Opinion

Carr v. Reliance Standard

Court
Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit
Filed
Apr 14, 2004
Status
Published
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 39.1%

affirming company’s determination that analogous provision means “that it need only demonstrate that [the applicant] is not wholly and continuously unable to do her job (i.e. that there is some part of her job that she can do)”

How later courts described this case

  • affirming company’s determination that analogous provision means “that it need only demonstrate that [the applicant] is not wholly and continuously unable to do her job (i.e. that there is some part of her job that she can do)”

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

RECOMMENDED FOR FULL-TEXT PUBLICATION

Pursuant to Sixth Circuit Rule 206 2 Carr v. Reliance Standard Life Ins. Co. No. 02-2377

ELECTRONIC CITATION: 2004 FED App. 0103P (6th Cir.)

File Name: 04a0103p.06 _________________

COUNSEL

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

ON BRIEF: Walter J. Goldsmith, Mark H. Fink, MADDIN,

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT HAUSER, WARTELL, ROTH, HELLER & PESSES,

_________________ Southfield, Michigan, for Appellant. Joshua Bachrach,

RAWLE & HENDERSON, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, for

GARY CARR , X Appellee.

Plaintiff-Appellant, -

- _________________

- No. 02-2377

v. OPINION

-

> _________________

,

RELIANCE STANDARD LIFE - WILLIAM W SCHWARZER, Senior District Judge. Gary

INSURANCE COMPANY , - Carr appeals the district court’s judgment rejecting his claim

Defendant-Appellee. - for long-term disability (“LTD”) benefits under the plan

- maintained by his employer and administered by the

N defendant, Reliance Standard Life Insurance Company

Appeal from the United States District Court (“Reliance”).

for the Eastern District of Michigan at Detroit.

No. 02-70387—Denise Page Hood, District Judge. Carr suffered from severe coronary artery disease and was

an insulin-dependent diabetic. He worked full-time until

Submitted: March 17, 2004 June 27, 1999, when he left his position for treatment for

necrotizing fasciitis (“flesh-eating bacteria”). He returned to

Decided and Filed: April 14, 2004 work on a part-time basis on August 16, 1999. He continued

to work part-time until January 14, 2000, when he left his

Before: ROGERS and COOK, Circuit Judges; position permanently on account of his disability. After

SCHWARZER, Senior District Judge.* initially rejecting Carr’s claim for LTD benefits for lack of

sufficient clinical findings, Reliance again reviewed the claim

after Carr filed suit. It determined that Carr was not eligible

for benefits because he did not qualify under the definition of

Total Disability when he ceased being a full–time employee

on June 27, 1999.

The LTD plan provides in relevant part:

* “Totally Disabled” and “Total Disability” mean, that as

The Honorable William W Schwarzer, Senior United States District

Judge for the Northern District of California, sitting by designation. a result of an Injury or Sickness:

1

No. 02-2377 Carr v. Reliance Standard Life Ins. Co. 3 4 Carr v. Reliance Standard Life Ins. Co. No. 02-2377

(1) during the Elimination Period, an Insured cannot Carr timely appealed. The district court had jurisdiction

perform each and every material duty of his/her under 29 U.S.C. § 1132(e) and 28 U.S.C. § 1331, and we

regular occupation; and have jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1291.

(2) for the first 60 months for which a Monthly

Benefit is payable, an Insured cannot perform the DISCUSSION

material duties of his/her regular occupation;

(a) “Partially Disabled” and “Partial Disability” Under the terms of the plan at issue, Reliance serves as the

mean that as a result of an Injury or Sickness an claims review fiduciary with respect to the insurance policy

Insured is capable of performing the material and the plan and has the discretionary authority to interpret

duties of his/her regular occupation on a part- the plan and the insurance policy and to determine eligibility

time basis or some of the material duties on a for benefits.1 We therefore review its “decision to deny

full-time basis. An Insured who is Partially benefits using ‘the highly deferential arbitrary and capricious

Disabled will be considered Totally Disabled, standard of review.’”2 Killian v. Healthsource Provident

except during the Elimination Period. . . . Adm’rs, 152 F.3d 514, 520 (6th Cir. 1998) (quoting Yeager v.

Reliance Standard Life Ins. Co., 88 F.3d 376, 380 (6th Cir.

(Emphasis added.) Reliance determined that Carr was not 1996)).

