Opinion

Senior Executive Benefit Plan Participants v. New Valley Corp.

  • 89 F.3d 143
  • 20 Employee Benefits Cas. (BNA) 1537
  • 1996 U.S. App. LEXIS 17320
  • 1996 WL 392100
Court
Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit
Filed
Jul 15, 1996
Author
Roth
On the bench
Becker, Roth, Lewis
Cited by
1 cases
Authority
More cited than 60.4%

The opinion

Opinions of the United

1996 Decisions States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit

7-15-1996

In Re: New Valley

Precedential or Non-Precedential:

Docket 95-5140

Follow this and additional works at: http://digitalcommons.law.villanova.edu/thirdcircuit_1996

Recommended Citation

"In Re: New Valley" (1996). 1996 Decisions. Paper 100.

http://digitalcommons.law.villanova.edu/thirdcircuit_1996/100

This decision is brought to you for free and open access by the Opinions of the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit at Villanova

University School of Law Digital Repository. It has been accepted for inclusion in 1996 Decisions by an authorized administrator of Villanova

University School of Law Digital Repository. For more information, please contact Benjamin.Carlson@law.villanova.edu.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 95-5140

IN RE: NEW VALLEY CORPORATION,

Debtor

SENIOR EXECUTIVE BENEFIT PLAN PARTICIPANTS;

RICHARD L. CALLAGHAN; ALEXANDER J. CHISHOLM;

W. LEE ELKINS; ROBERT M. FLANAGAN;

ROBERT F. GARBARINI; ARTHUR A. GARMAN;

WALTER GIRARDIN; DELMAR HARMON;

J. WILLIAM HARRINGTON; JOHN P. HUNT;

JOHN A. HOLLANSWORTH; GERALD P. KENT;

D. D. LLOYD; RUSSELL W. MC FALL;

JOHN W. R. POPE, JR.; HERBET SALTER,

Estate of; STEVE SMISZKO; PHILLIP SCHNEIDER;

BERNARD WEITZER

v.

NEW VALLEY CORPORATION

Senior Executive Benefit Plan Participants

and Walter E. Girardin, Alexander J.

Chisholm, S. E. Smiszko, John A. Hunt, Arthur

Garman, Gerald P. Kent, Delmar Harmon, Robert

R. Garbarini, Walter L. Elkins, Walter E.

Girardin, Philip Schneider, J. William

Harrington, John A. Hollansworth, Bernard

Weitzer, John W. R. Pope, Jr., Robert M.

Flanagan, Douglas D. Lloyd, H. E.

Salter/Barbara Orr Salter, Richard L.

Callaghan, and Russell W. McFall,

Appellants.

On Appeal from the United States District Court

for the District of New Jersey

(D.C. Civil Action No. 94-cv-02405)

Argued December 11, 1995

Before: BECKER, ROTH and LEWIS, Circuit Judges

(Opinion Filed July 15, 1996)

George J. Cotz, Esq. (Argued)

185 Arch Street

Box 396

Ramsey, New Jersey 07446

Donald W. Reeder, Esq.

Box 630

10 S. Franklin Turnpike

Ramsey, New Jersey 07446

Attorneys for Appellants

Myron D. Rumeld, Esq. (Argued)

Deidre A. Grossman, Esq.

Proskauer Rose Goetz & Mendelsohn LLP

1585 Broadway

New York, New York 10036

Frank Vecchione, Esq.

Crummy, Del Deo, Dolan, Griffinger & Vecchione

Professional Corporation

One Riverfront Plaza

Newark, New Jersey 07102

Attorneys for Appellee

OPINION OF THE COURT

ROTH, Circuit Judge:

Appellants, participants in two top hat pension plans,

filed claims in bankruptcy court seeking benefits after their

employer had been declared bankrupt and terminated the plans.

The bankruptcy court dismissed their claims, relying on a clause

in the plan documents that reserved the company's right to amend

or terminate the plans "at any time for any reason." The

bankruptcy court found this language clear and unambiguous, and

it refused appellants' proffer of extrinsic evidence to show that

the clauses did not represent the original understanding of the

parties. The district court affirmed. We will reverse and

remand.

We conclude that the record in this case, viewed in the

light of the special nature of top hat plans, distinguishes this

case from prior decisions in which we have held a clause

reserving the right to terminate or amend unambiguous and

controlling. See In re Unisys Corp. Retiree Medical Benefit

"ERISA" Litig., 58 F.3d 896 (3d Cir. 1995); Hozier v. Midwest

Fasteners, Inc., 908 F.2d 1155, 1163-64 (3d Cir. 1990).

