Opinion

Roy Strother v. Guinn Oilfield Services

Court
Louisiana Court of Appeal
Filed
Mar 3, 2004
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 39.5%

The opinion

STATE OF LOUISIANA

COURT OF APPEAL, THIRD CIRCUIT

03-1310

ROY STROTHER

VERSUS

GUINN OILFIELD SERVICES, L.L.C.

**********

APPEAL FROM THE

OFFICE OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION, DISTRICT 2

PARISH OF RAPIDES, NUMBER 02-02617

JAMES L. BRADDOCK, WORKERS’ COMPENSATION JUDGE

**********

BILLIE COLOMBARO WOODARD

JUDGE

**********

Court composed of Billie Colombaro Woodard, Oswald A. Decuir, and Billy Howard

Ezell, Judges.

AFFIRMED AS AMENDED.

Chris Smith, III

The Smith Law Firm, L.L.P.

Post Office Box 1528

Leesville, Louisiana 71496

(337) 238-1531

Counsel for Plaintiff/Appellee:

Roy Strother

Henry Harvey LeBas

Robert M. Martina

Law Offices of Henry H. LeBas

5750 Johnston Street, Suite 5100

Lafayette, LA 70503

(337) 988-4500

Counsel for Defendant/Appellant:

Guinn Oilfield Services

WOODARD, Judge.

This workers’ compensation appeal arises from an action for disability benefits.

The WCJ found that Roy C. Strother sustained a disabling back injury while in the

course and scope of his employment with Guinn Oil Field Services, L.L.C. (Guinn

Oil). We affirm as amended.

*****

Roy C. Strother worked as a roustabout, which is a physical job that is very

strenuous and requires heavy lifting, for Guinn Oil from September of 2001 to

November 21, 2001.

During one of the last few days of his employment, Mr. Strother injured his

back on the job site, which is referred to as the Glade Branch or the Hunt Plywood

site, while carrying heavy valves, boxes of bolts, and pipe wrenches up three flights

of stairs to the top of a twenty-four-foot tank. According to Mr. Strother, a crane

would have normally carried these materials to the top of the tank but, on this day, the

crane was at another job site.

While making one of his many climbs up to the top of the tank, Mr. Strother

remembered feeling “something burning and pinching in [his] . . . back and . . . left

leg.” When asked at trial if he reported his injury to any of his superiors, he stated

that he reported it to Douglas Cloud, Jr., his “foreman” and brother-in-law. Mr. Cloud

told him to “take it easy” the rest of the day and suggested to him that he might be

hurting because he was not yet accustomed to all the heavy lifting required by this

type of work considering that he started working for Guinn Oil only a couple months

before.

After work, Mr. Strother went home to his wife, Donna Marie Strother, and

their three-year-old son. When he arrived, he said:

I could barely get out of my truck [because] I was hurting so bad.

I like to never made it home. When I got there . . . I sat down on the

steps and she helped me pull my . . . boots off . . . and I . . . stripped

down to my drawers on the steps. And she helped me get . . . into the tub

to take a shower.

1

Mrs. Strother was asked about her husband’s condition on that night. She responded:

“Whenever he came in he looked depressed, and my [husband has] always been high

strung and always hyper, and he was just depressed and I asked him what was wrong

and he said he was . . . hurt.”

That same night, Mr. and Mrs. Strother picked up his brother-in-law, Mr.

Cloud, on their way to a pharmacy. When they asked for the pharmacist’s opinion on

how to relieve a pulled muscle, she recommended that Mr. Strother use “muscle rub

and Aleve” and told him to report his injury to his boss if it did not get any better

within seven days.

Sometime thereafter, Mr. Cloud allegedly called Jerry Guinn, the owner of

Guinn Oil, to find out if the company would be doing some work in Washington,

Louisiana. Mr. Cloud knew that if Guinn Oil did not get hired to do this job, he and

Mr. Strother might get laid off. During their conversation, Mr. Guinn told him that

he had not yet heard anything but he was expecting some news on the Washington job

in a few days.

When the Washington job did not come through, Mr. Guinn informed Mr.

