriate. See 34 Pa. Code S 127.472. The URO sends

the report to the Bureau which then sends a copy to all

interested parties. See id. S 127.476. The employer or

insurer pays for the initial utilization review. See 77 Pa.

Const. Stat. Ann. S 531(6)(iii); 34 Pa. CodeS 127.477.

B.

Originally, Act 44 permitted reconsideration of the URO's

determination if filed within thirty (30) days of the URO's

report. See 77 Pa. Const. Stat. Ann. S 531(6)(iv). The review

on reconsideration mirrored the initial utilization review

except that a different URO conducted the review and the

Bureau advanced the costs of reconsideration and

subsequently billed the losing party. See 34 Pa. Code

S 127.514. Thus, as with the utilization review, an employee

could not testify before a URO concerning the medical

treatment on reconsideration. Further, parties were not

notified before invoking reconsideration review that they

would be billed for the costs of reconsideration review if

they lost.

If a party disagreed with the URO's determination on

reconsideration, it could file a Petition for Review with the

Bureau for de novo review before a Workers' Compensation

Administrative Law Judge ("ALJ"). If the employee prevailed

upon reconsideration, the supersedeas was lifted pending

this de novo hearing. If the employee lost the

reconsideration review, the supersedeas remained in effect.

See id. S 127.208(f).

Even if the medical services provided were ultimately

found to be reasonable and/or necessary, an employee's

benefits could be suspended for a considerable length of

time pending the initial utilization review, reconsideration,

and de novo review by an ALJ. While the Act requires the

initial utilization review to occur within thirty (30) days of

a request, see 77 Pa. Const. Stat. Ann. S 531(5)(ii), and

reconsideration to be filed within thirty (30) days of the

URO's determination and decided within 30-35 days

12

thereafter, see 34 Pa. Code S 127.508, there is no time-

frame specified for adjudication and resolution before the

ALJ. Accordingly, employees could have waited months or

even years without medical benefits before the

reasonableness or necessity of their treatment was resolved.

In 1996, the Act was amended yet again by Act 57. Act

57 streamlined the utilization review process by eliminating

the reconsideration process, thereby allowing for faster de

novo review by an ALJ. Thus, after the initial URO issues

its decision, the losing party no longer need seek

reconsideration by another URO, but rather may petition

for de novo review by an ALJ. Under Act 57, if the initial

URO rules in favor of the employee, the supersedeas is

lifted pending the ALJ's review. If the URO rules against the

employee, the supersedeas remains in effect until after the

ALJ renders his/her decision. See id. S 127.208(e). In all

other material respects the provisions of Act 44 remained in

effect and are not challenged here.

II.

The Plaintiffs (hereinafter, collectively "Sullivan") in the

present S 1983 case are ten individual employees7 and two

organizations representing employees who claim that their

medical benefits were suspended without regard to due

process: the Philadelphia Area Project on Occupational

Safety and Health ("PhilaPOSH"),8 and the Philadelphia

Federation of Teachers ("PFT").9 Sullivan claims that the

amendments to the Act violated the Plaintiffs' constitutional

right to due process under the Fourteenth Amendment by

_________________________________________________________________

7. The Plaintiffs-Appellants are Delores Scott Sullivan, William Battle,

Louis Baumgartner, Anthony Cancila, William C. Dillon, Terrence Ervine,

Charles Matthews, Christopher Costello, Lisa Lex, and Susan Hansen.

8. PhilaPOSH is a non-profit organization comprised of over 2000 unions

and individual members, representing approximately 300,000 workers in

Southeastern Pennsylvania. PhilaPOSH advocates for occupational safety

and the rights of injured workers. Plaintiffs alleged that several members

of PhilaPOSH had been directly affected by the utilization review

procedures challenged in this litigation. See Am. Compl. at P 15.

9. In its order dated March 30, 1995, the district court permitted the PFT

to intervene as a plaintiff in this action.

13

permitting their employers and/or insurers to suspend the

payment of their workers' compensation medical benefits

without prior notice and without affording them an

opportunity to be heard.10 Sullivan filed the amended

complaint in this action on May 21, 1996, three months

before the amendments in Act 57 rescinding

reconsideration review took effect.

The Defendants in this action include various state

officials responsible for administering the Act ("the

Commonwealth Defendants"),11 the director of SWIF,12 the

School District of Philadelphia ("the School District"), and

several insurance companies.13

The insurance company defendants and the School

District moved to dismiss the complaint on the grounds

that there was no state action involved in suspending

Sullivan's medical benefits.14 Sullivan filed a motion for

partial summary judgment on the issue that the insurers

_________________________________________________________________

10. The Fourteenth Amendment provides, in pertinent part:

Section 1. All persons born or naturalized in the United States,

and

subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the United

States

and the State wherein they reside. No State shall make or enforce

any law which shall abridge the privileges or immunities of

citizens

of the United States; nor shall any State deprive any person of

life,

liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor deny to any

person within its jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws.

U.S. Const. amend. XIV, S 1.

11. The state officials are the Secretary of Labor and Industry, Robert

Barnett (Appellees name Johnny Butler in this position); Director of

Pennsylvania's Bureau of Workers' Compensation, Richard Himler;

Insurance Commissioner for the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Linda

Kaiser; and Treasurer for the Commonwealth, Catherine Baker Knoll.

12. The Director of SWIF is Ralph Chase.

13. The insurance companies involved in this action are American

Manufacturer's Mutual Insurance Company, Cigna Corporation,

Continental Casualty Company, USF&G Insurance Company, and Zurich

American Insurance Company.

14. The insurance company defendants contended that there was no

state action with respect to the private decisions that they made. The

School District claimed that there was no state action because it did not

participate in the decision-making process concerning the invocation of

utilization review (and corresponding termination of medical benefits)

because it contracted out the payment of its medical liabilities under the

Act to a private company which is not a party to the present action. See

Sch. Dist.'s Mem. in Supp. Mot. to Dismiss at 1-4 (district court docket

# 11, 12).

14

and the School District were state actors subject to the

constraints of due process. In its opinion and order dated

January 24, 1996, the district court ruled that the private

insurers were not state actors, but at that time did not

decide the state action issue with respect to the School

District as the record was incomplete and more discovery

was needed. See Sullivan v. Barnett, 913 F. Supp. 895 (E.D.

Pa. 1996) (hereinafter, "Sullivan I").

On May 28, 1996, Sullivan moved for class certification

to represent the class of workers who have had or will have

their medical benefits suspended under Pennsylvania's

utilization review procedures without advance notice or an

opportunity to be heard prior to supersedeas of benefits

under section 531(5) and (6). See Am. Compl. at P 17.

Holding that the supersedeas provisions did not offend due

process, the district court dismissed the complaint with

respect to the Commonwealth Defendants and the School

District by orders dated November 7, 1996, see Sullivan v.

Butler, 1996 WL 654032 (E.D. Pa. Nov. 7, 1996)

(hereinafter, "Sullivan II"), and December 13, 1996,

respectively, without certifying the plaintiff-class. This

appeal followed.

