Opinion

McGurl v. Trucking Employees of North Jersey Welfare Fund, Inc.

  • 124 F.3d 471
  • 21 Employee Benefits Cas. (BNA) 1598
  • 1997 U.S. App. LEXIS 22370
  • 1997 WL 522857
Court
Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit
Filed
Aug 22, 1997
Author
Sloviter
On the bench
Sloviter, Stapleton, Aldisert
Cited by
2 cases
Authority
More cited than 69.5%

The opinion

Opinions of the United

1997 Decisions States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit

8-22-1997

McGurl v. Trkng Empl N Jersey

Precedential or Non-Precedential:

Docket 96-5330,96-5348

Follow this and additional works at: http://digitalcommons.law.villanova.edu/thirdcircuit_1997

Recommended Citation

"McGurl v. Trkng Empl N Jersey" (1997). 1997 Decisions. Paper 203.

http://digitalcommons.law.villanova.edu/thirdcircuit_1997/203

This decision is brought to you for free and open access by the Opinions of the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit at Villanova

University School of Law Digital Repository. It has been accepted for inclusion in 1997 Decisions by an authorized administrator of Villanova

University School of Law Digital Repository. For more information, please contact Benjamin.Carlson@law.villanova.edu.

iled August 22, 1997

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

Nos. 96-5330 & 96-5348

MAUREEN McGURL; DEWEY CANNELLA; RICHARD E.

McFEELEY; ROBERT B. DAVIDSON; JOSEPH RIZZO;

HARVEY WHILLE; MICHAEL KINSORA; LOUIS

MARCUCCI, AS TRUSTEES OF THE UFCW LOCAL 1262

AND EMPLOYERS WELFARE FUND;

JOSEPH RIZZO; HARVEY WHILLE; MICHAEL KINSORA;

GILBERT C. VUOLO; JOHN POLDING; ROBERT F. ENNIS,

AS TRUSTEES OF THE UFCW LOCAL 1262 AND

EMPLOYERS HEALTH AND WELFARE FUND,

Appellants in No. 96-5330

v.

*TRUCKING EMPLOYEES OF NORTH JERSEY WELFARE

FUND, INC.,

Appellant in No. 96-5348

*(Amended as per the Clerk's 6/28/96 Order)

On Appeal from the United States District Court

for the District of New Jersey

(D.C. No. 94-cv-05176)

Argued March 25, 1997

Before: SLOVITER, Chief Judge, STAPLETON and

ALDISERT, Circuit Judges

(Opinion Filed August 22, 1997)

Myron D. Rumeld (Argued)

Deidre A. Grossman

Proskauer, Rose, Goetz &

Mendelsohn

New York, N.Y. 10036

Attorneys for Appellants/Cross-

Appellees

Herbert New (Argued)

David W. New

New & New

Clifton, N.J. 07013

Attorneys for Appellee/Cross-

Appellant

Kenneth I. Nowak

Andrew F. Zazzali

Zazzali, Zazzali, Fagella & Nowak

Newark, N.J. 07102

Attorneys for Amici

Board of Trustees of Local Union

No. 863 IBT Welfare Fund; Board

of Trustees of Laborers Locals

472/172 of N.J. Welfare Fund

OPINION OF THE COURT

SLOVITER, Chief Judge.

In this case raising a question of first impression in the

federal courts, we are faced with an apparent conflict

between "other insurance" provisions in two self-funded

ERISA plans, each of which purports to provide at most

secondary coverage to the same claimants.

To resolve the conflict, the district court crafted a federal

common law order of benefits determination rule that

would impose primary liability on the fund whose

participants are the employers of the claimants, in this case

the Appellants. Appellants argue that the district court

2

erred by concluding that the two plans are not reconcilable

on their terms, that the court should have adopted New

Jersey state law as the appropriate rule of decision for

resolving any apparent conflict between the plans, and that

the federal common law rule settled upon is a poor choice.

I.

BACKGROUND

A.

The Parties and Their Plans

Appellants are the trustees of two self-funded welfare

benefit plans of the United Food and Commercial Workers

Local 1262 and Employers Welfare Fund and the U.F.C.W.

Local 1262 and Employers Health and Welfare Fund

(collectively "Local 1262 Funds"), which cover employees of

several contributing employers in the supermarket

industry. Appellee Teamsters Local 560 Trucking

Employees of North Jersey Welfare Fund (the "TENJ Fund")

is also a self-funded welfare benefit plan that covers

employees of participating supermarkets. The respective

plans contain "other insurance" clauses, more particularly

referred to as "coordination of benefits" clauses in the

group health insurance industry, that set forth

circumstances under which the plans will assume primary

coverage liability for a claimant who is also covered by

another plan.

Group health care insurance plans have increasingly

included coordination of benefits clauses because the

enlarged number of two-employee families has increased

the possibility that a claimant could be covered under more

than one plan. By conditioning coverage on specified

circumstances, the clauses seek to limit their costs and

prevent a claimant from acquiring coverage from multiple

plans in excess of the claimant's covered medical expenses.

See Jack B. Helitzer, Coordination of Benefits: How and

Why it Works, 4 Benefits L. J. 411, 412 (1991).

3

This dispute concerns the obligation of the plans to

certain part-time supermarket employees who are covered

under both plans. The Local 1262 Funds describe their

coverage obligations to part-time employees under the

heading, "Coordination of Benefits":

If a Part-time Member who is a Covered Member . . . is

also covered under one or more Other Plans, the

Benefits payable under this Plan will be coordinated

with Benefits payable under all Other Plans. When

there is a basis for a claim under this Plan and the

Other Plan, this Plan is a Reimbursement Plan which

has its Benefits determined after those of such Other

Plan.

As this is a Reimbursement Plan for Part-time

Members who are Covered Members . . . payments will

be made after all other sources of coverage have been

exhausted.

App. at 89.

The Local 1262 Funds' Summary Plan Description also

states with respect to coverage for part-time employees:

[T]his Plan is always a reimbursement plan; if you

are covered under another medical plan, this Plan will

only take effect when the limits of your other Plan have

been exceeded. This means that, you can receive

benefits from this Plan (in the form of reimbursement

payments) only after the other plan pays benefits to the

full extent of the terms of that Plan.

App. at 143 (emphasis in original). Thus, the Local 1262

Funds attempt to defer any medical payments for their

part-time employees until after the employee has exhausted

all other possible sources of coverage, and the Funds refer

to this proviso alternatively as a "reimbursement clause,"

an "excess clause," or an "always secondary clause."

