Opinion

Vallone, Michael v. CNA Financial Corp

  • 375 F.3d 623
Court
Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit
Filed
Jul 15, 2004
Status
Published
Author
Cudahy
On the bench
Cudahy, Manion, Rovner
Nature of suit
civil
Cited by
1 cases
Authority
More cited than 44.6%

The opinion

In the

United States Court of Appeals

For the Seventh Circuit

____________

No. 03-2090

MICHAEL J. VALLONE, JOYCE E.

HEIDEMANN and JAMES J. O’KEEFE,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

v.

CNA FINANCIAL CORPORATION, a/k/a

CNA CASUALTY OF ILLINOIS, and THE

CONTINENTAL INSURANCE COMPANY,

Defendants-Appellees.

____________

Appeal from the United States District Court for

the Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division.

No. 98 C 7108—James B. Moran, Judge.

____________

ARGUED NOVEMBER 6, 2003—DECIDED JULY 15, 2004

____________

Before CUDAHY, MANION and ROVNER, Circuit Judges.

CUDAHY, Circuit Judge. This case involves another

episode in the widespread efforts of corporations to reduce

their liabilities by cutting back on retiree benefits. The law

in this circuit is well-established, but this does nothing to

cushion the hardship of pensioners faced with a new drain

on their limited resources.

In late 1991, The Continental Insurance Company

(Continental) offered an early retirement package to some

2 No. 03-2090

of its employees as a cost containment initiative. Michael J.

Vallone, Joyce E. Heidemann and James J. O’Keefe (collec-

tively, the plaintiffs) are three of the 347 Continental

employees who accepted the early retirement package (the

early retirees), which included the “lifetime” welfare benefit

at issue in this case, a Health Care Allowance (HCA). In

1995, Continental was acquired by CNA Financial Corpora-

tion (CNA). In 1998, CNA notified the early retirees that as

of January 1, 1999, their HCA benefit would be terminated.

The plaintiffs challenged this decision by complaining to the

Plan Administrator of CNA’s retirement plan, to no avail.

They subsequently brought suit, alleging claims of wrongful

denial of benefits under the Employee Retirement Income

Security Act (ERISA), breach of contract, estoppel and a

breach of fiduciary duty. The district court granted sum-

mary judgment to the defendants on all claims, and we now

affirm.

I. Background

A. Factual and Legal Background

In November 1991, Continental offered a Voluntary

Special Retirement Program (VSRP) to its employees who

had 85 years of combined age and service (with minima of

55 years of age and 10 years of service). The VSRP included

a monthly Health Care Allowance (HCA), a welfare benefit

that was offered to all retirees. However, the HCA benefit

offered as part of the VSRP differed from the HCA benefit

available to regular retirees. It is the nature of this differ-

ence that is at issue here. Accompanying the VSRP were

explanatory materials, some of which the plaintiffs claim

expressed Continental’s intent to vest the HCA benefit, and

others which CNA claims did just the opposite. The poten-

tial early retirees were also told, both orally and in writing,

that the HCA benefit would be a “lifetime benefit.” The

plaintiffs are three of the 347 Continental employees who

No. 03-2090 3

accepted early retirement under the VSRP in early 1992.

Continental was acquired by CNA in 1995.

All went smoothly until August 1998, when CNA notified

the early retirees that their HCA benefit would be elimi-

nated as of January 1, 1999. The plaintiffs complained by

telephone to CNA officials and were told that the Plan

Administrator’s decision was appropriate and final. Believ-

ing they had no practical recourse under the administrative

appeal procedures made available to them by the general

retirement plan, the plaintiffs sued CNA in a purported

class action on behalf of Continental employees who elected

to retire under the VSRP, bringing claims of violation of

§ 502(a)(1)(B) of ERISA, 29 U.S.C. § 1132(a)(1)(B) for

wrongfully failing to pay benefits (Count II), breach of

fiduciary duty in violation of § 404 of ERISA, 29 U.S.C.

§ 1104 (Count III), breach of ERISA and common law

bilateral contracts (Count IV) and promissory estoppel

(Count V).1

Two other putative class members, Bernard A. Serek and

Thomas L. Jones, had submitted written appeals to CNA’s

Plan Administrator, in which they argued that the VSRP

documents created a contract or entitlement that prohibited

unilateral termination of their HCA benefits. Serek and

Jones received substantially the same response as did the

plaintiffs. Because Serek and Jones had exhausted their

administrative claims, the district court found that the

plaintiffs were excused on grounds of futility from the

requirement that they exhaust their own administrative

claims. (Appellants’ Short Appx., Memorandum Op. and

Order 11/10/99 (11/10/99 Order) at 7-8.) However, because

the plaintiffs had not themselves complied with the ad-

ministrative review procedures, the district court was un-

1

Count I, which was essentially redundant of Count II, was

withdrawn by the plaintiffs.

4 No. 03-2090

willing to allow them to “start from scratch in federal court.”

(Appellants’ Short Appx., Memorandum Op. and Order

5/16/00 (5/16/00 Order) at 4.) Thus, purportedly on the basis

that the evidence relevant to evaluating a Plan

Administrator’s discretionary decision to deny benefits is

limited to those materials available to the Plan

Administrator, the district court (at least initially) stayed

discovery on all of the plaintiffs’ claims and limited its

review to the administrative record of Serek’s and Jones’s

complaints. Id. at 4-5. Broader discovery was later allowed

with respect to the fiduciary duty claim, though summary

judgment was granted to CNA on the other three claims.

(Appellants’ Short Appx., Memorandum Op. and Order

12/28/00 (12/28/00 Order) at 3 n.3, 13.) The district court

eventually granted summary judgment to CNA on the

fiduciary duty claim as well. (Appellants’ Short Appx.,

Memorandum Op. and Order 3/28/03 (3/28/03 Order) at 7.)

The plaintiffs now appeal the district court’s decision to

limit discovery to the administrative record on three of its

claims and from its grant of summary judgment on all

counts. CNA appeals the district court’s decision to widen

the scope of discovery with respect to the plaintiffs’ breach

of fiduciary duty claim, though this would matter only if we

were to reverse the district court’s grant of summary

judgment on that claim.

B. Documents and Oral Representations

The retirement package in this case involves a com-

plicated construction of enhancements to the general re-

tirement plan in effect at the time. Not surprisingly, the

parties disagree about which documents (and oral repre-

sentations) created the VSRP and its enhanced HCA benefit

at issue here. Continental’s general retirement plan

documents—which (together with their reservations of

rights clauses) CNA argues are part of the VSRP— include

No. 03-2090 5

the 1990 Comprehensive Health Care and Dental Plan of

the Continental Corporation (1990 Plan) (R. 109-1, ex. 1),

Your Benefits in 1991 (1991 General Summary Plan

Description (SPD)) (R. 109-1, ex. 4), A Guide for Benefits for

Employees Considering Retirement During 1991 (1991

Retirement Guide) (R. 109-1, ex. 6), A Guide for Employees

Considering Retirement During 1992 (1992 Retirement

Guide) (R. 109-1, ex. 7), and Retiree Benefits in 1991 (1991

Retiree SPD) (R. 109-1, ex. 8). Additionally, between the

time the plaintiffs (and other early retirees) complained

about the termination of their HCA benefit and the time the

Plan Administrator rendered his decision on the formal

appeals of other early retirees, CNA amended the 1990 Plan

and created the 1996 Continental Insurance Company

Retiree Group Medical and Dental Plan (1996 Plan) (R. 109-

1, ex. 3), which became effective in October 1998. Continen-

tal also supplied the early retirees with several documents

at the time it solicited their participation in the VSRP.

