Opinion

Joseph J. Rastovski v. Office of Personnel Management

Court
Merit Systems Protection Board
Filed
Aug 26, 2014
Status
Unpublished
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 33.1%

The opinion

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

MERIT SYSTEMS PROTECTION BOARD

JOSEPH J. RASTOVSKI, DOCKET NUMBER

Appellant, CH-844E-13-0473-I-1

v.

OFFICE OF PERSONNEL DATE: August 26, 2014

MANAGEMENT,

Agency.

THIS FINAL ORDER IS NONPRECEDENTIAL 1

Jonathan C. Goldman, Esquire, Chicago, Illinois, for the appellant.

Matthew D. MacIsaac, Washington, D.C., for the agency.

BEFORE

Susan Tsui Grundmann, Chairman

Anne M. Wagner, Vice Chairman

Mark A. Robbins, Member

FINAL ORDER

¶1 The appellant has filed a petition for review of the initial decision, which

affirmed the Office of Personnel Management’s (OPM’s) reconsideration decision

denying his application for Federal Employees’ Retirement System (FERS)

disability retirement. Generally, we grant petitions such as this one only when:

1

A nonprecedential order is one that the Board has determined does not add

significantly to the body of MSPB case law. Parties may cite nonprecedential orders,

but such orders have no precedential value; the Board and administrative judges are not

required to follow or distinguish them in any future decisions. In contrast, a

precedential decision issued as an Opinion and Order has been identified by the Board

as significantly contributing to the Board’s case law. See 5 C.F.R. § 1201.117(c).

2

the initial decision contains erroneous findings of material fact; the initial

decision is based on an erroneous interpretation of statute or regulation or the

erroneous application of the law to the facts of the case; the judge’s rulings

during either the course of the appeal or the initial decision were not consistent

with required procedures or involved an abuse of discretion, and the resulting

error affected the outcome of the case; or new and material evidence or legal

argument is available that, despite the petitioner’s due diligence, was not

available when the record closed. See Title 5 of the Code of Federal Regulations,

section 1201.115 (5 C.F.R. § 1201.115). After fully considering the filings in this

appeal, and based on the following points and authorities, we conclude that the

petitioner has not established any basis under section 1201.115 for granting the

petition for review. Therefore, we DENY the petition for review. We MODIFY

the initial decision to correct the administrative judge’s errors in the initial

decision that the appellant raised on review, but we conclude that none of these

errors warrants a different outcome. Except as expressly modified by this Final

Order, we AFFIRM the initial decision.

DISCUSSION OF ARGUMENTS ON REVIEW

¶2 The appellant, an Electrical Worker at a Naval Station, filed for disability

retirement in June 2012 based on numerous medical conditions, including, but not

limited to, “ligament, muscle, tendon, trunk, external, multiple sites–lower back,

hip, leg,” although he did not specify any condition affecting those tissues or

areas. Initial Appeal File (IAF), Tab 5 at 34-121. OPM denied the appellant’s

application in initial and reconsideration decisions. See id. at 6-8

(reconsideration decision), 27-31 (initial decision). The appellant filed a Board

appeal. IAF, Tab 1. A telephonic hearing was held. Hearing CD. The

administrative judge issued an initial decision, affirming OPM’s reconsideration

decision. IAF, Tab 11, Initial Decision (ID). The appellant filed a petition for

review. Petition for Review (PFR) File, Tab 1. OPM did not file a response.

3

¶3 On review, the appellant contends that the administrative judge:

(1) misstated the appellant’s testimony regarding a May 5, 2012 meeting;

(2) improperly disregarded a letter from the appellant’s second-level supervisor;

(3) erred in finding that the appellant’s conditions did not preclude him from

performing his job; (4) misapplied the law regarding accommodation; and

(5) failed to consider the appellant’s inability to pay for treatment. For the

following reasons, we affirm the initial decision as modified herein.