We have jurisdiction over this appeal pursuant to 28

U.S.C. S 1291. Our review over the district court's rulings is

plenary. See Weiner v. The Quaker Oats Co., 129 F.3d 310,

315 (3d Cir. 1997).

III.

In order for Sullivan to prevail on her claims that the Act

does not provide adequate notice nor an opportunity to be

heard before her benefits are terminated, the Defendants

must be held to be state actors or to be acting under color

of state law.15

_________________________________________________________________

15. Section 1983 provides a cause of action to individuals who have been

deprived of a federal right by a person acting "under color of state law."

See Groman v. Township of Manalapan, 47 F.3d 628, 633 (3d Cir. 1995).

The "under color of state law" requirement ofS 1983 and the "state

action" element of the Fourteenth Amendment have been interpreted to

be "identical in most contexts," Id. at 639 n.15; see also Lugar, 457 U.S.

15

The Commonwealth does not dispute that it is a state

actor, and indeed, it would be hard-pressed to do so in light

of the fact that it was the Commonwealth that enacted the

supersedeas provisions of 77 Pa. Const. Stat. Ann. S 531(5)

and (6) which deprive Sullivan of the Workers'

Compensation medical benefits to which she is entitled. Nor

has SWIF disputed the fact that it is a state actor. See

Commonwealth Br. at 20 n.12; see also Rumph v. State

Workmen's Ins. Fund, 964 F. Supp. (E.D. Pa. 1997);

Baksalary v. Smith, 579 F. Supp. 218, 230 (E.D. Pa. 1984).

Further, the School District apparently does not now

contest that it is a state actor, as it has not briefed the

issue on appeal.16 The insurers, however, deny that their

actions in invoking relief under the supersedeas provisions

appurtenant to the utilization review process constitute

state action. We cannot agree.

State action has been characterized as one of the most

troublesome issues of constitutional law. See Henry C.

Strickland, The State Action Doctrine and the Rehnquist

Court, 18 Hastings Const. L.Q. 587, 588 (1991). Various

cases have led to differing results in factual scenarios that,

at least upon first impression, appear to be similar.

Compare Mark v. Borough of Hatboro, 51 F.3d 1137 (3d Cir.

1995) (concluding that state action existed in context of

volunteer fire department), with Groman v. Township of

Manalapan, 47 F.3d 628 (3d Cir. 1995) (holding that state

action did not attach to actions of a volunteer first aid

_________________________________________________________________

at 935 n.18. Thus, private parties can be held liable for the alleged due

process violations only if "it can be fairly said that the [government] is

responsible for the specific conduct of which the plaintiff complains" --

here, the suspension of employees' Workers' Compensation medical

benefits. Edmonson v. Leesville Concrete Co., 500 U.S. 614, 632 (1991)

(O'Connor, J. dissenting) (quoting Blum v. Yaretsky, 457 U.S. 991, 1004)

(1982).

16. In Sullivan I, the district court initially denied the School

District's

motion to dismiss premised upon the state action issue. See Sullivan I,

913 F. Supp. at 905. However, because the district court held that the

supersedeas provisions of the Act did not violate procedural due process

in Sullivan II, the district court did not ultimately find it necessary to

reach the state action issue with respect to the School District.

16

squad). Indeed, the state action inquiry necessarily depends

upon the factual contexts in which the controversies arise.

See Lugar v. Edmondson Oil Co., 457 U.S. 922, 939 (1982);

Jackson v. Wilmington Parking Auth., 365 U.S. 715, 722

(1961) ("Only by sifting through facts and weighing

circumstances can the nonobvious involvement of the State

in private conduct be attributed its true significance.");

Groman, 47 F.3d at 639 n.16. To compound the confusion

surrounding a state action examination, courts have

employed various tests and standards that have been

anything but a model of clarity. See Edmonson v. Leesville

Concrete Co., 500 U.S. 614, 632 (1991) (O'Connor, J.

dissenting) ("Unfortunately, [Supreme Court] cases deciding

when private action might be deemed that of the state have

not been a model of consistency.").

In order to analyze the state action issue before us, it is

critical to place the insurer's role within the Workers'

Compensation system in its proper context. The Act

provides no-fault compensation to all employees within the

Commonwealth for all injuries sustained during the course

of one's employment. In exchange for this guarantee of

automatic compensation for wage loss and medical costs

without regard to proof or fault, employees lost their right

to sue their employers in tort. See Winterberg v.

Transportation Ins. Co., 72 F.3d 318 (3d Cir. 1995). The Act

abolishes an employer's common law defenses and strips

an employee of his/her right to sue upon common law

causes of action. Thus, the Workmen's Compensation

scheme in Pennsylvania has been held to be the exclusive

remedy available to an injured worker. See 77 Pa. Const.

Stat. Ann. S 481(a).17 Cf. Travelers Indemnity Co. v.

DiBartolo, 131 F.3d 343, 350-51 (3d Cir. 1997) (holding an

employer's voluntary purchase of uninsured motorist

coverage is a fringe benefit since it is no longer mandated

_________________________________________________________________

17. 77 Pa. Const. Stat. Ann. S 481(a) states, in pertinent part:

The liability of an employer under this act shall be exclusive and

in

the place of any and all other liability to such employes [sic] . .

. or

anyone otherwise entitled to damages in any action at law or

otherwise on account of any injury or death . . . .

77 Pa. Const. Stat. Ann. S 481(a) (West 1992).

17

by state law and, thus, is not subject to the exclusivity

provision of the Workmen's Compensation Act). The system

is mandatory; an employee cannot opt-out of Pennsylvania

Workers' Compensation scheme. See 77 Pa. Const. Stat.

Ann. S 461 (historical notes).

The benefits provided to employees under the Act are a

constitutionally protected entitlement. None of the parties

disputes this. See, e.g., Sullivan II at 4; see also Baksalary,

579 F. Supp. at 224-225. The Commonwealth has created

this entitlement, and the Commonwealth guarantees that

these benefits will be paid to an injured employee.18

In creating and executing this system of entitlements, the

Commonwealth has enacted a complex and interwoven

regulatory web enlisting the Bureau, the employers, and

the insurance companies. The Commonwealth extensively

regulates and controls the Workers' Compensation system.

Although the insurance companies are private entities,

when they act under the construct of the Workers'

Compensation system, they are providing public benefits

which honor State entitlements. In effect, they become an

arm of the State, fulfilling a uniquely governmental

obligation under an entirely state-created, self-contained

public benefit system. It is a "system which the government

alone administers." Edmonson, 500 U.S. at 622. Thus, we

conclude the insurance companies are a partner or an arm

of the State in implementing legislation that administers

constitutionally protected entitlements which the

Commonwealth has enacted as a matter of policy.

