Opinion

Stanley Johnson v. United States Postal Service

Court
Merit Systems Protection Board
Filed
Apr 10, 2015
Status
Unpublished
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 34.3%

The opinion

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

MERIT SYSTEMS PROTECTION BOARD

STANLEY JOHNSON, DOCKET NUMBER

Appellant, AT-0752-14-0405-I-1

v.

UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE, DATE: April 10, 2015

Agency.

THIS FINAL ORDER IS NO NPRECEDENTIAL 1

Janice P. Gregerson, Esquire, Washington, D.C., for the appellant.

Daniel E. Ellenbogen, Esquire, Arlington, Virginia, for the agency.

BEFORE

Susan Tsui Grundmann, Chairman

Mark A. Robbins, Member

FINAL ORDER

¶1 The appellant has filed a petition for review of the initial decision, which

dismissed for lack of jurisdiction his alleged constructive suspension and alleged

involuntary disability retirement appeal. Generally, we grant petitions such as

this one only when: the initial decision contains erroneous findings of material

fact; the initial decision is based on an erroneous interpretation of statute or

1

A nonprecedential order is one that the Board has determined does not add

sign ificantly to the body of MSPB case law. Parties may cite nonprecedential orders,

but such orders have no precedential value; the Board and administrative judges are not

required to follow or distinguish them in any future decisions. In contrast, a

precedential decision issued as an Opinion and Order has been identified by the Board

as significantly contributing to the Board’s case law. See 5 C.F.R. § 1201.117(c).

2

regulation or the erroneous application of the law to the facts of the case; the

judge’s rulings during either the course of the appeal or the initial decision were

not consistent with required procedures or involved an abuse of discretion, and

the resulting error affected the outcome of the case; or new and material evidence

or legal argument is available that, despite the petitioner’s due diligence, was not

available when the record closed. See Title 5 of the Code of Federal Regulations,

section 1201.115 (5 C.F.R. § 1201.115). After fully considering the filings in this

appeal, and based on the following points and authorities, we conclude that the

petitioner has not established any basis under section 1201.115 for granting the

petition for review. Therefore, we DENY the petition for review and AFFIRM

the initial decision, which is now the Board’s final decision. 5 C.F.R.

§ 1201.113(b).

¶2 In connection with his duties as a GS-13 Criminal Investigator with the

agency’s Office of Inspector General (OIG), the appellant, in 2010, initiated an

investigation into allegations that a female U.S. Postal Service employee

exaggerated her symptoms so as to qualify for continued Office of Workers’

Compensation Programs (OWCP) benefits. Based on the report the appellant

prepared, the female employee was notified that OWCP intended to terminate her

benefits. At a hearing which followed, she testified that she had dated the

appellant and that she believed the investigation he headed regarding her

activities was retaliatory. Initial Appeal File (IAF), Tab 23 at 48-49. In response

to the allegations, and despite the fact that the appellant had been in a prior

relationship with the female employee, he signed and submitted to OWCP a

statement denying ever having maintained a personal relationship with her. Id. at

69.

¶3 Based on the female employee’s allegations, the OIG’s Special Inquiries

Division initiated an investigation into allegations that the appellant had

improperly failed to disclose his personal involvement with her. As a result, an

Assistant U.S. Attorney notified the appellant by letter dated January 8, 2013,

3

that he was the subject of an investigation conducted by the Department of Justice

(DOJ) regarding possible violations of federal criminal laws and related offenses

pertaining to conduct and statements he made in connection with the female

employee and that an indictment was anticipated in the coming months. Id., Tab

7 at 11-12. Based on that letter, on January 9, 2013, the agency issued the

appellant a notice of proposed indefinite suspension and placed him on

administrative leave. Id. at 13-14. On February 22, 2013, the appellant requested

12 weeks of sick leave to start on February 25, 2013, indicating that the agency

was completing its portion of his disability retirement application. Id., Tab 14 at

22. On February 26, 2013, the appellant submitted to the Office of Personnel

Management (OPM) his disability retirement application based on post-traumatic

stress disorder (PTSD) and alcohol abuse. Id., Tab 7 at 28-31. The following

day, the agency amended the appellant’s proposed indefinite suspension notice to

explain that the action was based on DOJ’s pending investigation of his criminal

conduct which, as to his misstatement of a material fact concerning his

relationship with the female employee, was in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1001.

IAF, Tab 7 at 15-18.

¶4 On April 22, 2013, the agency notified the appellant that it was rescinding

the notice of proposed indefinite suspension based on the decision of the U.S.

Attorney’s Office not to charge the appellant with a crime. Id. at 18-19. The

agency advised the appellant, however, that, based on the information contained

in his disability retirement application, he would remain on Family Medical

Leave Act leave until his physician cleared him for duty. Id.

