Opinion

Frederick B. Mize v. Office of Personnel Management

Court
Merit Systems Protection Board
Filed
Aug 4, 2014
Status
Unpublished
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 32.9%

The opinion

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

MERIT SYSTEMS PROTECTION BOARD

FREDERICK B. MIZE, DOCKET NUMBER

Appellant, DE-0831-13-1586-I-1

v.

OFFICE OF PERSONNEL DATE: August 4, 2014

MANAGEMENT,

Agency.

THIS FINAL ORDER IS NONPRECEDENTIAL 1

Frederick B. Mize, Carlsbad, New Mexico, pro se.

Karla W. Yeakle, Washington, D.C., for the agency.

BEFORE

Susan Tsui Grundmann, Chairman

Anne M. Wagner, Vice Chairman

Mark A. Robbins, Member

FINAL ORDER

¶1 The appellant has filed a petition for review of the initial decision, which

affirmed the Office of Personnel Management’s (OPM’s) reduction of the

appellant’s retirement annuity d ue to his failure to make a deposit for his

post-1956 military service prior to his retirement. Generally, we grant petitions

1

A nonprecedential order is one that the Board has determined does not add

significantly to the body of MSPB case law. Parties may cite nonprecedential orders,

but such orders have no precedential value; the Board and administrative judges are not

required to follow or distinguish them in any future decisions. In contrast, a

precedential decision issued as an Opinion and Order has been identified by the Board

as significantly contributing to the Board’s case law. See 5 C.F.R. § 1201.117(c).

2

such as this one only when: the initial decision contains erroneous findings of

material fact; the initial decision is based on an erroneous interpretation of statute

or regulation or the erroneous application of the law to the facts of the case; the

judge’s rulings during either the course of the appeal or the initial decision were

not consistent with required procedures or involved an abuse of discretion, and

the resulting error affected the outcome of the case; or new and material evidence

or legal argument is available that, despite the petitioner’s due diligence, was not

available when the record closed. See Title 5 of the Code of Federal Regulations,

section 1201.115 (5 C.F.R. § 1201.115). After fully considering the filings in this

appeal, and based on the following points and authorities, we conclude that the

petitioner has not established any basis under section 1201.115 for granting the

petition for review. Therefore, we DENY the petition for review and AFFIRM

the initial decision, which is now the Board’s final decision. 5 C.F.R.

§ 1201.113(b).

BACKGROUND

¶2 The appellant served in the military with the U.S. Army from July 15, 1970,

to July 10, 1973. Initial Appeal File (IAF), Tab 7 at 29. He was employed with

the Department of the Interior from November 25, 1973, to February 6, 1981, and

with the U.S. Postal Service from February 7, 1981, to August 3, 2005, when he

retired under the Civil Service Retirement System (CSRS) without having paid a

deposit for his post-1956 military service. Id. at 12, 29, 31, 33. On July 30,

2013, OPM notified the appellant in a final decision that it had recomputed his

monthly CSRS annuity benefit by eliminating credit for his post-1956 military

service because he had not made a deposit for that service and he had become

eligible for Social Security benefits. 2 Id. at 5-7.

2

OPM’s July 30, 2013 decision rescinded and replaced its final decision dated August

6, 2012, which was the subject of the appellant’s previous appeal in Mize v. Office of

Personnel Management, MSPB Docket No. DE-0831-12-0465-I-1 (Mize I). See IAF,

Tab 5 at 26. In Mize I, the Board vacated OPM’s August 6, 2012 final decision and

3

¶3 The appellant filed a Board appeal 3 challenging OPM’s decision to reduce

his annuity to eliminate credit for his post-1956 military service and asserting that

he should be permitted to make a deposit for that service. IAF, Tabs 1, 9. He did

not request a hearing. IAF, Tab 10.

¶4 Based on the parties’ submissions, the administrative judge issued an initial

decision affirming OPM’s decision. IAF, Tab 11, Initial Decision (ID) at 2, 7.

The appellant has filed a petition for review. Petition for Review (PFR) File,

Tab 1. The agency has filed a response to the petition for review. PFR File,

Tab 4. The appellant has filed a reply to the agency’s response. PFR File, Tab 5.

ANALYSIS

¶5 An annuitant who retires after September 7, 1982, is entitled to receive

credit for active duty military service performed after 1956 under both the CSRS

and the Social Security system if he deposits an amount equal to seven percent of

his total post-1956 military pay, plus interest, with the Civil Service Retirement

and Disability Fund. Hooten v. Office of Personnel Management, 114 M.S.P.R.

205, ¶ 6 (2010); see 5 U.S.C. § 8334(j). If the annuitant fails to make such a

deposit, OPM must recalculate the annuity payments when the annuitant first

becomes eligible for Social Security benefits to exclude credit for the post-1956

military service. Hooten, 114 M.S.P.R. 205, ¶ 6. Those who retire on or after

October 1, 1983, must make the deposit before their separation from service upon

which entitlement to an annuity is based, 5 C.F.R. § 831.2104. The Board will

remanded the appeal to OPM for issuance of a new final decision addressing the

appellant’s challenge to the calculation of the reduction in his monthly annuity benefits.