The TENJ Fund, in an effort to avoid always being left

with a claimant's bill, has a coordination of benefits

provision that disclaims liability altogether for employees

who are participants in a plan such as that of the Local

1262 Funds. The TENJ Fund plan provides:

4

In determining whether this plan is primary for a

spouse [or dependent] the following will apply:

"The Plan covering the patient as an employee or in

which the employee is a participant . . . will be the

primary plan. If the primary plan denies coverage

because of the application of a Rule which is unique to

that Plan and which is not a rule of this Fund, then

this Fund will provide only that coverage which it

would have provided if the primary plan had granted

primary coverage.

This Fund does not afford coverage to a participant's

dependent who herself/himself is a participant in a

Reimbursement or similar plan that affords coverage

only if there is no other health/welfare coverage."

App. at 217 (emphasis in original).

In an effort to further clarify the limits of its coverage, the

TENJ Fund describes the following hypothetical:

Mr. ABC is a participant under our Welfare Fund. His

spouse works for the XYZ company. Under normal

coordination of benefits, Mrs. ABC's medical claims are

submitted to her company first. After they pay the

claim, in accordance with their Plan, she submits the

claim with a copy of the explanation of benefits from

her Plan to our Fund showing the amount paid. Our

Fund then pays our portion of the claim under the

coordination of benefits rule as the secondary payor

and pays the difference up to the Fund's allowable

amount. However, if Mrs. ABC's XYZ Plan rejects her

claim because XYZ says its Plan is a Reimbursement

Plan and will not pay claims if there is any other

coverage, such as her being covered as a dependent

under her husband's plan, then our Fund will not pay

any portion of Mrs. ABC's claim.

Id. (emphasis added).

In May 1993, Susan Armstrong, a part-time employee of

Shop-Rite Supermarkets, a contributing employer to the

Local 1262 Funds, submitted medical expense claims to the

Local 1262 Funds in an aggregate amount of $243,993.

Because Armstrong's father was a participant in the TENJ

5

Fund, she would ordinarily have also been eligible for

secondary coverage as a dependent under the TENJ Fund

plan. The Local 1262 Funds denied primary liability for

Armstrong's claims on the ground that it was a

reimbursement or excess plan only, and instead notified the

TENJ Fund that it was primarily liable for paying

Armstrong's expenses. In the following months, the Local

1262 Funds received similar claims from Karen Iler, Esther

Owens, and Patricia Kelly, all of whom were also part-time

employees of contributing employers to the Local 1262

Funds as well as dependents of participants of the TENJ

Fund. The Local 1262 Funds similarly denied these claims

and sent notification that the TENJ Fund bore primary

responsibility.

In response, the TENJ Fund likewise denied primary

coverage liability for the four part-time employees' claims. It

took the position that, because the Local 1262 Funds

provided only a reimbursement plan for the part-time

employees, it was relieved from any liability by the express

terms of the TENJ Fund. In a letter dated June 4, 1993, the

TENJ Fund informed the Local 1262 Funds that "Since

TENJ does not cover Susan Armstrong, your fund provides

sole coverage." App. at 154.

In order to avoid undue hardship to the claimants

throughout the period of time in which the two funds

debated their respective liabilities, the Local 1262 Funds

paid the claimants' benefits, without prejudice to their right

to proceed against and seek reimbursement from the TENJ

Fund. The TENJ Fund agreed to pay secondarily for the

time being, but also "without prejudice to the rights of

either party." App. at 413.

B.

District Court Proceedings

On October 26, 1994, the Local 1262 Funds filed an

action in the district court in New Jersey seeking a

declaration that the TENJ Fund was primarily liable on the

contested claims and an order directing the TENJ Fund to

reimburse them for money paid to claimants in their

6

assumed role as the primary provider. The Local 1262

Funds argued that the provision of the TENJ Fund plan

which disclaims liability entirely if a beneficiary is covered

by an alternate reimbursement plan was an invalid "escape

clause." They then contended that once the escape clause

is read out of the TENJ Fund plan, the remaining terms of

both plans assign primary liability to the TENJ Fund plan.

In response, the TENJ Fund argued that its plan did not

contain an escape clause and that, regardless, the Local

1262 Funds plan was primarily responsible for the claims

at issue according to its own coordination of benefits

provision because the claimants are employees of

participants of that plan.

In a thoughtful opinion, the district court granted the

TENJ Fund's motion for summary judgment. See McGurl v.

Teamsters Local 560 Trucking Employees of New Jersey

Welfare Fund, 925 F. Supp. 280 (D.N.J. 1996). The court

agreed that the provision of the TENJ Fund purporting to

deny any liability if a beneficiary is separately covered by a

reimbursement plan is an escape clause and thus

unenforceable. Id. at 286. The court then concluded that

the TENJ Fund's remaining coordination of benefits

provision and the excess clause in the Local 1262 Funds

plan were "mutually repugnant" because both attempted to

deny primary coverage to these claimants, and would

provide secondary coverage only if the other accepted

primary liability. Id. at 289. In rejecting the Local 1262

Funds' suggestion that the remainder of the plans were still

reconcilable in favor of the Local 1262 Funds, the court

declined to apply the decision in Starks v. Hospital Serv.

Plan of N.J., Inc., 182 N.J. Super. 342, 350 (1981), aff'd, 91

N.J. 433 (1982), which held that an excess clause was

secondary to an ordinary other insurance provision in an

insurance contract. See McGurl, 925 F. Supp. at 288.

The district court in this case found the two plans at

issue to be irreconcilable and chose to create a uniform

federal common law rule in order to resolve the issue of

how to prioritize the payment of benefits between two self-

funded ERISA plans which have mutually repugnant

coordination of benefits provisions. Id. at 243. The court

adopted an "employer first" rule, recommended by the

7

Model Regulations of the National Association of Insurance

Commissioners ("NAIC"), which would impose primary

liability for coverage on the plan which covers claimants as

employees rather than as dependents. Id. The court also

rejected the Local 1262 Funds' suggestion that the better

federal common law rule would be to apportion liability on

a pro-rata basis, reasoning that such a rule would provide

an undesirable incentive for ERISA-regulated plans to

include excess provisions. Id. at 292.

The Local 1262 Funds appeal from the district court's

order, and the TENJ Fund, although successful, cross-

appeals to preserve its argument that the district court

erred in determining that its plan contains an

unenforceable escape clause.

II.