¶5 On June 27, 2013, the appellant filed a formal complaint of discrimination

in which he alleged that the agency’s ongoing pattern and practice of

discrimination and hostile work environment harassment on the basis of his race

(African American) forced him to take leave and compelled him to apply for

disability retirement. Id., Tab 25 at 34-37.

4

¶6 On August 30, 2013, OPM approved the appellant’s application for

disability retirement based on PTSD. Id., Tab 7 at 24-28. Notwithstanding, on

September 10, 2013, the agency proposed the appellant’s removal citing negligent

performance of duties and unprofessional conduct; that is, conduct unbecoming a

law enforcement officer, id., Tab 13, but no decision was issued as his retirement

on disability was effective on September 25, 2013, id., Tab 1 at 8.

¶7 On December 23, 2013, the agency issued a final agency decision on the

appellant’s formal discrimination complaint rejecting his claim. Id. at 10-40. On

appeal to the Board, he argued that the agency had constructively suspended him

for more than 14 days and that intolerable working conditions rendered his

disability retirement involuntary. Id. at 1-6. He requested a hearing. Id. at 2.

¶8 Thereafter the administrative judge issued an initial decision dismissing the

appellant’s appeal for lack of jurisdiction. Id., Tab 33, Initial Decision (ID) at 1,

19. The administrative judge found that the appellant failed to establish that his

disability retirement was involuntary or otherwise constituted a constructive

removal within the Board’s jurisdiction. ID at 9-13. The administrative judge

then addressed the appellant’s constructive suspension claim, notwithstanding

that he was in a paid leave status at all times during the events at issue until the

effective date of his disability retirement, and concluded that the appellant failed

to establish that he was constructively suspended. ID at 13-19.

¶9 The appellant has filed a petition for review, Petition for Review (PFR)

File, Tab 1, to which the agency has responded in opposition, id., Tabs 5-6.

¶10 On review, the appellant argues that the administrative judge failed to

consider that his indefinite suspension was improper because the agency lacked

reasonable cause to believe that he committed a crime for which a sentence of

imprisonment may be imposed, id., Tab 1, at 12-15, and that, because the agency

knew or should have known that it could not succeed in the indefinite suspension

action, the appellant’s disability retirement was coerced, id. at 14-15, 18.

5

¶11 As the administrative judge properly found, in order to establish that a

disability retirement was involuntary, an appellant must establish that an

accommodation was available between the time his medical condition arose and

the date of his separation that would have allowed him to continue his

employment; he communicated to the agency his desire to continue working but

that his medical limitations required a modification of his working conditions or

duties; and the agency unjustifiably failed to provide him that accommodation.

ID at 2; see Okleson v. U.S. Postal Service, 90 M.S.P.R. 415, ¶¶ 7-8 (2001).

Thus, the Board generally limits its jurisdiction over alleged involuntary

disability retirement claims to cases where the agency improperly denied an

appellant’s request for accommodation. Vaughan v. Department of Agriculture,

116 M.S.P.R. 493, ¶ 12 (2011). The administrative judge properly did not

consider whether the appellant established that his disability retirement was

involuntary under this test because he did not allege that he ever requested an

accommodation that would have enabled him to continue to perform the essential

duties of his position or another vacant position to which he could have been

reassigned.

¶12 While this standard is correct to determine the Board’s jurisdiction in most

involuntary disability retirement appeals, as the administrative judge

acknowledged, the Board, in unusual circumstances, has applied its regular

principles for determining jurisdiction over alleged involuntary retirements to

assess the voluntariness of a disability retirement. ID at 2-3; see, e.g., Vaughan,

116 M.S.P.R. 493, ¶¶ 13-14 (the appellant alleged that the agency created a

hostile work environment which led to intolerable working conditions and

ultimately his disability retirement); Hosford v. Office of Personnel Management,

107 M.S.P.R. 418, ¶ 9 (2007) (finding the appellant’s disability retirement to be

involuntary on the basis of misinformation). Another of these general principles

of involuntariness is where an appellant shows that the agency knew that it would

not prevail on a proposed adverse action. In such a case, the proposed action is

6

coercive and the resulting employee action is involuntary. Baldwin v.