These documents (the VSRP Documents) include a covering

memorandum dated November 21, 1991 (VSRP Covering

Memo) (R. 109-2, ex. 9), A Brief Description of the Volun-

tary Special Retirement Program (Brief Description News-

letter) (R. 109-2, ex. 12), the 1992 Retirement Guide, a

personalized calculation worksheet (R. 109-2, ex. 10), a

payment election form (R. 109-2, ex. 11), an accep-

tance/rejection form (R. 109-2, ex. 13) and a retiree benefit

elections form (R. 109-2, ex. 14).

Continental is also alleged to have made oral representa-

tions to the potential early retirees regarding the nature of

the HCA benefit. During group and individual meetings

that took place in late 1991 between Continental’s human

resources representatives and eligible employees in various

locations around the country, the HCA was consistently

6 No. 03-2090

described as a “lifetime” benefit.2 Heidemann, who was an

assistant vice president of human resources for the Great

Lakes region and an officer of the company at the time of

her retirement, testified at deposition that she had been

told by her superiors in human resources that the HCA

benefit was a “lifetime” benefit. (R. 118-2, tab 1, Heidemann

dep. at 145, 164.) She could not recall anyone ever telling

her that the VSRP benefits were irrevocable. Id. at 147. She

strongly believed the VSRP was separate and distinct from

the general retirement plan, and since no one in human

resources ever told her the benefits could be revoked, id.,

and none of the documents specifically discussing the VSRP

contained a disclaimer, id. at 163, 218-19, she assumed that

the “lifetime” benefits were irrevocable. When Heidemann

presented the VSRP to the eligible employees in her region

(including Vallone), she represented the benefits as being

for “your lifetime” but did not say anything about their

irrevocability. (R. 118-2, tab 2, Vallone dep. at 77-79, 82.)

The district court, from the perspective of the evidence

most favorable to the plaintiffs, determined that eligible

employees were told that the benefits were for their own

and their spouses’ lifetimes; that they were not told the

benefits could be changed or revoked (although they were

referred to documents that reserved those rights); that they

2

CNA disputes that any formal meetings were scheduled and

claims that Heidemann conducted group meetings in her region

on her own initiative. (Appellees’ Br. at 14-15.) CNA moreover ar-

gues that the plaintiffs submitted 23 legally defective affidavits of

other early retirees claiming they also attended meetings in other

parts of the country during which the HCA benefit was described

as “lifetime.” Id. at 17. We need not decide whether these affida-

vits were defective or not, nor whether additional meetings

occurred or not, because, as we point out later, CNA admits that

the HCA benefit was a “lifetime” benefit for all retirees, and the

plaintiffs have not claimed that they were ever told explicitly that

the HCA benefit could not be terminated or altered.

No. 03-2090 7

were not told the “lifetime” benefits were irrevocable, but

they nevertheless concluded that the benefits were ir-

revocable for reasons similar to Heidemann’s reasons; that

this conclusion was material to their decision to retire; that

Continental had no intention at the time of the plaintiffs’

retirement of altering the HCA benefit; and that the

intention and decision to change benefits came several

years later, after Continental had been acquired by CNA.

(3/28/03 Order at 6.) We find that these factual determina-

tions are reasonable and are supported by the record, but

we would add that although Continental may not have had

any intention of terminating the early retirees’ benefits, it

did know that under ERISA its plan documents allowed it

to do so.

II. Discovery Issues

The district court initially stayed discovery with respect

to all of the plaintiffs’ claims, limiting its review to only

those materials considered by the Plan Administrator at the

time he denied Serek’s and Jones’s written claims for

benefits. (5/16/00 Order at 4.) The record could, however, be

augmented (upon motion of the plaintiffs) by any written

materials germane to the interpretation of the VSRP and

the Plan that were not contained in the administrative

record. Id. at 4-5. The plaintiffs never made such a motion.

Later, the district court allowed the plaintiffs to pursue

expanded discovery on their fiduciary duty claim. (12/28/00

Order at 3 n.3.) Of course, neither party is content with the

district court’s handling of discovery, which just proves the

truth of the old saw: if you try to please everybody, you end

up pleasing nobody.

We review a district court’s decisions on discovery matters

for abuse of discretion. Searls v. Glasser, 64 F.3d 1061, 1068

(7th Cir. 1995). A court does not abuse its discretion “unless

one or more of the following circumstances is present: (1)

8 No. 03-2090

the record contains no evidence upon which the court could

have rationally based its decision; (2) the decision is based

on an erroneous conclusion of law; (3) the decision is based

on clearly erroneous factual findings; or (4) the decision

clearly appears arbitrary.” Sherrod v. Lingle, 223 F.3d 605,

610 (7th Cir. 2000), quoting Gile v. United Airlines, 95 F.3d

492, 495 (7th Cir. 1996). Moreover, “[w]e will not reverse

the court’s decision absent a clear showing that the denial

of discovery resulted in actual and substantial prejudice to

the complaining litigant.” Searls, 64 F.3d at 1068.

The standard of review of a Plan Administrator’s deci-

sions regarding benefits depends on whether the Plan

Administrator was given the discretion to make those deci-

sions. See Perlman v. Swiss Bank Corp. Comprehensive

Disability Prot. Plan, 195 F.3d 975, 980 (7th Cir. 1999)

(“Decisions of ERISA plan administrators presumptively

receive de novo review, but if the plan establishes discre-

tionary authority then review will be deferential.”) (cita-

tions omitted). As we explain in more detail below, CNA’s

Plan Administrator had sufficient discretion that our review

of his decision to deny benefits on the basis that there was

no contract vesting benefits must be deferential. And “[d]e-

ferential review of an administrative decision means review

on the administrative record.” Id. at 981-82. Thus, with

respect to the early retirees’ claims for wrongful denial of

benefits and breach of ERISA and common law contract, the

district court correctly limited discovery to the complete

administrative record since the Plan Administrator’s

decision to deny benefits was based on a determination that

the HCA benefits could be terminated or altered because

they were not vested (i.e., because no contract existed that

vested the plaintiffs’ HCA benefits).

However, the plaintiffs’ estoppel claim, which the district

court limited to the same record for the same reason, is not

actually an appeal of a decision of the Plan Administrator.

An estoppel claim requires (among other things) a knowing

No. 03-2090 9

misrepresentation—generally in writing—here alleged to be

Continental’s representation to the potential early retirees

that the HCA benefits would be vested when Continental

knew they could be terminated or modified. In reviewing

Serek’s and Jones’s appeals, the Plan Administrator did not

make any finding whether the equities of the situation

required CNA to honor any non-legally-binding representa-

tions it may have made that the benefits were vested. Thus,

since the estoppel claim is not a review of a decision of the

Plan Administrator, the district court erred in limiting

discovery to the administrative record with respect to the

estoppel claim.

