Opinion

Madelaine E. Sattlefield v. Office of Personnel Management

Court
Merit Systems Protection Board
Filed
Oct 7, 2014
Status
Unpublished
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 33.3%

The opinion

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

MERIT SYSTEMS PROTECTION BOARD

MADELAINE E. SATTLEFIELD, DOCKET NUMBER

Appellant, CH-844E-13-4542-I-1

v.

OFFICE OF PERSONNEL DATE: October 7, 2014

MANAGEMENT,

Agency.

THIS FINAL ORDER IS NONPRECEDENTIAL 1

Madelaine E. Sattlefield, East Saint Louis, Illinois, pro se.

Matthew D. MacIsaac, Washington, D.C., for the agency.

BEFORE

Susan Tsui Grundmann, Chairman

Anne M. Wagner, Vice Chairman

Mark A. Robbins, Member

FINAL ORDER

¶1 The appellant has filed a petition for review of the initial decision, which

affirmed the Office of Personnel Management’s (OPM) final decision denying her

application for disability retirement. Generally, we grant petitions such as this

one only when: the initial decision contains erroneous findings of material fact;

1

A nonprecedential order is one that the Board has determined does not add

significantly to the body of MSPB case law. Parties may cite nonprecedential orders,

but such orders have no precedential value; the Board and administrative judges are not

required to follow or distinguish them in any future decisions. In contrast, a

precedential decision issued as an Opinion and Order has been identified by the Board

as significantly contributing to the Board’s case law. See 5 C.F.R. § 1201.117(c).

2

the initial decision is based on an erroneous interpretation of statute or regulation

or the erroneous application of the law to the facts of the case; the judge’s rulings

during either the course of the appeal or the initial decision were not consistent

with required procedures or involved an abuse of discretion, and the resulting

error affected the outcome of the case; or new and material evidence or legal

argument is available that, despite the petitioner’s due diligence, was not

available when the record closed. See Title 5 of the Code of Federal Regulations,

section 1201.115 (5 C.F.R. § 1201.115). After fully considering the filings in this

appeal, and based on the following points and authorities, we conclude that the

petitioner has not established any basis under section 1201.115 for granting the

petition for review. Therefore, we DENY the petition for review and AFFIRM

the initial decision, which is now the Board’s final decision. 5 C.F.R.

§ 1201.113(b).

¶2 The appellant was a Federal Employees’ Retirement System

(FERS)-covered Mail Handler who worked for the Postal Service from

September 9, 2000, until the agency removed her on June 10, 2011, for

unacceptable attendance. Initial Appeal File (IAF), Tab 1 at 1, Tab 4 at 6, Tab 6

at 22, 54-56. On or about April 12, 2012, the appellant filed an application for

disability retirement based on the following conditions: (1) a rotator cuff injury;

(2) plantar fasciitis; (3) anxiety attacks; and (4) a punctured lung. IAF, Tab 6

at 20. OPM issued a final decision denying the application, and the appellant

filed a Board appeal. IAF, Tab 1, Tab 6 at 6-9. The appellant initially requested

a hearing, but later withdrew her request. IAF, Tab 1 at 1, Tab 10 at 1.

¶3 After receiving the parties’ evidence and argument, the administrative judge

issued an initial decision affirming OPM’s final decision. IAF, Tab 13, Initial

Decision (ID) at 2, 7. She found that, although appellant has several medical

conditions, the appellant failed to prove that any of these conditions are disabling.

ID at 6.

3

¶4 The appellant has filed a petition for review, arguing that the administrative

judge weighed the evidence incorrectly, that she received a scheduled award for

her rotator cuff injury, and that she is currently complying with her prescribed

medication and physical therapy regimens. Petition for Review (PFR) File, Tab 1

at 4-5. The appellant asserts that her attorney advised her to withdraw her

hearing request. Id. at 5. She has filed various documents with her petition for

review pertaining to her workers’ compensation claim and current medical

regimen. PFR File, Tab 3. OPM has not filed a response.

¶5 As an initial matter, we have not considered the evidence that the appellant

filed for the first time on review related to her workers’ compensation claim.

