Opinion

Wood v. Nunnery

Court
Court of Appeals of North Carolina
Filed
Feb 18, 2014
Status
Unpublished
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 33.1%

The opinion

An unpublished opinion of the North Carolina Court of Appeals does not constitute

controlling legal authority. Citation is disfavored, but may be permitted in accordance

with the provisions of Rule 30(e)(3) of the North Carolina Rules of Appellate Procedure.

NO. COA13-713

NORTH CAROLINA COURT OF APPEALS

Filed: 18 February 2014

TERRY WAYNE WOOD,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

v. Forsyth County

No. 09 CVS 3520

JEREMY NUNNERY, NORTH CAROLINA

FARM BUREAU MUTUAL INSURANCE

COMPANY and FIREMEN’S INSURANCE

COMPANY OF WASHINGTON, D.C.,

Defendants-Appellants.

Appeal by Defendant Jeremy Nunnery from order entered 11

February 2013 by Judge Edwin G. Wilson, Jr. in Superior Court,

Forsyth County. Heard in the Court of Appeals 19 November 2013.

Maynard & Harris, Attorneys at Law, PLLC, by C. Douglas

Maynard, Jr., for Plaintiff-Appellee.

Van Laningham Duncan PLLC, by L. Cooper Harrell; Smith

Moore Leatherwood LLP, by James G. Exum, Jr.; and Bennett &

Guthrie, PLLC, by Rodney A. Guthrie and Roberta King

Latham, for Defendant-Appellant Jeremy Nunnery.

Pinto Coates Kyre & Bowers, PLLC, by Deborah J. Bowers, for

North Carolina Association of Defense Attorneys, amicus

curiae.

Brown Moore & Associates, PLLC, by Jon R. Moore; and White

& Stradley, PLLC, by J. David Stradley, for North Carolina

Advocates for Justice, amicus curiae.

McGEE, Judge.

-2-

Terry Wayne Wood (“Plaintiff”) was injured on 10 May 2006,

in an automobile accident in Harnett County, as a result of the

negligence of Jeremy Nunnery (“Defendant”). At the time of the

accident, Plaintiff was driving a truck owned by Plaintiff’s

employer, in the course of his employment. Plaintiff filed a

complaint on 30 April 2009 against Defendants North Carolina

Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Company (“Farm Bureau”), and

Firemen's Insurance Company of Washington, D.C. (“Firemen's”).

Farm Bureau was dismissed from the action and is not a

party to this appeal. Firemen's is the underinsured motorist

carrier for Plaintiff's employer. Defendant was insured at the

time of the accident by State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance

Company (“State Farm”).

At trial, the jury determined that Defendant’s negligence

caused Plaintiff’s injuries, and awarded Plaintiff $300,000.00

in compensatory damages on 11 August 2010. The trial court

entered judgment on 31 August 2010, directing that Plaintiff

recover from Defendant damages in the amount of $300,000.00,

along with interest at the statutory rate of eight percent (8%)

from 30 April 2009. State Farm paid its policy limit of

$30,000.00 into the office of the Clerk of Court of Forsyth

County on 2 September 2010. Firemen's paid $202,627.58 into the

-3-

office of the Clerk of Court of Forsyth County on 13 September

2010, in fulfilment of its obligations as the underinsured

motorist carrier. Plaintiff introduced evidence at trial that

he had received workers' compensation benefits totaling more

than $148,000.00. The amount of the lien of Plaintiff’s

employer’s workers’ compensation carrier was reduced, by

agreement, to $50,000.00, leaving a net benefit in workers’

compensation benefits of $98,000.00.

Defendant filed a motion for credit upon and satisfaction

of the judgment on 1 December 2010. The trial court entered an

order on 29 December 2010, ruling that the payments of

$30,000.00 by State Farm, $202,627.58 by Firemen's, and

$98,000.00 by Plaintiff’s employer’s workers’ compensation

carrier, a total amount of $330,627.58, constituted payment in

full of the judgment and that the judgment was satisfied.

Plaintiff appealed, and this Court entered an opinion on 7

August 2012 affirming in part and reversing and remanding in

part. Wood v. Nunnery, __ N.C. App. __, 730 S.E.2d 222 (2012)

(Wood I). In Wood I, and relevant to the current appeal, this

Court stated:

The trial court held that the $30,000.00

from State Farm, $202,627.58 from Firemen's,

and the net benefit of $98,000.00 in

workers' compensation benefits ($148,000.00

less the reduced lien of $50,000.00)

constituted a recovery to . . . [P]laintiff

-4-

of at least $330,627.58. The trial court

went on to hold that “the collective

payments paid into the Office of the Clerk

of Court of Forsyth County constitute full

payment and satisfaction of the final

Judgment entered herein.”

Id. at __, 730 S.E.2d at 224. This Court went on to say:

We initially note that the trial court

conflated the concepts of the amounts owed

by [D]efendant as the tortfeasor in this

matter and the amount owed by Firemen's as

an underinsured motorist carrier (UIM).

Plaintiff instituted this action against

[D]efendant, seeking monetary damages for

personal injuries proximately caused by the

negligence of [D]efendant. The jury found

that [P]laintiff's injuries were proximately

caused by the negligence of [D]efendant and

awarded damages to [P]laintiff of

$300,000.00. The trial court entered

judgment against only [D]efendant. This

judgment was based upon [D]efendant's

negligence and was a tort recovery.

