Opinion

Greenwell v. Auto-Owners Insurance

  • 233 Cal. App. 4th 783
  • 182 Cal. Rptr. 3d 873
  • 2015 Cal. App. LEXIS 73
Court
California Court of Appeal
Filed
Jan 27, 2015
Status
Published
Author
Robie
On the bench
Robie
Cited by
6 cases
Authority
More cited than 57.9%

The opinion

Filed 1/27/15

CERTIFIED FOR PUBLICATION

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

THIRD APPELLATE DISTRICT

(San Joaquin)

----

JACOB W. GREENWELL, JR., C074546

Plaintiff and Appellant, (Super. Ct. No.

39201300293169CUBTSTK)

v.

AUTO-OWNERS INSURANCE COMPANY,

Defendant and Respondent.

APPEAL from a judgment of the Superior Court of San Joaquin County, Linda L.

Lofthus, Judge. Affirmed.

Hereford Kerley, J. Edward Kerley; Law Office of Dylan Schaffer and Dylan

Schaffer for Plaintiff and Appellant.

Ericksen Arbuthnot, William A. Jenkins and Gregory A. Mase for Defendant and

Respondent.

This case goes to show that sometimes life can be like an essay question on a law

school exam. Here, a California resident owned an apartment building in Arkansas that

1

was insured by a Michigan insurance company under a policy the owner obtained

through an insurance agent in Arkansas. That policy included commercial property

coverage for the Arkansas apartment building and commercial general liability coverage

for the owner’s property ownership business, which he operated from California. Other

than writing this policy, the insurer did no business in California.

Both the commercial property coverage and the commercial general liability

coverage in the policy covered some risks, losses, or damages that could have arisen in

California, but the dispute at issue here arose out of two fires that damaged the building

in Arkansas. Initially, the insurer agreed to treat the two fires as separate losses but later

reversed its position and took the position that both incidents were subject to only a

single policy limit payment. As a result, the owner sued the insurer in a California state

court for breach of contract and bad faith.

Here is the question: Under the foregoing circumstances, did the insurer have

sufficient minimum contacts with California to allow the state court to exercise personal

jurisdiction over the company in this action? We conclude the answer is “no.” Under the

federal constitutional test for specific jurisdiction, we agree with the owner that the

insurer purposefully availed itself of the privilege of conducting activities in California

by writing a policy that covered various risks, losses, and damages that could have arisen

in California. Nevertheless, we also conclude that there was no substantial nexus

between the insurer’s activities in California and the present action because the owner is

not suing the insurer for any California risk that came to fruition; he is suing the insurer

because of something that happened to his business property in Arkansas, which is where

he obtained the insurance at issue, the main purpose of which was to cover potential risks

and damage to that Arkansas property. In the absence of a substantial nexus between the

insurer’s California activities and this suit, the exercise of personal jurisdiction over the

insurer in this case does not comport with due process. Accordingly, we affirm the trial

court’s order granting the insurance company’s motion to quash the service of summons.

2

FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

In 2007, plaintiff Jacob W. Greenwell, Jr., resided in Tracy and was doing

business there as Greenwell Properties. At some point (perhaps in 2007), he acquired

ownership of an apartment building in Little Rock, Arkansas. In September 2007,

working through an insurance agency in Little Rock, Greenwell applied to defendant

Auto-Owners Insurance Company for a tailored protection insurance policy -- in

particular, for commercial property coverage and commercial general liability coverage.

On the application, the applicant was listed as “Jacob W. Greenwell dba Greenwell

Properties.” The application described the business’s operations as “property owner.”

An address in Tracy was listed as the mailing address for the business, but the

commercial property coverage was obtained specifically for the apartment building in

Arkansas. The commercial general liability section of the application also specifically

referenced the apartment building.

Auto-Owners issued the policy to Greenwell effective September 14, 2007, and

delivered the policy to him at his address in Tracy. The annual premium for the

commercial property coverage was $5,899 and the annual premium for the commercial

general liability coverage was $257.

Greenwell’s policy was renewed three times, through September 2011. There is

no evidence in the record of the mechanics of the renewal. Throughout the period the

insurance was in place, Greenwell mailed all of his premiums from his address in Tracy

and communicated with representatives of Auto-Owners from there also.

In February 2013, Greenwell commenced the present action against Auto-Owners

in San Joaquin County Superior Court alleging causes of action for breach of contract and

breach of the covenant of good faith and fair dealing. He alleged that in June 2010 his

apartment building in Arkansas was damaged by a fire and the next day was damaged by

a second fire. He claimed that although Auto-Owners originally treated the incidents as

two separate losses under the policy, after he entered into a repair contract for more than

3

$1 million, the insurer wrongfully reversed its position and claimed that “only a single

[policy] limit applied to both losses.” As a result of Auto-Owner’s conduct, Greenwell

claimed he defaulted on the construction contract and on the secured loan on the

apartments and had to sell the property for less than $50,000.

