Opinion

Patricia E. Hubbard v. United States Postal Service

Court
Merit Systems Protection Board
Filed
Nov 25, 2014
Status
Unpublished
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 33.6%

The opinion

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

MERIT SYSTEMS PROTECTION BOARD

PATRICIA E. HUBBARD, DOCKET NUMBER

Appellant, AT-0353-13-7341-I-1

v.

UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE, DATE: November 25, 2014

Agency.

THIS ORDER IS NONPRECEDENTIAL *

John R. Macon, Memphis, Tennessee, for the appellant.

Lori L. Markle, Esquire, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, for the agency.

BEFORE

Susan Tsui Grundmann, Chairman

Anne M. Wagner, Vice Chairman

Mark A. Robbins, Member

REMAND ORDER

¶1 The appellant has filed a petition for review of the initial decision, which

dismissed her restoration appeal for lack of jurisdiction. For the reasons

discussed below, we GRANT the appellant’s petition for review and REMAND

the appeal for further adjudication consistent with this Remand Order.

*

A nonprecedential order is one that the Board has determined does not add

significantly to the body of MSPB case law. Parties may cite nonprecedential orders,

but such orders have no precedential value; the Board and administrative judges are not

required to follow or distinguish them in any future decisions. In contrast, a

precedential decision issued as an Opinion and Order has been identified by the Board

as significantly contributing to the Board’s case law. See 5 C.F.R. § 1201.117(c).

2

BACKGROUND

¶2 The appellant is a Mailhandler who suffered an on-the-job injury in 2004.

Initial Appeal File (IAF), Tab 7 at 77. As a result, she was given a limited-duty

assignment for several years. As part of the National Reassessment Process, the

appellant was placed off work in August 2010, and she appealed that action to the

Board. That appeal was resolved pursuant to a settlement agreement executed in

January 2011, under which the appellant was returned to a limited-duty

assignment. MSPB Docket No. AT-0353-10-0995-I-1, Initial Decision (Jan. 6,

2011). On August 9, 2013, the agency offered the appellant a set of different

limited duties, which she refused on the basis that she believed the duties were

outside her medical restrictions, citing a left elbow injury that was being treated

by her physician. IAF, Tab 7 at 28-29. Based on the appellant’s refusal to accept

its offer, the agency sent her home that day. IAF, Tab 10 at 2-4. In dismissing

the ensuing Board appeal for lack of jurisdiction, the administrative judge found

that the appellant failed to make a nonfrivolous allegation that she was absent

from her position due to a compensable injury, finding that the appellant’s

approved injuries were for her neck, back, and shoulders, and that she was not

approved for workers’ compensation due to an on-the-job elbow injury. IAF,

Tab 12, Initial Decision at 5.

¶3 The appellant filed a timely petition for review, contending that the

administrative judge’s findings were in error, and included a determination made

by the Office of Workers’ Compensation Programs (OWCP) after the issuance of

the initial decision. Petition for Review (PFR) File, Tab 1. The agency did not

respond to the petition for review.

ANALYSIS

The administrative judge erred in finding that the appellant’s left elbow injury

was not approved for compensation by OWCP.

¶4 As the appellant asserts in her petition for review, PFR File, Tab 1 at 2, 4-6,

she presented evidence below that OWCP had approved for compensation an

3

injury to her left elbow. In claim number 062282620, OWCP initially denied the

appellant’s claim of injury to her left arm, elbow, and fingers incurred as a result

of repairing damaged letters and flats at work. IAF, Tab 10, Exhibit (Ex.) 1 (fax

page 19). In a reconsideration decision issued on June 1, 2012, however, OWCP

vacated its earlier determination and approved the appellant’s claim for left

lateral epicondylitis. Id. at Ex. 2 (fax page 20). Epicondylitis is a “painful and

sometimes disabling inflammation of the muscle and surrounding tissues of the

elbow caused by repeated stress and strain on the forearm near the lateral

epicondyle of the humerus (arm bone).” Mosby’s Medical Dictionary (8th ed.

2009). We thus find that the administrative judge erred in finding that the

appellant’s left elbow injury was not approved for compensation by OWCP.

¶5 Even if OWCP had not determined that the appellant had sustained a

work-related injury to her left elbow, however, the agency was not free to ignore

that condition when reassigning her from one set of limited duties to another.

