Opinion

Sherry Debarge v. Lfi Lake Charles

Court
Louisiana Court of Appeal
Filed
Dec 23, 2014
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 39.7%

The opinion

STATE OF LOUISIANA

COURT OF APPEAL, THIRD CIRCUIT

14-747

SHERRY DEBARGE

VERSUS

LFI OF LAKE CHARLES and

ACE AMERICAN INSURANCE COMPNAY

[(LFI OF FORT PIERCE, INC.]

**********

APPEAL FROM THE

OFFICE OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

DISTRICT 4, PARISH OF CALCASIEU

HONORABLE SAM LOWERY, WORKERS’ COMPENSATION JUDGE

**********

SYLVIA R. COOKS

JUDGE

**********

Court composed of Ulysses Gene Thibodeaux, Chief Judge, Sylvia R. Cooks, and

J. David Painter, Judges.

AFFIRMED AS AMENDED.

Mark Zimmerman

4216 Lake Street

Lake Charles, LA 70605

(337) 474-1644

Attorney for Plaintiff/Appellee

Sherry Debarge

Kirk L. Landry

701 Main Street

P.O. Box 1151

Baton Rouge, LA 70821

(225) 383-3796

Attorney for Defendant Appellant

LFI Fort Pierce, Inc. and ACE Insurance Company

COOKS, Judge.

FACTS AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY

DeBarge, age 53, went to work for LFI shortly after Hurricane Rita on

October 5, 2005, as a laundry assistant making beds, vacuuming, taking care of

soiled laundry, and doing general cleaning inside and outside of tents set up to

house workers stationed in Lake Charles, Louisiana. She was injured on November

1, 2005, when her foot became entangled on some plastic attached to a bed causing

her to strike her neck on a bed as she fell to the floor. LFI denied the occurrence

of the injury and denied the compensability of the work injury up to the date of

trial on March 2, 2011. The employer stipulated to the occurrence of the work

accident at trial; but, to date, no indemnity benefits have been paid. Certain

medical expenses have been paid by the employer while other related medicals

have still not been paid. The employer asserts that claimant forfeited benefits

because of dishonest answers to a work questionnaire when applying for the job.

A panel of this court previously addressed this case in DeBarge v. LFI Lake

Charles, 2011-1208 p. 1 (La.App. 3 Cir. 3/7/12), 87 So.3d 930, 931, wherein the

court stated:

On October 30, 2006, Sherry De Barge, in proper person, filed a

Disputed Claim for Compensation (Office of Workers’ Compensation

Form 1008, hereafter “1008”) in which she alleged that she was

injured on November 1, 2005, when she became entangled in some

plastic and fell, hitting her head. On December 1, 2006, counsel

formally enrolled for “Employer, LFI OF LAKE CHARLES.” That

day, the WCJ signed an order enrolling counsel for “Employer, LFI

OF LAKE CHARLES.” On February 15, 2007, an answer was filed

on behalf of “the Employer, Labor Finders, named as LFI of Lake

Charles.” Later pleadings were filed in the name of “Employer, LFI

of Lake Charles.” The identity of DeBarge’s employer was never

otherwise raised as an issue.

2

The Workers’ Compensation Judge (WCJ) found there was “virtually no

support for LFI’s claim that DeBarge had forfeited her benefits under La.R.S.

23:1208.1, by denying the existence of previous neck problems dating back to

1996 on her pre-employment medical questionnaire.” Id. at 932. The WCJ further

found that: “An untrue or inaccurate statement does not equate to fraud,” Id., and

“in the nine years between DeBarge’s neck complaints in 1996 and the subject

accident in 2005, she had been employed performing strenuous labor.” Id. The

WCJ awarded DeBarge indemnity benefits as a result of her November 2005 on-

the-job accident, and found she was entitled to “all reasonable medical treatment

including all medical bills and out of pocket expenses related to the accident.” Id.

He also assessed a penalty against the employer in the amount of $8,000.00, and

awarded $14,000.00 in attorney fees. The employer first appealed asserting that

the judgment rendered was so lacking in decretal language as to not constitute a

valid judgment, and asserted the WCJ erred in awarding recovery to DeBarge. The

employer also alleged DeBarge should have been denied benefits under La.R.S.

23:1208.1, and that the WCJ erred in awarding attorney’s fees and penalties. A

panel of this court found the party cast in judgment was “clearly identified,” Id. at

934, but then dismissed the appeal, and remanded it to the WCJ finding:

The WCJ awarded temporary total disability benefits. The amount of

those benefits is not specified. The judgment also failed to specify the

amount of medical benefits awarded, which is a fact the court finds

particularly troubling in light of LFI’s second assignment of error

regarding whether any party is liable for Dr. Gunderson’s charges.

The judgment fails to specify what amounts other than clerk’s charges

are being taxed as costs of court. An observer could not determine

LFI’s liability to DeBarge by looking at the judgment.

