Opinion

Triumph Trucking, Inc. v. Southern Corporate Insurance Managers, Inc., D/B/A Transportation Insurance Managers

Court
Texas Court of Appeals, 1st District (Houston)
Filed
Aug 10, 2006
Status
Published
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 35.2%

“If payment is within the collateral source rule, the principle forbidding more than one recovery for the same loss is not applicable.”

How later courts described this case

  • “If payment is within the collateral source rule, the principle forbidding more than one recovery for the same loss is not applicable.”

Written by the judges who cited it.

The opinion

Opinion issued August 10, 2006

In The

Court of Appeals

For The

First District of Texas

NO. 01-05-00529-CV

TRIUMPH TRUCKING, INC., Appellant

V.

SOUTHERN CORPORATE INSURANCE MANAGERS, INC.

D/B/A TRANSPORTATION INSURANCE MANAGERS, Appellee

On Appeal from the 157th District Court

Harris County, Texas

Trial Court Cause No. 2002-52148-A

O P I N I O N

Appellant, Triumph Trucking, Inc., appeals the take-nothing judgment rendered

by the trial court after a jury found in favor of appellant. In two issues, Triumph

contends that the trial court erred in disregarding the jury’s verdict and in admitting

evidence of the trial court’s pretrial turnover of interpleaded funds to Triumph. We

affirm.

BACKGROUND

Appellant, Triumph Trucking, Inc. (Triumph), provided trucking services out

of its Houston, Texas location. Appellee, Southern Corporate Insurance Managers,

Inc., d/b/a Transportation Insurance Managers (TIM), is an independent insurance

agency that was seeking commercial automobile liability insurance coverage for

Triumph. Other defendants at trial, but not parties to this appeal, included Universal

Insurance Exchange (UIE), a Dallas-based insurance company, and Overland

Insurance Company (Overland), which served as Managing General Agent for UIE

and issued binders for coverage on UIE’s behalf. Overland was owned by, and was

effectively the same entity as, Thomas Gregory Corless.

Triumph’s commercial automobile insurance carrier elected not to renew

Triumph’s insurance. TIM, as Triumph’s insurance agent, secured a proposal for the

coverage from UIE through Overland, which issued a binder for the insurance.

Corless filed documents, as required by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety

Administration (Safety Administration), showing that Triumph had the commercial

automobile insurance required by the Safety Administration.

The total one-year premium for the insurance was $458,800. Triumph paid the

required 25% down payment of $114,700 and the first monthly premium of $38,233

to TIM, which forwarded the payments, less its 10% commission, to UIE. Thereafter,

Triumph paid six additional monthly premiums. However, because of a problem with

UIE’s automated billing system, TIM did not receive invoices after the initial

payment and, as a result, did not forward those later payments to UIE.

In February 2002, questions arose regarding the status of Triumph’s coverage.

In April 2002, TIM learned that it had not forwarded Triumph’s premium payments

to UIE. However, TIM did not send the additional premium payments because of the

coverage question and because a copy of the policy had never been received. During

this same time period, UIE cancelled the insurance filings with the Safety

Administration, and Triumph ceased its trucking operations. Also, during the period

that Triumph was supposed to be covered by UIE, Triumph settled four claims

totaling $41,527 and paid $12,115 in attorney’s fees in connection with those claims.

TIM interpleaded $206,460 in state district court as disputed funds and named

Triumph, UIE, Overland, and Guardian as defendants/claimants. Of the premiums

paid by Triumph, TIM retained $38,234 as a commission. Triumph filed an

application for turnover of the interpleaded funds, asserting that the funds were

premiums paid by Triumph for insurance coverage that was never issued. The trial

court granted the application and signed an order for turnover of the funds.

Triumph filed a counterclaim against TIM and crossclaims against UIE,

Overland, and Guardian, alleging breach of contract, breach of fiduciary duty,

violation of the insurance code and the deceptive trades practices act, and fraud. The

case was tried to a jury. The jury questions and responses at issue in this appeal are

Question Nos. 4, 14, and 16. Question No. 4 asked,

Did TIM fail to comply with its agreement, if any, to obtain

insurance coverage for Triumph?