PFR File, Tab 3 at 2-11. All of this evidence predates the initial decision and, in

fact, predates the appellant’s disability retirement application. She has not

explained why she was unable to submit this evidence for the record below

despite her due diligence. See Avansino v. U.S. Postal Service, 3 M.S.P.R. 211,

214 (1980) (under 5 C.F.R. § 1201.115, the Board will not consider evidence

submitted for the first time with the petition for review absent a showing that it

was unavailable before the record was closed despite the party’s due diligence).

The evidence of the appellant’s current medical regimen, however, postdates the

initial decision. PFR File, Tab 3 at 12-13. We have considered that evidence to

the extent that it bears on the issue of whether the appellant’s claimed medical

conditions were disabling during the relevant time periods, but we find that it is

immaterial to the outcome of the appeal. See id.

¶6 An employee bears the burden of proving by preponderant evidence her

entitlement to disability retirement. Snow v. Office of Personnel Management,

74 M.S.P.R. 269, 273 (1997); 5 C.F.R. § 1201.56(a)(2). To qualify for disability

retirement benefits under FERS, an individual must meet the following

requirements: (1) the individual must have completed 18 months of creditable

civilian service; (2) the individual must, while employed in a position subject to

FERS, have become disabled because of a medical condition resulting in a

4

deficiency in performance, conduct, or attendance or, if there is no such

deficiency, the disabling medical condition must be incompatible with either

useful and efficient service or retention in the position; (3) the disabling medical

condition must be expected to continue for at least 1 year from the date the

application for disability retirement is filed; (4) accommodation of the disabling

medical condition in the position held must be unreasonable; and (5) the

individual must not have declined a reasonable offer of reassignment to a vacant

position. 5 U.S.C. § 8451; Henderson v. Office of Personnel Management,

109 M.S.P.R. 529, ¶ 8 (2008); 5 C.F.R. § 844.103(a).

¶7 There is no dispute that the appellant has satisfied the service requirements

for disability retirement under FERS and that she has not declined any reasonable

offer of reassignment. Therefore, the only issues in this appeal relate to the

appellant’s medical conditions and their effects on her ability to perform in her

former position, i.e., eligibility criteria (2), (3), and (4).

¶8 The record amply demonstrates that the appellant had an attendance

deficiency. IAF, Tab 6 at 21-23, 55. Indeed, this was the reason for her removal.

Id. at 22. However, we agree with the administrative judge that the evidence is

insufficient to show that the appellant’s rotator cuff injury caused her attendance

deficiency. ID at 5. The appellant incurred this injury on August 27, 2009. IAF,

Tab 4 at 7. She states that she underwent surgery for it in February 2010, and she

was apparently on limited duty for a period of time as a consequence of this

injury. Id. at 7-8; IAF, Tab 6 at 44, Tab 9 at 3, Tab 11 at 3. The appellant states

that she continues to have severe problems with her shoulder, and an undated

statement from a coworker similarly states that the appellant is in constant pain

from this injury. IAF, Tab 4 at 20, Tab 11 at 3-5. However, the appellant has not

explained why the agency returned her to full duty on May 24, 2010, if she had

not recovered sufficiently from her compensable injury to resume the full duties

of her Mail Handler position. IAF, Tab 6 at 44. The appellant’s first-hand

account of pain and inability to work due to her shoulder injury is certainly

5

probative of whether her condition is disabling. IAF, Tab 11 at 3-5; see

Vanieken-Ryals v. Office of Personnel Management, 508 F.3d 1034, 1040-44

(Fed. Cir. 2007). However, there is no actual medical evidence in the record of

this condition or the surgery apart from an October 31, 2013 note from an office

visit, stating that the appellant is still experiencing “pain/stiffness” from the

injury and is taking an unspecified pain medication for it. IAF, Tab 9 at 3.

Under the circumstances, we agree with the administrative judge that this

evidence is insufficient to show that the appellant’s rotator cuff injury remained

disabling after the agency returned her to full duty in 2010.