The liability of Firemen's is based in

contract, not in tort.

Id. at __, 730 S.E.2d at 224. This Court held that Defendant

was not “entitled to a credit against the judgment for payments

made by Firemen's as a UIM carrier.” Id. at __, 730 S.E.2d at

225. We further held: “The only payment to which [D]efendant

is entitled to a credit against the judgment is the $30,000.00

paid by State Farm, [D]efendant's liability insurance carrier.”

Id. at __, 730 S.E.2d at 226.

However, in remanding to the trial court, this Court

instructed:

-5-

The trial court erred in declaring that the

judgment against [D]efendant had been paid

and satisfied in full. The portion of the

trial court's order so declaring is vacated,

and this matter is remanded to the trial

court for further proceedings consistent

with this opinion. At such a hearing, the

trial court may consider whether [D]efendant

is entitled to additional credits against

the judgment, other than the $30,000.00 paid

by State Farm.

Id. at __, 730 S.E.2d at 226.

Upon remand, the trial court, by order entered 11 February

2013, ruled that Defendant was only entitled to a credit for the

$30,000.00 paid by State Farm, his liability carrier, and that

Defendant was not entitled to any credit for monies paid by

either Firemen’s or by the workers’ compensation carrier.

Defendant appeals the 11 February 2013 order.

In Defendant’s first argument, he contends the trial court

erred in “refusing to reduce the judgment against [him] to

account for the UIM payment [made by Firemen’s] and net workers’

compensation benefits that were received by [Plaintiff] as

compensation for his injuries.” We disagree.

In the prior appeal in this case, this Court held: “We hold

that [D]efendant is not entitled to a credit for payments made

by Firemen's into the Office of the Clerk of Superior Court for

Forsyth County.” Wood I, __ N.C. App. at __, 730 S.E.2d at 225.

We have no authority to revisit that holding. Weston v.

-6-

Carolina Medicorp, Inc., 113 N.C. App. 415, 417, 438 S.E.2d 751,

753 (1994) (citations omitted) (“According to the doctrine of

the law of the case, once an appellate court has ruled on a

question, that decision becomes the law of the case and governs

the question both in subsequent proceedings in a trial court and

on subsequent appeal.”).

Less clear is the holding in Wood I concerning the workers’

compensation payments made to Plaintiff. However, the Wood I

opinion considered the credit given Defendant by the trial court

for the net workers’ compensation payout in stating: “The trial

court held that . . . the net benefit of $98,000.00 in workers’

compensation benefits ($148,000.00 less the reduced lien of

$50,000.00) constituted a recovery to . . . [P]laintiff[.]”

Wood I, __ N.C. App. at __, 730 S.E.2d at 224. The trial court

then credited that amount (along with payments made by Firemen’s

and State Farm) against Defendant’s recovery. This Court held

that the trial court had erred, stating:

We initially note that the trial court

conflated the concepts of the amounts owed

by defendant as the tortfeasor in this

matter and the amount owed by Firemen’s as

an underinsured motorist carrier (UIM).

Plaintiff instituted this action against

[D]efendant, seeking monetary damages for

personal injuries proximately caused by the

negligence of [D]efendant. The jury found

that [P]laintiff’s injuries were proximately

caused by the negligence of [D]efendant and

awarded damages to [P]laintiff of

-7-

$300,000.00. The trial court entered

judgment against only [D]efendant. This

judgment was based upon [D]efendant’s

negligence and was a tort recovery.

The liability of Firemen’s is based in

contract, not in tort.

Id. at __, 730 S.E.2d at 224. Though this Court did not include

the workers’ compensation carrier in that discussion, its

liability, like that of Firemen’s, was in contract, not tort.

Plaintiff instituted this action in tort against Defendant, not

the workers’ compensation carrier. In Wood I, this Court

continued:

“The party against whom a judgment for the

payment of money is rendered by any court of

record may pay the whole, or any part

thereof, in cash or by check, to the clerk

of the court in which the same was

rendered[.]” N.C. Gen. Stat. § 1–239

(2011).

In this case, the judgment was entered only

against [D]efendant. It was not entered

against Firemen’s. By the plain language of

N.C. Gen. Stat. § 1–239, [D]efendant is

responsible for satisfying the judgment

entered against him.

The only payment to which [D]efendant is

entitled to a credit against the judgment is

the $30,000.00 paid by State Farm,

[D]efendant’s liability insurance carrier.

Id. at __, 730 S.E.2d at 225-26. Though the workers’

compensation payment is not specifically mentioned in this

analysis, we find no distinguishing difference between the

-8-

relative positions of Firemen’s and the workers’ compensation

carrier in this matter. Within this context, we hold that our

holding in Wood I: “The only payment to which [D]efendant is

entitled to a credit against the judgment is the $30,000.00 paid

by State Farm, [D]efendant’s liability insurance carrier[,]”

id., applied to all potential credits that had been argued on

appeal, including the workers’ compensation payment. The trial

court, having found that Defendant was not entitled to any

additional credits not addressed in Wood I, did not err in

denying Defendant credit for payments made to Plaintiff by

Firemen’s or by the workers’ compensation carrier.

Defendant’s policy arguments are not for us to decide, as

we are bound by this Court’s holding in Wood I. The same

applies to Defendant’s collateral source argument.

Affirmed.

Judges BRYANT and STROUD concur.

Report per Rule 30(e).

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.