Auto-Owners moved to quash service of summons for lack of jurisdiction. In

support of its motion, Auto-Owners submitted evidence to the effect that, other than this

one policy, it does not do any business in California. In response, Greenwell asserted that

Auto-Owners had “availed itself of the benefits of California by entering into a

relationship in California with [him] beginning in 2007” and had “provided insurance to

[him] covering myriad facets of his business liability.”

The trial court concluded that Greenwell had not met his burden of establishing

that Auto-Owners had the minimum contacts with California necessary to justify the

exercise of personal jurisdiction over the company. Accordingly, the court granted the

motion to quash service of summons. Greenwell timely appealed.

DISCUSSION

On appeal, Greenwell contends the trial court erred in finding that it lacked

personal jurisdiction over Auto-Owners in this action. We disagree.

I

General Principles Of Personal Jurisdiction

“Where a nonresident defendant challenges jurisdiction by way of a motion to

quash, the plaintiff bears the burden of establishing by a preponderance of the evidence

that minimum contacts exist between the defendant and the forum state to justify

imposition of personal jurisdiction. [Citations.] The plaintiff must present facts

‘ “demonstrating that the conduct of defendants related to the pleaded causes [of action]

is such as to constitute constitutionally cognizable ‘minimum contacts.’ ” ’ ” (Elkman v.

National States Ins. Co. (2009) 173 Cal.App.4th 1305, 1312-1313.) “[W]here the

4

evidence of jurisdictional facts is not conflicting, the question of whether a defendant is

subject to personal jurisdiction is one of law.” (Id. at p. 1313, italics omitted.)

A California court “may exercise jurisdiction on any basis not inconsistent with

the Constitution of this state or of the United States.” (Code Civ. Proc., § 410.10.) “A

state court’s assertion of personal jurisdiction over a nonresident defendant who has not

been served with process within the state comports with the requirements of the due

process clause of the federal Constitution if the defendant has such minimum contacts

with the state that the assertion of jurisdiction does not violate ‘ “traditional notions of

fair play and substantial justice.” ’ ” (Vons Companies, Inc. v. Seabest Foods, Inc. (1996)

14 Cal.4th 434, 444 (Vons).)

“Personal jurisdiction may be either general or specific.” (Vons, supra, 14 Cal.4th

at p. 445.) Only specific jurisdiction is at issue here. “If the nonresident defendant does

not have substantial and systematic contacts in the forum sufficient to establish general

jurisdiction, he or she still may be subject to the specific jurisdiction of the forum, if the

defendant has purposefully availed himself or herself of forum benefits [citation], and the

‘controversy is related to or “arises out of” a defendant’s contacts with the forum.’ ” (Id.

at p. 446.)

II

McGee v. International Life Ins. Co.

As his opening salvo, Greenwell contends this case is controlled by McGee v.

International Life Ins. Co. (1957) 355 U.S. 220 [2 L.Ed.2d 223].) In McGee, a California

resident (Franklin) purchased a life insurance policy from an Arizona insurance company.

(Id. at p. 221 [2 L.Ed.2d at p. 225].) After assuming the Arizona company’s insurance

obligations, a Texas insurance company “mailed a reinsurance certificate to Franklin in

California offering to insure him in accordance with the terms of the policy he held with”

the Arizona company, which he accepted. (Ibid.) After Franklin died, his mother, the

beneficiary under the policy, sued the Texas company in California when the company

5

refused to pay out the insurance proceeds because the company contended Franklin

committed suicide. (Id. at p. 222 [2 L.Ed.2d at p. 225].)

The question of whether jurisdiction was proper in California under the due

process clause ultimately ended up in the United States Supreme Court, and that Court

concluded that California properly asserted jurisdiction over the matter because “the suit

was based on a contract which had a substantial connection with that State.” (McGee v.

International Life Ins. Co., supra, 355 U.S. at p. 223 [2 L.Ed.2d at p. 226].) In reaching

its decision, the court specifically noted as follows: “The contract was delivered in

California, the premiums were mailed from there and the insured was a resident of that

State when he died. It cannot be denied that California has a manifest interest in

providing effective means of redress for its residents when their insurers refuse to pay

claims. These residents would be at a severe disadvantage if they were forced to follow

the insurance company to a distant State in order to hold it legally accountable. When

claims were small or moderate individual claimants frequently could not afford the cost

of bringing an action in a foreign forum--thus in effect making the company judgment

proof. Often the crucial witnesses--as here on the company’s defense of suicide--will be

found in the insured’s locality. Of course there may be inconvenience to the insurer if it

is held amenable to suit in California where it had this contract but certainly nothing

which amounts to a denial of due process.” (Id. at pp. 223-224 [2 L.Ed.2d at p. 226].)

