Opinion

Inman, William v. Maclean Fogg Co.

  • 2025 TN WC App. 62
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Dec 23, 2025
Status
Published
On the bench
Conner, Weaver, Godkin
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 37.8%

The opinion

FILED

Dec 23, 2025

07:34 AM(CT)

TENNESSEE

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

APPEALS BOARD

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

William A. Inman, III Docket No. 2025-70-0855

v. State File No. 29996-2022

Maclean Fogg Co., et al.

Appeal from the Court of Workers’

Compensation Claims

Amber E. Luttrell, Judge

Affirmed and Remanded

The employee questions the trial court’s denial of benefits in this interlocutory appeal. The

employee filed a petition for benefit determination in February 2025 for a back injury that

occurred on March 29, 2022. Although the employer originally accepted the

compensability of the accident and authorized certain medical treatment, the employer

denied the claim after the employee filed his petition, asserting the statute of limitations

had expired. After an expedited hearing, the court found the employee did not come

forward with sufficient evidence to indicate a likelihood of prevailing at trial as to the

statute of limitations issue and denied the employee’s request for benefits. The employee

has appealed. Having carefully reviewed the record, we affirm the trial court’s

interlocutory decision and remand the case.

Judge Meredith B. Weaver delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in which Presiding

Judge Timothy W. Conner and Judge Pele I. Godkin joined.

William A. Inman, III, Trenton, Tennessee, employee-appellant, pro se

G. Gerard Jabaley, Knoxville, Tennessee, for the employer-appellee, Maclean Fogg Co. 1

1

Throughout the record, Employer is variously referenced as Maclean Fogg Co., Maclean Power, Maclean

Power Systems, and MacLean Power Systems. For purposes of this opinion, we use the same designation

that appears in the trial court’s expedited order.

1

Memorandum Opinion 2

William A. Inman, III (“Employee”), reported feeling a pull in his lower back while

loading parts for Maclean Fogg Co. (“Employer”) on March 29, 2022. After receiving

notice of the accident, Employer accepted the claim as compensable and authorized initial

treatment with Dr. Peter Gardner, who ordered physical therapy. Employee completed the

physical therapy but continued to complain of midline back pain. Dr. Gardner referred

Employee to an orthopedic specialist, Dr. Michael Cobb, who initially saw Employee in

August 2022.

Dr. Cobb reviewed Employee’s medical records, including an MRI that had been

conducted the month before, and stated that he “did not see any structural reasons for

[Employee’s] prolonged back pain.” He indicated Employee’s work was “stressful on his

back” and recommended smoking cessation. He also suggested Employee “consider

seeing a pain specialist” for injections. On September 6, 2022, Dr. Cobb completed a Final

Medical Report (“Form C-30A”), at Employer’s request, on which he indicated Employee

had reached maximum medical improvement on August 16, 2022, with no permanent

medical impairment.

Thereafter, the record contains no evidence of additional medical treatment or action

by Employee. On January 21, 2025, Employer terminated Employee due to poor

attendance. On February 10, 2025, Employee filed a petition for benefit determination

(“PBD”) listing his March 29, 2022 back injury and further stating he had “reinjured [his

back] and [Employer] failed to do a work injury form.” Employer denied Employee’s

claim, asserting the statute of limitations had expired. 3

At the expedited hearing, Employee testified that the injury actually occurred on

March 26, 2022, but Employer did not prepare a report until March 29, 2022. 4 Employee

testified he was aware Dr. Cobb completed a Form C-30A in September 2022 and that he

did not ask Employer for any more medical care until he either re-injured or had a new

2

This decision is being filed pursuant to Tenn. Comp. R. and Regs. 0800-02-22-.03(1) (2023).

3

On the February 10, 2025 PBD, Employee listed his “date of injury” as “3-29-2022.” In Section C of the

PBD form, Employee described his course of treatment and wrote, “I re-injured it and [Employer] failed to

do a work injury form.” However, Employee did not identify the date of this alleged re-injury on the PBD.

The next document in the technical record, which is not stamped “Filed,” appears to be a summary of

relevant events prepared by Employee. It suggests the “re-injury” occurred on February 29, 2024, which

is less than one year prior to the filing of the PBD. It is unclear whether this document was properly

included in the record and/or considered by the trial court in its assessment of the timeliness of Employee’s

PBD.

4

The record does not contain a transcript of the expedited hearing conducted in this matter. We have

gleaned the arguments and representations of the parties during the hearing from the trial court’s order and

other documentation contained in the record.

2

injury to his back on February 29, 2024. Employer presented evidence indicating that it

paid the last medical bill associated with the March 29, 2022 injury on September 18, 2022.

Furthermore, Employer presented evidence that Employee had reported suffering a

“personal injury” on February 29, 2024, not a work injury, and that he had not given notice

of a new injury.

