Opinion

Yeoman, Damien v. Transwood Logistics, Inc.

  • 2025 TN WC App. 56
Court
Tennessee Workers' Compensation Appeals Board
Filed
Nov 13, 2025
Status
Published
On the bench
Godkin, Conner, Weaver
Cited by
0 cases
Authority
More cited than 36.9%

The opinion

FILED

Nov 13, 2025

11:57 AM(CT)

TENNESSEE

WORKERS' COMPENSATION

APPEALS BOARD

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Damien Yeoman Docket No. 2024-30-2931

v. State File No. 81990-2023

Transwood Logistics, Inc., et al.

Appeal from the Court of Workers’

Compensation Claims

Brian K. Addington, Judge

Affirmed and Certified as Final

In this second appeal of this case, the employee challenges the trial court’s order granting

summary judgment to the employer on the basis that the employee failed to provide proper

notice of the workplace accident. Previously, in an interlocutory appeal, we concluded that

an employee’s lack of understanding of the extent of his or her injury does not constitute a

reasonable excuse for the failure to provide timely notice of a sudden, traumatic workplace

accident. As a result, following our remand of the case and the employer’s filing of a

motion for summary judgment, the trial court determined that the employee did not come

forward with sufficient evidence at the summary judgment stage to prove he had a

reasonable excuse for his late notice. The employee has appealed. Having carefully

reviewed the record, we affirm the trial court’s decision and certify it as final.

Presiding Judge Timothy W. Conner delivered the opinion of the Appeals Board in which

Judge Pele I. Godkin and Judge Meredith B. Weaver joined.

Andrew J. Roberto, Knoxville, Tennessee, for the employee-appellant, Damien Yeoman

W. Troy Hart and Allison P. King, Knoxville, Tennessee, for the employer-appellee,

Transwood Logistics, Inc.

Factual and Procedural Background

We previously summarized the facts of this case as follows:

Damien Yeoman (“Employee”), a thirty-one-year-old resident of Knox

County, worked as a delivery driver for Transwood Logistics, Inc.

1

(“Employer”). On September 26, 2023, while making a delivery in

Hendersonville, North Carolina, Employee slipped on a wet step while

exiting his truck and, as a result, “all of his weight pulled on his right

shoulder/arm.” Employee stated he did not inform Employer of this accident

initially for two reasons: first, he believed he had suffered a minor muscle

pull that would resolve over time; and second, he had only been employed

by Employer for approximately one month and “wanted to be cautious to

make sure this was a work injury.”

On October 10, 2023, Employee went to his primary care provider at

Cherokee Health Systems and saw Nurse Practitioner Crystal Larrimore

(“NP Larrimore”). At that visit, he complained of right shoulder and left

thumb pain. According to NP Larrimore’s report, Employee stated that his

“shoulder hurts all the time, hurts when he moves it, hurts if he keeps it still.”

Importantly, NP Larrimore’s report also stated that Employee “believes he

may have injured this at his new job, pulling a hose.” Later in the same

report, the provider indicated he had experienced shoulder symptoms for “2-

3 weeks.” On physical examination, Employee had “moderate pain” during

range of motion testing and tenderness in his right shoulder. NP Larrimore

ordered a right shoulder x-ray.

On October 20, Employee informed his dispatcher that he needed time

off for a medical appointment. This discussion was overheard by the

terminal manager, Jerry Smith. During his subsequent conversation with

Employee, Mr. Smith learned about the work accident, although Employee

was unable at that time to recall the date it had occurred. . . .

....

Although Employer had initially authorized medical treatment after

receiving notice of Employee’s accident, it subsequently denied the claim

due to what it asserted was lack of timely notice. Specifically, Employer

asserted that Employee’s direct supervisor “had no knowledge of

Employee’s injury until October 20, 2023,” which was 24 days after the

accident.