Greenwell contends that McGee is “indistinguishable” from this case, but that is

clearly not true. At least two significant facts distinguish this case from McGee. First, in

McGee, the Texas company sent a reinsurance offer to California and thus specifically

solicited business in the forum state. Here, in contrast, there is no evidence that Auto-

Owners did anything to solicit Greenwell’s business in California. Greenwell repeatedly

asserts that Auto-Owner “solicited [the policy] renewals from [him] at his California

business,” but he never cites any evidence in support of those assertions, because there is

none. In support of its motion, Auto-Owners offered evidence that it “does not solicit

6

business in California.” If Auto-Owners had, indeed, solicited the policy renewals from

Greenwell, we would have expected him to offer evidence of that fact in his opposition to

the motion, to contradict the evidence offered by the company in its moving papers. He

did not do so. Instead, he simply stated that “[f]rom 2007 to 2010, Auto-Owners

Insurance delivered four policies . . . to me at [my address] in Tracy, California.” Thus,

there is no evidence that Auto-Owners purposefully solicited Greenwell’s business in

California, either in connection with the original application or in connection with any of

the policy renewals.

The second material distinction between this case and McGee is that the policy at

issue in McGee was a life insurance policy on the life of a California resident, and the

insured event -- the insured’s death -- that provided the basis for the lawsuit occurred in

California. Here, in contrast, the policy at issue was a commercial property and general

liability policy that was purchased by a person who was operating a building ownership

business from California, the only apparent subject of which was an apartment building

in Arkansas, where the insured event or events -- the fires at the building -- occurred. On

this basis, too, this case is unlike McGee.

Greenwell contends that, as “a small-business owner,” he -- like the beneficiary in

McGee -- “would be at a severe disadvantage if he was compelled to follow [Auto-

Owners] to a distant state in order to hold it legally accountable.” In McGee, however,

there was no evidence the beneficiary had any connection whatsoever to any state other

than California, including Texas, the home state of the defendant insurance company.

Here, in contrast, Greenwell owned an apartment building in Arkansas and thus had

substantial contacts with that state for purposes of conducting that business there. As just

one example, if Greenwell had needed to evict a tenant from his apartments, he

presumably would have had to avail himself of the courts in Arkansas.

Greenwell contends that Arkansas is “foreign to both insurer and insured,”

because he operates his business from Tracy and Auto-Owners’ principal place of

7

business is in Michigan. Not so. While Arkansas may not be the home state of either

party, both parties were doing substantial business in Arkansas -- Greenwell by owning

an apartment building there and Auto-Owners by writing insurance policies on such

businesses.

III

Purposeful Availment

Having refuted Greenwell’s claim that this case is “controlled by” and

“indistinguishable” from McGee, we return to the general legal principles that govern

here. “If general jurisdiction is not established, a nonresident defendant may still be

subject to California’s specific jurisdiction if a three-prong test is met. [Citation.] First,

the defendant must have purposefully availed itself of the state’s benefits. Second, the

controversy must be related to or arise out of the defendant’s contacts with the state.

[Citation.] Third, considering the defendant’s contacts with the state and other factors,

California’s exercise of jurisdiction over the defendant must comport with fair play and

substantial justice.” (Gilmore Bank v. AsiaTrust New Zealand Ltd. (2014) 223

Cal.App.4th 1558, 1568 (Gilmore Bank).) Greenwell “bear[s] the burden of establishing

that the first two requirements for specific jurisdiction have been met. [Citation.] If [he]

do[es] so, the burden shifts to [Auto-Owners] to show that California’s exercise of

jurisdiction would be unreasonable.” (Ibid.)

We begin with the “purposeful availment” prong of the test. “[I]n Hanson v.

Denckla (1958) 357 U.S. 235, 253 [2 L.Ed.2d 1283, 1298, 78 S.Ct. 1228], the [United

States Supreme C]ourt held that ‘it is essential in each case that there be some act by

which the defendant purposefully avails itself of the privilege of conducting activities

within the forum State, thus invoking the benefits and protections of its laws.’ ” (A.I.U.