JURISDICTION AND STANDARD OF REVIEW

Both the Local 1262 Funds and the TENJ Fund are self-

funded employee benefit plans, meaning that they do not

purchase insurance policies in order to satisfy their

obligations to pay for medical and disability benefits of their

participants and they are, therefore, covered by the federal

Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974

("ERISA"), 29 U.S.C. §§ 1001-1461, § 1002(1). ERISA

provides comprehensive regulation of employee benefit

plans, §§ 1021-1031, §§ 1101-1114, and broadly preempts

state laws that "relate to" such plans, § 1144(a). However,

ERISA does not regulate the substantive terms of plans, see

Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 463 U.S. 85, 91 (1983), and

makes no express mention about how to resolve conflicts

between coordination of benefits clauses.

The district court had jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 1331 because the case involved a dispute over the

disbursement of payments under ERISA. See Northeast

Dep't ILGWU Health and Welfare Fund v. Teamsters Local

Union No. 229 Welfare Fund, 764 F.2d 147, 159, 166 (3d

Cir. 1985). We have jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 1291 and exercise plenary review over the district court's

8

grant of summary judgment. United States v. Capital Blue

Cross, 992 F.2d 1270, 1271-72 (3d Cir. 1993).

III.

THE TENJ FUND'S ESCAPE CLAUSE

We begin with approval of the district court's

construction of the coordination of benefits provision in the

TENJ Fund plan. Under that provision, "[t]he Plan covering

the patient as employee . . . will be the primary plan," but

if that dependent is an employee of a plan that attempts to

provide only reimbursement coverage, the TENJ Fund will

not provide any coverage to the dependant at all. App. at

217 ("This Fund does not afford coverage to a participant's

dependent who herself/himself is a participant in a

Reimbursement or similar plan that affords coverage only if

there is no other health/welfare coverage.")

This latter provision is indeed an escape clause, which,

as we have previously explained, is one which "provides for

an outright exception to coverage if the insured is covered

by another insurance policy." Northeast, 764 F.2d at 160.

In Northeast, we recognized that both a well-developed body

of state common law of insurance and the policies

underlying ERISA are hostile to the inclusion of escape

clauses in benefits plans because they undermine the

reasonable expectations of a beneficiary who may have his

or her coverage shifted to another insurer with less

favorable terms. Id. at 162-63. Such clauses are

particularly harsh because,

[A] plan with an escape clause does not provide

participants who receive less in benefits from the other

plan with the opportunity to return to the first plan for

the difference. As a result, a participant of a plan with

an escape clause, who thinks that he is covered by that

plan and who expects to recover medical expenses in

accordance with the terms of that plan, automatically

loses this coverage in the presence of another

insurance plan, even if the benefits he is entitled to

receive under the other plan are much less favorable

than those of his own.

9

Id. at 163. We concluded that a decision by a plan's

fiduciary to include an escape clause is "arbitrary and

capricious" and thus unenforceable under ERISA's

regulatory scheme. Id.

As written, under the TENJ Fund plan, a dependent-

beneficiary of the TENJ Fund, who is also an employee

beneficiary of the Local 1262 Funds, and who would

anticipate receiving secondary benefits from the TENJ

Fund, will get nothing because the Local 1262 Funds are

excess only. According to the analysis in Northeast,

therefore, this provision in the TENJ Fund plan is an

unenforceable escape clause.

The TENJ Fund nevertheless argues that "in practice" it

has not followed the categorical exclusions of the purported

escape clause, but has treated it as a secondary liability

provision once a competing plan abandons its

reimbursement provision and assumes primary

responsibility. That argument is unpersuasive. First, it is

clear from the record that the TENJ Fund has expressed its

right to categorically deny any payment obligations based

on its escape clause, as it did in its June 4, 1993 letter to

the Local 1262 Funds' manager. App. at 154. That the

TENJ Fund did, in fact, pay secondarily in this case was

merely a litigation convenience undertaken expressly

"without prejudice to the rights of either party," app. at 413;

it was not done as a modification or amendment of the

language of its plan.

Second, interpretation of self-funded plans cannot

depend on the unilateral understanding or ad hoc

application by the plan, lest the comprehensibility,

predictability, and assurance that ERISA intends to provide

be lost. See, e.g., Coleman v. Nationwide Life Ins. Co., 969

F.2d 54, 56 (4th Cir. 1992), cert. denied, 506 U.S. 108

(1993). Finally, when we were presented with a similar

categorical/as-applied distinction in Northeast, we expressly

chose a remedy of "total invalidation of escape clauses" and

"put the onus on trustees of plans with escape clauses to

rewrite the plans." 764 F.2d at 164 n.17. Thus, only by

express revision can the TENJ Fund transform the escape

clause into a secondary liability clause, should it so choose.

10

IV.

CONFLICT BETWEEN THE TERMS OF THE PLANS

Once the district court found the TENJ Fund plan's

escape clause unenforceable, it proceeded to examine

whether, if the escape clause were read out of the TENJ

Fund plan, the two plans were reconcilable or, in other

words, if the plans themselves could still provide a coherent

order of benefits scheme. The TENJ Fund plan, as redacted,

would read: "The Plan covering the patient as an employee

or in which the employee is a participant . . . will be the

primary plan," and thus would deny primary coverage if a

claimant is an employee of a participant in another plan.

The Local 1262 Funds plan denies primary coverage to

their participants' part-time employees when those

employees are in any way covered by another plan. The

district court held the plans to be "mutually repugnant"

because "[b]oth deny primary coverage and are willing to

provide benefits in a secondary capacity only after the other

accepts the responsibility of primary coverage." McGurl, 925

F. Supp. at 287.

The Local 1262 Funds urged the district court to apply

the analysis of Starks, 182 N.J. Super. 342 (1981). In

Starks, individual claimants were employee-beneficiaries of

the Amalgamated Welfare Fund and were also covered by

Blue Cross/Blue Shield, an insurer, as dependents of

beneficiaries. The Amalgamated Fund plan was similar to

that of the Local 1262 Funds in that it would only provide

reimbursement or "always excess" benefits after a claimant

exhausted coverage from another plan. The Blue Cross/

Blue Shield plan contained a coordination of benefits

provision under which it would be secondary to a plan that

covered one of its member's dependents as a direct

beneficiary. Id. The Starks court held that Blue Cross/Blue

Shield was primarily liable, reasoning that the Blue Cross/

Blue Shield plan contemplated being primarily liable in

some instances, i.e., where the claimant is an employee,

but the Amalgamated Fund plan never contemplated being

primarily liable vis-a-vis another plan. Therefore, the two

plans could be ranked hierarchically. Id. at 350.