The right to invoke the supersedeas, or to stop payments,

is a power that traditionally was held in the hands of the

State. When insurance companies invoke the supersedeas

(i.e., suspension) of an employee's medical benefits, they

compromise an employee's State-created entitlements. The

_________________________________________________________________

18. The Commonwealth guarantees that Workmen's Compensation

benefits will be paid by imposing a statutory obligation upon the

employer to pay for all work-related injuries of his/her employees. If the

employer's insurance company becomes insolvent, however, the Workers'

Compensation Security Fund, a fund administered and created by the

Commonwealth, assumes the responsibility of paying the benefits to

eligible employees. See 77 Pa. Const. Stat. Ann. S 1053.

18

insurers have no power to deprive or terminate such

benefits without the permission and participation of the

Commonwealth. More importantly, however, the

Commonwealth is intimately involved in any decision by an

insurer to terminate an employee's constitutionally

protected benefits because an insurer cannot suspend

medical payments without first obtaining authorization

from the Bureau. However this authorization may be

characterized, any deprivation that occurs is predicated

upon the State's involvement.

There is little difference between the approval required

here and that necessary for utilizing a peremptory

challenge, see, e.g., Edmonson, 500 U.S. at 622, or for

employing a nonclaim statute with the assistance of the

probate court. See, e.g., Tulsa Prof 'l Collection Serv. v. Pope,

485 U.S. 478 (1988). "The [Bureau] is intimately involved

throughout, and without that involvement" the supersedeas

could not operate. Id. at 487. Further, the supersedeas

lacks the self-executing characteristic that might otherwise

render due process concerns irrelevant. To the contrary, the

supersedeas provisions at issue are not self-executing, and

without the Commonwealth's involvement and approval, the

insurance companies would be precluded from suspending

medical benefit payments -- an aspect of the Workmen's

Compensation procedure which they had desired.

Accordingly, we hold that the private insurance companies

are state actors when they invoke the supersedeas

provisions under S 531(5) and (6).

Our decision is consistent with West v. Atkins , 487 U.S.

42 (1988). There, the Court held that a private physician

under contract with the State of North Carolina to provide

medical services to prison inmates acted under color of

state law even though the doctor was not directly employed

by the State. In West, the State was under an affirmative

obligation to provide medical care to inmates. The State

delegated that responsibility to a part-time contract

physician, who assumed the State's obligation. Under these

circumstances, the Court held that state action attached to

the actions of the private doctor such that the prisoner

could maintain a S 1983 cause of action against the doctor.

19

That the doctor exercised professional judgment and

discretion independent of the State was insufficient to

relieve him of his constitutional obligations. See id. at 52.

The Court emphasized that "[i]t is the physician's function

within the state system, not the precise terms of his

employment, that determines whether his action can fairly

be attributed to the State." Id. at 55-56. "[T]he dispositive

issue concerns the relationship among the State, the

physician, and the prisoner." Id. at 56 (emphasis added).

Similarly, in this case, examining the relationship among

the Commonwealth, employer, and the insurance

companies, we have concluded that the actions of the

insurers constitute state action. The employers are under

an affirmative obligation to insure their employees for work-

related accidents. This obligation is expressly assumed by

the insurance companies when an employer purchases

insurance, see 77 Pa. Const. Stat. Ann. SS 501, 701, and is

assumed by the Commonwealth if and when a insurer

becomes insolvent.19 Like the constitutional right involved

in West, the employees under the Act have a

constitutionally protected entitlement in receiving their

Workers' Compensation medical benefits. In addition, like

the prisoner in West, the employees cannot elect to go

outside the system for medical treatment. Like prisoners,

they are locked into the system, and any relief that the

employees obtain is strictly through the program which the

State has designed. The employees are, in essence,

prisoners -- albeit beneficiaries -- of the Commonwealth's

Workers' Compensation system.

Our conclusion is also consistent with the decision of the

three-judge district court panel which convened in

Baksalary v. Smith,20 579 F. Supp. 218 (E.D. Pa. 1984),

_________________________________________________________________

19. See supra note 17.

20. In Baksalary, a three-judge panel of the district court comprised of

two district court judges and one Court of Appeals judge, convened

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. S 2284. In Baksalary, employees contested an

automatic supersedeas provision under the Act that terminated an

employee's benefits without notice or a pre-termination opportunity to be

heard. If an employer or insurer filed a petition which alleged that an

employee had returned to work at the same or higher rate of pay, or if

the petition -- accompanied by a physician's affidavit -- alleged that the

employee had recovered from his/her disability, then the employer or

insurer could terminate the employee's Workers' Compensation benefits.

See Baksalary, 579 F. Supp. at 221.

20

which held that the state action mantle falls upon the

insurers. Baksalary involved a similar challenge to the Act,

held that the insurers acted under color of state law, and

accordingly found that there had been a denial of due

process in violation of the Fourteenth Amendment from the

invocation of section 413, 77 Pa. Const. Stat. Ann.S 774, a

similar supersedeas provision.

We are aware that Baksalary has been criticized by the

Fifth Circuit in Barnes v. Legman, 861 F.2d 1383 (8th Cir.

1988), but we do not share the Fifth Circuit's view. Barnes

concerned a due process challenge to a provision in Texas'

Workers' Compensation Statute that permitted an

insurance carrier to terminate medical benefits based upon

a medical report. As the Barnes decision is predicated upon

its interpretation of Texas -- as distinct from Pennsylvania

-- law, it is necessarily inapposite to this case. The Barnes

court did not explain in detail the procedural involvement

of Texas in permitting the insurance company to deny an

employee his/her benefits. Clearly, however, the statutory

provision permitting the termination of benefits in Barnes

and the supersedeas provisions at issue here vary

significantly. In Barnes, for instance, the insurance

company was not compelled to resume the employee's

benefits even after a State officer reviewing the case

recommended that the insurance company reinstate those

benefits. See Barnes, 861 F.2d at 1384. Thus, the employee

was left with a cause of action under state law only.

In addition, it is unclear whether employers and/or

employees can opt-out of Texas' Workers' Compensation

scheme. In Pennsylvania, as we have stated, they cannot.

Moreover, and perhaps most importantly, it is not clear that

under Texas law that State involvement was required prior

to the termination of benefits. See Tex. Workers'

Compensation Law, art. 8307 S 11 (repealed 1989).21

_________________________________________________________________

21. Article 8307, S 11, provides:

Association suspending payments. When the association suspends

or stops payment of compensation, it shall immediately notify the

board of that fact, giving the board the name, number and style of

the claim, the amount paid thereon, the date of the suspension or

stopping of payment thereon, and the reason for such suspension or

stopping.

Tex. Workers' Compensation Law, art. 8307, S 11 (repealed 1989).

21

Nor do we find other state action authorities to be

persuasive in analyzing the context of Pennsylvania's

Workmen's Compensation statutory scheme. As we have

previously observed, the factual context in which the

particular issue arises must be the focus of a state action

inquiry. Other cases cited by the insurers such as Blum v.