The agency’s Employee and Labor Relations Manual (ELM) recognizes that an

individual who is referred for reassignment or reemployment consideration by

OWCP may have some degree of concurrent disability that is not caused by or

related to the original job injury or disability; the ELM also states that the agency

physician or occupational health nurse should carefully evaluate all concurrent

disabilities and include their potential impact in their recommendation for

reassignment or reemployment to the appointing official. ELM § 546.622.

Accordingly, the agency was obligated to consider the appellant’s left elbow

condition in any limited-duty assignments it offered the appellant. See Latham v.

U.S. Postal Service, 117 M.S.P.R. 400, ¶¶ 12-13, 30-34 (2012) (an agency must

comply with its own rules, including ELM provisions, when they provide

additional benefits or protections to a partially-recovered individual).

4

The appellant has made a nonfrivolous allegation that the agency arbitrarily and

capriciously denied her restoration to employment.

¶6 To establish jurisdiction over an appeal under 5 C.F.R. § 353.304(c), an

appellant must prove by preponderant evidence that: (1) she was absent from her

position due to a compensable injury; (2) she recovered sufficiently to return to

duty on a part-time basis or to return to work in a position with less demanding

physical requirements than those previously required of her; (3) the agency

denied her request for restoration; and (4) the denial was arbitrary and capricious

because of the agency’s failure to perform its obligations under 5 C.F.R.

§ 353.301(d). Latham, 117 M.S.P.R. 400, ¶ 10. An appellant who makes

nonfrivolous allegations of jurisdiction concerning all four prongs of the

jurisdictional standard is entitled to a jurisdictional hearing. Paszko v. U.S.

Postal Service, 119 M.S.P.R. 207, ¶ 8 (2013).

¶7 It is undisputed that the appellant established the first two of these

elements. Regarding the third jurisdictional element, the Board has stated that

there is nothing to prevent an agency from assigning a partially-recovered

employee from one set of modified duties to another. Id., ¶ 10 n.4. A challenge

to such an action would ordinarily not concern a denial of restoration; it would

pertain merely to the “details and circumstances” of the restoration, which are not

appealable. See id. A job offer that is outside an employee’s medical

restrictions, however, does constitute a denial of restoration. Id., ¶ 9.

¶8 With her petition for review, the appellant has included a December 11,

2013 determination by OWCP that the agency’s August 9, 2013 offer of a

limited-duty assignment was unsuitable because the physical requirements in the

job offer exceeded those listed in the medical report and duty status provided by

the treating physician on October 29, 2013, as well as his correspondence dated

August 14, 2013. PFR File, Tab 1 at 46. Determinations of the suitability of an

offered position are within the exclusive domain of OWCP, and it is that agency,

not the employing agency and not the Board, which possesses the requisite

5

expertise to evaluate whether a position is suitable in light of the employee’s

particular medical condition. Bynum v. U.S. Postal Service, 112 M.S.P.R. 403,

¶ 23 (2009), aff’d, 382 F. App’x 934 (Fed. Cir. 2010). Accordingly, we find that

the appellant has established that she was denied restoration.

¶9 As to the fourth element, the appellant alleged that the tasks entailed in the

limited-duty assignment she had been performing until that day continue to be

performed by other employees and that these duties did not need to be transferred

to other employees in order to provide them with sufficient work. See IAF,

Tab 10 at 9. Even though the agency does not appear to have contested those

allegations, that does not necessarily establish that the agency acted arbitrarily

and capriciously when it sent the appellant home on August 9, 2013, in that the

agency may have believed in good faith that it expected a favorable suitability

ruling from OWCP. See Paszko, 119 M.S.P.R. 207, ¶ 8. Nevertheless, we

conclude that the appellant has made a nonfrivolous allegation that the agency

acted arbitrarily and capriciously in denying her restoration, which entitles her to

a jurisdictional hearing. See id.

ORDER

¶10 We REMAND this appeal to the regional office for further adjudication

consistent with the above analysis, including a hearing on the issue of

jurisdiction. In addition, should the administrative judge find jurisdiction over

6

the appeal, he shall adjudicate the appellant’s claim of disability discrimination.

See IAF, Tab 1 at 2; PFR File, Tab 1 at 15.

FOR THE BOARD: ______________________________

William D. Spencer

Clerk of the Board

Washington, D.C.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.