Notwithstanding the district court’s error, its decision

to limit the record with respect to the plaintiffs’ estoppel

claim is harmless, because the plaintiffs never asserted or

demonstrated prejudice. Even after being allowed addi-

tional discovery on their fiduciary duty claim, the plaintiffs

have pointed to nothing—oral or written—that the district

court’s limitation prevented it from considering. Rather, the

plaintiffs argue, citing Bidlack v. Wheelabrator Corp., 993

F.2d 603 (7th Cir. 1993) (en banc), that unspecified “extrin-

sic evidence” should have been allowed to “explain what

was intended under the VSRP and what was promised to

the [early retirees] as an inducement to retire.” (Appellants’

Br. at 25.) The district court, which ultimately found that

oral representations were irrelevant to the plaintiffs’

estoppel claim because the documents were not ambiguous,

specifically allowed the plaintiffs to move to augment the

administrative record with any “written materials germane

to the interpretation of the VSRP and the Plan” which they

learned of that were not already included. (5/16/00 Order at

4-5.) The plaintiffs never made any such a motion. Since the

plaintiffs do not tell us what “extrinsic evidence” the district

court failed to consider due to limitations on the record, and

since the district court seems to have considered all rele-

vant evidence in the entire record (all written documents

10 No. 03-2090

purporting to relate to the VSRP and/or the general retire-

ment plan, as well as Continental’s oral and written

representations that the HCA benefits were “lifetime”), the

plaintiffs fail to demonstrate any prejudice, even after being

invited to do so by CNA in its brief.

From another direction, CNA challenges the district

court’s decision to expand the record with respect to the

fiduciary duty claim (12/28/00 Order at 3 n.3), even though

the district court eventually granted summary judgment in

its favor in the face of the augmented record. CNA argues

that the district court erred in permitting the plaintiffs

to take discovery beyond the record with respect to their

fiduciary duty claim, and that the Plan Administrator’s

discretion requires that review be limited to the administra-

tive record as it was for the other claims. However, the

breach of fiduciary duty is alleged to have occurred when

oral misrepresentations were made to the potential early

retirees at the time they were considering whether to take

the VSRP package and, as such, their claim does not involve

a decision of the Plan Administrator. For that reason, there

was no need to limit review of the fiduciary duty claim to

the administrative record, and the district court did not

abuse its discretion to allow additional discovery.3

3

Moreover, we note that although there are many more decisions

reviewing a district court’s denial of discovery than decisions

reviewing a grant of discovery, apparently the requirement that

prejudice be shown applies equally to parties aggrieved by a grant

of discovery as by a denial. See, e.g., Belcher v. Bassett Furniture

Industries, Inc., 588 F.2d 904, 907 (4th Cir. 1978) (reviewing a

grant of discovery, court held that “[g]ranting or denying a request

under rule 34 is a matter within the trial court’s discretion, and

it will be reversed only if the action taken was improvident and

affected substantial rights.”), quoting Tiedman v. American

Pigment Corp., 253 F.2d 803, 808 (4th Cir. 1958); 8 Charles Alan

Wright, Arthur R. Miller & Richard L. Marcus, Federal Practice

(continued...)

No. 03-2090 11

III. Substantive Issues

On December 28, 2000, the district court granted CNA’s

motion for summary judgment on the plaintiffs’ claims of

wrongful denial of benefits under ERISA (Count II), breach

of ERISA and common law contract (Count IV) and equi-

table estoppel (Count V). On March 28, 2003, the district

court granted CNA’s motion for summary judgment on

the plaintiffs’ one remaining count, their breach of fiduciary

duty claim (Count III). We review the district court’s grants

of summary judgment de novo. Hrobowski v. Worthington

Steel Co., 358 F.3d 473, 475 (7th Cir. 2004). To succeed on

a motion for summary judgment, the moving party must

show that there is no genuine issue of material fact and

that the moving party is entitled to judgment as a matter of

law. Fed. R. Civ. P. Rule 56(c); Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477

U.S. 317, 322 (1986). In making this determination, “we

draw all reasonable inferences from the evidence in the

light most favorable to the nonmoving party.” Williamson

v. Ind. Univ., 345 F.3d 459, 462 (7th Cir. 2003).

A. ERISA Violation for Failure to Pay Benefits

(Count II)

1. Standard of review applicable to Plan

Administrator’s decisions

First, we must determine the appropriate standard for

3

(...continued)

& Procedure (3d ed. 1998) § 2006 (“A discovery order can always

be reviewed on appeal from a final judgment in the case, even

though it is difficult at that stage to show that the party has been

prejudiced by the order . . . , and the harmless-error doctrine,

together with the broad discretion the discovery rules vest in the

trial court, will bar reversal save under very unusual circum-

stances.”) (footnotes omitted). CNA, like the plaintiffs, fails to

demonstrate how it was prejudiced by the district court’s decision

to expand discovery on the fiduciary duty claim.

12 No. 03-2090

reviewing the decisions of the Plan Administrator. Ordi-

narily, “[a] denial of benefits will be reviewed de novo ‘un-

less the benefit plan gives the administrator or fiduciary

discretionary authority to determine eligibility for benefits

or to construe the terms of the plan.’ ” Militello v. Cent.

States, Southeast & Southwest Areas Pension Fund, 360

F.3d 681, 685 (7th Cir. 2004) (quoting Firestone Tire &

Rubber Co. v. Bruch, 489 U.S. 101, 115 (1989)). If the plan’s

language “indicates with the requisite if minimum clarity

that a discretionary determination is envisaged,” Herzberger

v. Standard Ins. Co., 205 F.3d 327, 331 (7th Cir. 2000),

“then a denial of benefits will be reviewed under an ar-

bitrary and capricious standard.” Militello, 360 F.3d at 685

(citing Hess v. Hartford Life & Accident Ins. Co., 274 F.3d

456, 461 (7th Cir. 2001)).

The district court neatly sidestepped the question

whether the provisions of the 1990 Plan or the provisions of

the 1996 Plan were in effect at the time the benefits were

denied. It did so by finding that the language in the 1990

Plan “indicate[s] with sufficient clarity that the Plan

Administrator has the discretionary authority to interpret

the Plan” and that, if anything, the 1996 Plan (which was

adopted between the time the plaintiffs complained about

the termination of the HCA benefit and the time the Plan

Administrator responded to those complaints) “confers

discretionary authority on the Plan Administrator even

more clearly.” (12/28/00 Order at 5 & n.5.) Thus, under

either Plan, the arbitrary and capricious standard applies.

We agree that it is unnecessary to determine which of the

two Plans controls, because in addition to the district

court’s correct determination that the 1990 Plan conferred

sufficient discretion on the Plan Administrator and that the

1996 Plan expanded it, the fact is that it doesn’t matter

which Plan controls or which standard of review is applica-

ble. For the ultimate issue is whether the benefits were

vested. If the benefits were vested, the denial of benefits

No. 03-2090 13

would be wrongful even under an arbitrary and capricious

standard; and if the benefits weren’t vested, the denial of

benefits would be lawful even under a de novo standard. We

now proceed to the merits.

2. Analysis

As they argued in the district court, the plaintiffs main-

tain that under the VSRP, which they believe was separate

and distinct from the general retirement plan, they received

a vested “lifetime” HCA benefit, and the Plan Administrator

therefore violated ERISA when he terminated their HCA

benefit. The district court rejected this argument by noting

that employers are free to amend or terminate welfare

benefits, which do not vest absent a showing of clear intent

to vest in written plan documents. The VSRP was a modifi-

cation of the general retirement plan (and the 1992 Retire-

ment Guide was specifically incorporated into the VSRP).

Hence, the reservation of rights clauses in the general

retirement plan documents became part of the VSRP. The

district court further found that the Brief Description

Newsletter, which described the VSRP’s enhanced benefits,

did not create an ambiguity because the plaintiffs’ interpre-

tation of language in the Newsletter as vesting the HCA

benefit (i.e., guaranteeing that the HCA benefit amount

would never be reduced) was not reasonable.