11

The Starks court concluded that the Amalgamated Fund's

trustees contemplated a "tertiary" role when competing

against any other secondary coverage provider, and stated

that "[w]here the two coverages are not, however, primary

and secondary but rather secondary and tertiary, there

being no primary coverage in the usual sense, the only

rational result is to require the secondary coverage to pay

first and the tertiary to pay second." Id. at 353-54. Despite

the rather complex reasoning, the essence of Starks'

ultimate holding was that the plans at issue "d[id] not

support the predicate of mutual repugnancy." Id. at 353.

The district court declined to follow Starks based on its

authority derived from ERISA's broadly worded preemption

provision to categorically ignore state rules of decision that

relate to the regulation of self-funded plans. See PM Group

Life Ins. Co. v. Western Growers Assurance Trust, 953 F.2d

543, 546 (9th Cir. 1992). In so ruling, the court also

expressed its disagreement with the logic applied by the

Starks court.

The Local 1262 Funds argue that we should construe the

two plans as the Starks court did, and interpret their plan

as secondary to the TENJ Fund plan's coordination of

benefits provision on the ground that the TENJ Fund plan

(like the Blue Cross/Blue Shield plan) recognizes certain

situations in which it could be primarily liable, whereas the

Local 1262 Funds plan is always secondary. We do not

agree.

First, it is not helpful to speak in terms of secondary and

tertiary, and indeed it is somewhat misleading. The Starks

court ranked the plans in this manner to emphasize that

neither of the plans before it accepted primary liability and

it was thus forced to rank the payment obligations of a plan

that it construed as providing some coverage, albeit

secondary, and a plan that was always excess, which it

denominated as "tertiary". However denominated, the task

required in this case is to determine which Fund's plan is

primary. It would be arbitrary to adopt the Local 1262

Funds' suggestion that because the TENJ Fund concedes

primary liability in the situation of another plan's

beneficiary but who is an employee of its participant, it

must always be primary vis-a-vis Local 1262 Funds' always

12

excess clause. In fact, the TENJ Fund plan flatly denies

primary coverage when presented with a claim of a

dependant-beneficiary such as Susan Armstrong's. The

mere fact that in other circumstances the TENJ Fund

would be primary does not obviate the inescapable fact that

it is not primary in the circumstances here. However the

Starks court chose to interpret the language of the Blue

Cross/Blue Shield plan before it, we cannot fairly ignore

the certain, evident conflict from the faces of the two plans.

Second, there would be substantial and adverse fiscal

consequences were a court to impose primary coverage on

a plan, such as that of the TENJ Fund, which intended to

provide the nominal, secondary coverage for this group of

claimants merely because the plan provides primary

coverage for certain other claimants. As the district court

recognized, "a court cannot deem one plan primary without

shifting unanticipated costs to that plan and frustrating the

intent of its trustees." McGurl, 925 F.Supp. at 289.

The Local 1262 Funds argue that the district court erred

in failing to follow what they claim is the majority view that

entitles a plan that describes itself as a pure excess plan to

pay secondarily because its coverage is not implicated until

another policy's limits have been exhausted. See Insurance

Co. of N. America v. Continental Cas. Co., 575 F.2d 1070,

1071 (3d Cir. 1978) ("[s]ince [an excess clause] does not

provide that supplemental protection until the other policy

has been exhausted, it is `excess' to the other coverage");

Institute for Shipboard Educ. v. CIGNA Worldwide Ins. Co.,

22 F.3d 414, 419 (2d Cir. 1994) (excess plan " `kicks in' to

provide additional coverage once the policy limits of other

available insurance are exhausted"). They argue based on

these cases that their excess clause exempts their plan

from any coordination of benefits with other plans, so that

their coverage will "kick in" only after any other plan's

coverage is depleted.

As the TENJ Fund points out, the concept of "excess

insurance" typically applies to casualty insurance policies

which cover a single party for a single risk. See, e.g., Couch

on Insurance 2d §§ 62.48-49. The cases cited by the Local

1262 Funds fall within that category. These "pure" excess

policies, which are also commonly referred to as "umbrella"

13

policies, are contingent on the existence of another, primary

policy, and are intended to provide a separate, additional

layer of coverage, never primary coverage. An insured will

purchase this separate layer typically at a discounted price

because it "will pick up where primary coverages end in

order to provide extended protection." Occidental Fire and

Cas. Co. of North Carolina v. Brocious, 772 F.2d 47, 53 (3d

Cir. 1985). Since such layered policies are "not an attempt

by a primary insurer to limit a portion of its risk by

labelling it `excess' nor a device to escape responsibility,

they are regarded as a `true excess over and above any type

of primary coverage, excess provisions arising in regular

policies in any manner, or escape clauses.' " Id. (quoting 8A

J. Appleman, Insurance Law and Practice § 4909.85 at

453-54 (1981)). Rates for excess insurance are set"after

giving due consideration to known existing and underlying

basic or primary policies". 46 C.J.S. Insurance Law § 1138.

Such policies are categorically separate and do not attempt

to coordinate with other policies.

The TENJ Fund argues that pure excess coverage as

applied in casualty insurance cannot apply to group health

plans covering numerous persons where duplicate,

overlapping coverage is often likely.1 Coordination of

benefits rules have evolved to cover these circumstances

and are routinely followed.

We need not resolve the parties' disagreement as to

whether it is theoretically possible or desirable to have pure

excess coverage in the group health care context. The

relevant portions of both plans' terms are in fact

coordination of benefits clauses because both represent a

method for determining how and when two plans may be

responsible for covering a common beneficiary. In this case,

where the claimants are dependent-beneficiaries of the

TENJ Fund plan and part-time employee-participants in the

_________________________________________________________________

1. One, if not the only, example of a pure excess policy in the health care

context referred to by either party is a Medigap policy, a privately issued

health insurance contract which supplements Medicare by covering

expenses not covered by the federal government, such as deductibles or

coinsurance amounts. See 42 U.S.C. § 1395ss(g)(1) (1992); United States

v. Capital Blue Cross, 992 F.2d 1270 (3d Cir. 1993).

14

Local 1262 Funds plan, each of the plans views itself as

"excess" or "secondary" and each looks to the other as

primary. Thus, both plans attempt to coordinate benefits

with potentially competing plans.

The very terms of the Local 1262 Funds plan manifest an

intent to coordinate benefits with other competing welfare

plans. Under the heading "Coordination of Benefits," the

Local 1262 Funds plan states that: "If a Part-time Member

who is a Covered Member . . . is also covered under one or

more Other Plans, the Benefits payable under this Plan will

be coordinated with Benefits payable under all Other Plans."

App. at 89 (emphasis added).