Mize I (Nonprecedential Final Order, June 6, 2013).

3

The appellant’s initial submission below was titled “Petition for Enforcement,” and

this appeal was originally docketed as a compliance appeal. IAF, Tabs 1, 2. In

response to the administrative judge’s acknowledgement order, OPM moved for

dismissal of the petition for enforcement based on the issuance of its July 30, 2013

decision. IAF, Tab 5. This appeal was then redocketed as an appeal of OPM’s July 30,

2013 decision. IAF, Tab 6.

4

order OPM to permit a post-separation deposit, however, if there was

administrative error by the individual’s employing agency or OPM and the

annuitant’s failure to make the deposit prior to retirement was the product of that

administrative error. King v. Office of Personnel Management, 97 M.S.P.R. 307,

¶ 15 (2004), aff’d sub nom. Grant v. Office of Personnel Management, 126 F.

App’x 945 (Fed. Cir. 2005); 5 C.F.R. § 831.2107(a)(1). The Board has found

administrative error where the agency provides material misinformation regarding

the deposit or the consequences of failing to make the deposit, to the employee

prior to his separation. Lancaster v. Office of Personnel Management,

112 M.S.P.R. 76, ¶ 8 (2009). The appellant has the burden of proving that an

administrative error took place by a preponderance of the evidence. Id.

¶6 As the administrative judge noted in both his close of record order and the

initial decision, the appellant raised what appears to be a claim of administrative

error during the proceedings below by arguing that he should be permitted to

make a post-separation deposit for his post-1956 military service because of

alleged “bad advi[c]e” he received. IAF, Tab 9, Tab 10 at 3, ID at 5-6. In

particular, the appellant asserted that, at the time of his retirement, he was

advised that if he “did not pay a full 40 quarters 4 into Social Security,” then his

nonpayment of a deposit for his post-1956 military service prior to his retirement

would not result in a reduction in the amount of his retirement annuity when he

4

The appellant appears to be referring to “quarters of coverage.” A quarter of coverage

is the basic unit for determining whether a worker is insured under the Social Security

program. See http://www.ssa.gov/OACT/COLA/QC.html. Employees who earn wages

or generate self-employment income subject to Social Security withholdings accrue

quarters of coverage, which are also called credits or Social Security credits, see id.,

based on the wages earned or self-employment income generated during the course of a

calendar year, 42 U.S.C. § 213(a)(2)(ii); see Froom v. Office of Personnel Management,

107 M.S.P.R. 607, ¶ 3 n.2 (2008). An employee may earn up to a maximum of four

quarters of coverage per year. See http://www.ssa.gov/OACT/COLA/QC.html. Anyone

born in 1929 or later must earn a total of at least forty quarters of coverage to be

eligible for Social Security retirement benefits. See

http://www.socialsecurity.gov/pubs/EN-05-10035.pdf.

5

reached age 62. IAF, Tab 9. The appellant stated, “Since I had not worked that

many years it was reasonable not to make such a payment.” Id. The appellant

further asserted that, when he “check[ed] a few years later [he] had only

28 quarters” and thus believed that he could “work a quarter here and there,” yet

still remain under the forty quarter threshold for eligibility for Social Security

benefits. Id. The appellant also stated that, at that time, he reasonably believed

that each quarter in which he worked would count as only one quarter toward the

forty quarter threshold; however, a few years later he learned that “one quarter

work and [sic] any year counts for a year.” Id.

¶7 In his close of record order, the administrative judge described the

circumstances in which the Board may find administrative error and waive the

deposit deadline. IAF, Tab 10 at 3-5. The administrative judge also specifically

addressed the appellant’s administrative error claim, stating that: (1) the

appellant had not identified when or by whom he had been advised that, if he did

not earn forty quarters of coverage into Social Security, then his retirement

annuity at age 62 would not change regardless of whether he made the deposit, id.

at 3; (2) the administrative judge was not aware of any part of that advice that

was incorrect, id. (citing 42 U.S.C. §§ 402(a)(1) and 414(a)(1)); and (3) although

the appellant stated that at one point he checked and saw he had only twenty-eight

quarters, and that this circumstance led him to believe from his own calculations

that he could “work a quarter here and there and keep it under the 40 quarters

required,” he had not identified any agency or OPM official who gave him advice

about that matter, nor had he provided any details or dates about such advice, id.

at 3-4. In his order, the administrative judge also reminded the appellant of the

deadline for filing submissions and of his burden to prove his claim. Id. at 2, 5.

The appellant did not respond to the order.