Answer “Yes” or “No”

The jury answered “Yes.” Other questions regarding liability were Nos. 7, 8, 9, 11,

12, and 13. Question No. 7 asked whether any unfair or deceptive act or practice of

TIM, UIM, or Corless caused damage to Triumph. Question No. 8 asked whether

TIM or UIE engaged in any false, misleading, or deceptive act or practice that

Triumph relied on to its detriment and that was a producing cause of damages to

Triumph. Question No. 9 asked whether TIM, UIE, or Corless engaged in any

unconscionable action or course of action that was a producing cause of damages to

Triumph. Question No. 13 asked whether the negligence, if any, of TIM or Corless

proximately caused damage to Triumph. The jury answered “Yes” to each of these

questions. Question No. 11 asked whether TIM complied with its fiduciary duty to

Triumph. The jury answered “No.” The jury also answered “No” to Question No. 12,

which asked whether TIM or UIE committed fraud against Triumph .

Question No. 14 was predicated as follows:

If you answered . . . “Yes” to Question Nos. 7, 8, 9, 12, or 13 as

to TIM, . . . or “No” to Question No. 11, then answer the following

question. Otherwise, do not answer the following question.

Question No. 14 then asked,

For each party found by you to have caused the damages, if any,

to Triumph, find the percentage of responsibility of those named below?

The jury found TIM 30%, UIE 10%, and Corless 60% responsible. Question No. 16

was predicated as follows:

If you answered assigned [sic] a percentage to either TIM or UIE

in Question No. 14, then answer the following question. Otherwise, do

not answer the following question.

Question No. 16 then asked,

What sum of money, if any, if paid now in cash, would fairly and

reasonably compensate Triumph for its damages, if any, that resulted

from the transaction in question?

Do not include in your answer any amount that you find Triumph

could have avoided by the exercise of reasonable care.

Do not include in your answer any amount for damages that were

caused solely by Coreless [sic], if any.

Answer in dollars and cents for damages, if any.

Answer: ____________

The jury answered “$50,349.44.”

Triumph filed a motion for entry of judgment on the verdict, requesting

recovery on the jury’s finding of breach of contract (Question No. 4), damages

(Question No. 16), and attorney’s fees as found by the jury (Question No. 20:

$145,000 plus $17,500 for appeals). TIM filed a motion for judgment

notwithstanding the verdict (JNOV), a motion to disregard certain jury findings, and

an objection to any findings made pursuant to rule 279 of the Texas Rules of Civil

Procedure. The trial court did not specifically rule on either of these motions, but

signed a final judgment ordering that Triumph take nothing by its suit.

DISCUSSION

Take-Nothing Judgment

In its first issue, Triumph contends that the trial court erred in disregarding the

jury’s verdict and entering a take-nothing judgment on its claims. Triumph asserts,

“The true issue on appeal is whether more than a scintilla of competent evidence

supports” the jury’s damages finding in Question No. 16, which included both

causation and damages.

TIM responds that the court’s charge to the jury did not include questions on

causation or damages for breach of contract. TIM contends that there is no evidence

in the record to support deemed findings on those omitted elements, arguing that

Triumph was not damaged by TIM’s failure to secure insurance coverage, but, rather,

received a financial windfall by profiting from its continued trucking operation and

recovering over $200,000 of the $382,335 it paid in premiums.

In a jury trial, the trial court submits disputed fact issues to the jury. Lafarge

Corp. v. Wolff , 977 S.W.2d 181, 186 (Tex. App.—Austin 1998, pet. denied). When

the evidence conclusively establishes an issue, the trial court need not submit that

issue to the jury. Transit Enterps., Inc. v. Addicks Tire & Auto Supply, Inc. , 725

S.W.2d 459, 462 (Tex. App.—Houston [1st Dist.] 1987, no writ). Generally, a JNOV

can be rendered only when there is no evidence to support one or more of the jury’s

findings that are necessary to liability. See, e.g., Tiller v. McClure , 121 S.W.3d 709,

713 (Tex. 2003). When an independent ground of recovery is not submitted to the

finder of fact, the plaintiff may prevail on that ground only if the issue has been

conclusively established. Tex. R. Civ. P. 279; T.O. Stanley Boot Co. v. Bank of El

Paso , 847 S.W.2d 218 , 222–23 (Tex. 1992).

