Opinion

DOWCP v. Newport News Shipbld

Court
Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit
Filed
Oct 12, 2000
Status
Published
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 38.9%

The opinion

PUBLISHED

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

DIRECTOR, OFFICE OF WORKERS'

COMPENSATION PROGRAMS, UNITED

STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR,

Petitioner,

v. No. 97-2099

NEWPORT NEWS SHIPBUILDING AND

DRY DOCK COMPANY; SAMUEL

DILLARD,

Respondents.

On Petition for Review of an Order

of the Benefits Review Board.

(BRB No. 96-731)

Argued: October 26, 1998

Decided: October 12, 2000

Before WIDENER, LUTTIG, and WILLIAMS, Circuit Judges.

_________________________________________________________________

Petition granted and case remanded with instructions by published

opinion. Judge Widener wrote the opinion, in which Judge Luttig and

Judge Williams joined.

_________________________________________________________________

COUNSEL

ARGUED: Laura Jessica Stomski, Office of the Solicitor, UNITED

STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR, Washington, D.C., for Peti-

tioner. Benjamin McMullan Mason, MASON & MASON, Newport

News, Virginia, for Respondents. ON BRIEF: Marvin Krislov, Dep-

uty Solicitor for National Operations, Carol A. De Deo, Associate

Solicitor for Employment Benefits, Samuel J. Oshinsky, Counsel for

Longshore, Office of the Solicitor, UNITED STATES DEPART-

MENT OF LABOR, Washington, D.C., for Petitioner.

_________________________________________________________________

OPINION

WIDENER, Circuit Judge:

This case arises from a claim for benefits under the Longshore and

Harbor Workers' Compensation Act, 33 U.S.C. § 901 et seq. (the

Act). The Director of the Office of Workers' Compensation Pro-

grams, United States Department of Labor, appeals the Benefits

Review Board's affirmance of an administrative law judge's (ALJ)

determination to grant Newport News Shipbuilding and Dry Dock

Company special fund relief under § 8(f) and§ 44 of the Act, 33

U.S.C. § 908(f) and § 944. Section 908(f) is commonly called § 8(f).

For the reasons stated below, we grant the petition for review and

remand this case for further proceedings consistent with this opinion.

On October 30, 1987, Samuel Dillard, a Newport News employee,

sustained a work-related back injury that resulted in permanent partial

disability. Several years later, Dillard filed for permanent disability

benefits from Newport News. On October 14, 1994 while Dillard's

claim for benefits was pending before the district director, Newport

News filed a timely § 8(f) claim requesting relief from full disability

payments to Dillard. Section 8(f) entitles an employer to limit par-

tially its responsibility for benefits due to an employee if the

employer can demonstrate that the employee suffered a permanent

partial disability, the pre-existing disability was manifest to the

employer when it hired the employee, and the pre-existing disability

contributed to the permanent total disability caused by the work

related injury. See Director, Office of Workers' Compensation Pro-

grams v. Newport News Shipbuilding & Dry Dock Co. , 676 F.2d 110,

114 (4th Cir. 1982); cf. Director, Office of Workers' Compensation

Programs v. Newport News Shipbuilding & Dry Dock Co. , 134 F.3d

1241, 1243 (4th Cir. 1998). If the employer's § 8(f) claim is success-

2

ful, then the employer is only responsible for 104 weeks of compensa-

tion. See 33 U.S.C. § 908(f)(1). The remainder of a claimant's

workers' compensation benefits are paid from a special fund estab-

lished under the Act. See 33 U.S.C. § 944.

Newport News based its § 8(f) claim on Dillard's pre-existing hear-

ing loss and left-foot injury. The district director denied Newport

News' § 8(f) application, and the matter was referred to an ALJ. On

March 14, 1995, a formal hearing was held before the ALJ to resolve

the issues of Dillard's entitlement to permanent disability benefits and

Newport News' right to § 8(f) relief. Subsequent to this formal hear-

ing Newport News filed a medical report and asserted, for the first

time, that entitlement to § 8(f) relief was also based on Dillard's pre-

existing back condition in addition to his hearing loss and foot injury.

Newport News does not contest that it asserted Dillard's back condi-

tion as a new ground for § 8(f) relief following the district director's

consideration of the claim and the formal hearing before the ALJ.