We start from the premise that “[e]mployers . . . are gen-

erally free under ERISA, for any reason at any time, to

adopt, modify, or terminate welfare plans.” Curtiss-Wright

Corp. v. Schoonejongen, 514 U.S. 73, 78 (1995). For this

reason, if ERISA welfare benefits “vest at all, they do so

under the terms of a particular contract.” Pabst Brewing Co.

v. Corrao, 161 F.3d 434, 439 (7th Cir. 1998). The Supreme

Court, followed by several courts of appeals, has indicated

that a modification that purports to vest welfare benefits

must be contained in the plan documents and must be

14 No. 03-2090

stated in clear and express language. See Inter-Modal Rail

Employees Ass’n v. Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Ry. Co.,

520 U.S. 510, 515 (1997); Frahm v. Equitable Life Assur-

ance Soc’y, 137 F.3d 955, 958 (7th Cir. 1998) (citing Sprague

v. General Motors Corp., 133 F.3d 388, 400 (6th Cir. 1988)

(en banc) as sensibly extending the requirement of a writing

to all long-term commitments); Gable v. Sweetheart Cup

Co., Inc., 35 F.3d 851, 855-56 (4th Cir. 1994); Wise v. El

Paso Natural Gas Co., 986 F.2d 929, 937 (5th Cir. 1993).

Given our presumption against the vesting of welfare

benefits, silence indicates that welfare benefits are not

vested. See Rossetto v. Pabst Brewing Co., 217 F.3d 539, 544

(7th Cir. 2000) (“Our presumption against vesting, it is

important to emphasize, kicks in only if all the court has to

go on is silence.”). Moreover, although ERISA itself “[left]

open . . . the possibility that a written plan may be com-

bined with an oral promise, such as an undertaking to give

a worker twice the benefits so established,” wholly oral

promises cannot be used to require the employer to provide

irrevocable benefits. Frahm, 137 F.3d at 958. If there is

some ambiguity in the language of the written agreement

that is not disambiguated elsewhere in the document, only

then may we consider evidence of the parties’ intent that is

“extrinsic” to the written documents, such as oral represen-

tations. See Rossetto, 217 F.3d at 547; Bidlack, 993 F.2d at

609.

a. The “lifetime” nature of the HCA benefit

The plaintiffs claim that all of the VSRP’s enhanced ben-

efits were vested, including the HCA, and that the HCA

cannot be “carved out” of the VSRP package of vested

retirement benefits. This contention is easily disposed of

since the HCA benefit differs qualitatively from the VSRP’s

other enhanced benefits: it is a welfare benefit, as the

No. 03-2090 15

plaintiffs concede (Appellants’ Br. at 22-23), not a pension

benefit. Thus, absent language expressly indicating that the

HCA benefit is vested, it would not vest upon retirement.4

The plaintiffs argue that the VSRP documents indicate

that the HCA is a “lifetime” benefit, and that this had been

confirmed in oral representations made to them. Specifi-

cally, they assert that the personalized calculation work-

sheet, which states that eligible employees will receive an

HCA allowance of $465 per month to age 65 and $180 per

month thereafter, indicates that this benefit is “for life.” (R.

109-2, ex. 10.) The payment election form, which prescribes

the same HCA allowance amounts as appear on the person-

alized calculation worksheet and which allows eligible

employees to choose to have their surviving spouses receive

the HCA benefit after their death, is also offered for the

implication that the benefits were for life (and even be-

yond). (R. 109-2, ex. 11.)

That the HCA benefit was a “lifetime” benefit—both for

regular retirees and for retirees who accepted the VSRP

package—is actually conceded by CNA. (Appellees’ Br. at

27; 1992 Retirement Guide at 6.) The problem for the

plaintiffs is that “lifetime” may be construed as “good for

life unless revoked or modified.” This construction is parti-

cularly plausible if the contract documents include a reser-

vation of rights clause (which, as will be shown, is the case

here). See UAW v. Rockford Powertrain, Inc., 350 F.3d 698,

704 (7th Cir. 2003) (“We must resolve the tension between

the lifetime benefits clause, and the plan termination and

4

As we discuss in more detail below, the characterization of

a benefit as “lifetime” can, absent a reservation of rights clause,

indicate that the benefit is vested. However, the packaging of a

welfare benefit with pension benefits does not on its own alter our

presumption against vesting in the absence of express language

to the contrary.

16 No. 03-2090

reservation of rights clauses, by giving meaning to all of

them. Reading the document in its entirety, the clauses

explain that although the plan in its current iteration

entitles retirees to health coverage for the duration of their

lives and the lives of their eligible surviving spouses, the

terms of the plan—including the plan’s continued exis-

tence—are subject to change at the will of [the employer].

The health insurance section of the plan description unam-

biguously does not provide the plaintiffs with vested

lifetime health insurance benefits.”) (internal citations

omitted); Diehl v. Twin Disc, 102 F.3d 301, 307 (7th Cir.

1996) (“[W]hen potentially conflicting provisions coexist . . .

within a single contract formed of several documents, the

rule that contractual provisions be read as parts of an

integrated whole will lead a court to seek an interpretation

that reconciles those provisions.”); see also In re Unisys

Corp. Retiree Med. Benefit “ERISA” Litig., 58 F.3d 896,

904 (3d Cir. 1995) (“An employer who promises lifetime

medical benefits, while at the same time reserving the right

to amend the plan under which those benefits were pro-

vided, has informed plan participants of the time period

during which they will be eligible to receive benefits pro-

vided the plan continues to exist.”); Chiles v. Ceridian Corp.,

95 F.3d 1505, 1512 n.2 (10th Cir. 1996) (“[T]he weight of

case authority supports the Unisys approach, that a reser-

vation of rights clause allows the employer to retroactively

change the medical benefits of retired participants, even in

the face of clear language promising company-paid lifetime

benefits.”). As laypersons, the plaintiffs’ confusion on this

issue is understandable; it is also very unfortunate, if it was

a basis for their accepting the VSRP package. But in the

perhaps beady eyes of the law, the “lifetime” nature of a

welfare benefit does not operate to vest that benefit if the

employer reserved the right to amend or terminate the

benefit, given “what it takes to overcome the presumption

that welfare benefits do not vest, combined with [our] re-

luctance to interpret a contract as being at war with itself.”

Diehl, 102 F.3d at 307.

No. 03-2090 17

It is true that some of our decisions have indicated that

the use of “lifetime” to denote the duration of benefits may

create an ambiguity and is not tantamount to silence (with

its presumption against vesting). See id. at 306 (finding

that separate agreement containing entitlement to lifetime

benefits modified reservation of rights clause incorporated

from another agreement and entitled retirees to welfare

benefits for their lifetime); Bidlack, 993 F.2d at 608 (“But

the agreements are not silent on the issue; they are merely

vague. They say that once retired employees reach the age

of 65 the company will pick up the full tab for their health

insurance and that when they die their spouses will con-

tinue to receive supplemental health benefits, again at the

company’s cost. This could be thought a promise to retired

employees that they and their spouses will be covered for

the rest of their lives.”). However, none of those decisions

involve situations where a reservation of rights clause is an

integral part of the contract that provides the “lifetime”

benefits. In Diehl, we found that the contract providing

“lifetime” benefits “was an independent contract, supported

by separate consideration and capable of modifying or sup-

planting prior contractual arrangements,” such as the one

that contained the reservation of rights clause. Diehl, 102

F.3d at 306-07. Here, the nature of the HCA as a “lifetime”

benefit is not one of the enhancements created by the VSRP

because the HCA is also a “lifetime” benefit for regular

retirees according to the general retirement plan docu-

ments. Thus, unlike Diehl, the “lifetime” nature of the HCA

benefit could not abrogate the reservation of rights clause

included in the 1992 Retirement Guide and other general

retirement plan documents because both were offered by

the same contract. Moreover, the reservation of rights

clause in Diehl provided an “unsure foundation of the

putative right to discontinue” benefits. Id. at 308. The use

of “lifetime” with respect to the VSRP’s HCA benefit simply

does not operate to vest that benefit for the early retirees.