Moreover, unlike the prototypical pure excess or umbrella

policy, the Local 1262 Funds plan itself contemplates

assuming primary liability in instances where there is no

other coverage available, and thus no other plan with which

to coordinate benefits. The plan's Summary Plan

Description states:

This Plan has a coordination of benefits provision for

both Full-time and Part-time members. In most

instances, this means that if your covered dependents

are covered primarily under another medical plan, they

can also receive benefits . . . from this Plan, up to the

amount this Plan would have paid as your primary

plan, but only after they receive reimbursement from

the other Plan. . . . The benefits you receive from this

Plan cannot exceed the amount this Plan would have

paid if it was your primary plan.

App. at 142-43 (emphasis added).

Thus, we agree with the TENJ Fund that the Local 1262

Funds plan's "so called `always excess' provision is no more

than a subtle attempt to impose coordination of benefits

using a biased order of benefits determination rule." Brief of

Appellee at 27. In sum, the disputed reimbursement

provision in the Local 1262 Funds plan is essentially a

coordination of benefits provision, and, therefore, does not

have a categorically secondary status to every plan with

which it comes in conflict. In this case, the coordination of

benefits provisions are "mutually repugnant," forcing the

15

court to look outside the plans to resolve the apparent

conflict.

V.

ESTABLISHMENT OF ORDER OF BENEFITS

DETERMINATION RULE

A.

Federal Common Law

Because the plain terms of the individual plans would

not resolve the conflict, the district court exercised its

authority to devise federal common law, and settled on the

"employer first" rule suggested by the National Association

of Insurance Carriers ("NAIC"). See McGurl, 925 F. Supp. at

293. Before examining the merits of the district court's

selection, we consider the Local 1262 Funds' objections to

the courts' federal common law-making authority to impose

a rule of decision independent of state law.

Federal common law refers to the development of legally

binding federal rules articulated by a federal court which

cannot be easily found on the face of a constitutional or

statutory provision. See Larry Kramer, The Lawmaking

Power of the Federal Courts, 12 Pace L. Rev. 263, 267

(1992); see also Thomas W. Merrill, The Common Law

Powers of Federal Courts, 52 U. Chi. L. Rev. 1, 5 (1985)

(" `Federal common law' . . . means any federal rule of

decision that is not mandated on the face of some

authoritative federal text -- whether or not that rule can be

described as the product of `interpretation' in either a

conventional or unconventional sense."). Notwithstanding

the decision in Erie Railroad Co. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64

(1938), which curtailed development of general federal

common law, the power of federal courts to craft federal

rules of decision is established in cases in which a federal

common law rule is "necessary to protect uniquely federal

interests," Banco Nacional de Cuba v. Sabbatino, 376 U.S.

398, 426 (1964), such as federal proprietary interests,

16

federal interests in international law and to resolve conflicts

among the states, or where "Congress has given the courts

the power to develop substantive law," Texas Indus., Inc. v.

Radcliff Materials, Inc., 451 U.S. 630, 640 (1981).

The Court has recognized that while at times state law

would be appropriate, "[t]he desirability of a uniform rule is

plain" where "identical transactions subject to the vagaries

of the laws of the several states" would lead to great

diversity in results. Clearfield Trust Co. v. United States,

318 U.S. 363, 367 (1943). This would be true not only

when the issue involves the rights and duties of the United

States, as it did in Clearfield Trust, but also when a federal

statute encompasses a broad mandate that requires

uniform rules to effectuate the congressional purpose. See,

e.g., Textile Workers Union of America v. Lincoln Mills of

Alabama, 353 U.S. 448, 456-57 (1957) (upholding federal

jurisdiction for labor-management disputes because of

congressional authorization to develop federal common law

pursuant to the LMRA); National Soc'y of Prof'l Eng'rs v.

United States, 435 U.S. 679, 688 (1978) (in enacting

Sherman Antitrust Act, Congress made "perfectly clear that

it expected the courts to give shape to the statute's broad

mandate by drawing on common-law tradition").

Justice Jackson, in his famous concurrence in D'Oench,

Duhme & Co., Inc. v. FDIC, 315 U.S. 447, 470 (1942), noted

that the need to make common law stems from the inability

of legislators to anticipate every possible contingency and

the impracticability of judges returning all unanswered

questions to the legislature. He stated, "Were we bereft of

the common law, our federal system would be impotent.

This follows from the recognized futility of attempting all-

complete statutory codes, and is apparent from the terms of

the Constitution itself." Id. Justice Jackson explained

further that, "Federal common law implements the federal

Constitution and statutes, and is conditioned by them.

Within these limits, federal courts are free to apply the

traditional common-law technique of decision and to draw

upon all the sources of the common law." Id. at 472 (citing

Board of Comm'rs v. United States, 308 U.S. 343, 350

(1939)).

17

Relevant to the determination whether to adopt a federal

rule in this case is the scope of the ERISA preemption

provision which states that the provisions of ERISA "shall

supersede any and all State laws insofar as they may now

or hereafter relate to any employee benefit plan."2 29 U.S.C.

§ 1144(a). That provision, "conspicuous for its breadth,"

FMC Corp. v. Holliday, 498 U.S. 52, 58 (1990), was drafted

expansively in order to establish pension and welfare

benefits "as exclusively a federal concern," Alessi v.

Raybestos-Manhattan, Inc., 451 U.S. 504, 523 (1981), and

to relieve plans of the burden of adhering to diverse state

regulations.

Thus, by preempting any law that even relates to ERISA

plans Congress anticipated the development of a "federal

common law of rights and obligations under ERISA-

regulated plans." Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 481 U.S. 41,

56 (1987). As one court aptly stated, "[w]here state law is

preempted and no specific federal provision governs, a

court is forced to make law or leave a void where neither

state nor federal law applies. In such a situation it is a

reasonable inference that Congress intended some law, and

therefore federal law, to apply." Wayne Chemical Inc. v.

Columbia Agency Serv. Corp., 436 F. Supp. 316, 322 (N.D.

Ill.) (internal quotations omitted), aff'd on other grounds,

567 F.2d 697 (7th Cir. 1977); see also Fox Valley & Vicinity

Constr. Workers Pension Fund v. Brown, 897 F.2d 275, 281

(7th Cir.) (en banc)("When ERISA is silent on an issue, a

federal court must fashion federal common law to govern

ERISA suits."), cert. denied, 471 U.S. 820 (1990).