Therefore, we hold on the facts of this case that the bankruptcy

court should have permitted the appellants to present extrinsic

evidence in support of their allegations. We will remand to the

district court with instructions to remand to the bankruptcy

court to conduct the necessary evidentiary hearing.

I.

Appellants are former executives and highly paid

personnel of Western Union Corporation ("Western Union") who

participated in two top hat plans designed to provide deferred

retirement income and other retirement benefits to a select group

of employees. As discussed more fully below, top hat plans

represent a special category of benefit plans created under ERISA

to provide these types of benefits to select employees. After

the employees had retired, Western Union's successor, New Valley

Corporation ("New Valley"), terminated the plans. Appellants

responded with this action for benefits. The facts are

essentially undisputed.

In the mid-1970s, the first rumblings of technological

revolution were felt in the communications industry. Western

Union had suffered financial reverses in the early part of the

decade, and its Board of Directors ("Board") perceived a need to

attract new executives to the company and to retain the key

executives that it had. The Board viewed an enhanced benefits

and compensation package as the principal means to that end.

In early 1977, the Board began discussing a

supplemental benefits package entitled the Senior Executive

Benefit Plan ("SEBP" or "SEB Plan"). The SEB Plan would provide

a select group of high-level employees with supplemental pension

benefits, deferred compensation benefits, and supplemental

medical benefits. The plan was designed to achieve the

previously identified goal of retaining Western Union's top

management personnel and luring talented candidates to the

company.

The initial draft of the plan was prepared by Gerald

Kent, then Vice President-Employee Relations, in a form that

substantially resembled the "SEBP Plan Summary" later distributed

to the executives selected to participate. This document

described the plan benefits in some detail but made no mention of

any reservation of the company's unilateral right to amend or

terminate the plan. Based on this summary, the Board approved

the plan on August 23, 1977. The Board's minutes similarly

omitted any mention of a right to amend.

After the Board's action, Western Union distributed

copies of the Plan Summary to potential participants. As noted,

the Plan Summary contained nothing indicating that Western Union

reserved the right to amend or terminate the plan. Western Union

also held meetings with the participants to discuss the plan.

Appellants allege that at these meetings they were informed that

they would earn the promised benefits by continuing their

employment with Western Union until retirement and that the

benefits could not be taken away after retirement. Throughout

the initial stages of plan proposal, development, adoption,

negotiation, and acceptance, no reservation of the right to amend

or terminate existed.

Western Union's General Counsel, Richard C. Hostetler,

drafted the formal plan. The formal plan document, introduced

five months later at a board meeting on February 28, 1978,

included an article which reserved the right to amend or

terminate the plan at any time. The text of this article,

Article 12, reads:

12. Amendment and Termination. The Board of

Directors may amend or terminate the Plan at

any time for any reason and thereafter

Participants and their estates and dependents

shall have only such rights under the Plan,

if any, as shall be specifically provided for

by the Board of Directors under the Plan as

amended or terminated.

All subsequent versions of the plan contained this provision.

However, none of the versions of the plan contained an

integration clause.

Appellants are prepared to offer Mr. Hostetler's

testimony that Article 12 was included in the SEBP formal

document as "boiler plate" language that had been contained in

all of Western Union's employee benefit plan documents. Mr.

Hostetler would also testify that at the Board meeting where

Article 12 was discussed, the general understanding was that the

provision could not be used to change or terminate benefits after

retirement. Appellants further allege that during a series of

meetings held to discuss particular provisions in the Plan which

might be of concern, Mr. Kent told them Article 12 could not be

used to change or terminate their benefits after retirement.

Appellants likewise contend that this understanding was conveyed

to executives recruited by the company. Accordingly, although

the plans as adopted contained the termination "at any time"

language, the appellant's understanding of that provision was

informed by these representations.

In 1979, a separate plan was created for Walter E.