¶4 An employee must show the following to be eligible for a disability

retirement annuity under FERS: (1) he completed at least 18 months of creditable

civilian service; (2) while employed in a position subject to FERS, he became

disabled because of a medical condition, resulting in a deficiency in performance,

conduct, or attendance, or, if there is no such deficiency, the disabling medical

condition is incompatible with either useful and efficient service or retention in

the position; (3) the disabling condition is expected to continue for at least 1 year

from the date that the application for disability retirement benefits was filed;

(4) accommodation of the disabling medical condition in the position held must

be unreasonable; and (5) he did not decline a reasonable offer of reassignment to

a vacant position. Christopherson v. Office of Personnel

Management, 119 M.S.P.R. 635, ¶ 6 (2013) (citing 5 U.S.C. § 8451(a); Thorne v.

Office of Personnel Management, 105 M.S.P.R. 171, ¶ 5 (2007); 5 C.F.R.

§ 844.103(a)). The appellant bears the burden of persuasion by a preponderance

of the evidence in an appeal from OPM’s decision on a voluntary disability

retirement application. Chavez v. Office of Personnel Management, 6 M.S.P.R.

404, 417 (1981).

¶5 It was undisputed that the appellant had more than 18 months of creditable

FERS service. Moreover, there is no evidence that he declined a reasonable offer

of reassignment. In the initial decision, the administrative judge found that the

appellant presented no medical evidence to support his claim that he was disabled

for the numerous medical conditions. ID at 4. Other than twice mentioning a

4

“disabling” shoulder condition, PFR File, Tab 1 at 4, 19 n.5, the appellant does

not make any argument on review to challenge the administrative judge’s

conclusion in this regard, and we affirm the initial decision concerning these

conditions.

¶6 The appellant’s entitlement to the FERS disability retirement annuity based

on his back condition, which we understand to be his reference to “ligament,

muscle, tendon, trunk, external, multiple sites – lower back, hip, leg,” IAF, Tab 5

at 34, depends on whether he met his burden to prove that: (1) this condition

rendered him unable to perform useful and efficient service in his position;

(2) the disabling condition lasted for more than 1 year from the date that he filed

his disability application; and (3) an accommodation of the condition was

unreasonable.

¶7 The initial decision reflects the administrative judge’s consideration of the

record evidence related to his back condition, including the appellant’s position

description, medical and other documentary evidence, the appellant’s testimony

regarding his disability and pain, and the testimony of Burt Schell, M.D., an

orthopedic surgeon who treated the appellant. ID at 3-10. Based on the

administrative judge’s consideration of this evidence, she found that the appellant

failed to establish his entitlement to a FERS disability retirement annuity. In

pertinent part, she found that he did not provide sufficient medical documentation

to show that his condition prevented him from performing useful and efficient

service in the Electrical Worker position. See ID at 9-10. We have considered

the appellant’s arguments on review.

¶8 Regarding the appellant’s argument that the administrative judge erred in

finding that his condition did not preclude him from performing his job as an

Electrical Worker, we note that the position description states that the incumbent

must be able to “walk, stoop, squat, kneel, climb[,] and work from ladders,

scaffolding[,] or platforms” and will “occasionally be required to lift up to 30

pounds.” IAF, Tab 5 at 41-44 (emphasis added). The May 14, 2012 note written

5

by Dr. Schell stated that the appellant could not lift more than five pounds, and he

could not bend or stoop, but it did not impose any restrictions on pushing/pulling

and it stated that he could walk or stand “as tolerated.” Id. at 17. In response to

a question during his June 2013 testimony regarding whether the appellant was

precluded from performing the duties of an Electrical Worker, Dr. Schell stated

only that the appellant’s duties would cause “ongoing aggravation” of his pain,

but he did not state or imply that the appellant’s back condition was or is

disabling. See Hearing CD. We also have considered the appellant’s testimony,

in which he stated, on the morning of the hearing, that his pain level was at an 8

out of 10 and that he believed that his condition prevented him from performing

the duties of the Electrical Worker position. Id.; see

Christopherson, 119 M.S.P.R. 635, ¶ 13 (noting that an employee’s subjective

evidence of disability is entitled to consideration and weight in a disability

retirement case when it is supported by competent medical evidence). We note,

however, that the appellant’s most recent medical documentation, dated April

2013, did not impose any restrictions or limitations on his activity. See IAF, Tab

6, Exhibit C. Based on our review of the record, we agree with the administrative

judge that the appellant has not demonstrated that his back condition was

disabling.