DeBarge, 87 So.3d at 934.

3

This, reasoned the panel, “renders the judgment defective and deprives us of

jurisdiction, without regard to the other elements of the award.” Id. The case was

remanded on March 12, 2012. On June 4, 2012, the parties filed a Motion to

Continue Remand Trial as they had agreed to mediate their dispute. The record

contains a settlement dated August 3, 2012, signed by all of the parties which is

made contingent “upon final approval and authorization necessary pursuant to

La.R.S. 23:1271-1272.” Although it appears the parties reached an out-of-court-

agreement as of August 3, 2012, counsel for claimant filed notice on September 7

2012, instructing the WCJ to place the case back on the docket for hearing.1

On February 3, 2014, the remand was addressed by the WCJ in open court

and, thereafter, on February 17, 2014, the WCJ signed a judgment. The employer,

identifying itself as “Labor Finders,” filed a motion for new trial asking only for

re-argument. On March 31, 2014, the WCJ granted the Motion for New Trial,

heard re-argument, and rendered a final judgment signed on April 15, 2014. The

trial judge specifically found that defendant “is the ‘undisputed’ employer LFI Fort

Pierce, Inc., which does business under the registered trade name of Labor Finders,

and its workers’ compensation insurer, ACE American Insurance Company.” The

WCJ then rendered a detailed written judgment which reads:

IT IS ADJUDGED, ORDERED, AND DECREED as follows:

1. Claimant Sherry DeBarge is entitled to and defendant LFI is

responsible for paying Temporary Total Disability benefits from

the date of the work-accident November 1, 2005, at the rate of

$240.00 a week (based on two-thirds of the stipulated average

weekly wage of $360.00), up through the date of trial and

continuing in accordance with the Louisiana Compensation Act.

1

A late letter arrived at this court professing to relay a compromise of this matter on earlier remand. Defendant has

never filed an exception of res judicata nor has it argued compromise in the lower court or as an assignment of error

on appeal. We decline to entertain this assertion of a compromise any further. This court also elects not to delay its

opinion beyond its scheduled release. We further note Defendant’s request for a stay was denied.

4

2. Claimant Sherry DeBarge is entitled to and defendant LFI is

responsible for all reasonable medical benefits and treatment as a

result of the November 1, 2005 work accident, including payment

of all surgical expenses related to the surgery performed by Dr.

Clark Gunderson, out-of-pocket medical expenses and all related

medical expenses.

3. In relation to which, in regard to the specific amount of medical

expenses referenced in the previous paragraph, claimant Sherry De

Barge is entitled to and the defendant LFI is responsible for the

following: 1. $317.96 for reimbursement of claimant’s out-of-

pocket expenses, per P-4 and as clarified at the hearing on

February 3, 2014 without objection; 2. $381.00 regarding the

outstanding bill to Emergency Medicine Specialist, APMC, per P-

6; and 3. $12,300.00 for reimbursement of claimant’s out-of-

pocket expenses in reference to her cervical surgery (by Dr.

Gunderson) and treatment at Lake Charles Memorial Hospital on

January 15 and 16, 2009, per P-10, and see P-9.

3.(sic) Defendant LFI’s defense under La.R.S. 23:1208 is denied.

4. Defendant LFI’s defense under La.R.S. 23:1042 is denied.

5. The termination of medical benefits was arbitrary and capricious

and done without probable cause, thus entitling claimant to an award

of $8,000.00 in penalties and an award of $14,000.00 in attorney fees.

Based on fault, the penalties and attorney fees award is assessed

against ACE American Insurance Company, the workers’

compensation insurer of the employer, LFI Fort Pierce, Inc. which

does business under the register(ed) trade name Labor Finders.

6. Defendant LFI is liable for the filing cost of $30.00, and the

appropriate legal/judicial interest on the award made in claimant’s

favor herein.

7. Accordingly, the judgment signed on February 17, 2014 is

revoked.

LFI appeals the judgment of the WCJ asserting he erred in finding the

provisions of La.R.S. 23:1208.1 inapplicable and asserts, alternatively, that

claimant’s recovery for medical expenses is limited to a maximum of $750.00

under the provisions of La.R.S. 23:1142. LFI also assigns as error the award of

attorney fees and penalties.

5

ANALYSIS

LFI again asserts in this appeal, though not by means of an assignment of

error, that “the defendants now named in this judgment, who now appeal it, were

not even the defendants in the earlier judgments,” referring to LFI Fort Pierce, Inc.