Girardin ("Girardin Plan"). The motivation for the Girardin Plan

was much the same as for the SEBP, to retain a key executive. At

the time, Western Union faced a potentially difficult transition

from its long-standing Chairman and CEO, Russell McFall, to his

successor, Robert M. Flanagan. Girardin, who had worked for

Western Union for more than 40 years, had been passed over for

the CEO position. When Girardin announced his decision to

retire, the Board decided that he should be kept on for at least

a year so that his skill and experience could help in the

transition. Western Union offered Girardin an enhanced benefits

package to induce him to remain with the company. After some

negotiating, Girardin accepted. Although the Girardin Plan was

adopted separately and at a date later than the SEB Plan, its

substantive provisions were identical. It ultimately met the

same fate as the SEBP. Both plans will be discussed together.

After appellants had retired, New Valley terminated the

plans, relying on Article 12 for its authority. Appellants

believe that, under the original agreement underlying the plan

documents, such action was impermissible. Appellants therefore

contend that New Valley breached the SEBP and Girardin contracts.

Alternatively, appellants urge that New Valley be estopped from

terminating their benefits because of the promises Western Union

made to the plan participants. Appellants allege a variety of

damages from the breach of contract, framed alternatively as

detrimental reliance on Western Union's promise. Their claims

include leaving secure employment with other companies to join

Western Union, declining employment offers from other companies

to remain at Western Union, uprooting families and moving to New

Jersey to become eligible for the SEBP, taking early retirement

based on plan benefits, and declining to pursue other retirement

options because of the plan.

The procedural history of this case began in the

bankruptcy court. At the time New Valley terminated the plans,

its creditors had placed it in Chapter 11 bankruptcy. Appellants

therefore responded to the denial of benefits by filing proofs of

claims in the bankruptcy proceeding, rather than by following the

traditional course of a suit in district court for benefits under

29 U.S.C. 1132(a). In pursuing their claims, appellants argued

that Article 12 had to be considered in the context in which it

was created and that, when taken in that context, it was

ambiguous. They asked for a hearing in which they could support

their claims with extrinsic evidence, including the testimony of

Mr. Hostetler.

The bankruptcy court disallowed appellants' claims,

relying principally on Article 12 of the plans. The bankruptcy

court described appellants' proposed construction of Article 12

as plainly at variance with the terms in the plans. In re New

Valley Corp., Ch. 11 Case No. 91-27704, Oral Decision with

respect to Omnibus Objection No. 5 at 7 (Bankr. D.N.J. Apr. 8,

1994) (hereinafter "Bankruptcy Court Opinion"). The court held

that the plans had been validly terminated pursuant to Article

12. Id.

The district court affirmed the bankruptcy court's

decision, holding that the exemption of top hat plans from

ERISA's writing requirement would not permit a departure from the

plain meaning of Article 12, that Article 12 could not reasonably

be interpreted to mean the plans vested at retirement, and that

the bankruptcy court properly refused to hold an evidentiary

hearing on the intent of the parties. Senior Executive Benefit

Plan Participants v. New Valley Corp. (In re New Valley Corp.),

Adv. No. 94-2405, slip op. at 19-20 (D.N.J. January 18, 1995)

(hereinafter "District Court Opinion"). This appeal followed.

II.

The bankruptcy court heard this action pursuant to 28

U.S.C. 157. The district court had subject matter jurisdiction

over the initial appeal under 28 U.S.C. 158(a). This court has

jurisdiction over the appeal from the district court pursuant to

28 U.S.C. 158(d). We exercise plenary review over the district

court's determinations and over the bankruptcy court's

conclusions of law. We review the bankruptcy court's findings of

fact for clear error. Fellheimer, Eichen & Braverman v. Charter

Technologies, Inc., 57 F.3d 1215, 1223 (3d Cir. 1995).

III.

The principal issue before us is not whether the

appellants can recover as a matter of law, but rather whether

they can present evidence to establish that they bargained for a

contractual set of benefits instead of a pension terminable at

New Valley's whim any time after their retirement. We hold that

appellants should have the opportunity to clarify the meaning of

their benefits contract through a proffer of extrinsic evidence.

Their claims will then succeed or fail based on the evidence

presented to the fact finder.

A.

As a threshold matter, we have little difficulty

concluding that ERISA provides the framework for our analysis.

ERISA's coverage extends broadly to include all employee benefit

plans. See Barrowclough v. Kidder, Peabody & Co., 752 F.2d 923,

929 (3d Cir. 1985). The SEB and Girardin Plans are clearly

ERISA plans. See 29 U.S.C. 1002(3) (defining "employee benefit

plan"); Miller v. Eichleay Engineers, Inc., 886 F.2d 30, 33 n.7

(3d Cir. 1989).