Ins. Co. v. Superior Court (1986) 177 Cal.App.3d 281, 287.) “For purposes of the

purposeful availment prong, the ‘. . . United States Supreme Court has described the

forum contacts necessary to establish specific jurisdiction as involving variously a

8

nonresident who has “purposefully directed” his or her activities at forum residents

[citation], or who has “purposefully derived benefit” from forum activities [citation], or

“ ‘purposefully avail[ed himself or herself] of the privilege of conducting activities within

the forum State, thus invoking the benefits and protections of its laws,’ ” ’ or

‘ “ ‘deliberately’ has engaged in significant activities with a State [citation] or has created

‘continuing obligations’ between himself and residents of the forum [citation].” ’

[Citation.] This disjunctive language, along with the Supreme Court’s rejection of

mechanical or ‘ “talismanic” ’ formulas [citation], suggests that the above formulations

describe alternative, but not mutually exclusive, tests for purposeful availment.”

(Gilmore Bank, supra, 223 Cal.App.4th at p. 1568.) Courts must make the necessary

assessment “on a case by case basis, focusing on the nature and quality of the

defendant’s activities in the state or with state residents.” (Ibid.) “[T]he underlying

rationale of all the purposeful availment tests is that ‘it is fair to subject defendants to

specific jurisdiction, because their forum activities should put them on notice that they

will be subject to litigation in the forum.’ ” (Gilmore Bank , supra, 223 Cal.App.4th at p.

1573.)

Here, Greenwell contends Auto-Owners was on notice that it would be subject to

litigation in California because of the coverage in the policy it issued to him. First, with

regard to the commercial general liability coverage in the policy, Greenwell contends the

policy “covered damages [he] might become obligated to pay as the result of bodily

injury or property damage,” as well as “personal injury and advertising damage.” He

further contends that the coverage territory encompassed (but was not limited to) all of

the United States. Thus, he argues, “if [he] drove from his office [in Tracy] to get lunch

and killed a pedestrian, [Auto-Owners] would have been liable,” or “[i]f [his] business

computer exploded and burned a repairman, [Auto-Owners] would have been on the

hook.”

9

Greenwell further argues, with regard to the commercial property coverage in the

policy, that the policy applied to his “Arkansas apartment building, as well as any other

property he acquired in the United States or Canada intended for (a) a similar use as the

Arkansas property or (b) use as a warehouse.” Thus, he contends, “if [he] had purchased

an apartment building in Tracy the day after the policy issued, and it burned down,

[Auto-Owners] would have been liable not only to pay for the repairs, but for [his] lost

business income” from the property.

Based on the foregoing aspects of the policy, Greenwell contends that “[g]iven the

broad coverage umbrella the policy extended over [his] California business, [Auto-

Owners] cannot seriously claim it could not have foreseen that it might be called upon to

defend itself in a California court.”

Auto-Owners makes only a half-hearted attempt to dispute Greenwell’s

contentions regarding the scope of the coverage in the policy the company issued to him.

With respect to Greenwell’s first hypothetical -- the auto accident on the way to lunch --

Auto-Owners claims it “would not have been liable,” but it makes no attempt to justify

that assertion. We can, however, conceive of a basis for Auto-Owners’ assertion in this

regard. The commercial general liability coverage covered “those sums that the insured

becomes legally obligated to pay as damages because of ‘bodily injury’ . . . to which this

insurance applies,” but the coverage applied only with respect to Greenwell’s conduct of

his business. While on his way to get lunch, Greenwell would -- at least arguably -- not

be engaged in the conduct of his business, and thus any injury he caused would not be

subject to the commercial general liability coverage in the policy. (Cf. Gipson v. Davis

Realty Co. (1963) 215 Cal.App.2d 190, 209-210 [“it is the general rule that an employee

on his way to lunch, even though he is driving an automobile which is the property of the

master, is not engaged in furthering any end of the employer, and that therefore under

such circumstances, the servant is not acting within the scope of his employment”].)

10

As to Greenwell’s second hypothetical under the commercial general liability

coverage, however, Auto-Owners does not dispute that it would have been responsible

under that coverage for damages Greenwell might have had to pay because of the injury

to the computer repairman that Greenwell hypothesizes. Furthermore, we note that under

that coverage, the company would have had “the . . . duty to defend [Greenwell] against

any ‘suit’ seeking those damages.”

With respect to Greenwell’s third hypothetical, Auto-Owners does dispute its

potential liability for fire damage to after-acquired property in Tracy under the

commercial property coverage in the property, but again the company makes no real

attempt to justify its position in this regard. Auto-Owners asserts that it “could [not]

cover such a loss as it is not licensed to do so,” but it offers no authority to support that

assertion, and in reply Greenwell points to authority supporting the contrary proposition

-- that an insurer need not be licensed to conduct business in a particular state in order to

cover a loss occurring there. (See McClanahan v. Trans-America Ins. Co. (1957) 149

Cal.App.2d 171, 172-173 [Alabama insurance company that never qualified to do

business in California nonetheless insured losses arising out of automobile accidents

occurring anywhere in the continental United States].)