A panel of this court previously disposed of this issue. It is frivolous for defendant

to make the assertion in this appeal that “the defendants now named in this

judgment” were not the defendants named throughout this much protracted

litigation. The judgment appealed from names LFI Fort Pierce, Inc. d/b/a Labor

Finders, a/k/a Labor Finders of Lake Charles, and its insurer ACE American

Insurance Company as parties cast in judgment. LFI’s trade name has been the

same since the inception of this litigation. The WCJ went to great lengths in his

judgment to identify claimant’s employer as he spells out in his judgment “the

defendant is the “undisputed” employer LFI Fort Pierce, Inc., which does business

under the registered trade name of Labor Finders . . .” He no doubt emphasized

“undisputed” because there is no cogent dispute as to the identity of the claimant’s

employer responsible for compensation to her for the injury sustained while in its

employ. The record contains an express waiver of citation and an acceptance of

service by Labor Finders, the registered trade name of LFI Fort Pierce, Inc. It also

contains an answer filed by Labor Finders/Labor Finders of Lake Charles. The

answer did not contain a declinatory exception concerning the employer’s identity.

Louisiana Code of Civil Procedure Article 736 expressly provides “A person who

does business under a trade name is the proper defendant in an action to enforce an

obligation created by or arising out of the doing of such business.” Additionally,

6

the Louisiana Code of Civil Procedure Article 6(A) (1) and (3) (emphasis added)

provide in pertinent part:

A. Jurisdiction over the person is the legal power and authority

of a court to render a personal judgment against a party to an

action or proceeding. The exercise of this jurisdiction

requires:

(1) The service of process on the defendant, or on his agent

for service of process, or the express waiver of citation

and service under Article 1201.

(2) . . .

(3) The submission of the party to the jurisdiction of the

court by commencing an action or by the waiver of

objection to jurisdiction by failure to timely file the

declinatory exception.

The Louisiana Code of Civil Procedure provides in Article 928 (emphasis added):

The declinatory exceptions and the dilatory exceptions shall be

pleaded prior to or in the answer and, prior to or along with the filing

of any pleading seeking relief other than entry or removal of the name

of an attorney as counsel of record, extension of time within which to

plead, security for costs, or dissolution of an attachment issued on the

ground of the nonresidence of the defendant, and in any event, prior

to the confirmation of a default judgment.

LFI long ago in this proceeding submitted to the jurisdiction of the workers’

compensation tribunal in this matter using its trade name and failing to timely raise

a declinatory exception. At all stages of this proceeding, and in numerous filings,

defendant LFI is referred to as “LFI of Lake Charles” and “Labor Finders.” In the

appeal bond posted on August 9, 2011, the defendants are identified as

“Defendants, LFI of Lake Charles, Labor Finders and/or ACE American Insurance

Company.” Given the prior ruling of this court on this issue there is no reasonable

basis for defendant to again assert that “the defendant now named in this

7

judgment” and who now appeals that judgment was “not even the [defendant] in

the earlier judgments.” We shall endeavor to make clear in this decision the party

responsible to claimant and reiterate the previous finding of this court that “the

party cast in judgment is clearly identified”, i.e. claimant’s “employer, LFI of Lake

Charles” DeBarge, 87 So.3d at 931, a/k/a LFI Fort Pierce, Inc. and its insurer ACE

Insurance Company.

LFI does not dispute that DeBarge is temporarily disabled as a result of her

work-related injury. LFI bases the legitimacy of its actions on the assertion that

DeBarge failed to inform her employer, in a medical history questionnaire

completed when she applied for work with LFI in 2005, about alleged neck

problems dating back to 1996-1997. This, says LFI, was a violation of the fraud

provisions of La.R.S. 23:1208.1which disqualifies DeBarge from receiving

benefits. Louisiana Revised Statute 23: 1208.1 provides:

Nothing in this Title shall prohibit an employer from inquiring

about the previous injuries, disabilities, or other medical conditions

and the employee shall answer truthfully; failure to answer truthfully

shall result in the employee’s forfeiture of benefits under this Chapter,

provided said failure to answer directly relates to the medical

condition for which a claim for benefits is made or affects the

employer’s ability to receive reimbursement from the second injury

fund. This Section shall not be enforceable unless the written form on

which the inquiries about previous medical conditions are made

contains a notice advising the employee that his failure to answer

truthfully may result in his forfeiture of workers’ compensation

benefits under R.S. 23:1208.1. Such notice shall be prominently

displayed in bold faced block lettering of no less than ten point type.

The medical history questionnaire submitted in evidence bears the caption

“Labor Finders” (nowhere does the document identify the employer by any other

name) and is signed by Sherry DeBarge. It is not dated, nor is it signed by anyone

on behalf of Labor Finders, but DeBarge admitted that this is the form she filled

8

out when applying for this job. The form bears the requisite notice in bold

lettering as required by La.R.S.23:1208.1. The applicant agrees by signing the

document to provide any and all medical records which may be requested by Labor

Finders. The applicant is further notified at the outset before answering any

questions that (emphasis added):

The purpose of this inquiry is to determine whether I currently

have the physical or mental qualification necessary to perform the

job that has been offered, and what accommodations, if any, may be

necessary, so that I can perform the job without posing a direct threat

to the health or safety of myself or others and for the purposes and

reasons stated on the attached questionnaire.