Finding ERISA applicable, however, is only an initial

step. The far more important determination is to locate the SEB

and Girardin Plans within ERISA's landscape. Both plans at issue

are top hat plans, a fact that has crucial implications for this

case. "A top hat plan is a 'plan which is unfunded and is

maintained by an employer primarily for the purpose of providing

deferred compensation for a select group of management or highly

trained employees.' 29 U.S.C. 1051(2), 1081(a)(3), and

1101(a)(1)." Miller, 886 F.2d at 34 n.8; see also 29 U.S.C.

1002(36), 1003(b). The elements of this definition make the top

hat category a narrow one. Not only must the plan be unfunded

and exhibit the required purpose, it must also cover a "select

group" of employees. This final limitation has both quantitative

and qualitative restrictions. In number, the plan must cover

relatively few employees. In character, the plan must cover only

high level employees. Because of these limitations, top hat

plans form a rare sub-species of ERISA plans, and Congress

created a special regime to cover them.

The dominant characteristic of the special top hat

regime is the near-complete exemption of top hat plans from

ERISA's substantive requirements. Section 1051(2) exempts top

hat plans from ERISA's minimum participation standards, minimum

vesting standards, and various other content requirements.

Section 1081(a)(3) exempts top hat plans from ERISA's minimum

funding requirements. Section 1101(a)(1) exempts top hat plans

from ERISA's fiduciary responsibility provisions, including the

requirement of a written plan, the need to give control of plan

funds to a trustee, the imposition of liability on fiduciaries,

and limitations on transactions and investments. Section

1051(2) exempts top hat plans from ERISA's reporting and

disclosure requirements upon promulgation of the proper

administrative regulations. These regulations are in place. 29

C.F.R. 2520.104-23 (1995) (establishing minimal alternative

reporting requirements for top hat plans); Pane v. RCA Corp., 868

F.2d 631, 637 (3d Cir. 1989); see generally Barrowclough, 752

F.2d at 930-31. As a result, top hat plans are covered only by

ERISA's enforcement provisions. Kemmerer v. ICI Americas, Inc.,

70 F.3d 281, 286-87 (3d Cir. 1995), cert. denied, ___ U.S. ___,

64 U.S.L.W. 3776, 64 U.S.L.W. 3778 (May 20, 1996); Barrowclough,

752 F.2d at 931, 935, 937.

Although all of these provisions are important in

defining the top hat category, one specific exemption from this

list has particular importance for the current dispute: top hat

plans are excluded from ERISA's writing requirement. Other ERISA

plans, by contrast, are governed by a stringent writing

requirement: "Every employee benefit plan shall be established

and maintained pursuant to a written instrument." 29 U.S.C.

1102(a)(1). This provision has formed the cornerstone of a

series of decisions by this and other courts limiting litigants

to the language of the plan document. See Hozier v. Midwest

Fasteners, Inc., 908 F.2d 1155, 1163-64 (3d Cir. 1990) (citing

cases). Under this interpretation, 1102(a)(1) essentially

operates as a strong integration clause, statutorily inserted in

every plan document covered by the fiduciary duty provisions.

Like any common law integration clause, 1102(a)(1) makes the

plan document the entire agreement of the parties and bars the

introduction of parol evidence to vary or contradict the written

terms. See Mellon Bank, N.A. v. Aetna Business Credit, Inc., 619

F.2d 1001, 1010 n.9 (3d Cir. 1980) (discussing integration

clauses and parol evidence rule).

Top hat plans are exempt from 1102(a)(1). As a

result, top hat agreements can be partially or exclusively oral.

They may, of course, be integrated by their own terms, just as

they may contain any provision to which the parties agree. They

do not, however, gain the benefit of statutory additions such as

1102(a)(1). Consequently, Hozier and other cases which limit

employees strictly to the terms of the plan document are

inapposite. Top hat plans are instead governed by general

principles of federal common law. Barrowclough, 752 F.2d at 936.

Here, that law is the federal common law of contract.

Both parties agree that the plans in question are top

hat plans. Both the SEB Plan and the Girardin Plan therefore

exist in the unique top hat category of ERISA coverage and

exemption. They are exempt from the writing requirement of

1102(a)(1), and federal common law developed under the aegis of

ERISA governs their enforcement.

Applying the federal common law of contract, we believe

that the bankruptcy court erred in construing the plan documents.