Yaretsky, 457 U.S. 991 (1982) (finding no state action when

private nursing homes decided to transfer or discharge

Medicaid patients without notice or a hearing), Rendell-

Baker v. Kohn, 457 U.S. 830 (1982) (finding no state action

when private school fired employees despite the fact that

school was financed from almost exclusively public sources

and was extensively regulated by government), Flagg

Brothers v. Brooks, 436 U.S. 149 (1978) (finding no state

action when private warehouseman invoked self-help

provisions of New York's Uniform Commercial Code by

selling goods entrusted to him), and Jackson v. Metropolitan

Edison Company, 419 U.S. 345 (1974) (finding no state

action when privately owned electric utility terminated a

customer's electric service for nonpayment without a

hearing), do not, by the very nature of the controversies

with which they dealt, involve a comprehensive statutory

scheme similar to that present in this case.

We therefore conclude that, in the present context of a

comprehensive state scheme reflected in the Workers'

Compensation statute of Pennsylvania, the private insurers

are state actors. The Act mandates compliance by

employers, employees, and insurance companies and

inextricably entangles the insurance companies in a

partnership with the Commonwealth such that they become

an integral part of the state in administering the statutory

scheme. This relationship more than suffices to satisfy the

constitutional requisites under the tests -- varied though

they may be -- for state action. See Blum, 457 U.S. at 1004

(state action exists if the State has coerced the action or

provided significant encouragement); Rendell-Baker, 457

U.S. at 842 (state action exists if there is a symbiotic

relationship between the state and the private actor); Flagg

Bros., 436 U.S. at 157-59 (state action exists if private actor

exercises powers exclusively within the prerogative of the

State); Jackson, 419 U.S. at 351 (state action exists if a

sufficiently close nexus between State and private actor is

22

found); Mark, 51 F.3d at 1156 (suggesting courts should

employ a totality of circumstances approach to state action

inquiries) (Greenberg, J. concurring). We expressly limit our

holding here today, however, to the unique context in which

the instant supersedeas provisions arise.22

IV.

We now address the due process issue that is at the

heart of the instant action.

The gravamen of Sullivan's complaint is that the lack of

notice afforded under the supersedeas provisions, S 531(5)

and (6), of the Act violates the procedural due process

guarantees under the Fourteenth Amendment because

neither the Initial Request for utilization review nor the

Notice of Assignment specifically informs an employee that

the insurer or employer can stop paying for the contested

medical treatments pending review.23 Although employees

are notified that their employers or insurers have invoked

the utilization review process pursuant to 34 Pa. Code

S 127.452, or are notified that the case has been assigned

for review to a URO, pursuant to 34 Pa. Code S 127.453(b),

Sullivan points out that such notification does not provide

any information or explanation concerning what the

utilization review process involves. Sullivan also contends

that neither notification provides any information about

_________________________________________________________________

22. In light of our holding that the private insurance companies are state

actors and are thus bound by the constraints of due process, we need

not address the question as to whether a disparate classification

concerning a public insurer, such as SWIF, and the private insurers

would violate the Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment.

23. Neither party disputes the district court's ruling that Workers'

Compensation benefits are a constitutionally protected property interest

subject to scrutiny under the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment. See, e.g., Sullivan II at 4; see also Baksalary v. Smith, 579

F. Supp. 218, 224-25 (E.D. Pa. 1984) ("We find that when an individual

must forego the use of his [workers'] compensation benefits for as long

as one year . . . that individual has undergone the deprivation of a

constitutionally protected property interest."). Accordingly, we

concentrate upon whether the procedures afforded to employees under

the Act comport with the strictures of due process.

23

how an employee can contest the underlying allegations

that serve the basis for the utilization review. Accordingly,

Sullivan argues that such notification is defective because

(1) the employee receives no notice that his/her benefits

may cease pending review, (2) the employee receives no

meaningful notice prior to the deprivation, and (3) the

employee is not advised of the procedures under which

he/she can protest the imminent deprivation.

The Bureau does not dispute that no notice is provided

to an employee that his/her medical benefits might be

suspended. Rather, the Bureau contends that the decision

to discontinue such benefits (i.e., request a supersedeas) is

discretionary and is determined solely by the employer or

the insurer, not the Bureau. Thus, the Bureau maintains

that it does not have information regarding the status of an

employees' medical benefits in a utilization review case, and

accordingly it does not deny employees of procedural due

process by failing to notify them of such information. The

Bureau further asserts that this case is not akin to

Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 306, 314 (1970), 24 such that a

pre-deprivation hearing is required prior to the suspension

of medical benefits. As a result, the Bureau maintains that

sufficient process is afforded to employees under the Act.

"The core of due process is the right to notice and a

meaningful opportunity to be heard." LaChance v. Erickson,

___ U.S. ___, 1998 WL 17107 (1998) at 3; see also

Cleveland Bd. of Educ. v. Loudermill, 470 U.S. 532, 542

(1985); Memphis Light, Gas & Water Div. v. Craft , 436 U.S.

1, 13 (1978); Fuentes v. Shevin, 407 U.S. 67, 80 (1972);

Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co., 339 U.S. 306,

313 (1950). We will thus address the constitutionality of the

pre-deprivation notice the employees receive in this case

and their opportunity to be heard, in turn.

A. Notice

"[A]dequate notice detailing the reasons for a proposed

termination" of a constitutionally protected liberty or

_________________________________________________________________

24. In Goldberg v. Kelly, the Supreme Court held that a pre-deprivation

evidentiary hearing was required prior to the termination of welfare

benefits.

24

property interest must be afforded to individuals prior to

the deprivation. Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254, 267-68

(1970). Notice must be "reasonably calculated, under all the

circumstances, to apprise interested parties of the

pendency of the action and afford them an opportunity to

present their objections." Mullane, 339 U.S. at 314. The

level of notice required before an individual is deprived of a

constitutionally protected property interest depends upon

the particular benefits at issue. "[D]ue process is flexible

and calls for such procedural protections as the particular

situation demands." Morrissey v. Brewer, 408 U.S. 471,

481 (1972).

In Memphis Light, Gas & Water Division, the Supreme

Court held that a Memphis utility company did not provide

constitutionally sufficient notice to its customers prior to

terminating their utilities. Although the utility gave its

customers notice that their service could be terminated for

nonpayment of their bill, the company failed to inform its

patrons of how they could protest or object to charges on

their bills. The Court concluded that "[n]otice in a case of

this kind does not comport with constitutional

requirements when it does not advise the customer of the

availability of a procedure for protesting a proposed

termination . . . as unjustified." 436 U.S. at 14-15 (emphasis

added).

In Goldberg v. Kelly, the Court considered whether the

notice provisions of New York City's welfare termination

process comported with due process. As welfare recipients

were given seven days advance notice of the impending

termination, a letter informing them of the precise

questions raised about their continued eligibility and the

legal and factual bases for the Department of Social

Services' doubts, and a personal conference explaining the

same, the Court held that the notice provisions were

adequate. See 397 U.S. at 268. Similarly, although notice

was not directly at issue in Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S.

319, 324 (1976), the Court acknowledged that recipients of

Social Security disability payments were afforded proper

notice which included a letter informing them that their

benefits would be terminated prior to the deprivation, a

detailed explanation of the reasons for the proposed

25

termination, and the opportunity to submit additional

evidence to the agency making the determination prior to

the actual deprivation.