Thus, having been informed of the purpose of the questionnaire, applicants,

such as DeBarge, set forth to answer the questions put forth in the context stated by

Labor Finders. In response to the instruction to “list any conditions for which you

have been treated in the past 3 years” DeBarge wrote “breast cancer.” In response

to the inquiry “Have you ever been hospitalized? If so, for what condition?” she

responded “breast cancer.” In response to the question “Is there any health-related

reason you may not be able to perform any job function for which you are

applying?” she responded “No.” To the question “Have you had major illness that

required medical attention in the last 5 years?” DeBarge responded “No.” In

response to the question “How many days were you absent from work because of

illness last year?” she responded “None.” Answering the inquiry “Do you have

any physical defects which preclude you from performing certain kinds of work?’

DeBarge responded “No,” as she did to the next question “Do you have any

disabilities or impairments which may affect your performance in the position for

which you are applying?” On the page provided which lists a number of medical

conditions, diseases, and injuries DeBarge indicated with a check mark in response

9

to the inquiry “Have you ever had or been injured or been treated for any of the

following conditions or disease?” the following answers: “Back” – “No”; “Neck

injury” – “No”; “Any back injury or disease process of the back resulting in a

disability or restrictions?” – “No”; and “Surgical removal or repair of an

intervertebral disk or Spinal fusion (Back Surgery) – “No.” DeBarge disclosed

with added explanation that she was being treated with Diovan for high blood

pressure and Tomoxifen for the prevention of cancer.

DeBarge testified at trial, without contradiction, that after a four to six

month period of time in 1996/1997 she was returned to work with no restrictions

and worked consistently performing physical labor until 2005 when the subject

work accident occurred. She has not worked since the accident at issue. The

medical evidence supports her testimony in this regard and LFI offered no

challenge to this evidence and testimony. We find no error in the WCJ’s finding

that DeBarge’s answers to these questions cannot be construed as intentionally

misleading or intentionally untruthful. The WCJ expressed his findings and

rationale on the record and correctly applied the prior jurisprudence of this court on

the subject. He stated on the record:

Labor Finders’ position in this regard is based on Ms.

DeBarge’s answers to a pre-employment questionnaire she filled out

when she applied for the job as a laundry assistant after the hurricane

in 2005. It looks as if she did not tell Labor Finders that she had neck

pain back in 1996, some nine years before she applied for the job.

And, technically, that answer appears to be untrue.

However, it has been my experience that most laborers when

asked if they have a spinal condition translate the question into a

query as to whether they suffered from some disease or such severity

and magnitude that they are unable or restricted in some form or

fashion from doing the work for which they’re applying. An untrue or

inaccurate answer, standing strictly on its own, does not automatically

equate to the commission of fraud.

10

There is every indication that well before the November

accident, Ms. DeBarge had recovered sufficiently from her back

ailments to work in the shrimp business and she certainly appeared to

be able-bodied enough to perform the strenuous sort of work expected

of post-hurricane temporary laborers.

The medical records are utterly devoid of any statement by any

medical practitioner to the effect that Ms. DeBarge ever had a

permanent disability to her neck. Granted, the medical records show

that years before she went to work for Labor Finders, she was told by

a chiropractor that she had a disc problem in her back.

Dr. Bertuccini, on whom the defendant relies heavily, almost

totally, for its support of the fraud stance, testified that when he

reviewed a 1996 M.R.I., he saw little more than evidence of arthritic

changes. That scarcely qualifies as pre-existing permanent partial

disability within the meaning of the statute.

And, even if Ms. DeBarge was attempting to conceal her

previous condition, she certainly was not very conniving in going

about it. It’s hard to see who she was hiding the fact from. She told

her physicians about her medical history and none of them indicated it

was inevitable or even very likely that any previous condition would

injure her back or arm in the future.

The courts have ruled consistently and repeatedly that a

claimant must do more than simply provide untruthful answers before

forfeiting benefits. The requirements for fraud are spelled out and are

explained in a host of cases and none, virtually none, are met in the

instant matter.

After a review of the record we agree with the WCJ. His reasons are amply

supported by the record and his finding is not manifestly erroneous. Based on the

record before us, we do not find that DeBarge’s answers were untruthful nor do

they exhibit any intent to deceive. Her answers appear to have been a forthright

attempt to fulfil the stated purpose of the questionnaire, i.e. “to determine

whether [she] currently has the physical or mental qualification necessary to

perform the job.” In Colonial Nursing Home v. Bradford, 02-588 p. 4,5 (La.App.