Cloud that he had no choice but to lay off him and Mr. Strother. Later that day, Mr.

Cloud relayed this bad news to his brother-in-law.

On November 26, 2001, Mr. Guinn sent both of them an official layoff notice.

They needed this document to apply for food stamps and unemployment benefits.

However, Mr. Strother could not get unemployment benefits because his injuries

prevented him from going back to work.

The next day, on November 27, 2001, Mr. Strother called Mr. Guinn to inform

him that he injured his back on the job. This was the first time that Mr. Guinn learned

of his injuries.

Afterwards, Mr. Strother began receiving workers’ compensation benefits from

Montlake Casualty Company (Montlake) together with some medical expenses.

On April 11, 2002, Mr. Strother filed suit, alleging that Guinn Oil and Montlake

paid him an improper amount in weekly compensation benefits, but he later amended

his claim to dispute their refusal to pay him benefits since August 1, 2002 and to

dispute their failure to authorize medical treatment.

On April 29, 2003, the WCJ rendered a judgment in Mr. Strother’s favor,

awarding him: (1) $321.23 in weekly workers’ compensation benefits that were due

2

from November 21, 2001, together with legal interest, but this award was made

subject to a credit for any benefits previously paid; (2) all reasonable medical benefits,

including the surgery his doctor recommended; and (3) $2,000.00 in penalties and

$3,000.00 in attorney fees, together with legal interest from the date of judicial

demand for the Defendants’ initial underpayment of benefits.

Guinn Oil asserts on appeal that the WCJ erred: (1) by finding that Mr. Strother

suffered an injury on the job that qualified as an accident even though he could not

identify an actual and identifiable precipitous event; (2) by finding that he proved, by

a preponderance of the evidence, that he was injured, considering the evidence

presented at trial proving his lack of credibility; (3) by finding that his claim was

compensable under our Workers’ Compensation laws; (4) by finding that he was

entitled to benefits despite circumstantial and direct evidence that cast serious doubt

on his version of his alleged accident and injuries; (5) by not finding that he forfeited

his rights to benefits under La.R.S. 23:1208; and (6) by awarding him penalties and

attorney fees. Mr. Strother answered Guinn Oil’s appeal, contending that the WCJ

should increase the award of penalties and attorney fees.

*****

INJURY

Guinn Oil urges that Mr. Strother did not prove by a preponderance of the

evidence that he sustained a work-related accident because in his statements to

Montlake’s insurance adjuster and his doctors following his accident he failed to

identify a particular incident that caused the occurrence of his pain.

To obtain workers’ compensation benefits, an employee must prove by a

preponderance of the evidence that he suffered a personal injury because of an

accident, arising out of and in the course of his employment.1 We are to construe the

Workers’ Compensation Act liberally, but this does not relax the worker’s burden of

1

La.R.S. 23:1031.

3

proof.2 This determination is a factual one; thus, we will not disturb the WCJ’s

finding unless we deem it to be clearly wrong or manifestly erroneous.3

The Act defines an accident as “an unexpected or unforeseen actual,

identifiable, precipitous event happening suddenly or violently, with or without human

fault, and directly producing at the time objective findings of an injury which is more

than simply a gradual deterioration or progressive degeneration.”4

Specifically, the WCJ in this case found: “Mr. Strother has proven by a

preponderance of the evidence that he suffered an incident on his job during the

course of his employment which qualifies as an accident under the Workers’

Compensation Law.” We agree.

When there is a dispute over the specific date and time of a claimant’s accident,

without the introduction of any evidence to illustrate the contrary, this lack of

specificity will not render his account of the accident insufficient for the purposes of

La.R.S. 23:1021(1).5 Furthermore, the claimant is entitled to the benefit of a

presumption if an otherwise healthy worker suffers an accident at work and,

thereafter, he becomes disabled; we are to presume that there is a causal connection

between the two when medical evidence establishes a reasonable possibility of such

a connection.6 When an employee establishes this presumption of a casual

relationship, the employer has the burden of producing evidence to persuade the trier

of fact that it is more probable than not that a work-related accident did not cause the

plaintiff’s injury.7

Mr. Strother has consistently related his back injury to his carrying of heavy

wrenches and valves up and down ladders at work. Admittedly, there is some

confusion over the exact time and date of his accident; nonetheless, the evidence

2

See Carter v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., 02-122 (La.App. 3 Cir. 6/26/02), 820

So.2d 1265, writ denied, 02-2074 (La. 11/1/02), 828 So.2d 573.