Therefore, although a federal court has the discretion to

adopt state law as part of a federal rule of decision in order

to resolve ERISA-related disputes, see Clearfield Trust, 318

U.S. at 367, a federal court certainly has the power

_________________________________________________________________

2. The "savings clause," as set forth in 29 U.S.C. § 1144(b)(2)(A), exempts

from ERISA's preemption provision state laws regulating insurance,

except for those regulations covered by the "deemer clause." The deemer

clause, in turn, forbids states from deeming employee benefit plans "to

be an insurance company or other insurer . . . or to be engaged in the

business of insurance," and thereby relieves the plan from state laws

"purporting to regulate insurance." 29 U.S.C.§ 1144(b)(2)(B). See FMC

Corp., 498 U.S. at 58.

18

pursuant to ERISA to reject any state rules, particularly a

non-legislative rule such as that promulgated in Starks,

which do not complement ERISA's policy goals. As we

stated in Northeast, "judge-made rules regarding

interpretation of insurance contracts are not the kind of

state insurance regulations that the Congress intended to

preserve." 764 F.2d at 158 n.8.

The Local 1262 Funds argue that a uniform coordination

of benefits rule sacrifices an important pursuit of intrastate

uniformity for an overstated goal of interstate uniformity.

Specifically, they contend that because state law governs

coordination of benefits disputes for non-ERISA regulated

plans, the plans will face the risk of different outcomes

depending upon whether the competing plan is regulated

by ERISA or not. By way of example they cite the

unpublished opinion in Zalkin v. Teamsters Local 469

Welfare Fund, No. 92-477 (D.N.J. 1993), which held that

under New Jersey order of benefits determination rules the

Local 1262 Funds plan, which was an excess plan, would

not be primarily liable for an employee-participant of its

plan vis-a-vis a non-ERISA regulated plan.

ERISA's statutory mandate is to impose uniformity and

predictability for the administration of self-insured plans so

that beneficiaries can be guaranteed their expected benefits

and so that administrators are not subject to " `conflicting

or inconsistent State and local regulation of employee

benefit plans.' " Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 463 U.S. 85,

99 (1983) (quoting remarks of Senator Williams, 120 Cong.

Rec. 29933 (1974)); see also FMC Corp., 498 U.S. at 60;

Pilot Life, 481 U.S. at 56.

It is not difficult to foresee the complications and

"considerable inefficiencies" that would arise from having a

"patchwork scheme" of differing state coordination of

benefits rules. See Fort Halifax Packing Co., Inc. v. Coyne,

482 U.S. 1, 11 (1987); Keystone Chapter, Associated

Builders and Contractors, Inc. v. Foley, 37 F.3d 945, 954

(3d Cir. 1994), cert. denied, 514 U.S. 1032 (1995). See

generally Helitzer, Coordination of Benefits at 411-15. For

example, an ERISA-regulated plan may cover thousands of

participants, some of them residing in jurisdictions that

follow NAIC order of benefits determination rules and some

19

residing in jurisdictions that do not. That plan's obligation

to assume primary liability for a claimant would depend on

the fortuity of a claimant's place of residence and

application of that state's coordination of benefits law, a

consequence clearly disfavored by ERISA. See Alessi, 451

U.S. at 523-26 (ERISA preempts state statute that would

force employer to adopt different payment formulae for

employees inside and outside state). As stated by the Ninth

Circuit in PM Group, such indeterminacy and conflict

"would almost certainly lead to litigation, thereby burdening

the insured employees, the providers of covered services,

and the plans themselves as well as the federal courts.

Adoption of a uniform federal rule avoids such confusion

and expense, and thus best serves the purposes of ERISA."

953 F.2d at 547; see also FMC Corp., 498 U.S. at 59 ("To

require plan providers to design their programs in an

environment of differing state regulations would complicate

the administration of nationwide plans, producing

inefficiencies that employers might offset with decreased

benefits").

Contrary to the Local 1262 Funds' suggestion, there are

very few instances in which the federal common law is

concerned with promoting uniformity within a state. This is

not a situation analogous to those where the Court has

approved adoption of a state's law when the federal statute

incorporates a matter which is one primarily of state

concern. See De Sylva v. Ballentine, 351 U.S. 570, 580

(1956)(instructing federal courts to defer to state law for

meaning of terms like "children" and "widower" in the

relevant portions of the federal Copyright Act rather than

formulate a federal law of domestic relations);

Reconstruction Fin. Corp. v. Beaver County, 328 U.S. 204,

209-10 (1946) (definition of "real property" which Congress

authorized to be taxed should be defined by settled state

rules, because Congress obviously contemplated various

results among the states).

There is no evidence that state commercial or other

domestic interests would be upset by imposition of uniform

federal order of benefits determination rules. In fact, New

Jersey law regulating "other insurance" provisions is similar

to the NAIC Model Regulation in all major respects except

20

that it does not provide the complying plan with the right

to sue the noncomplying plan for subrogation. See N.J.

Admin. Code tit. 11, § 4-28.9. Nevertheless, because of

preemption the possibility that the Local 1262 Funds plan

will face a different rule, and thus disuniformity within the

state, when it conflicts with a non-ERISA insured plan, is

of little concern under ERISA. Cf. Keystone, 37 F.3d at 959

n. 19 ("While state regulations may affect the cost of doing

business in a state, they may not, consistent with ERISA,

place administrative burdens and costs on ERISA plans

that make it impractical for an employer to provide a

nationwide plan.").

We thus conclude that Congress envisioned

establishment by the federal courts of a uniform set of

federal rules rather than subjecting to diverse state laws

ERISA-regulated plans involving competing benefits

clauses. See PM Group, 953 F.2d at 547; Northeast, 764

F.2d at 158.

B.

Selection of the "Employer First" Rule

As we have stated, the district court exercised its

common law-making authority to select the "employer first"

rule advocated by NAIC as the method for determining

which competing ERISA plan should pay the claimed

benefits. In 1970, in order to deal with the increasing

problem of duplicate coverage, NAIC, an independent group

of state insurance regulatory commissioners, promulgated a

set of rules under the heading of Group Coordination of

Benefits Model Regulation ("Model Regulation"), based in

large part on rules that had been established and followed

by the group insurance industry in the previous decade.

See Helitzer, Coordination of Benefits, at 413-14. The Model

Regulation contains a recommended order of benefits

scheme covering potential conflicts among health benefit

plans or policies. NAIC recommendations do not have the

force of law, but many states have incorporated part or all

of particular recommendations into their insurance

statutes.

21

Jack Helitzer, who was the former chairman of the

Industry Advisory Committee to the NAIC Task Force on

Coordination of Benefits, attributes the widespread

acceptance of the recommended regulation to the

participants' need for absolute uniformity in this area. "The

validity of the [coordination of benefits] rules is established

not by law or regulation, but rather by the fact that there

will be chaos without uniform rules to determine the order

of benefit payment." Id. at 412.

