Opinion

Mitchell Baudoin v. American Glass and Mirror Works,inc.

Court
Louisiana Court of Appeal
Filed
Feb 2, 2022
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 39.8%

The opinion

STATE OF LOUISIANA

COURT OF APPEAL, THIRD CIRCUIT

20-541

MITCHELL BAUDOIN

VERSUS

AMERICAN GLASS AND MIRROR WORKS, INC., ET AL.

**********

APPEAL FROM THE

SIXTEENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT COURT

PARISH OF ST. MARTIN, NO. 86,404, DIV. B

HONORABLE SUZANNE DEMAHY, DISTRICT JUDGE

**********

JONATHAN W. PERRY

JUDGE

**********

Court composed of D. Kent Savoie, Jonathan W. Perry, and J. Larry Vidrine*,

Judges.

AFFIRMED.

___________________

*Honorable J. Larry Vidrine participated in this decision by appointment of the Louisiana

Supreme Court as Judge Pro Tempore.

Charles Brandt

Brandt & Sherman, L.L.P.

111 Mercury Street

Lafayette, Louisiana 70503

(337) 800-4000

COUNSEL FOR PLAINTIFF/APPELLANT:

Mitchell Baudoin

Sean P. Mount

Bryce M. Addison

Deutsch Kerrigan, L.L.P.

Magazine Street

New Orleans, Louisiana 70130

(504) 581-5141

COUNSEL FOR DEFENDANT/APPELLEE:

Accident Insurance Company

Charles Goudeau

130 Demas Drive

Lafayette, Louisiana 70506

PRO SE DEFENDANT

Brent Maggio, Esq.

Allen & Gooch

Two Lakeway Center, Suite 630

3850 N. Causeway Blvd.

Metairie, Louisiana 70002

(504) 836-5260

COUNSEL FOR DEFENDANT:

Charles Goudeau d/b/a

Charles Goudeau General Contractor

Michael W. Campbell

Lauren Camel Begneaud

Caffery, Oubre, Campbell & Garrison, L.L.P.

100 E. Vermilion, Suite 201

Lafayette, Louisiana 70501

(337) 232-6581

COUNSEL FOR DEFENDANTS:

American Glass and Mirror Works, Inc.,

American Windshield Replacement and Repair, Inc., and

National Trust Insurance Company

M. Joey Bernard

Burglass & Tankersley, LLC

5213 Airline Drive

Metairie, Louisiana 70001-5602

(504) 836-0422

COUNSEL FOR DEFENDANT:

Potty Girl, LLC

Colin P. O’Rourke

Bienvenu, Bonnecaze, Foco & Viator

4210 Bluebonnet Boulevard

Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70809

(225) 388-5600

COUNSEL FOR INTERVENOR:

LUBA Casualty Insurance Company

PERRY, Judge.

Plaintiff, Mitchell Baudoin, brought this action seeking recovery for personal

injuries received in a construction site accident. The trial court granted a motion for

summary judgment filed by defendant, Accident Insurance Company (“AIC”), and

dismissed plaintiff’s claims as to it. Plaintiff suspensively appeals this judgment,

and for the reasons assigned, we affirm.

FACTS AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY

Charles Goudeau d/b/a Charles Goudeau General Contractor (“Goudeau”)

was the general contractor for a new construction project in Breaux Bridge,

Louisiana. On March 6, 2017, plaintiff was installing flooring at the aforementioned

construction site for Southern Tile Company, Inc. (“Southern Tile”) and was injured

when he was struck by a vehicle being operated by Chad Fritz (“Fritz”) 1 after exiting

a portable restroom.

On February 20, 2018, plaintiff instituted this action against Goudeau and his

insurer, AIC, among others, for personal injuries.2 AIC issued a commercial general

liability policy (“CGL policy”) to Goudeau, numbered CPP000032605, that was

effective from January 7, 2017, to January 7, 2018.