Department of Veterans Affairs, 109 M.S.P.R. 392, ¶ 12 (2008). The appellant

here contends that the agency knew or should have known that it could not prevail

on its proposed indefinite suspension action. 2 The appellant argues that the mere

existence of an agency’s investigation or inquiry into allegations of misconduct

does not constitute a circumstance justifying, or cause for imposing, an indefinite

suspension. 3 Gonzalez v. Department of Homeland Security, 114 M.S.P.R. 318,

¶ 28 (2010). In fact, however, the investigation in this case was not conducted by

the agency but rather by DOJ. IAF, Tab 7 at 11-12. In any event, we need not

determine whether the agency’s proposed indefinite suspension was proper or

whether such an action, which is short of a proposed removal, can trigger the

knew or should have known principle of involuntariness upon which the appellant

relies. That is so because, while the appellant’s application for disability

retirement was pending, the agency rescinded the notice of proposed indefinite

suspension. Id. at 18-19. Although that action removed the threat of indefinite

suspension, the appellant did not seek to withdraw his application at that time or

at any time during the following 4 months while OPM was considering his

application. Id. at 24-28. These circumstances preclude a finding that the

appellant was coerced to retire because of the agency’s proposed indefinite

suspension. 4

2

As noted, the administrative judge found that the appellant did not establish that the

agency knew or should have known that it could not have sustained a decision to

remove him based on the charges set forth in the proposal notice. ID at 13.

3

The appellant also argues that the proposed indefinite suspension was improper

because the agency failed to show that it had reasonable cause to believe that he had

committed a crime for which a sentence of imprisonment could be imposed. PFR File,

Tab 1 at 12-13. Our reviewing court has found, however, that the “reasonable cause to

believe” clause in 5 U.S.C. § 7513(b)(1) is not a substantive requirement for imposing

an indefin ite suspension after at least 30 days’ notice. Perez v. Department of Justice,

480 F.3d 1309, 1313-14 (Fed. Cir. 2007).

4

Because this case was decided after a hearing, the issue is not whether the appellant

raised a nonfrivolous allegation of jurisdiction but whether he established jurisdiction

7

¶13 The administrative judge found that the appellant presented very little

evidence in support of his claim that the agency treated African-American

employees more harshly than white employees, ID at 11-12, and that he therefore

failed to establish that the agency engaged in racially discriminatory conduct that

caused him to become disabled and rendered his disability retirement involuntary.

ID at 9-13. The administrative judge also considered the appellant’s claim that

the agency’s actions in investigating his potentially criminal conduct regarding

the investigation of the female employee exacerbated his PTSD to the point where

he was no longer medically able to fulfill his duties, concluding that, while the

appellant may have reasonably believed that the exacerbation of his PTSD as a

result of the agency’s investigation left him with no meaningful choice other than

to apply for disability retirement, he failed to show that the agency engaged in

wrongful actions that deprived him of such a meaningful choice. ID at 12.

Finally, the administrative judge considered the appellant’s assertion that the

agency coerced his retirement by proposing his removal and/or by reissuing the

Standard Form (SF) 50 documenting his retirement to reflect that his application

was approved during the pendency of a removal action for cause. As noted, the

administrative judge found that the appellant did not establish that the agency

knew or should have known that it could not have sustained a decision to remove

him based on the charges set forth in the proposal notice, that the reissued SF-50

was processed after the appellant learned that OPM had approved his disability

retirement application, and that he did not show that the change affected his

decision to retire. ID at 13. The appellant does not otherwise challenge the

administrative judge’s findings that he failed to establish that his disability

retirement was involuntary and we discern no basis upon which to disturb those

findings. Crosby v. U.S. Postal Service, 74 M.S.P.R. 98, 105-06 (1997) (finding

no reason to disturb the administrative judge’s findings where he considered the

by a preponderance of the evidence. See, e.g., Salazar v. Department of the Army,

115 M.S.P.R. 296, ¶¶ 3, 12 (2010).

8

evidence as a whole, drew appropriate inferences, and made reasoned

conclusions).

¶14 On review, the appellant also challenges the administrative judge’s findings

with regard to the periods of alleged constructive suspension. PFR File, Tab 1 at

18-20. As the administrative judge correctly found, to establish Board

jurisdiction over a constructive suspension claim, an appellant must show that he

lacked a meaningful choice in the matter and that it was the agency’s wrongful

actions that deprived him of that choice. ID at 4; see Bean v. U.S. Postal Service,

120 M.S.P.R. 397, ¶ 8 (2013). The appellant first addresses the period from

January 9, 2013, when he was first placed on paid administrative leave, through

April 21, 2013, the day before the amended notice of proposed indefinite

suspension was rescinded. He asserts that, because he reasonably believed that

his administrative leave would end on February 22, 2013, he was left with no

choice but to make his request that day for 12 weeks of sick leave. PFR File,

Tab 1 at 19. We note that, in a prehearing order, the administrative judge found

that, because the appellant was on administrative leave from January 9, 2013,

through February 22, 2013, he failed to nonfrivolously allege that he was

subjected to an appealable suspension during that period of time. IAF, Tab 11 at

1-2. The appellant did not challenge that finding, id., Tab 12, and we find no

basis to disturb it, see LaMell v. Armed Forces Retirement Home, 104 M.S.P.R.