As we read the policy, under an endorsement to the commercial property coverage

for newly acquired or constructed property, Auto-Owners did agree to pay for direct

physical loss or damage to any building Greenwell acquired at another location intended

for use as an apartment building or as a warehouse, but that coverage was essentially

intended as gap coverage, lasting a maximum of 90 days or until Greenwell secured other

insurance for the property. Furthermore, the territory in which this coverage applied

extended throughout the United States, Puerto Rico, and Canada. Thus, Greenwell’s

third hypothetical does appear to be generally correct, in that if he had purchased an

apartment building in Tracy when the policy was in effect, and if that building had been

damaged by fire before he secured other insurance for the property and less than 90 days

11

after he purchased the property, the commercial property coverage provided to him by

Auto-Owners would have applied.

Thus, notwithstanding Auto-Owners’ protestations to the contrary, it does appear

that the policy the company issued to Greenwell covered certain potential risks and losses

that could have occurred, and damages that could have been imposed on Greenwell, in

California, and under the general commercial liability coverage in particular, Auto-

Owners assumed a duty to defend Greenwell against suits that could have been filed in

California seeking those damages.

Rather than seriously attempting to dispute the responsibility it could have under

the policy in some or all of the hypothetical situations posed by Greenwell, Auto-Owners

emphasizes instead that the circumstances Greenwell has imagined “do not exist in this

case” and that “Greenwell’s claims [here] are based on losses that occurred in Arkansas.”

This argument, however, is not really directed at the “purposeful availment” prong of the

test for specific jurisdiction, which -- as we have explained -- focuses on the nature and

quality of the defendant’s activities in the state or with state residents. (Gilmore Bank,

supra, 223 Cal.App.4th at p. 1568.) In other words, in determining whether Auto-

Owners purposefully availed itself of the privilege of conducting activities in California,

we are not concerned with the fact that the lawsuit at issue here arises out of damage that

occurred to property in Arkansas. Rather, at this point we are concerned with the

relationship that Auto-Owners entered into with Greenwell, a California resident, and

whether the nature and quality of that relationship put Auto-Owners on notice that it

could be subject to litigation in California.

On this particular point, we agree with Greenwell that Auto-Owners’ contacts with

California satisfied the “purposeful availment” prong of the test for specific jurisdiction.

By entering into an insurance contract with Greenwell, Auto-Owners created continuing

obligations between itself and a resident of California. Moreover, because the policy

covered risks and losses that could have occurred in California, and damages that could

12

have been imposed on Greenwell in California, and because Auto-Owners undertook an

obligation to defend Greenwell against suits seeking such damages, Auto-Owners had

reason to know that it might be subject to litigation in California based on the obligations

it undertook to Greenwell in the insurance contract.

Auto-Owners insists that “the [c]ourts have already found that out-of-state insurers

. . . do not purposefully avail themselves of California’s forum benefits by entering into

insurance contracts with California residents and accepting premiums from California.”

As the preceding analysis shows, however, in concluding that the purposeful availment

prong of the specific jurisdiction test was satisfied here we are not relying solely on the

fact that Auto-Owners entered into an insurance contract with a California resident and

accepted premiums that he sent from California. Rather, in addition we are relying on the

specific nature of the insurance contract Auto-Owners entered into with Greenwell and

the fact that the some of the coverage Auto-Owners chose to provide Greenwell under

that contract extended to risks and losses that could have occurred in California, and

damages that could have been imposed on Greenwell in California, such that Auto-

Owners had reason to know that it might be subject to litigation in California based on its

contractual obligations to Greenwell. Based on the specific facts of this case -- which are

readily distinguishable from the facts of the cases on which Auto-Owners purports to rely

---- we conclude the first prong of the test for specific jurisdiction was satisfied here.

IV

Substantial Nexus

The second prong of the test for specific jurisdiction is whether the current

controversy is “related to or arise[s] out of the defendant’s contacts with the state.”

(Gilmore Bank, supra, 223 Cal.App.4th at p. 1568.) Although Auto-Owners does not

realize it, it is this prong of the test to which much of the company’s arguments are

relevant. By focusing on the fact that this case arises out of damage that occurred to

Greenwell’s property in Arkansas, rather than out of any of the hypothetical situations

13

Greenwell imagines might have been covered by the policy, Auto-Owners is essentially

arguing that the nexus between the current controversy and the company’s contacts with

California is insufficient to justify California’s exercise of personal jurisdiction over the

company. For the reasons that follow, we agree.