3 Cir. 12/30/02), 834 So.2d 1262, 1267 writ denied 03-364 (La. 4/21/03), 841

So.2d 802, we provided a thorough explanation of the application of the fraud

provisions of La.R.S. 23: 1208.1:

11

La.R.S. 23:1208.1 applies when an employee is dishonest on an

employer’s medical questionnaire before the accident or injury. In

Resweber v. Haroil Const. Co., 94-2708, 94-3138 (La.9/5/95), 660

So.2d 7, the supreme court concluded that the legislatively imposed

forfeiture under La.R.S.23:1208.1, applies only if the employer

suffers prejudice. An employer is prejudiced only when the false

statement “directly relates to the medical condition for which a claim

is made or affects the employer’s ability to receive reimbursement

from the second injury fund.” La.R.S. 23:1208.1. The claimant must

do more than simply provide untruthful answers before forfeiting

benefits. The employer must also prove that the untruthful statements

were prejudicial to it and that it provided the employee with statutory

notice of the forfeiture provision. Because statutory forfeiture is a

harsh remedy, its application must be strictly construed. Resweber,

660 So.2d 7.

....

This court has held “[w]hen there is any legitimate ambiguity

concerning the questionnaire or inquiries into an employee’s medical

history, a court should lean favorably toward the employee in

determining whether he knowingly [sic] failed to answer the

questionnaire truthfully.” Holmes v. J.E. Merit Contractors, Inc., 97-

553, p. 5 (La.App. 3 Cir. 10/29/97). 702 So.2d 1126, 1131, writ

denied, 97-2972 (La.2/6/98), 709 So.2d 741, quoting King v. Grand

Cove Nursing Home, 93-779, p. 5 (La.App. 3 Cir. 3/9/94), 640 So.2d

348, 351, writ denied, 94-0865 (La.5/13/94), 641 So.2d 204.

In Taylor v. G.W. Morgan Logging, Inc., 12-294, p. 2 (La.App. 3 Cir.

10/3/12), 100 So.3d 341, 343, Judge Painter writing for the court, addressed the

issue of false representations allegedly made in work questionnaires such as will

disqualify an employee from receiving benefits for a work-related injury:

Defendant first argues that the WCJ erred in finding that it did

not carry its burden of proof with regard to its LA.R.S. 23:1208.1

defense by failing to recognize that the triple level laminectomy being

recommended for Plaintiff would result in substantially greater

disability than it would have had the prior injury not been present.

The determination by a WCJ as to whether a claimant has made

a false statement, willfully, for the purpose of obtaining workers’

compensation benefits is a finding of fact [ ] and is, therefore, subject

to the manifest error standard of review. Phillips v. Diocese of

Lafayette, 03-1241 (La.App. 3 Cir. 3/24/04), 869 So.2d 313.

However, we must keep in mind that La.R.S. 23: 1208(E) is penal in

nature. Any statute that is penal in nature must be construed in favor

of the one receiving benefits under that chapter of the law. Fontenot

12

v. Reddell Vidrine Water District., 02-439 (La.1/14/03), 836 So.2d 14;

Olander v. Schillilaegh’s, 04-725 (LA.App. 3 Cir. 3/23/05), 899 So.2d

97.

....

Concerning the standard of appellate review of a forfeiture

claim, the court in Rowan Cos., Inc. v. Powell, 02-1894, 02-1895, p. 6

(La.App. 1 Cir. 7/2/03), 858 So.2d 676,680, writ denied, 03-2177

(La.11/14/03), 858 So.2d 425 (citations omitted), stated:

The determination of whether there is a false

statement or representation willfully made for the

purpose of obtaining any benefit or payment involves

inherently factual determinations an, thus, this court’s

review of those findings by the WCJ is governed by the

manifest error standard. Under that standard of review,

this court may only reverse the WCJ’s decision if we find

(1) there is no reasonable factual basis for the finding in

the record and (2) the finding is clearly wrong or

manifestly erroneous.

Phillips v. Diocese of Lafayette, 869 SO.2d at 316-

17, (quoting in part Flintroy v. Scott Cummin Salvage,

36,857, p. 12 (LaApp. 2 Cir. 3/10/03), 839 So.2d 1231,

1238, writ denied, 03-1068 (La.6/6/03), 845 So.2d 1093

(citations omitted))

Jim Walter Homes, Inc. v. Guilbeau, 05-1473, pp. 5-6 (La.App.

3 Cir. 6/21/06), 934 So.2d 239, 243-44.

In Holmes v. J.W. Merit Constructors, Inc., 97-553 (La. App. 3 Cir.

10/29/97), 702 So.2d 1126, writ denied, 97-2972 (La. 2/6/98), 709 So.2d 741, this

court addressed an employer’s claim that the claimant was not entitled to benefits

for his work-related injury because of false answers on his second injury fund

employment questionnaire. In Holmes, the employee signed a questionnaire which

asked if the applicant was “bothered with or have you ever had the following”

referring to a list of items to be marked “Yes” or “No.” In response, Mr. Holmes

indicated with a “No” concerning “arthritis and knee problems, despite being

aware that he had arthritis and knee problems before the accident.” Id. at 1131.