A court cannot interpret words in a vacuum, but rather must

carefully consider the parties' context and the other provisions

in the plan. Moreover, extrinsic evidence should have been

considered to determine whether an ambiguity existed, especially

in the absence of an integration clause in the plan.

Whether a document is ambiguous presents a question of

law properly resolved by this court. Stendardo v. Federal Nat'l

Mortgage Ass'n, 991 F.2d 1089, 1094 (3d Cir. 1993). Our

precedents clearly establish the steps involved in resolving a

contractual ambiguity.

To decide whether a contract is ambiguous, we

do not simply determine whether, from our

point of view, the language is clear.

Rather, we "hear the proffer of the parties

and determine if there [are] objective

indicia that, from the linguistic reference

point of the parties, the terms of the

contract are susceptible of different

meanings." Sheet Metal Workers, 949 F.2d at

1284 (brackets in original) (quoting Mellon

Bank, N.A. v. Aetna Business Credit, Inc.,

619 F.2d 1001, 1011 (3d Cir.1980)). Before

making a finding concerning the existence or

absence of ambiguity, we consider the

contract language, the meanings suggested by

counsel, and the extrinsic evidence offered

in support of each interpretation. Id.;

Mack Trucks, 917 F.2d at 111; see alsoRestatement (Second) of

Contracts 223 cmt.

b (1981) ("There is no requirement that an

agreement be ambiguous before evidence of a

course of dealing can be shown . . ..").

Extrinsic evidence may include the structure

of the contract, the bargaining history, and

the conduct of the parties that reflects

their understanding of the contract's

meaning.

Teamsters Indus. Employees Welfare Fund v. Rolls-Royce Motor

Cars, Inc., 989 F.2d 132, 135 (3d Cir. 1993). And once a

contract provision is found to be ambiguous, extrinsic evidence

must be considered to clarify its meaning. See Hullett v.

Towers, Perrin, Forster & Crosby, Inc., 38 F.3d 107, 111 (3d Cir.

1994); Taylor v. Continental Group Change in Control Severance

Pay Plan, 933 F.2d 1227, 1234 (3d Cir. 1991).

Neither the bankruptcy court nor the district court

followed these steps. Both instead adopted, and then misapplied,

a "four corners" approach to the contract. Mellon Bank, 619 F.2d

at 1011 ("Under a 'four corners' approach a judge sits in

chambers and determines from his point of view whether the

written words before him are ambiguous."). Since Mellon Bank,

however, this court has required the judge to hear the proffer of

the parties and consider extrinsic evidence to determine whether

there is an ambiguity, and then to resolve or clarify any

ambiguity that may exist.

B.

Our interpretation of the SEB and Girardin top hat

plans is assisted by our recent decision in Kemmerer v. ICI

Americas, Inc., 70 F.3d 281, 286-87 (3d Cir. 1995), cert. denied,

___ U.S. ___, 64 U.S.L.W. 3776, 64 U.S.L.W. 3778 (May 20, 1996).

The unilateral contract theory in Kemmerer supports appellants'

explication of the plans as a whole and of Article 12 in

particular.

In Kemmerer, we interpreted a top hat plan that

permitted plan participants to elect a payment schedule by which

they would receive their benefits. The plaintiffs elected an

extended payment schedule and later retired. The company then

unilaterally terminated the plan, paying the remaining amounts

due the participants in three annual installments. 70 F.3d at

285. The participants sued, the district court found a breach,

and we affirmed.

After concluding that top hat plans were subject to

ERISA, we turned to contract principles to resolve the dispute.

Id. at 287. Examining the contract as a whole, we found a

unilateral contract which created vested rights in those

employees who accepted the offer it contained by continuing in

the company's employment until retirement. Id. "Under

unilateral contract principles, once the employee performs, the

offer becomes irrevocable, the contract is completed, and the

employer is required to comply with its side of the bargain."

Id. In response to ICI's argument that the contract did not

restrict its right to terminate the plan, we observed,

even when a plan reserves to the sponsor an

explicit right to terminate the plan,

acceptance by performance closes that door

under unilateral contract principles (unless

an explicit right to terminate or amend after

the participants performance is reserved).

"Any other interpretation . . . would make

the Plan's several specific and mandatory

provisions ineffective, rendering the

promises embodied therein completely

illusory."