Moreover, we held in Ortiz v. Eichler, 794 F.2d 889 (3d

Cir. 1986), that the notice provided by Delaware prior to the

termination or denial of Aid to Families with Dependent

Children, Food Stamps, and Medicaid benefits was

constitutionally deficient because it failed to explain the

reasons for the state agency's action and did not contain

the agency's specific calculations utilizing an employee's

income or financial resources to ascertain his/her eligibility

in making its determination. See id. at 892, 895.

The Supreme Court of Iowa confronted a similar problem

to the one at hand when it considered the notice to which

an employee was entitled before his/her Workers'

Compensation benefits were terminated. There, the Court

held that at a minimum due process required the following:

(1) the contemplated termination,

(2) that the termination of benefits was to occur at a

specified time not less than 30 days after notice,

(3) the reason or reasons for the termination,

(4) that the recipient had the opportunity to submit

any evidence or documents disputing or

contradicting the reasons given for termination,

and, if such evidence or documents are submitted,

to be advised whether termination is still

contemplated,

(5) that the recipient had the right to petition for

review.

Auxier v. Woodward State Hospital-School, 266 N.W.2d 139,

142-43 (Iowa 1978).

Informed by established precedent, we hold that in the

case of terminating the medical benefits of a workers'

compensation employee, at a minimum due process

requires that employees receive notice that includes (1)

timely notification that their medical benefits might cease

prior to the deprivation, (2) an explanation of the reasons

for the proposed termination, (3) an opportunity to respond

to the accusations alleged, and (4) information advising

26

them of the availability of the procedures that they may

utilize to protest the proposed termination.

In the instant case, the notice that an employee receives

prior to the termination of his/her medical benefits is

constitutionally inadequate. While the employee is notified

by the Initial Request that utilization review has been

invoked and the reasons upon which the utilization review

is based, the Initial Request does not explain that a

supersedeas or suspension of one's medical benefits may

result nor does it explain what utilization review entails. In

addition, it does not inform an employee of any procedures

under which the employee can protest the suspension of

the medical benefits or contest the merits on which the

proposed deprivation is based.

Similarly, the Notice of Assignment does not cure any of

the above notice deficiencies. The Notice of Assignment is,

in fact, a copy of the notice to the URO informing the URO

that a particular case has been assigned. Like the Initial

Request, the Notice of Assignment does not notify an

employee that his/her medical benefits may be terminated

nor does it advise an employee of any procedures under

which such termination may be challenged. Further, by the

time the Notice of Assignment is received, the employees'

medical benefits may have already been suspended, as the

supersedeas can be invoked and thus a suspension of

benefits effected upon the proper filing of the utilization

review process.

That an employee's medical benefits may be suspended

prior to his/her receiving notice of that termination is

constitutionally fatal to S 531(5) and (6) under the strictures

of the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment.

See Carey v. Piphus, 435 U.S. 247, 259 (1978) ("Procedural

due process rules are meant to protect persons not from

the deprivation, but from the mistaken or unjustified

deprivation of life, liberty, or property.") (emphasis added).

At no time prior to the termination is the employee

informed of any procedure under which he/she can dispute

the supersedeas. As the employee is not informed of the

deprivation of his/her medical benefits prior to its taking

effect, inadequate notice effectively strips an employee of

27

his/her ability or opportunity to protest or minimize

unjustified deprivations.25

In Baksalary v. Smith, 579 F. Supp. 218, 233 (E.D. Pa.

1984), a three-judge panel of the district court held a

similar supersedeas provision unconstitutional where it

failed to provide notice to the employee until after the

benefits had already been terminated. Similarly, we

conclude that S 531(5) and (6), the supersedeas provisions

pertaining to utilization review of medical benefits, is

unconstitutional because it fails to provide employees with

adequate pre-termination notice.

Our invalidation of this supersedeas provision of the Act

does not thereby annul other provisions of the Act:

Under Pennsylvania law, separate provisions of a

statute are presumed severable, and any particular one

will survive a decision voiding another unless it is so

interrelated with the void provision or incomplete

without it that the legislature could not have intended

it to stand alone.

Stoner v. Presbyterian Hosp., 609 F.2d 109, 112 (3d Cir.

1979) (citing 1 Pa. Const. Stat. Ann. S 1925). Thus, under

our holding today we do no more than sever the "unless"

clause from S 531(5) of the Act. We are thereby left with a

statute that reads as follows and that requires employers or

insurers to make payments in accordance with the

provision of the Act, but that does not give those employers

or insurers the discretion or opportunity to invoke the

supersedeas of an employee's medical benefits:

The employer or insurer shall make payment and

providers shall submit bills and records in accordance

with the provisions of this section. All payments to

providers for treatment provided pursuant to this act

shall be made within thirty (30) days of receipt of such

bills and records.

_________________________________________________________________

25. At oral argument, the Commonwealth conceded that no notice was

afforded to the employees whose medical benefits were terminated

pursuant to the supersedeas provisions at issue here. In addition, the

Commonwealth recognized that providing notice would be "easy" to

remedy.

28

B. Opportunity to be heard

Due process requires that "an individual be given an

opportunity for a hearing before he is deprived of any

significant property interest." Boddie v. Connecticut, 401

U.S. 371, 379 (1971) (emphasis in original). The right to be

heard " `must be granted at a meaningful time and in a

meaningful manner.' " Fuentes, 407 U.S. at 80 (quoting

Armstrong v. Manzo, 380 U.S. 545, 552 (1965)). While it is

undisputed that some sort of hearing is required before an

individual is finally deprived of a liberty or property

interest, due process necessitates some sort of pre-

termination opportunity to be heard regarding the basis of

the proposed termination. See Loudermill, 470 U.S. at 542

("Even decisions finding no constitutional violation in

termination procedures have relied on the existence of some

pre-termination opportunity to respond.") "The opportunity

to present reasons, either in person or in writing, why

proposed action should not be taken is a fundamental due

process requirement." Id. at 546.

In the case before us, the employees were not given a

pre-deprivation opportunity to respond to the proposed

termination of their medical benefits. Indeed, as we have

discussed above, they were not even given notice of the

impending termination. "[The] right to be heard has little

reality or worth unless one is informed that the matter is

pending and can choose for himself whether to appear or

default, acquiesce or contest." Mullane, 339 U.S. at 314. So,

while the Commonwealth's statutory scheme provides that

employees be given an opportunity for a post-termination

evidentiary hearing in the form of a de novo hearing before

an ALJ, we must address what pre-termination opportunity

to be heard is required to satisfy the constitutional

minimum of due process.

In order to determine the extent of the pre-deprivation

process, we must consider and balance the following

factors:

First, the private interest that will be affected by the

official action. Second, the risk of erroneous

deprivation of such interest through the procedures

used, and the probable value, if any, of additional or

29

substitute safeguards; and, finally, the government's

interest including the function involved and thefiscal

and administrative burdens that the additional or

substitute procedural requirements would entail.

Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319, 334-35 (1976). We will

deal with each factor in turn.