The WCJ found the questionnaire ambiguous and awarded recovery. This court

13

agreed with the WCJ’s finding and also found the medical record did not support

the employer’s claims. This court further held:

La.R.S. 23:1208.1 should be construed against the employer,

who is in a better position to prevent accidents in the workplace

through its hiring and firing decisions than is the worker, who seldom

has the luxury of opting out of the workplace. Pickett v. Stine Lumber

Co., 93-1534 (La.App. 3 Cir. 6/1/94), 640 So.2d 769. In King v.

Grand Cove Nursing Home, 93-779, p. 5-6 (La.App. 3 Cir. 3/9/94);

640 So.2d 348, 351-52, writ denied, 94-0865 (La.5/13/94), 641 So. 2d

204, adopting the workers’ compensation judge’s findings and

analysis, we quoted as follows:

“When there is any legitimate ambiguity

concerning the questionnaire or inquiries into an

employee’s medical history, a court should lean

favorable toward the employee in determining whether

he knowlingly [sic] failed to answer the questionnaire

truthfully. In other words, for the sanction of La.R.S.

23:1208.1 to apply, the employer should have the burden

to prove that the questionnaire or inquiries into an

employee’s medical history were clear and unambiguous,

and that conditions were such that an employee fully

understood that his answers had to be thorough and

complete.

....

“There are sound reasons to require an employer to

explain a medical history questionnaire to an employee,

who is ofter [sic] uneducated. Conceivably, it is to an

employer’s advantage that the claimant not answer a

medical history form correctly or completely because in

that case it would not owe an workers’ compensation at

all for a reinjury, regardless of the circumstances. The

potential for abuse would be great and the best safeguard

would be to require or to find that it is implicit within the

meaning of 1208.1 that the employer present the medical

history questionnaire to the prospective employee in a

thorough manner.”

Holmes, 702 So.2d at 1131.

The WCJ’s reliance on our long line of jurisprudence was well placed and

his ruling is clearly supported by the record.

14

We also find no merit in the employer’s assertion that claimant’s recovery

for medical costs incurred as a result of Dr. Gunderson’s surgery are limited to

$750.00 under the provisions of La.R.S. 23:1142. The statute provides in pertinent

part:

B. Nonemergency care. (1) (a) Except as provided herein,

each health care provider may not incur more than a total of

seven hundred fifty dollars in nonemergency diagnostic

testing or treatment without the mutual consent of the payor

and the employee as provided by regulation…

C. Emergency Care. (1) In no event shall prior consent be

required for any emergency procedure or treatment deemed

immediately necessary by the treating health care provider . .

.

....

E. In the event that the payor has denied that the

employee’s injury is compensable under this Chapter, then

no approval from the payor is required prior to the

provision of any diagnostic testing or treatment for that

injury. (emphasis added)

LFI denied compensability for DeBarge’s work-related injury for quite some

time and continued to do so prior to her surgery. In fact, for more than two years

after DeBarge’s injury at work LFI denied the occurrence of a work-related injury

as well as denying compensability. It was not until trial on March 2, 2011 that LFI

admitted DeBarge was injured on the job and since that time has continued to

assert that it does not have to pay DeBarge because she was untruthful on LFI’s

questionnaire. Dr. Gunderson and Dr. Bertuccini agreed that surgery was

necessary. The long period of conservative, palliative treatment failed to provide

relief to DeBarge who was living in constant pain which she could no longer

endure. Additionally, we note, that LFI has paid reimbursement for Dr.

Gunderson’s surgical fee totaling $10,000.00, which appears to make the issue of

15

his fee moot. It is, however, odd, and unexplained by LFI, that it has not paid the

attendant additional medical costs for this procedure including the bill from the

hospital. The WCJ articulated a sound basis for his decision awarding benefits and

medicals to DeBarge and it is worth quoting him at length:

The overreaching issue at dispute here is the extent of the

surgery Ms. DeBarge underwent after the accident. In brief, the

defendant contends that Ms. DeBarge’s orthopedic surgeon exceeded

the authority given him by the defendant and proceeded to expand the

scope of his surgery on his own initiative. Specifically, the defendant

complains that Dr. Clark Gunderson operated on the C4-5 level and

the C5-6 level of the spine after the employer agreed only to the

authorization at the C4-5-6 level.

The claimant counters that Dr. Gunderson’s decision to include

the C4-5 level was entirely reasonable, indeed necessary, given the

long history of medical treatment, most of it thoroughly unsuccessful,

which Ms. DeBarge had endured when she finally resorted to surgical

intervention to relieve her pain. The surgery was done more than

three years after her injury.

Most of the evidence presented to the Court during the trial

consisted of medical reports and records from the treating physician,

second opinion physician, and the independent medical examiner.

The only witness at her trial was Ms. DeBarge. The adjuster, who

presumably made the operative decisions regarding payments,

authorization of treatment, and ultimately the termination of medical

benefits, was not present, leaving the Court the task of pretty much

inferring from the written record the rationale and reasoning of the

insurance carrier.