Id. at 287-88 (emphasis added) (quoting Carr v. First Nationwide

Bank, 816 F.Supp. 1476 (N.D. Cal. 1993)). In our view, the

company's claim to an unfettered right to terminate in the face

of specific grants of benefits "ha[d] no basis in contract law"

and was "more than minimally unfair." Id. at 287.

Like the payout system set forth in Kemmerer, the post-

retirement benefits of the New Valley plan can be construed as

creating a unilateral contract offer that the employees accepted

by working faithfully until retirement, at which time the

benefits would vest. Thus, the plan may not be terminated unless

an explicit right "to terminate . . . after the participant's

performance is reserved." Kemmerer, 70 F.3d at 287-88.

In the current case, the plan documents do contain

language that could be interpreted as reserving a right for New

Valley to terminate even after retirement: the plan says it can

be terminated "at any time." As a matter of plain language, New

Valley contends, this phrase is unambiguous. But this is not

necessarily so. A common example shows that the meaning of "at

any time" depends on the context. Suppose an employer and

employee enter into a contract stating that employee will work

forty hours per week for $500, payable at the end of the week.

The contract further states that employment is at will and

employer can change employee's wages "at any time." After

working a week, employee goes to pick up her pay check. Employer

informs employee that it has exercised its right to change her

wages "at any time," and will be paying her $300 for that week's

work. Despite the seemingly unambiguous "at any time" language,

it seems reasonable that an employee would not expect the

reduction in salary to take place post-performance. Although

this is not our situation, it makes clear that the words "at any

time" may admit of more than one reasonable interpretation.

The appropriate question, then, is whether "at any

time" is unambiguous in this context. The benefits at issue in

this case, like the wages in our hypothetical case, are payable

entirely after performance. As in the wage scenario, agreeing to

allow New Valley to terminate the benefits even after retirement

would make this "contract" largely illusory. Although parties

are free to enter into illusory agreements, the unlikelihood that

they will do so when significant benefits are at stake may render

a term ambiguous. In this context, the unlikelihood that the

Appellants agreed to allow New Valley to terminate their

retirement benefits at its whim, coupled with Appellants'

reasonable alternative interpretation of "at any time" (until

performance), supports the argument that the term is ambiguous.

If New Valley desired to clearly indicate its ability to

terminate benefits even after performance, in the face of likely

expectations to the contrary, it could have simply added the

words "including after retirement" to the plan.

Moreover, in the current case, as in Kemmerer, other

provisions in the plan point to a binding contractual agreement.

For example, the plan documents contain several "specific and

mandatory provisions" promising what appear to be benefits which

vest on retirement. These provisions include Article 4, Deferred

Compensation Benefit; Article 5, Supplemental Disability Benefit;

and Article 6, Supplemental Medical Benefits. The language

quoted here is taken from the original 1977 plan.

Article 4 states: "A deferred compensation benefit

will be paid upon the death of any Participant after retirement

on pension . . . ." Article 5 states: "Any Participant entitled

to receive [basic benefits] whose Total Service at the date of

disability exceeds five years, will receive . . . a supplemental

disability benefit . . . ." Article 6 states: "(a) Following

termination of active employment on account of disability, a

Participant may obtain supplemental medical benefits . . . . (b)

In the event of death . . ., the dependents of that Participant

may obtain medical benefits . . . . (c) Dental benefits will be

provided at no cost to [qualified participants]." App. at 33-34

(emphasis added). The mandatory language of these provisions

denotes benefits that will be provided by the company once the

participant retires, i.e., benefits that vest at retirement.

Other provisions provide less definite support for

vested benefits. Article 3 states the requirements for a

participant to receive a supplemental benefit. These

requirements include participation in the Basic Contributory Plan

during employment, followed by retirement and receipt of a

pension under the Basic plan. Article 3 also states the method

for calculating the supplemental pension. This provision implies

that a pension calculated in this manner will be given to those

participants who satisfy these requirements.

Article 10, Suspension of Benefits, also provides

indirect support for vesting at retirement. This article makes

no mention of post-retirement actions that could result in

termination of benefits. It discusses only "engag[ing] in any

activity or conduct which, in the judgment of the Committee, is

prejudicial to the best interests of the Corporation or its

subsidiaries." Id. at 34. While this omission is not

conclusive, it is consistent with a pension that vests on

retirement.