In Bidlack, the only reservation of rights clause applicable

18 No. 03-2090

to the plan at issue was in a contract between the employer

and an insurance company for the purchase by the former

of health insurance sold by the latter. Bidlack, 993 F.2d at

606. We specifically found that clause inapplicable to the

contract between the employees and the employer as to

duration of benefits, the main issue in that case. Id. Thus,

Bidlack did not involve the situation here where “lifetime”

benefits were granted by the employer while the right to

terminate or modify them was reserved. We have held that,

when “lifetime” benefits are granted by the same contract

that reserves the right to change or terminate benefits, the

“lifetime” benefits are not vested. See Rockford Powertrain,

350 F.3d at 704.

The plaintiffs additionally argue that the Brief

Description Newsletter’s heading, “No reductions in the

Retiree Health Care Allowance” indicated that the HCA

benefit levels could not be altered. (Brief Description

Newsletter at 2.) However, the paragraph accompanying

that heading shows that no such promise was made. The

paragraph reads:

The maximum Retiree Health Care Allowance is earned

at age 62 after 25 years of service as an active em-

ployee. If you retire under the Voluntary Special

Retirement Program, you will be credited with the

maximum Retiree Health Care Allowance, even if you

have less than 25 years of service or are under age 62.”5

5

We note, as an aside, that although “earned” might seem to

connote “vested,” the two are distinguishable (though related)

concepts. In the context of claims to benefits related to a break in

service, the Second Circuit has noted that

“[a]ccrued” benefits refer to those normal retirement benefits

that an employee has earned at any given time during the

course of employment. 29 U.S.C. § 1002(23)(A); see generally

(continued...)

No. 03-2090 19

Id. With respect to the plaintiffs’ contention here, we agree

with the district court that the “plaintiffs’ interpretation of

the provision is not the most sensible one.” (12/28/00 Order

at 8-9.) In context, the heading in the Brief Description

Newsletter refers to and rejects the reduced benefit

amounts that would otherwise apply if an employee who

does not meet the age and service requirements retires

under the general retirement plan.6 Thus, the VSRP’s

enhancement to the regular retirement plan’s HCA benefit

was to ensure that the early retirees qualified for the max-

imum HCA amounts; it was not, and could not reasonably

have been construed as, a promise to vest the HCA benefit

at that maximum level for the remainder of the early

5

(...continued)

Esden v. Bank of Boston, 229 F.3d 154, 162-63 (2d Cir. 2000).

“Vested” benefits, on the other hand, refer to those normal

retirement benefits to which an employee has a “nonforfeit-

able” claim; in other words, those accrued benefits he is en-

titled to keep. 29 U.S.C. § 1002(19).

McDonald v. Pension Plan of the NYSA-ILA Pension Trust Fund,

320 F.3d 151, 156 (2d Cir. 2003). Moreover, we have held that

“ ‘[a]ccrued benefit’ . . . has been interpreted to include retirement

benefits and to exclude ‘ancillary benefits not directly related to

retirement benefits’ like insurance or disability benefits.” Heinz v.

Cent. Laborers’ Pension Fund, 303 F.3d 802, 804-05 (7th Cir.

2002), aff ’d, 2004 U.S. LEXIS 4028 (U.S. June 7, 2004). Thus,

while the use of “earned” as applied to the maximum HCA benefit

level might indicate poor drafting, it does not here indicate an

intent to vest.

6

The plaintiffs may have recognized this in their Statement

of Undisputed Material Facts In Opposition to the Defendant’s

Second Motion for Summary Judgment. (See R. 117 at 5, ¶ 19

(“The VSRP retirees were entitled to receive the maximum Retiree

Health Care Allowance even if they had less than 25 years of

service or were under the age of 62. This benefit was not offered

under the general retirement plan.”).)

20 No. 03-2090

retirees’ lives. The plaintiffs’ insistence to the contrary is

unsupportable.

b. Reservations of rights clauses

The plaintiffs next argue that, as a separate and distinct

program, the benefits in the VSRP were not subject to the

reservations of rights clauses in the various general retire-

ment plan documents, and that the documents specifically

mentioning the VSRP did not contain reservation of rights

clauses. However, regardless of how the plaintiffs believe

the VSRP was marketed to the early retirees, their initial

premise that the VSRP was separate and distinct from the

general retirement plan is incorrect. This is evident from a

review of the Brief Description Newsletter, which repeat-

edly refers to the general retirement plan in discussing the

VSRP’s enhanced benefits, making clear that the general

retirement plan is the baseline program to which the

VSRP’s enhancements would be made.7 The plaintiffs

7

We note four references in the three page document. (Brief

Description Newsletter, R. 109-2, ex. 12.) On page 1, it states, “the

Retirement Plan’s benefit formula for accruing your retirement

allowance usually is a percentage of your average final pay over

the last five years, multiplied by your years of service, but reduced

if you want to retire before age 62. Under the [VSRP], the

following enhancements will apply.” On page 2, it states that

“[u]nder the Retirement Plan, your allowance is normally re-

duced . . . . But if you elect to retire through the [VSRP], these

reduction factors will not apply.” Later on the same page, it states,

“[i]n addition to these changes, we have already announced an

expansion of the Retirement Plan’s definition of pay.” And on page

3: “In addition to the enhanced retirement benefits that are

described above . . . .” Moreover, the VSRP would fail to qualify as

an ERISA retirement program if it were comprised solely of the

documents that specifically mentioned the VSRP and did not take

(continued...)

No. 03-2090 21

themselves admit that the VSRP was a modification of the

regular retirement plan. (Appellants’ Br. at 32.) We also

note that if the plaintiffs were correct that the VSRP was

comprised only of those documents that specifically men-

tioned the VSRP, it would lack such fundamental prere-

quisites as administrative procedures and descriptions of

the very benefits being offered.

Moreover, the Covering Memo specifically incorporated

the 1992 Retirement Guide and its reservation of rights

clause. The Covering Memo stated that “[r]etirement means

a major change in lifestyle for most people, and you’ll need

to weigh the pros and cons carefully. The enclosed materials

are intended to help you arrive at the right decision for

you.” (Covering Memo at 1.) One of the enclosed documents

was the 1992 Retirement Guide, which eligible employees

were told “provides information about the benefits available

to you during retirement and highlights the decisions you

need to make regarding those benefits.” Id. Continental

thus unambiguously stated in writing that the 1992

Retirement Guide, which included a reservation of rights

clause, was part of the VSRP program and contained in-

formation about retirement benefits under the VSRP,

including Continental’s reserved right to alter or terminate

those benefits. The reservation of rights clause appears in a

box near the bottom of the last page of the 15-page docu-

ment: “The coverages described in this Guide may be

amended, revoked or suspended at the Company’s discre-

tion at any time, even after your retirement. No manage-

ment representative has the authority to change, alter or

7

(...continued)

as its baseline the general retirement plan’s terms, procedures

and benefit descriptions. See 29 U.S.C. §§ 1102(a)(1), 1024(a)(1)

(requiring employee benefit plans to be governed by written plan

documents filed with the Secretary of Labor).