(1) Private Interest

The employees' interest is in the uninterrupted payment

of their medical benefits pending the final administrative

decision on their cases. Sullivan II at 5. As the district court

acknowledged, this interest is "without a doubt[,]

significant." Id. Without receiving her medical treatments, a

concomitant of having her medical benefits paid to her

medical provider, Sullivan alleges that she has endured

longer periods of disability, unnecessary pain, and

functional restriction. See Am. Compl.

Notwithstanding the employees' significant interest, the

district court found that these interests were mitigated by

several factors. First, the district court noted that, unlike

Goldberg, termination of one's medical benefits would not

deprive an employee of the very means of his/her

subsistence. See Sullivan II at 5. The district court also

concluded that the availability of full remedies mitigates the

impact of the supersedeas. Id. at 6. For instance, an

employee whose medical benefits are reinstated on appeal

by an ALJ is entitled to an award of benefits plus ten (10)

percent interest. See 77 Pa. Const. Stat. Ann. S 717.1(a)

(West Supp. 1997). In addition, the prevailing employee

may recover the costs of litigating his/her right to medical

benefits. See id. S 996 (West Supp. 1997).

Additionally, the district court noted -- and the

Defendants contend -- that the Act does not proscribe a

medical provider from continuing to treat an employee

during the utilization review process. Sullivan II at 5 n.4.

Indeed, in the amended complaint, some of the Plaintiffs

admit to receiving some medical treatments although such

treatments were undergoing utilization review. See, e.g.,

App. A-107 (Louis Baumgartner). Further, there is nothing

in the statute that requires that an employee's medical

benefits be suspended. See Sullivan II at 8.

30

Finally, the Defendants emphasize that this case is

unlike Goldberg, Mathews, and other traditional due

process cases because the court must not only weigh the

private interest of Sullivan against the governmental

interest, but must also consider the conflicting private

interest of the insurance companies. The insurers have an

interest in not paying for unnecessary and/or unreasonable

medical treatment. The Defendants argue this interest is

significant because once such treatment is paid it cannot

be recouped from employees or their medical providers even

if the disputed treatment is found to be unreasonable or

unnecessary. See Moats v. Workmen's Compensation Appeal

Bd., 588 A.2d 116, 118 (1991) ("[T]he employer may not

seek reimbursement from the claimant or be relieved of

paying past medical bills."). Accordingly, the district court

held that "a full evidentiary hearing prior to a possible

temporary suspension of benefits is not an indispensable

requisite for the process that is due." Sullivan II at 6.

The district court mischaracterized the nature of

Sullivan's interest, and in so doing, minimized the severity

of the deprivation at issue. The district court apparently

viewed the medical benefits as more akin to a pecuniary

interest, and not an interest in the relief that the medical

treatment provides to injured employees. The remedies that

the Act provides to an employee whose medical benefits are

unjustly terminated provide merely superficial redress as

they focus upon a monetary interest as distinct from a

medical interest in one's well-being. Further, as medical

benefits are typically terminated upon invocation of

utilization review, the employee does not receive any

medical treatment pending review and thus there may be

no medical costs to reimburse upon a determination that

the medical treatments were, in fact, reasonable and

necessary. Once the supersedeas is invoked, it can take

several months before the URO reaches its decision and --

before the reconsideration process was rescinded-- even

longer if reconsideration review was requested. 26 Although a

_________________________________________________________________

26. Although the URO is required to render a decision within thirty (30)

days of the receipt of the employee's medical records or sixty (60) days

from the date of assignment, in the amended complaint, Sullivan alleges

31

monetary award may compensate an individual forfinancial

losses, a monetary award cannot be deemed an adequate,

effective, or appropriate substitute for relieving an

employee's disability or pain. Nor can it be a substitute for

necessary medical care. Hence, we are persuaded that the

employees' private interest in receiving uninterrupted

medical benefits is a weighty and significant factor in the

pre-termination calculus.

(2) Risk of Erroneous Deprivation

The district court held that the risk of erroneous

deprivation in the instant case was slight. The utilization

review process considers only medical reports provided

directly by the treating physician and related specifically to

certain questioned medical procedures and treatments; no

independent medical reports are consulted. The reviewer is

a physician in the same profession and with the same

specialty as the treating physician, and the reviewer is only

permitted to apply generally accepted medical protocols to

determine whether the questioned treatment is reasonable

or necessary. The district court acknowledged -- and

Defendants argue -- that medical reports are unbiased,

objective, and trustworthy, and thus, the problems

associated with credibility of witnesses are not present such

that a pre-deprivation hearing would be helpful. In

addition, as reconsideration review has been eliminated by

Act 57, an employee can receive a de novo evidentiary

hearing before an ALJ more quickly than before. 27 As a

result, the district court held that additional safeguards

_________________________________________________________________

that this time frame is often not adhered to. See Am. Compl. P 66. The

length of the deprivation here further supports our conclusion that the

private interests are significant. See Mathews , 424 U.S. at 341 ("the

possible length of wrongful deprivation of . . . benefits is an important

factor in assessing the impact of official action on the private

interests.")(internal quotations and citation omitted); see, e.g.,

Baksalary,

579 F. Supp at 224 (stating that resolution of case typically took one

year or more).

27. Most of the Plaintiffs before us were subjected to the reconsideration

review process as the termination of their medical benefits occurred prior

to the amendment to the Act. See Am. Compl. PP 102, 105, 129, 163,

181, 198, 216, 254.

32

were not necessary to protect an injured employee from

being deprived of one's constitutionally protected property

interest in receiving medical benefits. We disagree.

Contrary to the district court's conclusions, we believe

that the risk of erroneous deprivation is significant and that

additional safeguards can meaningfully minimize the risk of

wrongful termination of one's medical benefits. As we stated

above, employees receive no notice that a supersedeas of

their medical benefits will likely result upon the invocation

of utilization review. They are given no pre-deprivation

opportunity to be heard either in writing or in person; they

are not advised of how they can protest or dispute the

underlying allegations that their medical treatments are

unreasonable or unnecessary. Although the employee's

physician must be given an opportunity to discuss the

employee's treatment, see 34 Pa. Code S 127.469, we are

hard-pressed to believe that the portrait of the employee's

illness and treatment is complete without a statement or

other input from the employee himself.

The district court seems to have equated the teaching of

Mathews that an evidentiary hearing is not necessarily

required prior to the deprivation of a constitutionally

protected interest with the notion that no pre-termination

process need be afforded at all. We have come to a different

conclusion. Due process dictates that employees have some

sort of pre-deprivation opportunity to respond before the

supersedeas takes effect so as to guard against an

erroneous deprivation of benefits.

(3) Governmental Interest

The governmental interest that must be considered is

ensuring that only truly disabled individuals are receiving

reasonable and necessary medical treatment. Sullivan II at

8. The government also has an interest in containing the

rising costs of medical care and insurance payments.