3

See Tate v. Cabot Corp., 01-1652 (La.App. 3 Cir. 7/3/02), 824 So.2d 456, writ

denied, 02-2150 (La. 11/22/02), 829 So.2d 1044.

4

La.R.S. 23:1021(1).

5

Tate, 824 So.2d 456.

6

Allor v. Belden Corp., 393 So.2d 1233 (La.1981).

7

Rideaux v. Franklin Nursing Home, 95-240 (La.App. 3 Cir. 11/22/95), 664

So.2d 750, writ denied, 95-3093 (La. 2/16/96), 667 So.2d 1058.

4

clearly suggests that he sustained a work-related accident sometime during the last

few days of his employment. Dr. Ghanta, who was his family doctor, confirmed that

he never complained of back problems before this time. Yet, two weeks after Mr.

Strother’s last day on the job, Dr. Pope performed an MRI on him, revealing “a large

extruded disc predominantly on the left side at L-5 and S-1 level” that “did produce

some mass effect and some compression of the nerve root at that level.” Moreover,

every doctor who testified believed a work-related accident caused these injuries to

his spine.

In light of this evidence, Mr. Strother clearly benefitted from a presumption that

a work-related accident caused his injuries. Therefore, given Guinn Oil’s failure to

produce any evidence suggesting that anything else caused his injuries, the WCJ

correctly determined that Mr. Strother sustained this injury to his spine while in the

course and scope of his employment with Guinn Oil.

FALSE STATEMENTS OR MISREPRESENTATIONS

In spite of his entitlement to benefits, Guinn Oil believes Mr. Strother forfeited

his right to them by making false statements.

Louisiana Revised Statutes 23:1208 provides, in part:

A. It shall be unlawful for any person, for the purpose of obtaining

or defeating any benefit or payment under the provisions of this Chapter,

either for himself or for any other person, to willfully make a false

statement or representation.

....

E. Any employee violating this Section shall, upon determination

by hearing officer, forfeit any right to compensation benefits under this

Chapter.

This statute applies to any false statement or misrepresentation made by an employee,

specifically, for the purpose of obtaining workers’ compensation benefits.8

At trial, Mr. Strother testified that he told Montlake’s claim adjuster that he had

to climb up six flights of stairs, when he really only had to climb up three flights. In

his reasons for judgment, the WCJ noted that Mr. Strother admitted that this was an

8

Nabors Drilling USA v. Davis, 03-136 (La. 10/21/03), 857 So.2d 407.

5

exaggeration. In addition, there are other examples of his tendency to exaggerate, but

they are all irrelevant.9 “Exaggeration is a natural human failing.”10 Furthermore, Mr.

Strother’s initial inability to pinpoint the exact date and time of his work accident was

not due to any sinister motive and, thus, was insignificant when viewed in light of the

totality of the record.11

Therefore, we agree with the trial court that Mr. Strother never willfully made

false statements that would disqualify him from receiving benefits.

PENALTIES AND ATTORNEY’S FEES

Both Guinn Oil and Mr. Strother dispute the WCJ’s assessment of penalties and

attorney fees.

The WCJ has great discretion when awarding attorney fees and penalties, and

we will not disturb these awards unless they are clearly wrong.12 Louisiana Revised

Statutes 23:1201.2 provides, in part:

Any employer or insurer who at any time discontinues payment of claims

due and arising under this Chapter, when such discontinuance is found

to be arbitrary, capricious, or without probable cause, shall be subject

to the payment of all reasonable attorney fees for the prosecution and

collection of such claims.

(Emphasis added.) An act is arbitrary and capricious when it is done willfully and

without consideration of the facts and circumstances presented, or it is one based on

an unfounded motivation.13

After his accident, Mr. Strother told Montlake’s insurance adjuster that he hurt

himself on November 21, 2001 at the Glade Branch site. However, some evidence

suggested that he might have actually worked at another job site on that day, although

9

See Nelson v. Roadway Express, Inc., 588 So.2d 350 (La.1991).