¶9 There is slightly more medical evidence regarding the appellant’s plantar

fasciitis. The appellant submitted two notes from a podiatrist, dated April 28,

2011, and May 5, 2011, diagnosing her with plantar fasciitis. 2 IAF, Tab 6 at 30,

32. Such a condition would appear to be particularly problematic for a Mail

Handler like the appellant, whose job involves prolonged standing and walking

while handling heavy items. Id. at 43; IAF, Tab 11 at 3. Nevertheless, even if

the appellant’s plantar fasciitis contributed to her attendance deficiency, we find

insufficient evidence to conclude that this condition was expected to continue for

at least 1 year after her April 12, 2012 disability retirement application. The

podiatrist fitted the appellant with orthotics, prescribed stretching exercises, and

noted progress in the appellant’s plantar fasciitis, with the goal of rendering the

condition asymptomatic. IAF, Tab 6 at 31-32. There is no medical

documentation of this condition after the appellant’s removal, and, notably, there

is no mention of plantar fasciitis in the October 31, 2013 comprehensive medical

2

The podiatrist also diagnosed the appellant with unspecified fasciitis, a heal spur,

stress fracture syndrome, and extensor tendonitis. IAF, Tab 6 at 30, 32. However, the

appellant did not claim these conditions as disabling in her original disability retirement

application or in her reconsideration request. The Board will not consider evidence

relating to medical conditions that were never the subject of an application to OPM for

disability retirement. Dunn v. Office of Personnel Management, 60 M.S.P.R. 426, 433

(1994).

6

assessment that the appellant obtained in support of her disability retirement

claim. IAF, Tab 9 at 3.

¶10 As for the appellant’s anxiety attacks, the record contains four notes from a

psychiatrist, dated June 30, 2008, July 14, 2008, April 22, 2009, and July 14,

2010, all of which confirm that the appellant suffered from anxiety problems

during that time. IAF, Tab 6 at 33-37. The psychiatrist diagnosed the appellant

with panic disorder and a “likely” general anxiety disorder. 3 Id. He prescribed

her Zoloft and Klonopin to manage her symptoms. Id. at 33. The psychiatrist’s

description of the appellant’s anxiety attacks is consistent with the appellant’s

first-hand account and describes them as occurring about once a day—usually at

night—and consisting of chest pain, shortness of breath, and intense anxiety and

sweats, lasting about 10 to 15 minutes and interfering with her sleep. 4 IAF,

Tab 6 at 33-34, 36, Tab 11 at 5. There is no indication, however, in either the

psychiatrist’s reports or in the appellant’s subjective first-hand account of her

condition that it interfered in any way with her working. Nor do we find any

apparent connection between the appellant’s ability to work and these discreet

episodes that occur mostly at night. See Anderson v. Office of Personnel

Management, 96 M.S.P.R. 299, ¶ 20 (2004) (anxiety is not a condition that is

obviously incapacitating; the Board will require further information to connect an

appellant’s anxiety with her inability to perform her job duties), aff’d, 120 F.

App’x 320 (Fed. Cir. 2005). Furthermore, the psychiatrist’s notes indicate some

improvement in the appellant’s symptoms even with her partial compliance with

the psychiatrist’s treatment plan. IAF, Tab 6 at 34-35. There is no medical

3

The psychiatrist also diagnosed the appellant with major depression, and the appellant

gives a first-hand account of this condition. IAF, Tab 6 at 34-35, 37, Tab 11 at 4, 6.

However, the appellant did not raise this as a disabling condition before OPM, and

therefore we will not consider it. See Dunn, 60 M.S.P.R. at 433.

4

The psychiatrist described these episodes as “panic attacks” rather than “anxiety

attacks,” but it is apparent that this is the condition to which the appellant is referring in

her disability retirement application. IAF, Tab 6 at 20, 36.

7

evidence of this condition after July 14, 2010, and we find insufficient evidence

to conclude that it could be expected to persist for 1 year or more after the

June 12, 2012 disability retirement application date, especially if the appellant

fully complied with her psychiatrist’s instructions. Cf. Smedley v. Office of

Personnel Management, 108 M.S.P.R. 31, ¶ 23 (2008) (voluntary refusal to

accept facially-reasonable treatment will bar entitlement to disability retirement

benefits). There is no mention of this condition in the October 31, 2013 medical

evaluation. IAF, Tab 9 at 3.

¶11 We also find that the appellant’s punctured lung was not the reason for her

attendance deficiency because she incurred that injury on June 10, 2011—3 days

after the agency issued its removal decision. 5 IAF, Tab 6 at 22, 24-29.

Furthermore, there is no evidence that the injury continued to be disabling until

April 12, 2013—1 year past the date of the appellant’s disability retirement

application. In fact, this seems unlikely based on the June 20, 2011 hospital

discharge summary, which is the most recent medical evidence of this condition

and offers a favorable prognosis. Id. at 25.