"An ambiguous contract is one capable of being

understood in more senses than one . . .. Before it can be said

that no ambiguity exists, it must be concluded that the

questioned words or language are capable of [only] one

interpretation." American Flint Glass Workers Union, AFL-CIO v.

Beaumont Glass Co., 62 F.3d 574, 581 (3d Cir. 1995) (quoting

Landtect Corp. v. State Mut. Life Assur. Co., 605 F.2d 75, 80 (3d

Cir. 1979)). Based on the two interpretations offered by the

parties, we cannot say that here. By numerous indicia -- (1)

that the words "at any time" are inconclusive; (2) that the right

to terminate even after retirement would render the provisions

for benefits largely illusory; and (3) that the plan contains

numerous specific and mandatory provisions -- the contract

language appears ambiguous. These factors, coupled with the oral

representations made by New Valley to the plaintiffs (that the

plan did not permit termination after retirement) and the fact

that we are dealing with an unintegrated top hat plan, convinces

us that an ambiguity exists as to whether there was a right to

terminate after retirement (or only before). Our opinion is thus

a narrow one, informed by this concatenation of factors.

Construing the plan document "as a whole," see Alexander v.

Primerica Holdings, Inc., 967 F.2d 90, 93 (3d Cir. 1992), we find

appellants understanding of Article 12 at least equally plausible

as New Valley's interpretation.

Because appellants have demonstrated ambiguity in the

plan, the bankruptcy court should have permitted appellants to

present extrinsic evidence to clarify its meaning. See Hullett

v. Towers, Perrin, Forster & Crosby, Inc., 38 F.2d 107, 111 (3d

Cir. 1994); Taylor v. Continental Group Change in Control

Severance Pay Plan, 933 F.2d 1227, 1234 (3d Cir. 1991). Evidence

of the parties' intent, such as that proffered by appellants, is

directly relevant to this issue. Smith v. Hartford Ins. Group,

6. F.3d 131, 139 (3d Cir. 1993) ("[t]o choose between these

competing meanings, we can consider extrinsic evidence of the

parties' understanding of that term"); see also Taylor, 933 F.3d

at 1233 (noting "the reasonable understanding of the

beneficiaries, as well as the intent of the employer, may be

admissible to clarify ambiguities [in an ERISA plan term]").

C.

The bankruptcy court should also consider appellants'

promissory estoppel claims in light of their proffered extrinsic

evidence. We have recognized the viability of estoppel claims

against ERISA plans in general, see Rosen v. Hotel & Restaurant

Employees and Bartenders Union, 637 F.2d 592, 598 (3d Cir.),

cert. denied, 454 U.S. 898 (1981), and against top hat plans in

particular, Pane v. RCA Corp., 868 F.2d at 630.

To establish a claim for equitable estoppel under

ERISA, a plaintiff must prove: (1) a material representation,

(2) reasonable and detrimental reliance upon the representation,

and (3) extraordinary circumstances. Curcio v. John Hancock Mut.

Life Ins. Co., 33 F.3d 226, 235 (3d Cir. 1994). In the context

of this case, the first two elements are particularly germane.

Because top hat plans can be partially or exclusively oral, top

hat participants may reasonably rely on oral representations of

benefits, even in the face of a termination clause like Article

12.

On remand, the bankruptcy court should address these

issues. Analysis of appellants' estoppel claims will necessarily

be affected by the interpretation given Article 12.

D.

In reaching these conclusions, we are well aware of our

decision in In re Unisys Corp. Retiree Medical Benefit "ERISA"

Litig., 58 F.3d 896 (3d Cir. 1995), which reached a different

conclusion about the validity of a similar termination clause in

the context of a different type of ERISA plan. We do not believe

that Unisys can control the uniquely narrow category of top hat

benefit plans on these different facts.

First, unlike the welfare benefits at issue in Unisys,

top hat plans are exempt from ERISA's writing requirement, 29

U.S.C. 1102(a)(1). The rationale behind this distinction seems

straight-forward. The potentially expansive size and scope of

welfare benefit plans makes a writing requirement necessary as a

practical matter of plan administration. Our decision in Unisys,

for example, addressed a large scale employee welfare plan that

provided a variety of benefits to approximately 21,000 employees

at all levels. 58 F.3d at 899 n.4. Top hat plans, by contrast,

cover narrow groups of select individuals. Because of the

limited number of employees involved and their place in the

organizational hierarchy, top hat plans can be exempted from the

writing requirement without inviting administrative difficulties.