Indeed, cost containment is the purpose behind the

supersedeas provisions in question here. Further, the

government has an interest in conserving its scarcefiscal

and administrative resources, and an increase in pre-

deprivation procedures may well be an added burden upon

those resources. While we agree that such legitimate

33

interests exist, we are also aware that the government has

an interest in not wrongfully depriving medical benefits to

disabled individuals and ensuring that employees who

reasonably and legitimately need medical care under the

Act will continue to receive it. On balance, therefore, we are

not convinced that any governmental interest outweighs the

private interest we have discussed above and which favors

Sullivan. Thus, we conclude that the denial of any pre-

deprivation process cannot be sustained.

C. What Process is Due

Now that we have weighed the three factors under the

Mathews analysis, and concluded that S 531(5) and (6) do

not adequately suffice to protect Sullivan's due process

interests, we must decide how much process to afford

employees receiving medical benefits under the Act prior to

the termination of such benefits.

In only one case, Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 306 (1970),

which involved subsistence welfare benefits, has the Court

required a full evidentiary hearing prior to the deprivation.

In contrast, in Mathews, the Court concluded that an

evidentiary hearing was not necessary before an individual

was deprived of his/her Social Security benefits because,

unlike the welfare benefits at issue in Goldberg, the

disability payments were less likely to be the individual's

sole source of income. The Court held that notice of the

proposed reasons for the termination and advice as to how

the recipient could obtain and submit additional

information prior to the termination was sufficient to

comport with pre-deprivation due process procedure.

Similarly, in Loudermill, the Supreme Court determined

that due process required that a tenured public employee

be given oral or written notice of the charges against

him/her, an explanation of the employer's evidence, and an

opportunity to present her position prior to termination of

her position. See 470 U.S. at 546.

While we believe that additional procedural safeguards

will cure the problems currently at issue with the

supersedeas provisions, due process does not require a

Goldberg-style evidentiary hearing prior to the deprivation

of medical benefits. Utilization review is premised upon

34

"routine, standard, and unbiased medical reports,"

Mathews, 424 U.S. at 344 (quoting Richardson v. Perales,

402 U.S. 389, 404 (1971)), from the treating physician,

reviewed by a physician in the same specialty who assesses

the case based upon generally accepted medical protocols,

principles, and practices. Issues of credibility and veracity

are less likely to be an issue in such a case. Accordingly,

the potential benefit of a pre-termination evidentiary

hearing -- or even an oral presentation to the medical

reviewer -- is substantially less in this context than in a

Goldberg-context. See, e.g., Mathews, 424 U.S. at 344-45.

Nevertheless, we think that at a minimum the employee

should be granted the opportunity to present additional

evidence such as his/her personal testimony in writing as

to the reasonableness and necessity of the disputed

treatment, as this could significantly lessen the risk of

erroneously depriving an employee of his/her medical

benefits. This may be particularly true for the recipient of

unorthodox, naturopathic, or non-traditional medical

treatments -- such as, for example, acupuncture or

chiropractic manipulation. Without some sort of indication

from the very individual who is receiving the questioned

medical treatment as to its success or the employee's

improvement, the risk of erroneously terminating an

employee's medical benefits is too high.

We are ever mindful of the fact that the supersedeas

provision contested in this case applies only to disabled

workers who may experience chronic pains over the course

of several years. Many of these workers may be disabled for

life. The personal written submission of such disabled

workers is critical to assessing the relative benefits that a

particular treatment or practice might have. While reading

medical reports and reviewing patients' charts might appear

to show relatively slight improvement, suggesting that the

medical treatment is unreasonable or unnecessary, a

particular treatment might be the only medical treatment

that alleviates an individual's pain or mitigates the severity

of his/her symptoms. As the utilization review process

concerns itself only with the specific medical practice that

is being challenged, see 34 Pa. Code S 127.470, the

reviewing physician may have little or no perspective as to

35

how a particular treatment is benefitting the patient in the

context of the overall medical care that the employee has

undergone during the course of his/her disability. 28 The

opportunity for the employee to present his/her side of the

story -- to introduce his/her own personal account as to

how the particular treatment has ameliorated his/her

condition -- may be highly relevant to the URO's

determination and may not be adequately reflected or

documented in the medical reports.

Cognizant of the governmental interest, we believe that

this additional procedural safeguard of permitting an

employee to submit his/her personal account in writing of

the reasonableness or necessity of the disputed medical

treatment would not prove unduly onerous or

administratively burdensome or costly to implement. To the

contrary, the present procedures could remain intact but

with the exception that the employee be notified at a

meaningful time and in a meaningful manner (prior to the

termination of his/her medical benefits) that he/she can

submit, if he/she so chooses, a letter or a statement to the

URO regarding the reasonableness or necessity of his/her

medical treatment. The reviewing physician could then

consider the employee's account as part of the evidence

considered when making his/her determination. We are not

persuaded that this type of evidence would pose a problem

for the reviewing physician, as doctors regularly make

judgments about the course of treatments depending upon

the input from their patients. The reviewing physician as

part of the utilization review process would simply consider

the employee's account of the medical treatment before

rendering judgment.

In sum, we hold that the supersedeas provisions under

S 531(5) and (6) violate the dictates of due process by not

_________________________________________________________________

28. While we recognize that the regulations require that a URO attempt

to obtain a complete set of medical records from all of an employee's

medical providers for a particular injury, see 34 Pa. Code. S 127.462,

there is no guarantee that all of an employee's records will be located,

received, and reviewed during the utilization review. In any event,

medical records provide but one component for consideration before an

employee is deprived of his/her constitutionally protected interest in

his/her medical benefits.

36

affording disabled employees notice or an opportunity to be

heard before their medical benefits are suspended. To

remedy the procedural defects in the statute, at a

minimum, an employee must be given: (1) timely and

reasonable notice of the imminent suspension of the

medical benefits and treatment before the suspension takes

effect; (2) a description of the reasons why utilization review

has been invoked; (3) an opportunity and time to submit a

personal statement in writing regarding the employee's view

of the reasonableness and/or necessity of the disputed

medical treatments; and (4) a description of the procedures

under which the employee can appeal an adverse

determination.

V.

In addition to the deficiencies we have discussed

regarding the Commonwealth's statutes, we now consider

whether the regulations governing utilization review provide

adequate guidance to UROs and ALJs. We hold that they

do.

Sullivan claims that the regulations governing utilization

review fail to provide standards for determining whether the

contested medical treatment is reasonable or necessary.

Without such standards, Sullivan contends that the

decisions by the UROs and ALJs are ad hoc, arbitrary, and

without any consistency among the various UROs or ALJs

such that those decisions violate her right to procedural

due process under the Fourteenth Amendment. We cannot

agree.

The district court properly held that the regulations in

question provide sufficient guidance to reviewing physicians

and ALJs to comport with due process. As in any case that

is subject to utilization review, the inquiry solely focuses

upon whether the medical treatment in question is

reasonable and/or necessary. See 34 Pa. CodeS 127.470.