Plaintiff’s petition, in relevant part, alleged that plaintiff’s accident and

attendant injuries were caused by the negligence of Goudeau in the following

non-exclusive respects:

a) In placing the port-a-potty in or near a travel lane which he should

have known would be traversed by motor vehicles;

b) In facing the exit of the port-a-potty in such a manner that it

exited onto a travel lane known to have vehicular traffic upon it;

1

Plaintiff’s petition alleges Fritz was an employee of American Glass and Mirror Works,

Inc. and/or American Windshield Replacement and Repair, Inc. (hereinafter collectively referred

to as “American Glass”).

2

Plaintiff also asserted claims against Fritz; American Glass; National Trust Insurance

Company (“National Trust”); Potty Girl, LLC; and Burlington Insurance Company.

c) In failing to place the port-a-potty in a position where patrons of

same would not be exposed to the danger of vehicular traffic.

In March 2020, AIC filed a motion for summary judgment alleging a lack of

coverage on the bases that both an exclusion and an endorsement within the CGL

policy issued to Goudeau barred coverage for plaintiff’s claims. AIC contended the

incident made the basis of the instant litigation involves an injury to an employee,

contractor and/or employee of the contractor, which is specifically and

unambiguously excluded under Endorsement Form 3013, styled “Exclusion – Injury

to Employees, Contractors & Employees of Contractors” (Employees and

Contractors exclusion). AIC argued there is no genuine issue of material fact that

plaintiff’s claims are for bodily injury he suffered while performing work on the

construction site for Goudeau through Southern Tile; thus, AIC’s Employees and

Contractors exclusion barred coverage for plaintiff’s claims against Goudeau.

Alternatively, AIC contended there is no coverage for plaintiff’s claims

because Goudeau failed to comply with conditions set forth in its Endorsement Form

3007, entitled “Contractors Special Conditions” (“Contractors Special Conditions

endorsement”), which provides:

This endorsement modifies insurance provided under the following:

COMMERCIAL GENERAL LIABILTY COVERAGE FORM

The following is added to SECTION IV – COMMERICAL

GENERAL LIABILITY CONDITIONS:

Contractors

As a condition precedent to coverage for any claim for injury or damage

based, in whole or in part, upon work performed by independent

contractors, the insured must have, prior to the start of work and the

date of the “occurrence” giving rise to the claim or “suit”:

(1) Received a written indemnity agreement from the

independent contractor holding the insured harmless

2

for all liabilities, including costs of defense, arising

from the work of the independent contractor;

(2) Obtained certificates of insurance from the

independent contractor indicating that the insured is

named as an additional insured and that coverage is

maintained with minimum limits of $500,000 per

occurrence;

(3) Obtained proof that the independent contractor has

workers compensation insurance if required by the

state in which the job(s) is located; and

(4) Obtained proof that all licenses as required by local

and/or state statute, regulation, or ordinance are up to

date.

The insured must maintain the records evidencing compliance with

paragraphs (1) through (4) above for a minimum of five years from the

expiration date of this policy. If coverage indicated under (2) and (3)

above are not maintained, we shall have no obligation to defend or

indemnify any insured for work performed by independent contractors

on your behalf represented by the certificates of insurance referenced

in (2) and (3) above.

The insurance provided by this policy shall be excess over and above

any other valid and collectible insurance available to the insured under

paragraph (2).

AIC asserted that prior to commencement of any work on the premises, its

Contractors Special Conditions endorsement required Goudeau to adhere to the

terms of the endorsement and obtain the requisite documents from subcontractors he

obtained for the job as a condition of coverage for any claim for damage based, in

whole or in part, upon work performed by independent contractors. It argued that

the current matter arises directly from work performed by subcontractors selected,

hired, and supervised by Goudeau, as American Glass was retained as a

subcontractor by Goudeau, and Fritz, the employee who struck plaintiff with a

vehicle, was an employee of American Glass at the time of the incident. Further,

Southern Tile was retained as a subcontractor by Goudeau, and plaintiff was retained

by Southern Tile at the time of the incident.