In response to Newport News' assertion of Dillard's back condition

as a ground for § 8(f) relief, the Director filed a post-hearing brief in

which it raised what is called the "absolute defense" against special

fund liability. The absolute defense applies when an employer fails to

present its claim for § 8(f) relief to the district director. See 33 U.S.C.

§ 908(f)(3). The Director argued that Newport News was statutorily

required to present all grounds for § 8(f) relief to the district director

and that Newport News could not subsequently supplement its appli-

cation with alternative grounds for relief. The Director further main-

tained that to defeat the absolute defense to an untimely § 8(f) claim,

Newport News had the burden of demonstrating that when it initially

filed its claim with the district director it could not have reasonably

anticipated the special fund's liability for § 8(f) relief based on Dil-

lard's back injury. The ALJ rejected the Director's legal argument

and held that Newport News could add a new ground for § 8(f) relief

after the district director considered the claim. The ALJ then found

that Dillard's pre-existing back injury contributed to his compensable

disability, thus Dillard's back condition, the late-asserted ground,

served as the sole basis for § 8(f) relief, the ALJ having determined

that, for lack of qualifying proof, the ankle injury and loss of hearing

did not legally contribute to the disability.

3

The Director appealed to the Review Board, which affirmed the

ALJ's determination that Newport News could amend its § 8(f) claim

to include a new, alternative ground for relief after the district director

considered the claim. The Director then filed this appeal. We consider

the specific question of whether Newport News can amend its original

§ 8(f) claim based on Dillard's pre-existing hearing loss and foot

injury to include a new ground for relief based on Dillard's pre-

existing back condition subsequent to the district director's consider-

ation of the claim.

Section 8(f) details the procedures that regulate the application pro-

cess when an employer requests relief from the special fund:

Any request . . . for apportionment of liability to the special

fund . . . and a statement of grounds therefore, shall be pre-

sented to the [district director] prior to the consideration of

the claim by the [district director]. Failure to present such

request prior to such consideration shall be an absolute

defense to the special fund's liability for the payment of any

benefits in the connection with such a claim, unless the

employer could not have reasonably anticipated the liability

of the special fund prior to the issuance of a compensation

order.

33 U.S.C. § 908(f)(3). The implementing regulations also state:

(1) A request for section (8(f) relief should be made as soon

as the permanency of the claimant's condition becomes

known or is an issue in dispute . . . .

(3) . . . [f]ailure to submit a fully documented application by

the date established by the district director shall be an abso-

lute defense to the liability of the special fund . . . The fail-

ure of an employer to present a timely and fully documented

application for section 8(f) relief may be excused only

where the employer could not have reasonably anticipated

the liability of the special fund prior to the consideration of

the claim by the district director.

4

20 C.F.R. § 702.321(b)(1), (3). The language of both the Act and the

regulations creates an absolute defense against§ 8(f) relief when an

employer fails to present a complete § 8(f) claim to the district direc-

tor, "unless the employer could not have reasonably anticipated the

liability of the special fund" before the district director considered the

claim.

This court recently considered the application of the absolute

defense in the context of determining whether Newport News could

make a wholesale substitution of one ground for§ 8(f) relief for

another subsequent to the district director's consideration of the

claim. See Newport News, 134 F.3d 1241. We held that when New-

port News substituted the new ground for relief before the ALJ, "the

ALJ was obligated to credit the Director's absolute defense unless the

ALJ found that Newport News could not have reasonably anticipated

the liability of the fund on late-asserted ground at the time the

employer filed its § 8(f) claim before the district director." See New-

port News, 134 F.3d at 1245. We now confront the analogous ques-

tion of whether Newport News can add a late-asserted ground for

relief rather than whether it can substitute a new ground altogether.

The statutory language of § 8(f) states that"any request . . . for

apportionment of liability to the special fund . . . and a statement of

the grounds therefore, shall be presented to the[district director] prior

to consideration of the claim by the [district director]." 33 U.S.C.

§ 908(f)(3). This language requires that an employer present its

grounds for relief to the district director before the district director

considers the claim. The provision ensures that the district director

will have a full and fair opportunity to defend the fund from a § 8(f)

claim. If promiscuous amendments were freely allowed the district

director would never be able to defend adequately the fund against

claims because employers could continually amend their claims to

include new grounds for relief that the district director never had the

opportunity to consider. Section 8(f)'s requirement that an employer

submit a statement of the grounds for relief to the district director

would be rendered meaningless if an employer could unqualifiedly

and subsequently amend its § 8(f) claim after the district director orig-

inally considered it.