The sequential system for determining the order of

payment by benefit plans in the comprehensive Model

Regulation provides, as relevant here, that the"benefits of

the plan which covers the person as an employee, member

or subscriber (that is, other than as a dependent) are

determined before those of the plan which covers the

person as a dependent." Model Regulation § 5B(1) (quoted

in Helitzer, Coordination of Benefits, at 414). As Helitzer

explains, "[t]he plan covering the person as an employee

pays benefits first. The plan covering the same person as a

dependent pays benefits second." Helitzer, Coordination of

Benefits, at 415.

The Model Regulation does not recognize excess or

always secondary plans or incorporate them into the order

of benefits scheme because such clauses "will doom at least

some of their employees to a double-secondary situation, in

which the individual has double coverage and neither plan

has the obligation to pay anything substantial.

Responsibility for the resulting problem lies with the

employer or plan that adopts a unique order of benefits

determination rule, and not with the one who follows

accepted practices." Id. at 421-22.

If the excess plan refuses to pay for primary coverage,

when it would be obligated to pay as primary under the

Model Regulation, the plan that would be secondary is

instructed to advance to the claimant the amount it would

have paid as primary and execute a right of subrogation

against the noncomplying plan. Model Regulation § 7(B).

The NAIC approach to conflicts involving always excess

coordination of benefits provisions has garnered widespread

acceptance among the states. Twenty-four states have

22

adopted the NAIC order of benefits determination rules in

full, providing a right to subrogation against noncomplying

plans. Jack B. Helitzer, State Developments in Employee

Benefits: State Adoption of Coordination of Benefits Rules,4

Benefits L. J. 435, 442-43 (1991). Fifteen states, including

New Jersey, have adopted the NAIC order of benefits

scheme but, unlike the other twenty-four states, they do

not incorporate the subrogation rule as a vehicle whereby

a complying plan can compel payment from a

noncomplying plan.3 Id. at 443.

In deciding to adopt the NAIC recommended "employer

first" rule, the district court explained that the NAIC rule

would provide a uniform coordination of benefits scheme

and thereby would best further the statutory objectives of

ERISA. McGurl, 925 F. Supp. at 293. The Local 1262 Funds

urge us to overturn that decision in favor of a pro-rata rule

pursuant to which the two plans would divide coverage on

an equal basis. They contend the pro-rata rule is more

equitable and is the rule applied in the majority of federal

and state courts. They cite our opinion in Northeast, where

we noted that other courts faced with incompatible other

insurance clauses have chosen the pro-rata formulation.

764 F.2d at 161 n. 13. In fact, the majority of states have

not adopted the pro-rata rule for health benefit plans, such

as those covered by ERISA. And in Northeast we did not

consider the merits of the pro-rata rule and thus the

statement on which the Local 1262 Funds rely was merely

dictum which is not binding upon our consideration here.

The two courts of appeals that have considered whether

to apply the pro-rata rule, albeit under somewhat different

circumstances than those presented here, have divided on

its merits. In Winstead v. Indiana Ins. Co., 855 F.2d 430,

_________________________________________________________________

3. See N.J. Admin. Code tit. 11, § 4-28.9(a)(1)(ii)(1995).

If the complying plan is the secondary plan, it shall attempt to

coordinate in the secondary position with benefits available through

the noncomplying plan. The complying plan shall attempt to secure

the necessary information from the noncomplying plan. If the

noncomplying plan is unwilling to act as primary plan . . .the

complying plan shall assume the primary position and pay its

benefits as the primary plan.

23

432 (7th Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 488 U.S. 1030 (1989), the

Seventh Circuit considered a conflict between the

coordination of benefits clauses in a claimant's ERISA-

regulated health and welfare fund and an applicable no-

fault automobile insurance policy regulated by Michigan

law. After finding the plan and the policy to be

irreconcilable, the court affirmed the district court's

decision to hold both insurers liable on a pro-rata basis,

citing our dictum in Northeast. Id. at 434.

More recently, in Auto Owners Ins. Co. v. Thorn Apple

Valley, Inc., 31 F.3d 371, 375 (6th Cir. 1994), cert. denied,

513 U.S. 1184 (1995), the Sixth Circuit rejected the

application of a pro-rata liability rule between an ERISA

plan and an insurance policy nearly identical to those

considered in Winstead. The court concluded that in light

of ERISA's broad preemption provision, the ERISA-

regulated plan's diversion of liability should be given

priority over the state plan's attempt to do the same. Id. at

374. The court reasoned that although the pro-rata rule

may be equitable in the context of two non-regulated,

private plans, the equal apportionment formula would not

"comply with a primary goal of ERISA, which is to

safeguard the financial integrity of qualified plans by

shielding them from unanticipated claims." Id. at 375.

Of course, neither case is apposite here because those

courts were not presented with conflicts in "other

insurance" clauses in which both plans are regulated by

ERISA. However, in rejecting the pro-rata rule, the court in

Auto Owners gave dispositive weight to the policy

considerations underlying ERISA, a principal consideration

in the district court's selection here.

In PM Group, 953 F.2d at 547-48, the Ninth Circuit,

faced with incompatible "other insurance" provisions in two

self-funded ERISA plans, relied in part on NAIC regulations

to create a uniform federal common law solution. In that

case, a husband and wife were each covered primarily by

their respective plans for hospital expenses related to the

premature birth of their daughter. The father's plan

provided that, in all cases, the father's plan would be the

primary insurer (the "gender rule") while the mother's plan

provided that the plan covering the parent whose birthday

24

fell earlier in the year -- in this case, the mother's -- was

the primary plan (the "birthday rule"). Id. at 548.

The court recognized that ERISA was silent on the issue

of conflicting "other insurance" provisions and decided that

it must craft a common law rule that would take account

of ERISA's stated goal of uniformity. Id. at 547 ("uniformity

enables employers `to predict the legality of proposed

actions without the necessity of reference to varying state

laws' " (quoting Pilot Life, 481 U.S. at 56)). The court then

looked for guidance to the NAIC Model Regulation, which

provided an order of benefits rule for such a scenario, and

adopted the "birthday rule" for resolving all such conflicts

in ERISA-regulated plans.4 Id.

The district court reasoned that adoption of a pro-rata

rule would have the effect of encouraging welfare plans to

adopt excess clauses in order to avoid the disadvantage,

vis-a-vis a plan with excess or always secondary

reimbursement provisions, of having to assume primary

liability if the claimant is an employee of a plan participant,

and 50% liability if the claimant were not an employee.