10

Id. at 354.

11

See Attaway v. Farley’s Glass Co., 430 So.2d 705 (La.App. 2 Cir. 1983).

12

See George v. M & G Testing and Services, Inc., 95-31 (La.App. 3 Cir.

7/19/95), 663 So.2d 79, writ denied, 96-39 (La. 3/8/96), 669 So.2d 403.

13

Flagg v. Hixson Funeral Home, 02-878 (La.App. 3 Cir. 2/5/03), 838 So.2d

174.

6

the Defense never proved that this was true. Nevertheless, even if this could be

proved, any mix up concerning the exact date of its happening would not have

affected our determination that a work-related accident caused Mr. Strother’s injuries.

Yet, given this confusion, Guinn Oil’s discontinuance of benefits, on August 1, 2002,

was not arbitrary or capricious; thus, it does not owe Mr. Strother attorney fees under

La.R.S. 23:1201.2.

On the other hand, the WCJ correctly surmised that Guinn Oil owed Mr.

Strother penalties and attorney fees for its failure to pay benefits under La.R.S.

23:1201, which provides, in part:

F. Failure to provide payment in accordance with this Section

shall result in the assessment of a penalty in an amount equal to twelve

percent of any unpaid compensation or medical benefits or fifty dollars

per calendar day, whichever is greater, for each day in which any and all

compensation or medical benefits remain unpaid, together with

reasonable attorney fees for each disputed claim; however, the fifty

dollars per calendar day penalty shall not exceed a maximum of two

thousand dollars in the aggregate for any claim. Penalties shall be

assessed in the following manner:

(1) Such penalty and attorney fees shall be assessed against either

the employer or the insurer, depending upon fault. . . .

(2) This Subsection shall not apply if the claim is reasonably

controverted or if such nonpayment results from conditions over which

the employer or insurer had no control.

(Emphasis added.) An employee is not entitled to penalties and attorney fees for the

employer’s failure to pay benefits timely when the employer or insurer reasonably

controverted the employee’s claim for benefits, or when the nonpayment resulted from

conditions over which it had no control.14 Thus, if the employer or insurer had a valid

reason for its denial of benefits, the WCJ should assess neither penalties nor attorney

fees under La.R.S. 23:1201.15

It is undisputed that, initially, Montlake paid Mr. Strother an incorrect amount

in benefits due to the insurance adjuster’s error in calculating Mr. Strother’s wages.

The WCJ can assess penalties and attorney fees for the underpayment of

14

Tate, 824 So.2d 456; La.R.S. 23:1201(F)(2).

15

Id.

7

compensation benefits when the employer or insurer does not offer proof that the error

in calculation was beyond their control.16 Since the Defendants offered no such proof,

the underpayment of Mr. Strother’s benefits was unjustified. As such, we affirm the

WCJ’s award of penalties and attorney fees.

In Mr. Strother’s answer to Guinn Oil’s appeal, he requests an additional award

of attorney fees for the work done on appeal. A workers’ compensation claimant is

entitled to an increase in attorney fees to reflect the additional time incurred in

defending an employer’s unsuccessful appeal.17 We award Mr. Strother $2,000.00 in

attorney fees for the time his counsel spent preparing this appeal.

CONCLUSION

We affirm the WCJ’s determination that Mr. Strother sustained his spinal

injuries in a work-related accident. We also affirm his award of penalties to

Plaintiff/Appellee. Furthermore, we amend the WCJ’s award of attorney fees to

Plaintiff/Appellee to include an additional $2,000.00 for the work done on this appeal.

We assess all costs of this appeal to the Defendants/Appellants.

AFFIRMED AS AMENDED.

16

Alexander v. B.F. Trappey & Sons, 93-549 (La.App. 3 Cir. 3/9/94), 635 So.2d

269.

17

George v. Guillory, 00-591(La.App. 3 Cir. 11/2/00), 776 So.2d 1200.

8

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.