During the expedited hearing, Employee testified that, after returning

home following the accident on September 26, he told his mother that he had

“slipped climbing out of the truck.” He further acknowledged that, within a

week of the accident, he decided his condition was bad enough that he needed

to seek medical attention. Yet, he admitted he did not inform his supervisor

of the incident until October 20. Finally, Employee acknowledged that he

knew he had suffered a work-related accident on the date it occurred.

2

Yeoman v. Transwood Logistics, Inc., No. 2024-30-2931, 2025 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd.

LEXIS 11, at *2-5 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. App. Bd. Mar. 19, 2025) (footnote omitted).

The trial court conducted an expedited hearing in December 2024 to determine

whether Employee was entitled to the initiation of certain workers’ compensation benefits.

In a December 20, 2024 order, the trial court determined that Employer was not likely to

prevail at trial on its notice defense because Employee is a poor historian who did not

understand the seriousness of his medical condition and because Employer was not

prejudiced by Employee’s late notice. Consequently, the court concluded Employee had a

reasonable excuse for his failure to provide timely notice, and it ordered Employer to

initiate certain benefits. On appeal, we reversed, first noting that Tennessee Code

Annotated section 50-6-201(a)(1) requires written notice of a workplace accident “within

fifteen (15) days after the occurrence of the accident.” Id. at *8 (citing Tenn. Code Ann.

§ 50-6-201(a)(1) (emphasis added)). Second, we concluded there was no evidence

Employer had actual knowledge of the accident. Id. at *11. Finally, we held that an

employee’s lack of understanding of the seriousness of the resulting injury was not a

reasonable excuse for his failure to timely report a sudden, traumatic workplace accident.

Id. at *11-12. We observed that to hold otherwise would result in the addition of a

“discovery rule” to the notice requirement for sudden workplace accidents, which would

expand the language of the relevant statute. Id. at * 12.

Following our remand of the case, Employer filed a motion for summary judgment,

arguing there were no genuine issues of material fact concerning Employee’s failure to

give timely notice of the workplace accident, Employer’s lack of actual knowledge of the

accident, or Employee’s lack of a valid excuse for failure to give timely notice. In response,

Employee argued that because he believed he had suffered only a minor muscle strain that

would heal on its own, he had a reasonable excuse for not giving timely notice of the

accident. In addition, Employee argued that this Board erred in reversing the trial court’s

expedited hearing order because we failed to give proper deference to the trial court’s

findings of fact concerning the reasonable excuse element of the analysis. Following a

hearing, the trial court granted Employer’s motion for summary judgment and dismissed

Employee’s case, and Employee has appealed.

Standard of Review

The interpretation and application of statutes and regulations are questions of law

that we review de novo with no presumption that the trial court’s conclusions are correct.

See Mansell v. Bridgestone Firestone N. Am. Tire, LLC, 417 S.W.3d 393, 399 (Tenn.

2013). The grant or denial of a motion for summary judgment likewise is a question of

law that we review de novo with no presumption that the trial court’s conclusions are

correct. See Rye v. Women’s Care Ctr. of Memphis, MPLLC, 477 S.W.3d 235, 250 (Tenn.

2015). As such, we “make a fresh determination of whether the requirements of Rule 56

of the Tennessee Rules of Civil Procedure have been satisfied.” Id. We are also mindful

3

of our obligation to construe the workers’ compensation statutes “fairly, impartially, and

in accordance with basic principles of statutory construction” and in a way that does not

favor either the employee or the employer. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-116 (2024).

Analysis

On appeal, Employee raises several issues, which we have combined and restated

as follows: (1) whether an employee’s lack of understanding of the extent and nature of his

or her medical condition can constitute a reasonable excuse for the failure to provide timely

notice of a sudden, traumatic work-related accident; (2) whether the trial court erred in

concluding there were no genuine issues of material fact concerning whether Employee

presented sufficient evidence of a reasonable excuse for the failure to provide timely notice;

and (3) whether Employer waived its notice defense by authorizing certain medical

treatment and paying certain benefits. We will address the first two issues together.