Rule 279 of the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure provides, with respect to

omitted elements of a ground of recovery:

When a ground of recovery or defense consists of more than one

element, if one or more of such elements necessary to sustain such

ground of recovery or defense, and necessarily referable thereto, are

submitted to and found by the jury, and one or more of such elements

are omitted from the charge, without request or objection, and there is

factually sufficient evidence to support a finding thereon, the trial court,

at the request of either party, may after notice and hearing and at any

time before the judgment is rendered, make and file written findings on

such omitted element or elements in support of the judgment. If no such

written findings are made, such omitted element or elements shall be

deemed found by the court in such manner as to support the judgment.

Tex. R. Civ. P. 279.

Triumph made no objection to the submission of Question No. 16—the sole

damages question in the charge, nor did Triumph object to the omission of a specific

question regarding causation and damages relating to breach of contract. Question

No. 16 was predicated on Question No. 14 (the proportionate-responsibility question)

which, in turn, was predicated on Questions No. 7 (unfair or deceptive act or

practice), No. 8 (false, misleading, or deceptive act or practice and producing cause),

No. 9 (unconscionable action and producing cause), No. 11 (fiduciary duty), and No.

13 (negligence and proximate cause). Question No. 14 was not predicated on

Question No. 4 (breach of contract); therefore the jury’s answer in Question No. 16

is not a finding of damages resulting from TIM’s breach of contract.

Triumph argues that Question No. 16 is an “all encompassing” damages

question that also finds causation. Triumph further argues, in a footnote, that the

predicate to the question does not exclude the breach-of-contract claim. Triumph

asserts that the predicate “merely directs the jury to answer the damages question only

if certain conditions are satisfied,” citing H.E. Butt Grocery Co. v. Bilotto , 985

S.W.2d 22, 24 (Tex. 1998). Triumph’s statement is correct, but it is misapplied.

Under the predicate to Question No. 16, the condition to be satisfied before answering

the question is a finding of a percentage of liability in Question No. 14, which is

predicated on liability findings in Question Nos. 7, 8, 9, 11, 12, or 13. Question No.

16 is not referable to Triumph’s claim for breach of contract. Thus, there is no jury

finding on causation or damages resulting from TIM’s breach of contract.

Under rule 279, the parties are considered to have agreed to waive a jury trial

on the unsubmitted elements and to have submitted those issues to the trial court for

resolution. First State Bank, Morton v. Chesshir , 634 S.W.2d 742, 747 (Tex.

App.—Amarillo 1982, writ ref’d n.r.e.). If the trial court does not make written

findings, the court of appeals will deem the omitted elements found in support of the

judgment. Gulf States Utilities Co. v. Low , 79 S.W.3d 561, 565 (Tex. 2002).

However, when the trial court renders a JNOV, it demonstrates that no finding was

made on the omitted element. Washam v. Hughes , 638 S.W.2d 646 , 648–49 (Tex.

App.—Austin 1982, writ ref’d n.r.e.). In such a case, the losing party may prevail on

appeal only by showing that it established the omitted element conclusively. Id. at

649 . Thus, the existence of more than a scintilla of evidence of some of the elements

will not defeat the JNOV.

Because the trial court in this case rendered a JNOV and did not make written

findings of fact, we must determine whether Triumph established, as a matter of law,

that it suffered damages caused by TIM’s breach of its agreement with Triumph.

Triumph does not argue that it conclusively established causation and damages

relating to its breach-of-contract claim. Rather, it argues that “TIM’s retention of

commissions in the amount of $38,233.50” and the “attorney’s fees of $12,115.04 in

connection with” claims Triumph settled are more than a scintilla of evidence to

support causation and damages for breach of contract.