3

AIC alleged that with regard to its Contractors Special Conditions

endorsement, Goudeau had not obtained any of the requisite documents and had not

provided any evidence of certificate of liability insurance naming Goudeau as an

additional insured from the subcontractors, which includes Southern Tile and

American Glass; thus, there is no coverage for plaintiff’s claims because Goudeau

failed to comply with AIC’s Contractors Special Conditions endorsement. It offered

Goudeau’s deposition wherein he admitted the conditions for coverage under AIC’s

policy were not met.

Finally, AIC asserted the conditions precedent to coverage requiring Goudeau

to obtain particular indemnity agreements from subcontractors performing work on

the construction project, as well as to obtain status as an additional insured under

those subcontractors’ insurance policies, were held to be lawful in Sasser v. Wintz,

11-2022 (La.App. 1 Cir. 9/4/12), 102 So.3d 842.

Plaintiff, as well as defendants, American Glass and National Trust, filed

memoranda in opposition. Said oppositions mainly argued the Employees and

Contractors exclusion was ambiguous and the Contractors Special Conditions

endorsement was unlawful under La.R.S. 9:2780.1 of the Louisiana Anti-Indemnity

Act.

At the hearing held on June 3, 2020, Goudeau appeared pro se and presented

the trial court with an Affidavit in Opposition to Summary Judgment, wherein he

attested:3

That he has enrolled as additional counsel (Pro Se) for

CHARLES GOUDEAU GENERAL CONTRACTOR in these

proceedings for the reason that he lacks to [sic] funds to retain private

counsel to represent him in this matter.

3

Counsel for Goudeau, retained by AIC, was also present at the hearing under a reservation

of rights not to defend Goudeau against any insurance coverage issues.

4

That he opposes the Motion for Summary Judgment filed by

ACCIDENT INSURANCE COMPANY (AIC) and incorporates the

oppositions filed by Plaintiff, MITCHELL BAUDOIN and

AMERICAN GLASS AND MIRROR, INC.

That he had no funds to respond to any judgment rendered

against him in this matter and that his only assets are his family home

and his work vehicle.

At the conclusion of the hearing, the trial court rejected AIC’s contention the

Employees and Contractors exclusion barred coverage but accepted AIC’s

contention the Contractors Special Conditions endorsement barred coverage for

plaintiff’s claims against Goudeau. It stated, in part:

I find that there’s still some ambiguity whether [plaintiff] would be

considered an employee, a contractor, or subcontractor, or an

independent contractor. There’s some disagreement between the

parties as to where he actually qualifies or what his title would have

been to fall -- to see whether or not he’s excluded.

So, at this time, I don’t find that that exclusion applies to him

specifically right now, because there’s still a lot of ambiguity with

regards to what his position was and whether he would be excluded

with regards to that portion of the policy.

But I think -- and correct me if I am wrong -- the other condition

makes the policy unapplicable because the policyholder didn’t provide

the proper documents.

The instant suspensive appeal, filed by plaintiff, followed.4 In his sole

assignment of error, plaintiff asserts:

The trial court was in error in ruling that since Mr. Goudeau was unable

to produce evidence that there was Insurance Certificates for the

subcontractors, that Mr. Goudeau would not be provided with coverage

under the AIC policy because he did not comply with the Contractors

Special Condition. This special condition is not allowed under

Louisiana Revised Statute[s] 9:2780.1.

4

An appellate brief was also filed by American Glass and National Trust supporting

plaintiff’s appeal.

5

LAW AND DISCUSSION

A motion for summary judgment is properly granted if the pleadings,

depositions, answers to interrogatories, and admissions on file, together with

affidavits submitted, if any, show there is no genuine issue of material fact such that

the mover is entitled to judgment as a matter of law. La.Code Civ.P. art. 966(A).

The burden is on the mover to establish that no material fact exists but, where the

movant will not bear the burden of proof at trial, the movant need only point out to

the court that there is an absence of factual support for one or more elements essential

to the adverse party’s claim. La.Code Civ.P. art. 966(D)(1). Thereafter, the burden

shifts to the adverse party to produce factual support sufficient to establish that a

genuine issue of material fact exists such that summary judgment is not appropriate.