Reasonable Excuse

We have previously analyzed the structure and elements of a notice defense as set

out in Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-201. See Ernstes v. Printpack, Inc., No.

2020-07-0617, 2023 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 25, at *34 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp.

App. Bd. June 6, 2023) (aff’d Ernstes v. Printpack, Inc., No. W2023-00863-SC-RS-WC,

2024 Tenn. LEXIS 1 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. Panel Jan. 2, 2024)). In Ernstes, we

discussed a five-step process for the evaluation of notice, the third step of which states:

C. If no timely written notice was provided and no actual knowledge has

been proven, did the employee show a “reasonable excuse” for the

failure to give proper notice to the employer? In considering whether

the employee has shown by a preponderance of the evidence a

reasonable excuse, a court can consider, among other things: (1) the

employer’s actual knowledge of the employee’s injury, (2) lack of

prejudice to the employer by an excusal of the notice requirement, and

(3) the excuse or inability of the employee to timely notify the

employer. However, as previously stated by the Tennessee Supreme

Court, lack of prejudice alone would not be sufficient to excuse notice.

Ernstes, 2023 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 25, at *34 (internal citations and quotation

marks omitted). In affirming our decision, the Supreme Court’s Special Workers’

Compensation Appeals Panel made clear that the burden of proving reasonable excuse is

on the employee. Ernstes, 2024 Tenn. LEXIS 1, at *13.

In the present appeal, Employee asserts that a relevant factor to consider in

evaluating an employee’s reasonable excuse for the failure to give proper notice of a

sudden, traumatic workplace accident is his or her lack of understanding of the extent

4

and/or nature of the medical condition the employee claims arose from the accident. We

also addressed this argument in our first opinion in this case, stating:

We conclude, however, that an employee’s understanding, or lack thereof, of

the seriousness of his injury does not excuse the notice requirement in

circumstances where [the employee] was involved in a sudden, traumatic

accident at work. Section 201(a)(1) expressly requires an employee to give

notice “within fifteen (15) days after the occurrence of the accident,” not

within fifteen days after the employee understands the seriousness of the

injury caused by that accident. The trial court’s rationale, taken to its logical

conclusion, would result in the addition of a “discovery rule” to the notice

requirement applicable to sudden, acute, and traumatic injuries described in

section 201(a)(1), which we conclude would expand the intended meaning

of that statute.

Yeoman, 2025 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 11, at *11-12 (emphasis in original). A

necessary corollary to this conclusion is that an employee’s lack of understanding of the

extent and/or nature of a medical condition arising from a sudden, traumatic workplace

accident is not pertinent to the assessment of timely notice. In other words, in cases

involving a sudden, traumatic accident, the notice requirement applies to the occurrence of

the accident, not to the discovery of an injury arising from that accident. Hence, in the

context of the present appeal, we conclude that the language of section 201(a) placed a

burden on Employee to give timely notice of the occurrence of the workplace accident

regardless of whether he understood the extent or nature of any medical condition he

believes arose from that accident. See Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-201(a). 1

We have also stressed that Tennessee’s Workers’ Compensation Law treats the

employee’s notice requirement differently depending on the context of the case. For

example, in circumstances where an employee alleges he or she suffered a gradual or

cumulative trauma injury at work, Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-201(b) requires

the employee to give notice to the employer within 15 days of the date the employee

“[k]nows or reasonably should know that the employee suffered a work-related injury that

has resulted in permanent physical impairment” or within 15 days after the employee “is

rendered unable to continue to perform the employee’s normal work activities as a result

of the work-related injury.” Furthermore, in circumstances where an employee alleged an

occupational disease, the employee is required to give notice within thirty days “after the

first distinct manifestation of” the disease. Tenn. Code Ann. § 50-6-305(a) (2024). The

1

Employee’s argument appears to conflate an employee’s knowledge of his or her injuries from an accident

with his or her knowledge of an accident. As we have stated previously, “Tennessee courts have

consistently held that the employee is required to give timely notice of the accident but need not understand

or appreciate the nature or extent of the injuries arising from the accident at the time notice is given.” Dyer

v. PetSmart, Inc., No. 2023-05-0917, 2024 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 5, at *21 (Tenn. Workers’

Comp. App. Bd. Mar. 1, 2024).