TIM contends that Triumph did not suffer any damages, but instead, reaped a

windfall because it was able to operate for seven months, earning gross receipts of

approximately $1.5 million per month and a 10 to 12 % profit. In addition, TIM

argues that Triumph received the $206,000 from the registry of the court, resulting

in Triumph’s payment of only $176,208 during a time period (seven months) when

full premiums for its insurance would have been $267,458.

The issue of damages was vigorously contested in the trial court, and both

Triumph and TIM produced evidence to support their contentions. Therefore,

Triumph did not conclusively establish either causation or damages. Accordingly,

we overrule Triumph’s first issue.

Evidence of received funds

In its second issue, Triumph contends that the trial court erred in admitting

evidence of the trial court’s pretrial turnover of interpleaded funds to Triumph

because, according to Triumph, the funds came within the collateral source rule.

Triumph also argues that the admission of the evidence was a violation of rule 605

of the Texas Rules of Evidence, which prohibits a judge from testifying in a trial over

which the judge is presiding. See Tex. R. Evid. 605. We review a trial court’s

evidentiary rulings for abuse of discretion. Owens-Corning Fiberglas Corp. v.

Malone , 972 S.W.2d 35, 43 (Tex. 1998).

The collateral source rule generally prevents a tortfeasor from benefitting from

payments made to a plaintiff by parties other than the tortfeasor. Taylor v. Am.

Fabritech, Inc. , 132 S.W.3d 613, 626 (Tex. App.—Houston [14th Dist.] 2004, pet.

denied). Under this rule, a defendant may not offer evidence of payment from a

collateral source and may not take an offset for such payments. Id. The rule is an

exception to the one-satisfaction rule. See Brown v. Am. Transfer & Storage Co. , 601

S.W.2d 931, 936 (Tex. 1980) (“If payment is within the collateral source rule, the

principle forbidding more than one recovery for the same loss is not applicable.”).

Triumph argues that the court’s ruling was a violation of the collateral source

rule because the funds came from the court. Triumph states, “It cannot be disputed

that the source of the funds delivered to Triumph was the trial court.”

In fact, the source was not the trial court. TIM placed the funds in the registry

of the court. Therefore, the source of the funds was TIM. The trial court merely

returned those funds to Triumph. Furthermore, the trial court ruled that the evidence

of the turnover was admissible to show that Triumph believed that it was not insured

after contradictory testimony by Triumph regarding whether it believed that it was

insured.

We hold that the collateral source rule did not apply to these funds.

With regard to rule 605, that rule provides, “The judge presiding at the trial

may not testify in that trial as a witness. No objection need be made in order to

preserve the point.” Tex. R. Evid. 605. The Texas Court of Criminal Appeals has

construed the rule to prohibit not only a judge’s direct testimony, but also “the

functional equivalent of witness testimony.” Hammond v. State , 799 S.W.2d 741,

746 (Tex. Crim. App. 1990).

Triumph relies on In re T.T. , 39 S.W.3d 355 (Tex. App.—Houston [1st Dist.]

2001, no. pet.), to support its contention that the trial court violated this rule. In T.T. ,

a parental-rights-termination case, the trial court admitted into evidence a temporary

order signed by the court in which the court made findings adverse to the defendants

on issues very similar to those that the jury was to determine. Id. at 358 . This Court

stated, “The effect of admitting the judge’s written statements in the order was the

same as if the judge had violated Rule 605 by testifying to those statements.” Id.

In this case, the documents to which Triumph objected were Triumph’s

application for turnover and an unsigned order prepared by Triumph for the judge’s

signature. We conclude that neither of these documents was the functional equivalent

of testimony by the judge in violation of rule 605.

We hold that the trial court did not abuse its discretion in admitting evidence

of the turnover of the impleaded funds to Triumph. Accordingly, we overrule

Triumph’s second issue.

CONCLUSION

We affirm the trial court’s judgment.

Sam Nuchia

Justice

Panel consists of Chief Justice Radack and Justices Taft and Nuchia.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.