As an initial matter, Greenwell contends that Auto-Owners “has forfeited the right

to argue that [his] lawsuit is not ‘related to’ and did not ‘arise out’ of the [company]’s

contacts with the state . . . because [Auto-Owners] never made such an argument below.”

We reject this contention. The rule that Greenwell cites provides that generally “a claim

of error will be deemed to have been forfeited when a party fails to bring the error to the

trial court’s attention by timely motion or objection.” (Avalos v. Perez (2011) 196

Cal.App.4th 773, 776, italics added.) Here, we are not dealing with a “claim of error” by

Auto-Owners -- the only party claiming error is Greenwell. Moreover, to the extent

Greenwell suggests that this rule for claims of error should apply more generally to

arguments -- such that Auto-Owners should be deemed to have forfeited any argument on

the “substantial nexus” issue because the company did not make that argument in the trial

court -- we note that “it is within this court’s discretion to make an exception to this rule

when the issue on appeal relates to a question of law only.” (Id. at p. 777.) Greenwell

fails to explain why, even assuming the basic rule applies here, we should not apply the

exception for issues of law here, and we see no reason for not doing so. Given that the

pertinent facts are undisputed, the question of whether the current controversy has a

sufficient nexus to Auto-Owner’s contacts with California to justify the exercise of

personal jurisdiction over the company is purely one of law, and one which Greenwell

14

has had a fair opportunity to address.1 Accordingly, Auto-Owners has not forfeited

anything.

In Vons, our Supreme Court explained that the second prong of the test for specific

jurisdiction is satisfied if “there is a substantial nexus or connection between the

defendant’s forum activities and the plaintiff’s claim.”2 (Vons, supra, 14 Cal.4th at

p. 456.) “A claim need not arise directly from the defendant’s forum contacts in order to

be sufficiently related to the contact to warrant the exercise of specific jurisdiction.

Rather, as long as the claim bears a substantial connection to the nonresident’s forum

contacts, the exercise of specific jurisdiction is appropriate.” (Id. at p. 452.) “[F]or the

purpose of establishing jurisdiction the intensity of forum contacts and the connection of

the claim to those contacts are inversely related. . . . ‘[A]s the relationship of the

defendant with the state seeking to exercise jurisdiction over him grows more tenuous,

the scope of jurisdiction also retracts, and fairness is assured by limiting the

circumstances under which the plaintiff can compel him to appear and defend.’ ” (Ibid.)

Following Vons, in applying the substantial nexus prong of the test for specific

jurisdiction, we begin by reexamining the nature and scope of Auto-Owners’ contacts

1 Indeed, following oral argument, we permitted Greenwell to supplement his

previous briefing and file a letter brief specifically addressing the substantial nexus prong

of the test for specific jurisdiction.

2 The United States Supreme Court “has declined to clarify the relatedness element

of specific jurisdiction.” (Vons, supra, 14 Cal.4th at p. 451, fn. 4; see also Moki Mac

River Expeditions v. Drugg (2007) 50 Tex.Sup.J. 498 [221 S.W.3d 569, 584] [“The

Supreme Court has yet to explicate the degree of relatedness necessary to support specific

jurisdiction over a nonresident defendant”].) While courts across the country have taken

various approaches to this issue (see Vons, supra, 14 Cal.4th at pp. 460-475 [identifying

three, but refusing to apply, different approaches: but-for relatedness, proximate cause,

and substantive relevance]), we are bound by and must follow decisions from our state

Supreme Court. (Auto Equity Sales, Inc. v. Superior Court (1962) 57 Cal.2d 450, 455.)

Accordingly, we look to our Supreme Court’s decision in Vons for guidance on this issue.

15

with California to determine the intensity of those contacts. Viewing the evidence in the

light most favorable to Auto-Owners, it appears that with the exception of the insurance

contract at issue here, Auto-Owners does not conduct and has not conducted any business

in California. The company is not licensed or authorized to do business in California,

does not write policies for California, does not have any agents licensed to sell its policies

in California, does not solicit business in California, does not have any employees in

California, does not pay taxes in California, and has never commenced any legal action in

California. So far as the record shows, Auto-Owners’ only contact with California is that

it agreed to write a commercial policy for Greenwell, who does business in Tracy under

the name Greenwell Properties. But Auto-Owners did not solicit Greenwell’s business in