Totally Disabled during the Elimination Period because he

“demonstrated that he was not disabled from Each and Every Carr contends that Reliance and the district court erred in

material duty of his occupation during the period that he interpreting the plan’s definition of “Total Disability” to bar

worked 20 hours weekly in his executive capacity with recovery if the applicant can perform any of his material

several operating units reporting to him between August 16, duties during the Elimination Period. He argues that “the

1999 and January 15, 2000.” It also determined that Carr Policy unmistakably manifests the intent and understanding

could not recover benefits beginning on January 14, 2000,

when he left work permanently, because his coverage had 1

terminated as of June 27, 1999, when he ceased being an W e reject Carr’s contention that Reliance should be estopped from

active, full-time employee as required under the terms of the receiving the benefit of this provision of the plan because, in response to

a request mad e prio r to the filing o f this lawsuit, the comp any erroneously

plan. sent him an earlier version of the policy which did not give Reliance

discretion to interpret the plan and determine eligibility for benefits. Carr

On cross-motions for summary judgment, the district court has failed to establish the elements of an estoppel claim, in particular that

granted Reliance’s motion, rejecting Carr’s claim for benefits he detrimentally and justifiably relied on actions or representations of

beginning on June 26, 1999. It held that “[i]t is clear from the Reliance. See Trustees of the Mich. Laborers’ Health Care Fund v.

Gibbons, 209 F.3d 58 7, 591 (6th Cir. 2000).

Policy language that an employee cannot be partially disabled

during the Elimination Period” and that here “[t]here is 2

Our application of the arbitrary and capricious standard of review

nothing in the medical record that shows that Plaintiff was is “shaped by the circumstances of the inherent conflict of interest” arising

unable to perform the material duties of his occupation while from the fact that Reliance bo th funde d the p lan and determined eligibility

he was working part-time between August 1999 and January for bene fits. Borda v. Ho rdy, Lewis, P ollard & Page, P .C., 138 F.3d

2000.” 1062, 1069 (6th Cir. 1998) (internal quotation omitted). However, we

have not found that this inherent conflict of interest in any way influenced

Reliance’s decisio n. See Peruzzi v. Summa M ed. Plan, 137 F.3d 431, 433

(6th Cir. 1998).

No. 02-2377 Carr v. Reliance Standard Life Ins. Co. 5 6 Carr v. Reliance Standard Life Ins. Co. No. 02-2377

that an Injured who, during the Elimination Period, is unable Elimination Period will not be considered Totally Disabled

to perform one or more of the material duties of his/her and thus eligible for benefits.3

regular occupation — even on a part-time basis — will be

deemed Totally Disabled.” Because we conclude that Reliance did not act arbitrarily or

capriciously in denying Carr’s claim for LTD benefits, the

We disagree. The plan plainly limits finding “Total judgment of the district court is AFFIRMED.

Disability” to a claimant who “cannot perform each and every

material duty of his/her regular occupation” during the

Elimination Period. If a claimant can perform even one

material duty of his regular occupation during the Elimination

Period, he is not totally disabled. See Gallagher v. Reliance

Standard Life Ins. Co., 305 F.3d 264, 275 (4th Cir. 2002)

(“Because Gallagher could perform certain occupational

duties prior to [the date he resigned] and has not presented

evidence demonstrating that his condition became more

severe on or after [that date], we conclude that Gallagher has

not submitted objectively satisfactory evidence that he was

unable to perform each and every material duty of his

occupation during the elimination period.”); Porter v.

Metropolitan Life Ins. Co., 17 F. Supp. 2d 500, 506 (D.S.C.

1998) (affirming company’s determination that analogous

provision means “that it need only demonstrate that [the

applicant] is not wholly and continuously unable to do her job

(i.e. that there is some part of her job that she can do)”).

Here, it is undisputed that Carr returned to work on

August 16, 1999, before the end of the Elimination Period,

and continued to work part-time until January 14, 2000. He

worked approximately twenty hours per week and earned

roughly $4,400 every two weeks. This record supports the

finding that during the Elimination Period, Carr was not

unable to “perform each and every material duty of his

[occupation].” Indeed Carr’s situation falls squarely within

the plan’s definition of “Partial Disability” since he was 3

Carr also argues that his reasonable expectations concerning the

“capable of performing the material duties of his[] regular interpretation of the plan should control. He conced es on reply, however,

occupation on a part-time basis.” The plan clearly states that that this contra proferentum rule applies only where contractual language

an insured who is only Partially Disabled during the is found to have mo re than one interpre tation. See Marquette Gen. Hosp.

v. Goo dman F orest Indu s., 315 F.3d 629, 632 n.1 (6th Cir. 2003). As

discussed above, the plan is unambiguous on its face , rendering C arr’s

reaso nable expectations irrelevant.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.