22 No. 03-2090

amend these coverages.”8 (1992 Retirement Guide at 15.)

Although the plaintiffs argue that this reservation of rights

clause on its face applies to “the coverages described in this

Guide” and that the VSRP was not mentioned in the 1992

Retirement Guide, we noted earlier that the “lifetime”

nature of the HCA benefit was set out in the 1992 Retire-

ment Guide and that the HCA benefit’s “lifetime” nature

was not one of the VSRP’s enhancements.

Although the 1992 Retirement Guide (with its applicable

reservation of rights clause) was part of the VSRP, along

with, as will be shown, the 1990 Plan and the annual SPDs

available at the time the VSRP was offered, it is worth

addressing CNA’s argument that the lack of any reserva-

tions of rights clauses in the documents that mention the

VSRP amounts to silence (with its presumption against

vesting). If the benefits were not “lifetime” benefits, CNA

would be correct. But, as we noted in Rossetto v. Pabst

Brewing Co., “[i]f there is language in the agreement to

suggest a grant of lifetime benefits, and the suggestion is

not negated by the agreement read as a whole, the plaintiff

is entitled to a trial.” Rossetto, 217 F.3d at 547; see also

Abbruscato v. Empire Blue Cross & Blue Shield, 274

F.3d 90, 98 (2d Cir. 2001) (vacating district court’s grant of

summary judgement in plan’s favor because “lifetime” life

insurance benefits in early retirement plans “are ambiguous

8

Even if the general retirement plan documents were inapplic-

able to the VSRP, the omission of a reservation of rights clause

from the documents mentioning the VSRP would not necessarily

operate to waive CNA’s right to terminate or modify the HCA,

which is an ERISA welfare benefit. See, e.g., Gable v. Sweetheart

Cup Co., 35 F.3d 851, 855 (4th Cir. 1994) (citing Wise v. El Paso

Natural Gas Co., 986 F.2d 929, 938 (5th Cir. 1993) (holding that

“silence” as to an employer’s right to modify the plan does not

“impliedly cede the right to later amend or discontinue cover-

age”)).

No. 03-2090 23

and susceptible to interpretation as a promise of vested

benefits” where neither of the early retirement plans

“contain unambiguous reservation of rights clauses”);

Devlin v. Empire Blue Cross & Blue Shield, 274 F.3d 76, 85

(2d Cir. 2001) (where no reservation of rights clause was

present, “[s]uch ‘lifetime’ language, we believe, is sufficient

to create a triable issue of fact as to whether Empire prom-

ised to vest retiree life insurance benefits at the stated

level.”). Thus, if the plaintiffs had been correct that the

reservation of rights clauses in the general retirement plan

documents did not apply to the VSRP, the grant of “life-

time” benefits would have created an ambiguity allowing

them a trial and allowing us to examine extrinsic evidence

of the parties’ intent. However, since we determined that

this was not the case, there is no ambiguity requiring an

examination of extrinsic evidence. See Rockford Powertrain,

350 F.3d at 704 (“The health insurance section of the plan

description unambiguously does not provide the plaintiffs

with vested lifetime health insurance benefits. Therefore,

we need not resort to extrinsic evidence to interpret the

contractual obligation between the parties.”).

Finally, the plaintiffs argue that language in the 1990

Plan authorized the vesting of their retirement benefits in

such a way that the reservation of rights clause in the 1990

Plan, which they concede was “the controlling document in

existence at the time that the putative class elected to

accept the VSRP plan” (Appellants’ Br. at 23), allowed the

benefits to be changed or terminated only prior to their

retirement.9 For this proposition, the plaintiffs seize upon

9

The 1990 Plan incorporates by reference the Plan’s annual

SPDs and “any changes announced in writing to Employees or to

Retired Employees before the beginning of the calendar year, for

the year in which the services are rendered.” (1990 Plan § 4.2, at

15.) The 1990 Plan is the umbrella ERISA plan under which the

(continued...)

24 No. 03-2090

the following language: “However, no such amendment or

termination shall diminish or eliminate any claim for a

benefit under the Plan to which a participant shall have

become entitled prior to such amendment or termination, as

applicable.” (1990 Plan § 8.1, at 30.) But this argument

presumes the very things the plaintiffs are trying to prove:

that upon their retirement, the early retirees became

entitled to their retirement benefits, which could not be

diminished or eliminated by later amendments. As we have

already explained, welfare benefits, unlike pension benefits,

do not vest upon retirement. And the reservation of rights

clauses contained in the 1992 Retirement Guide and other

general retirement plan documents, which were applicable

to the VSRP, allow amendment or modification of retire-

ment benefits even after retirement. Thus, there was no

entitlement to the HCA benefit on a going-forward basis.

See Hackett v. Xerox Corp., 315 F.3d 771, 774 (7th Cir.

2003) (analyzing language in a benefits plan similar to the

language here and holding that “[r]ights to benefits do not

accrue prospectively”). The language at issue here pre-

vented CNA from amending its retirement plan to require

retirees to pay back HCA allowances already paid out, or

retroactively terminating coverage for a claim to medical

benefits to avoid paying such a claim. The reservations of

rights clauses, on the other hand, allow CNA to prospec-

tively alter or amend its welfare benefits offered to retirees,

even after retirement, and that is what it did.

9

(...continued)

general retirement plan as well as the VSRP were both created.

As the controlling document at the time the plaintiffs elected to

accept the VSRP plan, we find that its reservation of rights clause

also applies to the VSRP. In addition, since the SPDs are incorpo-

rated by reference into the 1990 Plan, any reservation of rights

clauses in the SPDs available to the early retirees at the time the

VSRP was offered are also applicable to the VSRP.

No. 03-2090 25

B. Breach of ERISA and Common Law (Bilateral)

Contract (Count IV)

The district court unsurprisingly had difficulty distin-

guishing this purported contract claim from the plaintiffs’

claim that they were wrongfully denied ERISA benefits.10

As with denial of benefits claims, claims that a contract

vested retirement benefits require that the vesting be done

in writing, not orally. See Frahm, 137 F.3d at 958 (“Al-

though . . . a written plan may be combined with an oral

promise, such as an undertaking to give a worker twice the

benefits so established—the utility of reducing retirement

promises to writing and avoiding arguments about who said

what to whom are so fundamental to both ERISA and

contract law that an extension of the writing requirement

to all long-term commitments is an inescapable ingredient

of the federal common law slowly accumulating in ERISA’s

shadow.”). As we have noted, the HCA benefit at issue was

not vested in writing, so no bilateral contract was created

that vested the HCA benefit.

Although we need not discuss CNA’s argument that the

plaintiffs’ bilateral contract claim is duplicative of its denial

of benefits claim under ERISA, we note that claims by a

beneficiary for wrongful denial of benefits (no matter how

they are styled) have been held by the Supreme Court to

“fall[ ] directly under § 502(a)(1)(B) of ERISA, which

10

We note in this regard that the plaintiffs merely incorporated

their arguments made in support of their wrongful denial of ERISA

benefits claim and did not add any separate legal or factual argu-

ments. (Appellants’ Br. at 36-37.) Moreover, the plaintiffs char-

acterize their wrongful denial of benefits claim in Count II as an

“ERISA Contractual Claim,” id. at 27, quote from a decision in-

volving interpretation of a written ERISA contract, id. at 28-29,

and discuss the issue using contractual language such as “bar-

gained . . . in consideration for,” id. at 27, and “offered and

accepted,” id. at 32.