California. Instead, Greenwell obtained the policy from the company through an

insurance agent in Arkansas, and though -- as we have explained -- some of the risks,

losses, and damages covered under the terms of that policy could have arisen in

California, where Greenwell resides and maintains the office for his business as a

property owner, the primary purpose for the insurance was to cover risks related to the

apartment building Greenwell owned in Arkansas. The declarations for both the

commercial property coverage and the commercial general liability coverage in the

policy specifically identified only the Little Rock apartment building. Indeed, so far as

Auto-Owners was aware, the only building Greenwell owned and thus the sole object of

his business as a property owner was the apartment building in Arkansas. This is

consistent with the fact that the portion of the premium Greenwell paid for the

commercial general liability coverage was calculated by reference to Greenwell’s

ownership of the apartment building and in fact appears to have been calculated

specifically by reference to the number of apartments in the building.3

3 In his complaint, Greenwell alleged that the Arkansas apartment building he

bought had 12 units in it. The declarations pages for the commercial general liability

16

The evidence also shows that the vast majority of the insurance premium

Greenwell paid each year for the policy from Auto-Owners was attributable to the

commercial property coverage, which was almost exclusively for the apartment building

in Arkansas.4 As we have noted, for the first policy year (2007-2008) the annual

premium for the commercial property coverage was $5,899 and the annual premium for

the commercial general liability coverage was $257. This represents a ratio of almost 23

to 1. In the third policy year, that ratio increased to nearly 26 to 1, and in the fourth

policy year, the ratio was over 28 to 1.5 Moreover, because the coverage territory for the

commercial general liability coverage extended throughout the United States and beyond,

the small portion of the insurance premium for that coverage was not attributable solely

to California risks and damages, but actually served to cover Greenwell throughout the

nation (even though, as we have noted, the cost of that coverage appears to have been

calculated by reference to the number of apartments Greenwell owned in Arkansas).

Finally, while Auto-Owners continued its contractual relationship with Greenwell

over three annual renewals of the policy, there is no evidence that Auto-Owners did

anything to solicit those renewals.

From the foregoing, it is readily apparent that Auto-Owners’ contacts with

California -- although sufficient to put the company on notice that it might be subject to

litigation in California based on the obligations it undertook to Greenwell in the

coverage for the first policy year shows that the main portion of the premium for that

coverage ($252) was attributable to the category “Apartment Buildings” and was

calculated by multiplying $21.015 by 12.

4 As we have explained already, the commercial property coverage also applied to

newly acquired property elsewhere, but only for a limited period of time following

acquisition of that property.

5 There is no evidence regarding the premium for the second policy year (2008-

2009).

17

insurance contract -- were far from extensive. Given that fact, under Vons the connection

between the present litigation and the company’s contacts with California must be

proportionally greater and more direct to justify the exercise of specific jurisdiction over

the company. Under the facts here, however, we conclude the nexus between Auto-

Owners’ forum activities and Greenwell’s claim is not sufficiently substantial to support

the exercise of jurisdiction over the company in California in this action.

What is most important here is that Greenwell’s lawsuit does not arise out of any

of the risks, losses, and damages covered by the policy that could have occurred in

California (as discussed above). Instead, the lawsuit relates directly to fires that damaged

the apartment building Greenwell owned in Arkansas and Auto-Owners’ alleged bad

faith refusal to pay what Greenwell contends were the full insurance proceeds due to him

because of those fires. Thus, what is at issue here are losses that occurred in Arkansas

that were covered (or not, as the case may be) by the commercial property coverage in

the policy that Greenwell obtained through an insurance agent in Arkansas. While it may

not be a purely fortuitous circumstance that the insurance policy also covered risks that

might have arisen in California -- because Greenwell operated his business from here,

and the coverage territory of the policy extended throughout the United States and

beyond -- the critical fact is that Greenwell is not suing Auto-Owners for any California

risk that came to fruition; he is suing Auto-Owners because of something that happened

to his business property in Arkansas, which is where Greenwell obtained the insurance at

issue, the primary purpose of which was to cover potential risks and damage to that

Arkansas property. All of these factors support the conclusion that there is no substantial

nexus between Auto-Owners’ activities in California and the present lawsuit.

It is also significant to note that Greenwell concedes that the witnesses in this case,

other than himself, are in Arkansas, not California. This makes sense, given that the

dispute appears to be over whether the two fires at the apartment building one day apart

should have been treated as two separate losses under the policy, the determination of

18

which will probably depend largely upon evidence relating to the fires. This is in marked

contrast to Greenwell’s primary authority, McGee, where “the crucial witnesses . . . on

the company’s defense of suicide” were to be found in California, where the insured died.