The medical records indicate that the day after the November 2,

2005, accident Ms. DeBarge was sent to Hunter McGuire medical

facility and returned several times for the next month or so. She was

informed that she could not drive nor operate machinery and was

taken off work. She was then referred to a neurologist, Dr. Sleiman

Salibi, who on October the 13th, 2005, extended her leave from work

and advised her to rest for a month.

It appears from the records at this point, Ms. DeBarge was

treated on and off at a local charity hospital for about two years or so.

From all accounts, after she became increasingly frustrated with the

type of medical treatment she was receiving, she then obtained a court

judgment allowing her to be examined by Dr. Gunderson, who on

April the 24th, 2007, found her disability required that she be

continued in a no-work status. Dr. Gunderson still maintains that his

patient cannot work.

16

The claimant was then sent by her ex-employer to be evaluated

by an orthopedic specialist of its choosing, Dr. James Perry, who

found her suitable for what he termed “at least sedentary work.” It’s

not clear what exactly the defendant did at that point in response to

that opinion, however, no evidence was presented that suggested that

the employer then offered her any position commensurate with its

own physician’s recommendation. Apparently, no vocational

rehabilitation services were offered.

Considering that these two medical opinions were not in sync,

the Court then appointed Dr. Thomas Bertuccini as an independent

medical expert who examined Ms. DeBarge on February the 11 th,

2008. Dr. Bertuccini agreed that Ms. DeBarge at that point was not

capable of working.

Now, there certainly are some shade(s) (sic) of difference in the

opinion of these two orthopedic surgeons, and this court is neither

qualified nor inclined to decide who is correct from a purely medical

standpoint; however, it is required to determine whether the adjuster’s

decision in refusing to pay for the overall surgery was reasonable

under the circumstances.

Dr. Bertuccini readily and candidly acknowledged that his one-

time examination was not sufficient for him to fully and completely

address the surgical recommendations of Dr. Gunderson. To do so, he

suggested that he would need to see her again, perhaps on a

continuing basis for a while at least.

But, Dr. Bertuccini did support Dr. Gunderson’s

recommendation that surgery was definitely required on Ms.

DeBarge’s neck at the C5-6 level, even as he questioned the

involvement of the C4-5 level.

Meanwhile, at this point, Ms. DeBarge was still dealing with

pain which Dr. Gunderson and Dr. Bertuccini agreed was debilitating.

Finally, on January the 15th, 2009, more than three years of

unsuccessful treatment and ineffective medicines, she paid Dr.

Gunderson $10,000.00, paid another $10,000.00 to the Lake Charles

Memorial Hospital, and ran up more than $25,000 in other medical

bills to have her neck fixed.

And, the result, according to Ms. DeBarge, was that the surgery

gave her relief from her continual headaches and constant pain.

Now Ms. DeBarge’s action on the surface make sense, certainly

from her point of view. She very credibly explained in court that after

more than three years, she simply could no longer tolerate the pain

and concluded that her only recourse was to follow the

recommendation of her treating physician, Dr. Gunderson, and to

undergo serious spinal surgery.

17

On September the 17th, 2007, Dr. Gunderson had requested

authorization to perform an anterior cervical fusion at C4-5 and C5-6

with anterior plate and external stimulator. For the previous six

months or so, he had been providing non-intrusive, relatively

conservative treatment which seemed to have little positive effect

either in a substantive or palliative sense.

Now at this point, try as I might, I draw a complete blank as to

the adjuster’s line of thought. The employer’s S.M.O., Dr. Perry, saw

Ms. DeBarge about two months before Dr. Gunderson’s surgical

recommendation. How, the claimant’s attorney reasonably asks,

could Dr. Perry have recommended against a surgery which had not

yet been suggested at the time of the evaluation? And if that’s the

case, and it looks to be, the penultimate question is what exactly did

the adjuster have in his hands in the way of medical evidence which

would controvert Ms. DeBarge’s entitlement to the surgery

recommended by her treating physician.

The independent medical examiner, Dr. Bertuccini, later agreed

that neck surgery was required, although he was not certain that the

C4-5 portion of the operation was necessary.

I suppose the situation might be different if Dr. Gunderson,

who had the clear and explicit agreement from Dr. Bertuccini on the

requirement for C5-6 neck surgery, decided on his own to extend the

scope of operation to providing something like a knee transplant, but

that’s not at all what happened here. Any reasonable analysis of Dr.

Gunderson’s judgment must be tempered with an evaluation of the

extent of his knowledge of this patient’s circumstances.

The medical reports clearly indicate that he has seen Ms.

DeBarge repeatedly and had treated her for a long time, giving him

the insight to develop a fully informed decision of precisely which

parts of the spine were involved as a result of her work accident.

Commonsense, not to mention Third Circuit jurisprudence,

supports the proposition that the treating physician’s views should be

heavily weighed.