26 No. 03-2090

provides an exclusive federal cause of action for resolution

of such disputes.” Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Taylor, 481

U.S. 58, 62-63 (1987). Recent decisions of both this circuit

and the Supreme Court have held that state law claims,

such as the plaintiffs’ breach of common law contract claim

here, are pre-empted by ERISA. See Aetna Health Inc. v.

Davila, 2004 WL 1373230, at *10 (U.S. June 21, 2004)

(“Congress’ intent to make the ERISA civil enforcement

mechanism exclusive would be undermined if state causes

of action that supplement the ERISA § 502(a) remedies

were permitted, even if the elements of the state cause of

action did not precisely duplicate the elements of an ERISA

claim.”); Klassy v. Physicians Plus Ins. Co., 2004 WL

1326717, at *4 (7th Cir. June 15, 2004) (“ERISA provides a

remedy for plan participants wrongfully denied benefits.

However, such claims must be brought under ERISA and

creatively pleading a denial of benefits claim as a state law

claim does not defeat the broad preemptive force of

ERISA.”). Thus, even if we had found that a written

agreement vested the HCA benefit, the breach of common

law contract claim would be pre-empted by ERISA § 502(a),

while the breach of ERISA contract claim is duplicative of

Count II, as is evident from the plaintiffs’ briefs on appeal.

It is appropriate to disallow a breach of common law

contract claim here because plaintiffs should not be allowed

to bring a denial of ERISA benefits claim in the guise of a

common law breach of contract, thereby ensuring de novo

review and no limitations on the record even if (as here) the

plan administrator had the discretion to determine that no

contract vested benefits and that benefits could therefore

legally be terminated.

C. Estoppel (Count V)

In order to prevail on an estoppel claim under ERISA, we

ordinarily require that plaintiffs show (1) a knowing mis-

No. 03-2090 27

representation; (2) that was made in writing; (3) with

reasonable reliance on that misrepresentation by them; (4)

to their detriment. See Coker v. TWA, 165 F.3d 579 (7th Cir.

1999). However, we have found an exception when plan

documents are ambiguous or misleading, in which case oral

representations as to the meaning of the documents may be

relevant. See Bowerman v. Wal-Mart Stores, 226 F.3d 574,

588 (7th Cir. 2000). The district court found that exception

inapplicable here—a finding that is not contested by the

plaintiffs—and decided the issue on the basis that the

plaintiffs unreasonably relied on the representation that

the HCA benefit was a “lifetime” benefit as meaning that it

was also a vested benefit. Their reliance was unreasonable

given that the general retirement plan documents, to which

the plaintiffs were referred, contained “numerous, unambig-

uous provisions reserving CNA’s right to amend, suspend,

or terminate the health care subsidy.” (12/28/00 Order at

13.) As a guideline for the boundaries of ERISA estoppel, we

have emphasized the “narrow scope” of estoppel claims and

have noted that “only extreme circumstances” justify such

claims. Sandstrom v. Cultor Food Science, 214 F.3d 795,

797 (7th Cir. 2000); Coker, 165 F.3d at 585.

In their brief on appeal, the plaintiffs argue that there is

a material question of fact whether a promise made to them

in writing that their HCA benefit would not be terminated,

referring specifically to the heading in the Brief Description

Newsletter stating that there would be no reduction in the

HCA benefit. But this estoppel claim fails for two reasons.

First, the plaintiffs have not shown a knowing misrepresen-

tation of fact. Although “[r]epresentations about plans and

intentions could be false if, at the time the statements were

made, the speaker actually had a different intention,”

Frahm, 137 F.3d at 961, the district court found that, at the

time the VSRP was offered, Continental had no intention of

terminating the “lifetime” HCA benefit. Moreover, the

plaintiffs have pointed to no false statements about whether

28 No. 03-2090

the HCA benefit could be terminated, and the district

court’s uncontested finding that the early retirees were not

told explicitly that the “lifetime” benefits were irrevocable

is therefore dispositive. The fact that the benefits were

“lifetime” was not a misrepresentation; as we have dis-

cussed, the plaintiffs’ confusion stems from their erroneous

(though understandable) equation of “lifetime” with

“vested.”

Second, the plaintiffs cannot show reasonable reliance.

We agree with the district court that, even if there were

material written misrepresentations as to the nature of the

HCA benefit, the plaintiffs unreasonably ignored the

reservations of rights clauses in the general retirement plan

documents that put them on notice that the HCA benefit

could be terminated or modified. The plaintiffs argue that

“[a]ll of the benefits were packaged in a single plan,” which

justified their reliance on the alleged representation that

“the VSRP and all of its entitlements would not be termi-

nated.” (Appellants’ Br. at 38.) However, not only were no

representations made that benefits would not be terminated

or altered, but, as we explained earlier, the packaging of a

welfare benefit (such as the HCA) with pension benefits

does not by itself make the welfare benefit a vested benefit.

D. Breach of ERISA Fiduciary Duty (Count III)

ERISA requires a trustee or other fiduciary to “discharge

his duties with respect to a plan solely in the interest of the

participants and beneficiaries.” 29 U.S.C. § 1104(a)(1). In

interpreting this statute, the Supreme Court has held that

an employer breaches its fiduciary obligation by lying to

employees in order to induce them to surrender their

benefits. Varity Corp. v. Howe, 516 U.S. 489, 506 (1996).

The plaintiffs point us to decisions from the Second, Third

and Sixth Circuits which have supported claims for breach

No. 03-2090 29

of fiduciary duty on similar facts. The Second Circuit, which

has given the broadest scope to ERISA fiduciary duty

claims, has held that representing to plan participants that

a plan’s benefits are “lifetime” when they are not vested can

create a genuine issue of material fact as to whether

misrepresentations were made or whether there was a

failure to provide complete and accurate information.

Abbruscato, 274 F.3d at 102-03. The Third Circuit has held

that a fiduciary duty claim could proceed, despite the

employer’s reservation of the right to terminate retirement

benefits, when oral and written representations were made

to employees that the benefits would continue for life and

the employer was aware that retirement decisions were

being based on the mistaken assumption that the benefits

were also vested. In re Unisys Corp. Retiree Med. Benefit

“ERISA” Litig., 57 F.3d 1255, 1266-67 (3d Cir. 1995). And

the Sixth Circuit has held that a breach of fiduciary duty

claim was made out where a company—both of its own ac-

cord and in response to specific employee inquiries—mis-

represented to employees that a reservation of rights clause

in the plan did not allow retirement benefits to be changed

when the legal effect of the clause was precisely the oppo-

site. James v. Pirelli, 305 F.3d 439, 455-56 (6th Cir. 2002).

In this circuit, a breach of fiduciary duty exists if fiducia-

ries “mislead plan participants or misrepresent the terms

or administration of a plan.” Anweiler v. American Elec.