In terms of distinguishing Unisys, the exemption of top

hat plans has importance beyond this practical rationale. As

noted, supra, the writing requirement has formed the basis of a

series of cases limiting employee-litigants to the language of

plan documents. See Hozier v. Midwest Fasteners, Inc., 908 F.2d

1155, 1163-64 (3d Cir. 1990) (citing cases). The provision

buttressed our decision in Unisys, where we noted that

ERISA's framework ensures that employee

benefit plans be governed by written

documents and summary plan descriptions,

which are the statutorily established means

of informing participants and beneficiaries

of the terms of their plan and its benefits.

See, e.g., Hozier v. Midwest Fasteners, Inc.,

[908 F.2d 1155, 1160 (3d Cir. 1990)], Confer

v. Custom Engineering Co., 952 F.2d 41 (3d

Cir. 1991), cert. denied, 503 U.S. 938

(1992); Hamilton v. Air Jamaica, Ltd., 945

F.2d 74 (3d Cir. 1991), cert. denied, 503

U.S. 938 (1992); 29 U.S.C. 1022(a)(1).

Accordingly, any retiree's right to lifetime

medical benefits under a plan can only be

found if it is established by the terms of

the plan documents.

58 F.3d at 902. We later explained that under this provision,

"the written terms of the plan documents control and cannot be

modified or superseded by the employer's oral undertakings." Id.

In the context of top hat plans, however, Unisys's statements are

simply not true. The writing requirement does not apply. Unisysis not

controlling.

Second, the exemption of top hat plans from ERISA's

fiduciary provisions creates an important difference from Unisysin terms

of the remedy available. Top hat employees have rights

only under the contract. Where a contract action fails, they

have no recourse. Welfare benefit plan participants, by

contrast, enjoy an action for breach of fiduciary duty. We held

in In re Unisys Corp. Retiree Medical Benefit "ERISA" Litig., 57

F.3d 1255 (3d Cir. 1995), cert. denied, ___ U.S. ___, 116 S.Ct.

1316 (1996), that welfare plan participants retained a cause of

action for breach of fiduciary duty, despite the same general

right to terminate or amend held fatal to the participants'

contractual claim in the related Unisys case discussed here, 58

F.3d 896. Top hat participants have no such alternative remedy.

They must seek their remedy in contract law. Contractual

provisions must therefore be enforced with care.

Third, the very different nature of the benefits at

issue in Unisys distinguishes that case from this. In Unisys,

employees participated in an unfunded welfare benefit plan that

promised ongoing medical benefits "for life." The benefits were

payable as compensation while the employees worked and then

continued on into retirement. After the participants retired,

the company terminated the plan, relying on a general reservation

of the right to modify or terminate "at any time" and "for any

reason." The district court held the reservation of the right to

terminate clear and unambiguous. It therefore rejected the

participants' breach of contract and equitable estoppel claims

and entered summary judgment for the employer. Id. at 898. We

affirmed.

Although the language of the termination clause in

Unisys was similar to the clause here, syntax is not

determinative. This case involves benefits that are not payable,

at all, until after retirement. In contrast to the benefits in

Unisys, which were ongoing medical benefits available during

working years and continuing into retirement, the benefits here

became available only upon retirement. As we have noted,

agreeing to terms allowing these benefits to be terminated even

after retirement would make the "agreement" illusory. Thus,

because interpreting the words "at any time" to include "after

retirement" seems less reasonable in this context, the words are

more likely to be ambiguous in this case.

These distinctions (and the others noted above) show

the important differences between the plans examined here and

those examined in Unisys. In addition, we note that our decision

in Unisys recognized its own limitations.

We do not hold that a reservation of rights

will always prevail over a promise of

benefits. Due to the abundance of ERISA plan

and the differing benefits these plans

provide, each case must be considered fact

specific and the court must make its

determination of the benefits provided based

on the language of the particular plan it has

been called upon to review.

Id. at 904 n.11. We merely add to this general caution a caveat

about the type of plan that the court must review. Here, in the

context of a top hat plan, Unisys's holding does not apply.

IV.

For the foregoing reasons, we will vacate the order of

the district court and remand the matter with direction to vacate

the order of the bankruptcy court and further remand to the

bankruptcy court to hear appellants proffered evidence on the

meaning of Article 12. We intimate no belief as to the ultimate

meaning of Article 12, nor the eventual success of appellant's

claims.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.