McGurl, 925 F. Supp. at 293. By contrast, the excess or

always secondary plans would never have to assume more

than 50% liability. An excess or always secondary plan will

invariably save money by reducing the plan sponsor's cost

of providing health care coverage to their employees.

The district court concluded that this incentive would

produce a "race to the bottom" in the context of

reimbursement provisions. Id.; see also Helitzer,

Coordination of Benefits, at 421 ("If any plan can be free to

set its own rules to determine the order of benefits, every

other similarly situated plan should also be free to do the

same. When other plans are affected by such a cost shift,

they would have to be encouraged to adopt similar, always-

secondary approaches causing large scale chaos"). In a

regime where all plans have always excess provisions but

no governing uniform coordination of benefits rule,

resolution of a particular conflict between two such plans

would depend on an ad hoc judicial determination. This

_________________________________________________________________

4. The competing "gender rule" had been dropped by most states and

NAIC as discriminatory.

25

would jeopardize the predictability and certainty for plan

sponsors and beneficiaries that was central to ERISA's

enactment. See Auto Owners, 31 F.3d at 375; Northeast,

764 F.2d at 163.

As we acknowledged in Northeast,

even a qualified endorsement of escape clauses might

encourage benefit plans with excess or coordination of

benefits clauses to replace such clauses with those of

the escape variety in order to "fight fire with fire." A

war between plans would cause uncertainty in the

industry and could potentially catch participants and

beneficiaries in the crossfire.

764 F.2d at 164 n.17. It is also of some interest that health

care insurance contracts subject to New Jersey regulation

are not permitted to include always secondary provisions.

N.J. Admin. Code tit. 11, § 4-28.5(b).

We are concerned that adoption of the pro-rata rule

which the Local 1262 Funds propose would present some

serious difficulties when two self-insured ERISA plans cover

a family member as an employee-participant and dependent

respectively. In the first place, it is unclear how the rule

would operate in practice. Although a pro-rata rule may

technically encompass proportional payment rather than

the 50-50 payment the Local 1262 Funds suggested here,

the Funds were unable to explain precisely how

proportional payment would be fixed. Benefit plans are

unlike casualty insurance, which is the field in which pro-

rata payments primarily operate. There has been no

satisfactory explanation of its feasibility in the medical

benefits field, where different plans have different

deductibles and coverages. Its operation under managed

care programs is also uncertain. Counsel conceded at oral

argument that calculation of the final benefit allocation

pursuant to a pro-rata formula, which counsel presumed

would be based on each plans' proportional primary liability

coverage, is considerably more complicated than under the

more traditional primary versus secondary scale. It may be

that it was these difficulties that led the vast majority of

states to adopt the NAIC recommended "employer-first"

rule.

26

The district court also noted that the "employer-first" rule

has been "incorporated into most self-insured employee

benefit plans," McGurl, 925 F. Supp. at 292, and, in fact,

the brief of the amici welfare funds confirms that their

plans include such a provision. See infra note 5.

Significantly, the Local 1262 Funds and the TENJ Fund

themselves have adopted the Model Regulation "employer

first" rule to govern employee/dependent conflicts with

regard to coverage for their full-time employees, and thus

the Local 1262 Funds only resist its applicability to their

part-time employees.

Moreover, the "employer first" rule validates the natural

disposition of an employee to look to his or her own

employer for health care benefits as a reward for his or her

own labor. Most important, the rule also allows employers

to predict with more accuracy the extent of their own

potential liability because it is easier to calculate the

number of a plan's own employee-participants for which it

is responsible than the uncertain but likely greater number

of those employees' dependents who will look to the plan for

their primary coverage.

The final objection by the Local 1262 Funds to the

imposition of an "employer first" order of benefits

determination rule is that the prospect of having to provide

primary coverage to part-time plan participants might force

them to discontinue providing welfare benefits altogether.

They argue that this would undermine ERISA's goal of not

deterring the creation of employee benefit plans. They cite

Hozier v. Midwest Fasteners, Inc., 908 F.2d 1155, 1160 (3d

Cir. 1990), where we stated that "[h]aving made a

fundamental decision not to require employers to provide

any benefit plans, Congress was forced to balance its desire

to regulate extant plans more extensively against the

danger that increased regulation would deter employers

from creating such plans."

It is true, as we explained in Nazay v. Miller, 949 F.2d

1323, 1329 (3d Cir. 1991), that "[i]n enacting ERISA,

Congress did not impose a duty on employers to provide

health care and other benefits to their employees. Rather,

the clear emphasis of the statute is to ensure the proper

execution of the plans once established." See also Hlinka v.

27

Bethlehem Steel Corp., 863 F.2d 279, 283 (3d Cir. 1988).

But it is merely speculation that if the Local 1262 Funds

are obliged to provide primary coverage for part-time

employees they will be unable to afford any coverage

whatsoever. Nor is there a sound reason for giving the

financial interests of the Local 1262 Funds priority over

those of the TENJ Fund, which naturally faces similar

concerns about managing the escalating health care costs

for part-time employees.5 Moreover, these plans have been

established by collective bargaining, and it is in that

process that inclusion, vel non, will be decided.

Thus, in weighing the interests served by ERISA against

the negative effects generated by a rule that favors"always

secondary" plans and thereby induces all plans to structure

their benefits similarly, to the ultimate detriment of

participants, we conclude that the balance is heavily in

favor of the "employer first" rule. Over the long-run, a

uniform "employer first" rule is actually more equitable

since, assuming a generally even distribution of employees

and dependents among various plans, plans such as those

at issue here will tend to be primary half of the time and

secondary half of the time. The "employer first" rule

advances the goals of preserving "the financial integrity of

qualified plans by shielding them from unanticipated

claims," Auto Owners, 31 F.2d at 375, and preventing

participants from being "deprived of compensation that they

reasonably anticipate under the plan's purported coverage,"

Northeast, 764 F.2d at 163.

_________________________________________________________________

5. Indeed, the Amicus parties in this case, the Local 863 I.B.T. Welfare

Fund and Laborers Locals 472/172 of the New Jersey Welfare Fund,

ERISA-regulated plans with "employer first" coordination of benefits

provisions, have come into conflict with the same Local 1262 Funds'

always secondary clause and have had to pay several hundred thousand

dollars in expenses for dependent-beneficiaries of their plans as a result

of the Local 1262 Funds' refusal to accept primary responsibility.

28

VI.

CONCLUSION

We thus conclude that in those instances where the

plans have competing provisions with respect to persons

covered by both plans, the "employer first" rule provides the

most appropriate basis for apportioning liability under

federal common law for self-insured benefit plans regulated

by ERISA. We will affirm the district court's grant of

summary judgment.

A True Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit

29

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.