In its expedited hearing order dated October 7, 2025, the trial court found that the

alleged February 29, 2024 incident was not properly before it and that Employee was not

likely to prevail in proving he timely filed a PBD seeking benefits for the 2022 injury. As

a result, the court denied Employee’s request for additional benefits. Thereafter, Employee

filed a notice of appeal, stating “I was waiting on a [Form] C-32 [a]nd other [m]edical

[d]ocuments. My [s]ubpoenas [were thrown] out therefor[e] I don[’]t feel like [m]y case

was properly tried.” 5 Employee also indicated he has more evidence for the court.

Employee then filed numerous documents with the trial court, including but not limited to

a Standard Form Medical Report (Form C-32), “an Object Order of Denial of Appeal,” a

proposed statement of the evidence, and a request for a new trial. The trial court declined

to certify Employee’s proposed statement of the evidence, concluding it was incomplete

and contained argument more properly suited for an appellate brief. Employee did not file

a brief on appeal. For its part, Employer argues in its brief that the trial court did not err in

declining to award benefits.

As an initial matter, we note that we cannot consider evidence that was not presented

to or considered by the trial court. See Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 0800-02-22-.02(2) (2023);

Hadzic v. Averitt Express, No. 2014-02-0064, 2015 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 14,

at *13 n.4 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. May 18, 2015). Accordingly, we decline to

consider any of Employee’s post-appeal filings that were not properly admitted into

evidence and/or were unavailable for the trial court’s consideration.

As noted above, Employee did not file a transcript of the hearing or a brief in support

of his appeal. In the absence of a transcript, “the appellate court cannot know what

evidence was presented to the trial court, and there is no means by which we can evaluate

the appellant’s assertion that the evidence did not support the trial court’s decision.” Britt

v. Chambers, No. W2006-00061-COA-R3-CV, 2007 Tenn. App. LEXIS 38, at *8 (Tenn.

Ct. App. Jan. 25, 2007). Furthermore, as stated by the Tennessee Supreme Court, “[i]t is

not the role of the courts, trial or appellate, to research or construct a litigant’s case or

arguments for him or her.” Sneed v. Bd. of Prof’l Resp. of the Sup. Ct. of Tenn., 301 S.W.3d

603, 615 (Tenn. 2010). “[W]here a party fails to develop an argument in support of his or

her contention or merely constructs a skeletal argument, the issue is waived.” Id. It is not

our role to search the record for possible errors or to formulate a party’s legal arguments

5

In a separate order issued September 3, 2025, the trial court granted Employer’s motion to quash

Employee’s subpoenas, concluding that they were not properly executed as required by Rule 45.01 of the

Tennessee Rules of Civil Procedure and Tenn. Comp. R. and Regs. 0800-02-17-.17 (6)(c) (2023). That

order was not appealed.

3

where that party has provided no meaningful argument or authority to support its position.

Cosey v. Jarden Corp., No. 2017-01-0053, 2019 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 3, at *8

(Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Jan. 15, 2019).

As we have stated previously, “an incomplete appellate record is fatal to an appeal,

and a reviewing court must conclusively presume that the evidence presented supported

the facts as found by the trial court.” Payne v. D & D Electric, No. 2014-01-0023, 2014

TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 6, at *7 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Dec. 17, 2014)

(internal citations and quotation marks omitted). Here, Employee has presented nothing

that calls into question the trial court’s factual findings that: (1) the injury occurred on

March 29, 2022; (2) the last voluntary payment made on the claim was issued September

18, 2022; and (3) Employee did not file his PBD until February 10, 2025, more than one

year after the last voluntary payment. When an employer has paid benefits on a claim, a

PBD must be filed within one year of the latter of the date of the last authorized treatment

or the date the employer stopped paying benefits. See Tennessee Code Annotated § 50-6-

203(b)(2) (2025). Hence, with respect to the March 29, 2022 accident, Employee has

presented no evidence that he filed a PBD within the time allowed by statute. In short, we

agree with the trial court’s conclusion that Employee is not likely to prevail at trial in

establishing he timely filed his PBD seeking any additional benefits for the March 29, 2022

accident.

For the foregoing reasons, we affirm the decision of the trial court and remand the

case. Costs on appeal have been waived.

4

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

William A. Inman, III Docket No. 2025-70-0855

v. State File No. 29996-2022

Maclean Fogg Co., et al.

Appeal from the Court of Workers’

Compensation Claims

Amber E. Luttrell, Judge

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the referenced case

was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service on this the 23rd day of

December, 2025.

Name Certified First Class Via Via Sent to:

Mail Mail Fax Email

William A. Inman, III X williaminman43@icloud.com

G. Gerard Jabaley X gjabaley@wimberlylawson.com

aburge@wimberlylawson.com

Amber E. Luttrell, Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Penny Shrum, Clerk, Court of X penny.patterson-shrum@tn.gov

Workers’ Compensation Claims

Olivia Yearwood

Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-1606

Electronic Mail: WCAppeals.Clerk@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.