Id.

Summary judgments are reviewed on appeal de novo. Dunn v. City of Kenner,

15-1175 (La. 1/27/16), 187 So.3d 404. Appellate courts use the same criteria as the

trial court and ask the same questions: Is there any genuine issue of material fact,

and is the movant entitled to judgment as a matter of law? Id.

Our supreme court reviewed the principles of insurance contract interpretation

in Green ex rel. Peterson v. Johnson, 14-292, p. 4 (La. 10/15/14), 149 So.3d 766,

770-71, explaining:

[C]ertain elementary legal principles apply in analyzing an insurance

policy. First and foremost is the rule that an insurance policy is a

contract between the parties and should be construed using the general

rules of interpretation of contracts set forth in the Civil Code.

According to those rules, the responsibility of the judiciary in

interpreting insurance contracts is to determine the parties’ common

intent; this analysis is begun by reviewing the words of the insurance

contract. When the words of an insurance contract are clear and explicit

and lead to no absurd consequences, no further interpretation may be

made in search of the parties’ intent, and courts must enforce the

contract as written. The determination of whether a contract is clear or

ambiguous is a question of law. See Sims v. Mulhearn Funeral Home,

Inc., 07-0054 (La. 5/22/07), 956 So.2d 584, 589-90.

6

In addition, exclusionary language in insurance contracts is strictly construed

against the insurer, and any ambiguity is construed in favor of the insured. Latour

v. Allstate Ins. Co., 18-395 (La.App. 3 Cir. 12/28/18), 262 So.3d 1088. Yet, the rule

requiring strict construction of an insurance contract against an insurer does not

authorize perversion of language, or the exercise of inventive powers for the purpose

of creating an ambiguity where none exists. Id. “Moreover, insurance companies

have the right to limit coverage in any manner they choose, if the limitations imposed

do not conflict with statutory provisions or public policy. Reynolds v. Select Props.,

Ltd., 93-1480 (La. 4/11/94), 634 So.2d 1180.” Latour, 262 So.3d at 1091-92.

Plaintiff contends La.R.S. 9:2780.1 applies to insurance contracts and,

consequently, the Contractors Special Conditions endorsement contained in AIC’s

policy is unlawful. Thus, the trial court erred in granting summary judgment, ruling

there is no coverage for plaintiff’s claims against Goudeau under AIC’s CGL policy.

We disagree.

Louisiana Revised Statutes 9:2780.1 governs defined motor carrier

transportation and construction contracts. It prohibits provisions or agreements

which require an indemnitor to indemnify, defend, or hold harmless an indemnitee

for liability or damages resulting from the indemnitee’s own negligence or

intentional acts or omissions. Louisiana Revised Statutes 9:2780.1 provides, in

pertinent part:

B. Notwithstanding any provision of law to the contrary and except as

otherwise provided in this Section, any provision, clause, covenant, or

agreement contained in, collateral to, or affecting a motor carrier

transportation contract or construction contract which purports to

indemnify, defend, or hold harmless, or has the effect of indemnifying,

defending, or holding harmless, the indemnitee from or against any

liability for loss or damage resulting from the negligence or intentional

acts or omissions of the indemnitee, an agent or employee of the

indemnitee, or a third party over which the indemnitor has no control is

contrary to the public policy of this state and is null, void, and

unenforceable.

7

Despite plaintiff’s insistence, we find no merit to the contention that

La.R.S. 9:2780.1 renders each condition of the insurance contract at issue herein

unlawful. While subsection (B) of La.R.S. 9:2780.1 prohibits indemnity

agreements, subsection (C) expressly permits additional insured contracts, stating,

in relevant part: “[N]othing in this Section shall be construed to prevent the

indemnitee from requiring the indemnitor to provide proof of insurance for

obligations covered by the contract.” Thus, we find that La.R.S. 9:2780.1(C) applies

such that the insurance contract between AIC and Goudeau contained a lawful

condition wherein Goudeau was required to be named as an additional insured on

his subcontractors’ insurance policies. In Goudeau’s deposition that AIC offered in

support of its motion for summary judgment, Goudeau offered no proof that any of

the Contractors Special Conditions were met. In fact, he admitted the conditions

were not met.