413, ¶ 9 (2007).

¶15 As to the period from February 25, 2013, the first day of the appellant’s

sick leave, through April 21, 2013, the day before the agency rescinded the

amended notice of proposed indefinite suspension, the appellant alleges that,

because he believed his administrative leave was ending, he had no choice but to

use sick leave. PFR File, Tab 1 at 18-19. The administrative judge found, based

on a series of emails between management officials, that the appellant believed,

at least initially, that the agency would place him in an unpaid status at the

expiration of the 30-day notice period that followed his receipt of the first notice

9

of proposed indefinite suspension and that this was so despite the fact that the

agency could not have properly placed him in an unpaid status, even if the 30-day

advanced notice period expired prior to the issuance of a decision letter. ID at

14-17. The administrative judge found, however, that, when the appellant

requested sick leave, he knew he was still on administrative leave and receiving

pay even though the 30-day notice period had passed and that he therefore should

have known that any perception he may have had that the agency would place him

in unpaid status at the end of that notice period was incorrect. The administrative

judge concluded, therefore, that the appellant failed to establish that his absence

during this period was a constructive suspension within the Board’s jurisdiction.

ID at 17. Despite his disagreement, the appellant has not shown error in the

administrative judge’s findings. The appellant has not shown that, when he

requested sick leave, he lacked any meaningful choice but to do so because of a

wrongful act by the agency. See Bean, 120 M.S.P.R. 397, ¶ 8.

¶16 As to the period between April 22, 2013, when the agency rescinded the

amended notice of proposed indefinite suspension, and September 25, 2013, the

effective date of his disability retirement, the appellant argues that he was

constructively suspended because he had no choice but to remain on sick leave

and the agency had improperly proposed his indefinite suspension. PFR File, Tab

1 at 19-20. The administrative judge found that, although the appellant’s choice

to remain on sick leave until OPM approved his disability retirement application

or to return to duty was not a meaningful one because OPM ultimately determined

that he was medically unable to perform his duties, ID at 17-18, it was not the

agency’s wrongful actions that deprived the appellant of that choice. As the

administrative judge found, even if the agency’s undertaking of the investigation

into the appellant’s misconduct may have exacerbated his PTSD, the agency acted

within its authority in conducting that investigation, and it also acted properly in

not allowing him to return to duty until he had been medically cleared. ID at 18;

IAF, Tab 30 at 152. Although the appellant argues that the notices of proposed

10

indefinite suspension “changed the tide” for him, PFR File, Tab 1 at 20, he has

not shown how those proposals, which, at the time in question, had been

rescinded, constituted wrongful action by the agency that deprived him of a

meaningful choice to return to work. See Bean, 120 M.S.P.R. 397, ¶ 8.

NOTICE TO THE APPELLANT REGARDING

YOUR FURTHER REVIEW RIGHTS

You have the right to request review of this final decision by the United

States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit. You must submit your request to

the court at the following address:

United States Court of Appeals

for the Federal Circuit

717 Madison Place, N.W.

Washington, DC 20439

The court must receive your request for review no later than 60 calendar

days after the date of this order. See 5 U.S.C. § 7703(b)(1)(A) (as rev. eff. Dec.

27, 2012). If you choose to file, be very careful to file on time. The court has

held that normally it does not have the authority to waive this statutory deadline

and that filings that do not comply with the deadline must be dismissed. See

Pinat v. Office of Personnel Management, 931 F.2d 1544 (Fed. Cir. 1991).

If you need further information about your right to appeal this decision to

court, you should refer to the federal law that gives you this right. It is found in

Title 5 of the United States Code, section 7703 (5 U.S.C. § 7703) (as rev. eff.

Dec. 27, 2012). You may read this law as well as other sections of the United

States Code, at our website, http://www.mspb.gov/appeals/uscode.htm.

Additional information is available at the court’s website,

www.cafc.uscourts.gov. Of particular relevance is the court’s “Guide for Pro Se

Petitioners and Appellants,” which is contained within the court’s Rules of

Practice, and Forms 5, 6, and 11.

11

If you are interested in securing pro bono representation for your court

appeal, you may visit our website at http://www.mspb.gov/probono for a list of

attorneys who have expressed interest in providing pro bono representation for

Merit Systems Protection Board appellants before the court. The Merit Systems

Protection Board neither endorses the services provided by any attorney nor

warrants that any attorney will accept representation in a given case.

FOR THE BOARD: ______________________________

William D. Spencer

Clerk of the Board

Washington, D.C.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.