¶8 In the initial decision, the administrative judge found that, because the

appellant has the burden to prove his entitlement to the benefit he seeks, his

failure to provide specific evidence of any incorrect advice he received about the

6

impact of not making the deposit is fatal to his claim of administrative error. ID

at 6. The administrative judge also found that, because no administrative error

occurred, OPM acted properly in recomputing the appellant’s annuity when he

first became eligible for Social Security benefits to exclude credit for his

post-1956 military service. ID at 6-7. Therefore, the administrative judge found

that the appellant failed to prove his entitlement to pay the deposit for his military

service or otherwise to continue to receive credit for his military service in his

monthly annuity. ID at 7.

¶9 The appellant reasserts his administrative error claim on review, arguing for

the first time that he was told by Postmaster C.M., that as long as he only worked

eleven more quarters prior to age 62, his failure to pay a deposit for his post-1956

military service would not affect the amount of his retirement annuity. PFR File,

Tab 1. He asserts that he did not learn until he telephoned the Social Security

Administration (SSA) on the date that he filed his petition for review that an

individual earns credits toward eligibility for Social Security benefits based on

the amount of compensation earned rather than the number of quarters worked.

Id. The appellant states that, as a result of contacting the SSA, he discovered

that, although he had worked only one quarter in 2007 and one quarter in 2009,

his compensation was such that he earned three credits during 2007 and four

credits during 2009. Id. Thus, the appellant seems to assert, based on the

incorrect information he received from C.M. regarding the number of additional

quarters he could work prior to age 62 without reaching the forty credit threshold

for eligibility for Social Security benefits, that he inadvertently became eligible

for those benefits by earning more credits than he had expected to earn given the

number of quarters he worked.

¶10 The Board normally will not consider an argument raised for the first time

in a petition for review absent a showing that it is based on new and material

evidence not previously available despite the party’s due diligence. Banks v.

Department of the Air Force, 4 M.S.P.R. 268, 271 (1980). Nowhere in his

7

petition for review does the appellant contend that his new argument as to what

he was told regarding the circumstances in which nonpayment of a deposit for his

post-1956 military service would affect his retirement annuity is based on new

and material evidence that was unavailable prior to the close of the record below.

PFR File Tab 1.

¶11 Based on our review of the record, we agree with the administrative judge

that the appellant failed to prove his administrative error claim. The gist of this

claim is that the appellant was incorrectly told at the time he retired that his

nonpayment of his post-1956 military deposit would not result in a reduction in

his retirement annuity when he reached age 62 unless he “paid a full 40 quarters

into Social Security.” IAF, Tab 9. As the administrative judge noted in the close

of record order, in the proceedings below, the appellant did not provide any dates

or details about this advice, such as when he was given this information or who

gave it to him. IAF, Tab 10. Although the administrative judge informed the

appellant of the shortcomings of his administrative error claim in the close of

record order, and the appellant had ample opportunity to elaborate on his claim

and address these shortcomings during the proceedings below, he made no effort

to provide specific evidence about the allegedly incorrect advice he received

regarding the consequences of not making a deposit for his post-1956 military

service. Although the appellant does provide additional information in his

petition for review in support of his claim, he does not explain his failure to

submit this evidence—which does not appear to be new or not previously

available—below. Given these circumstances, we discern no reason to disturb the

initial decision.

NOTICE TO THE APPELLANT REGARDING

YOUR FURTHER REVIEW RIGHTS

You have the right to request review of this final decision by the United

States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit. You must submit your request to

the court at the following address:

8

United States Court of Appeals

for the Federal Circuit

717 Madison Place, N.W.

Washington, DC 20439

The court must receive your request for review no later than 60 calendar days

after the date of this order. See 5 U.S.C. § 7703(b)(1)(A) (as rev. eff. Dec. 27,

2012). If you choose to file, be very careful to file on time. The court has held

that normally it does not have the authority to waive this statutory deadline and

that filings that do not comply with the deadline must be dismissed. See Pinat v.

Office of Personnel Management, 931 F.2d 1544 (Fed. Cir. 1991).

If you need further information about your right to appeal this decision to

court, you should refer to the federal law that gives you this right. It is found in

Title 5 of the United States Code, section 7703 (5 U.S.C. § 7703) (as rev. eff.

Dec. 27, 2012). You may read this law as well as other sections of the United

States Code, at our website, http://www.mspb.gov/appeals/uscode/htm.

Additional information is available at the court's website, www.cafc.uscourts.gov.

Of particular relevance is the court's "Guide for Pro Se Petitioners and

Appellants," which is contained within the court's Rules of Practice, and Forms 5,

6, and 11.

If you are interested in securing pro bono representation for your court

appeal, you may visit our website at http://www.mspb.gov/probono for a list of

attorneys who have expressed interest in providing pro bono representation for

Merit Systems Protection Board appellants before the court. The Merit Systems

9

Protection Board neither endorses the services provided by any attorney nor

warrants that any attorney will accept representation in a given case.

FOR THE BOARD: ______________________________

William D. Spencer

Clerk of the Board

Washington, D.C.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.