¶12 In sum, we find that the sparse medical evidence and the appellant’s

first-hand account of her medical conditions are insufficient to support a finding

that any of these four conditions, alone or together, disabled the appellant from

performing in her Mail Handler position both during her employment and for

1 year after her disability retirement application. The evidence is variously

insufficient to show a connection between these conditions and the appellant’s

5

There is no first-hand documentation of the appellant’s removal in the record, e.g., the

proposal letter, the decision letter, or the Postal Service Form 50. It is therefore unclear

whether the appellant’s June 10, 2011 injury occurred before her June 10, 2011 removal

became effective. See generally Honea v. Department of Homeland Security,

118 M.S.P.R. 282, ¶¶ 9-10 & n.3 (2012) (separations generally occur at the end of the

day (midnight) unless the agency indicates that the separation will be effective at an

earlier time), aff’d, 524 F. App’x 623 (Fed. Cir. 2013). For purposes of this decision,

we assume that this injury occurred prior to the appellant’s separation. See generally

5 C.F.R. § 844.103(a)(2) (to be entitled to disability retirement, an individual’s

disability must have occurred while in service).

8

ability to work or that the conditions could be expected to persist for 1 year or

more after she applied for disability retirement. We also note that,

notwithstanding her supervisor’s statement, the appellant’s attendance deficiency

appears to have begun well before the claimed onset of her disability in 2009.

IAF, Tab 6 at 20-22. The appellant’s individual retirement record shows that she

incurred substantial amounts of leave without pay beginning in 2003. Id. at 55.

This makes it all the more difficult to attribute the appellant’s attendance

deficiency from 2009 onward solely or even primarily to her claimed disabling

conditions. For these reasons, contrary to the appellant’s arguments on review,

we agree with the administrative judge’s assessment of the evidence. See PFR

File, Tab 1 at 4; see also ID at 3-7.

¶13 Regarding the appellant’s withdrawal of her hearing request, although the

appellant may now regret that decision, she is ultimately responsible for the

prosecution of her own appeal and cannot escape the consequences of her

decision to rely on the advice of her attorney. 6 See Fairchilde v. Department of

the Interior, 36 M.S.P.R. 586, 588 (1988). In any event, the appellant has not

explained how a hearing in this appeal might have affected the outcome.

Likewise, we find it immaterial that the appellant’s shoulder injury was ruled

compensable and that she is currently complying with her doctor’s instructions.

PFR File, Tab 1 at 5.

NOTICE TO THE APPELLANT REGARDING

YOUR FURTHER REVIEW RIGHTS

You have the right to request review of this final decision by the United

States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit. You must submit your request to

the court at the following address:

6

The appellant has acted pro se throughout the course of her Board appeal. The nature

and source of this legal advice is not clear.

9

United States Court of Appeals

for the Federal Circuit

717 Madison Place, N.W.

Washington, DC 20439

The court must receive your request for review no later than 60 calendar

days after the date of this order. See 5 U.S.C. § 7703(b)(1)(A) (as rev. eff. Dec.

27, 2012). If you choose to file, be very careful to file on time. The court has

held that normally it does not have the authority to waive this statutory deadline

and that filings that do not comply with the deadline must be dismissed. See

Pinat v. Office of Personnel Management, 931 F.2d 1544 (Fed. Cir. 1991).

If you need further information about your right to appeal this decision to

court, you should refer to the federal law that gives you this right. It is found in

Title 5 of the United States Code, section 7703 (5 U.S.C. § 7703) (as rev. eff.

Dec. 27, 2012). You may read this law as well as other sections of the United

States Code, at our website, http://www.mspb.gov/appeals/uscode.htm.

Additional information is available at the court's website, www.cafc.uscourts.gov.

Of particular relevance is the court's "Guide for Pro Se Petitioners and

Appellants," which is contained within the court's Rules of Practice, and Forms 5,

6, and 11.

If you are interested in securing pro bono representation for your court

appeal, you may visit our website at http://www.mspb.gov/probono for a list of

attorneys who have expressed interest in providing pro bono representation for

Merit Systems Protection Board appellants before the court. The Merit Systems

10

Protection Board neither endorses the services provided by any attorney nor

warrants that any attorney will accept representation in a given case.

FOR THE BOARD: ______________________________

William D. Spencer

Clerk of the Board

Washington, D.C.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.