5

Appeals Panel has interpreted this language to require courts to consider “when [the

employee] knew or should have known that he suffered from an occupational disease

caused by his workplace.” Mayton v. Wackenhut Servs., No. E2010-00907-WC-R3-WC,

2011 Tenn. LEXIS 620, at *11-12 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. Panel July 18, 2011).

Thus, both cumulative trauma cases and occupational disease cases include a

“discovery rule” that impacts the employee’s notice requirement in those circumstances.

Yet, there is no such language in section 201(a). If the General Assembly had intended to

include a “discovery rule” in the context of sudden, traumatic workplace accidents, it could

easily have stated such in section 201(a). In short, we have no authority to expand

unambiguous statutory language to add a discovery rule in the context of sudden, traumatic

workplace accidents. See Ernstes, 2023 TN Wrk. Comp. App. Bd. LEXIS 25, at *18.

Consequently, we reiterate our previous holding that Employee’s lack of knowledge of the

nature or extent of his condition is insufficient to establish a reasonable excuse for the

failure to give timely notice of a sudden, traumatic accident. We also conclude the trial

court did not err in determining Employee did not come forward with sufficient evidence

to create a genuine issue of material fact regarding reasonable excuse.

Waiver of Notice Defense

Finally, Employee asserts that Employer waived its notice defense by authorizing

and paying for certain workers’ compensation benefits. We are unpersuaded by this

argument. Tennessee Code Annotated section 50-6-205(d)(2) (2024) provides that in cases

where an employer pays certain benefits without an award, “the prior payment of

compensation shall not be considered a binding determination of the obligations of the

employer as to future compensation payments.” Further, the Tennessee Supreme Court

has stated that “an employer who voluntarily makes payments to an employee may

subsequently contest liability. An employee’s acceptance of any such payments does not

bind either side.” Catlett v. Indemnity Insurance Co. of N. Am., 914 S.W.2d 76, 78 (Tenn.

1995) (internal citations omitted); see also Ward v. Federal Transp., No. 02S01-9304-CH-

00028, 1995 Tenn. LEXIS 281, at *4 (Tenn. Workers’ Comp. Panel May 30, 1995) (noting

that section 50-6-205 makes no mention of waiver of defenses). Thus, we conclude that

Employer’s payment of benefits prior to contesting the compensability of the claim did not

lead to a waiver of its notice defense.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we affirm the trial court’s order granting summary

judgment and certify it as final. Costs on appeal are taxed to Employee.

6

TENNESSEE BUREAU OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION APPEALS BOARD

Damien Yeoman Docket No. 2024-30-2931

v. State File No. 81990-2023

Transwood Logistics, Inc., et al.

Appeal from the Court of Workers’

Compensation Claims

Brian K. Addington, Judge

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the Appeals Board’s decision in the referenced case

was sent to the following recipients by the following methods of service on this the 13th day of

November, 2025.

Name Certified First Class Via Via Sent to:

Mail Mail Fax Email

Andrew J. Roberto X aroberto@brownandroberto.com

cwilliams@brownandroberto.com

W. Troy Hart X wth@mijs.com

Allison P. King apking@mijs.com

slmcculley@mijs.com

Brian K. Addington, Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Kenneth M. Switzer, Chief Judge X Via Electronic Mail

Penny Shrum, Clerk, Court of X penny.patterson-shrum@tn.gov

Workers’ Compensation Claims

Olivia Yearwood

Clerk, Workers’ Compensation Appeals Board

220 French Landing Dr., Ste. 1-B

Nashville, TN 37243

Telephone: 615-253-1606

Electronic Mail: WCAppeals.Clerk@tn.gov

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.