What’s also puzzling to me is why the adjuster paid only

$10,000 to Dr. Gunderson and did not pay the $10,000 owed Lake

Charles Memorial Hospital for her surgery. I don’t understand the

math here. Equally perplexing is the fact that the letter from the

adjuster authorizing the C5-6 portion of the surgery came only after

Dr. Gunderson had performed the operation.

And I am thoroughly baffled by the rationale which the adjuster

employed on August the 17th, 2009, when it was decided to

completely deny virtually all ongoing medical treatment. I read the

letter to Ms. DeBarge informing her in no uncertain terms that she

was pretty much on her own in getting her neck fixed. There’s not a

18

word not even a hint of explanation as to why. There was no better

explanation given at trial either.

I am really not sure of exactly what else the adjuster could have

done to better qualify for the imposition of penalties for improper

termination of benefits.

Ditto - we can hardly say it better than Judge Lowery. As we discussed in

Louviere v. Food & Fun, Inc., 06-469 (La.App. 3 Cir. 10/11/06), 941 So.2d 155,

where, as here, the claimant spent several years in agony and pain while her

employer ignored her claim and after her prolonged period of

conservative/palliative treatment failed she obtained surgery which she had to pay

for on her own, the law does not require her to get her employer’s approval.

The court in Sneed v. RTA/TMSEL, 03-1532 (La.App. 4 Cir.

2/25/04), 869 So.2d 254, found that the employer’s denial of

claimant’s workers’ compensation request for surgery amounted to

denial of liability for claimant’s injury and, therefore, the $750.00 cap

imposed by La.R.S. 23:1142 was not applicable. Citing Gros v.

Gaudin, 00-1015 (La.App. 5 Cir. 10/31/99), 773 So.2d 172, writ

denied, 00-3242 (La.1/26/01), 782 So.2d 635, and Barron v. First

Lake Properties, Inc., 93-902 (La.App. 5 Cir. 3/29/94), 636 So.2d

970, the court went on to state that the compensability of a claimant’s

work related injury may be generally admitted, while authorization for

a specific medical procedure is denied, amounting to denial of

compensability under La.R.S. 23:1142(E). Id. The court found the

neurotomy medically necessary, stating that two years had passed

since the occurrence of the injury, the claimant had undergone

conservative treatment without any benefit, and it was apparent

that the treating physician was not “rushing to have the patient

undergo unnecessary surgery, but he intended to attempt to

alleviate her back pain.” Id. at 262.

....

The court would also note that La.R.S. 23:1142(C) dispenses

with the need for prior approval in cases of emergency, or where

treatment is “immediately necessary.” Defendant argues strenuously

that there is no emergency, as further delay would not cause Claimant

more damage. They do not discuss the phrase, “immediately

necessary.” In the instant case, we consider Dr. Blanda’s testimony

that Claimant had a herniated disc as L3-4 and a herniated disc at L4-

5, as well as considerable instability at the L4-5 level, clearly shows

that the procedure was necessary at the time it was performed. The

19

fact that he had been treating Claimant for over seven years and had

run out of options clearly establishes that further delay would be

unreasonable. Then, the “immediate” factor is established.

Accordingly, we hold that the surgery was “immediately necessary”

and therefore, no approval was required.

Louviere, 941 So.2d at 160-61 (emphasis added)

The record fully supports the WCJ’s articulated reasons for his ruling and

we find there was a reasonable basis for his decision. Likewise, we find ample

support in the record for the reasonableness and soundness of the WCJ’s award for

attorney fees and penalties. The WCJ correctly awarded such based on the

provisions of La. R.S. 23:1201.1, and his finding that LFI’s

termination/discontinuance of medical benefits was arbitrary and capricious and

clearly without probable cause is not manifestly erroneous. We also find, under

our decision in Bradford and other cases cited herein, that DeBarge is entitled to

attorney fees for this appeal, including the Motion to Stay, and we thus award

claimant attorney fees for work done on appeal in the amount of $7,500.00.

DeBarge answers this appeal asserting the WCJ “tacitly” erred in failing to

award attorney fees and penalties for LFI’s failure to reasonably controvert

DeBarge’s entitlement to indemnity benefits. Given the trial judge’s findings,

which we agree are well supported by the record, we agree with claimant that she

is entitled to a $2,000.00 statutory penalty in addition to the penalty assessed by

the WCJ for other infractions. The award of $14,000.00 in attorney fees by the

WCJ adequately addressed all of the trial work performed by claimant’s attorney.

For the reasons stated we affirm the WCJ’s ruling except to amend it to

further award DeBarge an additional $2,000.00 in penalties to be paid by LFI Fort

Pierce, Inc. a/k/a Labor Finders. We also award DeBarge attorney fees for work

20

done on appeal in the amount of $7,500.00, and assess all costs of this appeal,

including all costs associated with the Motion to Stay filed in this court, to LFI

Fort Pierce, Inc. a/k/a Labor Finders.

AFFIRMED AS AMENDED.

21

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.