(See McGee v. International Life Ins. Co. (1957) 355 U.S. at pp. 223-224 [2 L.Ed.2d at

p. 226].) This absence of evidence in California only serves to reinforce the conclusion

that the connection between Auto-Owners’ contacts with California and Greenwell’s

lawsuit is not substantial enough to justify California’s exercise of specific jurisdiction

over the company in this case.

In his post-argument letter brief, in support of his argument that the substantial

nexus test was satisfied here, Greenwell relies in large part on a line from Vons that our

Supreme Court later quoted in a post-Vons decision in 2005 -- Snowney v. Harrah’s

Entertainment, Inc. (2005) 35 Cal.4th 1054, 1068. That line, which ultimately can be

traced back to a footnote in a 1968 decision by the federal Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals

-- is as follows: “Only when the operative facts of the controversy are not related to the

defendant’s contact with the state can it be said that the cause of action does not arise

from that contact.” (Southern Machine Company v. Mohasco Industries, Inc. (6th Cir.

1968) 401 F.2d 374, 384, fn. 29.)6

According to Greenwell, the operative facts of the present controversy are related

to Auto-Owners’ contacts with California, because Auto-Owners’ contact with California

is the insurance policy the company issued to him and he is suing Auto-Owners on that

contract. Therefore, in his view, the substantial nexus test was clearly satisfied.

6 The Sixth Circuit quoted the footnote from Southern Machine 20 years later in

Third Nat. Bank in Nashville v. WEDGE Group Inc. (6th Cir. 1989) 882 F.2d 1087, 1091.

In turn, our Supreme Court quoted Third Nat. Bank in Vons, supra, 14 Cal.4th at page

455, then quoted Vons in Snowney, supra, 35 Cal.4th at page 1068.

19

We do not believe this single line that can be traced back to a footnote in a Sixth

Circuit decision from nearly 50 years ago justifies a different conclusion here than the

one we have explained already. To the extent Greenwell would have us read that line to

mean that any relationship whatsoever between the operative facts of the controversy and

the defendant’s contact with the forum state is sufficient to support a finding of specific

jurisdiction, that reading would undercut entirely the extensive discussion of the

substantial nexus test in both Vons and Snowney. Our Supreme Court has made it clear

that “the state may exercise specific jurisdiction [only] if there is a substantial connection

or nexus between forum contacts and the litigation.” (Vons, supra, 14 Cal.4th at p. 454,

italics added.) Under this formulation, a court must consider “the nature of the

relationship between the claim and the forum contacts” (ibid.) to determine whether the

claim is substantially related to the forum contacts. Read literally, however, the line from

Southern Machine would require a court to determine only whether there is any

relationship at all -- substantial or insubstantial -- between the claim and the forum

contacts. We do not believe our Supreme Court, by quoting this line from Southern

Machine, intended such a result.

Indeed, in Vons our Supreme Court specifically rejected an alternate formulation

of the relatedness test for specific jurisdiction under which the requisite relatedness

would be established by showing a “but for” causal connection between the defendant’s

forum contacts and the present controversy. (See Vons, supra, 14 Cal.4th at pp. 464-

469.) In doing so, the court explained that a “but for” test could be “too lax” because it

“theoretically [could] include any historical cause of the plaintiff’s injuries.” (Id. at p.

467.) More important, though, the court explained that such a test “is overly mechanical

and fails to concentrate on the central issue presented by a motion to quash for lack of

specific jurisdiction--that is, whether the defendant’s forum contacts and the plaintiff’s

claim are related sufficiently so that it is fair to subject the defendant to jurisdiction in the

forum.” (Id. at pp. 468-469.)

20

The result would be the same if we were to apply the line from Southern Machine

literally and find the necessary relationship to establish specific jurisdiction whenever

there is any relationship whatsoever between the defendant’s forum contacts and the

plaintiff’s claim. Such a test would be too lax and would ignore completely the question

of whether there is a sufficient relationship between the contacts and the claim to fairly

subject the defendant to jurisdiction in the forum.

For the foregoing reasons, we decline to apply the line from Southern Machine

literally and instead adhere to the substantial nexus test as it is more fully developed and

explained in Vons and Snowney. Under that test, as we have explained already, we

conclude that the relationship between Auto-Owners’ contacts with California and

Greenwell’s lawsuit is not substantial enough to justify California’s exercise of specific

jurisdiction over the company in this case. Accordingly, we likewise conclude that the

trial court did not err in granting Auto-Owners’ motion to quash the service of summons.

DISPOSITION

The order quashing the service of summons is affirmed. Auto-Owners shall

recover its costs on appeal. (Cal. Rules of Court, rule 8.278(a)(1).)

ROBIE , J.

We concur:

RAYE , P. J.

HOCH , J.

21

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.