Here, Newport News filed its original § 8(f) claim with the district

director based on Dillard's pre-existing hearing loss and foot injury.

5

Newport News did not raise Dillard's pre-existing back condition as

a ground for relief until after the formal hearing before the ALJ.

When Newport News amended its complaint to include the new

ground, "the ALJ was obligated to credit the Director's absolute

defense unless the ALJ found that Newport News could not have rea-

sonably anticipated the liability of the fund on the late-asserted

ground at the time the employer filed its § 8(f) claim before the dis-

trict director." Newport News, 134 F.3d at 1245. Rather than credit the

absolute defense, however, the ALJ erroneously determined, as a mat-

ter of law, that Newport News could amend its § 8(f) claim to include

an entirely new ground for relief that the district director did not con-

sider.

In making this decision, the ALJ stated that "to limit an employer

to its original theory for section 8(f) relief would unfairly and unrea-

sonably nullify the discovery tool in any case involving section 8(f)

relief." Therefore, the ALJ concluded:

Employer [Newport News] asserts, and the Director does

not dispute, that Employer was unaware of critical informa-

tion concerning Claimant's [Dillard] prior back injuries

before referral of the matter to the Office of Administrative

Law Judges for discovery and hearing . . . . Therefore, I find

that the absolute defense is not available to the Director to

defeat the Employer's section 8(f) claim as it relates to pre-

existing back injuries.*

The ALJ's conclusion that Newport News was unaware of critical

information, however, is not tantamount to a finding under § 8(f) that

Newport News could not have reasonably anticipated Dillard's back

condition as a ground for relief. Because the ALJ did not credit the

absolute defense in the first place, he did not consider whether New-

port News "could not have reasonably anticipated the liability of the

_________________________________________________________________

*The ALJ relied on Elliott v. Newport News Shipbuilding and Dry

Dock Co., 29 BRBS 31 (ALJ)(1994) in deciding that Newport News

could add a new ground for relief. We subsequently reversed the Elliott

decision in Newport News, 134 F.3d at 1245 as discussed above. Our

decision in Newport News had not yet been published at the time of the

ALJ's decision to deny the absolute defense.

6

special fund" based upon the evidence including medical reports that

it possessed regarding Dillard's back injury at the time it filed the

§ 8(f) claim with the district director. In fact, the ALJ's opinion does

not mention the language of § 8(f)(3) at all.

On appeal, the Review Board affirmed the ALJ's ruling. In its

opinion, the Review Board stated:

The administrative law judge in effect found that the

employer's claim for Section 8(f) relief based in claimant's

pre-existing back injuries was not barred pursuant to Section

8(f)(3) because the employer could not have reasonably

anticipated the liability of the Special Fund with regard to

these injuries because it was unaware of critical information

concerning claimant's prior back injuries prior to referral of

the case to the Office of Administrative Law Judges.

By the statement just above, the Review Board attributed findings to

the ALJ that the ALJ himself never made regarding Newport News'

claim. In denying the Director's assertion of the absolute defense the

ALJ failed to consider whether Newport News could have reasonably

anticipated the special fund's liability; an issue that arises once the

ALJ reaches the initial conclusion that the absolute defense applies.

Whatever its powers on review, the Board cannot supply in lieu of

what the ALJ did not find, what he intended to find, or what he "in

effect" found, rather it must deal with stated findings or the absence

thereof.

Because the ALJ denied the Director's absolute defense, he never

made the required finding as to whether Newport News could have

reasonably anticipated the liability of the special fund as to Dillard's

back injury. Therefore, we must remand as "[o]nly an ALJ has the

power to make the factual findings, assess the credibility of the rele-

vant witnesses, and resolve any inconsistencies in the evidence neces-

sary to determine if Newport News demonstrated that it could not

have reasonably anticipated the late-asserted ground for § 8(f) relief

at the time the company initially filed its application with the district

director." Newport News, 134 F.3d at 1246.

Because the ALJ failed to credit the Director's assertion of the

absolute defense in § 8(f)(3), and the Review Board affirmed without

7

the necessary factual findings before it, we grant the petition for

review, vacate the order reviewed, and remand this case to the Board

for further proceedings consistent with this opinion.

PETITION GRANTED AND CASE

REMANDED WITH INSTRUCTIONS

8

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.