Power Serv. Corp., 3 F.3d 986, 991 (7th Cir. 1993), quoted

in Bowerman, 226 F.3d at 590. “Although not every error in

communicating information regarding a plan will be found

to violate a fiduciary’s duty under ERISA, we have made

clear that fiduciaries must communicate material facts

affecting the interests of plan participants or beneficiaries

and that this duty to communicate exists when a partici-

pant or beneficiary ‘asks fiduciaries for information, and

even when he or she does not.’ ” Bowerman, 226 F.3d at 590

(citations omitted). However, in Frahm, we found that

30 No. 03-2090

advice to employees stressing the availability of “lifetime”

benefits without any qualifiers indicating that the employer

reserved the right to change or terminate the benefits was

not a breach of fiduciary duty. Frahm, 137 F.3d at 959. As

we noted in Frahm:

Some readers must have mentally added the word

“unreduced” after a word such as “lifetime.” Yet unless

§ 1104(a)(1) is a guarantor of accurate information at

all times and for the indefinite future—unless it creates

not only a duty of care, but also a duty of previ-

sion—then claims that one or another bit of advice was

misleading do not violate this statute.

Id. at 959-60. We also found in Frahm that “[t]he district

court’s finding that [the employer] did not set out to deceive

or disadvantage plan participants therefore forecloses

plaintiffs’ claim under § 1104(a)(1).” Id. at 960.

Although the plaintiffs attempt to distinguish Frahm, the

bases upon which they draw distinctions are irrelevant. The

plaintiffs assert that Frahm did not involve a claimed

ambiguity in the documents, but rather, conflicting evi-

dence about what representations were made to plaintiffs.

But the need to address the claimed ambiguity does not

detract from the relevance to the plaintiffs’ situation of

Frahm’s legal conclusions, and the plaintiffs don’t explain

why Frahm’s legal conclusions are irrelevant. The plaintiffs

also assert that, contrary to the district court’s finding,

there was a “campaign of disinformation” here as in Varity.

If this were correct, that would indeed serve to distinguish

Frahm, but there is no evidence of any intent to purpose-

fully mislead employees. Rather, our conclusion that

Continental fulfilled its duty of loyalty with respect to the

potential early retirees is supported by the district court’s

finding that at the time the VSRP was offered, Continental

had no intention of eliminating the “lifetime” HCA benefit

in the future. The plaintiffs characterize Continental’s

No. 03-2090 31

failure to explain, expressly and clearly, that the HCA

benefit could be altered or terminated—just like the other

welfare benefits offered to all retiring Continental employ-

ees—as “an intentional failure to warn VSRP participants”

that Continental or a future merger partner could termi-

nate the HCA at any time (Appellants’ Br. at 34), and, even

more egregiously, as “a concerted effort by CNA to remain

silent about the HCA termination potential, in order to

achieve its goals of maximizing retirements” (Appellants’

Br. at 36). But just because Continental wanted as many of

its eligible employees as possible to accept the VSRP does

not mean that it purposefully violated its duty of loyalty by

failing to provide an explicit warning when the necessary

information was already in the early retirees’ hands. If

anything, the failure to provide an explicit warning is just

as easily explainable by non-actionable negligence as by a

disloyal intent, and in that sense, Frahm is on all fours. See

Frahm, 137 F.3d at 959 (“[S]lipups in managing any

complex enterprise are inevitable, and negligence—a

violation of the duty of care— is not actionable.”). In this

respect, it is significant that the reduction of retiree welfare

benefits in the face of rising health care costs is generally

a relatively recent development, and warning of that

possibility only recently became important. Cf. Bidlack, 993

F.2d at 613-14 & n.3 (Cudahy, J., concurring) (noting that

the idea that retiree health benefits could be granted on

anything less than a “lifetime” basis was a fairly recent

development and that a presumption that silence indicated

vesting was probably more in keeping with the parties’

expectations at the time the agreement at issue was made).

The district court was correct that Frahm demonstrates

a narrower interpretation of Varity than exists in other

circuits. Specifically, while there is a duty to provide ac-

curate information under ERISA, negligence in fulfilling

that duty is not actionable. See Frahm, 137 F.3d at 959.

That is why the employer must have set out to disadvan-

32 No. 03-2090

tage or deceive its employees, as in Varity, in order for a

breach of fiduciary duty to be made out. See id. at 960.

Here, there is no evidence that Continental purposefully

intended to confuse plan participants by “packag[ing] the

HCA with pension incentives” when “[t]hey knew that

welfare benefits can be terminated, yet they never warned

the retirees.” (Appellants’ Br. at 35.) For one thing,

Continental’s general retirement plan also “packaged”

pension benefits with welfare benefits. We believe that this

is a common practice, and we cannot find that it evinces

an intent to confuse or deceive on Continental’s part. For

another, as we have already noted, the mere fact that pen-

sion and welfare benefits are part of the same retirement

package does not mean, up to this point at least, that

employers are required to warn employees that the welfare

benefits, unlike the pension benefits, are terminable. As we

have repeatedly held, silence indicates that welfare benefits

are not vested, see Rossetto, 217 F.3d at 544, and we have

not limited these holdings to retirement plans containing

only welfare benefits. Thus, the lack of a specific warning

that welfare benefits are terminable would not alone create

a breach of fiduciary duty. There is simply no evidence that

Continental set out to deceive its employees by its actions,

and the district court therefore correctly found that the

plaintiffs’ claimed breach of fiduciary duty fails under

Frahm.

In fact, it is not even clear that the information provided

was inaccurate. As we found earlier, the general retirement

plan documents containing reservation of rights clauses

were made part of the VSRP by the documents setting out

the VSRP’s enhancements. There was no evidence that any

employee ever specifically asked about the irrevocability of

the HCA benefit, that Continental falsely indicated to any

employee that the HCA benefit was irrevocable or that

Continental was aware that the early retirees were com-

ing to the mistaken conclusion that “lifetime” equated to

No. 03-2090 33

“vested.” And in this circuit, if accurate written information

is provided, as it was here, then the plaintiffs are unfortu-

nately out of luck. See Kamler v. H/N Telcom. Servs., 305

F.3d 672, 682 (7th Cir. 2002), cert. denied, 2003 U.S. LEXIS

2536 (U.S. Mar. 31, 2003); Librizzi v. Children’s Mem. Med.

Ctr., 134 F.3d 1102, 1305 (7th Cir. 1998). In law, the

inclusion of reservation of rights clauses in an agreement

accurately conveys that benefits may be altered or termi-

nated. Thus, the plaintiffs’ fiduciary duty claim fails.

IV. Conclusion

This story does not have a happy ending. What this case

comes down to, in the end, is the distinction between

“lifetime” and “vested” welfare benefits—a legal distinction

that understandably escaped many of Continental’s em-

ployees who elected to take early retirement under the

VSRP. It is also a distinction that, as we have pointed out

above, only relatively recently became important. But now

this legal distinction has indeed become an important one,

because the lack of a writing that expressly vests the “life-

time” HCA benefit combined with Continental’s reservation

of the right to terminate benefits means that the plaintiffs’

claims of wrongful denial of benefits, breach of contract and

estoppel must fail. As for the plaintiffs’ fiduciary duty

claim, we agree with the district court’s observation that, in

hindsight, Continental would have better served its employ-

ees by proactively clarifying its intent with respect to the

HCA benefit during the time its employees were deciding

whether to take early retirement under the VSRP. Its

failure to do so has left the plaintiffs, and undoubtedly

many other long-time former Continental employees, feeling

betrayed. However, we also agree with the district court

that, at least in this circuit, Continental’s failure is not

actionable as a breach of fiduciary duty. For the foregoing

34 No. 03-2090

reasons, the district court’s grant of summary judgment to

the defendants on all of the plaintiffs’ claims must be

AFFIRMED.

A true Copy:

Teste:

________________________________

Clerk of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

USCA-02-C-0072—7-15-04

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.