¶9 We also have considered the appellant’s contention that the administrative

judge improperly disregarded the statement of the appellant’s second-level

supervisor, which stated that the appellant resigned because of his “ongoing

medical condition.” PFR File, Tab 1 at 15-16; see IAF, Tab 8 (second-level

supervisor’s statement). In the initial decision, the administrative judge

explained that she did not credit the second-level supervisor’s statement because

it was inconsistent with other evidence in the record. ID at 5-6 (citing Hillen v.

Department of the Army, 35 M.S.P.R. 453, 458 (1987)). Indeed, the second-level

supervisor’s statement is inconsistent with the June 8, 2012 Supervisor’s

Statement and the appellant’s resignation pursuant to a settlement agreement that

6

resolved the agency’s removal action based on his alleged failure to maintain a

condition of employment. Compare IAF, Tab 8, with IAF, Tab 5 at 36-37 (stating

that the appellant stopped coming to work for “lack of [a] driver’s license [which

was] required for job position” 2), and IAF, Tab 6, Exhibit B (October 2012

settlement agreement); IAF, Tab 5 at 11 (the appellant’s resignation Standard

Form 50). Moreover, the second-level supervisor’s statement was not made under

penalty of perjury, and it was written approximately 1 year after the appellant

resigned from the agency. For these reasons, we agree with the administrative

judge’s decision not to credit the second-level supervisor’s statement.

¶10 We modify the initial decision to correct certain errors made by the

administrative judge in the initial decision. For instance, the appellant correctly

notes that the administrative judge erred when she stated that the appellant

“testified” that his supervisor told him on May 5, 2012, that he should not report

for duty until he resolved the problem with his driver’s license. PFR File, Tab 1

at 13-15; see ID at 5. Rather, the appellant testified that he was told by his

supervisor not to report for duty but that he should call in to see if there was any

work to be done. See Hearing CD. The administrative judge’s error in this

regard does not warrant a different outcome because she correctly stated

elsewhere in the initial decision that the appellant testified that his supervisor

“told him to go home until they had work for him.” See ID at 4-5.

¶11 The appellant contends on review that the administrative judge’s error in

this regard is “substantial” because she improperly viewed the appellant’s

2

We note that the Supervisor’s Statement appears to contain a discrepancy. The

appellant’s supervisor stated therein that the appellant was returned to a “permanent

job” on March 28, 2012. See IAF, Tab 5 at 37. It is unclear what the supervisor means

by the term “permanent job” in this context, but the record reflects that the appellant’s

doctors placed restrictions on his activity after this date. See, e.g., id. at 17 (May 14,

2012 note, which imposed lifting/carrying and bending/stooping restrictions, and

permitted walking/standing “as tolerated”), 96 (April 19, 2012 note, which stated that

the appellant was “working only light duty”). We need not resolve this discrepancy in

order to render a decision in this matter.

7

resignation as a means to resolve the pending dispute regarding the driver’s

license, and her “misconception” of the record “led her to believe that the

[a]ppellant had retired in order to resolve the issue with his driver’s license, when

in reality, the situation was the other way around.” PFR File, Tab 1 at 14 (citing

ID at 5-6). Based on our review of the record, including the terms of the parties’

settlement agreement, supra ¶ 9, we discern no error with the administrative

judge’s finding that the appellant resigned to settle a removal action for cause,

see ID at 6.