Finally, as pointed out by AIC, the conditions precedent to coverage requiring

Goudeau to obtain particular indemnity agreements from subcontractors performing

work on the construction project, as well as to obtain status as an additional insured

under those subcontractors’ insurance policies, were held to be lawful in Sasser, 102

So.3d 842. In Sasser, “a building inspector for the Iberville Parish Council fell when

a set of temporary steps became detached from the house frame while he was

ascending them to enter a home being constructed[.]” Id. at 845. The injured

inspector filed suit against the general contractor and its liability insurer, among

others. The liability insurer moved for summary judgment claiming a lack of

coverage. The CGL policy at issue therein contained the following Contractors

Special Conditions endorsement which expressly modified insurance coverage:

As a condition precedent to coverage for any claim or injury or damage

based, in whole or in part, upon work performed by independent

8

contractors, the insured must have, prior to the start of work and the

date of the “occurrence” giving rise to the claim or “suit:”

(1) received a written indemnity agreement from the independent

contractor holding the insured harmless for all liabilities, including

costs of defense, arising from the work of the independent

contractor;

(2) obtained certificates of insurance from the independent contractor

indicating that the insured is named as an additional insured and

that coverage is maintained with minimum limits of $500,000.00

per occurrence[.]

Id. at 850-51.

In his deposition, the general contractor admitted his contract with the

subcontractor was verbal—there was no written indemnity agreement—and though

he required the subcontractor to provide him with a certificate of insurance, “the

coverage was for $300,000[,]” significantly less than the amount required. Id. at

851. Thus, the liability insurer’s motion for summary judgment was upheld with our

colleagues on the first circuit explaining:

The initial burden to establish that a claim falls within the policy

coverage is on the plaintiff. Evins v. Louisiana Farm Bureau Mutual

Insurance Company, 04-0282, p. 3 (La.App. 1st Cir. 2/11/05), 907

So.2d 733, 734. In opposition to [the liability insurer’s] motion for

summary judgment, the plaintiffs and intervenor simply alleged that

[the subcontractor] should be held to be an employee so that the

aforementioned limitations of coverage for an independent contractors

would not apply. On appeal, they acknowledge that [the insured] “failed

to receive any sort of indemnity agreement and failed to obtain

$500,000.00 in insurance from [the] subcontractor.”

However, if the wording of the policy is clear and expresses the

parties’ intent, the policy must be enforced as written. This rule is

applicable even to policy provisions that limit the insurer’s liability or

place restrictions on policy obligations. McQuirter v. Rotolo, 11-0188,

p. 8 (La.App. 1st Cir. 9/14/11), 77 So.3d 76, 80. Absent a conflict with

statutory provisions or public policy, insurers are entitled to limit their

liability and to impose and enforce reasonable conditions on the policy

obligations they contractually assume. McDonald v. American Family

Life Assurance Company of Columbus, 10-1873, p. 6 (La.App. 1st Cir.

7/27/11), 70 So.3d 1086, 1090. Accordingly, as the conditions for

coverage under the [liability] policy clearly were not met, we find that

the trial court did not err in granting summary judgment in favor of [the

liability insurer].

9

Id.

Just as the general contractor in Sasser failed to satisfy the conditions

associated with his liability policy, the conditions for coverage under the Contractors

Special Conditions of the AIC policy at issue herein were not met by Goudeau.

Thus, we find the trial court did not err in granting AIC’s motion for summary

judgment and dismissing plaintiff’s claims against it.

DECREE

For the reasons assigned, the judgment of the trial court is affirmed. Costs are

assessed to plaintiff/appellant.

AFFIRMED.

10

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.