In so doing, the regulations provide that the reviewing

physician must be of the same specialty as the treating

physician, see 77 Pa. Const. Stat. Ann.S 531(6)(i), and that

the reviewer must analyze the disputed treatment in light of

generally accepted medical protocols. See 34 Pa. Code

37

S 127.467. The reviewing physician may not consider

whether the injury being treated is work-related, whether

the employee continues to be disabled, whether the

employee has reached maximum medical improvement, or

whether the fees assessed for the services provided are

reasonable. See id. S 127.470. Furthermore, the reviewer

must provide a detailed opinion in writing that explains the

basis for his/her determination. See id. S 127.472.

Accordingly, the regulations provide guidelines which serve

to provide necessary guidance to the reviewing physician

concerning the appropriate bases for his/her determination

such that the ultimate determinations are not arbitrary and

do not discriminate.

Similarly, the de novo hearings before Workers'

Compensation ALJs also comport with due process. As in

any administrative hearing, the ALJ hears testimony,

considers evidence, and renders decisions consistent with

the applicable law. At these de novo hearings, an employee

has the opportunity to present his/her own medical expert,

the right to cross-examination of the witnesses, and the

right to present additional evidence to support his/her

claim. Further, the statute provides that the ALJ shall

consider -- but is not bound by -- the report from the

utilization review. See 77 Pa. Const. Stat. Ann. S 531(6)(iv).

There is no indication that the de novo hearings in the

utilization review context suffer from any different

procedure or lack of guidance than any other

administrative hearing of which we are aware. Accordingly,

we hold that the regulations provide sufficient guidance to

the reviewing physicians and the ALJs in evaluating

employees' cases such that the employees' rights to

procedural due process are honored.

VI.

We now address whether imposing the costs of

reconsideration review upon a losing employee -- without

giving him/her proper notice beforehand -- violates due

process.

Before the amendments in Act 57, if either party

disagreed with the decision rendered by the URO, that

38

party could petition the Bureau for reconsideration review

within thirty (30) days of receiving the decision. See 34 Pa.

Code S 127.502(a). Unlike the initial utilization review,

however, where the employer or insurer paid for the review,

the Bureau advanced the costs of reconsideration review

and charged the losing party for the cost thereafter. While

Act 57 eliminated reconsideration review, Act 57 did not

become effective until August 23, 1996, nearly three

months after the amended complaint in this action was

filed. Thus, most of the Plaintiffs before us were subjected

to the costs of reconsideration review when they suffered an

adverse decision upon reconsideration. It is unclear from

the undeveloped record below, however, whether any of the

Plaintiffs actually paid these reconsideration fees.

Sullivan contends that the imposition of a fee upon a

losing employee violated an employee's right to due process

because such a fee was imposed without any notice,

without an opportunity to be heard on the underlying

contested claim, and without any consideration for the

employee's ability to pay. There was no in forma pauperis

status for reconsideration. Sullivan further asserts that

such a scheme violated the liberty interests of employees

because one may have foregone reconsideration review

rather than risk paying the substantial costs of

reconsideration if he/she lost.29

We do not decide whether the imposition of costs on

reconsideration without notice violated the dictates of due

process. As the Act has been amended, reconsideration

review no longer exists, these fees are no longer imposed,

and thus, this is not a continuing problem. Further, given

the undeveloped record, we cannot determine whether any

of the Plaintiffs, in fact, paid these fees. Accordingly, we

remand to the district court to determine whether any of

the Plaintiffs paid the costs of reconsideration, what those

costs were, and to re-examine the possible constitutional

difficulties that the imposition of reconsideration fees poses.

_________________________________________________________________

29. The costs of reconsideration review varies. The typical charge is

several hundred dollars. See Am. Compl. P 77.

39

VII.

At this juncture, we raise an Eleventh Amendment

sovereign immunity issue sua sponte as it is relevant to our

jurisdiction over the Commonwealth Defendants. See V-1

Oil Co. v. Utah State Dep't of Pub. Safety, 131 F.3d 1415,

1419 (10th Cir. 1997) (raising Eleventh Amendment

sovereign immunity sua sponte); Suarez Corp. Indus. v.

McGraw, 125 F.3d 222, 227 (4th Cir. 1997) ("We believe

that, because of its jurisdictional nature, a court ought to

consider the issue of Eleventh Amendment immunity at any

time, even sua sponte."); Atlantic Healthcare Benefits Trust

v. Goggins, 2 F.3d 1, 4 (2d Cir. 1993) (raising Eleventh

Amendment issue sua sponte); Charley's Taxi Radio

Dispatch Corp. v. Sida of Hawaii, Inc., 810 F.2d 869, 873

n.2 (9th Cir. 1987) (same); but see Bouchard Transp. Co. v.

Florida Dep't of Envtl. Protection, 91 F.3d 1445, 1448 (11th

Cir. 1996) (stating that the "Eleventh Amendment is not

jurisdictional in the sense that courts must address the

issue sua sponte").

The Eleventh Amendment30 confers sovereign immunity

upon the States such that they cannot be subject to suit in

district court absent either Congressional intent to abrogate

that immunity enacted pursuant to a valid exercise of

power, see Seminole Tribe v. Florida, #6D 6D6D# U.S. ___, 116 S. Ct.

1114, 1123 (1996), or a State's explicit consent. See Port

Auth. Trans-Hudson Corp. v. Feeney, 495 U.S. 299, 304

(1990). The Eleventh Amendment, however, does not

immunize State officials for actions taken in their individual

capacities. See Scheur v. Rhodes, 416 U.S. 232, 237-38

(1974).

The amended complaint does not make clear whether the

Plaintiffs have brought suit against the Commonwealth

Defendants in their official or individual capacities, or both.

_________________________________________________________________

30. The Eleventh Amendment provides:

The Judicial power of the United States shall not be construed to

extend to any suit in law or equity, commenced or prosecuted

against one of United States by Citizens of another State, or by

Citizens or Subjects of any Foreign State.

U.S. Const. amend. XI.

40

We leave this for the district court to decide. If the district

court determines that the Commonwealth Defendants have

only been sued in their official capacities, the district court

-- in its discretion -- may allow the Plaintiffs to amend

their complaint to include those Defendants in their

individual capacities. In any event, the district court will be

obliged to address whether redress can be sought against

the Commonwealth Defendants in federal court under

Eleventh Amendment proscriptions.

VIII.

In conclusion, we hold that the supersedeas provisions of

77 Pa. Const. Stat. Ann. S 531(5) and (6), are

unconstitutional in that they violate an employee's

procedural due process rights by failing to provide adequate

notice that his/her medical benefits may be suspended

upon the invocation of utilization review and by not

granting the employee an opportunity to respond in writing

before that termination takes effect. We also hold that the

private insurance companies are state actors and thus may

be joined in a S 1983 action when they elect to invoke the

supersedeas provisions to terminate or suspend an

employee's constitutionally protected interests in receiving

medical benefits.

Thus, we will reverse the order of the district court

dismissing Sullivan's complaint and will remand to the

district court for further proceedings in accordance with

this opinion. On remand, among other issues, the district

court should address the issue of reconsideration fees, the

question of certifying a class, and for the first time, it

should consider whether it has subject matter jurisdiction

over the Commonwealth Defendants in light of Eleventh

Amendment sovereign immunity.

A True Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit

41

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.