¶12 To the extent that the administrative judge stated in the initial decision that

the appellant has not shown that his condition(s) prevented him from being

assigned to another position, ID at 9, the appellant correctly notes that such a

burden should not be placed on a disability retirement applicant, PFR File, Tab 1

at 19-20 (citing Craig v. Office of Personnel Management, 92 M.S.P.R. 449, ¶ 15

(2002)). We therefore modify the initial decision in this regard.

¶13 We have also considered the appellant’s contention that the administrative

judge failed to consider the appellant’s inability to pay for treatment. PFR File,

Tab 1 at 21-22. The administrative judge noted in the initial decision that the

appellant did not follow Dr. Schell’s treatment plan because he did not have the

epidural steroid injection or physical therapy, and she also found that the

appellant failed to establish that his condition could not be treated. See ID at

7-10. The administrative judge did not specifically mention the appellant’s

testimony that he could no longer afford such treatment because he did not have

insurance. See Hearing CD. The appellant properly notes on review that the

Board will not find that an individual has refused treatment where the evidence

shows he cannot afford it. PFR File, Tab 1 at 21-22 (citing Confer v. Office of

Personnel Management, 111 M.S.P.R. 419, ¶ 22 (2009)). Even if the

8

administrative judge erred in this regard, 3 it is an adjudicatory error that is not

prejudicial to the appellant’s substantive rights and provides no basis for reversal

of the initial decision. Panter v. Department of the Air Force, 22 M.S.P.R. 281,

282 (1984). For the reasons discussed above and in the initial decision, we are

not persuaded that the appellant’s back condition rendered him unable to perform

useful and efficient service in the Electrical Worker position.

¶14 In light of our disposition, we need not address the appellant’s argument

regarding the administrative judge’s analysis of the accommodation issue. See

PFR File, Tab 1 at 19-21.

NOTICE TO THE APPELLANT REGARDING

YOUR FURTHER REVIEW RIGHTS

The initial decision, as supplemented by this Final Order, constitutes the

Board's final decision in this matter. 5 C.F.R. § 1201.113. You have the right to

request the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit to review this

final decision. You must submit your request to the court at the following

address:

United States Court of Appeals

for the Federal Circuit

717 Madison Place, N.W.

Washington, DC 20439

The court must receive your request for review no later than 60 calendar

days after the date of this order. See 5 U.S.C. § 7703(b)(1)(A) (as rev. eff. Dec.

27, 2012). If you choose to file, be very careful to file on time. The court has

held that normally it does not have the authority to waive this statutory deadline

and that filings that do not comply with the deadline must be dismissed. See

Pinat v. Office of Personnel Management, 931 F.2d 1544 (Fed. Cir. 1991).

3

Dr. Schell testified that an epidural injection would not be a permanent solution. See

Hearing CD. Moreover, the April 8, 2013 medication documentation does not include a

recommendation for either an epidural injection or physical therapy. See IAF, Tab 6,

Exhibit C.

9

If you need further information about your right to appeal this decision to

court, you should refer to the federal law that gives you this right. It is found in

Title 5 of the United States Code, section 7703 (5 U.S.C. § 7703) (as rev. eff.

Dec. 27, 2012). You may read this law as well as other sections of the United

States Code, at our website, http://www.mspb.gov/appeals/uscode.htm.

Additional information is available at the court's website, www.cafc.uscourts.gov.

Of particular relevance is the court's "Guide for Pro Se Petitioners and

Appellants," which is contained within the court's Rules of Practice, and Forms 5,

6, and 11.

If you are interested in securing pro bono representation for your court

appeal, you may visit our website at http://www.mspb.gov/probono for a list of

attorneys who have expressed interest in providing pro bono representation for

Merit Systems Protection Board appellants before the court. The Merit Systems

Protection Board neither endorses the services provided by any attorney nor

warrants that any attorney will accept representation in a given case.

FOR THE BOARD: ______________________________

William D. Spencer

Clerk of the Board

Washington, D.C.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.